About Sleepgram Pillow

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 13, 2017

Claiming to offer a superior sleeping experience, the Sleepgram is a microfiber pillow utilizing multiple firmness combinations to tailor to your preferences.

Stating that they felt traditional feather pillows were in need of a serious facelift, the creators of the Sleepgram say that they revised the plan for their product dozens of times before finding the perfect pillow.

What separates the Sleepgram from other pillows is the way you can use their combination of soft and firm microfiber pillows to find just the right firmness for you.

On the product’s website, we’re told that the Sleepgram pillow started with a series of sleepless nights faced by a company co-founder’s wife.

After trying out several different mattresses, they discovered that the key to a better night’s sleep actually lied in the pillows the couple was using. After sharing their story with another eventual co-founder, the initial idea for Sleepgram took root.

On the about us page of the website, we’re told that Sleepgram was born with the mission to make sleep, and pillow shopping, a happy experience.

Neither of the founding members appear to have a background in the sleep industry, with the website claiming that their prior experience was in software engineering and data analytics.

With all these things in mind, we wanted to know how well the Sleepgram pillow worked, so we tested the pillow for a month before writing our review.

Our Experience With the Sleepgram Pillow

As we mentioned above, the main aspect separating the Sleepgram from traditional feather pillows is the two different microfiber pillows. Basically, your pillow arrives in the mail with two inserts that fit into a 100% cotton cover.

One insert has a red tag on it and one has a blue tag. The insert with the red tag is of medium firmness while the blue insert is soft.

If you want a firm pillow, you put a red and blue pillow inside the cover. For medium firmness, you use one medium pillow. And, for a soft pillow, you use one of the soft pillows. Both of us are side sleepers.

For me, it was pretty fun to see the Sleepgram box arrive. It was heavier than I thought and that’s due to the fact that there were two pillows and four inserts in the box.

The directions tell you to throw the insert pillows into the dryer for a few minutes so they expand. I did that, and then my wife and I made two pillows with the red- and blue-tag pillows, creating a firm pillow.

The first few nights I used the pillow, my back hurt the next morning, something that’s pretty standard when you change pillows or mattresses. Your body has to get used to a spine alignment and weight distribution.

There was, no doubt, a big difference in support between my old pillow, which was two cotton pillows crammed into one pillowcase, and the Sleepgram that included two of their firm pillows.

The initial back pain wore off after about four days. I started to notice that I was sleeping better and not waking up as much as I normally do. Typically, I wake up at least three or four times a night but that number was cut in half during the weeks I tested the pillow.

I also noticed that there was a streak of three or four nights where I only woke up one time. Based on this, I believe that the Sleepgram pillow provided me a better night’s sleep.

Another thing to note is that, during the time I tested the pillow, there are only a couple of times I had to adjust the pillow after I woke up. It seemed to be more supportive than my old cotton pillows.

One of the things I noticed is that, when I put my head on the pillow, it gave until just about a third to halfway down and then held steady. My head didn’t sink all the way down like it does with my old pillows.

My wife, who also tried the pillows, had a slightly different experience. She said that the pillow compacted too much during the night and the ear on which she slept hurt in the morning.

Sleepgram Pillow Three Chamber DesignThis image shows how the Sleepgram’s three-chamber design is situated within the 280-thread count cotton cover. Credit: Sleepgram.com

Sleepgram Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Sleepgram pillow was available exclusively from the product’s main website online. It is available in two different sizes, standard/queen (18” x 26”) and king (18” x 33”), and each is available in four different quantities:

  • Single pillow: $64.99 ($74.99 for king)
  • Two-pack: $79.99 ($99.99 for king)
  • Four-pack: $149.99 ($189.99 for king)
  • Six-pack: $219.99 ($279.99 for king)

Shipping is based on the number of pillows you order, with standard shipping going for anywhere from $9.95 for a single pillow or a two-pack, to free for larger orders.

The checkout page informs us that each order comes with a 100-night return policy, not including any shipping & handling fees.

To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer service by phone at 877-257-5337 or via email at help@sleepgram.com. You’ll be required to pay return postage to get the product back to the manufacturer.

Sleepgram vs. Other Similar Pillow Designs

There are thousands of different pillows available both online and in-stores today. That said, are there any options out there that utilize a similar design to the Sleepgram pillow?

We found one pillow, the Morphiis, that’s similar to the Sleepgram in that you can insert multiple pillows into your pillowcase to adjust firmness. The Morphiis has six 100% cotton inserts. Its price tag, at the time of publishing, was $85 for a queen-size pillow and $95 for a king.

Whereas the Sleepgram can fit up to two of their insert pillows, the Morphiis utilizes up to six insert pillows. The advantage here is that Morphiis’ pillows can add a significant height difference for side sleepers with bigger shoulders.

We also came across single pillows that utilized various designs to provide firmness, like the WENERSI Premium White Goose down pillows or the Three Geese White Goose Feather bed pillow.

These pillows tend to be more affordable than Sleepgram, ranging from $24.99 to $39.99 and up when we checked during our research.

In terms of brand reception and feedback, several of these products featured hundreds of customer reviews on Amazon, many of which were five-stars. At the time of publishing, the Sleepgram had an average rating of four stars from 99 reviewers.

Common complaints included remarks about the pillow not being firm enough or too flat, as well as not being cool enough.

If you’re searching for the perfect pillow for your specific needs, consider the following:

  • What position do you normally sleep in? As we mentioned above, depending on whether you are back sleeper, a side sleeper, or a stomach sleeper, a pillow with a certain type of thickness and shape may be desired. For more information on how your position can affect the pillow you need, be sure to read through our guide to the Top Pillow Picks for Each Position.
  • Consider all of your options before deciding on one. Because there are so many different pillows out there, it’s important to slow down and do a bit of research beforehand. Compare several products by price and similar features, and read through what customers are saying about each of them. Just be sure to watch out for fake reviews.
  • Understand the return policy going into a purchase. Because pillows are such a personal item when it comes to preferences of style, filling, weight, etc, it can be difficult to nail down the one that’s right for you without trying it out for yourself first. For this reason alone, it’s important to read and understand the product’s return policy before entering in any credit card information.

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on Sleepgram

Based on everything that we’ve learned about the Sleepgram pillow and our own experience, we believe the pillow provides a solid night’s rest for most people who try it.

We believe that the Sleepgram improved our sleep, a fact that’s confirmed by the positive reviews the pillow gets on Amazon.

One of the most important factors in choosing a pillow, however, is budget and preference. On the budget side of things, we believe Sleepgram’s price is higher than many cotton- or down-based pillows. If money is a concern for you, then the Sleepgram may not be worth its relatively high price tag.

If sleeping preference is your deciding factor, then Sleepgram may be worth it because you’ll have 100 days to try it out. Experiment with the various options you have for calibrating firmness. Use the red and blue together, then do the blue by itself and the red by itself.

Editor's Note: Sleepgram Pillow was sent to us free of charge for review. This review is based on our honest opinion and impression of the pillow after sleeping on it for a number of nights. There is no material relationship between Sleepgram and HighYa. This article was revised on 9/12/18 by J.R. Duren

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

43 Consumer Reviews for Sleepgram Pillow

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • Disappointed

    • St. Lawrence, SD,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I both found the pillows very uncomfortable for sleeping. The promotion claimed I could try the pillows for 100 nights and then could return them for a refund if dissatisfied. I discovered that, in fact, you had to return the pillows in unused or like new condition. After you pay to return the pillows, then the company determines if they are worthy of being returned. Only then will a refund be issued. The returned pillows are donated to charities. I suspect that unless the pillow is unopened, they will decide no refund, so all those pillows they claim to have donated? Right out of your pocket. I decided to not return the pillows due to the cost of shipping. If I will be donating them anyway, why pay for the privilege? Will I recommend them to a friend? NO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Less than ethical advertising (business) practices

    • Texas,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't even received my pillows yet! They are not due to be delivered until the 7th of September. I'm writing this review because I must say I don't care how good they claim their pillows are, their business tactics leave much to be desired! I don't appreciate a business shoving more specials (BUT WAIT) in my face to the point of where I almost gave up and canceled my order. Seems to me this company is DESPERATE to scam the consumer out of more and more money. When I purchase online, I know full well what I want to order and certainly don't appreciate the way this company operates. I will be NOT be ordering from this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Service

    • Fargo, ND,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My pillows took longer than what was stated to get to me. My family and I got them on a promotional offer. I tried them, and I didn't really care about them. A couple weeks later I got charged for the full amount of the pillows, which is something that wasn't stated when I signed up to get the pillows with the promotional offer. Now I am stuck with pillows I don't care for, and out of the money that they stole from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing pillow

    • Amherst, NY,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awesome pillow, it’s everything they claim. I’ve tried them all, this is the best hands down. It’s immediate comfort right out of the box. You won’t be disappointed. I started with just one and had to order more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The worst pillow I have ever tried, costs a fortune to return for credit.

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Regardless of adjustments to the various inserts, the pillow felt like a board under my neck. I should not have taken a chance in ordering the pillows since the buyer is responsible for sending back for credit (consumer's responsibility).

    It cost me $31.80 to return for credit. This was a very expensive experiment. If the company believes so strongly in their product, they should be willing to pay for return postage.

    Sorry I ordered pillows from Sleepgram. If I had ordered from Amazon.com, being a PRIME member, the return postage would have been free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2018

      Frances O.

      I was wondering how much it would cost to return. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great pillow/phony article

    • New York,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pillow expecting to try it and probably return as I have purchased dozens of pillows in the past few years and cannot find one I like. Surprisingly this one so far exceeds my expectations and I ordered two more. It is perfect for me as a side sleeper. I can't speak to some of the comments about durability as I have only had it a little over a month, but it seems well made and has not changed in that time. I recommend it.

    As for this article, it is totally wrong factually. I see it was written in 2017 but I doubt so much has changed in less than a year. It says this is made of two different kinds of down. IT IS NOT! The article says the website says it is made of down. IT DOES NOT! It specifically says it is made of a proprietary foam material. A DOWN ALTERNATIVE PILLOW. There are other factual errors here, so I have to question the author's credentials and motive. As for phony reviews on Facebook, I see both good and bad reviews. I see positive and negative comments on some of their posts with the positive outweighing the negative, but no apparent attempt to hide or delete negative comments.

    All I can say is there is a 100-night return policy. The pillows are available both through sleepgram.com as well as Amazon. If you are concerned that the comments here about the return policy being a "scam," buy them through Amazon - they will always give the refund, and they will take it up with the company. Amazon will also provide free return shipping so you will be out nothing. And if Amazon finds any problems with the company they will remove them from their platform.

    I have no skin in this game. I am just surprisingly happy with these pillows and have to question and comment on this review/article.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst pillows!

    • West Chester, PA,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered four of the king-sized pillows and tried them for over 100 days. They were just terrible. In fact, today we donated them to a charity that needed bedding, as it is cost prohibitive to return them since the company does not pay for return shipping. Also, when I mentioned on it Facebook, our comments regarding the pillows on their page have blocked. All the others that have had problems stating their opinions on their posts. We felt as though we were sleeping on sacks of flour. All four pillows did not have the same amount of filling. My husband and I have never, in our 35 years of marriage, had problems with pillows as we did with these. Be careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best pillow yet!

    • Mandeville, LA,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My header to this review says it all. I have literally nine pillows which I've bought over the last few years, with the most recent costing near $200. As soon as I laid my head down I knew I had finally found a winner. Soft as a cloud. I use one in soft mode with a medium on top, and arm on the soft one under the medium one into which I rest my head. They don't get hot and aren't stiff. The fact that you can adjust the fullness by adding or taking away inserts is pure genius. I threw away the box even though they offer 100 days no risk trial. I'm definitely keeping mine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst pillow

    • Eustis, FL,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very uncomfortable pillows. Too high or too flat, and definitely overpriced pillows.

    Very bad customer service. I do not recommend.

    They won’t send a return label and the cost to return is $70 UPS or USPS $140. The company paid $9.99 to send it to us.

    Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad "pillow," worse return policy

    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered two pillows. Long story short, once we "fluffed them up" and laid down on them, we knew they'd have to go back. Too soft and no support. We paid $99 for these. USPS (the least expensive way to return) said it would cost $56 PLUS a $15 "balloon" fee because of where it was being returned to (Van Nuys, California). That's almost as much as I paid for these so-called pillows. This is why Amazon is taking over the world. Great service, easy returns, and customer service that cares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love them!

    I just received them. I love the way I can choose, "soft," "medium," or "firm." Love them! Happy! I would not only recommend these pillows. I actually already shared the ad with a friend who has trouble sleeping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a Review for Sleepgram Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review