About SkyWire TV Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: May 21, 2018

Advertised as America’s top-rated indoor HDTV model, the SkyWire TV multidirectional antenna promises to provide access to 100+ over-the-air channels in 1080p resolution, without monthly contracts or bills.

The antenna is compatible with televisions, HD receiver boxes, PCs, and laptops, and its space-saving design means it can be installed quickly and easily, whether on the wall, window, or even behind a picture frame. Then, plug it in, and you're ready to begin enjoying programming like local news, sports events, and your favorite shows.

Together, this is why the manufacturer claims that more than 1.5 million SkyWire TV Antenna units have been sold worldwide. Should you become their next customer, though? Can you realistically expect it to save you thousands of dollars, as advertised on the website?

We’ll help you find some actionable answers, starting with the device’s functionality.

How Do Antennas Like SkyWire TV Work?

Digital Antenna Basics

According to the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all television stations and networks were required to cease broadcasting analog signals and start broadcasting digital signals, as of February 17, 2009.

Among other things, this meant that if you picked up over-the-air analog signals using a pair of old-school rabbit ears, you’d need to switch to an antenna capable of picking up digital signals (initially developed by the military) and then translating them into a picture on your screen. And this is precisely what models like the SkyWire TV Antenna help you accomplish.

Important: Keep in mind, though, these types of antennas only pick up signals from local broadcast stations, such as ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, FOX, CW, Univision, and Telemundo. They do not receive premium cable-only content from stations like HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, Nickelodeon, and so forth (no name just a few).

As a result, if you’re expecting to cancel your cable subscription, purchase the SkyWire TV Antenna, and regain free access to all of your cable-only programming, you’ll likely end up disappointed.

SkyWire TV’s Specifications, Installation, & Channel Selection

Size-wise, SkyWire is 8.3 inches wide by 4.7 inches tall, weighs about 12 ounces, is multidirectional (it can receive signals from all directions, versus a single direction), features dual-band reception (VHF/UHF), and 20 dB gain. It comes with a 10 ft high-performance coaxial cable, which can attach directly to many TVs and set-top boxes.

If you need to connect it to more than one set, though, you’ll need to purchase a separate amplifier.

According to the website, just plug the antenna into the back of your TV using the included coaxial cable. Then, you’ll position it wherever you need to achieve the best reception, whether on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, or on a shelf.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that your physical location is the most significant factor that will determine which channels you'll have access to, whether using SkyWire TV, or any other indoor HDTV antenna.

Some of the most popular methods of finding out which channels you can receive are by visiting the FTC’s DTV Reception Maps, TV Fool’s Signal Analysis Tool, as well as AntennaWeb.org. And while the manufacturer advertises that SkyWire can pick up signals from up to 30 miles away, remember that other factors can impact your reception, such as hills, mountains, or trees in the way, as well as inclement weather.

Finally, you’ll select the antenna as your source, perform a channel scan on your TV, and then enjoy your free programming. In all, the company indicates you can be up and running in just a couple of minutes.

How Much Does SkyWire TV Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyWire TV Antenna seems to depend largely on how many you buy, as well as which of the company’s sites you purchase from, For example, on their main page, they’re priced as follows:

  • 1 Antenna: $31.43
  • 2 Antennas: $57.53 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $78.59 ($26.20 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

If purchased from their 50 Percent Off page, however, the prices increase to:

  • 1 Antenna: $39.95
  • 2 Antennas: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $130.00 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of which site you purchase from or the quantity you choose, all SkyWire TV Antenna orders come with a 30-day exchange policy, which the Terms emphasize is only available for damaged or defective products.

To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer service for an RMA at (800) 204-7702 or support@skywiretvantenna.com.

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna?

We encountered four customer reviews for SkyWire TV on Yelp at the time of our research, who had given the company an average rating of one star. Complaints commonly referenced reception problems and less-than-stellar support.

Related: How I Cut the Cord and Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $150

We also encountered 17 customer reviews and 18 closed complaints on the Better Business Bureau’s website, where NYC-based SkyWire TV held an F rating, as of 5/21/18. Most of the complaints were similar to those on Yelp, although a company representative responded to many of the negative reviews.

Are There Other Indoor HDTV Antennas Like SkyWire TV?

The good news is that, if you’re in the market for an indoor HDTV antenna, you have perhaps thousands of options to choose from.

And many of these share similarities with SkyWire TV, including slim designs, the ability to place them almost anywhere, receive signals from 30+ miles, and coaxial connection w/long cords, to name just a few. Add to this that some of these options are available on marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon for as little as $13, and the number of options at your fingertips can seem insurmountable.

How to choose the best option?

First, keep your expectations realistic, both from a reception quality perspective, as well as the number of channels you’ll receive. Based on our experience writing about electronics that can help you cut the cord, these are the two most common complaints from readers.

Related: How to Cut the Cord and Get Rid of Cable

Along these same lines, while multidirectional antennas like SkyWire TV can pick up signals from multiple directions, they’re not always ideal. Specifically, Crutchfield explains, “Because multidirectional antennas "see" in many directions, they are more likely to pick up noise, interference, and multipath distortion."

On the other hand, “directional HD antennas are able to pull in signals from greater distances, and because they "see" in only one direction they are resistant to noise and "multipath distortion" (a problem created when an antenna receives reflections of the desired signal).”

Therefore, if you’re located in a single direction from most towers (such as suburban or rural locations), but are farther away than the 30-mile distance covered by many multidirectional antennas, a directional option might deliver better results.

Finally, like any other product, you’ll want to only do business with companies who:

  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, which could be a good indication what you’ll experience after handing over your money

When applying these criteria to the SkyWire TV Antenna, does it look good from a consumer’s perspective?

Our Final Thoughts About SkyWire TV Antenna

While we didn’t test any products ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, the SkyWire TV Antenna seems to come with several potentially useful features: it’s multidirectional, compatible with most popular devices, can be installed just about anywhere, comes with all the equipment you need, and can be set up in a matter of minutes.

It also comes with a reasonably competitive price—especially those purchased from their main ordering page.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we encountered dozens of less expensive options during our research, primarily via online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping. Many of these claimed to deliver the same core benefits as SkyWire TV.

In addition, the majority of these retailers and sellers offered at least 30-day refund policies. Something that—unless you receive damaged or defective merchandise—isn’t available with SkyWire.

Finally, the antenna’s manufacturer came with ultra-low customer feedback across sites like Yelp and the Better Business Bureau, many of which complained of functionality and support concerns.

Bringing all of this together, as consumers ourselves, we’re not sure the level of risk presented by SkyWire TV outweighs its potential benefits. Just keep in mind that whichever option you choose, none of them will provide access to premium cable-only content.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

148 Consumer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  141
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 148
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Absolute waste of time and money.

    • Peterborough, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received three of these antennas only to find out nothing they (SkyLink) conveyed was true. I gave the units to three other friends to try at their residences, which only produced the same results (no channels). They resided in two different provinces, so location was different for each attempt. Please keep your money and don't waste it on this totally useless product. You could do better with a coat hanger.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SkyWire TV Antenna

    • Naples, FL,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If it sounds too good to be true, then it is!

    Don’t waste your money! It doesn’t work; I didn’t get any channels to work. It’s a scam! Do your research before buying this product.

    They are making money ripping people off with this crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Nothing is free

    • New York,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the antenna and amplifier for $81.84 with shipping and wasted every cent of it on this phony equipment. Save your money because this is a scam. When all was said and done, I got three channels.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two sets...DING DONG. I thought I was getting a better product than the one I bought at Walmart for $14.95. What a DING DONG. They do not have a refund policy and will argue "It's your area, that's the problem."

    Do not purchase!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Didn't get any channels, how do I get a refund?

    • Oneonta, AL,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No channels, refund please. I didn't get even one channel. I ordered three, plus the gadget to get better reception. It didn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    Well, I hooked it up and did a channel scan, three channels at best.

    This is a scam and it is junk. I bet I could get more channels with a coat hanger and would not cost me $80.00 plus.

    Don't get sucked in like I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't be suckered into buying one!

    • Webster,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an antenna and tried it out. It didn't work. I tried the several methods they suggest for getting a signal. Nothing worked. I contacted the company and told them it wouldn't work in my area. They sent me emails reiterating what I had already tried. I told them I wanted my money back several times. They kept saying try this, try that. I told them I already tried everything. I still wanted my money back, they replied, sorry for the inconvenience, we only accept defective equipment. Stay far away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    SkyLink TV Antenna

    • Conway, AR,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This antenna product is not what I was hoping for. I am receiving 10 channels - 4-KARK, 4-2 LAFF, 4-3 GRIT, 7-1 KATV-HD, 7-2 COMET, 7-3 CHARGE!, 7-4 TBD, 42-1 KARZ-DT, 42-2 BOUNCE, 42-3 ION. No channel 11, which I personally prefer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worked great

    • Irmo, SC,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased four of the antennas and one booster. Everything has worked great for us. The booster definitely brought in more channels, including several that were said to be unavailable - like ION and The Weather Channel. I do have one Cable TV set up because of my office. I am ordering a few more SkyWire TV Antennas to have at our beach house. Set up can be different on different makes of TVs, but mine all programmed. You do have to find your best reception area.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a scam, it's no better than $8 rabbit ears from Walmart. They end up spamming you to death with emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Complete SCAM, stay away!

    • Minnesota,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These antenna's do not work. Not only that, there is NO phone number listed on their website. When you request a refund because they stand behind their product 100%, you're told sorry no refunds. I reported them to BBB and they stated to BBB they would issue a refund. More than two months later, I wait. They continue to give me the same response of 'it was credited' but can't offer a credit reference number to my credit card to get this resolved. Save your money. It is not worth it! Honestly, NOT worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 148

Write a Review for SkyWire TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review