• 32 Customer Reviews
  • 19% Recommend This Product
1.8 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 81%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Hurts and doesn't work

    • By Debbra F.,
    • Thornville, OH,
    • Mar 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been trying to find a phone number/postal address/email address. I have not been able to find any of the above. But they sure were quick to take my money for the 4 sets I purchased. Does anyone have a phone number? I believe (I'd have to look at my bank account) I paid around $30 for all of these. I wouldn't even clean my dog's ears with these. HELP! It may not be a lot of money, but every little helps when you're not using the product you had hoped would work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work

    • By Stacey H.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Will not go into my ear, too soft of a tip, and I would not recommend. And if it was a little firmer it might work. Does anybody know if they sell a firmer one? Nothing else to say just have to go to 180 characters so I can post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work

    • By Linda H.,
    • Missouri,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this product at CVS using a $5.00 store coupon and wish I had left them on the shelf. Not only did I invest money but a coupon I could have used on a worthwhile purchase. I lost that coupon. This product does not work at all. The tips keep coming off and once they do, you cannot get them secured back in. I got a pack of 16 and cannot even think of what I can use the rest for. Q-tips work much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's fine for me

    • By Sommer J.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Okay, so to some of you who say that nothing came out, just be aware that most people generally don't have a lot of ear wax production. Also, if you're a person who cleans your ears often, then you probably won't have anything come out of them using the Smart Swab because the lack thereof could be normal, or a result of excessive cleaning. If you're someone like me who has seasonal wax build up, you learn to understand that wax production fluctuates and there are times when stuff isn't coming out because there's nothing there. Just like a clean Q-tip doesn't mean the Q-tip isn't reliable, same goes for the Smart Swab. Also, understand that ear canal size and length vary just as much as wax production.

    Despite that long preamble, I've found that the product works well, however, I was able to get it for free with 24 replacement swabs and $2 S&H without a problem, and it got to me in five days time. I love it, I only self-clean my ears once a month as directed by my primary doctor, but during the winter months, it's two to three times because my ears stop up more due my ears trying to protect themselves from the cold weather. Sometimes I get wax, other times I don't, but it's not really that serious. In truth, you really should just clean your ears once a month. That way your build up is still healthy and over cleaning won't backfire in the form of an ear infection, vertigo, canal soreness, and inflammation, or a possible ruptured eardrum.

    Overall, the product works as intended, but it's really overpriced. I got lucky with my find.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works great!

    • By Nikolaos T.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is very effective for my wife and her extreme ear wax buildups that affect her hearing. Although she is seen by her doctor, it helps us avoid multiple trips yearly to the clinic to flush out her ears.

    It must be used with extreme caution not to hurt the eardrum, but it works quite well overall.

    I am surprised by the number of negative reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Postage unpaid

    • By Adele S.,
    • Brackley, Northampton, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not only did this come without postage being paid and I had to pay £2 to receive it, but it's totally useless and a complete waste of my money. Who do I contact to receive my money back and your unpaid postage?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    Overall Experience:

    They must have put fake wax in the ears of the people on the commercial because this product didn't take ANY wax out of my ears. Also, my ears hurt after. I got this product because it was 50% off, but it still wasn't worth the money. I wouldn't spend a dollar on this now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid like the plague

    • By Benjamin Till,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My friend and I used the Smart Swab three days ago. We followed the instructions and did exactly as told. He is now deaf in one ear. I have had chronic ear ache ever since. Now when I yawn, I hear a ripping noise in my ear. I was hoping the problem would go away, but three days on it has not got any better. We're both genuinely worried that this product has caused us permanent damage and are frightened. I now find myself in a position where I need to take medical advice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Honest and positive feedback from a relieved dude

    • By Dave,
    • Burlington, VT,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm not a plant. This is a genuine comment from a consumer.

    I got sick in late November (2017) and after shaking off what I think was the flu, I couldn't hear out of my left year. I'm 44, and nothing like that has ever happened before. Needless to say, after 3 weeks of being half deaf, I started to get worried.

    I remembered I'd previously ordered a Smart Swab but never used it. Found it in a drawer. After trying a water flush, Q-tips, my finger and probably a letter opener, I put the Smar Swab to work. It took a few missions, and the amount of wax it pulled out was absolutely disgusting, but it was the tool that did the trick. I dug until nothing else came out, and about 15 minutes later I heard a little "pop" and could finally hear again!

    These low ratings I see here are surprising. I love this darn thing and give it the highest recommendation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Didn’t remove wax

    Overall Experience:

    I'm pretty sure I have wax in my ear; Smart Swab didn't remove it. I followed the instructions, but it doesn’t work. I would advise not to buy this product. It seems to be a scam. It should have gone proper medical supervised testing to see before being released to market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    Overall Experience:

    I saw this a couple of times on local TV, and I had wanted to buy it as I always use cotton swabs a lot of times. The other day, this product was shown on my Facebook page as ads. I was eager to buy it when I saw it was being offered at a 50% discount. Not only that, it comes with another pair.

    It arrived today at my door and I used it as intended. But to my dismay, the actual packaging in the photo is not the same as the packaging inside.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless at any price

    • By Dale Menten,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just purchased Smart Swab at Walgreens in Plymouth, Minnesota. The spiral cleaning method is very similar to Roto Rooting, a clogged drain. Following the directions, my wife and I attempted to remove the ear wax that we both knew was present in our ears. With zero success, we tried the conventional cotton cue tip/swab. This method produced quite a bit of wax. If the Smart Swab was really up to the task, it should have removed this wax as well. The packaging is very cute, and you get 16 soft tip ends. That's all there is for the good news.

    This is a rip off! Don't put this into your ears, or better still, don't put this into your shopping cart!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It actually works!

    Overall Experience:

    I was hesitant to buy this because I saw a lot of bad reviews, but it worked perfectly for me. A lot more wax came out than I've ever imagined. There's a bit of a trick to it. You have to get it started gently and then push in more once it begins threading into your ear canal. Once it gripped, it took a lot of wax out. It worked great for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't get anything but the holder

    • By Loraine Stern,
    • Santa Monica, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just got the envelope from Smart Swab, a holder but no swabs and no carrying case. I cannot call now because you have 9-5 hours. I want the whole kit and kaboodle. It is annoying to have to right your mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing gadget!

    Overall Experience:

    I had suffered from the accumulation of ear wax for years. My ears would clog out so bad that often I had to have my ears irrigated. Smart Swab is a wonderful gadget that allows me to clean my ears safely and effectively. Since using Smart Swab, I've never had any problems with my ears. I strongly recommend using this amazing invention to people who have an excessive ear wax problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A downright dangerous product for some.

    Overall Experience:

    I have Meniere's inner ear trouble, so I checked very carefully for any warnings on the website. I found nothing, so I ordered. The first thing I saw when I opened the box was a warning "do not use if you have Meniere's."

    I called and was told I would have to return the package and pay for shipping, insurance, and get a tracking number. Not worth it. I threw it out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Gary Tolbert,
    • Mt Juliet, TN,
    • Mar 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the product at Bed Bath & Beyond for $12.95 plus tax. I heard you call me stupid, but I had just been told by my doctor to have my wax removed. It does NO good. Terrible waste of money even at the $2.99 plus shipping charge by mail. I should have read these reviews before purchasing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Myesha Jones,
    • Baton Rouge, Louisiana,
    • Feb 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a waste of your money. It barely gets any wax out of your ears, and the white piece keeps falling off into your ear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely worthless!

    • By Steve B,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have given this product a serious trial, but the soft rubber screw tip retrieved absolutely no wax. AND, the instructions say not to reuse the tips but rather use a fresh tip each time (this is known as Recurring Income for the company. Cotton Swabs, if used carefully and reasonably, are effective.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad product

    Overall Experience:

    This product does not deserve one star, for it does not work and they should be ashamed to sell this product.

    When you insert it, it barely goes inside your ear, and when you twist nothing come out. It's not like I don't have any wax in my ears, it just doesn't work. No wonder it took me so long to make my decision that I wanted this product. The little twister pops off, and I tried it over and over, but it doesn't work.

    No, I would not recommend anyone to buy this product. I will tell them about how lousy of a product it is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Amie Porter,
    • New York,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing, there was absolutely nothing on the spiral tip. I tried a couple of different times, but it did nothing. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Correct usage provide good results

    • By Gelare,
    • Iran,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    People are still not educated on the fact that earwax builds up around the outer part of the ear canal, NOT deep inside or next to ear drum!

    If you have ear wax blockage in your ear, it can be because of using a cotton swab, ear buds or finger that pushes earwax in the deeper part of your ear. In this case, you have caused yourself an "ear impaction" in the deeper part of your ear, which can only be cured by doctors through a medical procedure and irrigation.

    Smart Swab is a preventative ear cleaner for cleaning accessive ear wax that is naturally produced close to the opening of the ear, which you have not "yet" pushed deeper by putting a cotton swab in your ear. It says not put your ear on their box because they are not an ear cleaner.

    Ears are not supposed to be cleaned frequently, so if you use Smart Swab properly (once or twice a week), and before you already impact earwax with inserting improper things and expect a small to moderate amount of excessive ear wax, you will enjoy a cleaner ear with Smart Swab. This will be done without endangering your ear drum, and in a quick, comfortable and mess-free process.

    I personally have used it properly and timely and found it to be the only ear cleaner on the market that safeguards your ear drum while cleaning excessive wax without pushing it in deeper.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy

    • By Crystal,
    • Adelanto, California ,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Useless. It does NOT do anything at all, went in clean and came out clean. The biggest ripoff yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless. Does not work.

    • By Star,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was anxious to try it but it did absolutely nothing. It went in clean and came out clean. I tried it several times. I read the directions over which is merely to insert in the ear, turn the direction of the arrow. But no wax whatsoever was removed.

    I should have used the earwax candles - that really does work. The only reason I didn't buy the candle was one has to be careful. I was shown how to use it in a holistic class and was amazed how well it worked. But there were other students there to observe the burning of the candle so nothing caught fire, etc.

    I recommend getting an ear wax candle but doing it with a friend or family member so they can watch as the candle burns down and make sure everything is safe. But the candle works very well. Unlike Smart Swab that does not work at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Send the money to a charity

    • By Lisa Kronus,
    • Key West, Florida,
    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do NOT waste your money on this product. We all tried it and got zip. As a matter of fact the head came off inside my ear so it almost turned into an ER visit. I bought this at Walgreens and will be taking it back today. Again, do NOT waste the money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total waste of money

    • By Irma,
    • Houston,
    • Dec 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a waste of money. The stuff is so big you can't get it in your ear to remove anything. I am totally disappointed that you did not test this product and see it didn't work. This is a zero rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless peice of junk!

    • By Mary,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the most useless thing I ever bought! I was impressed by the tv commercial as my husband has severe earwax build up issues.

    The worst thing was that not only it doesn't work, a woman called from the company insisting she'll send me free diamond jewelry, which if I didn't like, I can return to a certain date.

    I refused that as I didn't want it but that woman kept on insisting. Oh my God, she became rude and I had to literally shout at her to please leave me alone and DO NOT send any jewelry!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 32

Write a Review for Smart Swab!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Smart Swab