• 12 Customer Reviews
  • 17% Recommend This Service
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 16% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 83%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Selling a car to Shift

    • By Jeanine S.,
    • California,
    • Nov 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called Shift to sell my vehicle which was in very good condition. Five years with only 31000 miles on it. The initial estimate was $6400 on the telephone. They went through the vehicle, no mechanical or cosmetic issues. The tire light was on and they claimed it needed new tires. Even though they had at least 10,000 miles of tread left. So they deducted $1250 from the initial estimate. Even with the repairs would be $500 at the most. If you accept the price you sign over the title and give them the keys where it is further checked at their lot where they may lower it more. Then beware they have the car and title.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ease of buying

    • By Edmund S.,
    • California,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The website was easy to navigate. I was able to set an appointment fairly quickly. The test drive was efficient. There was no upselling. I didn't feel pressured. Once I decided to move forward the process was fast and efficient. I may buy all my cars this moving forward. What a revolutionary idea! I shop at home and they deliver to my door. Overall an outstanding experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not good for sellers

    • By Meryl R.,
    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a 2015 Smart Car that I wanted to sell. It had a little over 10,000 miles on it and was in excellent condition. I registered it on Carvana but I was contacted by Shift. They sent me an estimate for $6500 and wanted to come and see the car. The person who came was very nice but it appeared he was more concerned with finding things that would allow him to lower the offer. He found such minor scratches that I could barely see them and claimed that they would need to repaint the car. The worst offense was that he took off for the fact that I had put in a Pioneer stereo system with a backup camera, Bluetooth, and GPS. He said they wanted the original equipment, which I kept when I installed the new system. I showed him the Smart radio which didn't even have a CD player. The final offer was $5200! Although I rejected the offer they emailed and called me several times until I told them to stop. I would do better selling it on my own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is shady

    • By Andrew B.,
    • Oregon,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is incredibly shady. First they quoted me $5,000 for my 2011 Dodge caliber in fair condition. Figured I'd go forward with it. Then after I booked the appointment I got a message an hour later that it would be $4800. Which was for no reason at all. Then a couple days later I get a call and the gal said that since the mileage was incorrect, it would bump down $4800...Ok, that's fine, seeing how they changed the quote to that anyway for no reason at all. Then 5 hours later I get a text from some guy who can't get his story straight at all. And says now it's down to $4200...Why? Because of the milage. If a company cannot keep their story straight, what makes me think I'll even get paid after I sign the vehicle over?

    Don't trust these hacks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They don't honor the "first come first serve" rule

    • By Add P.,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They don't honor the "first come first serve" rule, instead, they commit to multiple potential buyers, keep rescheduling appointments until closing on the easiest deal, then cancel the rest; who cares if the other customers had to blocked their day or take a day off work to commit to their appointments. They charge $1200 +/- "Shift Service fee." No other dealers charge such fee...

    On Saturday, I scheduled a test drive for the following Monday, they canceled it half hour before the appointment, sighting an issue found with the car. They said they'll get back to me to reschedule, but they didn't. On Monday night I scheduled another appointment for Wednesday and called them on Tuesday to make sure the appointment is set. They said yes, the car was repaired and my Wednesday appointment is good to go, I asked the operator a few questions about the car, she transferred me to my representative. After talking to him for few seconds, he said "you know what, I was going to call you, the concierge who was bringing the car to you tomorrow had called-in sick and we don't have a backup." I said fine, let's reschedule to another day. I picked Friday and they said okay. A couple of hours later they texted me to let me know the car was sold. I'll let the readers draw their own conclusion. I live about an hour away from where the vehicle is and thought if the distance is too far they will let me know. They accepted the appointment; after all, they do charge $1200 +/- "Shift Service fee."

    Very poorly executed business model! STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Ish E.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Avoid buying a car from this platform at all cost. Their advertised cars seem to have hidden/undisclosed damages that were unprofessionally fixed/patched to mislead the public! Once that so-called five-day return policy expires you’d be done - money lost! Moreover, be aware of their last-minute cancellation tactic, which they unethically use to push you to pay that non-refundable $250 deposit - DO NOT pay it! In my opinion, this entity is operated by some con artist(s) in the Bay Area/SF! Consumer be aware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible - run, don't walk

    • By Cindy H.,
    • Pasadena, CA,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The idea sounds great, takes the headache away from the used car stress, right? I thought so.

    I found a car for my daughter. I did everything they asked, and I was expecting to buy the car on her birthday as a surprise. I was paying cash, so I thought it would be easy.

    First, they show up late. They were supposed to meet me at the location of her party and they blew it. No car with a bow like I had planned.

    Second, the car was a used piece of crap. My friend looked it over and said that it had bad steering, which caused the tires to run noisy on the freeway. Also, there was damage to the seats that they never told me about. My friend noticed that the car had been repainted too - come on, it's a three-year-old car!

    I kept my cash and sent them back with the typical used car - junky and worn out. Can you imagine giving this as a birthday present!

    Keep away from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shift is revolutionizing how we buy used cars

    • By Stacy B.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Seriously, buying a used car should not be a headache, should not require hours and hours of quality research, should not require hours trying to get a good deal. Shift addresses all of these key points for the person that doesn't have time and just wants assurance that you're buying a good car six months after the deal is done! I had a great experience with Shift and would opt to use their service again over a dealership or Craigslist anytime! My car was priced reasonably and cargurus.com lists all of their inventory as "great deals." Plus you get a free Carfax! Can't beat it!

    So "Shift" on over to this new concierge's approach to buying used cars, and sit back and enjoy your new ride!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Trust your gut

    • By Mrs G.,
    • Walnut Creek, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These days, there are so many scams that it's hard to determine the good folks from the bad. So, I tend to do my due diligence and double check on things. Shift's process to sell your car is to:

    1) Get an online estimate.

    2) Schedule an inspection (they come to you...nice touch).

    3) They can drive away with your car (NO), or you can schedule a drop-off.

    4) They process the DMV paperwork and resell the car.

    I completed my original online estimate a few days prior to my scheduled inspection (prior to pulling out my original sales sticker). On the day of the inspection, I realized that I had selected incorrect features. So, I completed an additional online estimate to see how much different the new estimate would be from the former. There was a $100 difference (nice!).

    Here's the due diligence part - I decided to call Shift to confirm that the new quote would match the quote I'd receive from a live person. I spoke with a not-so-polished representative, who quoted me $1000 less than the new quote, stating that based their search of my VIN, the packages I selected were not accurate. When I mentioned that I selected the wrong packages and ran a new estimate that was $1000 higher than what he quotes, he stumbled and rambled on about the online amount being "just an estimate." Intentional or not, it certainly felt like the old "bait and switch."

    Needless to say, I canceled the inspection appointment, disinterested in wasting my time with yet another person who would try to justify an instant $1000 drop-in the offer from what I was provided online.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not do business with this company.

    • By Nyor H.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not do business with this company. After placing a deposit down on a $75,000 Porsche, one of their technicians tore the leather dash overnight and caused $6,500 worth of damage. Rather than offering to pay for the damage, Shift said they would only refund my deposit. They are going to try and scam another buyer. They are probably going to try and fill the hole with a synthetic material. It will be noticeable. Unbelievable lack of professionalism. This company cannot be trusted. If I could give them a 0, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience with any company ever.

    • By Zander F.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Shift's slogan (it's on the side of the building) claims they will bring you a car to test drive. To you. After Shift canceled two appointments on me at the last minute, I finally tracked them down for a third try. The car did not show up. A half an hour after appointment, I called Shift, who did not have any idea where their driver was or what he was doing, but would find out. Another half hour. Shift calls back: the driver never FOUND the car in the first place, and had no intention of letting anyone know until I tracked Shift down to find out.

    That afternoon, I get a call from Shift and amazingly they were able to find their own car. But they don't have any drivers available, so I have to go to them. Slogan failure.

    I humor them by driving an hour to Commerce. Their facility looks like a bad startup company, like season one Silicon Valley.

    A nice young man nervously shakes my hand, and I wait for a half hour while he finds the car key. He promptly leads me out to the wrong car. It takes another half hour to find the real key to the real car that I saw across the parking lot.

    The nice young man knows nothing about this car. He can't answer any questions about it and has to look up any information on his phone, but because I'm a responsible buyer I've already done the internet phone research which renders him useless.

    However, the car is nice and competitively priced.

    I agree to purchase the car, but it has been such a terrible experience that I want compensation for my time an energy. A nice young man comes back from his Manager and offers me a $100 gift card from Amazon. They won't budge, and the manager actually bullies me, telling me he's not worried the car won't sell and he doesn't need my business.

    Almost done here.

    The car is almost signed over. Nice young man makes creepy inappropriate comments about my friend's sunburn, which is more important to him than doing the paperwork in front of him. Then he sells me a warranty. Then he messes that up and overcharges me the warranty, but promises it will refund in a couple days.

    This has seriously been my worst experience with any company ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Seller beware

    • By Julie ,
    • California,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The whole entire experience is disappointing. It's been 12 days since they've picked up my car and after numerous attempts to follow up with calls and emails, I just get a generic email that says someone will contact me in 48 hours. Even after I left 3 messages, I've only received 1 call back after 2 days. I would think they would want to move the car fast and efficiently. I am not sure how they are going to go public if they are working in this speed and this level of customer service.

    In addition, my 2008 IS250 has about 110k miles and I do maintain them regularly and just got 4 brand new set of tires 5 months ago, but after 12 days of having my car they finally email me an entire list of things that they claim that it needs to be repaired which will cost $2702. However, some of the things on the list that they've listed are not accurate, plus I am selling an old car, not a new car. They've added wiper blades, under hood insulation, lift gate supports, etc. that doesn't even apply to my car. It would be nice if someone calls me within a day of sending out the list to go over the repair list. Their email does not list what are my options since those repairs are not necessary due to normal wear and tear.

    Now I understand that perhaps that's how they make their money on top of the flat sale fee $895 which was told by the person who initially evaluated my car in the first place.

    I was hoping to give this new company a try, but now I regret even wasting my time from the start.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-12 of 12

Write a Review for Shift Car Buying Service!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Shift Car Buying Service