About Smart Swab

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Feb 16, 2020

It’s not exactly an appealing subject, but Smart Swab promises to deliver comfortable, safe, and easy earwax removal in an innovative new design. How’s it work?

Smart Swab consists of two parts: a long handle and a soft, spiraled, and grooved head. We’re told the head is designed to go the perfect distance into the ear canal, twist slightly, latch onto wax, and safely extract it, without causing any damage. Then, the touch-free tip pops off into the wastebasket, and replacing it with a fresh head is a snap.

It certainly seems like Smart Swab’s design is unique, but does this mean that it’ll work for you? Is it really “the best way to clean your ears while providing comfort and safety”? These are just a couple of the important angles we’ll address in this review.

What Is Earwax? Does It Need to Be Removed?

Earwax, also known as cerumen, is secreted by special glands in the skin in part of your ear canal. There, it’s intended to act as a temporary water repellent, protect against damage and infection, and clear the ear of dirt and other debris once it eventually dries up and naturally falls out.

In most cases, this process is self-regulating and doesn’t require interference. In fact, most earwax blockages are caused by accidentally pushing earwax deeper when trying to remove it, which can lead to temporary hearing loss, tinnitus, earache, and more. In other instances, someone may naturally produce an excess of earwax, requiring removal.

In almost every case though, your doctor won’t recommend digging around in your ear to remove wax. Instead, you’ll find many different methods online, including using mineral oil, hydrogen peroxide, or baby oil to soften earwax. Alternately, some claim to irrigate their earwax using at-home or over the counter methods and products.

In either instance, doing the wrong thing while attempting to remove earwax can cause pain and damage, so it’s best to play it safe and talk with your physician first.

What about Smart Swab? Does it occupy a middle ground between dangerous swabs and safer (but perhaps less effective) irrigation and softening?

Is Smart Swab an Effective Earwax Cleaning Solution?

Again, it’s important to reiterate two things before answering this question:

  1. Your body does a good job of naturally getting rid of earwax, so manual removal is rarely required.
  2. Even if removal is required, don’t attempt to do it using a swab or anything similar. Instead, talk with your doctor, who can safely and effectively remove any blockages.

These two facts alone—at least from a medical perspective—indicate that making an appointment with your doctor might provide more bang for your buck (no to mention safety) than giving it a go with a product like Smart Swab.

But as to the question, is Smart Swab effective? This largely depends what you mean. Will it remove more earwax at a single time than something like a Q-Tip? Perhaps. We’d worry that Smart Swab could push wax farther into your canal, though. And you’re still putting something into your ear, which isn’t recommended by professionals.

If Smart Swab’s inexpensive, though, it might be worth giving a try, right? Let’s talk more about this next.

How Much Does Smart Swab Cost?

One Smart Swab set includes 1 handle and 16 replacement heads, and is priced at $12.99 along with $5.99 in shipping charges plus any applicable sales tax.

If purchased directly from the manufacturer's website, refunds will be considered if you submit a return request within 7 days after the receipt of the product. You can return your product for a refund, minus S&H if you discover that you received a defective unit.

You will also need to cover the cost of shipping it back. Promotional priced items cannot be returned.

Additionally, Smart Swabs are available at the following vendors at similar pricing:

  • Amazon
  • Walmart ($16.99)
  • Bed Bath & Beyond
  • Bulbhead

You will need to adhere to each vendor's unique return policy.

Is Smart Swab a Wise Purchase?

Is there anything quite like Smart Swab? While you’ll find many other “stick-based” ear cleaning products available online and even at local retailers, we didn’t come across anything designed the exact same way—especially not with Smart Swab’s removable heads. Does this necessarily mean Smart Swab will work any better? This remains to be seen.

What we do know is that you rarely need to manually clean your ears, and even when this might be necessary, it’s never a wise idea to do it yourself or to stick a long object into your ear canal. Because of this, if you’re experiencing signs and symptoms of excess earwax buildup, such as trouble hearing, pain, or infection, speak with your physician first.


Read 32 Smart Swab Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • Hurts and doesn't work

    • By Debbra F.,
    • Thornville, OH,
    • Mar 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been trying to find a phone number/postal address/email address. I have not been able to find any of the above. But they sure were quick to take my money for the 4 sets I purchased. Does anyone have a phone number? I believe (I'd have to look at my bank account) I paid around $30 for all of these. I wouldn't even clean my dog's ears with these. HELP! It may not be a lot of money, but every little helps when you're not using the product you had hoped would work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work

    • By Stacey H.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Will not go into my ear, too soft of a tip, and I would not recommend. And if it was a little firmer it might work. Does anybody know if they sell a firmer one? Nothing else to say just have to go to 180 characters so I can post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work

    • By Linda H.,
    • Missouri,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this product at CVS using a $5.00 store coupon and wish I had left them on the shelf. Not only did I invest money but a coupon I could have used on a worthwhile purchase. I lost that coupon. This product does not work at all. The tips keep coming off and once they do, you cannot get them secured back in. I got a pack of 16 and cannot even think of what I can use the rest for. Q-tips work much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's fine for me

    • By Sommer J.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, so to some of you who say that nothing came out, just be aware that most people generally don't have a lot of ear wax production. Also, if you're a person who cleans your ears often, then you probably won't have anything come out of them using the Smart Swab because the lack thereof could be normal, or a result of excessive cleaning. If you're someone like me who has seasonal wax build up, you learn to understand that wax production fluctuates and there are times when stuff isn't coming out because there's nothing there. Just like a clean Q-tip doesn't mean the Q-tip isn't reliable, same goes for the Smart Swab. Also, understand that ear canal size and length vary just as much as wax production.

    Despite that long preamble, I've found that the product works well, however, I was able to get it for free with 24 replacement swabs and $2 S&H without a problem, and it got to me in five days time. I love it, I only self-clean my ears once a month as directed by my primary doctor, but during the winter months, it's two to three times because my ears stop up more due my ears trying to protect themselves from the cold weather. Sometimes I get wax, other times I don't, but it's not really that serious. In truth, you really should just clean your ears once a month. That way your build up is still healthy and over cleaning won't backfire in the form of an ear infection, vertigo, canal soreness, and inflammation, or a possible ruptured eardrum.

    Overall, the product works as intended, but it's really overpriced. I got lucky with my find.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works great!

    • By Nikolaos T.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is very effective for my wife and her extreme ear wax buildups that affect her hearing. Although she is seen by her doctor, it helps us avoid multiple trips yearly to the clinic to flush out her ears.

    It must be used with extreme caution not to hurt the eardrum, but it works quite well overall.

    I am surprised by the number of negative reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Postage unpaid

    • By Adele S.,
    • Brackley, Northampton, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only did this come without postage being paid and I had to pay £2 to receive it, but it's totally useless and a complete waste of my money. Who do I contact to receive my money back and your unpaid postage?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    They must have put fake wax in the ears of the people on the commercial because this product didn't take ANY wax out of my ears. Also, my ears hurt after. I got this product because it was 50% off, but it still wasn't worth the money. I wouldn't spend a dollar on this now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid like the plague

    • By Benjamin Till,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend and I used the Smart Swab three days ago. We followed the instructions and did exactly as told. He is now deaf in one ear. I have had chronic ear ache ever since. Now when I yawn, I hear a ripping noise in my ear. I was hoping the problem would go away, but three days on it has not got any better. We're both genuinely worried that this product has caused us permanent damage and are frightened. I now find myself in a position where I need to take medical advice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Honest and positive feedback from a relieved dude

    • By Dave,
    • Burlington, VT,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not a plant. This is a genuine comment from a consumer.

    I got sick in late November (2017) and after shaking off what I think was the flu, I couldn't hear out of my left year. I'm 44, and nothing like that has ever happened before. Needless to say, after 3 weeks of being half deaf, I started to get worried.

    I remembered I'd previously ordered a Smart Swab but never used it. Found it in a drawer. After trying a water flush, Q-tips, my finger and probably a letter opener, I put the Smar Swab to work. It took a few missions, and the amount of wax it pulled out was absolutely disgusting, but it was the tool that did the trick. I dug until nothing else came out, and about 15 minutes later I heard a little "pop" and could finally hear again!

    These low ratings I see here are surprising. I love this darn thing and give it the highest recommendation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Didn’t remove wax

    I'm pretty sure I have wax in my ear; Smart Swab didn't remove it. I followed the instructions, but it doesn’t work. I would advise not to buy this product. It seems to be a scam. It should have gone proper medical supervised testing to see before being released to market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    I saw this a couple of times on local TV, and I had wanted to buy it as I always use cotton swabs a lot of times. The other day, this product was shown on my Facebook page as ads. I was eager to buy it when I saw it was being offered at a 50% discount. Not only that, it comes with another pair.

    It arrived today at my door and I used it as intended. But to my dismay, the actual packaging in the photo is not the same as the packaging inside.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Smart Swab!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Smart Swab