About SkyWire TV Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: May 21, 2018

Advertised as America’s top-rated indoor HDTV model, the SkyWire TV multidirectional antenna promises to provide access to 100+ over-the-air channels in 1080p resolution, without monthly contracts or bills.

The antenna is compatible with televisions, HD receiver boxes, PCs, and laptops, and its space-saving design means it can be installed quickly and easily, whether on the wall, window, or even behind a picture frame. Then, plug it in, and you're ready to begin enjoying programming like local news, sports events, and your favorite shows.

Together, this is why the manufacturer claims that more than 1.5 million SkyWire TV Antenna units have been sold worldwide. Should you become their next customer, though? Can you realistically expect it to save you thousands of dollars, as advertised on the website?

We’ll help you find some actionable answers, starting with the device’s functionality.

How Do Antennas Like SkyWire TV Work?

Digital Antenna Basics

According to the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all television stations and networks were required to cease broadcasting analog signals and start broadcasting digital signals, as of February 17, 2009.

Among other things, this meant that if you picked up over-the-air analog signals using a pair of old-school rabbit ears, you’d need to switch to an antenna capable of picking up digital signals (initially developed by the military) and then translating them into a picture on your screen. And this is precisely what models like the SkyWire TV Antenna help you accomplish.

Important: Keep in mind, though, these types of antennas only pick up signals from local broadcast stations, such as ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, FOX, CW, Univision, and Telemundo. They do not receive premium cable-only content from stations like HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, Nickelodeon, and so forth (no name just a few).

As a result, if you’re expecting to cancel your cable subscription, purchase the SkyWire TV Antenna, and regain free access to all of your cable-only programming, you’ll likely end up disappointed.

SkyWire TV’s Specifications, Installation, & Channel Selection

Size-wise, SkyWire is 8.3 inches wide by 4.7 inches tall, weighs about 12 ounces, is multidirectional (it can receive signals from all directions, versus a single direction), features dual-band reception (VHF/UHF), and 20 dB gain. It comes with a 10 ft high-performance coaxial cable, which can attach directly to many TVs and set-top boxes.

If you need to connect it to more than one set, though, you’ll need to purchase a separate amplifier.

According to the website, just plug the antenna into the back of your TV using the included coaxial cable. Then, you’ll position it wherever you need to achieve the best reception, whether on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, or on a shelf.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that your physical location is the most significant factor that will determine which channels you'll have access to, whether using SkyWire TV, or any other indoor HDTV antenna.

Some of the most popular methods of finding out which channels you can receive are by visiting the FTC’s DTV Reception Maps, TV Fool’s Signal Analysis Tool, as well as AntennaWeb.org. And while the manufacturer advertises that SkyWire can pick up signals from up to 30 miles away, remember that other factors can impact your reception, such as hills, mountains, or trees in the way, as well as inclement weather.

Finally, you’ll select the antenna as your source, perform a channel scan on your TV, and then enjoy your free programming. In all, the company indicates you can be up and running in just a couple of minutes.

How Much Does SkyWire TV Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyWire TV Antenna seems to depend largely on how many you buy, as well as which of the company’s sites you purchase from, For example, on their main page, they’re priced as follows:

  • 1 Antenna: $31.43
  • 2 Antennas: $57.53 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $78.59 ($26.20 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

If purchased from their 50 Percent Off page, however, the prices increase to:

  • 1 Antenna: $39.95
  • 2 Antennas: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $130.00 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of which site you purchase from or the quantity you choose, all SkyWire TV Antenna orders come with a 30-day exchange policy, which the Terms emphasize is only available for damaged or defective products.

To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer service for an RMA at (800) 204-7702 or support@skywiretvantenna.com.

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna?

We encountered four customer reviews for SkyWire TV on Yelp at the time of our research, who had given the company an average rating of one star. Complaints commonly referenced reception problems and less-than-stellar support.

Related: How I Cut the Cord and Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $150

We also encountered 17 customer reviews and 18 closed complaints on the Better Business Bureau’s website, where NYC-based SkyWire TV held an F rating, as of 5/21/18. Most of the complaints were similar to those on Yelp, although a company representative responded to many of the negative reviews.

Are There Other Indoor HDTV Antennas Like SkyWire TV?

The good news is that, if you’re in the market for an indoor HDTV antenna, you have perhaps thousands of options to choose from.

And many of these share similarities with SkyWire TV, including slim designs, the ability to place them almost anywhere, receive signals from 30+ miles, and coaxial connection w/long cords, to name just a few. Add to this that some of these options are available on marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon for as little as $13, and the number of options at your fingertips can seem insurmountable.

How to choose the best option?

First, keep your expectations realistic, both from a reception quality perspective, as well as the number of channels you’ll receive. Based on our experience writing about electronics that can help you cut the cord, these are the two most common complaints from readers.

Related: How to Cut the Cord and Get Rid of Cable

Along these same lines, while multidirectional antennas like SkyWire TV can pick up signals from multiple directions, they’re not always ideal. Specifically, Crutchfield explains, “Because multidirectional antennas "see" in many directions, they are more likely to pick up noise, interference, and multipath distortion."

On the other hand, “directional HD antennas are able to pull in signals from greater distances, and because they "see" in only one direction they are resistant to noise and "multipath distortion" (a problem created when an antenna receives reflections of the desired signal).”

Therefore, if you’re located in a single direction from most towers (such as suburban or rural locations), but are farther away than the 30-mile distance covered by many multidirectional antennas, a directional option might deliver better results.

Finally, like any other product, you’ll want to only do business with companies who:

  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, which could be a good indication what you’ll experience after handing over your money

When applying these criteria to the SkyWire TV Antenna, does it look good from a consumer’s perspective?

Our Final Thoughts About SkyWire TV Antenna

While we didn’t test any products ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, the SkyWire TV Antenna seems to come with several potentially useful features: it’s multidirectional, compatible with most popular devices, can be installed just about anywhere, comes with all the equipment you need, and can be set up in a matter of minutes.

It also comes with a reasonably competitive price—especially those purchased from their main ordering page.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we encountered dozens of less expensive options during our research, primarily via online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping. Many of these claimed to deliver the same core benefits as SkyWire TV.

In addition, the majority of these retailers and sellers offered at least 30-day refund policies. Something that—unless you receive damaged or defective merchandise—isn’t available with SkyWire.

Finally, the antenna’s manufacturer came with ultra-low customer feedback across sites like Yelp and the Better Business Bureau, many of which complained of functionality and support concerns.

Bringing all of this together, as consumers ourselves, we’re not sure the level of risk presented by SkyWire TV outweighs its potential benefits. Just keep in mind that whichever option you choose, none of them will provide access to premium cable-only content.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

131 Consumer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • Caught again

    • Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, I purchased this product believing the advertisement that I could get all TV stations, including the likes of Foxtel and other pay-as-you-use channels.

    I have tried all sorts of positions for the antenna without any success.

    Please advise if anyone is able to get a refund and how.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This is a big joke. Four channels to chose from, only if I’m holding the antenna in the right way. Very disappointed.

    • Delta, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst investment ever. I've never been more disappointed with a product. Not only that, it took over eight weeks to get here. But only four channels. Get real. I have to stand in front of the TV holding the antenna just to get reception.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Response

    • Delaware,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be returning my order that is dated June 19, 2018. They sent me three items when I ordered only one. My wife did not know that I placed an order purchased one from Starcrest of California. The price was under $12.00. Their prices are exorbitant.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Product does not work at all for us

    • Holley, NY,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with this product, the SkyWire TV Antenna, is that this Antenna does not work on my TV. We received two Antennas and one Booster, and no pictures came in at all. I sent them back to them at the address on the package that came on the Antennas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not order this product

    • Round Rock, TX,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three and could not get any reception on any of my TV'S. I returned it to the return address on the label. (The two boxes were never opened.) It is over a month and I have not received a refund. I have called my bank for a chargeback. This is a scam deluxe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just set fire to your money. This is a scam. I'm sorry I was such a dummy. This system makes me record a one-star rating. It doesn't give me the option to rate it a no star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Corinth, NY,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first did research on this antenna, advertisement and location said I could get over 60 channels. So I purchased four. When received I can only get three channels. When I requested the help desk for return information the answer I got was “We are receiving larger than normal ticket volume. At this time it is taking longer than usual to get to your email. A representative will get to you as soon as possible”. Never heard or got any help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Piece if crap

    • Kenora, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this because it was recommended on MSN. I receive no channels at all. I emailed the company and asked for my money back. I was told to try again with the set-up. Still no channels. I asked for my money back, and now they do not respond to me. I live in Kenora, Ontario, Canada. Awful product and worse service. DO NOT BUY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory!

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My brother is poor and could not afford cable any longer and he bought a system at a local store, so I read about this and thought he would LOVE it since he is disabled and all he has to do is watch TV. I thought this will help him get a lot more channels. Well, I was completely wrong! I even fell to get the amplifier! When it came (quickly), I was very disappointed, it was SO thin and weighed NOTHING. Nothing like the system he purchased for $40 something, I paid $71.00! What a rip off.

    Based on the reviews, I will not be able to get a refund. My brother has medical problems and my older brother and I pay what he needs, so $71.00 would go a long way to help his necessities, not this crap! I wished I had done more research before buying this. I am VERY disappointed that Facebook would even endorse this under "Ways to help the help the elderly, retired people." I sent them an email today and will be excited about a response. I am hoping for a positive response from the e-mail. How can they live with themselves, they keep advertising this CRAP. I wish this rating could be ZERO. I will be sure to retract this negative review if they make things RIGHT. I will repost if they do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Total crap

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    SkyWire TV is the biggest rip-off. NOT as advertised. No returns, garbage, do not buy, terrible customer service. I reported to BBB.

    I only got two channels. Don't waste your money or time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Beloit, KS,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the flimsy antenna in a flimsy box, plugged it into my TV and did the Set Up Scan. Using this antenna, I receive exactly 0 (zero) channels. This antenna is junk. You would be better off buying something much less expensive from your local Walmart.

    Steer clear of this antenna. If possible, I would give this product a no-star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 131

Write a Review for SkyWire TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review