What Is Sinemia?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: Oct 5, 2018

Sinemia is a movie-ticket subscription service offering between 1 and 31 tickets per month for between $4.99 and $29.99 a month.

Sinemia is based in Los Angeles – according to the address available on their website, they’re located in a co-working space.

Their CEO is Rifat Oguz, a businessman with a resume that includes jobs at a Turkish cellular company and a European bank, as well as a nine-month stint with Coca-Cola.

Within the context of the movie-ticket subscription world, Sinemia is one of four services. MoviePass AMC Stubs A-List and Cinemark Movie Club are the other three. Knowing which service is right for you requires that you know what Sinemia offers and how it compares to MoviePass.

Over the course of this review, we’ll talk about how you can sign up for Sinemia, how it works, the fine print you need to know about, what people are saying concerning their Sinemia experience and how it compares to the competition.

At the end of our analysis, we’ll provide you with a list of general pros and cons.

The Sinemia Sign-Up Process and Plans

To get a membership, head to the Sinemia website and choose between four different plans, which are divided into Classic and Premium.

Here’s a chart showing you a matrix of the plans:

Classic 1 Classic 2 Classic Movie Every Day Elite 2 Elite 3
# of movies per month 1 2 1 a day 2 3
Cost $4.99 $9.99 $29.99 $12.99 $17.99
IMAX/3D/4D/etc. No No No Yes, 1 Yes, 1
Up-front fee $19.99 $19.99 $29.99 $19.99 $19.99

You have four main options here, with the main difference between Classic and Elite being that Classic only allows tickets to 2D movies while Elite lets you book 2D and 3D movies and one IMAX, 4D and other advanced formats once a month.

If you want to forego the up-front fee and pay for a year all at once, you’ll pay $59.88, $119.88, $359.88, $155.88 and $215.88, respectively. You’ll end up paying the same amount per year if you choose month-to-month, but you’ll have to pay the up-front fee.

When your registration is complete, Sinemia will send you a card that you’ll use to swipe at the theater in order to pay for your movie ticket. You can’t use the service and your membership won’t be active until you have your card.

According to the site’s FAQ page, it can take up to seven days for your card to arrive. However, during busy seasons (like when Sinemia runs promotions) your card make take longer than seven days to arrive.

A Quick Word About Couples Memberships

Sinemia offers dual memberships for couples that have a few distinct advantages over just buying two separate subscriptions. First, you can book two seats together which, according to a Sinemia representative, is a big advantage on movie-premier nights when seats sell quickly.

Second, the subscription gives you one Sinemia debit card that you use to buy the tickets, which means you can bring anyone you want with you: friend, significant other, child or family member.

The prices for these plans are double the individual plans.

How a Sinemia Subscription Works

As we pointed out in the previous section, your Sinemia subscription gives you a certain amount of movie tickets per month.

You have two options for redeeming those tickets. First, you can book it in advance of the movie’s showtime by using the Sinemia app. To do this, go into your app and, under the “Planning” option, you can choose the movie and showtime at the theater you want.

Once you’ve chosen the movie and time, Sinemia will allow you to go to one of three websites and pay for the ticket: Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomTickets.com. You can also book the tickets in advance via the theater’s website or app, a Sinemia rep told us.

You have two hours to make the purchase and your movie can take place within 30 days.

Second, you can go to the movie theater and make the purchase at the theater’s ticket counter or at a ticketing kiosk.

You’ll have to open the app at the theater and check-in through the app, then follow the directions, which will result in you paying for your tickets with your Sinemia card.

At the time of publishing, Sinemia was in the process of phasing out their cards.

When you use the check-in feature, remember that you have 30 minutes to use your card to get a ticket and the showtime for that ticket can be a maximum of five hours from the time you check in.

Sinemia Fine Print: What You Need to Know

While the basics of Sinemia’s service are pretty easy to understand, there are certain things you need to know about your membership so there aren’t any surprises.

Advance Ticket Convenience Fee

As we pointed out earlier, you have to buy your advance tickets via three websites – Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomMovies.com -- the theater’s website or app

When you purchase your tickets through these sites, they charge convenience fees. You’ll be responsible to pay those fees with the credit card you have on file with Sinemia.

Here’s what you’ll pay at each site:

  • Fandango.com: $1.50
  • MovieTickets.com: $1.35 - $2.00
  • AtomTickets.com: $1.50, on average
  • AMCTheaters.com: $1.50 - $2.25

We contacted the customer service departments of each website to confirm the pricing. Fandango gave us one price, while the other two sites said prices depend on the theater at which you book the tickets.

The prices we listed for AMC were based on what we were told by MovieTickets.com and by doing a quick search of two movies at a local AMC theater.

Canceling Subscriptions

If you cancel your subscription, you’ll be able to buy tickets all the way until the end of your membership month. If you started your subscription on the 15th of the month and you cancel on the 1st of any given month, you have through the 14th of that month to use your membership.

Also, keep in mind that Sinemia subscriptions are paid annually, which means you won’t be refunded a prorated subscription fee if you cancel before your year is up. The same applies to month-to-month plans.

Sinemia User Reviews

The Sinemia app gets 3.9 stars in the iTunes store and 2.9 stars in the Google Play app. Recent reviews in the Google Play store about the app were decisively negative, with 13 of the past 15 reviews at the time of publishing being 1 star.

In general, users complained that the app flat-out didn’t work and they weren’t able to book any movies and that the company’s customer service was very slow to respond.

Sinemia and MoviePass Comparison

Sinemia and MoviePass are in direct competition with each other and their pricing models differ, so, to determine which one is best, we made the following table to help you compare what each service offers:

Sinemia AMC Stubs A-List MoviePass Cinemark Movie Club
Plan prices $4.99 - $29.99 $19.95 $9.95 $8.99
Tix included in best plan 1 - 31 12 3 1
Premium included? Yes, certain plans and 1 a month Yes No No
Advance purchase Yes Yes No Yes
Discounted tickets No No No Yes
Couples Option Yes No No No
Theaters included Multiple nationwide Only AMC Multiple nationwide Only Cinemark
App scores (iTunes/Google average rating) 3.9/2.9 4.8 /4.3 2.1/2.3 4.8/4.1
Phone support No Yes No Yes

Sinemia has the distinct advantage of being the only movie theater subscription that offers one movie a day. AMC Stubs A-List does three weeks; they’re the closest competition.

Price-wise, Sinemia’s movie-every-day plan is a great value because it offers at least twice as many movies as AMC for $10 more.

Another advantage that Sinemia has over its three competitors is that you have five plans to choose from that can fit your budget.

When it comes to the company’s app, though, Sinemia falters against competitors AMC and Cinemark, who get at least 4-star average ratings from iOS and Android users.

Also, two other things that hurt Sinemia are that it doesn’t have phone support (AMC and Cinemark do) and you can’t get any premium-format movies with their movie-a-day plan, where AMC allows you to watch almost any premium-format movie if you’re an A-List subscriber.

Pros and Cons of Sinemia

Based on our research, we believe that Sinemia’s strengths lie in its movie-a-day plan as well as the fact that you have five different plans you can choose from ranging in price from $4.99 to $29.99.

We also like that you can watch one premium movie a month with your subscription, but, remember, you only get those premium movies with the Elite package.

The downside to Sinemia is that their premium-format options are limited to a pair of Elite plans that give you two or three movies a month. Their three-movie Elite plan gives you one premium-format movie and is $17.99 a month, whereas a three-movie Classic plan is $9.99. This means you’re paying $8 more to get one premium-format movie.

Is Sinemia right for you? We believe the answer to this question has a lot to do with what you want out of your movie-ticket subscription service.

We believe the type of consumer who is the best fit for this service is someone who:

  • Wants multiple subscription plans they can choose from
  • Wants to go to the movies more than three times a week
  • Wants a premium-format movie included in a reasonably priced plan

If you want to learn more about the service, take a look at our rankings of the best movie subscription services. In the article we compare the four services we mentioned in this review, showing how they rate in categories like best for avid moviegoers, best for casual moviegoers, best app experience and more.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

74 Consumer Reviews for Sinemia

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sinemia is a waster of money and the worst customer experience you can get

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not subscribe to Sinemia for the below two reasons:

    1. Their support team does not even reply (they do not have a contact number, just an email ID).

    2. Either the app is buggy or the entire thing is a scam to suck more money in.

    Sinemia requires you to check in via the app once you are in the movie. I did check and I got a mail saying that I haven't checked in and charged me more money. I cannot purchase my ticket unless I pay the money which is thrice the amount of the ticket itself. When I reached out to the support, I did not get any response at all. I have sent seven emails so far. I have had a very bad experience, and moreover, I paid for the annual subscription.

    I do not recommend this service to anyone; I even doubt it will get better if they don't address the worst customer experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam of hidden fees. Avoid!

    • California,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst service I have ever used.

    It's definitely the bait and switch scam. It is asking for $1.8/ticket if you are using apps to purchase (previously, there is no option to use physical card, and now they give you the option, but you have to pay ~$15 for it, and still need to pay for $1.8 if you buy the ticket not on the same day of movie). In their main page for ads, there is no place they mention this fee. They also reject to refund even though you just use it once. They will also fight back for credit card chargeback without non-sense terms and conditions. Be aware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not worth to use

    • Illinois,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've taken some Thanksgiving offer which shows the yearly subscription and they charged for that for a year and again they activated some monthly premium and they charged and later when I contacted customer care they don't respond. Unnecessary expenses. Don't waste time.

    Cons: Convenience fee and process fee extra.

    Cradles activation fee (and it will not work all the times.

    Physical card fee.

    Very bad customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Downright criminal

    • Texas,
    • Jan 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I prepaid for a year plan, and due to either deliberate bad timing or incompetence, my account was never activated.

    I waited the full 14 days after paying for membership and submitted multiple inquiries to their customer service portal. I never got any reply. Finally, I said I had enough of waiting for something that I paid for and requested a refund from my bank.

    Once the bank contacted them, only then did they send a fake "Account Activated" message. They were able to win the dispute having faked activation of my account.

    I have since then contacted them at least six times to resolve this issue to either activate my account or give me a refund. They have not replied to a single customer service request.

    When I try to login to the Sinemia app I get the "access denied" message. It is not a case of an incorrect password. I am using a correct password, but they have deactivated my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awful, awful, awful!

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed up for our membership a couple of months ago, and in that short amount of time, we have had more issues than not. We would have never paid in full for a one-year membership (which was not made clear when we signed up) that we aren't able to use.

    We have attempted to use our membership to purchase advance tickets through the app and the website several times over the last two months. Twice we were actually able to use it and three times we weren’t able to because of the "Connection Error" and "Host Error – Bad Gateway" messages that prevented from being able to do so. That is also three times (10/31, 12/27 and 1/2) that I have contacted their so-called "Sinemia Support" only to receive an automatic response stating that my message was received and that they would be in contact "as soon as we can." Needless to say, I still have yet to receive a response.

    In hopes of having avoided any issues online, I have requested our physical cards. I realized after my initial request that Sinemia doesn’t have my address to actually be able to mail my card to. I added my address and requested a card again. After several weeks of waiting for the card, I went on the Sinemia website to requested the physical card AGAIN. I noticed that there is now a fee of $29.98 a card. We have the Classic Membership, which is for two people, so I would have to pay another $60.00 just for us to have physical cards.

    Ironically enough, the same day that I had an issue, I received an email from Sinema with the "newly added features." One of the new features is that they "made a conscious effort to eliminate ticket purchase errors." Apparently, they didn’t, because that is the same day that I received an error.

    Sinemia also claims to have increased their customer support department "to prevent customer issues before they occur." Their claim that their "biggest priority is to address customer support issues" is another LIE!

    We made the switch to Simemia from MoviePass and we are certainly regretting that change. Sinemia is a total ripoff. They were quick to take our money and after that…crickets. And now, two months later, I am still waiting on a response from three separate messages.

    Oh, and their email address on their website to contact for support (https://help.sinemia.com) isn’t even a real email address!

    SUCH A JOKE! I would like a refund of my membership. Considering that I paid over $200 for a membership that I can’t even use, in addition to the ticket purchases that I made because Sinemia wouldn’t work, is in my opinion, theft. If you are considering Sinemia, DON’T DO IT! I wish I would have read all of the negative reviews before I gave them my money. It should be illegal for them to run just a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Additional fees - initiation fee, activation fee, convenience fee, fee for card, and fine for not checking in

    I initially went for an annual subscription for $120 with a $20 initiation fee. Then there was another activation fee of $10. Now for booking every movie, there is a convenience fee of $1.80 per movie. If I need a card, I need to pay another $15. Recently I received a fine for checking in, where the app was not working properly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time or money

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's hard to use and more than you think. They just came out with physical cards... for an additional $15. This is after pre-paying almost $100 for the service for the year, and THEN being told that each time I use it, I have to go to a third party vendor and pay the booking fees (about $3 each time). Customer service is nonexistent, and when I couldn't get the ticket from the app at the box office, I got a bunch of emails with the same directions from the site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sinemia

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sinemia has the worst customer service and they will wrongfully charge you! I've had a Sinemia subscription for about five months now, a premium plan of two movie tickets per month for three people. I was recently charged $42 on my account for misuse of the app and was unable to access my tickets. I contacted customer service and asked them about this fee, all they did was tell me to reread the terms and guidelines. RUDE!

    I reread the terms and guidelines and realized I was using the app incorrectly for five months straight. Not once did Sinemia every try to contact me or correct me. So realizing this, I paid the $42. Then right after, I use the app correctly, making sure all extra fees and numbers are correct, and I was able to use and access my movie tickets. As soon as I return home from my movie, I check my Sinemia account and it says that they are charging me again for the same reason, only this time for $41.07.

    Over the course of a month, I have sent countless emails to Sinemia customer service asking about these back-to-back charges and they have yet to respond to any. I think they no longer want me as a customer and are using tactics so I can keep paying them extra money until I cancel my subscription that I paid ALL AT ONCE FOR THE WHOLE YEAR, meaning I will not receive a refund. Sinemia is a bully. If you question their authority, they will try to milk you dry until you no longer want to deal with them. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worse customer service ever. Don’t join.

    Sinemia is a big fat lie. Their customer service is the worst of any company I’ve ever dealt with. I signed up for this in October. I could never get their app to work to get tickets. After six weeks of back and forth with them (when they would respond), I did a chargeback to my credit card. Right after that, they said they would have physical cards again (of course you have to pay $14.99 for it), so I ordered the card and contacted my credit card company to cancel the chargeback.

    I got my physical card after 2 and 1/2 weeks and then got an email from Sinemia saying they suspended my account due to chargeback. Since mid-December, I have now sent them four emails with a photo of the letter from the credit card saying chargeback was canceled, no response. I sent FB messages which they never read. And I have gone on their website today and have complained I’m paying for a service since October which I have NEVER been able to use. Had I known they were in Turkey when I signed up for this I would not have joined. But people on the MoviePass site which I belonged to before they effed it all up recommend Sinemia. So I’d be wary if I were you, so you don’t get stuck paying for something you’ll never be able to use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    WORSE than MoviePass - no customer support

    • California,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After one year of horrible experience with MoviePass, last week, I purchased the $216.00 Family Plan of this movie subscription and paid an extra $9.95 for Expedited Processing so that I could use the service immediately. The service never worked as promised; there are hidden fees and absolutely NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT. There are no phone numbers, no live chat, and "Premier Customer Support" finally responded to my three emails after almost four days waiting. Marty's responses are incomprehensible, incomplete, and do not address the issues raised.

    DO NOT under any circumstances waste your money on this service! It is a complete money grab, with no customer service AT ALL. Try any other plan but Sinemia.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Paid for gift card which was never delivered

    • Texas,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took advantage of their holiday 30% off gift card special. I signed up and paid for their $75 gift card with 30% off. I got an email from Sinemia that they received the payment. It has been a week now and I still have not received the gift card code via email. I wrote to customer service and still have not heard back from them. Customer service is nonexistent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a Review for Sinemia!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review