About SpyFly

If you’re looking to find out more about your new neighbor, or find a person you haven’t spoken to in years, SpyFly claims to allow you to quickly and easily perform public record-based background checks. This includes criminal records, contact and address information, financial information, related individuals, and even registered sex offenders in your area.

But when it comes down to it, does SpyFly provide a solid amount of value for your hard-earned money? Let’s search for the facts and see what they have to say.

How SpyFly Works

SpyFly claims to provide you with accurate, up to date, and complete background checks about anyone in a fast, easy, and safe manner. SpyFly claims to accomplish this by using cutting edge technology to aggregate billions of public records, which can help you find someone you haven’t had contact with in a while, learn more about your new neighbor, or find out what public records are available about you.

In addition, SpyFly claims to help you locate sex offenders in your neighborhood, or anywhere else in the U.S., and to receive email alerts any time a registered sex offender moves into your area. With SpyFly, you’ll also be able to monitor up to four individuals, and to be notified when anything in their public record changes, such as a marriage, divorce, arrest, and more. On top of this, SpyFly claims that you can store personal Emergency Response Profiles (ERPs) for your whole family, which can be quickly emailed to authorities if anyone should go missing.

In order to begin using SpyFly, you’ll simply need to enter a person’s first name, last name, and state on their homepage. However, keep in mind that according to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, information obtained through SpyFly cannot be used for employment, consumer credit, or other related purposes.

SpyFly Pricing & Refund Policy

SpyFly offers four different automatically-renewed membership options, which allow you to run an unlimited number of background reports:

  1. Monthly: $29.97
  2. Quarterly: $39.97
  3. Semi-Annual: $49.97
  4. Annual: $59.98

Regardless of the membership option you choose though, you can sign up under either a 7-day trial or a standard version. With the 7-day trial, you’ll initially be charged $1, and if you cancel before the seven days are up, you’ll owe nothing further. However, if you fail to cancel, you’ll be billed exactly seven days from your original registration date based on your chosen membership option.

According to SpyFly’s Terms of Use, no refunds are available for memberships, although you can be credited for a specific search if no information about an individual is found.

If you need to cancel your SpyFly subscription, you’ll need to contact their U.S.-based customer support team at 800-831-9235.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SpyFly?

SpyFly Inc. was founded in 2012 and is based out of San Diego, CA. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with zero complaints filed over the past three years.

Unfortunately, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews about SpyFly during our research. This could be due to the fact that, although the company’s URL was originally registered in 2012, their site appears to have been operational only since early 2014.

What’s the Bottom Line About SpyFly?

With all this information in mind, should you spend your hard-earned money on a SpyFly membership? Perhaps, but consider the following before signing up:

First, one of the biggest complaints related to services such as SpyFly, PeopleSmart, Instant Checkmate, and other background check/people search sites is that they contain incomplete information. In other words, your results may be missing criminal information for someone who is known to have a criminal record, bankruptcies for someone who has undergone bankruptcy, etc.

The second most common complaint is that these types of sites will nickel and dime you for detailed information above and beyond a basic report. As such, they can quickly become expensive, and you may find yourself paying $50 or more for all the information you need, on top of your membership fees.

With this said, we performed a SpyFly test search, and found that before viewing your report, you’ll be required to enter credit card details in order to pay for the $1, 7-day trial. As such, we were unable to verify whether or not either of these complaints apply to SpyFly.

Bottom line: With no online customer reviews, and a search process that requires you to enter your credit card information before viewing a report, it’s difficult to provide solid feedback on the usefulness of SpyFly’s background checks. As such, we would recommend signing up for the 7-day trial and cancelling your membership immediately if you’re not satisfied with the results.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for SpyFly

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Finally after 23 years!

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Nov 24, 2014

    Even though I found out the person I was looking for died a year ago I finally found my father's side of the family. They have email address which made it more comfortable for me to get in touch without seeming like a stalker or crazy person. My search only took me two days to find my father's side of the family after 23 years. I am so thankful to this website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2014

      Sunny,

      Happy for you. I just paid for membership & I can't login. I've reset my password & follow the link from my email & the page does nothing. Was praying this isn't a scam.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Spyfly has aways been there. And never a problem loging in.

    • United States,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    From my experience, I've have received everything that I was said I would get. And on top of that, if of you have a problem they get right back to you. As most sites take up to 24 hours and if problem can't be fixed over texts, they call you as soon as they received your texts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      Sam,

      I just now signed up for the 7-day trial. I have requested information about someone I dated over 25 years ago as a test subject. I will comment here after I run some reports etc. btw I just now signed up for this website as well (highya.com) so far, all is well for both.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful

    • Massachusetts ,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Spyfly showed an incredible amount of info and was very accurate. It showed detailed criminal and financial on someone that I suspected to be a royal scumbag. Fabulous! Highly recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Service was incomplete, Somewhat satisfied

    • Feb 10, 2015

    I did the seven day trial for $2. I had no problem logging in or accessing information, but the info given when I ran my own name was incomplete. Still, for $2 I did find out some helpful stuff. For $2 I think it was worth it, but be aware that some of the info is outdated and inaccurate.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 11 people found this review helpful

    It's pretty good

    • Porterville, CA,
    • May 23, 2015

    I was looking for my daughter in law's address and I was able to find it here so that was good. Didn't really need it for much else but it was kind of cool to look up random people LOL.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Fairly accurate

    • Lombard IL,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    Used it yesterday for the 1st time. Only paid $2.99 for 7 day membership. I just looked up people whose life story I know about. The information was fairly accurate. Some information was rather old and outdated but it is expected. I would recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I was amazed at the accuracy of one type of the records they keep

    • USA,
    • Jun 7, 2015

    It lacked information marriage, divorce, or children. The reason I can't give this a higher rating is the fact that I haven't figured how to log on and it doesn't appear that it saves the report for you under your log on. Perhaps it does and I haven't figured that out yet. The point is that it's too time consuming to figure it out if it does. A report has to be run again to access that report. I don't want to do that every time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Rachelle. We are very sorry to hear you are having issues. Please get in touch with us at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week so we can help you access your account and your search history.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam but not detailed either

    • Earth,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have gathered pertinent information with the use of SpyFly.

    As with all searches, it is limited in both accurate current information, as well as complete data. For instance, with the criminal background checks, it comes up with only a few, and it doesn't differentiate between a felony and a traffic ticket. But does include, if available, county, date, offense (and the code at times), as well as the case number.

    If you are serious at doing a background check, first of all, you don't take everything at face value. Verify the information and while verifying, you will learn other tidbits and leads for more information.

    You people are a bunch of whiners. Use the info they give you as a stepping stone to more information. It is out there. Why do you think these companies exist? A specific Google search of only certain databases, records, institutions, and many other specific details will give you so much. This is work people. There is so much information gathered on each of us that it would fill a novel. The bad guys? An encyclopedia of info.

    So that is my bottom line. Use any "people search" as a foundation and go from there. They are a bit pricey, though, and there are more accurate agencies and services out there, AND it is impossible to unsubscribe without getting your credit company involved. THAT in itself is what is the deciding factor.

    Now I would like to say a bit about highya.com's review of this company. Very very poor job. I do many types of checks and rechecks on things, IPs, domains, people, addresses, any kind of record, and I do NOT make an opinion until it is verified. I do commend you for being upfront in the fact that you have never even tried the service you are reviewing, though. And allowed consumer reviews as well. So you're not all that bad in my book. But please, to be taken seriously, even to myself, I verify anything I gather. By at least one other source if possible. If I cannot verify, I either don't include that fact, or I disclose that the fact is unverified. Bottom Line: I would not recommend them to a friend for the simple reason of subscription cancellation problem. They have a search engine of their own and a database that is probably self-perpetuating and requires very little intervention as it is all freely available with the right query. They utilize that technology, as they are allowed to, in order to make money. Better then Phishing as they may know about that too. Disclaimer: I have verified nothing in this review except my own experiences and success as well as failure using SpyFly

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    login sucks

    • California,
    • Sep 23, 2014

    Will not let me login. They took my money and then not let me back in. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2014

      Sunny,

      Happened to me! Did you get it canceled?

    • Mar 11, 2015

      Shelley ,

      I never got to log in either. Waste of time.

    • Jun 30, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Ms. Gomez, Sunny, and Shelley: We are sorry to hear you were never able to utilize your benefits. Please be aware we are happy to help if you would like to discuss this matter further. Our number is 1-800-831-9235 and we are available 7 days a week. We look forward to assisting you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Information not complete

    • Elmira, NY,
    • Aug 22, 2014

    The first time I was on, I did everything as they explained, received all information that I asked for but, it was not up to date however... 2012. That was the last date entered. 2nd time trying to get into my site and it wouldn't take my password and I called them and they gave me a temp ID. The third, and fourth time would not let me in again and today I tried again, couldn't get in with my password. Keep reading incorrect user ID or password but, I know I have or at least had the right ID and password as I wrote them down. I am canceling with SpyFly

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Elmira: We are sorry to see you were dissatisfied with your experience with our company. Our site is used by thousands of members on a daily basis who are able to successfully login to their accounts without issue. We make available to members and non-members alike access to a world class support team that can be reached via email and phone so that we can help members who might be experiencing issues with our services. With that said, we have no way of knowing our members are having issues unless they contact us and we in fact encourage them to make sure to reach out to us if they encounter any issues.

      If you would like to discuss this matter further or have any questions, we encourage you to reach out to us through the contact form on our website or to call us at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. We look forward to providing you with excellent service.

    • Jul 26, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Inness. We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience with our company. We give our members access to our world class support team to make sure if there are any issues, you have friendly representatives who are ready to help you. For the inconvenience, we would appreciate the opportunity to allow this team to make this situation right by you. We encourage you to call us at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week if you would like further assistance. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off by Spyfly

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I signed up to do a search on a criminal background. The information was immediately located on the site. Once I created a account and paid the $2.00 processing fee. I could not sign in at all to retrieve the information. I will call tomorrow and cancel the account and stop payment on my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2014

      Sunny,

      Same thing has happened to me curious what time did you try to call. I've called during business hours & it said they was closed. I think we've been scammed!

    • Jul 20, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi Sunny and Jacqueline: We are sorry to hear you were experiencing issues with our services. Please be aware we have thousands of members using our services on a daily basis without issue. For those experiencing problems, we encourage them to reach out to us so that we may help isolate and solve any problems they may have in utilizing their benefits. Our phone lines are available 24 hours, 7 days a week and a representative can be spoken with from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST every day including most holidays.

      We are happy to make sure you are able to utilize our benefits and would be happy to discuss this matter further with you. Our company can be reached through the contact form on our website www.spyfly.com or by calling us at 1-800-831-9235. We look forward to assisting you further.

    • Jul 26, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Jacqueline. We are sorry to hear you were never able to utilize your benefits. Please be aware we are happy to help if you would like to discuss this matter further. Our number is 1-800-831-9235 and we are available 7 days a week. We look forward to assisting you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for SpyFly!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review