About SkyWire TV Antenna

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 21, 2018

Advertised as America’s top-rated indoor HDTV model, the SkyWire TV multidirectional antenna promises to provide access to 100+ over-the-air channels in 1080p resolution, without monthly contracts or bills.

The antenna is compatible with televisions, HD receiver boxes, PCs, and laptops, and its space-saving design means it can be installed quickly and easily, whether on the wall, window, or even behind a picture frame. Then, plug it in, and you're ready to begin enjoying programming like local news, sports events, and your favorite shows.

Together, this is why the manufacturer claims that more than 1.5 million SkyWire TV Antenna units have been sold worldwide. Should you become their next customer, though? Can you realistically expect it to save you thousands of dollars, as advertised on the website?

We’ll help you find some actionable answers, starting with the device’s functionality.

How Do Antennas Like SkyWire TV Work?

Digital Antenna Basics

According to the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all television stations and networks were required to cease broadcasting analog signals and start broadcasting digital signals, as of February 17, 2009.

Among other things, this meant that if you picked up over-the-air analog signals using a pair of old-school rabbit ears, you’d need to switch to an antenna capable of picking up digital signals (initially developed by the military) and then translating them into a picture on your screen. And this is precisely what models like the SkyWire TV Antenna help you accomplish.

Important: Keep in mind, though, these types of antennas only pick up signals from local broadcast stations, such as ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, FOX, CW, Univision, and Telemundo. They do not receive premium cable-only content from stations like HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, Nickelodeon, and so forth (no name just a few).

As a result, if you’re expecting to cancel your cable subscription, purchase the SkyWire TV Antenna, and regain free access to all of your cable-only programming, you’ll likely end up disappointed.

SkyWire TV’s Specifications, Installation, & Channel Selection

Size-wise, SkyWire is 8.3 inches wide by 4.7 inches tall, weighs about 12 ounces, is multidirectional (it can receive signals from all directions, versus a single direction), features dual-band reception (VHF/UHF), and 20 dB gain. It comes with a 10 ft high-performance coaxial cable, which can attach directly to many TVs and set-top boxes.

If you need to connect it to more than one set, though, you’ll need to purchase a separate amplifier.

According to the website, just plug the antenna into the back of your TV using the included coaxial cable. Then, you’ll position it wherever you need to achieve the best reception, whether on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, or on a shelf.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that your physical location is the most significant factor that will determine which channels you'll have access to, whether using SkyWire TV, or any other indoor HDTV antenna.

Some of the most popular methods of finding out which channels you can receive are by visiting the FTC’s DTV Reception Maps, TV Fool’s Signal Analysis Tool, as well as AntennaWeb.org. And while the manufacturer advertises that SkyWire can pick up signals from up to 30 miles away, remember that other factors can impact your reception, such as hills, mountains, or trees in the way, as well as inclement weather.

Finally, you’ll select the antenna as your source, perform a channel scan on your TV, and then enjoy your free programming. In all, the company indicates you can be up and running in just a couple of minutes.

How Much Does SkyWire TV Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyWire TV Antenna seems to depend largely on how many you buy, as well as which of the company’s sites you purchase from, For example, on their main page, they’re priced as follows:

  • 1 Antenna: $31.43
  • 2 Antennas: $57.53 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $78.59 ($26.20 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

If purchased from their 50 Percent Off page, however, the prices increase to:

  • 1 Antenna: $39.95
  • 2 Antennas: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $130.00 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of which site you purchase from or the quantity you choose, all SkyWire TV Antenna orders come with a 30-day exchange policy, which the Terms emphasize is only available for damaged or defective products.

To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer service for an RMA at (800) 204-7702 or support@skywiretvantenna.com.

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna?

We encountered four customer reviews for SkyWire TV on Yelp at the time of our research, who had given the company an average rating of one star. Complaints commonly referenced reception problems and less-than-stellar support.

Related: How I Cut the Cord and Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $150

We also encountered 17 customer reviews and 18 closed complaints on the Better Business Bureau’s website, where NYC-based SkyWire TV held an F rating, as of 5/21/18. Most of the complaints were similar to those on Yelp, although a company representative responded to many of the negative reviews.

Are There Other Indoor HDTV Antennas Like SkyWire TV?

The good news is that, if you’re in the market for an indoor HDTV antenna, you have perhaps thousands of options to choose from.

And many of these share similarities with SkyWire TV, including slim designs, the ability to place them almost anywhere, receive signals from 30+ miles, and coaxial connection w/long cords, to name just a few. Add to this that some of these options are available on marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon for as little as $13, and the number of options at your fingertips can seem insurmountable.

How to choose the best option?

First, keep your expectations realistic, both from a reception quality perspective, as well as the number of channels you’ll receive. Based on our experience writing about electronics that can help you cut the cord, these are the two most common complaints from readers.

Related: How to Cut the Cord and Get Rid of Cable

Along these same lines, while multidirectional antennas like SkyWire TV can pick up signals from multiple directions, they’re not always ideal. Specifically, Crutchfield explains, “Because multidirectional antennas "see" in many directions, they are more likely to pick up noise, interference, and multipath distortion."

On the other hand, “directional HD antennas are able to pull in signals from greater distances, and because they "see" in only one direction they are resistant to noise and "multipath distortion" (a problem created when an antenna receives reflections of the desired signal).”

Therefore, if you’re located in a single direction from most towers (such as suburban or rural locations), but are farther away than the 30-mile distance covered by many multidirectional antennas, a directional option might deliver better results.

Finally, like any other product, you’ll want to only do business with companies who:

  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, which could be a good indication what you’ll experience after handing over your money

When applying these criteria to the SkyWire TV Antenna, does it look good from a consumer’s perspective?

Our Final Thoughts About SkyWire TV Antenna

While we didn’t test any products ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, the SkyWire TV Antenna seems to come with several potentially useful features: it’s multidirectional, compatible with most popular devices, can be installed just about anywhere, comes with all the equipment you need, and can be set up in a matter of minutes.

It also comes with a reasonably competitive price—especially those purchased from their main ordering page.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we encountered dozens of less expensive options during our research, primarily via online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping. Many of these claimed to deliver the same core benefits as SkyWire TV.

In addition, the majority of these retailers and sellers offered at least 30-day refund policies. Something that—unless you receive damaged or defective merchandise—isn’t available with SkyWire.

Finally, the antenna’s manufacturer came with ultra-low customer feedback across sites like Yelp and the Better Business Bureau, many of which complained of functionality and support concerns.

Bringing all of this together, as consumers ourselves, we’re not sure the level of risk presented by SkyWire TV outweighs its potential benefits. Just keep in mind that whichever option you choose, none of them will provide access to premium cable-only content.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 162 SkyWire TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  153
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 162
Sort reviews by:

  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Doesn’t work

    • Barrie, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is old technology with a new "hype." My experience in Canada with this device is completely unsuccessful and unacceptable. I was unable to receive not even one channel. Please read the fine print as the consumer has no control over receiving a refund or exchange as the company’s opinion determines whether the product is defective or not. I can only imagine the outcome as being in their favor. In conclusion, purchasing this product from a US location and paying ridiculous exchange rates in a no-win company policy, is a disaster waiting to happen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    They do not accept returns!

    • Mississippi,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and it took forever to ship. We decided to go a different direction and when it arrived, I emailed them about returning the unopened product. They do not take returns! What company does that? Not a legitimate one, for sure. I am stuck with this thing now. Does anyone want to buy it? I'm mad!

    Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't, but this awful customer service tells me that it isn't a stand-up company. I do not recommend doing business with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is supposed to install free channels you would normally pay for, but it does not. You do not get any more than you already have.

    I have contacted their customer support to ask for a refund and been refused. This cost me £36.67 GBP, which is $48.90USD.

    Do NOT waste your money! Remember the saying - if it sounds too good to be true, it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this product, it does not work. The worst one I have ever bought, very poor for the money you pay.

    • Utah,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never buy for this seller. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I could not get channels, and then they faded in and out. It is not worth the money you pay for it. I found a lot better one for less the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Way over-hyped

    • Ohio,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their advertisement claims "eliminate cable TV bill, this device allows you to watch virtually anything for free" is the scammiest statement of the year.

    I purchased one with the amplifier and set it up according to the instructions. The result was good reception of all of the local broadcast stations (Channels 4, 6, etc.) and their digital homologs (4.1, 4.2, 4.3), which are mostly odd programming stations of little interest. There are no stations which could even remotely be considered to be CABLE STATIONS.

    I contacted them and their fall back is that it must be installed in a bad reception area - a perfect SCAM ALIBI. I live 10 miles from a major downtown metro center, reception in this area is extremely easy to pull in. I then hooked up a $10 set of rabbit ears from Walmart and got the EXACT same stations. Don't waste your money on this piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Load of rubbish

    • Derbyshire, England,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a SkyWire. After I managed to get it working, it only gave me the same programs as my normal TV aerial gave me. When I complained I was told they don't do returns. What rubbish customer service. If you want TV for free, get a Freeview box. It's a shame I can't score a zero star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy it!

    • New Market, VA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They're quick to take your money, but your item doesn’t ship in three days like they say. It’s a gimmick, do not buy! You can find the same product on Amazon for a fraction of the cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    I think it's CRAP, to be nice

    • South Bend, IN,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For one, the ad shows a BOX like a cable box, but you receive a flat piece of plastic just as the one I was replacing to receive additional channels only smaller! The first three times I scanned for channels, I got four less than I did using my $9.99 CVS antenna. Why is THIS half off (only $39.99 for one)? AT LEAST with "the free TV Key" advertised on TV you get two for $19.99 and again it is larger than the one I received, not that "size matters" as they say, but, I'm paying twice as much for less than half. So PLEASE make me "think" it's bigger and better at first glance at least!

    I cannot get a direct answer WHY this antenna is $39.99 (mind you that's a great deal at half the price, normally one for $79.99). What/how is it different?! The ad implies, HOW can it be legal to receive channels without paying for cable or dish services? How can SkiWire be legal to imply that you will receive more channels than your current floppy plastic one does, how can showing a "box" with more than one input-output connections? How can it be legal for the person on phone to tell me I will receive other channels than I do currently? And I do live less than 30 miles in more than two directions of broadcast stations!

    A picture says a thousand words they say. I'm not sure of that to be true, but the picture SkyWire uses is NOT of a thin square of plastic with a wire connected, the picture implies that it is about at least 5 inches long and half an inch thick with more than one input-output ports. I wouldn't give it ONE star even, but it wouldn't let me submit a comment without at least one star being entered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • Connecticut,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm extremely disappointed with this product. I purchased this for my 75-year-old Mom. Who, by the way, is paying close to $200.00 for just basic cable, which is absurd. So I figured I'd get this, and everyone's happy. NOT! It doesn't work. I could only catch 13 channels, and seven of them were in Spanish. The six that I could see, three of them were cartoons. The other three miscelaneious, not one local channel. So at this point we are both discouraged. So I decide to email SkyWire to ask for a refund. I gave them the same info I just wrote here.

    Bottom line, NO REFUND. $45.00 down the drain. I really got suckered here. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    SkyWire TV Antenna

    • New York,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased the SkyWire TV Antenna, and I am very disappointed with it. I only get five channels with the Antenna. Three in English and two in Spanish. It keeps getting interrupted and then goes out completely and then goes out altogether. I sent two emails and two phone messages, to which they have not responded. The only good thing about the Antenna is that you get a very good picture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Old technology

    • Buda, TX,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Originally when I ordered, I then noticed my order did not leave the warehouse in the three business days promised. After my order on 3/29 and then (finally) emailing them on 4/9/18 requesting my order be changed from three to one antenna, my order suspiciously went out within hours of my request to change my order.

    I knew then that this was not the right way to treat a customer. I now see that their return option is less on the customer side saying it has to be a damaged product for return. The customer has no say in either. I was also left helpless by SkyWire only having email available for customers to reach them. You are at their mercy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 162

Write a Review for SkyWire TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review