About SkyWire TV Antenna

By HighYa Staff
Published on: May 21, 2018

Advertised as America’s top-rated indoor HDTV model, the SkyWire TV multidirectional antenna promises to provide access to 100+ over-the-air channels in 1080p resolution, without monthly contracts or bills.

The antenna is compatible with televisions, HD receiver boxes, PCs, and laptops, and its space-saving design means it can be installed quickly and easily, whether on the wall, window, or even behind a picture frame. Then, plug it in, and you're ready to begin enjoying programming like local news, sports events, and your favorite shows.

Together, this is why the manufacturer claims that more than 1.5 million SkyWire TV Antenna units have been sold worldwide. Should you become their next customer, though? Can you realistically expect it to save you thousands of dollars, as advertised on the website?

We’ll help you find some actionable answers, starting with the device’s functionality.

How Do Antennas Like SkyWire TV Work?

Digital Antenna Basics

According to the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all television stations and networks were required to cease broadcasting analog signals and start broadcasting digital signals, as of February 17, 2009.

Among other things, this meant that if you picked up over-the-air analog signals using a pair of old-school rabbit ears, you’d need to switch to an antenna capable of picking up digital signals (initially developed by the military) and then translating them into a picture on your screen. And this is precisely what models like the SkyWire TV Antenna help you accomplish.

Important: Keep in mind, though, these types of antennas only pick up signals from local broadcast stations, such as ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, FOX, CW, Univision, and Telemundo. They do not receive premium cable-only content from stations like HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, Nickelodeon, and so forth (no name just a few).

As a result, if you’re expecting to cancel your cable subscription, purchase the SkyWire TV Antenna, and regain free access to all of your cable-only programming, you’ll likely end up disappointed.

SkyWire TV’s Specifications, Installation, & Channel Selection

Size-wise, SkyWire is 8.3 inches wide by 4.7 inches tall, weighs about 12 ounces, is multidirectional (it can receive signals from all directions, versus a single direction), features dual-band reception (VHF/UHF), and 20 dB gain. It comes with a 10 ft high-performance coaxial cable, which can attach directly to many TVs and set-top boxes.

If you need to connect it to more than one set, though, you’ll need to purchase a separate amplifier.

According to the website, just plug the antenna into the back of your TV using the included coaxial cable. Then, you’ll position it wherever you need to achieve the best reception, whether on the wall, window, behind a picture frame, or on a shelf.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that your physical location is the most significant factor that will determine which channels you'll have access to, whether using SkyWire TV, or any other indoor HDTV antenna.

Some of the most popular methods of finding out which channels you can receive are by visiting the FTC’s DTV Reception Maps, TV Fool’s Signal Analysis Tool, as well as AntennaWeb.org. And while the manufacturer advertises that SkyWire can pick up signals from up to 30 miles away, remember that other factors can impact your reception, such as hills, mountains, or trees in the way, as well as inclement weather.

Finally, you’ll select the antenna as your source, perform a channel scan on your TV, and then enjoy your free programming. In all, the company indicates you can be up and running in just a couple of minutes.

How Much Does SkyWire TV Antenna Cost?

How much you pay for your SkyWire TV Antenna seems to depend largely on how many you buy, as well as which of the company’s sites you purchase from, For example, on their main page, they’re priced as follows:

  • 1 Antenna: $31.43
  • 2 Antennas: $57.53 ($28.81 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $78.59 ($26.20 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $94.30 ($23.58 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $112.64 ($22.53 each)

If purchased from their 50 Percent Off page, however, the prices increase to:

  • 1 Antenna: $39.95
  • 2 Antennas: $69.90 ($34.95 each)
  • 3 Antennas: $99.99 ($33.33 each)
  • 4 Antennas: $130.00 ($32.50 each)
  • 5 Antennas: $149.75 ($29.95 each)

Regardless of which site you purchase from or the quantity you choose, all SkyWire TV Antenna orders come with a 30-day exchange policy, which the Terms emphasize is only available for damaged or defective products.

To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer service for an RMA at (800) 204-7702 or support@skywiretvantenna.com.

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Reviews for SkyWire TV Antenna?

We encountered four customer reviews for SkyWire TV on Yelp at the time of our research, who had given the company an average rating of one star. Complaints commonly referenced reception problems and less-than-stellar support.

Related: How I Cut the Cord and Keep TV, Internet, and Cell Phone Bills Under $150

We also encountered 17 customer reviews and 18 closed complaints on the Better Business Bureau’s website, where NYC-based SkyWire TV held an F rating, as of 5/21/18. Most of the complaints were similar to those on Yelp, although a company representative responded to many of the negative reviews.

Are There Other Indoor HDTV Antennas Like SkyWire TV?

The good news is that, if you’re in the market for an indoor HDTV antenna, you have perhaps thousands of options to choose from.

And many of these share similarities with SkyWire TV, including slim designs, the ability to place them almost anywhere, receive signals from 30+ miles, and coaxial connection w/long cords, to name just a few. Add to this that some of these options are available on marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon for as little as $13, and the number of options at your fingertips can seem insurmountable.

How to choose the best option?

First, keep your expectations realistic, both from a reception quality perspective, as well as the number of channels you’ll receive. Based on our experience writing about electronics that can help you cut the cord, these are the two most common complaints from readers.

Related: How to Cut the Cord and Get Rid of Cable

Along these same lines, while multidirectional antennas like SkyWire TV can pick up signals from multiple directions, they’re not always ideal. Specifically, Crutchfield explains, “Because multidirectional antennas "see" in many directions, they are more likely to pick up noise, interference, and multipath distortion."

On the other hand, “directional HD antennas are able to pull in signals from greater distances, and because they "see" in only one direction they are resistant to noise and "multipath distortion" (a problem created when an antenna receives reflections of the desired signal).”

Therefore, if you’re located in a single direction from most towers (such as suburban or rural locations), but are farther away than the 30-mile distance covered by many multidirectional antennas, a directional option might deliver better results.

Finally, like any other product, you’ll want to only do business with companies who:

  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, which could be a good indication what you’ll experience after handing over your money

When applying these criteria to the SkyWire TV Antenna, does it look good from a consumer’s perspective?

Our Final Thoughts About SkyWire TV Antenna

While we didn’t test any products ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, the SkyWire TV Antenna seems to come with several potentially useful features: it’s multidirectional, compatible with most popular devices, can be installed just about anywhere, comes with all the equipment you need, and can be set up in a matter of minutes.

It also comes with a reasonably competitive price—especially those purchased from their main ordering page.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we encountered dozens of less expensive options during our research, primarily via online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping. Many of these claimed to deliver the same core benefits as SkyWire TV.

In addition, the majority of these retailers and sellers offered at least 30-day refund policies. Something that—unless you receive damaged or defective merchandise—isn’t available with SkyWire.

Finally, the antenna’s manufacturer came with ultra-low customer feedback across sites like Yelp and the Better Business Bureau, many of which complained of functionality and support concerns.

Bringing all of this together, as consumers ourselves, we’re not sure the level of risk presented by SkyWire TV outweighs its potential benefits. Just keep in mind that whichever option you choose, none of them will provide access to premium cable-only content.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 162 SkyWire TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  153
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 162
Sort reviews by:

  • SkyWire Antenna

    • Payson, AZ,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I refuse to pay for cable to watch one or two channels. I bought one of these for a TV in Payson, Arizona and it got me 9 channels, including the one channel I wanted the most. The reception is excellent and I couldn't ask for more. Thank you for the best solution there is.

    I just bought another TV for the bedroom in Payson an am going to order another antenna for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Will not scan anything, keeps saying rescan.

    • Lamar, MO,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought three of these because we have that many TVs in this house. We are retired and my adult son lives with us. We are trying to get rid of expenses and looking into Solar panels so if something happens to one of us, the other will be able to live here at home and not have to sell to cut expenses. I screwed it into my TV, attached the antenna in several windows around the TV, and it scanned and looked like there were 69 channels, but we didn't get one of them. It keeps saying please scan after it finishes. The man told me to get an amplifier and use with it, but I see some here have tried that already and no good either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't do anything it claims to do

    • Heber, UT,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased three SkyWire Antennas and because we live in a somewhat rural area, we only get three or four channels. We have had them for four to five months and already the reception is failing. Do not buy this product...not worth the money or the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an outright scam and a piece of junk. I tried it out with amplifier and it did not produce a good picture at all. I strongly suggest do not buy this. You will be sorry. That's a fact.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this antenna and booster. I live 18 miles north of Houston, Texas. Pretty large. I don't get 2 of 3 network channels. Maybe 10 channels in all. When I attached the booster, I get 0. Would like a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Pile of scamming crap

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After actually speaking to someone from SkyWire, I did indeed buy one. It came and I’ve tried it in three areas of the UK and guess what? No reception. I once managed BBC1 and 2, THAT'S the lot. I am not going to say anymore as I’m just winding myself up as I type, so all I’ll say is go find an old style coat hanger because that’s definitely going to work 100 times better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it! Scam!

    • Nebraska,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid a total of $49 and change with shipping. It did not work with my TV. I called and they refused to give me my money back. Said it was because I lived too far away from local stations. They should be ashamed of taking money from people like this and not giving support or backing up their product. So here it sits, brand new in the box...it wouldn't even make a good door stopper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    What a rip-off!

    • Marble Hill, MO,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a rip-off! I wish I had read the reviews before spending almost $100 on two of these antennas. We never got more than three channels, which we lost any time anyone walked near the antenna or if even a room door opened or closed. The company would not refund, stating we should get more channels. We moved those antennas everywhere and tried everything, without any improvement. Do not buy these!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work in Spring Hill, sent 10 emails and NO HELP.

    • Florida,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a unit on 6/04 and received it around 6/14 and it DIDN'T WORK. The first email was on 6/15, followed by 10 other emails. Since they changed from SkyWireTV to SkyLink, this is nothing but a SCAM. Inform that we were going away for 3 months, the next email was 9/24/2018 then 8 other emails later. CHECK YOUR RECORDS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Bloomfield, MO,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product just simply does not work. It looked cheap when I received it, but when I connected it to my TV and confirmed that it did not work, I felt totaling humiliated for being taken in by this scam. And to top that off, no refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    No return even within 30-day time frame

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The antenna is a scam. I am in a great area with great reception, but the first time I tried to scan for channels, I only received 3, and they were weird channel numbers. The second time I scanned, I only retrieved 7 more, and they were channels not even local or channels anyone would watch. They were foreign channels.

    SkyWire said unless the antenna was defective, they would not take the antenna back, even within 30 days. I wrote numerous complaints and asked for help several times, with each response from them as giving directions, saying I should be getting up to 50 channels, including local.

    By them not refunding money, they just want to collect their money and not guarantee their antenna really works...no refund!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 162

Write a Review for SkyWire TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review