About SkyWire TV Antenna

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 21, 2018

Advertised as America’s top-rated indoor HDTV model, the SkyWire TV multidirectional antenna promises to provide access to 100+ over-the-air channels in 1080p resolution, without monthly contracts or bills.

The antenna is compatible with televisions, HD receiver boxes, PCs, and laptops, and its space-saving design means it can be installed quickly and easily, whether on the wall, window, or even behind a picture frame. Then, plug it in, and you're ready to begin enjoying programming like local news, sports events, and your favorite shows.

Together, this is why the manufacturer claims that more than 1.5 million SkyWire TV Antenna units have been sold worldwide. Should you become their next customer, though? Can you realistically expect it to save you thousands of dollars, as advertised on the website?

We’ll help you find some actionable answers, starting with the device’s functionality.

How Do Antennas Like SkyWire TV Work?

Digital Antenna Basics

According to the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all television stations and networks were required to cease broadcasting analog signals and start broadcasting digital signals, as of February 17, 2009.

Among other things, this meant that if you picked up over-the-air analog signals using a pair of old-school rabbit ears, you’d need to switch to an antenna capable of picking up digital signals (initially developed by the military) and then translating them into a picture on your screen. And this is precisely what models like the SkyWire TV Antenna help you accomplish.

Important: Keep in mind, though, these types of antennas only pick up signals from local broadcast stations, such as ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, FOX, CW, Univision, and Telemundo. They do not receive premium cable-only content from stations like HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, Nickelodeon, and so forth (no name just a few).

As a result, if you’re expecting to cancel your cable subscription, purchase the SkyWire TV Antenna, and regain free access to all of your cable-only programming, you’ll likely end up disappointed.

SkyWire TV’s Specifications, Installation, & Channel Selection

Size-wise, SkyWire is 8.3 inches wide by 4.7 inches tall, weighs about 12 ounces, is multidirectional (it can receive signals from all directions, versus a single direction), features dual-band reception (VHF/UHF), and 20 dB gain. It comes with a 10 ft high-performance coaxial cable, which can attach directly to many TVs and set-top boxes.

If you need to connect it to more than one set, though, you’ll need to purchase a separate amplifier.

According to the website, just plug the antenna into the back of your TV using the included coaxial cable. Then, you’ll position it wherever you need to achieve the best reception, whether on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, or on a shelf.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that your physical location is the most significant factor that will determine which channels you'll have access to, whether using SkyWire TV, or any other indoor HDTV antenna.

Some of the most popular methods of finding out which channels you can receive are by visiting the FTC’s DTV Reception Maps, TV Fool’s Signal Analysis Tool, as well as AntennaWeb.org. And while the manufacturer advertises that SkyWire can pick up signals from up to 30 miles away, remember that other factors can impact your reception, such as hills, mountains, or trees in the way, as well as inclement weather.

Finally, you’ll select the antenna as your source, perform a channel scan on your TV, and then enjoy your free programming. In all, the company indicates you can be up and running in just a couple of minutes.

How Much Does SkyWire TV Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyWire TV Antenna seems to depend largely on how many you buy, as well as which of the company’s sites you purchase from, For example, on their main page, they’re priced as follows:

  • 1 Antenna: $31.43
  • 2 Antennas: $57.53 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $78.59 ($26.20 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

If purchased from their 50 Percent Off page, however, the prices increase to:

  • 1 Antenna: $39.95
  • 2 Antennas: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $130.00 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of which site you purchase from or the quantity you choose, all SkyWire TV Antenna orders come with a 30-day exchange policy, which the Terms emphasize is only available for damaged or defective products.

To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer service for an RMA at (800) 204-7702 or support@skywiretvantenna.com.

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna?

We encountered four customer reviews for SkyWire TV on Yelp at the time of our research, who had given the company an average rating of one star. Complaints commonly referenced reception problems and less-than-stellar support.

Related: How I Cut the Cord and Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $150

We also encountered 17 customer reviews and 18 closed complaints on the Better Business Bureau’s website, where NYC-based SkyWire TV held an F rating, as of 5/21/18. Most of the complaints were similar to those on Yelp, although a company representative responded to many of the negative reviews.

Are There Other Indoor HDTV Antennas Like SkyWire TV?

The good news is that, if you’re in the market for an indoor HDTV antenna, you have perhaps thousands of options to choose from.

And many of these share similarities with SkyWire TV, including slim designs, the ability to place them almost anywhere, receive signals from 30+ miles, and coaxial connection w/long cords, to name just a few. Add to this that some of these options are available on marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon for as little as $13, and the number of options at your fingertips can seem insurmountable.

How to choose the best option?

First, keep your expectations realistic, both from a reception quality perspective, as well as the number of channels you’ll receive. Based on our experience writing about electronics that can help you cut the cord, these are the two most common complaints from readers.

Related: How to Cut the Cord and Get Rid of Cable

Along these same lines, while multidirectional antennas like SkyWire TV can pick up signals from multiple directions, they’re not always ideal. Specifically, Crutchfield explains, “Because multidirectional antennas "see" in many directions, they are more likely to pick up noise, interference, and multipath distortion."

On the other hand, “directional HD antennas are able to pull in signals from greater distances, and because they "see" in only one direction they are resistant to noise and "multipath distortion" (a problem created when an antenna receives reflections of the desired signal).”

Therefore, if you’re located in a single direction from most towers (such as suburban or rural locations), but are farther away than the 30-mile distance covered by many multidirectional antennas, a directional option might deliver better results.

Finally, like any other product, you’ll want to only do business with companies who:

  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, which could be a good indication what you’ll experience after handing over your money

When applying these criteria to the SkyWire TV Antenna, does it look good from a consumer’s perspective?

Our Final Thoughts About SkyWire TV Antenna

While we didn’t test any products ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, the SkyWire TV Antenna seems to come with several potentially useful features: it’s multidirectional, compatible with most popular devices, can be installed just about anywhere, comes with all the equipment you need, and can be set up in a matter of minutes.

It also comes with a reasonably competitive price—especially those purchased from their main ordering page.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we encountered dozens of less expensive options during our research, primarily via online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping. Many of these claimed to deliver the same core benefits as SkyWire TV.

In addition, the majority of these retailers and sellers offered at least 30-day refund policies. Something that—unless you receive damaged or defective merchandise—isn’t available with SkyWire.

Finally, the antenna’s manufacturer came with ultra-low customer feedback across sites like Yelp and the Better Business Bureau, many of which complained of functionality and support concerns.

Bringing all of this together, as consumers ourselves, we’re not sure the level of risk presented by SkyWire TV outweighs its potential benefits. Just keep in mind that whichever option you choose, none of them will provide access to premium cable-only content.


Read 164 SkyWire TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  155
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 164
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worked great

    • Irmo, SC,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased four of the antennas and one booster. Everything has worked great for us. The booster definitely brought in more channels, including several that were said to be unavailable - like ION and The Weather Channel. I do have one Cable TV set up because of my office. I am ordering a few more SkyWire TV Antennas to have at our beach house. Set up can be different on different makes of TVs, but mine all programmed. You do have to find your best reception area.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SkyWire Antenna

    • Payson, AZ,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I refuse to pay for cable to watch one or two channels. I bought one of these for a TV in Payson, Arizona and it got me 9 channels, including the one channel I wanted the most. The reception is excellent and I couldn't ask for more. Thank you for the best solution there is.

    I just bought another TV for the bedroom in Payson an am going to order another antenna for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Discouraged by the product

    • El Paso, TX,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is just a regular TV antenna that can be purchased at Walmart for half the price and only provides very few channels plus local channels. I also paid for the antenna extender with no big difference and I live in a large metro area. So again, do not buy this expensive antenna, get a better one locally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy

    • Strawn, TX,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received two SkyWire Antennas (even though I only ordered one) and was charged for both. They do not work in my area. I sent them back to the company. I received a message that customer support would be I touch with me and my money refunded. That was over two weeks ago. NO RESPONSE.

    I am still waiting for a response and my refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Florida,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered the SkyWire antenna (if you can call it that) and found that it is vastly overrated. Even outdoors, the antenna (?) only brings in three or four TV stations very faintly. Not refund!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Florida,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the unit and the enhancer. I received it and then tried on three different TVs and three different locations. The maximum stations I can receive is five. Extremely disappointing. I tried returning the unit, and now they say because of the area we live in, it is our fault the unit doesn't work and will not consider a return or refund.

    No amount of discussion with them, they are not going to refund.

    Watch out for what you are getting!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great for foreign language viewers. Not a whole lot else.

    • California,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, I get the discontentment regarding this product. I don't watch very much television anymore, and I could no longer feel good with being bent over a barrel each month by my satellite provider. So, I checked into over-the-air antennas, saw this particular product, and contributed $30 to their cause.

    I knew it wouldn't differ much from any of the others because none will deliver free premium channels. If they did, everyone in the world would cancel their high-priced arrangements with the evil entities that ceaselessly raise rates, without reason, or explanation for a glut of useless channels and a select few that most of us wish we could simply pat for a-la-carte - which is finally becoming a secondary option with some of them, but by now should be the standard.

    At any rate, I laughed a little when I pulled the feather-light, flimsy antenna thing out of the nondescript, flimsy white box and found that the instructions were simplistic enough for a five-year-old to grasp, and that if I ever ran into an issue with the 25-cents worth of synthetics I should probably blame myself for being sucked into one hell of a magnificent racket. But, the stupid thing does exactly what it promised. I'm enjoying a gloriously abundant array of channels! Most of which are in an Asian language, perhaps 2/3. Then there's a dozen or so in Spanish, which are certainly more watchable than the others, but for native English speakers can only serve to assist in expanding your Spanish vocab. The telenovelas are quite sexy, though!

    In closing, I'm not impressed. Though, I didn't truly expect to be. I get a few channels that provide reasonable amounts of nostalgia, sprinkled in with the rare spots if actual entertainment value. I'm thinking of splitting the difference and going with a Wi-Fi option. You can't fight the future, as they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't get caught by this company like I did

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these antennas because I have two TVs that needed a boost in an antenna to improve the reception. I received two antennas and two boosters. It did not perform like I thought it would. I did not get anything close to 100 channels from it. Some of the main channels in the area of the major networks did not come in. What is the point of having an antenna with a booster if it doesn't work with the strongest signals available in the area? I was very disappointed.

    What was more disheartening than anything was the inability to return these antennas when I was not happy with their performance. I should NOT have to lose my money for a product that did not work for me. They say it is not defective or broken because it did pull in a few channels so I can't return them. I don't think that is right.

    I emailed repeatedly to find out how to return the product and get my money back. Customer service was very pleasant in their emails, but they continually denied my request in spite of the fact that the product didn't work.

    I guess I will learn to never buy from a company that is not reputable again. This has been a pretty expensive lesson to learn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this antenna and booster. I live 18 miles north of Houston, Texas. Pretty large. I don't get 2 of 3 network channels. Maybe 10 channels in all. When I attached the booster, I get 0. Would like a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Doesn’t work

    • Barrie, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is old technology with a new "hype." My experience in Canada with this device is completely unsuccessful and unacceptable. I was unable to receive not even one channel. Please read the fine print as the consumer has no control over receiving a refund or exchange as the company’s opinion determines whether the product is defective or not. I can only imagine the outcome as being in their favor. In conclusion, purchasing this product from a US location and paying ridiculous exchange rates in a no-win company policy, is a disaster waiting to happen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    They do not accept returns!

    • Mississippi,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and it took forever to ship. We decided to go a different direction and when it arrived, I emailed them about returning the unopened product. They do not take returns! What company does that? Not a legitimate one, for sure. I am stuck with this thing now. Does anyone want to buy it? I'm mad!

    Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't, but this awful customer service tells me that it isn't a stand-up company. I do not recommend doing business with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 164

Write a Review for SkyWire TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review