About SkyLink Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 9, 2018

The SkyLink Antenna promises to help you gain access to more than 100 of your favorite channels in 1080 high-definition, including TV shows, local news and weather, and live sports (NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, NASCAR, etc.).

The website advertises that this cutting-edge technology was developed by a NASA scientist using military technology to deliver dual-band reception (VHF/UHF with 20 dB gain) from up to 50 miles away, anywhere in the United States.

You’ll just need to start by connecting the antenna to the back of your TV's coaxial receiver, and then positioning on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, on a shelf, or wherever you get the best reception using the included tape, which will "depend on the geological environment." Finally, you'll perform a channel scan with the antenna selected as your source, and enjoy your free content.

Overall, we’re told setup only takes a couple of minutes, that the antenna uses multidirectional functionality to pick up signals from all around, and its compact 8.3" x 4.7", 12 oz design is said to make it ideal for just about anywhere, including in your home, at the office, or in your RV or camper while traveling.

When it comes down to it, can you expect such spectacular results with a digital antenna like SkyLink, or should you consider other options if you’re looking for freedom from expensive cable bills? Is it really the “#1 rated indoor HDTV antenna in America,” as advertised on the website?

Stick with us over the course of the next few minutes, and we'll help you make a more empowered decision.

The Basics: How Do Antennas Like SkyLink Work?

From a high-level perspective, digital antennas like SkyLink work similar to their old-school rabbit ear counterparts. In other words, they receive signals floating around in the air, translate them into a usable picture, and then make these images viewable on your TV screen.

As you might imagine, the most significant difference is that rabbit ears were designed to pick up analog signals, while more recent models receive digital signals. This is because of the Digital Television Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, which went into effect on March 31, 2009, which stipulated that all signals broadcast by major networks (e.g., ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, etc.) had to be transmitted in a digital format.

The advantage is that viewers can receive much higher quality digital images, compared to analog. In fact, because no compression occurs as it does with a traditional cable box, image quality could actually be even better with an antenna.

Most digital antennas are limited to a range of about 50 miles or less, though, so the specific number of channels you’ll have access to depends on your proximity to them.

Also, as briefly mentioned on the SkyLink Antenna website, the signal quality you’ll ultimately receive can depend on a wide variety of important factors, including tower distance, any features that might scramble signals (e.g., trees, hills/mountains, tall buildings, etc.), as well as the antenna’s placement in your home (e.g., in the basement vs. on the inside of an upper floor window).

How Much Does the SkyLink Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyLink Antenna largely depends on which area of the company’s site you decide to purchase from. For example, if you click on the Buy Now button on their homepage, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Unit: $31.43
  • 2 Units: $57.63 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Units: $78.59 ($22.20 each)
  • 4 Units: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Units: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

On the other hand, a separate landing page lists prices as follows:

  • 1 Unit: $39.95
  • 2 Units: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Units: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Units: $130 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Units: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of the price you pay, in addition to the antenna, each order also includes a 10-foot high-performance coaxial cable, along with a coaxial cable Euro adapter.

The manufacturer offers a 30-day exchange policy on all SkyLink Antennas, although per their website, this only applies to product that’s defective or was damaged during shipping.

To request one, you’ll need to send an email to support@skylinktvantenna.com.

Are There Other Indoor Digital Antennas Like SkyLink?

While digital antennas weren’t always inexpensive when they became must-have items for cable-cutters way back in 2009, the reality is that in today’s market, there are perhaps hundreds of options to choose from. Many of these are competitively priced with SkyLink and promise to deliver all of the same benefits.

These include popular online search results like the Mohu Blade ($40), Rocketfish HDTV Antenna ($30), and the RCA ANT lineup ($15-$30), as well as other options the HighYa team has written about in the past, such as SkyWire Antenna, Clear TV, and TV Fox Antenna.

Pro tip: In fact, while we didn’t test any devices ourselves, SkyWire and SkyLink appear to be identical products, with the same weight, dimensions, pricing differences, and overall advertising claims.

And this is to say nothing of the potentially hundreds of generic options widely available on online marketplaces like Google Shopping, Amazon, and Walmart, some of which can be found for $15 or less. How to choose?

Trial & Error: Choosing Between SkyLink Antenna and the Competition

After testing dozens of models, Digital Trends concluded that there are no set-in-stone rules when it comes to finding the right digital indoor antenna for you. It’s almost certainly going to take some trial and error, so they recommend purchasing a least a couple of options to test out before making a final decision.

With this in mind, they pointed out several general guidelines you can use to help point you in the right direction:

  • From a quality perspective, you get what you pay for. The farther away you are from transmission towers, the more you’ll likely want to spend.
  • You don’t always need a built-in amplifier, which only boosts a weak signal, but won’t improve picture quality if you already have a strong signal. In fact, they point out that attempting to do so could actually damage your TV.
  • Just like there are no given rules when it comes to the ‘perfect’ antenna (SkyLink or otherwise), it’s much the same with room placement; it will take some trial and error.

However, start by going to sites like AntennaWeb.org and entering your address, which will display the closest broadcast towers relative to your location. From there, you’ll want to place the antenna in a window (without a screen, ideally) that faces those towers.

Just keep in mind that according to Digital Trends, their testers found that camera (and even people) placement could affect signal strength by up to 20 percent, as could other objects like plants, lamps, and so forth. Even the TV make and model can impede your antenna’s signal.

Taking everything we’ve discussed together, where are you left when it comes to the SkyLink Antenna?

Where to Go Next With the SkyLink Antenna

When it comes down to it, SkyLink appears to be a bare-bones indoor digital antenna that’s priced mostly in line with competing models from third-party brands. As we outlined earlier, though, based on all the different variables that can meaningfully impact signal strength, there’s no way to know if it—or any other indoor digital antenna, for that matter—will be the optimal choice for your specific situation without giving it a try.

However, based on what’s listed on their website, your only option with SkyLink is to obtain an exchange if the device is damaged or defective. So, if the antenna simply doesn’t meet your needs, you’re out of luck as far as getting your money back.

This is in stark contrast to much of the competition (many of which are available locally at big box retailers like Target, Walmart, and Best Buy, to name just a few), which is often supported by at least 30-day money back guarantees, regardless of the circumstances. Based on this alone, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend exploring all your options before committing to SkyLink.

Finally, as detailed in our Step-by-Step Guide to Cutting the Cord & Getting Rid of Cable, it's important to emphasize that these antennas only provide access to over-the-air signals transmitted by major networks like ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, and so forth.

So, if you’re looking to get rid of your cable subscription but still want access to your favorite programming on premium channels like HBO, Showtime, TNT, HGTV, Discovery, and Nickelodeon (as just a handful of examples), you’ll need to focus on options other than indoor antennas like SkyLink.

» Read Next: How I Cut the Cord & Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $50

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

91 Consumer Reviews for SkyLink Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  88
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 91
Sort reviews by:

  • CrapLink

    • Nuevo, CA,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This antenna is a pile of crap and they do NOT work. No REFUNDS, they should state that up front that if it doesn't work, it is not their problem, too many variables! When you are buying it, they are very accessible and guarantee a refund if you are not satisfied. BS!

    This SCAM needs to be stopped, NOW!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It's junk

    • West Virginia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one of these antennas. It does not work as good as my RCA one. I want to send it back and get a full refund. I also purchased the amplifier. I need to know how to ship it back. My old antenna works much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do not consider this item

    • New Hampshire,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This item is a simple cheap antenna. There is nothing special about it, and it is overhyped on the website. You can buy the same item from many vendors for a lot less money. Their website indicated that this was different than the others, but in fact, it is just a piece of garbage...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Evansville, IN,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two of them, which was $74, and when I received them I only could get three channels. So I mailed them back and had the post office send them with a receipt showing who signed for it. I never received a refund so I tried to call them, and customer service has a recording send an email and they would respond within 24 hours it has been three weeks. So I am going to dispute this charge. So if anyone reads this, do not buy. I went to my local Lowe's and bought an antenna and I get 20 channels and only paid $9. They say if you're not satisfied, send it back within 30 days and get a refund. This is not true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Clinton Township, MI,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The item did not work. I attempted to get in touch to send it back, but there is no info with the package. I tried to send an email, no response. Then after reading more info on this, it appears that anyone ordering this cannot get a refund. I thought this was illegal. I am a senior citizen in need of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Vivian H.

      I know I am also on a limited income. On your box, there should have been there address, that's where I sent my back and they signed saying they did receive it. You need to report them, call your bank or credit card company, whichever one that you paid with. Also, report them to the Better Business Bureau. This has really got their attention. I received an email from Better Business Bureau and they said they are working to get my money back and so is my bank. The catch is that you have to mail it back within 30 days and send it back with a receipt from your postal service showing the date it was delivered and time, including the person signature that signed for it. So I hope this helps, I am so sorry that we are trapped in a scam.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    A scam

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We couldn't get it to work. I texted Dave (the guy who called and said to call him with problems) and he texted back wanting me to send naked pics of myself to get a good antenna. I told him I knew I had been scammed and he texted back, said lol. Yep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy SkyLink - junk - hope you read reviews to not make mistake I did

    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Put simply, this antenna does not work. I sincerely hope you read these reviews before you buy. I didn’t and now regret it. I usually give a product the benefit of the doubt when I read reviews that have a few "one star." When you read these reviews, however, you’ll notice that the overwhelming majority of them are a "one." That tells it all. Don’t waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Michigan,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this and as everyone else says it is a piece of JUNK. I tried to get a refund and was told the same as everyone else, "NO REFUNDS." Do not buy this! It does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Thieves!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do not buy this product. It does not work! It is better to buy an antenna for $10 at your local retail store and you see more channels. No money back? No worries, I will call my bank! Scammers. Ladrones (thieves)!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Sucked in

    • Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I guess I got sucked in as well. Lesson learned...read reviews first. I have not tried to get money back yet, was going to try but then came across this. Not one channel...shame, shame, shame on this company. I am going to try anyway to get money back. We shall see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Vivian H.

      What I did was I sent it back to the address that's was on the label. The secret is you have to mail it back within 30 days mail and mail it back with a returned receipt. This receipt shows who signed for it and the date and time it arrived. Then you notify the Better Business Bureau and your bank or credit card company and dispute the charge. Its amazing how this gets their attention. But my bank and the Better Business Bureau is working to get my money back. I'm sorry that we are caught up in a scam I hope this helps you and others.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Really unsatisfied

    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not looking up reviews before I ordered. Not a good idea. They were quick to take money from my account. I ordered a week ago and was told in an email it would ship within three days.

    Not happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 91

Write a Review for SkyLink Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review