About SpyFly

If you’re looking to find out more about your new neighbor, or find a person you haven’t spoken to in years, SpyFly claims to allow you to quickly and easily perform public record-based background checks. This includes criminal records, contact and address information, financial information, related individuals, and even registered sex offenders in your area.

But when it comes down to it, does SpyFly provide a solid amount of value for your hard-earned money? Let’s search for the facts and see what they have to say.

How SpyFly Works

SpyFly claims to provide you with accurate, up to date, and complete background checks about anyone in a fast, easy, and safe manner. SpyFly claims to accomplish this by using cutting edge technology to aggregate billions of public records, which can help you find someone you haven’t had contact with in a while, learn more about your new neighbor, or find out what public records are available about you.

In addition, SpyFly claims to help you locate sex offenders in your neighborhood, or anywhere else in the U.S., and to receive email alerts any time a registered sex offender moves into your area. With SpyFly, you’ll also be able to monitor up to four individuals, and to be notified when anything in their public record changes, such as a marriage, divorce, arrest, and more. On top of this, SpyFly claims that you can store personal Emergency Response Profiles (ERPs) for your whole family, which can be quickly emailed to authorities if anyone should go missing.

In order to begin using SpyFly, you’ll simply need to enter a person’s first name, last name, and state on their homepage. However, keep in mind that according to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, information obtained through SpyFly cannot be used for employment, consumer credit, or other related purposes.

SpyFly Pricing & Refund Policy

SpyFly offers four different automatically-renewed membership options, which allow you to run an unlimited number of background reports:

  1. Monthly: $29.97
  2. Quarterly: $39.97
  3. Semi-Annual: $49.97
  4. Annual: $59.98

Regardless of the membership option you choose though, you can sign up under either a 7-day trial or a standard version. With the 7-day trial, you’ll initially be charged $1, and if you cancel before the seven days are up, you’ll owe nothing further. However, if you fail to cancel, you’ll be billed exactly seven days from your original registration date based on your chosen membership option.

According to SpyFly’s Terms of Use, no refunds are available for memberships, although you can be credited for a specific search if no information about an individual is found.

If you need to cancel your SpyFly subscription, you’ll need to contact their U.S.-based customer support team at 800-831-9235.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SpyFly?

SpyFly Inc. was founded in 2012 and is based out of San Diego, CA. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with zero complaints filed over the past three years.

Unfortunately, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews about SpyFly during our research. This could be due to the fact that, although the company’s URL was originally registered in 2012, their site appears to have been operational only since early 2014.

What’s the Bottom Line About SpyFly?

With all this information in mind, should you spend your hard-earned money on a SpyFly membership? Perhaps, but consider the following before signing up:

First, one of the biggest complaints related to services such as SpyFly, PeopleSmart, Instant Checkmate, and other background check/people search sites is that they contain incomplete information. In other words, your results may be missing criminal information for someone who is known to have a criminal record, bankruptcies for someone who has undergone bankruptcy, etc.

The second most common complaint is that these types of sites will nickel and dime you for detailed information above and beyond a basic report. As such, they can quickly become expensive, and you may find yourself paying $50 or more for all the information you need, on top of your membership fees.

With this said, we performed a SpyFly test search, and found that before viewing your report, you’ll be required to enter credit card details in order to pay for the $1, 7-day trial. As such, we were unable to verify whether or not either of these complaints apply to SpyFly.

Bottom line: With no online customer reviews, and a search process that requires you to enter your credit card information before viewing a report, it’s difficult to provide solid feedback on the usefulness of SpyFly’s background checks. As such, we would recommend signing up for the 7-day trial and cancelling your membership immediately if you’re not satisfied with the results.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

32 Consumer Reviews for SpyFly

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, avoid at all costs, total ripoff

    • Westlake Village, CA,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely awful. Don't get ripped off like me. The real criminal is SpyFly. They lock you into their scheme and no info at all. Super lousy. You can get all the info free that they provide.

    Avoid this big time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This company is untrustworthy

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company and many like it are not reporting truthfully. They are great at gathering information, but they lack accuracy. The other companies doing this are just as bad. Beware of these scam companies that do nothing but ruin a person's reputation. They may hit the nail on the head often enough to look legitimate, but don't count on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful

    • Massachusetts ,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Spyfly showed an incredible amount of info and was very accurate. It showed detailed criminal and financial on someone that I suspected to be a royal scumbag. Fabulous! Highly recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam but not detailed either

    • Earth,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have gathered pertinent information with the use of SpyFly.

    As with all searches, it is limited in both accurate current information, as well as complete data. For instance, with the criminal background checks, it comes up with only a few, and it doesn't differentiate between a felony and a traffic ticket. But does include, if available, county, date, offense (and the code at times), as well as the case number.

    If you are serious at doing a background check, first of all, you don't take everything at face value. Verify the information and while verifying, you will learn other tidbits and leads for more information.

    You people are a bunch of whiners. Use the info they give you as a stepping stone to more information. It is out there. Why do you think these companies exist? A specific Google search of only certain databases, records, institutions, and many other specific details will give you so much. This is work people. There is so much information gathered on each of us that it would fill a novel. The bad guys? An encyclopedia of info.

    So that is my bottom line. Use any "people search" as a foundation and go from there. They are a bit pricey, though, and there are more accurate agencies and services out there, AND it is impossible to unsubscribe without getting your credit company involved. THAT in itself is what is the deciding factor.

    Now I would like to say a bit about highya.com's review of this company. Very very poor job. I do many types of checks and rechecks on things, IPs, domains, people, addresses, any kind of record, and I do NOT make an opinion until it is verified. I do commend you for being upfront in the fact that you have never even tried the service you are reviewing, though. And allowed consumer reviews as well. So you're not all that bad in my book. But please, to be taken seriously, even to myself, I verify anything I gather. By at least one other source if possible. If I cannot verify, I either don't include that fact, or I disclose that the fact is unverified. Bottom Line: I would not recommend them to a friend for the simple reason of subscription cancellation problem. They have a search engine of their own and a database that is probably self-perpetuating and requires very little intervention as it is all freely available with the right query. They utilize that technology, as they are allowed to, in order to make money. Better then Phishing as they may know about that too. Disclaimer: I have verified nothing in this review except my own experiences and success as well as failure using SpyFly

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Jan 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't even get through you customer service to cancel my free membership. I have to listen to all the BS ads, and then it tells me please hang up now. I want my trial canceled now. You aren't giving anyone the option to get through to cancel! That's illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy SpyFly

    • Southern California,
    • Nov 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two people I know that have long term criminal history and SpyFly couldn't even find they existed! Waste of time and money. Also, SentryLink is no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Scam

    I think this is like a scam service. I signed up and didn't get anything. I tried to cancel and couldn't figure out how. I found a better site with better information and customer service who answered their phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fairly accurate

    • Lombard IL,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    Used it yesterday for the 1st time. Only paid $2.99 for 7 day membership. I just looked up people whose life story I know about. The information was fairly accurate. Some information was rather old and outdated but it is expected. I would recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Indianapolis, Indiana,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    I tried to cancel monthly subscription twice. Spyfly continued to charge my account. I had to contact the credit card company to cancel future charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Mr. Herald. Thank you for your review. We are concerned by your thoughts as we noticed you had a conversation with a representative from our company who issued a refund for a charge that was billed. We listened to this conversation and you indicated you were satisfied with the resolution of this matter. Understand we never want to bill anyone who doesn't want our services but we don't see any cancellation attempts prior to the conversation you had with our company.

      It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with SpyFly. If you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-831-9235 and any representative is happy to assist you further. Thanks again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    NOT HAPPY

    • Boston, KY,
    • Oct 15, 2015

    I ran 5 reports & most of the info was just plain wrong! Examples: People that were associates of mine, I've never even heard of & one of them is my husband's dead ex mother-n-law whom I've NEVER met. She has been dead 4 years. My daughter has been married 5 years & was still under her maiden name. None of us had a DL, but we all do. Those are just a few examples. I'm glad I spent only a $1.00 for this rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Ms. Smith. Thank you for your thoughts. Just so you know, our site does include billions of elements of information. If you are seeing information that seems "incorrect", that simply means you're seeing the information that is publicly available on the person you have pulled up. In other words, our system simply shows what is available on a person. If the information is incorrect, then that means it is incorrect on a public level. We, of course, apologize for any inconveniences that may cause.

      If you wish to have information corrected, you can always contact your local court or public record's office for assistance.

      We hope this answers your concern. Please feel free to reach out to us at 1-800-831-9235 if you have any questions. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 20 people found this review helpful

    My account

    • Hickory Flat, MS,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought a SpyFly account yesterday but now I can't sign in today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Mr. Smith, thank you for your comment. We are happy to help you with the issue you are experiencing. You may not be aware, but there is a world class member support team that can be reached from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. Please call us at 1-800-831-9235 and we will be happy to assist with this issue. Thanks.

    • Sep 29, 2015

      Connie

      I tried to find myself, 96 hits to my name and not one of them were myself! So how good can they be really?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for SpyFly!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review