About Secret Extensions

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 5, 2014

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.


Read 360 Secret Extensions Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 19 3 star: 8 2 star: 33 1 star:  280
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 360
Sort reviews by:

  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Order was never delivered

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I am leaving a review on the experience with the secret extension's site. I placed an order back in January 2014 and I have not received the item as of today. I was told by a customer service rep. that my order was going to be shipped by April 7th. Still no shipment confirmation has been received. I am very annoyed with the process and will not recommend this site to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    No Delivery

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I placed an order on Feb 3 and waited. I called in the middle of March and got a recording saying it would be shipped 4/4 with a three day express mail. Today 4/9, I went to the web site and pulled up their "order tracker" and all I got was confirmation that I had placed an order. I clicked on their Live Chat and got a message saying that if someone didn't answer me in the "next few seconds" then he/she was not available at this time. Try again later. All I can say is I'm glad they still haven't charged my account, otherwise I'd have to find some way to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    No Delivery

    • CA,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I placed an order on February 8th and still have not received my extensions. I had called in the middle of March and they said that my extensions would come by April 4th, no later than April 7th. I patiently waited and once it was April 7th, I went to their website to track my order and saw that there was still no information available. I was furious and called them wanting to know what was going on. Now they are saying that my order will not be shipped until April 17th. If they do not ship my order by then, I'm canceling my order and will make sure I get my money back. And I will definitely not be ordering from them again. Don't sell a product you don't have on hand and take the money and expect to not get bad reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Worst Company Ever. (and that is saying something)

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    Like the other reviewers on this site, I ordered my Dark Golden Blonde Secret Extensions in late February, 2014. It is now late April, 2014, and I still have no product. I have surpassed the 4-6 week shipping estimate and then some. I completely expected to have this product by my April 19th birthday. However, my shipping estimate has been pushed back three times. It now has a shipping date of April 24th. It figures I chose the most popular item, but seriously?

    If you do not have enough product or aren't prepared for tons of orders, don't advertise yet! Now, there are probably literally hundreds of thousands of people who have canceled their orders, or like me, are dangling on the edge trying to wait it out. The only thing they have done is knocked off shipping handling, a whopping $6.99, and are providing 3 day shipping and a whole $5.00 gift card that cannot be used on this order.

    Like I will really order from this company again. I have had some as seen on TV issues, but this is hands down the worst company I have ever dealt with. Also, my order status keeps disappearing and reappearing, and they state that they won't charge your credit card until your product ships. Nonsense. They have already collected my payment. I've contacted them numerous times, and all I get is "We are so sorry, but we weren't prepared for this huge demand." I really never liked Daisy Fuentes, and I am not implying that this is in any way her fault, but I would be lying if I said I dislike her even more.

    My patience is nearly exhausted, and seeing as I have no product to review at this time, I am reviewing the company. If and when I do ever receive this product, I would be happy to fairly review it. At this time, I am expecting a miraculous product worth it's weight in gold, but I guess we'll see. Sorry for my epic venting style review, at least I know I'm not alone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Worst Experience

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Unfortunately like most of the reviews on here, the company and experience has been nothing but horrible. I placed my in January 2014 and to date (mid April), no product.

    I can't even tell if this product is going to be worth the price and wait because poof. No delivery. I don't know of a single person who owns or has received the product to be able to tell this company is legit. Why on earth would a company advertise a product for sale and then not have any to ship? I have ordered all sorts of products from remote countries and never had to wait this long.

    Every time I've called customer service I get the dreaded "we will ship within the next 30 days". 30 days later, same thing, another 30 days. This is ridiculous.

    The saddest part about this is that this "company" is only a few miles away from where I live and their bullshit promise of "we will ship 3-day priority" does nothing for me. How about you just ship something. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Never got mine either

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    Like all other comments, they keep telling me Same thing. I told them they were full of crap and that I would never recommend this product. They tell me same stories seen on all these Comments and reviews here. Brown is a popular color And they would send on the 17th of April. I told them to cancel my order – I don't know of anyone that has received theirs yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Product Service

    • Lavergne, TN,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    I wish I had read all these reviews before I ordered. I also ordered this product on February 9th 2014. In March I called to check on because I saw nothing online to indicate my order was processed. I was told it would go out April 7th, of course 4/.07/14 came and went. I called again, I was told the same as what u read above. This time the order was suppose to be shipped 4/17/14 with free to me for a three day ship.

    I also inquired why they would accept orders if they did not have the merchandise to ship. If my ordered gets charged to my credit card yet I don't receive within three days, I might be inclined to pursue legal fraud action. I have printed off all of these reviews and all of these customers have the same review. I am curious that nothing has become of this anyway.

    This company might offer this product at a good price, however if they cannot produce the product it might as well not try and sell. In my opinion, I recommend any new customers not order from this web site, go ahead and order from someone else. Just Google flip in hair or Halo Hair or even wire extensions and you will find several others offering this type extensions. Save yourself the aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Have not received

    • Florida,
    • Apr 25, 2014

    Nothing different than your reading above, order these in January and waited the 4-6 weeks and nothing. Called and was promised they would ship the following week, again nothing. Called again and the same promise it's been three lies about shipping my item and here we are end of April still nothing.

    This is poor business practices and terrible customer service! At least my credit card hasn't been charged as of yet. I understand the huge demand but they should of been better prepared for this. They can spend the money on marketing to get you excited to purchase they just didn't spend it on their inventory!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't order.

    • Maryland,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    I gave one star because there is not a 0 option. Same as everyone else, ordered in February and nothing received although they state 4-6 weeks delivery. No response to emails, no info on order track. I cannot believe I didn't read the reviews first, but my daughter had saved her money and was so excited to get her order in. What a terrible disappointment. Don't order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not order. Scam and a waste of time and energy

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    Scam. Do not waste your time ordering these. I ordered mine February 13. I was told 4-6 weeks for delivery. Come that time, I have contacted the customer service number numerous times regarding my order. I was told "we apologize, but due to overwhelming success, they are taking longer to process. All hair is made individually for each person." Lies, lies, lies. I have been told my extensions would be shipped April 7, nothing. Then April 17, nothing. Then again April 21, nothing. Then April 28, still nothing. I canceled my order this morning and also reported the Facebook page as spam/fraudulent. Granted, my credit card hasn't been charged (thank goodness, I can't even believe how is recoup this charge, seeing how much trouble I'm having just getting the order) but this is by far the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I've been in the customer service/management industry for 21 years, and I'd never behave this way, nor allow my customers to get so infuriated.

    Do not order. I had to give a 1 star, but this should have 0 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible delivery

    • Iowa,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    Ordered mine Feb 8th and still have not received. Every time I emailed them they would give me a new date 10 days out and promise it would ship by that date via three day express mail. By the third time emailing them I told them I wanted to cancel and was told I can't do that over email and would have to call customer service. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 360

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review