About SkyLink Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 9, 2018

The SkyLink Antenna promises to help you gain access to more than 100 of your favorite channels in 1080 high-definition, including TV shows, local news and weather, and live sports (NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, NASCAR, etc.).

The website advertises that this cutting-edge technology was developed by a NASA scientist using military technology to deliver dual-band reception (VHF/UHF with 20 dB gain) from up to 50 miles away, anywhere in the United States.

You’ll just need to start by connecting the antenna to the back of your TV's coaxial receiver, and then positioning on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, on a shelf, or wherever you get the best reception using the included tape, which will "depend on the geological environment." Finally, you'll perform a channel scan with the antenna selected as your source, and enjoy your free content.

Overall, we’re told setup only takes a couple of minutes, that the antenna uses multidirectional functionality to pick up signals from all around, and its compact 8.3" x 4.7", 12 oz design is said to make it ideal for just about anywhere, including in your home, at the office, or in your RV or camper while traveling.

When it comes down to it, can you expect such spectacular results with a digital antenna like SkyLink, or should you consider other options if you’re looking for freedom from expensive cable bills? Is it really the “#1 rated indoor HDTV antenna in America,” as advertised on the website?

Stick with us over the course of the next few minutes, and we'll help you make a more empowered decision.

The Basics: How Do Antennas Like SkyLink Work?

From a high-level perspective, digital antennas like SkyLink work similar to their old-school rabbit ear counterparts. In other words, they receive signals floating around in the air, translate them into a usable picture, and then make these images viewable on your TV screen.

As you might imagine, the most significant difference is that rabbit ears were designed to pick up analog signals, while more recent models receive digital signals. This is because of the Digital Television Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, which went into effect on March 31, 2009, which stipulated that all signals broadcast by major networks (e.g., ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, etc.) had to be transmitted in a digital format.

The advantage is that viewers can receive much higher quality digital images, compared to analog. In fact, because no compression occurs as it does with a traditional cable box, image quality could actually be even better with an antenna.

Most digital antennas are limited to a range of about 50 miles or less, though, so the specific number of channels you’ll have access to depends on your proximity to them.

Also, as briefly mentioned on the SkyLink Antenna website, the signal quality you’ll ultimately receive can depend on a wide variety of important factors, including tower distance, any features that might scramble signals (e.g., trees, hills/mountains, tall buildings, etc.), as well as the antenna’s placement in your home (e.g., in the basement vs. on the inside of an upper floor window).

How Much Does the SkyLink Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyLink Antenna largely depends on which area of the company’s site you decide to purchase from. For example, if you click on the Buy Now button on their homepage, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Unit: $31.43
  • 2 Units: $57.63 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Units: $78.59 ($22.20 each)
  • 4 Units: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Units: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

On the other hand, a separate landing page lists prices as follows:

  • 1 Unit: $39.95
  • 2 Units: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Units: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Units: $130 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Units: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of the price you pay, in addition to the antenna, each order also includes a 10-foot high-performance coaxial cable, along with a coaxial cable Euro adapter.

The manufacturer offers a 30-day exchange policy on all SkyLink Antennas, although per their website, this only applies to product that’s defective or was damaged during shipping.

To request one, you’ll need to send an email to support@skylinktvantenna.com.

Are There Other Indoor Digital Antennas Like SkyLink?

While digital antennas weren’t always inexpensive when they became must-have items for cable-cutters way back in 2009, the reality is that in today’s market, there are perhaps hundreds of options to choose from. Many of these are competitively priced with SkyLink and promise to deliver all of the same benefits.

These include popular online search results like the Mohu Blade ($40), Rocketfish HDTV Antenna ($30), and the RCA ANT lineup ($15-$30), as well as other options the HighYa team has written about in the past, such as SkyWire Antenna, Clear TV, and TV Fox Antenna.

Pro tip: In fact, while we didn’t test any devices ourselves, SkyWire and SkyLink appear to be identical products, with the same weight, dimensions, pricing differences, and overall advertising claims.

And this is to say nothing of the potentially hundreds of generic options widely available on online marketplaces like Google Shopping, Amazon, and Walmart, some of which can be found for $15 or less. How to choose?

Trial & Error: Choosing Between SkyLink Antenna and the Competition

After testing dozens of models, Digital Trends concluded that there are no set-in-stone rules when it comes to finding the right digital indoor antenna for you. It’s almost certainly going to take some trial and error, so they recommend purchasing a least a couple of options to test out before making a final decision.

With this in mind, they pointed out several general guidelines you can use to help point you in the right direction:

  • From a quality perspective, you get what you pay for. The farther away you are from transmission towers, the more you’ll likely want to spend.
  • You don’t always need a built-in amplifier, which only boosts a weak signal, but won’t improve picture quality if you already have a strong signal. In fact, they point out that attempting to do so could actually damage your TV.
  • Just like there are no given rules when it comes to the ‘perfect’ antenna (SkyLink or otherwise), it’s much the same with room placement; it will take some trial and error.

However, start by going to sites like AntennaWeb.org and entering your address, which will display the closest broadcast towers relative to your location. From there, you’ll want to place the antenna in a window (without a screen, ideally) that faces those towers.

Just keep in mind that according to Digital Trends, their testers found that camera (and even people) placement could affect signal strength by up to 20 percent, as could other objects like plants, lamps, and so forth. Even the TV make and model can impede your antenna’s signal.

Taking everything we’ve discussed together, where are you left when it comes to the SkyLink Antenna?

Where to Go Next With the SkyLink Antenna

When it comes down to it, SkyLink appears to be a bare-bones indoor digital antenna that’s priced mostly in line with competing models from third-party brands. As we outlined earlier, though, based on all the different variables that can meaningfully impact signal strength, there’s no way to know if it—or any other indoor digital antenna, for that matter—will be the optimal choice for your specific situation without giving it a try.

However, based on what’s listed on their website, your only option with SkyLink is to obtain an exchange if the device is damaged or defective. So, if the antenna simply doesn’t meet your needs, you’re out of luck as far as getting your money back.

This is in stark contrast to much of the competition (many of which are available locally at big box retailers like Target, Walmart, and Best Buy, to name just a few), which is often supported by at least 30-day money back guarantees, regardless of the circumstances. Based on this alone, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend exploring all your options before committing to SkyLink.

Finally, as detailed in our Step-by-Step Guide to Cutting the Cord & Getting Rid of Cable, it's important to emphasize that these antennas only provide access to over-the-air signals transmitted by major networks like ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, and so forth.

So, if you’re looking to get rid of your cable subscription but still want access to your favorite programming on premium channels like HBO, Showtime, TNT, HGTV, Discovery, and Nickelodeon (as just a handful of examples), you’ll need to focus on options other than indoor antennas like SkyLink.

» Read Next: How I Cut the Cord & Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $50

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

197 Consumer Reviews for SkyLink Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  185
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 197
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    By the way...

    • Florida,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    By the way, the booster says 50-mile radius. The box only says 30. What's up with that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jan 18, 2019

    Only 4 channels for $72, REALLY?

    If I'm doing anything wrong I would love to know what it is. I'm only getting 4 channels with the antenna and the booster. Whats up? Does anyone have an idea? You can't ask SkyLink for help because they won't post a phone number on the website. If anybody can help, please let me know or post here to this site. Thank you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a scam. I bought three of these and can only get one station out of Waco, which is 70 miles from me when Austin is only 40. I have a cheap Walmart antenna that gets at least four channels. When trying to return, they refused.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SkyLink Antenna is a hoax. They got my money and their worthless antenna as well.

    • Palo Alto, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After falling into their savvy ad trap, I ordered two antennas but immediately realized it was a hoax. So I tried to cancel by calling them. The phone listed will NOT respond to your call, so I send them an e-mail to cancel the order. A few days later I received the order which I promptly returned back to them. They charged me anyway. When I contested the credit card, they came back and pretend that they did not receive my e-mail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Total crap!

    • Midlothian, Scotland,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On receiving it, I connected it to the TV. I am 10 miles from an aerial mast, over clear water, it picked up 98 channels. I connected a booster, picked up 69 channels, with normal aerial I get 131 channels, all free. I contacted them and they offered me a 50% refund and to keep the items, which are of no use to me. I a, still trying to get a full refund. DO NOT go anywhere near them! Total crap! I wish I had read reviews before purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    This TV antenna REALLY WORKS

    • Copperas Cove, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have spent money on other antennas and to no avail, they just didn't work.

    I live in a complex and I refused to spend money on cable, I even have Roku; sometimes you just want to see a regular channel like TV used to be and after a while, I just got tired of that.

    Now, I can see regular channels again. I love this antenna, I can watch TV in my living room, instead of going into the guest bedroom to watch TV.

    Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase

    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This high price antenna is nothing special. The antenna is the same as ones purchased at electronic stores. SkyLink DOESN'T offer refunds, you are stuck with another gadget. VERY DISSATISFIED.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Robesonia, PA,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased SkyLink as a gift for my parents, and when we hooked it up, we couldn’t pull any channels. I wanted to return the product to SkyLink and they said they only take back damaged or defective. Considering it didn’t work, you would think that would qualify as defective. I have to wonder if this is a legitimate business. I never received a receipt, and neither the antenna or the box had the name SkyLink on it as it shows on the website. I would definitely not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    True scam

    • Galena, IL,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these through their online special; buy one and get a second one at half price. I tried them out and neither one would pick up any channel. Thinking it might be my HD TV causing the issue, I tried on two other regular TVs and still absolutely no reception. I then tried to contact the company thinking I was doing something wrong and funny thing, there is no way to contact them. I then tried in vain to get a refund through correspondence and that didn't work. I tried a refund through PayPal and that didn't work. Neither company would respond to my many attempts to contact them. This company and product is nothing more than smoke and mirrors - scammers. Do yourself a favor and buy your antenna from a walk in the store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Complete rubbish antenna

    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your time, and more importantly your money. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Boonville, NC,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the antenna for son-in-law for a Christmas present. I also ordered the booster. Total $80.90. I have tried over and over again to contact SkyLink. I followed directions to the letter. It stated that I will get a call after sending the email (the only way to contact them). I keep trying but no results yet. SCAM product I guess. This has concerned me about ordering anything again on the phone. Bad deal. Just read the terms of reviews. I guess I am just out $80.90. I never have gotten a call back as the website claims. Very dissatisfied. Less than one-star review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    There’s a sucker born every day

    • Temple, TX,
    • Jan 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have lived 72 great years and I can honestly say this is the first time I have felt this disappointed. I only wish I had read the reviews before I spent my hard earned $80 on such trash.

    I really anticipated being able to receive the 100 plus channels as advertised. Not to be! I picked up four channels regardless of where I located the antenna or whether I used the amplifier or not.

    What amazed me was the return policy. One has no recourse except to write a poor review and contact the BBB (which I intend to do).

    I only wish there were other steps I could take.

    I really don’t know how these guys can sleep at night. I guess they are laughing all the way to the bank!

    I intend to see what other avenues are available. Maybe contact Amazon and any other marketplace they might have. I only hope that they get their due!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 197

Write a Review for SkyLink Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review