What Is Sinemia?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: Oct 5, 2018

Sinemia is a movie-ticket subscription service offering between 1 and 31 tickets per month for between $4.99 and $29.99 a month.

Sinemia is based in Los Angeles – according to the address available on their website, they’re located in a co-working space.

Their CEO is Rifat Oguz, a businessman with a resume that includes jobs at a Turkish cellular company and a European bank, as well as a nine-month stint with Coca-Cola.

Within the context of the movie-ticket subscription world, Sinemia is one of four services. MoviePass AMC Stubs A-List and Cinemark Movie Club are the other three. Knowing which service is right for you requires that you know what Sinemia offers and how it compares to MoviePass.

Over the course of this review, we’ll talk about how you can sign up for Sinemia, how it works, the fine print you need to know about, what people are saying concerning their Sinemia experience and how it compares to the competition.

At the end of our analysis, we’ll provide you with a list of general pros and cons.

The Sinemia Sign-Up Process and Plans

To get a membership, head to the Sinemia website and choose between four different plans, which are divided into Classic and Premium.

Here’s a chart showing you a matrix of the plans:

Classic 1 Classic 2 Classic Movie Every Day Elite 2 Elite 3
# of movies per month 1 2 1 a day 2 3
Cost $4.99 $9.99 $29.99 $12.99 $17.99
IMAX/3D/4D/etc. No No No Yes, 1 Yes, 1
Up-front fee $19.99 $19.99 $29.99 $19.99 $19.99

You have four main options here, with the main difference between Classic and Elite being that Classic only allows tickets to 2D movies while Elite lets you book 2D and 3D movies and one IMAX, 4D and other advanced formats once a month.

If you want to forego the up-front fee and pay for a year all at once, you’ll pay $59.88, $119.88, $359.88, $155.88 and $215.88, respectively. You’ll end up paying the same amount per year if you choose month-to-month, but you’ll have to pay the up-front fee.

When your registration is complete, Sinemia will send you a card that you’ll use to swipe at the theater in order to pay for your movie ticket. You can’t use the service and your membership won’t be active until you have your card.

According to the site’s FAQ page, it can take up to seven days for your card to arrive. However, during busy seasons (like when Sinemia runs promotions) your card make take longer than seven days to arrive.

A Quick Word About Couples Memberships

Sinemia offers dual memberships for couples that have a few distinct advantages over just buying two separate subscriptions. First, you can book two seats together which, according to a Sinemia representative, is a big advantage on movie-premier nights when seats sell quickly.

Second, the subscription gives you one Sinemia debit card that you use to buy the tickets, which means you can bring anyone you want with you: friend, significant other, child or family member.

The prices for these plans are double the individual plans.

How a Sinemia Subscription Works

As we pointed out in the previous section, your Sinemia subscription gives you a certain amount of movie tickets per month.

You have two options for redeeming those tickets. First, you can book it in advance of the movie’s showtime by using the Sinemia app. To do this, go into your app and, under the “Planning” option, you can choose the movie and showtime at the theater you want.

Once you’ve chosen the movie and time, Sinemia will allow you to go to one of three websites and pay for the ticket: Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomTickets.com. You can also book the tickets in advance via the theater’s website or app, a Sinemia rep told us.

You have two hours to make the purchase and your movie can take place within 30 days.

Second, you can go to the movie theater and make the purchase at the theater’s ticket counter or at a ticketing kiosk.

You’ll have to open the app at the theater and check-in through the app, then follow the directions, which will result in you paying for your tickets with your Sinemia card.

At the time of publishing, Sinemia was in the process of phasing out their cards.

When you use the check-in feature, remember that you have 30 minutes to use your card to get a ticket and the showtime for that ticket can be a maximum of five hours from the time you check in.

Sinemia Fine Print: What You Need to Know

While the basics of Sinemia’s service are pretty easy to understand, there are certain things you need to know about your membership so there aren’t any surprises.

Advance Ticket Convenience Fee

As we pointed out earlier, you have to buy your advance tickets via three websites – Fandango.com, MovieTickets.com and AtomMovies.com -- the theater’s website or app

When you purchase your tickets through these sites, they charge convenience fees. You’ll be responsible to pay those fees with the credit card you have on file with Sinemia.

Here’s what you’ll pay at each site:

  • Fandango.com: $1.50
  • MovieTickets.com: $1.35 - $2.00
  • AtomTickets.com: $1.50, on average
  • AMCTheaters.com: $1.50 - $2.25

We contacted the customer service departments of each website to confirm the pricing. Fandango gave us one price, while the other two sites said prices depend on the theater at which you book the tickets.

The prices we listed for AMC were based on what we were told by MovieTickets.com and by doing a quick search of two movies at a local AMC theater.

Canceling Subscriptions

If you cancel your subscription, you’ll be able to buy tickets all the way until the end of your membership month. If you started your subscription on the 15th of the month and you cancel on the 1st of any given month, you have through the 14th of that month to use your membership.

Also, keep in mind that Sinemia subscriptions are paid annually, which means you won’t be refunded a prorated subscription fee if you cancel before your year is up. The same applies to month-to-month plans.

Sinemia User Reviews

The Sinemia app gets 3.9 stars in the iTunes store and 2.9 stars in the Google Play app. Recent reviews in the Google Play store about the app were decisively negative, with 13 of the past 15 reviews at the time of publishing being 1 star.

In general, users complained that the app flat-out didn’t work and they weren’t able to book any movies and that the company’s customer service was very slow to respond.

Sinemia and MoviePass Comparison

Sinemia and MoviePass are in direct competition with each other and their pricing models differ, so, to determine which one is best, we made the following table to help you compare what each service offers:

Sinemia AMC Stubs A-List MoviePass Cinemark Movie Club
Plan prices $4.99 - $29.99 $19.95 $9.95 $8.99
Tix included in best plan 1 - 31 12 3 1
Premium included? Yes, certain plans and 1 a month Yes No No
Advance purchase Yes Yes No Yes
Discounted tickets No No No Yes
Couples Option Yes No No No
Theaters included Multiple nationwide Only AMC Multiple nationwide Only Cinemark
App scores (iTunes/Google average rating) 3.9/2.9 4.8 /4.3 2.1/2.3 4.8/4.1
Phone support No Yes No Yes

Sinemia has the distinct advantage of being the only movie theater subscription that offers one movie a day. AMC Stubs A-List does three weeks; they’re the closest competition.

Price-wise, Sinemia’s movie-every-day plan is a great value because it offers at least twice as many movies as AMC for $10 more.

Another advantage that Sinemia has over its three competitors is that you have five plans to choose from that can fit your budget.

When it comes to the company’s app, though, Sinemia falters against competitors AMC and Cinemark, who get at least 4-star average ratings from iOS and Android users.

Also, two other things that hurt Sinemia are that it doesn’t have phone support (AMC and Cinemark do) and you can’t get any premium-format movies with their movie-a-day plan, where AMC allows you to watch almost any premium-format movie if you’re an A-List subscriber.

Pros and Cons of Sinemia

Based on our research, we believe that Sinemia’s strengths lie in its movie-a-day plan as well as the fact that you have five different plans you can choose from ranging in price from $4.99 to $29.99.

We also like that you can watch one premium movie a month with your subscription, but, remember, you only get those premium movies with the Elite package.

The downside to Sinemia is that their premium-format options are limited to a pair of Elite plans that give you two or three movies a month. Their three-movie Elite plan gives you one premium-format movie and is $17.99 a month, whereas a three-movie Classic plan is $9.99. This means you’re paying $8 more to get one premium-format movie.

Is Sinemia right for you? We believe the answer to this question has a lot to do with what you want out of your movie-ticket subscription service.

We believe the type of consumer who is the best fit for this service is someone who:

  • Wants multiple subscription plans they can choose from
  • Wants to go to the movies more than three times a week
  • Wants a premium-format movie included in a reasonably priced plan

If you want to learn more about the service, take a look at our rankings of the best movie subscription services. In the article we compare the four services we mentioned in this review, showing how they rate in categories like best for avid moviegoers, best for casual moviegoers, best app experience and more.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 133 Sinemia Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  126
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 133
Sort reviews by:

  • Sinemia membership fraud

    I took Sinemia membership in January 2019 with 3 movies per month for $8.99. The first month we used 3 movies and February onwards app not working. I have reported the issue by e-mail as Sinemia has e-mail customer support. They never responded to my e-mails, but they keep charging monthly $8.99 on my credit card. On March 2019, I have canceled my membership as I am unable to use Sinemia benefits, but they didn't send cancellation confirmation. I thought they won't charge again as they confirmed as "Cancellation successful" on their site. When I verified on my credit card transaction history today (the 13th of April 2019), I have seen Sinemia monthly charges $8.99 for April month. I have logged into Sinemia and verified, cancellation option again appeared. Again I did the cancellation same like earlier, but I didn't see cancellation confirmation through e-mail.

    I wrote many e-mails about my app not working, unable to book movie tickets...etc. But they never responded to my e-mails.

    Once we entered payment details in Sinemia site, we will not be allowed to remove/modify or even cancel membership, it's completely in their control and they won't listen to the customer (including cancellation) and they keep charging. SINEMIA is a BIG SCAM. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sinemia robbed my money for no service...

    • Florida,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In September 2018 I purchased a monthly service with Sinemia and they charged me an entire year without letting me know. After this, I wrote them but did not receive an answer for weeks, then I decided to close the account. After I did that they replied with a nonsense response about cardless service and constantly ignore my comment of cancellation. After several attempts and emails, I disputed the charge thru my bank, but the bank did not accept my dispute after several back and forth, and my lack of proof of cancellation that I forgot to print. After this dispute, Sinemia blocked my account, so I'm unable to use it at all since then.

    They don't have phone numbers, just email that is never answered and tweeter that I don't use. I'm frustrated because I want my money back and they are denying my right to stop using their services, which is totally a fraud.

    I never used their service because by the time I tried it never worked. I wrote a letter to Florida and California Departments of business and their reply was that Sinemia could not be contacted.

    I can't believe a merchant can play and force their clients to be with them and without providing service blocking your access if you complain. The bank system backs them up and we are hand tied and ripped off. Please do not ever try to use this service, it is a completely fraud with legal structure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst service ever

    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    App doesn't allow to book the tickets. The support does not reply to you quickly. They do reply to you once when you give a bad review about Sinemia on a public platform, then they don't even fix the problem nor reply after that.

    Last time my card was declined when I tried to book the tickets on the theatre website and I had to physically go to the theatre and enter the details manually, then it worked.

    MoviePass is much better than Sinemia since I never faced a single issue with it and their customer service is far better than Sinemia.

    I feel like my money is completely wasted with Sinemia.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sinemia scammed me

    • Austin, TX,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Last September I paid in advance for a 1-year plan for 2, which came to about $200. After 6 months they accused me of fraud and canceled my membership with no refund. I had jumped every hoop they created, including sending them a photo of myself holding my driver's license card to prove I was who I said I was. Bottom line is, I don't think anyone should trust this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My account was terminated

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account was terminated for fraud. I paid upfront for a one year plan. It took them over two months to send me a physical card after I ordered it. I emailed them many times on the status and never heard back. After being a member for three months, I was asked to send them two clear pics with different forms of ID. I uploaded two clear pics of me with my license and passport. Yes, this is part of their procedure. One form of ID is annoying enough, but two? Ridiculous! After I uploaded two clear pics, I would get an email the next day asking me to do it again. I uploaded two clear pics of me at least 10 times.

    I emailed them numerous times to solve this issue, but I never heard back. There is no phone number to call them, just an email address. Dealing with this company was the worst experience of my life. I would not recommend them and would rather pay for tickets than deal with them ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Completely useless and unacceptable service

    • New York,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Out of nowhere, there is an $18.55 charge on my account and without paying that - it is not allowing me to book any tickets. I tried emailing the customer service 4-5 times but no reply! On what earth does a company not have contact with customer service. I am not going to pay this extra amount and discontinuing the service, and will make sure none of my friends buy this BS sinemia. Waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stay away because they will cancel accounts improperly

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would definitely not recommend this site to anyone. I have used it for two months and when signing up, I signed up for the 2-person 3-movie a month plan. I also decided to sign up for the debit card to avoid having to pay the online ticketing fees of Fandango. A month after I started my account, I received an email to send my driver's license picture and another picture of myself holding my driver's license. I thought that was odd and went along with it. I had been checking into my movies within the proper time and swiping at the movie theater with my Sinemia card and not watching any premium movies. Today I tried to use while at the theater but was greeted with a message saying I must log into my member account. I ended up logging into my account to find that my account had been terminated without any explanation. I sent an email to the customer service department and this was their response:

    "Hope you're having a great day.

    We see that your account's been terminated by the system automatically. Unfortunately we cannot provide any further details as we do not have access to such information. You may refer to the message you see on your membership area for further information or visit www.sinemia.com/terms for the terms of service.

    Since Sinemia is a non-refundable service, we cannot issue refunds unfortunately. You can cancel your membership on your membership page: sinemia.com/member. Once you cancel, your premium plans will not get renewed and you will be able to use them until the last day of the plan."

    Best wishes to you if you want to try it to save some money. It may be better to pay a little more for peace of mind with AMC.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Too good to be true!

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Sinemia plan for my husband, and I too go to the movies three times a month. I also paid for a physical card so I wouldn't have to pay any fees. We watched three movies in January and three movies in February. When we went to watch our third movie in March, we were denied. They canceled the account stating "unauthorized use" even though I followed EVERY RULE including taking a photograph of me holding my driver's license to prove it was me. I believe they canceled the account after my seventh movie when they used up the money I paid. They never stated what rule I broke and they don't give you a phone number to call. They are a FRAUD. This has happened to others so beware. I already submitted a complaint to BBB. They need to be stopped and put in jail for fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    FRAUD. Don't bother with this.

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the 3 movies a month plan successfully for two months. I had to pay upfront for a year, plus an extra $15 for the card.

    Now just two months into the membership Sinemia has canceled my membership as I'm accused of inappropriate use. It's all bullcrap. They count on people to buy and then not go to the movies.

    Now I see so many others stating the same story in their review of this BS company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My account was terminated suddenly

    • Florida,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account was terminated suddenly without any reason. Sinemia claims I violated their TOS, but I have not. I have always used the account as intended. When asked to provide proof of violation I was given a standard reply to request a refund. This is unacceptable. In what instances did I violate the terms of service? I asked again to provide examples with dates and exact violations and again got a standard scripted reply to request a refund. It appears they are targeting high usage accounts. My older son's account was not targeted and he uses the service once every couple of months. I use it monthly and have been since the start. All I ask is to either provide proof of wrongdoing or reinstate my account. If you do not reinstate my account, I will contact an attorney and file a lawsuit. You broke your end of our contract, so I suggest you do the right thing because I guarantee this will cost you more in the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good at first

    • Inverness, FL,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sinemia worked fine for the first 6 months. After that I got an email telling me my account was terminated. They have no phone number that I can find and it takes them a while to answer your email if they answer your email. Then you can't respond back you have to start an email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 133

Write a Review for Sinemia!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review