About Sleepgram Pillow

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff
Published on: Nov 13, 2017

Claiming to offer a superior sleeping experience, the Sleepgram is a microfiber pillow utilizing multiple firmness combinations to tailor to your preferences.

Stating that they felt traditional feather pillows were in need of a serious facelift, the creators of the Sleepgram say that they revised the plan for their product dozens of times before finding the perfect pillow.

What separates the Sleepgram from other pillows is the way you can use their combination of soft and firm microfiber pillows to find just the right firmness for you.

On the product’s website, we’re told that the Sleepgram pillow started with a series of sleepless nights faced by a company co-founder’s wife.

After trying out several different mattresses, they discovered that the key to a better night’s sleep actually lied in the pillows the couple was using. After sharing their story with another eventual co-founder, the initial idea for Sleepgram took root.

On the about us page of the website, we’re told that Sleepgram was born with the mission to make sleep, and pillow shopping, a happy experience.

Neither of the founding members appear to have a background in the sleep industry, with the website claiming that their prior experience was in software engineering and data analytics.

With all these things in mind, we wanted to know how well the Sleepgram pillow worked, so we tested the pillow for a month before writing our review.

Our Experience With the Sleepgram Pillow

As we mentioned above, the main aspect separating the Sleepgram from traditional feather pillows is the two different microfiber pillows. Basically, your pillow arrives in the mail with two inserts that fit into a 100% cotton cover.

One insert has a red tag on it and one has a blue tag. The insert with the red tag is of medium firmness while the blue insert is soft.

If you want a firm pillow, you put a red and blue pillow inside the cover. For medium firmness, you use one medium pillow. And, for a soft pillow, you use one of the soft pillows. Both of us are side sleepers.

For me, it was pretty fun to see the Sleepgram box arrive. It was heavier than I thought and that’s due to the fact that there were two pillows and four inserts in the box.

The directions tell you to throw the insert pillows into the dryer for a few minutes so they expand. I did that, and then my wife and I made two pillows with the red- and blue-tag pillows, creating a firm pillow.

The first few nights I used the pillow, my back hurt the next morning, something that’s pretty standard when you change pillows or mattresses. Your body has to get used to a spine alignment and weight distribution.

There was, no doubt, a big difference in support between my old pillow, which was two cotton pillows crammed into one pillowcase, and the Sleepgram that included two of their firm pillows.

The initial back pain wore off after about four days. I started to notice that I was sleeping better and not waking up as much as I normally do. Typically, I wake up at least three or four times a night but that number was cut in half during the weeks I tested the pillow.

I also noticed that there was a streak of three or four nights where I only woke up one time. Based on this, I believe that the Sleepgram pillow provided me a better night’s sleep.

Another thing to note is that, during the time I tested the pillow, there are only a couple of times I had to adjust the pillow after I woke up. It seemed to be more supportive than my old cotton pillows.

One of the things I noticed is that, when I put my head on the pillow, it gave until just about a third to halfway down and then held steady. My head didn’t sink all the way down like it does with my old pillows.

My wife, who also tried the pillows, had a slightly different experience. She said that the pillow compacted too much during the night and the ear on which she slept hurt in the morning.

Sleepgram Pillow Three Chamber DesignThis image shows how the Sleepgram’s three-chamber design is situated within the 280-thread count cotton cover. Credit: Sleepgram.com

Sleepgram Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Sleepgram pillow was available exclusively from the product’s main website online. It is available in two different sizes, standard/queen (18” x 26”) and king (18” x 33”), and each is available in four different quantities:

  • Single pillow: $64.99 ($74.99 for king)
  • Two-pack: $79.99 ($99.99 for king)
  • Four-pack: $149.99 ($189.99 for king)
  • Six-pack: $219.99 ($279.99 for king)

Shipping is based on the number of pillows you order, with standard shipping going for anywhere from $9.95 for a single pillow or a two-pack, to free for larger orders.

The checkout page informs us that each order comes with a 100-night return policy, not including any shipping & handling fees.

To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer service by phone at 877-257-5337 or via email at help@sleepgram.com. You’ll be required to pay return postage to get the product back to the manufacturer.

Sleepgram vs. Other Similar Pillow Designs

There are thousands of different pillows available both online and in-stores today. That said, are there any options out there that utilize a similar design to the Sleepgram pillow?

We found one pillow, the Morphiis, that’s similar to the Sleepgram in that you can insert multiple pillows into your pillowcase to adjust firmness. The Morphiis has six 100% cotton inserts. Its price tag, at the time of publishing, was $85 for a queen-size pillow and $95 for a king.

Whereas the Sleepgram can fit up to two of their insert pillows, the Morphiis utilizes up to six insert pillows. The advantage here is that Morphiis’ pillows can add a significant height difference for side sleepers with bigger shoulders.

We also came across single pillows that utilized various designs to provide firmness, like the WENERSI Premium White Goose down pillows or the Three Geese White Goose Feather bed pillow.

These pillows tend to be more affordable than Sleepgram, ranging from $24.99 to $39.99 and up when we checked during our research.

In terms of brand reception and feedback, several of these products featured hundreds of customer reviews on Amazon, many of which were five-stars. At the time of publishing, the Sleepgram had an average rating of four stars from 99 reviewers.

Common complaints included remarks about the pillow not being firm enough or too flat, as well as not being cool enough.

If you’re searching for the perfect pillow for your specific needs, consider the following:

  • What position do you normally sleep in? As we mentioned above, depending on whether you are back sleeper, a side sleeper, or a stomach sleeper, a pillow with a certain type of thickness and shape may be desired. For more information on how your position can affect the pillow you need, be sure to read through our guide to the Top Pillow Picks for Each Position.
  • Consider all of your options before deciding on one. Because there are so many different pillows out there, it’s important to slow down and do a bit of research beforehand. Compare several products by price and similar features, and read through what customers are saying about each of them. Just be sure to watch out for fake reviews.
  • Understand the return policy going into a purchase. Because pillows are such a personal item when it comes to preferences of style, filling, weight, etc, it can be difficult to nail down the one that’s right for you without trying it out for yourself first. For this reason alone, it’s important to read and understand the product’s return policy before entering in any credit card information.

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on Sleepgram

Based on everything that we’ve learned about the Sleepgram pillow and our own experience, we believe the pillow provides a solid night’s rest for most people who try it.

We believe that the Sleepgram improved our sleep, a fact that’s confirmed by the positive reviews the pillow gets on Amazon.

One of the most important factors in choosing a pillow, however, is budget and preference. On the budget side of things, we believe Sleepgram’s price is higher than many cotton- or down-based pillows. If money is a concern for you, then the Sleepgram may not be worth its relatively high price tag.

If sleeping preference is your deciding factor, then Sleepgram may be worth it because you’ll have 100 days to try it out. Experiment with the various options you have for calibrating firmness. Use the red and blue together, then do the blue by itself and the red by itself.

Editor's Note: Sleepgram Pillow was sent to us free of charge for review. This review is based on our honest opinion and impression of the pillow after sleeping on it for a number of nights. There is no material relationship between Sleepgram and HighYa. This article was revised on 9/12/18 by J.R. Duren


Read 67 Sleepgram Pillow Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 67
Sort reviews by:

  • Crap/scam

    • By Kyna S.,
    • Utah,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the pillows and then it sent me to add pillowcases to your order page, then an add bamboo sheets page, then a comforter for $9 page, then a mattress protector page. I got all but the mattress protector. I was charged instantly for each piece I added to my order so 4 separate charges and no way to overlook my order and confirm it. There was NOTHING on the comforter page that said 14-day trial. Had there been I wouldn't have added it to my order. I was then charged a 5th time yesterday for $195. Talked to them today and the comforter only has the 14-day warranty and does not fall under the 100-day warranty but everything else does. When I asked why she wouldn't tell me. The sheets do not help the bed sleep cooler like they claim. The top sheet sticks to the crappy comforter and they both slide off the bed if you move just a little. The pillows have hard as rock clumps in them that I have tried and tried to fluff out and so it is lumpy and uncomfortable. And the sheet set comes with pillowcases that slide off the pillow if you move the pillow which you have to do many times at night because the pillow does not conform to your head like it claims. I have tried it for 15 days now and I wake up with a sore neck and headache. I do NOT recommend anything about this company from crap product to awful customer service that does not care about customer satisfaction.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service. Scam.

    • By Pat D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam with their advertising.

    I ordered two pillows and pillowcases. I was offered a price of $8.95 for a comforter on their "special" deal. No mention anywhere that this was "trial." A month after I had the order I got billed $195 for the comforter. When I called I was told it was a 30-day trial and if I did not return it before then I would be billed the $195. There is nowhere stated in their order form of this pricing. I would never have ordered it for that price. Of course, I am now told it cannot be returned and too bad for me. I am disputing this with my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • By Matthew K.,
    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Message sent to:

    Sleepgram Customer Service,

    Please address the following a few points:

    Why would you state that message state that you could not stop the order due to the product has the already processed with in a half hour of submitting the order?

    Then I received this today:

    Matt XXXXXXX, are you ready to start sleeping better?

    Your Sleepgram order has shipped. Your tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXX 62725 .

    If you have any questions about your order, or need to check on another order, please call 877-25-SLEEP (877-257-5337).

    Tracking provides unparalleled insight into when your package will be delivered. Tracking also allows you to manage your shipments.

    Thank you

    Sleepgram Customer Service

    Why did I not receive that 30% discount, as advertised throughout your site?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Totally amazed

    • By Amy L.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried every pillow on the market from the least expensive to the most expensive, none have ever helped me to wake up without aching neck and shoulders. That is except the Sleepgram Pillow! I've had my pillow for about 2 months now and have told all my clients about how I have woke up with no neck or shoulder pain since purchasing my Sleepgram Pillow. One has actually purchased from you since my telling her and she loves hers as well. I will never go anywhere without it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam also

    • By Bradley H.,
    • Alabama,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bingo...same story as another post...deceiving as could be.

    "I ordered two pillows and cases only. When the order arrived, there was a comforter included also. The charge for the pillows and cases showed up on my first charge card bill. The second charge card bill showed the billing for the comforter."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY from this company

    • By Deanne K.,
    • Tumwater, WA,
    • Nov 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one set of pillows and pillowcases on September 22nd. I was billed for three sets of pillows and two sets of pillowcases. I immediately called the company and they said just send back the erroneous orders unopened. I received my order on October 1st and then the two extra orders the next day. I took the extra orders to a postal store to have sent back as revised (as the company advised me to do). They were sent back on October 3rd. Today is November 12th and no refund yet. I called and they said, oh, they received one box but not the second (they were sent together). They didn’t use a refund until I called and then only on one set, not two. So far, I’m still out $125.55. Unless you have money to burn, DO NOT BUY from this company. Oh, the pillows are just okay, nothing special.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Starting to think it's a scam

    • By Sean R.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One week after ordering 2 pillows, no shipping info has been sent, yet my credit card was billed right away. After talking to customer service, and being told that the order is still processing, several times, I asked if I could just cancel the order and was told, no, there are no cancellations and no refunds. Not sure if it is worth any more effort to try and go after them, or fill a complaint with the state's AG, or just eat the $80 and take it as a lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    GOT SCAMMED!

    • By Dorothy P.,
    • Kansas,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two pillows and cases only. When the order arrived, there was a comforter included also. The charge for the pillows and cases showed up on my first charge card bill. The second charge card bill showed the billing for the comforter. I was told by Sleepgram that I asked for a trial offer on the comforter on the web site. No paperwork I printed off or received said anything about a comforter that I would be charged for. Since I didn't return it during the trial period, I am stuck with paying for this. This company hides the truth from their customers and does not disclose upfront what is going on. Even if I returned the item, I would still have paid shipping! I know this won't get posted, but at least I feel better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Don't order this pillow!

    • By Debra G.,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It looks like a great idea, so I thought I'd check them out. The promo was for half price for two. It doesn't tell you how much they are until they're ordered! Customer service sucks! I'm told they can't cancel the order even though I just placed it late yesterday! I was told to either try them or return to sender. No other solution was given or attempted. This was by a supervisor that I finally got through to (if that's even true!). This company is crap! Don't buy from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Changed my life, truly.

    • By Susan B.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had begun to develop pains in my arms that made them feel heavy. It hurt to raise them above my shoulders. In fact, I couldn't. I am a music director and this became debilitating. I tried deep body massages and three visits to the chiropractor. No change. And then my friend who had purchased two Sleepgram Pillows gave me one of hers to try. I adapted to the lowest level easily and within two days my pain completely went away and has not returned. The pains must have derived from my neck being in a poor position for sleeping. The pillows made all of the difference. They are so comfortable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Poor response

    • By Ina M.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sure this pillow is wonderful for those who do not have a neck issue but for me...it did not support my neck. It took 3 calls to their number to receive a return label. Now several weeks have gone by and no refund or communication. This is not a reputable company. If you are reading these reviews after purchasing...so sorry. These need to be read before purchasing.

    Hope if you do buy...you receive good service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for Sleepgram Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review