About Secret Extensions

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 5, 2014

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 360 Secret Extensions Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 19 3 star: 8 2 star: 33 1 star:  280
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 360
Sort reviews by:

  • 53 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Reporting to the BBB

    • Long Beach CA ,
    • Jun 12, 2014

    Just reported this scam for Secret Extensions to the Better Business Bureau. They need to be shut down for promotion and trying to sell this awful product to the public! Anyone else who has had the same experience should do the same in your state. NEVER buy this hair. SCAM 100%

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Disgusting and pathetic. I am cross

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    They certainly do not stay in place with a thin piece of elastic that will stretch. They slip down my head and shed like crazy. I wouldn't even wear it to put the garbage out. A total and absolute waste of money and definitely false advertising. When is this type of product exaggeration going to stop?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Secret extension experience

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 26, 2014

    Next to no hair on the extension. A waste of money. I put it on and it looked terrible. I give it one star as it did match my color. Had there been more hair as the advertisements show, it would have worked. I had ordered two and it still looked sparse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy, company is a rip-off

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canda,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    I purchased a set of two Secret Extensions, and the band would not stay on my head. I called to arranging a return. I mailed both sets back, and even though they were returned in perfect condition, they would not refund my money. One package wasn't even opened yet.

    So I am out the cost of shipping, and cost of the actual extensions. This company is a complete rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Cheap and worthless

    • Dallas, Texas,
    • Jan 1, 2015

    This product is a waste of money and a huge scam. I will never buy it again and I will not recommend to a friend. The band is a plastic string. It is a piece of crap on my opinion. Instead of buying this product save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy !

    • Wood River, IL,
    • Jun 19, 2014

    A total waste of money. Very thin, cannot curl, and the headband stretches out very easily, so its not secure. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Deserves no stars. Secret Extensions it is no secret, it is a lie.

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I ordered Secret Extensions over a month ago and what a waste of 40 plus dollars. I saw the commercial and thought what a great way to put your hair in a pony tail or wear it down, and it blends with your real hair too. My real hair is good and shoulder length. I ordered the black piece thinking in would blend in with my own hair.

    I got a shock when it arrived at my door, took it out of the package and it is one thin little piece of black hair 16 inches for 40 plus dollars. The way it looked on TV I thought it would be a thick lush band of hair. I put it on my head and it did not blend in and was too thin. I read the booklet that comes with the hair and it says you can order as many pieces as you want. That is not what the commercial says. She made it seem as though on the commercial you will only need one piece of hair.

    What a waste and a lie of a spokeswoman and product. I will never buy Daisy Fuentes product after this experience - it is my first and last purchase from her. It was advertised on the internet for black hair types as well as other ethnic hair types but it is all a lie. If you have real hair but want to change up your hair style I would advise you to get a wig or buy a pack of hair extensions. At least you get your money worth, that is what I did. Don't waste it on Secret Extensions, it is all lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Scam - when they are washed they feel like a brillo pad

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I waited two months to get two extensions because my hair is not as full as it used to be and it looks like I am wearing Barbie doll hair. I had to tie the band tighter because it kept slipping off. I had to wash them out of the package before placing them on my head because I am allergic to the plastic smell.

    This was a waste of $90.00 and I knew the hair on the commercial was not going to be what they sell but this hair is ridiculously cheap looking and I would be embarrassed to wear it in public. Also, once they get wet the hair sheds and falls out in chunks and this is with a wide tooth comb.

    Save your money and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    My disappointment

    • S. Daytona, FL,
    • Jun 22, 2014

    Just as many people, I have thinning hair and I so hoped this product will be of a huge help, alas, did not happen. I had no problem with shipping as it arrived within normal timing, but the colors are so unrealistic. I will not be able to wear them, AT ALL, EVER.

    I specifically ordered 2 similar colors to mine (one lighter, one darker) hoping that if one did not match, the other would. NOT.

    Naturally I HAD TO OPEN the package to try the extensions on, so now I am out of $76.97. However, if I had a choice, I would love the product colors to be as advertised.

    Daisy Fuentes should make sure she is promoting good quality product, not some cheap rubbish- she has her good name to loose.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Please don't be fooled & buy these

    • Australia ,
    • Jan 21, 2016

    These hair extensions are so disappointing. Very much a waste of money. There is hardly any hair on the actually strand so there is no volume and I have pretty short hair yet my own hair was still longer. The color didn't match and the quality of the hair was extremely fake & poor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Rubbish

    • Scotland ,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I took the plunge and opened the pack. It was really poor synthetic hair. The band is stretchy and I found it to fall out easily so I certainly wouldn't have confidence outside. I called them up and told them the problem and was able to return. Do not waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 360

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review