About Secret Extensions

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.

SEE ALSO: Five Mistakes You Should Avoid to Prevent Damaged Hair

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

389 Consumer Reviews for Secret Extensions

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 23 4 star: 22 3 star: 8 2 star: 34 1 star:  302
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 389
Sort reviews by:

  • 61 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied with this horrible product

    • Long Beach, CA ,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I ordered my secret extensions a couple weeks ago and while they did arrive fairly quickly, the overall product was very disappointing when I actually saw it and held it in my hand. Overall, it was pretty close to my actual hair color, however, the quality and look of the product does not at all resemble what they portray in the TV ad. It is so thin and stringy and it sheds like crazy. You would have to use several of these cheap things at one time to even come remotely close to the 'fullness' and 'body' the TV ad claims it will add to your hair. What a scam. It does not curl ever again once you have straightened it (even once) and when you do straighten it, it starts to look stringy and thinner than it was to begin with. (Although, they claim you can wash it, curl it, straighten it, style it. That's a bunch of junk.)

    Do not buy this product, people. You will waste your money. I sure as hell did. These people are scam artists offering an awful product for way too much money. It might actually be worth the price if it actually did what it looks like it does in the TV ad and the website. Daisy Fuentes should be ashamed of herself for endorsing such a product. Maybe she is hard up for money or something at this point in her life. Who knows?

    What else I find wrong with this product is that they offer a '30 day money back guarantee' if it does not blend perfectly to your own hair. But, you can not return it if you have opened the plastic sleeve it arrives in. (So, how in the world are you supposed to know if it 'blends' perfectly if you can't try it first?) I would agree with that policy if the hair was of good quality, but it is not at all and these people know what they are selling to the public and they know it isn't anything like the TV ad.

    Awful. If I could have given them 0 stars instead of 1 star, I would have. Do not buy these. I am reporting them to the BBB here in CA and I hope everyone else who feels ripped off, does the same in their state.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2014

      Brianna ,

      Thanks for telling me and others this because I was going to get this. I just can't believe it... it looks so perfect! Ugh I wanted it so badly.

    • Mar 25, 2015

      Jasmine

      I am still getting them. My friend has them and they look good on her.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Extremely Disappointed and Angry

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    Yes, I am very disappointed that a celebrity who makes very good money and has been blessed would rip off those of us who work so hard for our money. I live a good and humble life. I am a professional, and I am a thankful for things that I do have, but I work hard for what I buy. I like the things that women like. I love clothes, make-up, etc.

    I was so let down to see the terrible quality of this product, and I was even more hurt that someone like Daisy Fuentes would really rip dollars out of the hands of consumers who at one time may have admired her. I spent an extra $16.00 to rush my order only to open the box and see something that I would not wear for Halloween.

    Shame on you guys, and shame on you too Daisy. Really a mean way to make an extra buck that you probably don't need. I will never again shop online and you have made it difficult for other celebrities to seem genuine. I want my money back ASAP! I am considering making my feelings much more vocal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2014

      Toni,

      I was surprised when I opened the box. I was expecting more than FEW HAIRS. The match was very good though, but the elastic can't be adjusted. It's too big and what happens when it stretches out what does one do? Also the ends get a little dry and hard to brush through, I didn't have trouble with shipping but than I wasn't in any rush. All in all I was somewhat disappointed.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Reporting to the BBB

    • Long Beach CA ,
    • Jun 12, 2014

    Just reported this scam for Secret Extensions to the Better Business Bureau. They need to be shut down for promotion and trying to sell this awful product to the public! Anyone else who has had the same experience should do the same in your state. NEVER buy this hair. SCAM 100%

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Disgusting and pathetic. I am cross

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    They certainly do not stay in place with a thin piece of elastic that will stretch. They slip down my head and shed like crazy. I wouldn't even wear it to put the garbage out. A total and absolute waste of money and definitely false advertising. When is this type of product exaggeration going to stop?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Secret extension experience

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 26, 2014

    Next to no hair on the extension. A waste of money. I put it on and it looked terrible. I give it one star as it did match my color. Had there been more hair as the advertisements show, it would have worked. I had ordered two and it still looked sparse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy, company is a rip-off

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canda,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    I purchased a set of two Secret Extensions, and the band would not stay on my head. I called to arranging a return. I mailed both sets back, and even though they were returned in perfect condition, they would not refund my money. One package wasn't even opened yet.

    So I am out the cost of shipping, and cost of the actual extensions. This company is a complete rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Cheap and worthless

    • Dallas, Texas,
    • Jan 1, 2015

    This product is a waste of money and a huge scam. I will never buy it again and I will not recommend to a friend. The band is a plastic string. It is a piece of crap on my opinion. Instead of buying this product save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy !

    • Wood River, IL,
    • Jun 19, 2014

    A total waste of money. Very thin, cannot curl, and the headband stretches out very easily, so its not secure. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Terrible - Simply Terrible Product.

    • Jun 11, 2015

    So, I do not post to these sites but I bought 4 of these in the hopes at least one would color match somewhat, they didn't. I didn't expect color to be perfect but thought maybe close at least. Not a chance - nothing matched at all and you have to remove them from the plastic to actually gauge what they will look like cause when they are all folded up they do look different, richer etc. Elastic is thin and without much give so I expect it would break in short order. I can't return cause I opened the package. To add insult to injury I waited months to get this junk. Some suggest these would work better blended with longer hair, which I do have.

    PS: they don't work/look any better. Bought these to have fuller hair for events like Christmas parties etc. wouldn't wear them to take out the trash. Maybe the will make a good fire start for the yule log at Christmas instead. Lets hope they have some useful purpose. Bottom line folks don't waste your time or money. Buyer Beware. I wish I read these reviews before I got my hopes up and my wallet out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 29, 2014

      Dee,

      I got my hopes up and they don't work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Deserves no stars. Secret Extensions it is no secret, it is a lie.

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I ordered Secret Extensions over a month ago and what a waste of 40 plus dollars. I saw the commercial and thought what a great way to put your hair in a pony tail or wear it down, and it blends with your real hair too. My real hair is good and shoulder length. I ordered the black piece thinking in would blend in with my own hair.

    I got a shock when it arrived at my door, took it out of the package and it is one thin little piece of black hair 16 inches for 40 plus dollars. The way it looked on TV I thought it would be a thick lush band of hair. I put it on my head and it did not blend in and was too thin. I read the booklet that comes with the hair and it says you can order as many pieces as you want. That is not what the commercial says. She made it seem as though on the commercial you will only need one piece of hair.

    What a waste and a lie of a spokeswoman and product. I will never buy Daisy Fuentes product after this experience - it is my first and last purchase from her. It was advertised on the internet for black hair types as well as other ethnic hair types but it is all a lie. If you have real hair but want to change up your hair style I would advise you to get a wig or buy a pack of hair extensions. At least you get your money worth, that is what I did. Don't waste it on Secret Extensions, it is all lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Scam - when they are washed they feel like a brillo pad

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I waited two months to get two extensions because my hair is not as full as it used to be and it looks like I am wearing Barbie doll hair. I had to tie the band tighter because it kept slipping off. I had to wash them out of the package before placing them on my head because I am allergic to the plastic smell.

    This was a waste of $90.00 and I knew the hair on the commercial was not going to be what they sell but this hair is ridiculously cheap looking and I would be embarrassed to wear it in public. Also, once they get wet the hair sheds and falls out in chunks and this is with a wide tooth comb.

    Save your money and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 389

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review