SmartSilk Pillow Review: Is It Legit or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 23, 2014

Regardless of how you sleep, the patented SmartSilk Pillow is claimed to use an all natural silk fill liner and cotton outer shell to wick away moisture and to keep you cool and comfortable all night long.

In fact, the manufacturer claims that the SmartSilk Pillow is “guaranteed to give you a cleaner and more comfortable night’s sleep.”

What’s Different About the SmartSilk Pillow?

Pillows might seem like a boring subject. After all, they’re something that we use nightly, and it’s often the case that we don’t think about them too much. However, according to the SmartSilk website, choosing the right pillow can make all the difference in not only how well you sleep, but in your overall health as well.

Because of this, the SmartSilk Pillow’s exterior is claimed to be made of all natural long stranded Tussah silk floss, which is stretched into sheets and layered. Then, this silk is enclosed in a 100% natural, breathable, pre-shrunk, soft cotton outer shell with a 233 thread count, in addition to being filled with cool, comfortable micro gel. This means that the SmartSilk Pillow can provide a variety of advantages over “standard” pillows, including the ability to wick away moisture and to keep you cool all throughout the night.

On top of this, the SmartSilk Pillow is claimed to be certified asthma and allergy friendly, due to its natural ability to prevent the accumulation of dust mites, pet dander, and other allergens. The SmartSilk Pillow is also claimed to be certified free of any harmful chemicals, thereby providing you with a clean and healthy sleeping environment.

SmartSilk Pillow Loft Levels

In order to accommodate sleepers of all types, SmartSilk Pillows are available in four different loft levels (e.g. thicknesses) that can provide you with proper spine alignment, and can set a natural, neutral neck position.

According to the pillow’s website, thin pillows are ideal for individuals who sleep on their stomach, while medium lofts are ideal for back and side sleepers. However, if you sleep on your back or side, the company recommends adding a second pillow under your knees for additional support. Finally, high lofts are also ideal for back and side sleepers, depending on your preferences.

When it comes time to clean your SmartSilk Pillow, the company claims that it is easy to care for, and is machine washable and dryable.

SmartSilk Pillow Pricing and Refund Policy

In addition to its 4 loft levels, the SmartSilk Pillow is available in 3 different sizes, which are priced as follows:

  • Standard (20" X 26"): 3 payments of $29.95, for a total of $89.95
  • Queen (20" X 30"): 3 payments of $29.95, for a total of $89.95
  • King (20" X 36"): 3 payments of $33.28, for a total of $99.84

Regardless of which SmartSilk Pillow you choose, you’ll also pay $19.95 in S&H charges.

SmartSilk Pillows come with a 60-day refund policy, as well as a 10-year warranty against manufacturer’s defects. In order to initiate the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-678-7455.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the SmartSilk Pillow?

Although the manufacturer claims to have been in business for 8 years, other than blogs (e.g. the authors received free pillows in exchange for reviews), there were essentially no online customer reviews for the SmartSilk Pillow at the time of our research.

However, among these bloggers, the SmartSilk Pillow appears to have a primarily positive reputation, with common compliments referencing its durability, that it maintains its shape without the stuffing shifting around and becoming lumpy, and that it maintains a constant temperature.

Overwhelmingly, the number one complaint related to the SmartSilk Pillow is its high price, which we’ll talk more about in the following section.

Can the SmartSilk Pillow Really Help You Sleep Better and Healthier?

If you’re looking for a better night’s sleep, and the SmartSilk Pillow help? And if so, is it worth the money? Perhaps, although you should consider the following:

SmartSilk Pillow’s Price, Quality, and Reputation

There’s no denying that the SmartSilk Pillow could be considered expensive, and as such, unless you suffer from night sweats or allergies, the high price may not be worthwhile. Also, keep in mind that the SmartSilk Pillow’s 233 thread count could be considered fairly thin, although there will certainly be a tradeoff between higher thread count and the ability to dissipate heat.

With this said, SmartSilk was founded by Harry Walker and Yair Altman based out of Montreal, Quebec, and claims to have been in business for 8 years. Based on a review of their website, it appears they stand behind their premium products, while putting a great deal of effort into their manufacturing. And while there were very few online reviews specifically referencing the pillow, most of their other bedding products appear to have a solid reputation for comfort and quality.

Mainstream vs. “As Seen on TV”

However, it appears that the SmartSilk Pillow has recently ventured into the “As Seen on TV” arena, which is a massive industry that could put the pillow in front of more potential customers. Based on multiple similarities in its website design with many other ASOTV products we’ve reviewed, it appears that SmartSilk may have partnered with another manufacturer in order to accomplish this.

When purchased through this website, you should also keep in mind that high S&H charges will be applied to your order, which are non-refundable. This means that by the time you send the pillow back to the manufacturer if you’re dissatisfied, you could be out $25 or more.

SmartSilk Pillow’s Certification

In the course of our research, we verified that the SmartSilk Pillow is indeed certified by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America as “Asthma & Allergy Friendly.” In general, this means it is “scientifically proven to be more appropriate for customers concerned about allergies, asthma and poor indoor air quality.”

Privacy Policy

According to the SmartSilk Pillow’s ASOTV website, your information may be “used by us to contact consumers for marketing purposes [and] shared with other reputable organizations to help them contact consumers for marketing purposes.” While you can opt out of this, you’ll likely receive spam or phone calls until you do.

Bottom Line

If you suffer from allergies or excessive sweating at night, which affect your quality of sleep, then the SmartSilk Pillow’s premium price may provide a good value. On the other hand, if you’re just looking for something more comfortable without the high price tag, you can very likely find a pillow to meet your needs at a lower price from a local retailer.

For an in-depth guide to buying pillows, be sure to read our Pillow Buying Guide.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 15 SmartSilk Pillow Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Best pillow ever!

    I love my SmartSilk pillow. I finally had a good night's sleep. So comfortable. Best purchase I ever made.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Asthma and allergies

    As an asthma and allergy sufferer, I can tell you first hand that the SmartSilk Pillow changed my life. No more waking up with red and swollen eyes, no more coughing!

    The best part? The pillow is EXTREMELY comfortable, has no foam and is certified chemical free!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love the product

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a problem with a pillow which I had bought through the internet.

    I contacted the company and through a salesperson at Costco and they agreed to replace it. It arrived by post five days later.

    This company really take care of their customers, and the products are great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Let me add

    • Barrie, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me add a little something in response to some of the bogus claims by certain individuals below, whom I can only speculate are competitive trolls. Here is a reply from the CEO of Smartsilk.

    Yair Altman

    10:38 AM (1 hour ago)

    to me, We

    Hi Martin and thank you for your email. We are so happy to hear that you love your Smartsilk!

    Firstly let put your mind at ease and confirm that there are absolutely no fire retardants used in any of our Smartsilk products.

    We have been laboratory tested and proven not to contain ANY HARMFUL CHEMICAL.

    Real unprocessed silk is naturally fire retardant and will not burn. That being the case why would we add fire retardants to our products? The answer is we do not.

    As for the foam part of this testimonial that too is an untruth! We do not use foam in any of our Smartsilk products.

    As you know we cannot control what people write or post on any website and whether there is any truth to the claims made. I do not understand why someone would go thru the effort of making up a story about a product that has no resemblance to the truth.

    Please continue to enjoy your Smartsilk and sleep with the confidence of knowing that all our claims are accurate and are confirmed by 3rd party independent laboratory testing.

    Should you have any other questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

    My name is Yair and I am the CEO and President of Smartsilk.

    Again thank you for reaching out and asking the question rather than make a decision based on an untrue testimonial.

    Kind regards,

    Yair

    CEO Smartsilk Corp.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • May 15, 2019

    Neck pain gone!

    I have severe disc degeneration caused by two major car accidents and a bike accident, along with an impinged nerve, etc. etc. Neurosurgeons don't even want to touch me. I have been doing therapy with a highly recommended sports therapist (Isaac Levy of Strolf 2.0 Rehab and Fitness), who's worked miracles, to say the least, however, every morning when I get up, my neck is royaly...you know what. For my associated back problems, we went through so many mattress trials that Sleep Country Canada wouldn't allow us back into the store. We finally found the perfect mattress topper combo (an Ikea Hastelbak with 2 Ikea natural latex foam toppers), back problems, so much better, but the neck...oh man, the neck. So after dozens and dozens (literally) of pillows, from every neck form (including Obus), every type of foam (serene, memory, cool gel, blah blah sleep science CRAP all of them), then last weekend while at Costco, there was a demonstrator showing the the SmartSilk duvets and pillows. Well, we've had the duvets for several years and love them. So in desperation basically, I grabbed the pillow, walked over the patio demo area, laid down on the bench swing, tucked the pillow under my neck and said good night. Literally dozed out in Costco...seemed to impress a few people, LOL. But it felt good, so I took a set home. The first morning, my neck felt so much better than it ever has. Second morning, even better, consistently over the past few days my neck has been significantly better than it has in the past 20 years. I highly recommend this pillow!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Nice comfortable pillow

    • Niagara, Canada,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First I bought two medium firm queen size pillows from Costco in a store road show. The price was the same as the TV offer and with no shipping cost. Also, they are returnable to Costco if not satisfied, which is a big advantage.

    Pillow is quite comfortable and fluffs up nicely by hand with a shake or two after a good nights sleep. I was sleeping on a latex foam pillow previously and prefer this SmartSilk Pillow. It did not change my life, however, it is comfortable and caused me no nasal problems and does seem to wick away moisture fairly well. I have not washed them yet, however, the instructions are clear to use gentle cold water wash and coolest fluff setting on your dryer. I suspect a hot dryer will mess this pillow up?

    I have sleep apnea and use CPAP, and this pillow works well with my mask, etc.

    If it lasts several years, then the cost is acceptable. Time will tell.

    The SmartSilk company also sells duvets, mattress protectors, sheets and pillow protectors, however, everything but the pillow protectors are way out of my price range.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love this pillow

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve had our pillows for a year now. They keep their shape. Supports my head and neck. I no longer have neck problems like with other pillows I have owned. It does keep cool, but I do flip it over every time I am awake during the night. I no longer have wet or sweaty hair in the morning, and I don’t have bed head. Give it a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good enough pillow (with alterations)

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pillow itself is just fine - perfect level of softness, good quality ticking (no annoying feathers working their sharp points out of cheap cover fabric). The problem is, it is actually "overly constructed" to the point that all the outer edges are hard and the corners are actually sharp. You can't "cuddle" it. I had to practically reconstruct it (rounding the corners, so they stopped sticking out and poking my partner in the eye). Yes, I could have sent it back, but I'd used it for a week, at least before I realized the problem and it was easier just to "remake" it than go to the trouble of returning it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 138 out 141 people found this review helpful

    1 month & no order!

    • Apr 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Placed an expensive order of over $700 of products through getsmartsilk.com on 3/26, and as of 4/21 still have not received my order. Their website says 48-hour shipping. They emailed me a generic receipt with nothing other than the items I ordered and an order no., no company address or logo or customer service number to call, strange.

    After searching out a phone number on their website, I came across an online order update page, I input my order number which then told me it was non-existent, so I called them and they couldn't find my order at first, but after some time on hold they found it. They said, “Oh, no one reached out to you? There is a delay, we'll send it out shortly.” Strange, I did not receive any email or phone call from them regarding this so I kind of felt like they were making that up. Well that was 4/8/16, 2 weeks ago.

    I called again a week later on 4/15/16 and again was told that my order will ship shortly. Again, a week later on 4/21/16, and still no Smartsilk. This is crazy. I'd leave a product review if I could get my products so I am leaving an order experience review which I give ZERO stars. I will call my credit card company if this ends up being a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 175 out 183 people found this review helpful

    Fire retardents found

    • Florida,
    • Oct 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got a pair of these as gifts. Seemed really nice to the touch. After using them for a week, I couldn't breathe. I was all stuffed up in the morning. Since I'm in the chemical industry and since this is the only thing that changed to cause my problems, I took them to my work and had them checked out by ripping one apart. In the middle of this pillow is foam which is covered in PBDE's (polybrominated diphenyl ethers) which are highly toxic chemicals that disrupt your hormones in your body, cause lung conditions such as COPD and can make you infertile. As such, PBDE's are banned in Europe from all manufactured products.

    I strongly advise against using these products as they cause a serious health risk, especially developing children.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 92 out 95 people found this review helpful

    Can't wash

    • Burlington, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved this pillow. Their directions said to machine wash and dry. I did that and regretted it because it is now ruined with lumps the size of golf balls. I am now trying to find out how to return it. So disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 101 out 106 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Hanover, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Level 3 Standard (medium firm) because all my pillows are Standard size. I've tried everything from soft to firm, and I find that too firm is uncomfortable and too soft disappears. Well, this one disappears; meaning it's small and full of air, not enough fill, so you don't have any support all night.

    This company is not interested in customer satisfaction! I can either send this back and waste $30 on shipping and processing fees, or they could send me a Queen Level 4 (firm) if I pay another $16.95 plus tax.

    I believe that, for the $84.70 this one pillow cost me, I should have one this is as described, medium firm! "We are not breaking any rules," was the comment when I informed them I would be reporting this to the BBB.

    Now I don't have a pillow, and I wasted $30 in shipping and processing fees (maybe more since some reviews claim they are not getting their full refund). These are not good business practices!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for SmartSilk Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review