About Sleepgram Pillow

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 13, 2017

Claiming to offer a superior sleeping experience, the Sleepgram is a microfiber pillow utilizing multiple firmness combinations to tailor to your preferences.

Stating that they felt traditional feather pillows were in need of a serious facelift, the creators of the Sleepgram say that they revised the plan for their product dozens of times before finding the perfect pillow.

What separates the Sleepgram from other pillows is the way you can use their combination of soft and firm microfiber pillows to find just the right firmness for you.

On the product’s website, we’re told that the Sleepgram pillow started with a series of sleepless nights faced by a company co-founder’s wife.

After trying out several different mattresses, they discovered that the key to a better night’s sleep actually lied in the pillows the couple was using. After sharing their story with another eventual co-founder, the initial idea for Sleepgram took root.

On the about us page of the website, we’re told that Sleepgram was born with the mission to make sleep, and pillow shopping, a happy experience.

Neither of the founding members appear to have a background in the sleep industry, with the website claiming that their prior experience was in software engineering and data analytics.

With all these things in mind, we wanted to know how well the Sleepgram pillow worked, so we tested the pillow for a month before writing our review.

Our Experience With the Sleepgram Pillow

As we mentioned above, the main aspect separating the Sleepgram from traditional feather pillows is the two different microfiber pillows. Basically, your pillow arrives in the mail with two inserts that fit into a 100% cotton cover.

One insert has a red tag on it and one has a blue tag. The insert with the red tag is of medium firmness while the blue insert is soft.

If you want a firm pillow, you put a red and blue pillow inside the cover. For medium firmness, you use one medium pillow. And, for a soft pillow, you use one of the soft pillows. Both of us are side sleepers.

For me, it was pretty fun to see the Sleepgram box arrive. It was heavier than I thought and that’s due to the fact that there were two pillows and four inserts in the box.

The directions tell you to throw the insert pillows into the dryer for a few minutes so they expand. I did that, and then my wife and I made two pillows with the red- and blue-tag pillows, creating a firm pillow.

The first few nights I used the pillow, my back hurt the next morning, something that’s pretty standard when you change pillows or mattresses. Your body has to get used to a spine alignment and weight distribution.

There was, no doubt, a big difference in support between my old pillow, which was two cotton pillows crammed into one pillowcase, and the Sleepgram that included two of their firm pillows.

The initial back pain wore off after about four days. I started to notice that I was sleeping better and not waking up as much as I normally do. Typically, I wake up at least three or four times a night but that number was cut in half during the weeks I tested the pillow.

I also noticed that there was a streak of three or four nights where I only woke up one time. Based on this, I believe that the Sleepgram pillow provided me a better night’s sleep.

Another thing to note is that, during the time I tested the pillow, there are only a couple of times I had to adjust the pillow after I woke up. It seemed to be more supportive than my old cotton pillows.

One of the things I noticed is that, when I put my head on the pillow, it gave until just about a third to halfway down and then held steady. My head didn’t sink all the way down like it does with my old pillows.

My wife, who also tried the pillows, had a slightly different experience. She said that the pillow compacted too much during the night and the ear on which she slept hurt in the morning.

Sleepgram Pillow Three Chamber DesignThis image shows how the Sleepgram’s three-chamber design is situated within the 280-thread count cotton cover. Credit: Sleepgram.com

Sleepgram Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Sleepgram pillow was available exclusively from the product’s main website online. It is available in two different sizes, standard/queen (18” x 26”) and king (18” x 33”), and each is available in four different quantities:

  • Single pillow: $64.99 ($74.99 for king)
  • Two-pack: $79.99 ($99.99 for king)
  • Four-pack: $149.99 ($189.99 for king)
  • Six-pack: $219.99 ($279.99 for king)

Shipping is based on the number of pillows you order, with standard shipping going for anywhere from $9.95 for a single pillow or a two-pack, to free for larger orders.

The checkout page informs us that each order comes with a 100-night return policy, not including any shipping & handling fees.

To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer service by phone at 877-257-5337 or via email at help@sleepgram.com. You’ll be required to pay return postage to get the product back to the manufacturer.

Sleepgram vs. Other Similar Pillow Designs

There are thousands of different pillows available both online and in-stores today. That said, are there any options out there that utilize a similar design to the Sleepgram pillow?

We found one pillow, the Morphiis, that’s similar to the Sleepgram in that you can insert multiple pillows into your pillowcase to adjust firmness. The Morphiis has six 100% cotton inserts. Its price tag, at the time of publishing, was $85 for a queen-size pillow and $95 for a king.

Whereas the Sleepgram can fit up to two of their insert pillows, the Morphiis utilizes up to six insert pillows. The advantage here is that Morphiis’ pillows can add a significant height difference for side sleepers with bigger shoulders.

We also came across single pillows that utilized various designs to provide firmness, like the WENERSI Premium White Goose down pillows or the Three Geese White Goose Feather bed pillow.

These pillows tend to be more affordable than Sleepgram, ranging from $24.99 to $39.99 and up when we checked during our research.

In terms of brand reception and feedback, several of these products featured hundreds of customer reviews on Amazon, many of which were five-stars. At the time of publishing, the Sleepgram had an average rating of four stars from 99 reviewers.

Common complaints included remarks about the pillow not being firm enough or too flat, as well as not being cool enough.

If you’re searching for the perfect pillow for your specific needs, consider the following:

  • What position do you normally sleep in? As we mentioned above, depending on whether you are back sleeper, a side sleeper, or a stomach sleeper, a pillow with a certain type of thickness and shape may be desired. For more information on how your position can affect the pillow you need, be sure to read through our guide to the Top Pillow Picks for Each Position.
  • Consider all of your options before deciding on one. Because there are so many different pillows out there, it’s important to slow down and do a bit of research beforehand. Compare several products by price and similar features, and read through what customers are saying about each of them. Just be sure to watch out for fake reviews.
  • Understand the return policy going into a purchase. Because pillows are such a personal item when it comes to preferences of style, filling, weight, etc, it can be difficult to nail down the one that’s right for you without trying it out for yourself first. For this reason alone, it’s important to read and understand the product’s return policy before entering in any credit card information.

The Bottom Line: Our Thoughts on Sleepgram

Based on everything that we’ve learned about the Sleepgram pillow and our own experience, we believe the pillow provides a solid night’s rest for most people who try it.

We believe that the Sleepgram improved our sleep, a fact that’s confirmed by the positive reviews the pillow gets on Amazon.

One of the most important factors in choosing a pillow, however, is budget and preference. On the budget side of things, we believe Sleepgram’s price is higher than many cotton- or down-based pillows. If money is a concern for you, then the Sleepgram may not be worth its relatively high price tag.

If sleeping preference is your deciding factor, then Sleepgram may be worth it because you’ll have 100 days to try it out. Experiment with the various options you have for calibrating firmness. Use the red and blue together, then do the blue by itself and the red by itself.

Editor's Note: Sleepgram Pillow was sent to us free of charge for review. This review is based on our honest opinion and impression of the pillow after sleeping on it for a number of nights. There is no material relationship between Sleepgram and HighYa. This article was revised on 9/12/18 by J.R. Duren

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

49 Consumer Reviews for Sleepgram Pillow

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • SCAM

    • Kentucky,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two pillows and entered billing and shipping information. AFTER this, I was offered a comforter for "only shipping cost of approximately $8." I clicked on this to see what it was and then immediately the site shut down and I was sent to Facebook. I wasn't even sure if they received my pillow order, but then it all arrived. I also received the comforter, which I didn't question (even though it wasn't the correct size) because of it only being $8. Now today I notice a charge on my credit card for $170.00. I call the company and am told that the $8 was for a trial period and since I didn't return in that period I was charged and that there was "nothing he could do." I explained very explicitly that there was no way I accepted this due to their site crashing (after talking to him I believe that is intentional because no one in their right mind would pay $178 for this comforter, especially one that doesn't fit their bed).

    I am very sure they have to save that approval and asked him to review their back-end systems because, due to the crash, he would find I didn't accept those terms. He just kept repeating that there was nothing he could do. I asked to talk to his manager, he states he is a supervisor, so there is no manager. I told him I know there is someone he reports to. He then admitted he has a manager but that managers "don't get on the phone." His name is Louis and his manager's name is Amber, but there is nothing that either of them can do.

    I have disputed the charge with my credit card company and will wait and see. I do like the pillows and wasn't going to cause a fuss about the comforter they sent without my approval, but at this cost and bad business dealings, I will take it far and wide. I have never written a review before but felt this was an intentional way to defraud people and that is not right. Beware of the add-on offers at the end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not buy

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall the pillow was comfortable for the first few months we owned them, less than 6 months. In there is a little zipper that holds all the individual pillows together into one main pillow, this zipper broke today while trying to change the pillowcase, and because the pillows are over 100 days old, the guy who spoke broken English over the phone stated that there was nothing they could do because they were over 100 days. He then started telling me how wonderful their pillows were and what they were made out of. Followed by him asking me to do a review over the phone.

    So here’s your review. DON'T BUY THESE, the product isn’t bad at first, but when it goes bad, THE COMPANY IS COMPLETE crap. Save your hard earned money and buy your pillows somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware, beware, beware!

    Sleepgram WARNING!

    I want to, and will, warn everyone every day that their buyback guarantee is a SCAM!

    My $134.00 pillows, they offer 100% customer satisfaction on the website to buy them back is a farce! Sleepgram will only give 20%, $24.00, after I paid $134.00. What type of company is this?!

    The website shows 90 days, no questions buyback! But if you buy on a 14-day trial on Facebook, they charge $14.95, and then they put a hold on your card for a balance of $119.00, which is fine, I knew they would. But here's the trick and scam - you have 14 days to return or they will only give 20%.

    And their customer service reps are nasty, nasty!

    Their nasty customer rep told me 20% refund only! That equates to $24.00 is all they will refund me! I asked the rep I would like to speak to a manager. Their rep told me I’ll receive a call back from a manager because I wasn’t satisfied with her nasty attitude and response. Well, you probably know by now, they haven’t called me back!

    I have Lupus autoimmune disease with sore joints and neck. I thought this might be a blessing, not a nightmare! So everyone here is your warning - beware! Beware! Beware!

    This off their website:

    PLEASE NOTE, We're so confident you'll like our product that we offer a 90 Day 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you're not happy with it, send it back for a full refund. Our Customer Support team is available 24/7 to answer any questions or concerns you might have. You can reach us by emailing help@sleepgram.com or calling 877-25-SLEEP (877-257-5337).

    Don’t believe them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best pillow ever

    • Markham, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried at least 10 different pillows, some I could return, and others have gone to textile waste. Sleepgram is truly the most comfortable pillow I've ever owned. I now have the best sleeps. I would and have recommended it to others. They separate and are washable. I use all the inserts. I've tried removing them one at a time but the best for me using all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $110.00 for two pillows made in China. They are not worth the money, the pillows are just ok.

    I felt I was ripped off. I am glad I only got two pillows to try. I was going to buy more, but $110.00 for pillows...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beware of cost to return

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a few queen size pillows (2 sets) from Sleepgram and couldn’t find comfort. Either too big or too small and doesn’t stay cool as advertised. BUT, the most aggravating is the cost of shipping them back for a refund. From North Carolina to California it was $46 to ship with the cheapest way and a signature required. Don’t be fooled with the 100-day tryout period and read the fine print on their website. It’s not guaranteed that they will refund your money...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • St. Lawrence, SD,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I both found the pillows very uncomfortable for sleeping. The promotion claimed I could try the pillows for 100 nights and then could return them for a refund if dissatisfied. I discovered that, in fact, you had to return the pillows in unused or like new condition. After you pay to return the pillows, then the company determines if they are worthy of being returned. Only then will a refund be issued. The returned pillows are donated to charities. I suspect that unless the pillow is unopened, they will decide no refund, so all those pillows they claim to have donated? Right out of your pocket. I decided to not return the pillows due to the cost of shipping. If I will be donating them anyway, why pay for the privilege? Will I recommend them to a friend? NO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Less than ethical advertising (business) practices

    • Texas,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't even received my pillows yet! They are not due to be delivered until the 7th of September. I'm writing this review because I must say I don't care how good they claim their pillows are, their business tactics leave much to be desired! I don't appreciate a business shoving more specials (BUT WAIT) in my face to the point of where I almost gave up and canceled my order. Seems to me this company is DESPERATE to scam the consumer out of more and more money. When I purchase online, I know full well what I want to order and certainly don't appreciate the way this company operates. I will be NOT be ordering from this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Service

    • Fargo, ND,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My pillows took longer than what was stated to get to me. My family and I got them on a promotional offer. I tried them, and I didn't really care about them. A couple weeks later I got charged for the full amount of the pillows, which is something that wasn't stated when I signed up to get the pillows with the promotional offer. Now I am stuck with pillows I don't care for, and out of the money that they stole from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing pillow

    • Amherst, NY,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awesome pillow, it’s everything they claim. I’ve tried them all, this is the best hands down. It’s immediate comfort right out of the box. You won’t be disappointed. I started with just one and had to order more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The worst pillow I have ever tried, costs a fortune to return for credit.

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Regardless of adjustments to the various inserts, the pillow felt like a board under my neck. I should not have taken a chance in ordering the pillows since the buyer is responsible for sending back for credit (consumer's responsibility).

    It cost me $31.80 to return for credit. This was a very expensive experiment. If the company believes so strongly in their product, they should be willing to pay for return postage.

    Sorry I ordered pillows from Sleepgram. If I had ordered from Amazon.com, being a PRIME member, the return postage would have been free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2018

      Frances O.

      I was wondering how much it would cost to return. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a Review for Sleepgram Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review