About Smile Generation

Whether you need routine dental care, cosmetic dentistry, or any other procedure, Smile Generation claims to help you find the best dentist, orthodontist, periodontist, endontist, or oral surgeon near you that fits your schedule and your life, and who provides an exceptional patient experience. Every Smile Generation dentist is claimed to meet the company’s RightFit promise, which means that they set new standards in dental care, have respect for your time, and provide exceptional, trustworthy service.

Whatever dental procedures you need, you ultimately want a smile that you can be proud of, without paying an arm and a leg in the process.

With this in mind, can Smile Generation’s dentists help you achieve this? We’ll get to this in a moment, but first, let’s take a look at Smile Generation’s dentists.

What Type of Dentists Are Listed On SmileGeneration.com?

In order to begin using the Smile Generation website, you simply need to enter your city, state, or zip into the search box, and then choosing a radius for your results. You can also further narrow these results by filtering for specialties such as single-visit crowns, orthodontics, and children’s dentists.

Smile Generation claims to only work with best-in-class private dental practices who “have a proven track record of excellent clinical work, service and a commitment to patients’ health and happiness,” and who use “advanced clinical care, such as digital x-rays, since they produce up to 90% less radiation that traditional x-rays, and can eliminate the need for impressions and temporaries.

Smile Generation dentists are also claimed to use advanced sterilization techniques and intraoral cameras, as well as an electronic records system that gives you the ability to view your charts and x-rays on your chair-side flat-screen monitor. On top of this, Smile Generation claims that their dentists “perform more single-visit crowns than anybody in the world,” which can be fitted in about 2 hours, without the need for a second visit.

Smile Generation’s Business Model

Perhaps the most important thing to remember about Smile Generation is that they’re not a referral service, like you’d find with other websites such as 1800Dentist.com or HealthGrades.com. For websites such as these, dental professionals will generally pay a fee to be listed on the website’s search results, with the hopes of putting themselves in front of more prospective clients.

On the other hand, Smile Generation dentists actually become part of the company, while still retaining their practice’s original name, similar to how a franchise works. This means that when you use the Smile Generation website to search for a dental professional in your area, the only results you’ll receive are for dentists who are part of the company—not all of the qualified professionals who match your search criteria.

While there’s certainly nothing wrong with this business model, there’s no clear explanation of this on the Smile Generation website, so it could be construed as a little misleading.

Are Consumers Talking About Smile Generation? If So, What Are They Saying?

As we alluded to above, Smile Generation appears to be a sub-company of Pacific Dental Services, which independent dental offices become a part of after signing up. However, even though they technically become part of PDS, they retain their previous name (e.g. Main Street Dental). Therefore, the number of online customer reviews related specifically to “Smile Generation” were relatively low at the time of our research.

With this said, based on reviews found at YP.com, Yelp.com, DentistDig.com, RipoffReport.com, and many others, it appears that Smile Generation dentists have an online customer reputation for being more concerned about signing you up for a plan or getting you approved for financing than they are about providing quality care. Because of this, numerous consumers complained about hard sell techniques during their visits, often occurring while they were in the chair in the middle of a procedure (including signing financing paperwork).

Other common Smile Generation complaints referenced failure to honor coupons or other advertised discounts, and performing unnecessary procedures, such as deep cleanings, crowns, etc. We also read more than one review from former employees claiming that it’s all just a numbers game, and offices are knowingly engaging in upsells that customers do not need.

SmileGeneration.com Pricing & Refund Policy

What you’ll pay for your Smile Generation dental procedure depends primarily on what the procedure is, as well as your dental history. However, the company claims to provide a Smile Generation Financial Credit Card to help you spread the cost over monthly payments, with a standard variable APR of 22.98%.

You can also sign up for the My Smile Dental Plan, which is claimed to provide discounts on routine visits and specialty services for the whole family (note: similar to DentalPlans.com, this plan is not insurance, so there are no deductibles involved).

If you’re thinking about scheduling an appointment with a Smile Generation dentist, be sure to check the special offers section of their website.

If you need assistance, Smile Generation customer service can be reached at 1-800-SmileGen (764-5343).

Can Smile Generation Give You a Better Smile with Less Hassle?

Chopping to the Point: If you’re short on cash and are looking to finance your dental procedure, Smile Generation may be a good option, but it’s important to keep in mind that many dental practices offer in-house financing that may come with low or no interest charges. However, the company may not be the best option for dental plans, since there are dozens of other websites offering this same service.

With this said, numerous online customers claim that Smile Generation-affiliated practices often focus more on making their numbers and meeting their quotas than they do on providing quality, medically necessary dental procedures. Because of this, if you locate a dental professional near you using Smile Generation’s website, be sure to search for the practice’s name elsewhere online in order to see what other customers say about their experiences.

Ultimately, this might mean that the Smile Generation website provides less convenience than they advertise.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for Smile Generation

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Complaint

    • California,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was on the deferred plan for 18 months and they continued charging me interest. They said I cannot dispute the interest charges.

    They are a terrible company!

    I would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was issued this card as a discount plan by the dentist's office. I was supposed to be charged a little less than $80 for a cleaning I received that day but required to do three, one every three months for three times. The office clerk charged me for all three on that day, and I decided, when I found out, that I would just have it paid off by the time it was over.

    The office scheduled the next one for March, three months later. When the appointment rolled around the office called to cancel the appointment and said they would call the next week to reschedule. They never did, and I searched for weeks to find a way to get in touch because the office was closed and the bills continued to require payment.

    When I contacted Smile Generation to complain and ask for a refund, they said the 60-day deadline had passed and refused to refund the amount charged for services I didn't receive. They didn't care that I had not received the services I was paying for.

    When the dentist's office manager finally contacted me over a month later, they claimed they had done the three cleanings and owed me no refund.

    This is a racket that allows the dentist office to schedule and charge outside the limits of the card and require the consumer to pay whether they receive service charged for or not.

    This plan is a racket between dental practices and a financial institution of some sort designed to rip off the consumer. I paid off the card today under threat, but I will be closing the account and writing reviews on my experience every chance I can find.

    Do not get sucked into this scam, it's just another way the financial and medical industries are ripping off the American citizen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Negative reviews of dentists are not accepted.

    • Sun City, AZ,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a visit to Pavilion Dental Group in Peoria, Arizona, I received an email invitation to write a review at paviliondentalgroup.smilegeneration.com.

    Attempts to give a negative review produced an error over a period of several days. It is possible that their review system could have been not working for an extended period or they will not accept negative reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst service ever

    • Oregon,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't trust them, they are big liars and scammers charging extra fees and charges all the time, not worth it. This should be advertise on the media so everybody will know what kind of financial institution they are! Rip-offs and first-grade scammers. I never ever will recommend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total scam!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Must read the fine print! I received this credit card through my dentist after a surgery I got there. I've been paying it off monthly on time just like my dentist said to. He also said that if I did this, by the time my card would start charging interest, I would have paid it off by then. WRONG. You must pay like $300 a month to do that, and since I didn’t know this, 18 months later, I was charged with interest. Not for just that month but for the entire 18 months all at once, so now I’m exactly where I started 18 months ago, owing $3000! And no one on their end can help me or even lower the 28% interest rate! They are evil leeches!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware of the big fraud with your time and money at this place

    I must say, it was our bad luck for having landed at Strawberry Creek dental group, that enticed us to Smile Generation and slapped on us a bill of US $4867, but neither service nor information, so beware of this Clinic group and Smile Financial and protect your loved ones and your hard-earned money.

    I do not at all recommend this place to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    If you're wondering if it's a scam, it is!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dentist's office offered this company as a financing option for my $1800 bill. It seemed easy enough, and I knew I could pay it all off in a year and a half. Eighteen months later I check my monthly statement, and there's an extra $410 on my bill.

    I call, and they tell me the promotional 0% interest rate has ended. Little did I know, they charge you the full amount of interest starting from when you opened the account. If I had known this, I would have just gotten a regular credit card. This company takes advantage of poor people who can't afford to pay their bill to begin with and then gives them a 1-2 day grace period when they forget they need to pay it all off. 1-2 days. Not when you go to pay your bill the following month and notice an extra $400.

    Honestly, I'm the sucker for falling for it. This is the state of our country. Money grab over poor people trying to fix their teeth. Thanks for screwing me over Smile Generation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    This type of card should not be allowed

    When a person is sitting in the chair being told they need a treatment to save their teeth, and the treatment is way above what is normal, but they just say, "Oh here, we can get you credit in five minutes."

    And sure enough companies like them are there and approving credit with a two-minute credit check, making it way too easy for patients to be talked into treatments they would have shopped around for lower prices. Plus being told the great offer is only good if we accept right there that minute.

    Now I’ve got a $1400 bill, plus my insurance paid $400 for cleaning.

    Salesmen and health issues do not go together. I think if companies like theirs would not make it so easy, a lot of people would not get the high-priced, over-charged treatments. This could be stopped by not giving approval. Let the approval take a few days. Then not so many would be ripped off. I'm just as angry at companies like them who allow dentists to push expensive treatments by scaring the patient into it.

    Then need to change their policy.

    I will continue to write reviews and tell others to say no to Smile Generation. I’ve helped a few to be warned and I’ll keep going. This is wrong and close to fraud.

    They need to stop their way of stealing from people who can’t afford this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever

    DO NOT use this company!

    I have had the worst experience with this company. Not only is the dental office that is part of the ‘Smiles Generation Family’ horrible, but they also DO NOT warranty the products they charge an arm and a leg for, the customer service is horrible.

    I had implants in my lower jaw done, and within 6 months the left one fell out. Not one person I have spoken with cared. I also paid for an upper plate, and that broke within 4 months.

    Because I’m disputing the charges because of all the issues I’ve had to deal with, barely 30 days past due the turned me into the credit bureaus, and it dropped my credit score by almost 100 points. The only time I’ve had a late payment ever.

    I was first told not to pay until the issues were resolved. Because I did what the customer service rep told me to do, it caused me to fall one month behind.

    I would never refer or recommend Smiles Generation to anyone. Nothing but a scam for them and the dental offices they work with.

    Also if I could give them -5 stars I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 20, 2018

      Rachael

      Ditto, to the above comment. I have never written a bad review before, but this company is definitely a bait and switch situation. They tell you there is no interest as long as you pay the monthly balance, not so. If you have additional work done during the year, that charge begins on the day of service; it is not entered into the total, so you go happily along thinking you are covered. Once over the year mark, they charge 300% interest. My interest for 2 months was $795 each month on a balance of $2500. My total jumped from $2500 to $5200 in a few months. Obviously, I closed my account. Please read the small print if you use this company. Total thumbs down and -10 on customer service. Staff is rude, curt, and unprofessional like a debt collections office. Hate them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Beware, highway robbery

    • Queen Creek, AZ,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Exorbitant fees and terrible customer service. My original bill was $345, but I have already paid over $500 in payments and fees to date. I believed that I had already more than paid them off only to find they added more fees, stating that I had missed the deadline, so my bill is now back up to $300. This place needs to be investigated. Horrible practices do not allow your dentist to recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad financial system

    I wrote on here before (I did in Spanish for Hispanic people because they are more vulnerable in the hands of this company). Just in case, I recommend never to pay to get it by mail because they will charge a late fee even if you send it certified mail. They don't care.

    If you want to talk with a supervisor, he or she will never come to answer. They don't care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Smile Generation!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review