Skintology MD Review – Removes Skin Tags or Hype?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 19, 2019

Skintology MD is a topical serum that is designed to provide a safe, effective solution to remove skin tags from the body in a matter of hours.

The product’s website describes it as using an all-natural formula that has been proven to eliminate skin tags, as well as prevent them from recurring.

The topical serum can be applied anywhere on the body where skin tags might form. The manufacturer claims that the application can take as little as 30 minutes to take effect. It is also mentioned that the product can be used for warts and moles, as well.

So, how exactly does Skintology MD actually work? Let’s take a look in the section below.

How Skintology MD Works

The makers of Skintology MD assert that the product uses “ancient techniques discarded by mainstream medical science” in order to eliminate skin tags.

They go on to say that the ingredients found within the product formula help to dry out moles and skin tags, reducing their appearance, and ideally, eliminating them altogether.

The formula itself is said to have been custom-designed by a team of dermatologists to eliminate these blemishes using a three-step process:

  1. Cut off hydration supply to the skin tag or mole. This is said to prevent additional growth.
  2. Dry out the affected area. This drying effect is what is responsible for the skin tag ultimately withering and falling off of the skin.
  3. Nourish and hydrate the area. Helps the healing process, protecting the skin and preventing new growths in the process.

This sounds promising, but before we can determine whether or not Skintology MD will actually work for you, we need to look at some basics. For instance, what are skin tags, and how are they formed in the first place?

Additionally, what are some of the conventional methods for treating and removing them? We’ll take a closer look at both of these questions next, before diving deeper into Skintology MD’s formula.

Skin Tags: What Causes Them?

Let’s start off with a bit of good news; though skin tags may be unsightly and annoying to some, in the vast majority of cases, they are completely benign.

According to WebMD, they cause virtually no symptoms and typically are either formed right on the surface of the skin or on short stalks that seem to “sprout” out from nearly any area on the body.

Skin tags are also quite common; approximately 25% of people develop them at some point in their lives, and this is increasingly common after the age of 50. They are also reported to be more prevalent in those living with diabetes, as well as those who are overweight.

Conventional Skin Tag Removal Methods

According to WebMD, there are several conventional methods for removing skin tags that are well-established, safe and effective.

These include physically cutting it off using a scalpel or scissors, freezing it off with cryosurgery, and electrosurgery (using an electrical current to burn it off).

Of course, each for these treatments requires that you pay a visit to a doctor or specialist, and for many, higher costs may be a compelling reason to look to a product like Skintology MD instead.

Skintology MD Formula Ingredients & Side Effects

According to one the manufacturer’s Skintology MD websites, the following ingredients are included in the product’s formula:

  • Mentha piperita (peppermint)
  • Melissa officinalis (lemon balm)
  • Jojoba seed oil
  • Melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree oil)

No information was provided as to the concentration of each of these ingredients found inside the serum. There is an option to view the full product label, but as of this writing, it seemed to be a non-functional link.

We reached out to customer service, who they told us they were unable to provide a full list of ingredients and concentration amounts at the time. That said, do any of these substances show clinical promise in terms of being effective at treating skin tags, moles, and other blemishes?

Based on information provided by WebMD, Examine.com, and Healthline, we found that none of these four ingredients had a significant, clinical link to removing skin tags or moles.

It is important to note that this doesn’t necessarily mean that the product won’t work for you; only that there isn’t sufficient evidence to conclusively prove that the ingredients found inside its formula are effective in clinical trials.

In fact, Healthline reports that many topical products can be effective for treating skin tags and that surgical treatments may be better suited as a backup plan if these treatments fail.

Additionally, none of the ingredients found in Skintology MD’s formula were reported by the sources above to have any severe side effects when used topically. Of course, as always, if you are concerned about any potential allergies you may have, it is always best to speak with a doctor before trying a new product for the first time.

Skintology MD Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, Skintology MD was only available via the manufacturer’s various product websites. It is packaged in three different quantities, and the pricing for each is as follows:

  • One bottle - $59.99 + free shipping
  • Two bottles - $99.98 + free shipping
  • Three bottles - $134.97 + free shipping

Regardless of which option you were interested in, each order is listed as including a 30-day money back guarantee. Digging into the fine print, we found refunds are handled on a “case-by-case” basis.

We reached out to customer service again to see if they could provide any clarity and they let us know that unopened products can be returned within 30 days for a full refund. Opened products, meanwhile, were only eligible for a “partial” refund, though the agent declined to state how much that might be.

If you were considering making a purchase, we feel this is important to keep in mind when considering which quantity to purchase.

The Bottom Line: Is Skintology MD Right For You?

Skintology MD promises to provide a quick, efficient and proven method for removing skin tags anywhere they may appear on your body. Can you count on the product to deliver these results?

Based on the information we’ve collected above from sources like WebMD, Healthline, and Examine.com, none of the ingredients found in the product’s formula are clinically proven to be effective for skin tag removal.

That said, Healthline did report that there are a number of over-the-counter solutions that are potentially effective, and Skintology MD could feasibly fall into this category. Ultimately, you may want to reach out to your dermatologist and get a recommendation before committing to any specific product.

If you’d prefer to simply give Skintology MD a shot and see how it goes, keep in mind that you’ll only be able to receive an unspecified “partial refund” if you determine it isn’t for you after using the serum.

We might recommend that those interested in trying the product purchase a single bottle initially. This way, you’ll have less money to lose if you determine that it isn’t the right solution for your skin tags in the end.

Have you used Skintology MD before? What were the results? Share your valuable experience with other HighYa readers below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 21 Skintology MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Skin tag removal

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We tried the skin tag removal and it was totally worthless. It did absolutely nothing. It's a scam. Save your money. Take the money you would have used and give to a charity where it would be far better used.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ineffective product

    • Chester Springs, PA,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product does not work - I tried it according to directions for a month and saw no change. Automatically sends you another order and charges $50 even though the product does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy it! Very unhappy with the product and being dumb enough to try it. I should have read more and realized it doesn't work. Then after calling customer service I found it that they don't take care of their customers either. She refused to give me a total refund even when the website states "If you are unhappy, we will refund - NO QUESTIONS ASKED!" That's a LIE! I really wanted this product to work and told the people that over email and over the phone. But as my 30 days were coming to an end, I decided it wasn't going to work since the video says 6-8 hours and I have been using it 2 and 1/2 weeks. Don't buy it! You will save yourself a hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! Does NOT WORK!

    • Missouri,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give no stars I would! I bought a 1-time product for $59.99 on June 22, 2019 for my mother. It didn't take very long to get here, but when she opened it, I remember her remarking that it didn't smell like anything (which is odd for something with peppermint in it to not smell like anything). She applied it faithfully 3 times a day for the next 3-4 weeks and nothing happens.

    I see a charge on my credit card on July 22, 2019 for $49.99 from Skintology MD, which was odd because I only ordered the one-time product and clicked the box for it. I email the company letting them know that I don't want to be charged again and that I want a full refund for both charges - seeing as the product did not do what it said it would. I was told by Myra that I'd have to call to see about the refund because they could only cancel the alleged "subscription" over email. I call the toll free line and speak to an agent who gives me her employee number (either 103 or 183) and then tells me about how I supposedly signed up for a monthly subscription and that it's already canceled. When I ask for a full refund for both charges to my account, she tells me that I can only get a refund for the second charge as it was past the 30-day money-back guarantee. This I knew was a lie that they had told many people because it was the 30th day of my guarantee and I should've been able to still get my money back. The odd thing is that the website says that it takes 3- 6 weeks for results so shouldn't there be a longer trial time (like 60 or 90 days)? Sorry about that short tangent there.

    After this, the customer service rep tells me that if I want a refund I'll have to pay S&H to send the stuff back that they just shipped out as well as a $7 (and some change) "stocking fee;" on top of that they told me I'd only get back 75% of the $49.99 if I did this but if I decided to keep the product - which, mind you, did not work - I'd only get 25% of my money back. I told her that I ordered the 1-time product and that the whole second charge was their mistake to begin with and that I was only on the 30th day of the first trial's money-back guarantee so I wanted a full refund for both. She told me that she was going to speak to her manager and came back saying that they'd give me 50% of the money for the second charge and allow me to keep the product. I told her that I have no use for a product that doesn't work and she told me that I'd have to call back AGAIN for the return information.

    I decided I'd take this up with the BBB as I knew I was entitled to a full refund considering the circumstances that they'd made the second mistake and I was well within the boundaries of the 30-day guarantee to get my money back for the first charge but was denied it by them. I'm waiting to hear back from the BBB now! I can't believe they only offered me $12.49 - of the $109.98 I was charged - back just because they wouldn't acknowledge their own guarantee and knew that nobody wants to spend their own money to ship the product back and pay the stocking fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Does not work for me

    • Ferndale, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought three tubes of Skintology because they were the "Best Value". Did absolutely nothing for my moles. Time got away from me so I could not return them for my money-back guarantee because I was over the 30 days. I would buy only one tube until you see if it works for you. Why waste the money on a super deal if it doesn't work? In case you don't read all of the legal fine print, you are also signing up for automatic monthly delivery as well. If it had worked as advertised, why would you need four tubes of this product? On the last tube that showed up they offered 25% off to not have to bother sending it back and then when I balked, they offered 50% off the $49 tube to be done with it. I am into this product just under $200 and my refund is $25.00. I am over 60 years old and have never written a negative review about any experience or product before but I feel this situation deserves a comment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    This is a SCAM

    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally ordered what I thought was a product that might work. It doesn't, and when I called them, after having received a fourth product, was that my order was a subscription. And what that means is I get once a month a tiny tube of some kind of liquid that simply does not work. And each month I get a bill for about $45. I called the listed telephone number (844-200-0458) several times and left voice messages, no response. Finally, I got to speak to a living person who kept giving me a sale pitch. I finally got the individual to accept my cancellation and I want to WARN others that this is probably mail fraud as the product DOES NOT live up to their claims and NOWHERE could I find that I was subscribing to a monthly product at an outrageous price!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Lancaster, SC,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband has been using this for a month every day religiously and to his dismay, it does not work. Today, after checking my bank account I found out that they have debited my account for another month supply. Getting ready to call them. What a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Skintology MD is a complete SCAM

    • Georgia,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just received my first-month subscription. I was unaware at the time of the original purchase that I was signing up for a monthly subscription. I'm a pretty savvy online buyer, but this company is very good at hiding their deceptive practices. Called my credit card company and they called Skintology MD while I was on the line. At first, they offered to refund only 75%, but the agent insisted on 100%. They refunded the charge and canceled the subscription. Thanks Capital One!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product does not work. The product is very expensive and you get a very tiny amount in the skinny tube. I have been using it for two weeks and it does not work. Do not waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Newark, DE,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don't buy this product! It is a scam. They let you sign for automatic shipment without your knowledge. The product does not work at all! Please stay away from this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Loveland, CO,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As with all of these complaints, mine is a common refrain...I ordered a one-time (or so I requested) shipment for this product for $59.99 in February for my wife's skin tags. In March 2019, I unexpectedly received a second shipment of their product and a charge was reflected in my bank account for $49.99. I immediately tried to contact the company but got their voicemail and left a detailed message. I also sent a letter through certified mail requesting that they cease any future shipments and refund my money. I heard nothing from them and this April noticed another $49.99 charge to my bank account, but no product was received. Just filed a BBB report, but I'm not holding my breath!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Skintology MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review