What Is Sonic Pic?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 13, 2018

By delivering 3,000 gentle vibration waves per minute, Sonic Pic is an at-home dental cleaning system that promises to help you remove plaque, tartar, and stains from hard-to-reach places, leading to whiter teeth and healthier gums.

And since the device is battery operated (a single AAA, which is not included) and portable, we’re told you can achieve this wherever you are—just press the button on the side and point the tip toward the area you want to clean. From there, it will go to work on the front, back, and in between your teeth, as well as on any crowns, implants, veneers, or other dental work.

The website tells us that additional potentially helpful Sonic Pic features include:

  • An ultra-bright LED for maximum visibility
  • Ergonomic design with soft comfort handle
  • A low-profile tip (including a silicone flossing tip for healthier gums, which can be changed by simply pulling on the head)
  • Enamel safe operation for adults and children alike

Most of us are well aware of the benefits of good oral hygiene, and of visiting the dentist regularly. But will Sonic Pic really leave your teeth looking and feeling like they were professionally cleaned with an ultrasonic scaler at your dentist’s office, as the website claims?

That’s just one of the product’s central claims we’ll help you unpack in this brief article. And to begin, we’ll address a few fundamental concepts.

The Basics of How Ultrasonic Scalers Work

Nearly all of us are familiar with traditional scalers; the small metal and plastic hooked tools dentists use—often uncomfortably—to scrape away plaque and tartar from the surface of teeth and from underneath the gum line.

Well, according to McLoughlin Dental Care in Milwaukie, OR, an ultrasonic scaler accomplishes much of the same. But instead of manual scraping, these handheld devices use electromagnetic forces to cause a tiny tip at the end of the unit to vibrate rapidly.

And depending on the type of the device, the motion of this vibration will either be elliptical (oval; magnetostrictive), or linear (in a straight back and forth movement; piezoelectric). Either way, we’re told that these devices can range between 18,000 and 50,000 vibrations per second, which means they reach ultrasonic speeds.

Because of the speed and preciseness of professional ultrasonic devices, they can often reach periodontal pockets better than traditional hand scalers, and often deliver a more comfortable experience for patients, since (among other things) they utilize a coolant spray to “flush the area and remove bacteria and their by-products.” How does all of this relate to Sonic Pic?

At just 3,000 vibrations per minute, Sonic Pic vibrates much slower than something you might find at your dentist’s office, and as such, wouldn’t be classified as an ultrasonic device. In fact, most professional ultrasonic scalers measure their cleaning power in kHz, not vibrations per minute.

As such, we think it might be wise to maintain realistic expectations about its overall ability to deliver a similar level of cleaning, plaque removal, or freshness as a visit to your dentist.

How Much Does Sonic Pic Cost?

Two Sonic Pic handheld devices are priced at $29.99, in addition to a $13.98 S&H charge and a $1 web service fee, bringing your total to $45.47. Each device also comes with a stainless steel scaler tip, oral care mirror, and a soft care gum tip.

While the Registered Dental Hygienists magazine explains that tip wear on professional ultrasonic devices is “subtle, occurring over a period of time,” there’s no indication on the Sonic Pic website of how long its tips last, if replacements can be purchased through the website, and if so, how much they cost. Or, which motion the device vibrates in, whether elliptical or linear.

To learn more, we tried reaching out to customer support at 844-822-2348 (the toll-free number listed on the site at the time of our research), although we received a message advising it wasn’t in service.

Nonetheless, all orders come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Sonic Pic?

Sonic Pic is manufactured by the Spark Innovators Corporation based out of Fairfield, NJ, who’s been in business since 2008. In that time, they’ve released dozens of popular products.

As a company, Spark Innovators held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with one negative customer review and 11 closed complaints, as of 1/10/18. When additional details were available, most of these referenced ordering and problems. A company representative responded with a resolution in each instance.

Sonic Pic vs. the Competition: Are There Other At-Home Ultrasonic Scalers?

We encountered many different ultrasonic scalers available for online purchase during our research, although none were battery operated, all featured water flushing capabilities, and the majority was priced in the hundreds—or even thousands—of dollars range. Not to mention the fact that these devices should only be operated by trained professionals, both for maximum results and from a safety perspective.

Even when moving outside of the ultrasonic spectrum, though, we didn’t encounter any other at-home, battery operated scalers of any type during our research. As such, if you’re looking for a product that delivers even remotely the same features, it appears that Sonic Pic is currently the only game in town.

Does this necessarily mean that you should go ahead and hand over your hard-earned money? In other words, how much value can you expect the device to provide? In the next section, we’ll wrap up the article and help move you one step closer to making a more informed decision.

Our Bottom Line About Sonic Pic

We didn’t test Sonic Pic ourselves to provide firsthand feedback, but based on what we learned from the product’s website, as well as online dental professionals and the Registered Dental Hygienists magazine, it doesn’t appear that it will deliver the same ultrasonic speeds as something you’d likely find at your dentist’s office.

Because of this, as well as the fact that ultrasonic scalers are typically operated by trained professionals, we remain skeptical that it would deliver the same level of tartar removal or boosted gum health. And even if it did, it’s important to point out that scalers are only effective at removing stains on the surface of teeth (intrinsic), and not those located underneath the enamel (intrinsic).

Does this mean it won’t provide any cleaning at all, or that it won’t help reduce the amount of time your dentist spends hand scaling your teeth during your next appointment? Again, we didn’t test it ourselves.

But if you feel like finding out for yourself, Spark Innovators seems to stand behind Sonic Pic with a 30-day refund policy. Just keep in mind that you’ll lose your initial $13.98 S&H charges, plus whatever it will cost to ship the devices back to the manufacturer.

If you’re looking to maximize the value of your dollar, though, we’d recommend speaking with your dentist before making any purchases.

» RELATED: How to Choose an At-Home Teeth Whitening System That Works

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

9 Consumer Reviews for Sonic Pic

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-9 of 9
Sort reviews by:

  • Sonic Pic

    • Armagh, Northern Ireland,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After waiting some time for it to arrive and putting the battery in, it didn’t work at all.

    The metal sonic head is loose fitting and can quite easily come off in your mouth and with the danger of swallowing.

    Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A load of rubbish

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mine arrived today after waiting weeks for it, when I opened it to try it, the battery wouldn’t even fit in, so it is simply useless and not fit for use. I have now thrown it in the bin and won’t be buying anything else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This is not good

    • Waterlooville, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having just received my Sonic Pic I have, like many others, found that I cannot work this item due to not being able to fit the batteries into it. As things stand, I'm inclined to say that it is a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Germany,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A bad experience from the first second, simply it doesn’t work and is a cheap product, but expensive paid. I don’t recommend it even for free. Bad instruction manual, and I wonder if anyone can install the battery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't water your money

    • Petaluma, CA,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the Sonic Pic. First, it's very cheaply made. The on-off switch didn't work. I had to fiddle with the battery, then got it going, and the light didn't work. Basically, nothing about it worked. It vibrates but I really doubt that it is doing anything to my teeth. Stick with your dentist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are the biggest fraud around; they claim buy one get one free. Well, look out for that credit card statement that hits you four times what you agreed to. When you call, they are ready for you, they tell you they sent you the four that you ordered and that’s why it’s $85.00, not the $23.00 that you agreed on. Then the worst part is that you get this complete piece of junk that is a complete fraud. That’s right, fraud. What a scam from beginning to end. Go report it to the state attorney's office. My bank already gave me my money back. Looook ooouuut and run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Battery won't fit

    • Guadalajara, Mexico,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As someone already said, they ask to insert a triple AAA battery and it won't even fit. Why would they say that? I could not get it to work because there no place to insert the battery. I don't get the point of selling that if it's not to rob you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 20, 2018

      Peter E.

      That's because they use AAAA type battery, not AAA.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I'm very impressed

    • Ringgold, GA,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was initially skeptical, but I ordered the Sonic Pic anyway. I received it yesterday and was nothing short of blown away by it. It does a very good job of brushing and flossing, and not even the interdental little brushes could remove the dark stains in between my teeth. Enter Sonic Pic! I get regular cleanings from a dental hygienist but have never seen results like this. I am hooked. It is a purchase I will always remember as being life-changing. Do I recommend it? You bet I do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Stan C.

      Do you happen to have before and after photos? I've been looking at this but cannot find any decent reviews on it. This was the only one I've found that says it actually works. Thanks!

    • Nov 18, 2018

      Janice

      No Stan, Vanessa does not have before and after photos because Vanessa was obviously paid to sound like a commercial. Come on! How about the woman who said her picture didn't even have a place to put the battery? I cannot even imagine that this gadget can clean better than a dental hygenist's tools. Please.

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Vanessa D.

      Janice, no, you are wrong. I am getting paid by no one. And about the silly notion that a battery won't fit in the thing, wrong! I've replaced the battery four times already. So you can't imagine that it cleans better than dental hygenist's tools. Don't use your imagination. Just try it. It's not like it's that expensive. You'll be surprised.

    • Jan 16, 2019

      Teresa l.

      I have just received mine, and it's crap. You cannot get the battery in it, so it's a scam.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Batteries do not fit

    • Mexico,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this Sonic Pic online. Batteries are not included, but they ask you to but AAA batteries. I did just that only to find out that they don't even fit in the scam Pic.

    Please don't but it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 20, 2018

      Peter E.

      That's because they use AAAA type battery, not AAA.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-9 of 9

Write a Review for Sonic Pic!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review