About Sleepgram Pillow

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff
Published on: Nov 13, 2017

Claiming to offer a superior sleeping experience, the Sleepgram is a microfiber pillow utilizing multiple firmness combinations to tailor to your preferences.

Stating that they felt traditional feather pillows were in need of a serious facelift, the creators of the Sleepgram say that they revised the plan for their product dozens of times before finding the perfect pillow.

What separates the Sleepgram from other pillows is the way you can use their combination of soft and firm microfiber pillows to find just the right firmness for you.

On the product’s website, we’re told that the Sleepgram pillow started with a series of sleepless nights faced by a company co-founder’s wife.

After trying out several different mattresses, they discovered that the key to a better night’s sleep actually lied in the pillows the couple was using. After sharing their story with another eventual co-founder, the initial idea for Sleepgram took root.

On the about us page of the website, we’re told that Sleepgram was born with the mission to make sleep, and pillow shopping, a happy experience.

Neither of the founding members appear to have a background in the sleep industry, with the website claiming that their prior experience was in software engineering and data analytics.

With all these things in mind, we wanted to know how well the Sleepgram pillow worked, so we tested the pillow for a month before writing our review.

Our Experience With the Sleepgram Pillow

As we mentioned above, the main aspect separating the Sleepgram from traditional feather pillows is the two different microfiber pillows. Basically, your pillow arrives in the mail with two inserts that fit into a 100% cotton cover.

One insert has a red tag on it and one has a blue tag. The insert with the red tag is of medium firmness while the blue insert is soft.

If you want a firm pillow, you put a red and blue pillow inside the cover. For medium firmness, you use one medium pillow. And, for a soft pillow, you use one of the soft pillows. Both of us are side sleepers.

For me, it was pretty fun to see the Sleepgram box arrive. It was heavier than I thought and that’s due to the fact that there were two pillows and four inserts in the box.

The directions tell you to throw the insert pillows into the dryer for a few minutes so they expand. I did that, and then my wife and I made two pillows with the red- and blue-tag pillows, creating a firm pillow.

The first few nights I used the pillow, my back hurt the next morning, something that’s pretty standard when you change pillows or mattresses. Your body has to get used to a spine alignment and weight distribution.

There was, no doubt, a big difference in support between my old pillow, which was two cotton pillows crammed into one pillowcase, and the Sleepgram that included two of their firm pillows.

The initial back pain wore off after about four days. I started to notice that I was sleeping better and not waking up as much as I normally do. Typically, I wake up at least three or four times a night but that number was cut in half during the weeks I tested the pillow.

I also noticed that there was a streak of three or four nights where I only woke up one time. Based on this, I believe that the Sleepgram pillow provided me a better night’s sleep.

Another thing to note is that, during the time I tested the pillow, there are only a couple of times I had to adjust the pillow after I woke up. It seemed to be more supportive than my old cotton pillows.

One of the things I noticed is that, when I put my head on the pillow, it gave until just about a third to halfway down and then held steady. My head didn’t sink all the way down like it does with my old pillows.

My wife, who also tried the pillows, had a slightly different experience. She said that the pillow compacted too much during the night and the ear on which she slept hurt in the morning.

Sleepgram Pillow Three Chamber DesignThis image shows how the Sleepgram’s three-chamber design is situated within the 280-thread count cotton cover. Credit: Sleepgram.com

Sleepgram Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Sleepgram pillow was available exclusively from the product’s main website online. It is available in two different sizes, standard/queen (18” x 26”) and king (18” x 33”), and each is available in four different quantities:

  • Single pillow: $64.99 ($74.99 for king)
  • Two-pack: $79.99 ($99.99 for king)
  • Four-pack: $149.99 ($189.99 for king)
  • Six-pack: $219.99 ($279.99 for king)

Shipping is based on the number of pillows you order, with standard shipping going for anywhere from $9.95 for a single pillow or a two-pack, to free for larger orders.

The checkout page informs us that each order comes with a 100-night return policy, not including any shipping & handling fees.

To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer service by phone at 877-257-5337 or via email at help@sleepgram.com. You’ll be required to pay return postage to get the product back to the manufacturer.

Sleepgram vs. Other Similar Pillow Designs

There are thousands of different pillows available both online and in-stores today. That said, are there any options out there that utilize a similar design to the Sleepgram pillow?

We found one pillow, the Morphiis, that’s similar to the Sleepgram in that you can insert multiple pillows into your pillowcase to adjust firmness. The Morphiis has six 100% cotton inserts. Its price tag, at the time of publishing, was $85 for a queen-size pillow and $95 for a king.

Whereas the Sleepgram can fit up to two of their insert pillows, the Morphiis utilizes up to six insert pillows. The advantage here is that Morphiis’ pillows can add a significant height difference for side sleepers with bigger shoulders.

We also came across single pillows that utilized various designs to provide firmness, like the WENERSI Premium White Goose down pillows or the Three Geese White Goose Feather bed pillow.

These pillows tend to be more affordable than Sleepgram, ranging from $24.99 to $39.99 and up when we checked during our research.

In terms of brand reception and feedback, several of these products featured hundreds of customer reviews on Amazon, many of which were five-stars. At the time of publishing, the Sleepgram had an average rating of four stars from 99 reviewers.

Common complaints included remarks about the pillow not being firm enough or too flat, as well as not being cool enough.

If you’re searching for the perfect pillow for your specific needs, consider the following:

  • What position do you normally sleep in? As we mentioned above, depending on whether you are back sleeper, a side sleeper, or a stomach sleeper, a pillow with a certain type of thickness and shape may be desired. For more information on how your position can affect the pillow you need, be sure to read through our guide to the Top Pillow Picks for Each Position.
  • Consider all of your options before deciding on one. Because there are so many different pillows out there, it’s important to slow down and do a bit of research beforehand. Compare several products by price and similar features, and read through what customers are saying about each of them. Just be sure to watch out for fake reviews.
  • Understand the return policy going into a purchase. Because pillows are such a personal item when it comes to preferences of style, filling, weight, etc, it can be difficult to nail down the one that’s right for you without trying it out for yourself first. For this reason alone, it’s important to read and understand the product’s return policy before entering in any credit card information.

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on Sleepgram

Based on everything that we’ve learned about the Sleepgram pillow and our own experience, we believe the pillow provides a solid night’s rest for most people who try it.

We believe that the Sleepgram improved our sleep, a fact that’s confirmed by the positive reviews the pillow gets on Amazon.

One of the most important factors in choosing a pillow, however, is budget and preference. On the budget side of things, we believe Sleepgram’s price is higher than many cotton- or down-based pillows. If money is a concern for you, then the Sleepgram may not be worth its relatively high price tag.

If sleeping preference is your deciding factor, then Sleepgram may be worth it because you’ll have 100 days to try it out. Experiment with the various options you have for calibrating firmness. Use the red and blue together, then do the blue by itself and the red by itself.

Editor's Note: Sleepgram Pillow was sent to us free of charge for review. This review is based on our honest opinion and impression of the pillow after sleeping on it for a number of nights. There is no material relationship between Sleepgram and HighYa. This article was revised on 9/12/18 by J.R. Duren

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 57 Sleepgram Pillow Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Poor response

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sure this pillow is wonderful for those who do not have a neck issue but for me...it did not support my neck. It took 3 calls to their number to receive a return label. Now several weeks have gone by and no refund or communication. This is not a reputable company. If you are reading these reviews after purchasing...so sorry. These need to be read before purchasing.

    Hope if you do buy...you receive good service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Pickerington, OH,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have trusted my gut instinct when I had to call twice to locate my order. I placed my order on April 8th and paid extra for expedited shipping (5 days). Ten days later, no product. Called customer service and was told there was a delay, I should have it in 5 days, but they couldn't refund the expedited shipping fee. Again, 10 days later, still no pillows. Called again and was told they should be there in 2 days and had to ask for a refund for the expedited shipping fee. Finally, received the pillows, as well as a comforter I didn't realize I ordered. Fast forward 30 days. I have a pinched nerve in my neck from these pillows and have never taken the comforter out of the box. Called to return everything, the pillows have a 100-day return policy, only to be told that I was outside of the trial period of the comforter, which has NEVER been out of the box. I take full responsibility for not paying attention to the fine print. I am just warning everyone from doing business with this company. They'll take back pillows that have been slept on for 100 days, but not comforters that are still in the box. Very deceiving with two different trial periods.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Bottom line

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a professional statistical person. I am sorry I bought it. No hope to get a refund, based on what the customer said. I should have read this report before buying the pillow but I was so consumed by not sleeping and willing to try anything. Based on the results 36 reviews said they will not recommend it to a friend while 18 said they will recommend it to a friend. The ratio is 2 NO, 1 YES. You figure it for yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company!

    • Florida,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company! I ordered two King pillows last Friday for myself. Decided to order for my girlfriend for her birthday. I called on the following Tuesday. Before ordering I checked my order - all they could say, "your order is being processed." I then said I wish to make another order...I COULD NOT order! WHAT? Nothing to do with my credit at ALL! They couldn’t tell me why! After 45 minutes I ask to speak to a supervisor, well folks, he could care less! He quote three different prices for the item I was trying to order! Then I found an error in my order where they charged me TWICE for shipping - a $9.95 charge! It was hidden in the cost of the pillows and then at the bottom where the total amount is charged! When I asked to speak to another supervisor, he said "sorry once you speak to one supervisor you may not speak to another!" He would not/could not give me an address to the corporate headquarters, or a phone number. I asked where the pillows were made he said CA - I found out they are made in China. These people could care less, have NO knowledge of the product or the company, and really don’t care! If I could have rated this a 0 star I would have selected it verses a one star!

    BEWARE of this company. I will be sending the box back promptly WITHOUT opening it. If a company is this stupid I have no time for them and will keep my money. I now question the “story” behind the pillows as well! NO THANKS! Pillows will be going back and my girlfriend will have to decide on something else!

    BAD, BAD company. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    • New Jersey,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two pillows from Sleepgram over a week ago and I am still waiting to get a shipping confirmation. I have called customer service and emailed them and all I get is the standard reply that the order is being processed. I cannot get anyone to give me a shipping estimate. How does it take 8 days to process an order? I am beginning to think that this company may be a scam and their only business is taking my money and not shipping the product. I will not give up and I will either get the pillows or my money back. I definitely advise that you NOT do business with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Lay your head down, Sleepgram Pillow's bottom out. Terrible.

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought two King size Sleepgram down alternative pillows that were received this past week. We had high hopes, wanted to like them, but they are the worst pillows we have ever bought. They look lofty enough, but once you lay your head down, they bottom out as though they were many years old. No support. Horrible night's sleep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Complaint

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me first state that this purchase was a big one for me. I'm on a fixed income. The pillows were wonderful at first. I like a firm pillow. Unfortunately, while cat sitting for my granddaughter, her cat threw up on one of the pillows. I had to wash the outer cover and one insert following the directions given. They both expanded so much that I can barely use one insert. The pillow is rather lumpy now. I'm very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst customer service I have ever experienced. I was going to order the pillow and when I got to the end they kept adding things on I changed my mind. The order was never confirmed and I received an email saying I ordered extra pillowcases for $55.00 and the pillows! I called to cancel the order immediately and was told they could not cancel. They made me wait to receive and then refuse order (who is home to refuse order), and now I have to go to the UPS store and send it back and wait for my refund.

    Don't ever order from these people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Kentucky,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two pillows and entered billing and shipping information. AFTER this, I was offered a comforter for "only shipping cost of approximately $8." I clicked on this to see what it was and then immediately the site shut down and I was sent to Facebook. I wasn't even sure if they received my pillow order, but then it all arrived. I also received the comforter, which I didn't question (even though it wasn't the correct size) because of it only being $8. Now today I notice a charge on my credit card for $170.00. I call the company and am told that the $8 was for a trial period and since I didn't return in that period I was charged and that there was "nothing he could do." I explained very explicitly that there was no way I accepted this due to their site crashing (after talking to him I believe that is intentional because no one in their right mind would pay $178 for this comforter, especially one that doesn't fit their bed).

    I am very sure they have to save that approval and asked him to review their back-end systems because, due to the crash, he would find I didn't accept those terms. He just kept repeating that there was nothing he could do. I asked to talk to his manager, he states he is a supervisor, so there is no manager. I told him I know there is someone he reports to. He then admitted he has a manager but that managers "don't get on the phone." His name is Louis and his manager's name is Amber, but there is nothing that either of them can do.

    I have disputed the charge with my credit card company and will wait and see. I do like the pillows and wasn't going to cause a fuss about the comforter they sent without my approval, but at this cost and bad business dealings, I will take it far and wide. I have never written a review before but felt this was an intentional way to defraud people and that is not right. Beware of the add-on offers at the end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall the pillow was comfortable for the first few months we owned them, less than 6 months. In there is a little zipper that holds all the individual pillows together into one main pillow, this zipper broke today while trying to change the pillowcase, and because the pillows are over 100 days old, the guy who spoke broken English over the phone stated that there was nothing they could do because they were over 100 days. He then started telling me how wonderful their pillows were and what they were made out of. Followed by him asking me to do a review over the phone.

    So here’s your review. DON'T BUY THESE, the product isn’t bad at first, but when it goes bad, THE COMPANY IS COMPLETE crap. Save your hard earned money and buy your pillows somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware, beware, beware!

    Sleepgram WARNING!

    I want to, and will, warn everyone every day that their buyback guarantee is a SCAM!

    My $134.00 pillows, they offer 100% customer satisfaction on the website to buy them back is a farce! Sleepgram will only give 20%, $24.00, after I paid $134.00. What type of company is this?!

    The website shows 90 days, no questions buyback! But if you buy on a 14-day trial on Facebook, they charge $14.95, and then they put a hold on your card for a balance of $119.00, which is fine, I knew they would. But here's the trick and scam - you have 14 days to return or they will only give 20%.

    And their customer service reps are nasty, nasty!

    Their nasty customer rep told me 20% refund only! That equates to $24.00 is all they will refund me! I asked the rep I would like to speak to a manager. Their rep told me I’ll receive a call back from a manager because I wasn’t satisfied with her nasty attitude and response. Well, you probably know by now, they haven’t called me back!

    I have Lupus autoimmune disease with sore joints and neck. I thought this might be a blessing, not a nightmare! So everyone here is your warning - beware! Beware! Beware!

    This off their website:

    PLEASE NOTE, We're so confident you'll like our product that we offer a 90 Day 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you're not happy with it, send it back for a full refund. Our Customer Support team is available 24/7 to answer any questions or concerns you might have. You can reach us by emailing help@sleepgram.com or calling 877-25-SLEEP (877-257-5337).

    Don’t believe them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a Review for Sleepgram Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review