• 60 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Service
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 95%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • WON'T GIVE REFUNDS FOR NETWORKS THEY DROPPED

    • By Kim B.,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sling.tv had a fight with Fox so was not carrying its channels. At the same time, I signed up with a limited discount of $25 only to watch the American League baseball playoffs only being aired on FS1. So I did not and could not use their service and had to quickly pay YouTube.tv another $50 if I were to watch the first game that was starting in a few hours.

    Sling stubbornly says that because at the time, Fox was not listed on their website as an available network, they are justified in keeping my money. Because I didn't somehow know about the dispute with Fox and somehow know that after years or however long of having FS1, they suddenly wouldn't (even though websites that review streaming services all over the Internet said they did) and because I thought too highly of them to think they would remove a network as popular as Fox without announcing this clearly on their homepage so people would know BEFORE they signed up, Sling gets my money and I get nothing.

    Sling's problem with Fox and what seems like a deliberate attempt to keep people in the dark created such confusion that Sling had to have known that people wanting Fox would mistakenly sign up and be all too willing to give refunds as any ethical and respectable business would. Instead they took advantage of the confusion.

    I have to wonder why Sling would not refund money given to them by mistake and under false pretenses? Why they would give excuses, argue and find trivial, opportunistic reasons to refuse refunds, angering and turning potential customers into enemies. Why take such a hit to their reputation? It makes sense only if you think of it in dollars and cents. Sling simply wants your money apparently at any cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False advertisement! Run away!

    • By Brittany W.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up with Sling Total Package so that I can have access to unlimited sports and kids channels. However, I have not had consistent accessibility to my "SERVICES THAT I PAID FOR" since the first week I have had these services. I have attempted to contact Sling several times in regards to the services that I have not been able to access, but each time I called, I was waiting for over an hour before hanging up. I have had to download other apps; often payment needed, so that I can view "THE SAME SHOWS, GAMES, ETC." that I paid for with this fraudulent company.

    Today was the final straw! Sling took away all of my sports extras all together! I used to at least be able to see it and even click on it from time to time, but they "LITERALLY DELETED IT". I contacted Sling again today and spoke to a supervisor named Mike, ID Number 99IV9. He told me that he knows I do not have the services that I paid for, but they cannot refund me for the services that I did not receive! I told them that I do not give a care about any of their policies! I did not receive "WHAT I PAID FOR" and all he did was say there is nothing he could do!

    This is fraud! False advertising! You cannot charge someone for services that they did not receive! I will stop at NOTHING to resolve this! BBB already informed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HORRIBLE

    • By Kali V.,
    • Pleasant Grove, AL,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered Sling TV to get a channel that I found out they didn't have. Canceled service online same day. A month later I get a charge in my bank account for $39.95. I call and was told by rep and manager that they didn't have on file where I had canceled online and that they would not refund my money it was company policy. They could see where I had not even used the service but their poor customer service skills and company policy would not allow $40 refund. NEVER ORDER THIS SERVICE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sneaky billing practices!

    • By Stephanie J.,
    • Bethlehem, NH,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Thanks Sling TV for canceling my account NINE days prior to my next bill date with no notice and no refunds! SNEAKY.

    Yeah, Sling TV is a class act...shutting down my account because I posted a complaint to the BBB! Thanks for the heads up...wow.

    Guys, do not give these thieves your money! The service sucks and they won’t give you your money back.

    Try Philo - it’s only $20/mo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Trae B.,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    if you order a trial of Sling and elect to cancel before the free trial ends, the popup confirming cancellation is not sufficient notice. You MUST receive a cancellation email - and request one, if you don't receive - or they will charge you, and will NOT refund you once you catch the charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BUYER BEWARE!

    • By SC B.,
    • Fort Pierce, FL,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please don't fall for the 30-day free, cancel anytime and get charged nothing CRAP!

    I canceled within the 30 days and forgotten I had to give them an account even for the free period.

    I canceled, they said it was canceled (I neglected to print the screen that said so...never do that again), and because of that, they were charging my savings (which I only check quarterly) three months of charges at $27.48 each!

    BEWARE that their policy (OF COURSE) is that any money received by Sling TV is NON REFUNDABLE!

    Don't fall for it unless you want to be charged!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sling TV is a SCAM

    • By Ann M.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Two weeks into my first month with Sling TV, several channels were removed from my selections. I tried to add them back, but was told that I would have to upgrade. The old bait and switch. You are told you get one thing, and then they take it away. Needless to say, I canceled. And based on this, I had better ensure they don't charge me again. Also, Sling TV did not load much of the time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent charges

    • By James M.,
    • Fayetteville, AR,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Less than two weeks after signing up, I was billed for a pay-per-view I did not order. After a four-hour hassle, I found out that you cannot talk to their billing department. They were accusatory and said that they could not remove the charge. They said the device used was Android, which we do not own. Simply put, they don’t care. They charge your card and there is no way to dispute. They are a very corrupt and dodgy outfit. A class action is coming their way. You also cannot prevent PPV charges with IOS, or so I was told. They didn’t have a fraud department or billing department number or email that they would provide.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No Christian shows on TV

    • By Rebecca A.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sling has zero Christian shows or channels, I would like to see that change! I want more family-friendly channels like Daystar, TBN, or Hillsong. They have way too many non-Christian channels and shows.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are rip offs

    • By Tammy W.,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a 30-day free. I canceled and just now figured out I’m still be charged since canceling last December. John, the manager, did not see any phone calls that I canceled or an email. I document notes always. But he can’t refund me. That’s so WRONG! I already emailed the BBB. And I will post about it on any other possible communication so this doesn’t happen to others. We give you bank card info then you keep it. Because he says it’s recorded. Ok. But apparently, your system isn’t correct! So the customer is screwed. Who owns Sling? I’ll research that myself! And not depend on John, the manager that makes all the decisions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update - week two

    • By Garland V.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Roku Ultra FINALLY showed up per Victor's promise, so I did feel a little better about that. Once the simple-to-install Roku was connected, the Sling interface was MUCH easier and more usable, and I'm thinking the 3-month commitment and Roku Ultra deal may be OK. I bought Sling primarily to be able to watch MotoGP on the BeIN channel and college football coming up in a few weeks. The free Roku channels are impressive and unexpected. Netflix through the Roku is also very impressive.

    So I stand by my conclusions above that are still valid, but for some people, Sling TV may be a good alternative is saving money is very important.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Aug 12, 2018

    Very unhappy after only one week of service!

    I've heard about Sling TV's "Free 7-Day Trial" for a long time and as my local cable company gave us a 20% increase in our bill this month, I decided to make a change based on cable's price increase.

    I went to Sling TV's website and looked at their numerous options before choosing to buy a Roku Ultra for $50 in addition to three months of service. Later I found out that I did not qualify for the "Free 7-Day Trial" because I purchased the Roku at a discounted price. So highly recommend trying the Sling TV 7-Day Free Trial before any financial commitment I'm not sure how many people will want Sling TV after a free trial because of so many issues like buffering, pauses, hard to use interface with the app alone, etc.

    On August 1st, one day after I placed the order online, I received an email from Sling TV saying, "Good news! Your Roku Ultra is on the way. Expect a package to arrive within the next few days. You’ll be watching your personal channel lineup on your big screen in no time." This was NOT TRUE and set me up for an unrealistic expectation!

    On August 7th, eight days after I ordered Sling TV, I called them to inform them that my Roku Ultra has not arrived. It turns out that their week-old email was a LIE because the Roku had not even been sent, thus delaying it as much as an additional week!

    I have been playing with the Sling TV app since last week, but it is clunky and hard to work with on my computer and not nearly as easy or convenient without the Roku or other interface. The worst part is the channels often pauses or buffers, and that is REALLY annoying! Sling TV recommends a minimum internet speed of 25 Mbps and my internet is over 100 Mbps, plus I'm hard-wire connected with a CAT-5 cable instead of connecting wirelessly, but still get frustrating buffering when I watch!

    So I contacted Sling TV today (via chat and phone) asking to cancel my subscription and refund my money. I did so because they had not fulfilled their email promise to me. I politely asked to get out of the contract and have a refund issued, but all three Sling TV representatives/supervisors I talked with told me that it was NOT possible because I agreed to purchase the Roku Ultra and three months of service. I was told, "Sorry you're unhappy, but we can not help you!"

    I was then promised by Victor that my Roku Ultra would "definitely" be here in three days (this Friday, August 10th.) So IMHO, Sling TV’s customer service won’t help you even if your complaint is fair and reasonable. I’m hoping the Roku will come by Friday and that this interface will make Sling TV a better experience. If not, I will re-connect to our local Spectrum cable and pay three times more for a much better picture quality, better customer service, and far greater channel selection.

    In hindsight, switching to Sling TV was a bad decision for me.

    CONCLUSION:

    (1) NEVER sign up for Sling TV without a "Free 7-Day Trial," that way you can quit without going through the frustration I did.

    (2) Be sure your internet speed is high enough, and be willing to accept the fact that your Sling TV program will pause and buffer regardless of your internet speed!

    (3) The old saying, "you get what you pay for" is most often true! Paying three times as much for cable TV may be worth it as you get MANY more channels with a better interface and no buffering or annoying pauses of your TV programs. Plus Spectrum’s customer service IS far superior…I’ll give them that!

    (read moreread less...)

  • Watch out

    • By Jeff E.,
    • Hills, IA,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you sign up or have Sling TV, watch out, they may be or may overcharge you. They have been double billing me for nine months. When I called, I was given the run around about having two accounts, which I didn’t, and was told they would not be refunding my money or crediting my account. So I canceled "both" of my accounts today.

    Watch out, this company are crooks and will rob you then tell you to have a good day. I’ll stick with Netflix and Hulu, screw Sling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a scam

    • By Alberto C.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a scam.

    I was not able to watch the Fifa World Cup in Portuguese as they told me.

    Terrible customer support. I have tried several times to solve this issue, but they never did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Inconsistent streaming

    • By Robert Reed,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • May 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used the basic $20 version of Sling TV for about a year now. I do appreciate the low price, although the actual streaming is very weak. I have used this account on multiple different WiFi connections. On every single WiFi source, the streaming has been very inconsistent. I like the idea of Sling TV, but I do not believe they are capable of holding a solid stream. Time after time I pay for a product that does not meet the standards supplied by the company. Do not trust Sling TV. It is a crappy cheap alternative to typical cable and does not supply what is said to be supplied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lied to and scammed

    Overall Experience:

    First off, giving this company a 1-star rating is putting it nicely!

    My husband signed us up, or so he thought. They told us about a package that would work best for us. So we got it and paid the amount that was supposed to be for two months (Lie #1).

    After two days of trying to get our box to work and several calls to the company, we are told we were sent the wrong box. Now we talked to several reps and got so many different stories. We were told labels were coming to be able to send it back (Lie #2).

    They never came. After several days, we call back. More run around! So we end up sending the box back to the address on the package. More money spent on their mistake, not ours! We are told several times "no refund." So I have to laugh when we cancel. The man told us we have until May 20th to continue enjoying Sling. HELLO, we were sent the wrong box! Your mistake! We haven't been able to watch anything, but they sure did get our money!

    They lie to you in the beginning, and to be able to get what you thought you were signing up for to begin with, they tell you to pay more money. These people are liars and thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sling TV are thieves!

    • By Wael Athnas,
    • California,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up to watch soccer champions league games (which they state that they will cover). I was planning to watch Barcelona vs. Roma (4/10/2018) and 10 minutes before my game, I opened Sling TV's app and I was unable to see it!

    I call them and they tell me that they have some blocked games that they will not show!! They DID NOT state this in the contract that I signed up for!

    In addition, last week they broadcasted the same exact game, but all of a sudden, today, they decided to not broadcast it! Also, they are not broadcasting another VERY important game from tomorrow, Bayern vs. Sevilla.

    I will do my best to sue those thieves, and their company should shut down!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sling lies!

    • By Mike,
    • Colorado,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sling customer reps lie to the customers about billing. Once you get billed the wrong amount, they say sorry, can't help you. I signed up to do a promotion, and they didn't honor it. I'm serious, they lie and don't care if you cancel your service over it. They just say sorry you feel that way, and pretty much laugh. I don't write many reviews, but Sling needs some serious improvements in customer relations. You have been warned! If you're a Sling subscriber and haven't had an issue yet, just wait, I promise you will, and you'll receive ZERO help!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Double charged

    Overall Experience:

    If anyone is thinking about getting Sling TV, I wouldn't recommend it! Tim was paying my credit card bill and asked me a question and I noticed Sling charged twice. So I hit the dispute button and today I checked and Capital One refunded it. So I went back on statements to September of last year and they doubled charged me every month for six months.

    So I call Sling and they looked my account up and said I see you only have one account. I said exactly. My credit card reimbursed me for this month and now you owe me $250 for other months. He said let me look under your name. He then states I have another account with the same information but one letter off on the email and there's nothing he can do but refund this month. I said my credit card already did that, so you're doing nothing? He said right! I called my credit card company to file a dispute.

    Please feel free to share, so people don't deal with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refusal to refund for non-delivered service

    • By Scott Davies,
    • New Mexico,
    • Mar 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently signed up for Sling, prepaying for two months ($80) in order to get a free Roku Express. Unfortunately, Roku (who processes the shipments) refused to accept the validity of either my street address or my P O Box. I went through many weeks of near-daily contacts with Sling and Roku (and multiple "escalations") to try to get delivery before finally giving up. Sling refused to refund my $80 (for service that I was unable to watch) and to truly cap things, they also charged me ANOTHER $40...because by the time I finally canceled my service, things had gone one day into a THIRD month.

    Needless to say, I will have no future dealings with Sling (or Dish) in this lifetime or any other. An outright refusal to correct errors caused by a company (or their marketing partner) is NOT is a good policy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service, terrible experience

    Overall Experience:

    I tried to sign up for their service tonight. I had both my debit and credit cards available as well as PayPal for another option just in case. I register an account and try to get the service. I've seen my friends use it, so I am ready to just sign up and pay. I register and get to put in my details. I'm not eligible for the 7-day trial for some reason. That's fine. Let me just pay you. Can't do that. I'm not eligible. I live in the United States, all of my neighbors use it. How am I not eligible? I will never try it again; their service has failed me and their support, whom I contacted, were not helpful at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, liars!

    Overall Experience:

    Don't get scammed like I did! I signed up for the 7-day free trial. I could never get it to work. I canceled on the 7th day, but they went ahead and charged my card. When I contacted them, they said I canceled too late. I'm going to my bank in the morning to try and dispute the charge. This company should be put out of business. I wish I had read the reviews before signing up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists

    Overall Experience:

    Do NOT give this company your business. They are nothing but a scam.

    I used the 7-day free trial, and none of the channels worked for more than 15 minutes at a time. I canceled my free trial on the 7th day at 3 o'clock in the afternoon. However, they charged me anyway. I contacted the company, and they refused to give me a refund. Even after I told them I was unsatisfied with the service. I was told that I started the trial a few hours earlier and so they were within their rights to take my $20 at 2:21 in the afternoon.

    This company just wants your credit card information to steal as much money as they can from your with their fine print. Do NOT give them your business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scumbag service honestly!

    Overall Experience:

    I tried to cancel for three days, being on hold for an average of 17 minutes for three nights. I finally got through and canceled online. The service would not work on more than one device at a time, that was not disclosed to me. They would not refund my charge card!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crappy policies

    • By Lau,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I created two accounts (one by accident and only used for a few minutes). I was told I had to pay for both accounts even when there was no activity except for that one day. And there are 30 minute wait times to get a customer representative on the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be wary

    Overall Experience:

    I paid two months up front with an offer for free fire stick (value about $30). NBC and FOX were listed as channels that I would receive. NBC and FOX have a lot of NFL games and was my sole reason for joining. When I accessed Sling TV, the channels did not show up. Sling support said NBC and FOX are only available in select areas, and they would not refund my money even though I contacted them 10 minutes after joining which they acknowledged.

    I would give Sling TV zero stars if I could!

    I already talked one person out of Sling TV and will continue to bad mouth them. I'm a talker and will spread lots of negative wording about them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Big liars

    Overall Experience:

    When I purchased Sling TV, I was told if I purchase both Orange and Blue packages, I would be able to watch programs on multiple TVs. After a week when I got my second ROKU device, I discovered I could not play ESPN on two televisions as told. It is a big lie.

    When I called back to troubleshoot the issue, I was told that ESPN is a premium channel and only allowed on one TV. If I wanted to play it on TVs, I will have to pay for an additional service. They will not give me a refund. This is the email they sent to me:

    Hello Dwight,

    We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Currently, your account has been set to cancel at the end of your current cycle on 2/17/2018 to stop any future payments from being taken.

    We are unable to refund the charges on the account to your card at this time as Sling TV is a prepaid service. If you require an exchange for a defective unit, please contact Roku at support.roku.com.

    Please let us know if you have any further questions or comments.

    Sincerely,

    Sling TV Customer Escalations

    customerescalation@sling.com

    Oh, by the way, the service is also canceled.

    Don't get lied to and avoid them like a hurricane!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sling TV dishonest and ugly

    • By Carol Bass,
    • Virginia,
    • Dec 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sling TV sold me a trial package. I wanted a wired service so the only alternative, according to Sling, was to sign up for a 2-month trial with a free ROKU device. I spoke at length to the Sling representative about my need for a wired system, not one based on WiFi. That, he said, is the reason I must purchase a two-month service for $59.99. This occurred around 11/15/17.

    When the ROKU device arrived, I found out that the ROKU device has only WiFi capability and cannot be used for a wired situation. I would have to buy the top of the line ROKU device to make a wired system work and then, would it really?.

    I called Sling customer service to discuss this and the fellow could not refund my money but he said escalation/billing might do it. He canceled the service renewal for me at that time and referred me to escalation/billing. I was informed that I could not receive a refund.

    I called Sling TV a second time, a few weeks later, to verify that my service was canceled and was told that indeed the renewal had been canceled.

    Today, 12/15/17, I see a pending charge on my credit card for a monthly Sling TV charge. I called Sling and they are unable to cancel my account.

    This evening, after speaking with Sling TV again, I found in my email a message from customerescalation@sling.com, informing me that my account is currently active. This message was sent after I originally contacted Sling about my request for a refund, dated 11/14/17, and had been given a cancelation of renewal of my account. They, the escalation department, instead of providing a refund, apparently deleted the cancelation of renewal in addition to not providing a refund.

    I did not see the message dated 11/14/17 until 12/15/17 when the pending change appeared in my credit card account.

    I will have to file a dispute with my credit card company. At best, Sling TV is very disorganized. More likely, they are dishonest and do not tell the truth. For example, the woman I spoke with today, 12/15/17, could only find one phone call when in fact there were two.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 60

Write a Review for Sling TV!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TV Television