About SkyLink Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 9, 2018

The SkyLink Antenna promises to help you gain access to more than 100 of your favorite channels in 1080 high-definition, including TV shows, local news and weather, and live sports (NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, NASCAR, etc.).

The website advertises that this cutting-edge technology was developed by a NASA scientist using military technology to deliver dual-band reception (VHF/UHF with 20 dB gain) from up to 50 miles away, anywhere in the United States.

You’ll just need to start by connecting the antenna to the back of your TV's coaxial receiver, and then positioning on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, on a shelf, or wherever you get the best reception using the included tape, which will "depend on the geological environment." Finally, you'll perform a channel scan with the antenna selected as your source, and enjoy your free content.

Overall, we’re told setup only takes a couple of minutes, that the antenna uses multidirectional functionality to pick up signals from all around, and its compact 8.3" x 4.7", 12 oz design is said to make it ideal for just about anywhere, including in your home, at the office, or in your RV or camper while traveling.

When it comes down to it, can you expect such spectacular results with a digital antenna like SkyLink, or should you consider other options if you’re looking for freedom from expensive cable bills? Is it really the “#1 rated indoor HDTV antenna in America,” as advertised on the website?

Stick with us over the course of the next few minutes, and we'll help you make a more empowered decision.

The Basics: How Do Antennas Like SkyLink Work?

From a high-level perspective, digital antennas like SkyLink work similar to their old-school rabbit ear counterparts. In other words, they receive signals floating around in the air, translate them into a usable picture, and then make these images viewable on your TV screen.

As you might imagine, the most significant difference is that rabbit ears were designed to pick up analog signals, while more recent models receive digital signals. This is because of the Digital Television Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, which went into effect on March 31, 2009, which stipulated that all signals broadcast by major networks (e.g., ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, etc.) had to be transmitted in a digital format.

The advantage is that viewers can receive much higher quality digital images, compared to analog. In fact, because no compression occurs as it does with a traditional cable box, image quality could actually be even better with an antenna.

Most digital antennas are limited to a range of about 50 miles or less, though, so the specific number of channels you’ll have access to depends on your proximity to them.

Also, as briefly mentioned on the SkyLink Antenna website, the signal quality you’ll ultimately receive can depend on a wide variety of important factors, including tower distance, any features that might scramble signals (e.g., trees, hills/mountains, tall buildings, etc.), as well as the antenna’s placement in your home (e.g., in the basement vs. on the inside of an upper floor window).

How Much Does the SkyLink Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyLink Antenna largely depends on which area of the company’s site you decide to purchase from. For example, if you click on the Buy Now button on their homepage, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Unit: $31.43
  • 2 Units: $57.63 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Units: $78.59 ($22.20 each)
  • 4 Units: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Units: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

On the other hand, a separate landing page lists prices as follows:

  • 1 Unit: $39.95
  • 2 Units: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Units: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Units: $130 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Units: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of the price you pay, in addition to the antenna, each order also includes a 10-foot high-performance coaxial cable, along with a coaxial cable Euro adapter.

The manufacturer offers a 30-day exchange policy on all SkyLink Antennas, although per their website, this only applies to product that’s defective or was damaged during shipping.

To request one, you’ll need to send an email to support@skylinktvantenna.com.

Are There Other Indoor Digital Antennas Like SkyLink?

While digital antennas weren’t always inexpensive when they became must-have items for cable-cutters way back in 2009, the reality is that in today’s market, there are perhaps hundreds of options to choose from. Many of these are competitively priced with SkyLink and promise to deliver all of the same benefits.

These include popular online search results like the Mohu Blade ($40), Rocketfish HDTV Antenna ($30), and the RCA ANT lineup ($15-$30), as well as other options the HighYa team has written about in the past, such as SkyWire Antenna, Clear TV, and TV Fox Antenna.

Pro tip: In fact, while we didn’t test any devices ourselves, SkyWire and SkyLink appear to be identical products, with the same weight, dimensions, pricing differences, and overall advertising claims.

And this is to say nothing of the potentially hundreds of generic options widely available on online marketplaces like Google Shopping, Amazon, and Walmart, some of which can be found for $15 or less. How to choose?

Trial & Error: Choosing Between SkyLink Antenna and the Competition

After testing dozens of models, Digital Trends concluded that there are no set-in-stone rules when it comes to finding the right digital indoor antenna for you. It’s almost certainly going to take some trial and error, so they recommend purchasing a least a couple of options to test out before making a final decision.

With this in mind, they pointed out several general guidelines you can use to help point you in the right direction:

  • From a quality perspective, you get what you pay for. The farther away you are from transmission towers, the more you’ll likely want to spend.
  • You don’t always need a built-in amplifier, which only boosts a weak signal, but won’t improve picture quality if you already have a strong signal. In fact, they point out that attempting to do so could actually damage your TV.
  • Just like there are no given rules when it comes to the ‘perfect’ antenna (SkyLink or otherwise), it’s much the same with room placement; it will take some trial and error.

However, start by going to sites like AntennaWeb.org and entering your address, which will display the closest broadcast towers relative to your location. From there, you’ll want to place the antenna in a window (without a screen, ideally) that faces those towers.

Just keep in mind that according to Digital Trends, their testers found that camera (and even people) placement could affect signal strength by up to 20 percent, as could other objects like plants, lamps, and so forth. Even the TV make and model can impede your antenna’s signal.

Taking everything we’ve discussed together, where are you left when it comes to the SkyLink Antenna?

Where to Go Next With the SkyLink Antenna

When it comes down to it, SkyLink appears to be a bare-bones indoor digital antenna that’s priced mostly in line with competing models from third-party brands. As we outlined earlier, though, based on all the different variables that can meaningfully impact signal strength, there’s no way to know if it—or any other indoor digital antenna, for that matter—will be the optimal choice for your specific situation without giving it a try.

However, based on what’s listed on their website, your only option with SkyLink is to obtain an exchange if the device is damaged or defective. So, if the antenna simply doesn’t meet your needs, you’re out of luck as far as getting your money back.

This is in stark contrast to much of the competition (many of which are available locally at big box retailers like Target, Walmart, and Best Buy, to name just a few), which is often supported by at least 30-day money back guarantees, regardless of the circumstances. Based on this alone, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend exploring all your options before committing to SkyLink.

Finally, as detailed in our Step-by-Step Guide to Cutting the Cord & Getting Rid of Cable, it's important to emphasize that these antennas only provide access to over-the-air signals transmitted by major networks like ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, and so forth.

So, if you’re looking to get rid of your cable subscription but still want access to your favorite programming on premium channels like HBO, Showtime, TNT, HGTV, Discovery, and Nickelodeon (as just a handful of examples), you’ll need to focus on options other than indoor antennas like SkyLink.

» Read Next: How I Cut the Cord & Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $50

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

145 Consumer Reviews for SkyLink Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 145
Sort reviews by:

  • What a waste!

    • Muncie, IN,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a total scam, it doesn't work, and help or wanting a refund is out of the question. Do not buy this product,you're throwing your money away. I unfortunately did. When they responded to my email, all they did was confirm what we had already tried and resent a manual.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Mediocre antenna and a total lie about discount

    • Oregon,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered since they claimed I would get 50% off of the regular $40 price if I "ORDER NOW." I did not get a discount. Charged full price. The antenna works technically, but no better than the $10 antenna I got from Walmart. Very shady. Order your antenna from anyone but SkyLink.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of trash

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst piece of crap I've ever bought! No channels came in. The sound on one channel partially came through. No refund policy! I'm stuck with this crappy garbage and out $30! I am so very dissatisfied and disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Cedar Rapids, IA,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was the biggest waste of money EVER. Free TV? I was able to find about 8 viewable channels, of which 4 were public television, 2 were shopping channels, and 2 were channels I've never heard of before. This antenna (and I wasted my money on the booster too) will not replace your cable/satellite. What's even better, they also have a no refund policy. BUYER BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Absolute total waste of money

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a waste of money! I was fooled into thinking the commercials were honest and trustworthy that this product really does get you tons of free TV! I ordered two, and even foolishly bought the "booster," which does absolutely nothing. I can, at most, on a good clear day get maybe 3-4 channels, all of them public access garbage I probably could have picked up with rabbit ears.

    I live in a major city of over one million people, so there are plenty of reasons this should have worked as advertised. Additionally, there are no customer rebates, and it took two weeks to deliver after paying a small ransom for delivery.

    Go to Best Buy, or somewhere else, buy a product similar for cheaper, that you can take back for a rebate if it doesn't work. DO NOT BUY this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware, do not buy this product - no warranty or return policy

    • Centennial, CO,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product will not pick up a major channel ABC in my area. The amplifiers do not work - less than 30 channels would scan. You can buy a power antenna thru Universal Electronics called ONE for All model 16472 at Walmart that gets all three major channels and over 60 channels in my area.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Horrible antenna! Major scam.

    • Lubbock, TX,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They will not honor their guarantee and will not send a return label to send them back, so you are stuck with this crap. You are better off buying a $5.00 discount store antenna. I’ve called them and sent emails, and they will respond with different ideas and tricks on how to make this crappy antenna work, but it won’t. Please don’t waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    If only...

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I had only seen these reviews before I made a purchase. I too was planning on using this antenna and cutting my cable bill. Tomorrow, Monday, I plan on calling the bank and stopping payment. I only hope it's not too late. Thanks, everyone for your reviews. I will let you know if I was able to stop the transaction. Best wishes all, and I hope you find a good digital antenna.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Not good reception

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 5 antennas to replace cable, but cannot. The reception is not all that good, and I haven't been able to get not nearly as many channels as it boasted. I have put it up high, I have even had that boost part that they said would extend the range. Regular channels come in and out and I haven't seen 300 channels.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Does not live up to advertising hype

    • Herbando, MS,
    • Oct 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money on this product. After purchasing one to hopefully replace an existing HDTV Antenna installed in my attic, I found out that it would only pull in 27 channels vs. the 37 channels with my older antenna. This was with them side by side. I contacted SkyLink's customer support to try and get a refund. After some back and forth with a lot of environmental excuses for the poor performance, I was told that they could not refund me unless it was damaged. Yet another company that does not understand customer satisfaction, or customer focus.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good customer replies. The unit only picks up some local and regional channels. I asked for a full refund and they always have a reason to refuse. They say it is the latest military technology, but the wrapper says made in China!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 145

Write a Review for SkyLink Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review