What Is SlimTech Cambogia?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Oct 13, 2017

Claiming to be the fast way to lose weight, SlimTech Cambogia is a dietary supplement that promises to help you control your appetite and block fat production thanks to its safe and natural premium-grade ingredients.

The company claims that a pumpkin-shaped fruit found in Southeast Asia and India called garcinia cambogia represents a revolutionary breakthrough in the weight management industry, due to its ability to suppress the appetite while blocking fat production in the body.

So, how exactly is this plant supposed to provide all of these benefits? The answer, according to the manufacturer, lies in a key ingredient found in the plant, hydroxycitric acid (HCA). They claim that this unique compound is the secret to powerful weight loss, but is this truly what you can expect from using the product?

Is Garcinia Cambogia Really “Mother Nature’s Answer to Weight Loss?”

One thing is for sure right off the bat; these sorts of solutions are not new at this point. Much has been said about garcinia cambogia over the past several decades when it comes to its effectiveness at dealing with the appetite, as well as about its ability to block fat production, speed up metabolism, and even increase athletic performance.

However, from a scientific standpoint, just how effective has it proven to be? According to Examine.com, the plant made its recent push to popularity in 1970 when a clinical study found that it was capable of reducing food intake by around 25.6-26.7 percent in rats.

As a result, it became an overnight success in the supplement industry, with products similar to SlimTech Cambogia offering these same benefits to users, despite the fact that almost no data on human trials existed until 1998, when a study was conducted that failed to reproduce the same effects observed in rodents years earlier.

Since this time, multiple independent studies like this one and this one have consistently failed to illustrate that garcinia cambogia is capable of effective weight loss benefits, or capable of inducing a strong appetite-suppressing effect in humans. Examine.com sums this up bluntly: “Garcinia Cambogia does not appear to help with weight loss in humans despite its popularity, and this is due to a profound difference in how it affects rats and humans.”

Authority sources such as WebMD agree, showing that even in instances where positive results have been observed, users only managed to lose “about two pounds more” than those who did not take the plant in supplement form or otherwise. In addition, researchers taking part in this particular study found that these results could not be entirely attributed to the plant itself, either, casting more doubt on its overall effectiveness.

Additional SlimTech Cambogia Ingredients & Potential Side Effects

No other ingredients are listed on the product’s website, so we reached out to customer service using the phone number found at the bottom of the page. Despite leaving multiple messages with the company and remaining on hold for over 30 minutes, we were unable to get through to an agent in order to clarify any additional ingredients that may be found in SlimTech Cambogia’s formula.

Based on our experience reporting on similar supplements over the years, we consider this a red flag. Why?

To put things into context, we feel that you should have a right to know exactly what is inside a supplement (and in what dosage amounts) before taking it. Without knowing these crucial pieces of information, it’s impossible to determine how effective the product might be at delivering on its primary claims. It’s also difficult to determine how likely you are to experience any adverse side effects.

Relating to garcinia cambogia itself, known side effects have been reported to be typically mild. Healthline and WebMD both indicate that these effects can include dizziness, dry mouth, upset stomach, and diarrhea, though no exact dosage information was reported alongside this information.

SlimTech Cambogia Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, SlimTech Cambogia was only available from the manufacturer’s website. The product is offered exclusively as a free trial, meaning you’ll only need to pay $4.95 upfront on a trial supply of the supplement.

The terms, however, state that users will be placed into a 14-day trial two days after placing their initial order. Once this window is up, you’ll be charged the full retail price of $87.95 and enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means that you’ll continue to be sent a monthly supply of SlimTech Cambogia, and your credit card will be charged accordingly.

In order to prevent this from happening, you’ll need to reach out to customer service at 888-312-4173, though as we mentioned earlier, we were unable to reach the company as of October 2nd, 2017.

As for the return policy, the terms state that only trial products are eligible for a return. Outside of this initial supply, no other orders qualify for a return or refund.

Purchasing a Weight Loss Supplement Like SlimTech Cambogia

As we mentioned earlier on, at HighYa we’ve reported on hundreds of weight loss supplements over the years, many of which have remarkably similar claims to the ones made by the makers of SlimTech Cambogia. As a result of this, we’ve learned some things that the average user might find to be surprising, especially if you are hearing about these sorts of products for the first time.

For starters, in our time dissecting product websites and reading feedback from our readers, we’ve learned that weight loss supplements often use carefully-designed tactics in order to convince you to buy, including using psychological triggers like featuring attractive-looking individuals prominently in the branding (something that can be plainly seen on SlimTech’s website).

Because our primary concern is keeping you safe from unfair and misleading business practices, here are a few other things to consider going into a potential weight loss supplement purchase:

  • Consider the ingredients carefully. In today’s crowded marketplace, it’s more important than ever before to have a full understanding of what you are purchasing before pulling the trigger on a particular product. Always check what authoritative sources like Examine.com and WebMD are reporting on the supplement’s main ingredients. If none are listed, why should you trust the company on faith alone, especially if they are asking for a large sum of money?

  • Watch out for autoship programs and free trials. Based on reader feedback over the years, we’ve learned that many individuals don’t even know they are getting wrapped up into these schemes until after the charges start rolling in. To prevent this, always read the terms and conditions carefully before entering in any credit card information.

  • Read what others are saying. Marketplaces like Amazon.com and consumer advocacy websites like HighYa and others are ideal for this, as they provide a neutral ground of sorts for customers to safely voice both their praise and concerns surrounding a product without fear of moderation. Unfortunately, we did not encounter any verifiable reviews for SlimTech Cambogia during our research.

Above all else, remember that there is no magic pill that will lose the weight for you. At the end of the day, a healthy, balanced diet and a quality workout strategy are the only real paths toward a sustainable, effective weight loss plan in the long run. For more actionable tips and insights into weight loss, read our guide: Forget Diet Pills—Lose Weight by Changing Your Habits.

Our Final Thoughts on SlimTech Cambogia

Based on everything that we’ve learned above, will SlimTech Cambogia truly help you control your appetite while also blocking fat production in the body?

Despite the claims made by the manufacturer, we learned above that WebMD, Healthline, and Examine.com have all reported on various studies that have failed to illustrate the weight-loss properties of garcinia cambogia in humans.

In addition to this, we were unable to contact the company directly to confirm what other ingredients (if any) are included in the supplement’s formula, or in what concentration they are found.

Coupled with the fact that the autoship program will cost you nearly $90 per month if not canceled, and as consumers ourselves, we’d find it hard to justify a purchase knowing that so many grey areas remain.

Instead, we might spend our time and hard-earned money speaking with a weight loss specialist about a plan that is tailored to our unique needs, hopefully leading to a solution that is effective in the long run.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Consumer Reviews for SlimTech Cambogia

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not buy trial!

    • Grovetown, GA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam, and you think you're only paying under ten dollars for two bottles. I have not even opened the bottles because I didn’t like the packaging they arrived in it, made me feel they might not be what they say they are. So I thought oh well, it’s only $10.

    Then the same two bottles that you got for less than ten come out to be $170.00! What the heck! I noticed a charge on the credit card bill and the same thing happened with me. I called them and they wouldn’t give me my money back, only 35% because I should have read the terms at bottom of the page that says I would automatically be enrolled in a subscription for $87.00 for each bottle! I got no more product, just was charged more for the free trial size bottles!

    Plus the people who have used it say it doesn’t work, false advertising. This is outrageous! The Better Business Bureau should shut them down! So if you are going to order make sure when it ships to call and cancel! I’m thinking a class action lawsuit should be happening!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scam

    • Northern Wyoming,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like other reviews, they say "free bottle" for postage, and get two products. Then get a bill for about $170 about two weeks later. I called the phone number on credit card bill, and she said since I didn't return the unused product within 14 days I was charged. It didn't work at all.

    Can I give it 0 stars?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    My story is exactly the same as the above. I wish I would have googled this company before ordering from them. I cannot believe they are able to keep getting away with this. Do not order from them; you will be stuck with paying $170 for two products that don't work. And they are used to getting calls from people who are upset over this and have scripted responses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Please read before buying!

    This company is an absolute scam and should be put out of business for the way they treat their "customers." I was suckered in via a pop-up ad for Free Garcinia Cambogia weight loss pills. Out of curiosity, I clicked, and it was actually free plus $9 shipping and handling. At checkout, it said NOTHING about trials or the price of any plans just a one time only offer. I couldn't resist the unbelievable price, and with a BIG MISTAKE purchased it.

    I received a janky package of two bottles of what look to be scam pills with no information on how to use them and did nothing to aid in weight loss. A whole two months later I get a withdrawal of almost $200 with no update or warning. I call the company with one number taking me to a line that just screeched inaudible noises, I finally find their number, and they basically tell me to go away, I won't get my money back, nor will I win the dispute.

    It's really messed up, and I wish I realized that when something seems too good to be true, it is. DO NOT BUY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam, you will lose your money!

    I purchased this product October 2017 at the introductory price if $4.95 and $3.95. Nowhere in the purchase does it say they will charge you at a full price of $47 and $56 respectively. Second product of a cleanser is automatically included in your purchase without your consent. Next thing I know I was charged the following three months to the tune of $258+. I tried to dispute this with my credit card company. I was asked to resend the product, but I was still charged for it.

    Very deceptive practices. Save yourself the trouble now. You are better off purchasing the equivalent from GNC. At least you know GNC is honest. Be aware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It doest work

    I have been taking SlimTech for awhile now, and I have not lost any weight at all. I would like to have my money back. I will be calling my bank to have them stop the payment that is pending in my account. This product does not work at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I authorized for the charge of $3.95 and $4.95 for a trial and one week later they charged me $87.95 and $84.95. I never authorized this. When I contacted them to get my money back, they refused. They offered me more product. I contacted my bank to dispute the charges. Then they offered me 35% of my money back.

    I will never give anyone my information anymore. This company messed it up for the people who take payments. I talked to the customer service people and they just make excuses. BAD BUSINESS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    I started my order of my “14-Day FREE Trial” by placing my order on 12/22/17. I received my shipment on 12/26/17 and started using the next day as the directions stated. After a few days, I did not notice any change.

    On 1/4/18 I noticed my credit card was charged $87 and $84 for the two products I was trying. This reminded me that my 14-day trial period was coming to an end and I needed to call and cancel. So I called customer service on 1/6/18 (11 days after receiving product). Before they asked me what I needed, they automatically assumed that I wanted to cancel and asked if I read their trial offer word for word. They pointed out that the 14-day trial started the day I placed my order, and that ended yesterday, 1/5/18, and I would not receive my refund. The trial was for 10 days + 4 days shipping (14 days).

    Such a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT fall for this!

    I, along with others, fell for the "free trial" offer! "For only the cost of shipping and handling, you too can experience the benefits derived from our SlimTech products." Yeah, right!

    So, I paid the shipping and handling for the cleans and the Garcinia Cambogia. My products finally arrived, and I started testing them out. Then I get a phone call from my credit card company asking me to verify an $86 charge on my card for SlimTech. Needless to say, SlimTech and I parted ways that day.

    Oh, but that's not the end of the story. A week or so later I start getting calls from SlimTech responding to the email I had sent them. I called them back and was told that I should have canceled out prior to some arbitrary date. They didn't send any instructions with the products, just this little card, but nowhere did it say that I was going to be charged that amount of money. I let them know that. Then they had the audacity to call me back and say that they were going to give me a 35% discount on the $86. Yeah, okay.

    So, the bottom line is that my free trial cost me $60. Oh and did the product work you ask? Not even the slightest bit! So you decide if you want to have any contact with SlimTech! I know I never will.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What a scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased it online on December 5th. I also ordered the cleanser by accident and couldn't find a way to cancel it.

    I had a family emergency, and the last thing on my mind was this product. When I received an email from my credit card stating the charge on the 15th in the early morning hours I immediately called to tell them I hadn't even opened them yet. I was told I agreed to a legal binding contract and no refunds or extension. I was told supervisors or managers are there but do not take calls, but I could speak to a different customer service rep who would tell me the same thing. And she repeated the same statements over and over.

    Lesson learned, and this is a $200 mistake I won't make again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Never order from this company

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is a racket. They do not stand by their product. They will not take returns. They will not do anything but suck your money out of your wallet. Terrible business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for SlimTech Cambogia!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review