What Is SET TV?

Advertised as the best premium IPTV service, SET TV’s plug-and-play technology promises to provide access to more than 500 high-definition channels, including sports, along with thousands of on-demand entertainment options.

And unlike cable subscriptions, your set-top box will not only allow you to enjoy these channels at home on up to three different devices but also while you’re on-the-go.

Considering the amount of content they claim to deliver, in conjunction with their rock bottom month-to-month pricing (especially compared to a traditional cable subscription), SET TV is an undoubtedly compelling concept. But once it’s set up in your home, will this technology deliver a lot of value for the money, or should you consider other options?

Even if this is your first introduction to set-top boxes like SET TV, over the next few minutes, we’ll walk you through everything you need to know in order to make an informed, empowered decision

How Does SET TV Work?

IPTV Basics

Writing for ExplainThatStuff, Chris Woodford reports that, “instead of receiving TV programs as broadcast signals that enter your home from a rooftop antenna, satellite dish, or fiber-optic cable,” Internet Protocol TV (IPTV) streams content through an Internet connection.

In general, there are three main types of IPTV, most of which you’re likely familiar with:

  • Live TV – Live broadcast television, just like through a standard cable signal.
  • Time-Shifted – Originally aired live, but available to viewers hours or days later.
  • Video on Demand (VOD) – This media is stored on servers, which can be viewed and played on-demand by users.

Regardless of the type, this streaming data is watched “on your computer or with a set-top box (a kind of adapter that fits between your Internet connection and your existing television receiver, decoding incoming signals so your TV can display Internet programs).”

Because of the processor size, he notes that set-top boxes (STBs) like SET TV often deliver better streaming performance. Other popular options you might be more familiar with include Apple TV and Roku, and even gaming systems like Xbox One and PlayStation 4.

In addition to standard STBs, this content can also be decoded by dongles like Amazon Fire and Google Chromecast, which plug into the HDMI socket on your TV.

SET TV’s APK, Android App, Set-Top Box, & Channel Selection

Based on what we just learned, we know that in order to view the content provided by SET TV, we need a device that decodes the signal. According to their site’s FAQ, this can work via a PC (Windows or Mac), any Android phone, tablet, or smart TV, Amazon Firestick, as well as any Android STB running 5.1 or higher. The company also sells their own Android STB version, which we’ll talk more about below.

While this certainly encompasses a wide variety of devices, they emphasize that it can’t be used with Roku devices or Xbox, although we’re told they’ll soon release a version that works on iOS.

With these details in mind, getting started involves downloading the Set TV app from the Google Play store and installing on the appropriate device. Based on what we learned from their FAQ, the exact process will vary depending on device type. Furthermore, in order to update, will have to manually uninstall and reinstall the app each time.

Pro tip: If you need additional assistance for either of these aspects, other than what’s provided in SET TV’s FAQ, we encountered a large number of helpful user videos on YouTube.

Set TV App Home ScreenAfter downloading the app and setting up an account, SET TV claims to provide access to more than 500 channels and thousands of on-demand movies, all for an ultra-competitive price. Credit: Google, Inc.

After successfully downloading the app and setting up an account, the company will email you an access code so you can begin enjoying content on up to three devices using the same IP address. This could take up to 10-15 minutes.

Keep in mind, however, that each device will need its own access code, and in order to de-link a device from your account, you’ll need to contact support via live chat, email, or phone (keep this important point in mind, as we’ll return to it shortly).

How Much Does SET TV Cost?

The SET TV app is free to download, although a subscription will cost you $20 per month. You can decrease this per-month cost by purchasing three ($55), six ($110), or 12-month ($200) plans in advance.

A three-day free trial is also available, which doesn’t involve entering your credit card number. And as mentioned earlier, the company sells their STB for $99.99.

All plans are pay-as-you-go and do not involve long-term commitments, activation or cancellation fees, or credit checks. According to their FAQ, though, subscriptions do not automatically renew, which means you’ll need to manually renew your account each time it expires.

All SET TV hardware purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to their support team at (813) 295-8442, setvrefunds@gmail.com, or via the site’s contact form.

What Can We Learn From SET TV Subscriber Reviews?

While the SET TV website emphasizes that they provide professional support to their customers, this doesn’t seem to be what many of them are reporting online.

For example, in the Q&A sections of their FAQ, customers repeatedly complained about frustration when setting up the system, bugginess (e.g., frequent picture loss, constant buffering, system errors, login working one day and not the next, etc.), and inability to access adult content.

Also, multiple customers didn’t appreciate the fact that SET TV required a PIN/service code to work, which was often difficult to obtain. In fact, more than one reported they had to sit in the chat room and wait for a company rep to show up, since they never received a service response via other methods.

One customer also claimed they were sent nine codes, and none of them worked—we think this last part is especially important to keep in mind, since as we discussed earlier, you’ll have to enter a new PIN every time your account renews.

Pro tip: If you’re planning to start your SET TV three-day trial to coincide with a pay-per-view weekend event, one customer noted that it won’t work.

We found much of the same feedback on Reddit, although one user indicated SET TV worked as close to cable as they’ve experienced, and that picture quality was usually very clear. However, they also balanced this by emphasizing that certain channels—or sometimes the entire service—can go down for hours or days at a time.

On Google Play, 75 customers had given the SET TV app an average rating of about four stars, with common compliments referencing quality content and ease of use. On the other hand, complaints related to many of the same issues noted above.

From a company perspective, the IPTV service is brought to you by SET Broadcast LLC based out of Seminole, FL, who’s been in business since March 2017. They held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau as of 12/14/17, based on one negative review and five closed complaints—none of which the company responded to.

Are There Other IPTV Services Competing With SET TV?

A quick online search for the term ‘IPTV service’ returned a lot of meaningfully similar companies to SET TV, which offered streaming access to hundreds or thousands of channels, at prices much lower than the cost of a traditional cable subscription. However, we learned that the majority was available only in Europe.

With this in mind, here are some of the more popular US-based options:

Company Price Content Selection/Features
SET TV $20/mo 500+ channels, thousands of on-demand movies
Plex TV From $4.99/mo Also allows users to upload their own content to access from other devices, includes DVR capabilities
RocketStreams From $8.99/mo 1,500+ live channels and videos, supports iOS
USA IPTV $10/mo 500+ live channels, thousands of on-demand movies, available for iOS
Tronics City $19.99/mo Up to 2,800 live HD and SD channels, free PPV events, includes music, no KODI support
PrimaVisual $29.99/mo 5,000+ streaming channels and VOD titles, supports Samsung & LG Smart TVs
The IPTV Guy From $15/mo None provided
Lite IPTV $14/mo Hundreds of channels, including international and adult
IPTV Private Server From $85/mo 900+ channels, 3,000+ movies and TV shows, supports Roku and iOS devices

In addition to these options, we encountered numerous sites offering links to free IPTV lists, often refreshed daily, although we didn’t verify their content quality or overall safety.

Given all these choices and price points, how can you decide which IPTV service is right for you?

The ExplainThatStuff article earlier emphasizes that if you’re looking for optimal performance from your IPTV service, “a set-top system is a bigger box that contains a faster processor with more memory, so it can give higher quality video output.”

Similarly, they point out that IPTV services work best when you have high-capacity broadband service (one Redditor commented that SET TV recommends a minimum 4MB download speed), so be sure to factor this into your overall budget as well.

Outside of this, it largely comes down to each specific provider: Do they have competitive pricing? Do they offer the amount and types of content important to you? Which devices do they support? What are customers saying about their experiences?

Let’s carry this last question over as we come to a conclusion about SET TV.

Our Final Thoughts About SET TV

On the upside, SET TV seems to offer access to more than 500 live television channels, in addition to thousands of on-demand movies, for a relatively competitive price. If you decide to purchase their Android set-top box, they also stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy.

However, it’s important to balance these positives with the sheer amount of negative online customer feedback we encountered during our research for SET TV, including common complaints related to almost non-existent support.

These were often compounded by the fact that subscribers are required to enter access codes whenever their subscriptions renew, which was often reported to be a multi-hour (or even multi-day) process, with a lot of frustration in between. And even when it works perfectly, based on what we viewed in the how-to videos, installing and updating the SET TV app doesn’t exactly appear to be user-friendly.

As consumers ourselves, these factors might make us fully investigate all the IPTV competitors before deciding on a SET TV subscription. To figure out if an IPTV service is in your best interests in the first place, though, as well as to provide actionable insight into the process, we’d recommend reading 3 Easy Steps for Cutting the Cord & Saving Money next.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Consumer Reviews for SET TV

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 59% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • Totally happy!

    • Gastonia, NC,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had SET TV for almost a year now and couldn't be happier! I will say the service was a little sketchy at first, but they seemed to fix a lot of the issues they had in the early days. I have two SET top boxes, which I purchased from SET TV and also have it on my laptop, comes in handy because I do a fair bit of travel. I have cut (the cord) my cable bill by $1200 in the last year and have added away from home entertainment, being a big sports fan I almost never miss a home game! All in all, totally worth it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great! Every negative mentioned in this article has been fixed!

    • Idaho,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many companies, it appears to me they had some growing pains when they first started. I signed up about 15 months after they first opened. I've had the service for two months now, and I am now comfortable enough to disconnect my Dish Network service.

    Pros:

    No more monthly pins required. One-time setup and you're done.

    Never buffered once when my box was hard wired. 100/5 service.

    Buffered a bit using WiFi but my TV is 60' from my router.

    Excellent picture quality.

    Found almost everything I've ever wanted to watch on VOD.

    Great price for what you get. 1/4 the price of my Dish bill.

    Cons:

    No DVR capability yet. Hopefully coming soon.

    Miss the 30-second skip forward and 10-second backward buttons.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My experience with SET TV

    • Columbia, SC,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In July 2017 I ran across them and signed up for the one-week free trial (at that time they offered a week free). I was amazed at what they offered and what worked. We live in a rural area of South Carolina and are serviced for internet by only AT&T with a maximum speed of 6 Mbps. I bought my hi-performance streaming box from China for $60.00 (+/-) and I NEVER have had a buffering issue. True, not 100% of the channels work all the time, but, please, for $20 a month, what do you expect? What a GREAT value as compared to the satellite (is only available) that is offered in my area. I supplement with Netflix, Amazon Prime and use Magic Jack for faxing and telecommunications.

    Like Walmart is to the shopping consumers, SET TV is the best value in their arena. I have tried several of the others and have found that none hold a candle to SET TV. No, I do not work for them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not worth your time

    I did the 24-hour free trial and I loved it, everything worked perfect! Then I purchased it, and it has not worked since I bought it. All of my channels are black, or if they do decide to work, they work for maybe 5 seconds, then freeze up and buffer. I called Customer Service twice and they were no help, and I had a live chat with 3 other people and none of them helped me at all, they just kept leaving the chat. This is the worst experience I've had with a company before.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great!

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • May 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using them for a month now, and the only issue I have is the EPG is not always accurate. I've had only one feed issue, and it was restricted to one channel which leads me to believe that it was an issue with the broadcaster, not SET TV.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Worse ever waste of money

    This is nothing more than a paid Kodi app, don't waste your money or time with this with buffers, freezing, locking up, you name it.

    Channels don't work, what a joke. On-Demand, yeah, like three movies work, and if you have a 65-inch TV (which I have an OLED 65E7P) and everything looks like crap (HD my butt). I went back to Netflix and not one problem and content looks like it is supposed to. And don't even try and call them; they just lie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great selection of live channels

    I started using this service after the 24-hour trial. The service is great, I tried several different providers, but I think this is the best! The quality of the picture is great, and it is very easy and simple to use. I definitely recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Buffering

    • Chattanooga, TN,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven’t been able to watch a full show yet, and I’ve been a customer for three months. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s the best thing going, but the buffering has become an un-ignoring situation. I’ve missed all the March Madness games because of the buffering, and I missed the big shot last night in the Notre Dame vs. Miss St game because it was buffering. That is the only flaw that SET TV has. I enjoy it when I can watch a show, the whole show.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Mar 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are tired of paying over $100 for cable, you can't beat SET TV. I have had no buffering issues at all. Awesome channel lineup including HBO, Cinemax, Starz, as well as a host of movies. The picture is great HD quality. Nice sports lineup as well and is available in Spanish and Filipino languages. $20.00 is a fair price and can be used on three in-home devices! Completly satisfied! I am only in the free trial period, but if it works as well as it has I will order the service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2018

      A. James

      What's your internet speed?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Completely satisfied so far

    Three months ago, I decided to give SetvNow a try. Since then, I have been overlapping SetvNow and DirecTV Now services. Last week, I decided to cancel DirecTV Now and go with SetvNow as my family is standalone streaming service, streaming in three rooms on three different Amazon Fire Sticks for $20 a month. A recently updated software version has upgraded the EPG, making it easier to see what's on. You must upgrade to the newest version manually, which I have discussed via chat with SetvNow. It would be easier if it automatically upgraded or sent you a notification when an upgrade was available. Until then, I just check once a month.

    I had DirecTV Now for 14 months and have had several issues, including a lot of buffering. I also tried Sling for 12 months prior to DirecTV Now with similar problems. SetvNow has less buffering and overall issues than either one of the other two streaming services I mentioned above. SetvNow offer A LOT more channels! I have used SetvNow's chat service and have had good luck with them responding.

    SetvNow is not perfect, but the issues are minor, and they appear to be trying to make their services better by upgrading their software versions. It is better than Sling or DirecTV Now. Unless something changes, I'm all in with SetvNow.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Over promises but under delivers

    • Washington DC,
    • Mar 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    SET TV has an amazing array of channel options along with on-demand selections that are just as impressive. And, the pricing is as low as $20 a month. However, their buffering issues are annoying, and their customer services lines always seem to be overwhelmed. For example, today there was an error message, and I waited on hold for 40 minutes to be told that the system would be "back on" in an hour. Two hours later, the system wasn't on, and all calls to customer service ended in a recorded message indicating that the mailbox was full. I finally got through to a chat "representative" and received a canned response about the service being upgraded and that it would return in 2-3 hours.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for SET TV!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review