About Smile Generation

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Nov 29, 2014

Whether you need routine dental care, cosmetic dentistry, or any other procedure, Smile Generation claims to help you find the best dentist, orthodontist, periodontist, endontist, or oral surgeon near you that fits your schedule and your life, and who provides an exceptional patient experience. Every Smile Generation dentist is claimed to meet the company’s RightFit promise, which means that they set new standards in dental care, have respect for your time, and provide exceptional, trustworthy service.

Whatever dental procedures you need, you ultimately want a smile that you can be proud of, without paying an arm and a leg in the process.

With this in mind, can Smile Generation’s dentists help you achieve this? We’ll get to this in a moment, but first, let’s take a look at Smile Generation’s dentists.

What Type of Dentists Are Listed On SmileGeneration.com?

In order to begin using the Smile Generation website, you simply need to enter your city, state, or zip into the search box, and then choosing a radius for your results. You can also further narrow these results by filtering for specialties such as single-visit crowns, orthodontics, and children’s dentists.

Smile Generation claims to only work with best-in-class private dental practices who “have a proven track record of excellent clinical work, service and a commitment to patients’ health and happiness,” and who use “advanced clinical care, such as digital x-rays, since they produce up to 90% less radiation that traditional x-rays, and can eliminate the need for impressions and temporaries.

Smile Generation dentists are also claimed to use advanced sterilization techniques and intraoral cameras, as well as an electronic records system that gives you the ability to view your charts and x-rays on your chair-side flat-screen monitor. On top of this, Smile Generation claims that their dentists “perform more single-visit crowns than anybody in the world,” which can be fitted in about 2 hours, without the need for a second visit.

Smile Generation’s Business Model

Perhaps the most important thing to remember about Smile Generation is that they’re not a referral service, like you’d find with other websites such as 1800Dentist.com or HealthGrades.com. For websites such as these, dental professionals will generally pay a fee to be listed on the website’s search results, with the hopes of putting themselves in front of more prospective clients.

On the other hand, Smile Generation dentists actually become part of the company, while still retaining their practice’s original name, similar to how a franchise works. This means that when you use the Smile Generation website to search for a dental professional in your area, the only results you’ll receive are for dentists who are part of the company—not all of the qualified professionals who match your search criteria.

While there’s certainly nothing wrong with this business model, there’s no clear explanation of this on the Smile Generation website, so it could be construed as a little misleading.

Are Consumers Talking About Smile Generation? If So, What Are They Saying?

As we alluded to above, Smile Generation appears to be a sub-company of Pacific Dental Services, which independent dental offices become a part of after signing up. However, even though they technically become part of PDS, they retain their previous name (e.g. Main Street Dental). Therefore, the number of online customer reviews related specifically to “Smile Generation” were relatively low at the time of our research.

With this said, based on reviews found at YP.com, Yelp.com, DentistDig.com, RipoffReport.com, and many others, it appears that Smile Generation dentists have an online customer reputation for being more concerned about signing you up for a plan or getting you approved for financing than they are about providing quality care. Because of this, numerous consumers complained about hard sell techniques during their visits, often occurring while they were in the chair in the middle of a procedure (including signing financing paperwork).

Other common Smile Generation complaints referenced failure to honor coupons or other advertised discounts, and performing unnecessary procedures, such as deep cleanings, crowns, etc. We also read more than one review from former employees claiming that it’s all just a numbers game, and offices are knowingly engaging in upsells that customers do not need.

SmileGeneration.com Pricing & Refund Policy

What you’ll pay for your Smile Generation dental procedure depends primarily on what the procedure is, as well as your dental history. However, the company claims to provide a Smile Generation Financial Credit Card to help you spread the cost over monthly payments, with a standard variable APR of 22.98%.

You can also sign up for the My Smile Dental Plan, which is claimed to provide discounts on routine visits and specialty services for the whole family (note: similar to DentalPlans.com, this plan is not insurance, so there are no deductibles involved).

If you’re thinking about scheduling an appointment with a Smile Generation dentist, be sure to check the special offers section of their website.

If you need assistance, Smile Generation customer service can be reached at 1-800-SmileGen (764-5343).

Can Smile Generation Give You a Better Smile with Less Hassle?

Chopping to the Point: If you’re short on cash and are looking to finance your dental procedure, Smile Generation may be a good option, but it’s important to keep in mind that many dental practices offer in-house financing that may come with low or no interest charges. However, the company may not be the best option for dental plans, since there are dozens of other websites offering this same service.

With this said, numerous online customers claim that Smile Generation-affiliated practices often focus more on making their numbers and meeting their quotas than they do on providing quality, medically necessary dental procedures. Because of this, if you locate a dental professional near you using Smile Generation’s website, be sure to search for the practice’s name elsewhere online in order to see what other customers say about their experiences.

Ultimately, this might mean that the Smile Generation website provides less convenience than they advertise.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 43 Smile Generation Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  43
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No auto-pay is conducive to late fees

    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don't allow you to set up auto-pay. Meaning that every month you have to remember to go to their website and schedule a payment. Every other lender has auto-pay. If for any reason you think you can outsmart this system and set up multiple payments ahead of time, think again...They also don't let you schedule but 1 payment in advance.

    This service is not centered upon providing value to the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely dishonest rip off scam. Do not use. Had a balance that could be paid off in 6 months if paid on time each month with no intetest. Wasn't told the offer ends before the last due date which I paid on time. Now I have to pay interest on the balance. Complete scam. Nobody at the company will help. Can't believe such dishonesty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful company

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    18 months no interest...sounds great at first, right? How could they possibly screw up if you pay on time? Ohhhhhh, no auto payment option. How convenient? $38 late fee, so convenient when the plan is $45-$50 a month. Set up to kill you.

    I had a chargeback from my bank multiple times (meaning I paid on time but my bank returned the payment), when I finally figured out this was happening, I fixed the issue with my bank, but was still getting letters and notices on my account being delinquent. I was NEVER DELINQUENT 30 or 60 DAYS.

    Because of THEIR error, my credit tanked last month. This is a joke, and I am lucky I can pay off the full balance Friday and never use this crap again in my life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Florida,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tried to make a payment over the telephone. Their system couldn’t find my account at all. Contacted their customer service representative who was rude and keep making excuses for their system. I then requested to speak to her supervisor who was rude as well. Thank goodness I’m almost done making payments on this account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • SCAM

    • Englewood, CO,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got work done by River Point Dental Group. I never even signed up, since I had Dental Insurance and an HSA with money in it, to pay for any extra work. I paid an extra bit on the spot for work, didn't sign anything (if I did it was in the chair like "here, we just need you to sign this"...). Went to their website and the PDF just shows the same thing that they sent me in the mail, a bill, with the words "Previous Balance". In order for a lender to get money, they must prove things. They won't get a dime from me. They would have to show me the proof before I'd even consider sending them money. River Point Dental also did send some weird bill after (think they mentioned some billing error with their system) showing them trying to charge the MetLife over a $1,000 for routine cleaning (they had my insurance info before I walked into the door)...Either way, it will reflect poorly on them too, and as nice as they were, may not go back again next time I need dental work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Mexico,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They tell you if you pay your minimum that you can pay off your loan. So, you do so, then 18 months later you only got a little bit paid off and they charge you more than what it was to begin with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Smile Generation financing is a scam designed to avoid your efforts at contact at all costs

    • California,
    • Jun 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They signed me up while I was in the chair, after about 7 hours in the chair. The local dentist who signed me up now refuses to help, claiming that this is a 3rd party transaction. They gave me no other financing options at the time, although today they claim that they have several.

    On the phone, I was offered an extended period without interest and that, if I paid if off before the end, I would not be charged any interest.

    I paid off the balance the month before that time period ended by transferring the remaining balance to a 0% credit card.

    I then had an accident, international travel and all sorts of other stupid things that drew my attention away from my automatic payments. This was 2016.

    Three years later, I am still paying all the interest accrued and late payments because this financing company (which is, in actual fact, Comenity Bank - https://comenity.com) refuses to give me copies of my e-statements from the time period that I paid them off. I continue to fight with them for proof that I paid them off. I have my credit card statement. The amount of effort they are demanding from me is ridiculous. I am now pursuing legal recourse.

    By the way, you should know that all the physical addresses on both Smile Financial and Comenity website are PO Boxes. Not suspect at all, right?

    Smile Generation Financial IS Comenity bank and this is their one and ONLY physical address in the entire USA.

    Comenity Bank Corporate Headquarters:

    Comenity Bank

    One Righter Parkway, Suite 100

    Wilmington, Delaware 19803

    Number of Branches:1 (Take note, ONE OFFICE!)

    US Bank Branches:1

    Foreign Offices:0

    Bank Class: Commercial bank, state charter and Fed nonmember, supervised by the FDIC.

    Last Structure Change:2013-03-14

    In more than one state? No

    Bank Specialty/Focus: Credit-Card Specialization

    Bank Holding Company:

    Parent FDIC Cert#:NA - Not listed as a child of a larger bank.

    SAIF Insured: No

    State Chartered: Yes

    This is taken directly from the website wheresmybank.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Late fees

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was tricked into Smile Generation by seeing they offered an 18-month Obersta interest free program. I thought that was cool so I got some dental work done. Started with an $1800 bill. I thought I would just pay $100 a month and boom it would be paid off. Problem is they don't offer an automated payment system. They make you manually do it every month. Which is no big deal. I'll do it. Scheduled payments every month. The payments somehow hardly go through. Sometimes they do. Sometimes they don't. Each late fee is $38 if you decide to go with them make sure you add $38 a month to your bill because that's how they make there money. They are crooks and after this is paid off I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    "deferred interest"/high interest

    • Washington,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They prey on the lower class. Lure people in with "no interest for 18 months". The actual deal is that they will hold the interest, and once you hit that 19th month - BOOM, they add it all back to your account. The interest is HIGH too. 29+ % - that's higher than the loan shark credit card companies.

    It is in fact a loan shark company. They put something related to health care on the card to trick you. And any dentist who advertises for them in their offices shouldn't be trusted either. It is a sham, you might as well borrow money from the Mob.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Need to get with automatic computer payments, their system is old.

    • Colorado,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible experience! The computer system they use is not set up for auto payments so when I made the payment on the due date, it took several days to post and they charged me late fees. I am never late on my bills! Never doing business with them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Customer care is a joke.

    • Oceanside, CA,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don’t reach out to their customers. They get you by giving you long promotions that you won’t remember end dates. No bills sent, no calls made. And their "customer care" line has some rude non-empathetic employee that can’t do anything for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a Review for Smile Generation!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review