About SkyLink Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 9, 2018

The SkyLink Antenna promises to help you gain access to more than 100 of your favorite channels in 1080 high-definition, including TV shows, local news and weather, and live sports (NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, NASCAR, etc.).

The website advertises that this cutting-edge technology was developed by a NASA scientist using military technology to deliver dual-band reception (VHF/UHF with 20 dB gain) from up to 50 miles away, anywhere in the United States.

You’ll just need to start by connecting the antenna to the back of your TV's coaxial receiver, and then positioning on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, on a shelf, or wherever you get the best reception using the included tape, which will "depend on the geological environment." Finally, you'll perform a channel scan with the antenna selected as your source, and enjoy your free content.

Overall, we’re told setup only takes a couple of minutes, that the antenna uses multidirectional functionality to pick up signals from all around, and its compact 8.3" x 4.7", 12 oz design is said to make it ideal for just about anywhere, including in your home, at the office, or in your RV or camper while traveling.

When it comes down to it, can you expect such spectacular results with a digital antenna like SkyLink, or should you consider other options if you’re looking for freedom from expensive cable bills? Is it really the “#1 rated indoor HDTV antenna in America,” as advertised on the website?

Stick with us over the course of the next few minutes, and we'll help you make a more empowered decision.

The Basics: How Do Antennas Like SkyLink Work?

From a high-level perspective, digital antennas like SkyLink work similar to their old-school rabbit ear counterparts. In other words, they receive signals floating around in the air, translate them into a usable picture, and then make these images viewable on your TV screen.

As you might imagine, the most significant difference is that rabbit ears were designed to pick up analog signals, while more recent models receive digital signals. This is because of the Digital Television Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, which went into effect on March 31, 2009, which stipulated that all signals broadcast by major networks (e.g., ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, etc.) had to be transmitted in a digital format.

The advantage is that viewers can receive much higher quality digital images, compared to analog. In fact, because no compression occurs as it does with a traditional cable box, image quality could actually be even better with an antenna.

Most digital antennas are limited to a range of about 50 miles or less, though, so the specific number of channels you’ll have access to depends on your proximity to them.

Also, as briefly mentioned on the SkyLink Antenna website, the signal quality you’ll ultimately receive can depend on a wide variety of important factors, including tower distance, any features that might scramble signals (e.g., trees, hills/mountains, tall buildings, etc.), as well as the antenna’s placement in your home (e.g., in the basement vs. on the inside of an upper floor window).

How Much Does the SkyLink Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyLink Antenna largely depends on which area of the company’s site you decide to purchase from. For example, if you click on the Buy Now button on their homepage, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Unit: $31.43
  • 2 Units: $57.63 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Units: $78.59 ($22.20 each)
  • 4 Units: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Units: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

On the other hand, a separate landing page lists prices as follows:

  • 1 Unit: $39.95
  • 2 Units: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Units: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Units: $130 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Units: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of the price you pay, in addition to the antenna, each order also includes a 10-foot high-performance coaxial cable, along with a coaxial cable Euro adapter.

The manufacturer offers a 30-day exchange policy on all SkyLink Antennas, although per their website, this only applies to product that’s defective or was damaged during shipping.

To request one, you’ll need to send an email to support@skylinktvantenna.com.

Are There Other Indoor Digital Antennas Like SkyLink?

While digital antennas weren’t always inexpensive when they became must-have items for cable-cutters way back in 2009, the reality is that in today’s market, there are perhaps hundreds of options to choose from. Many of these are competitively priced with SkyLink and promise to deliver all of the same benefits.

These include popular online search results like the Mohu Blade ($40), Rocketfish HDTV Antenna ($30), and the RCA ANT lineup ($15-$30), as well as other options the HighYa team has written about in the past, such as SkyWire Antenna, Clear TV, and TV Fox Antenna.

Pro tip: In fact, while we didn’t test any devices ourselves, SkyWire and SkyLink appear to be identical products, with the same weight, dimensions, pricing differences, and overall advertising claims.

And this is to say nothing of the potentially hundreds of generic options widely available on online marketplaces like Google Shopping, Amazon, and Walmart, some of which can be found for $15 or less. How to choose?

Trial & Error: Choosing Between SkyLink Antenna and the Competition

After testing dozens of models, Digital Trends concluded that there are no set-in-stone rules when it comes to finding the right digital indoor antenna for you. It’s almost certainly going to take some trial and error, so they recommend purchasing a least a couple of options to test out before making a final decision.

With this in mind, they pointed out several general guidelines you can use to help point you in the right direction:

  • From a quality perspective, you get what you pay for. The farther away you are from transmission towers, the more you’ll likely want to spend.
  • You don’t always need a built-in amplifier, which only boosts a weak signal, but won’t improve picture quality if you already have a strong signal. In fact, they point out that attempting to do so could actually damage your TV.
  • Just like there are no given rules when it comes to the ‘perfect’ antenna (SkyLink or otherwise), it’s much the same with room placement; it will take some trial and error.

However, start by going to sites like AntennaWeb.org and entering your address, which will display the closest broadcast towers relative to your location. From there, you’ll want to place the antenna in a window (without a screen, ideally) that faces those towers.

Just keep in mind that according to Digital Trends, their testers found that camera (and even people) placement could affect signal strength by up to 20 percent, as could other objects like plants, lamps, and so forth. Even the TV make and model can impede your antenna’s signal.

Taking everything we’ve discussed together, where are you left when it comes to the SkyLink Antenna?

Where to Go Next With the SkyLink Antenna

When it comes down to it, SkyLink appears to be a bare-bones indoor digital antenna that’s priced mostly in line with competing models from third-party brands. As we outlined earlier, though, based on all the different variables that can meaningfully impact signal strength, there’s no way to know if it—or any other indoor digital antenna, for that matter—will be the optimal choice for your specific situation without giving it a try.

However, based on what’s listed on their website, your only option with SkyLink is to obtain an exchange if the device is damaged or defective. So, if the antenna simply doesn’t meet your needs, you’re out of luck as far as getting your money back.

This is in stark contrast to much of the competition (many of which are available locally at big box retailers like Target, Walmart, and Best Buy, to name just a few), which is often supported by at least 30-day money back guarantees, regardless of the circumstances. Based on this alone, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend exploring all your options before committing to SkyLink.

Finally, as detailed in our Step-by-Step Guide to Cutting the Cord & Getting Rid of Cable, it's important to emphasize that these antennas only provide access to over-the-air signals transmitted by major networks like ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, The CW, and so forth.

So, if you’re looking to get rid of your cable subscription but still want access to your favorite programming on premium channels like HBO, Showtime, TNT, HGTV, Discovery, and Nickelodeon (as just a handful of examples), you’ll need to focus on options other than indoor antennas like SkyLink.

» Read Next: How I Cut the Cord & Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $50

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Consumer Reviews for SkyLink Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • This is a horrible waste of money. I only have 3 channels. I tried 4 different areas

    • Nj,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a horrible waste of money. I only have 3 channels. I tried it in 4 different areas. The company won't return a call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It's a scam and Leaf 30 is much better

    • Manhattan, NY,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    "The SkyLink Antenna promises to help you gain access to more than 100 of your favorite channels in 1080 high-definition, including TV shows, local news and weather, and live sports (NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, NASCAR, etc.)."

    I bought it because it promised 100+ channels including live sports. It did not say it depended on where you live etc. I live right in Manhattan, and I can get about 15 channels and three of those are shopping channels...and no sports. I complained and said it did not live up to its claim and asked for my money back. A robot letter said that wasn't possible. The Leaf 30 from Best Buy is much better, and I get a clearer picture and better sound, and I can get 25 channels.

    SkyLink Antenna is a scam and a waste of my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • SkyLink is a rip off!

    • Colfax, LA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent almost $200 on this mess hoping to be able to watch lots of digital channels as promised, only to get a total of 8 channels instead of 100 or more! False advertising! That's all it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not any better than my other one.

    • Kansas,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The antenna didn't work any better than the one I had. I want a label to send both of them back, and a quick refund of my money. What more do I need to say, it didn't work...

    I want a refund, I want my refund posted to my account quickly, and a label to return both antennas now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I'm only get 28 channels

    • St. Paul, MN,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never had a worse TV antenna in all my life. I could have bought one for $10 and it would work just as good. I am very disappointed. Never buy this antenna. No refund is how do they stay in business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Very good customer service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In fact, I was not satisfied with the result of the antenna, and I wanted my money back. First, the customer service tried to help and find out why it was not working. When I told them honestly that it is not what I expected, they told me it cannot be refunded, but shortly after I got a mail with the refunding.

    So it was nevertheless a positive experience about SkyLink TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SkyLink TV Antenna

    • Florida,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I set up my SkyLink TV Antenna. I have to take out the piece that you would screw into the TV. And then I plugged it into the TV. I then followed the instructions, and it downloaded 28 channels. Although I'm only receiving 4 or 5 channels. I need to know how to return it. Please send me a prepaid sticker for UPS so that I can return it and get a full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better than expected

    • Texas,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live in the country, but I get good, clear reception of 30 channels. I've replaced an older antenna that gave spotty reception of the 10 channels it could receive. So, yes, I can say this is a better service than I expected. I've not given up cable because my husband likes all the sports channels and the DVR component. We both like the on-demand component as well, but in my cozy corner, this antenna works well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Failure

    • Virginia,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recommend you do not buy this product unless you just won the lottery and the money is burning a hole in your pocket. NO RETURNS if the product does not work in your area as advertised.

    I contacted the support group and got an email full of excuses why I can't return the product. Very un-American product support.

    Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Product does not work and poor customer service

    • Longview, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the reviews about SkyLink TV antennas which stated it was not a scam. That is a total lie!

    I purchased three antennas and three amplifiers to get a higher distance to receive the 100 channels with sports that stated that I'd get with their product! I received the items with "no" instructions on how to install or use the products, and no phone number is provided. Only an email which I sent two asking for help and then their address to return the items for a full refund. I spent hours attempting to get their product to work and finally got my bedroom TV to only get four channels! What happened to the over 100 channels "free?" After days, still no response from this company. I've contacted my credit card company to dispute the charges made!

    Do not waste your money with this product! Poor customer service; actually "no customer service!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Doesn’t work

    • Sparks, NV,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I fell for this gimmick. How seniors were being ripped off by cable companies. The whole article or sales pitch makes promises to us seniors, and some of us fell hook line and sinker.

    Long story short, it doesn’t work. I didn’t get a receipt or invoice. I want to return it but when I reply to them that won’t accept my email.

    So I don’t know what I can do.

    P.S. They said to buy the amplifier too, and I did, like an idiot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for SkyLink Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review