What Is Sinemia?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: Oct 5, 2018

Sinemia is a movie-ticket subscription service offering between 1 and 31 tickets per month for between $4.99 and $29.99 a month.

Sinemia is based in Los Angeles – according to the address available on their website, they’re located in a co-working space.

Their CEO is Rifat Oguz, a businessman with a resume that includes jobs at a Turkish cellular company and a European bank, as well as a nine-month stint with Coca-Cola.

Within the context of the movie-ticket subscription world, Sinemia is one of four services. MoviePass AMC Stubs A-List and Cinemark Movie Club are the other three. Knowing which service is right for you requires that you know what Sinemia offers and how it compares to MoviePass.

Over the course of this review, we’ll talk about how you can sign up for Sinemia, how it works, the fine print you need to know about, what people are saying concerning their Sinemia experience and how it compares to the competition.

At the end of our analysis, we’ll provide you with a list of general pros and cons.

The Sinemia Sign-Up Process and Plans

To get a membership, head to the Sinemia website and choose between four different plans, which are divided into Classic and Premium.

Here’s a chart showing you a matrix of the plans:

Classic 1 Classic 2 Classic Movie Every Day Elite 2 Elite 3
# of movies per month 1 2 1 a day 2 3
Cost $4.99 $9.99 $29.99 $12.99 $17.99
IMAX/3D/4D/etc. No No No Yes, 1 Yes, 1
Up-front fee $19.99 $19.99 $29.99 $19.99 $19.99

You have four main options here, with the main difference between Classic and Elite being that Classic only allows tickets to 2D movies while Elite lets you book 2D and 3D movies and one IMAX, 4D and other advanced formats once a month.

If you want to forego the up-front fee and pay for a year all at once, you’ll pay $59.88, $119.88, $359.88, $155.88 and $215.88, respectively. You’ll end up paying the same amount per year if you choose month-to-month, but you’ll have to pay the up-front fee.

When your registration is complete, Sinemia will send you a card that you’ll use to swipe at the theater in order to pay for your movie ticket. You can’t use the service and your membership won’t be active until you have your card.

According to the site’s FAQ page, it can take up to seven days for your card to arrive. However, during busy seasons (like when Sinemia runs promotions) your card make take longer than seven days to arrive.

A Quick Word About Couples Memberships

Sinemia offers dual memberships for couples that have a few distinct advantages over just buying two separate subscriptions. First, you can book two seats together which, according to a Sinemia representative, is a big advantage on movie-premier nights when seats sell quickly.

Second, the subscription gives you one Sinemia debit card that you use to buy the tickets, which means you can bring anyone you want with you: friend, significant other, child or family member.

The prices for these plans are double the individual plans.

How a Sinemia Subscription Works

As we pointed out in the previous section, your Sinemia subscription gives you a certain amount of movie tickets per month.

You have two options for redeeming those tickets. First, you can book it in advance of the movie’s showtime by using the Sinemia app. To do this, go into your app and, under the “Planning” option, you can choose the movie and showtime at the theater you want.

Once you’ve chosen the movie and time, Sinemia will allow you to go to one of three websites and pay for the ticket: Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomTickets.com. You can also book the tickets in advance via the theater’s website or app, a Sinemia rep told us.

You have two hours to make the purchase and your movie can take place within 30 days.

Second, you can go to the movie theater and make the purchase at the theater’s ticket counter or at a ticketing kiosk.

You’ll have to open the app at the theater and check-in through the app, then follow the directions, which will result in you paying for your tickets with your Sinemia card.

At the time of publishing, Sinemia was in the process of phasing out their cards.

When you use the check-in feature, remember that you have 30 minutes to use your card to get a ticket and the showtime for that ticket can be a maximum of five hours from the time you check in.

Sinemia Fine Print: What You Need to Know

While the basics of Sinemia’s service are pretty easy to understand, there are certain things you need to know about your membership so there aren’t any surprises.

Advance Ticket Convenience Fee

As we pointed out earlier, you have to buy your advance tickets via three websites – Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomMovies.com -- the theater’s website or app

When you purchase your tickets through these sites, they charge convenience fees. You’ll be responsible to pay those fees with the credit card you have on file with Sinemia.

Here’s what you’ll pay at each site:

  • Fandango.com: $1.50
  • MovieTickets.com: $1.35 - $2.00
  • AtomTickets.com: $1.50, on average
  • AMCTheaters.com: $1.50 - $2.25

We contacted the customer service departments of each website to confirm the pricing. Fandango gave us one price, while the other two sites said prices depend on the theater at which you book the tickets.

The prices we listed for AMC were based on what we were told by MovieTickets.com and by doing a quick search of two movies at a local AMC theater.

Canceling Subscriptions

If you cancel your subscription, you’ll be able to buy tickets all the way until the end of your membership month. If you started your subscription on the 15th of the month and you cancel on the 1st of any given month, you have through the 14th of that month to use your membership.

Also, keep in mind that Sinemia subscriptions are paid annually, which means you won’t be refunded a prorated subscription fee if you cancel before your year is up. The same applies to month-to-month plans.

Sinemia User Reviews

The Sinemia app gets 3.9 stars in the iTunes store and 2.9 stars in the Google Play app. Recent reviews in the Google Play store about the app were decisively negative, with 13 of the past 15 reviews at the time of publishing being 1 star.

In general, users complained that the app flat-out didn’t work and they weren’t able to book any movies and that the company’s customer service was very slow to respond.

Sinemia and MoviePass Comparison

Sinemia and MoviePass are in direct competition with each other and their pricing models differ, so, to determine which one is best, we made the following table to help you compare what each service offers:

Sinemia AMC Stubs A-List MoviePass Cinemark Movie Club
Plan prices $4.99 - $29.99 $19.95 $9.95 $8.99
Tix included in best plan 1 - 31 12 3 1
Premium included? Yes, certain plans and 1 a month Yes No No
Advance purchase Yes Yes No Yes
Discounted tickets No No No Yes
Couples Option Yes No No No
Theaters included Multiple nationwide Only AMC Multiple nationwide Only Cinemark
App scores (iTunes/Google average rating) 3.9/2.9 4.8 /4.3 2.1/2.3 4.8/4.1
Phone support No Yes No Yes

Sinemia has the distinct advantage of being the only movie theater subscription that offers one movie a day. AMC Stubs A-List does three weeks; they’re the closest competition.

Price-wise, Sinemia’s movie-every-day plan is a great value because it offers at least twice as many movies as AMC for $10 more.

Another advantage that Sinemia has over its three competitors is that you have five plans to choose from that can fit your budget.

When it comes to the company’s app, though, Sinemia falters against competitors AMC and Cinemark, who get at least 4-star average ratings from iOS and Android users.

Also, two other things that hurt Sinemia are that it doesn’t have phone support (AMC and Cinemark do) and you can’t get any premium-format movies with their movie-a-day plan, where AMC allows you to watch almost any premium-format movie if you’re an A-List subscriber.

Pros and Cons of Sinemia

Based on our research, we believe that Sinemia’s strengths lie in its movie-a-day plan as well as the fact that you have five different plans you can choose from ranging in price from $4.99 to $29.99.

We also like that you can watch one premium movie a month with your subscription, but, remember, you only get those premium movies with the Elite package.

The downside to Sinemia is that their premium-format options are limited to a pair of Elite plans that give you two or three movies a month. Their three-movie Elite plan gives you one premium-format movie and is $17.99 a month, whereas a three-movie Classic plan is $9.99. This means you’re paying $8 more to get one premium-format movie.

Is Sinemia right for you? We believe the answer to this question has a lot to do with what you want out of your movie-ticket subscription service.

We believe the type of consumer who is the best fit for this service is someone who:

  • Wants multiple subscription plans they can choose from
  • Wants to go to the movies more than three times a week
  • Wants a premium-format movie included in a reasonably priced plan

If you want to learn more about the service, take a look at our rankings of the best movie subscription services. In the article we compare the four services we mentioned in this review, showing how they rate in categories like best for avid moviegoers, best for casual moviegoers, best app experience and more.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

124 Consumer Reviews for Sinemia

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  117
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 124
Sort reviews by:

  • My account was terminated suddenly

    • Florida,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account was terminated suddenly without any reason. Sinemia claims I violated their TOS, but I have not. I have always used the account as intended. When asked to provide proof of violation I was given a standard reply to request a refund. This is unacceptable. In what instances did I violate the terms of service? I asked again to provide examples with dates and exact violations and again got a standard scripted reply to request a refund. It appears they are targeting high usage accounts. My older son's account was not targeted and he uses the service once every couple of months. I use it monthly and have been since the start. All I ask is to either provide proof of wrongdoing or reinstate my account. If you do not reinstate my account, I will contact an attorney and file a lawsuit. You broke your end of our contract, so I suggest you do the right thing because I guarantee this will cost you more in the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good at first

    • Inverness, FL,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sinemia worked fine for the first 6 months. After that I got an email telling me my account was terminated. They have no phone number that I can find and it takes them a while to answer your email if they answer your email. Then you can't respond back you have to start an email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Membership

    • Florida,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sinemia just changed the one-a-month $29.99 membership to three-a-month for $17.99 or $21.99. They have asked me to send proof of my identity twice, both times I sent a pic of my license and a pic of me holding my license and still they sent a third request again. I don't know what's happening but it is not worth it. I asked them to send me my $17.99 refund by tonight, 03/16/2019, if they do not allow me to see a movie tonight. I will recommend you to stay away until they get their act together. I can't believe they get a 1-star rating, they should get a 0-star rating. I have sent them five customer inquiries, not a response yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever with an online service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After publishing a negative review about Sinemia, I received two emails from Sinemia asking me to modify my email offering me a free movie credit.

    When I updated the review citing their offer of a bribe, I did not receive the free movie (surprise).

    Today I received they are terminating my account because of FRAUD. They cited no specifics describing what I am accused of.

    Avoid this service at all costs...and it will cost you far more than you think.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not get Sinemia!

    • New York,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Sinemia for a few months now, and loved the service at first. I even got their debit card to avoid the processing fees. I followed EVERY RULE they have exactly as directed, including giving them a picture of my driver's license, which I found really weird that I had to do. After seeing about 7 movies, they canceled my account. Not only did they fraudulently cancel my account without details about which rule I broke, but many Sinemia users have experienced the exact same thing.

    It's a little suspicious that they canceled my account right around the point where they will break even. This is unacceptable, and the ones are being fraudulent is Sinemia.

    Sinemia will give the same cookie cutter response to everyone who inquires about why their account was terminated. It seems they are canceling people when the company starts to lose money on them.

    They are lying to people saying they broke rules, and the number is in the thousands. This is even worse than MoviePass, Sinemia IS NOT TO BE TRUSTED.

    Also, Sinemia...if you read this. I do not want your insulting refund. I want my account reinstated, and rightfully so. I went through all your rules and I did not even once break any of them. What you are doing is not only wrong but probably illegal.

    In conclusion, DO NOT GET SINEMIA!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Followed rules to the letter - now they want to charge me hundreds of dollars

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This has been a very frustrating experience. I pre-paid for two full years of Sinemia, and then very carefully followed every requirement of the service. I was careful to "check in" every time. I never used the subscription inappropriately. I even sent them photos of my government ID when they requested it, and the photos were approved. Never once did Sinemia site any problem with my use of the service.

    But today my account was terminated for completely unexplained "fraudulent activity," and Sinemia now wants to charge me FULL PRICE for every single ticket purchased with the service - movie tickets I would have never purchased in the first place if I didn't have the Sinemia subscription.

    I paid for this service and went through all their increasingly-annoying requirements because I'm on a budget but love movies. Now, instead of saving money, Sinemia is ripping me off for hundreds of dollars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • FRUSTRATING SERVICE

    • California,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pathetic service. Please do not fall for this. Instead, get Cinemark membership as it's more reliable.

    They keep changing subscription rules (many a time that means adding cost to user) without any communication, and when you ask questions, you do not get any good response except that this is the new rule and deal with it. No phone number for customer service so have to rely on email back and forth and try to decipher their lousy response. Finally, they can cancel your subscription whenever they want without any specific reason or communication, and you cannot do anything since this was somewhere in their 20-page long "USER AGREEMENT."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Totally fraudulent company

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT sign up or you will regret it really fast. Their app doesn’t work half the time, and you are ignored, blamed, and bilked if you try to bring it up. On two separate occasions, I was not able to watch a movie as the card number generated did not work, so I had to pay out of pocket. Then after a month of using it, they charged me a misuse fee after their app failed to check me in. Since moving to New York City, their app was never able to check me in. I suspect it’s because tickets are expensive in this city, so they have their app fail to check you in as a pretense for charging a high misuse fee. You either pay or your account is frozen, and they keep all of the money you paid for an annual subscription. Either way, they win, and it’s malpractice and a breach of services, but somehow they think they can get away with it. Recently they have become even more brazen and are openly terminating peoples’ accounts for no reason and keeping their money. It’s thievery and their owner should be in jail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    TERRIBLE!

    • Warner Robins, GA,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service worked great for a while. Everything was smooth. I did not like having to pay the convenience fees every time I bought tickets online, however. I did understand paying the online fee the ticket purchasing website added. I then decided to pay the EXTRA $30 for a physical card to buy tickets at the theatre and save those fees. Terrible to charge $30 for a card, but it did save me on fees over the course of the membership.

    That being said, the first hiccup was when I decided to upgrade my plan from two movies a month to three movies a month. I figured I would pay the difference. Well, that was not the case as they just charged my the full year amount and extended my current membership. I was ok with that even though I did email them to get a refund for the extra year and NEVER got a response.

    The second issue was having to send them a picture of me holding my ID for verification. Did not like it but did it anyway and went about watching movies. Well, today I try to reserve a movie and get a response to check online. Well lo and behold, they have now canceled my membership with no notice stating I violated terms of service. No specific reason. Well, seems they are doing this to many people in the last couple of weeks.

    So now I may or may not get a refund for the six months left on my current membership and not sure I will receive a refund for the extended year or the fee for the card. STAY AWAY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sinemia - hope you go bankrupt

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let us start with application. It is so hard to use and takes so long to figure it out. It is like solving calculus problems. Now the hidden fees, you won't find out until it is too late it is already charged in your credit card. Customer service, they take weeks or don't even respond until you spam them. Terms and conditions, Sinemia changes as they see fit. It is nonrefundable so don't go for an annual plan. You will regret it because this is not users or friendly business that cater toward their customers. And finally you will waste so much time and you will be unsatisfied and unhappy for the services that you pay your hard earn money for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sinemia SCAM LLC

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam company - don't buy any plans from them. Their customer service is 0 stars. They waste your time and their goal is for them to make you not see your planned movies each month.

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    I would love to give them 0 stars.

    Yes, I would recommend to the people I don't like so they can suffer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 124

Write a Review for Sinemia!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review