SpyFly Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SpyFly

Overall Rating

2.0

45 Customer Reviews

Summary

SpyFly is a service that allows you to search public records about individuals, including their criminal records, and contact and address information. Learn what customers are saying about this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 45 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:66%
29% Recommend This Service
Start your review of SpyFly:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 22, 2014

Information not complete

By Rosemarie Inness , Elmira, NY

The first time I was on, I did everything as they explained, received all information that I asked for but, it was not up to date however... 2012. That was the last date entered. 2nd time trying to get into my site and it wouldn't take my password and I called them and they gave me a temp ID. The third, and fourth time would not let me in again and today I tried again, couldn't get in with my password. Keep reading incorrect user ID or password but, I know I have or at least had the right ID and password as I wrote them down. I am canceling with SpyFly

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 9, 2014

what a rip off

By Sunny , Indiana

I paid my one-dollar trial fee & can't login! It keeps saying user not found! Although they were found to take my credit card info quickly. I've reset my password eight times and followed the email link & what you know says account not found. Don't waste your time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2015

Watch out.

By Jeff , Missouri

SpyFly has incomplete info. We tried three people who we knew the histories of and all three missed major events.

You must call to cancel, no way to cancel online. This is a big red flag for me. It means they are going to give you the run around before canceling.

No refunds is no refunds. If you forget to cancel they will not work with you. It's a sham, go somewhere else.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 5, 2015

Not a happy camper

By Lisa Princinsky ,

I paid the initial fee, checked a few names, and went to return to the site a few hours later to learn that I couldn't log back in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2015

Did not work at all!

By Laura Guziak , Evanston, Illinois

I joined for the 7 day trial, forgot to cancel until 2 hours past the time. I tried to look up all my friends to test this site. Said, still searching. No information came up at all. Not one! So, I believe this is a scam and a half. So, now I'm being charged $29.99 for a month, but, really? What do I get? Nothing! Blank pages, still searching...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2015

Didn't get the info. Same old story - they just want your credit card.

By J , NC

Bottom line - they want your credit card and those 3 digits on the back of your card. Scammers. Don't advertise free service - you are lying to the public. Fraudulent, don't deserve a star, consider that 1 star a -5, due to this site not letting me post without giving them at least 1 star lol.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2015

It's a scam

By RE ,

Information is not complete. It's all a scam. You figure $2.00 a person and you never get into the site adds up to a lot of money. BBB should look into this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2015

Never got to login

By Shelley , Kansas City, KS

I gave them my credit card info and some glitch happened. I had to call today and they picked up the phone but the guy said my login was fine and he logged in with my password which he told me was my phone number. Why have a password if the whole company knows it? He also told me I would be getting an email from the company. It never came and I still to this moment cannot login. I can't even comment on the member page. I am going to call again tomorrow and cancel.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2015

Crooked, dirty site

By Doyle Hargraves , Santa Fe, NM

Yet another background check site whose intent is to cheat, steal, and deceive, rather than to provide honest and accurate information. Subscribers pay a lofty price for faulty, recycled, and outdated garbage. You see one of these sites, you've basically seen most all of them. Pay an additional fee for unreliable details. If you're getting these messages popping up in the spam folder, it's a great chance that it's really a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2015

Watch out. Scam.

By Giuliana, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a one-time service to check my information and they secretly charged my credit card a monthly subscription fee without my knowledge. They provide no refunds over the phone.

Spyfly.com claims to be a BBB accredited company. BBB also lists their address on their website: 1804 Garnet Ave #409, San Diego, CA 92109 This address actually belongs to H&R block. There are no suites in that location. It is just a tiny one floor store.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2015

Wrong, wrong, wrong.

By Lisa Dominguez , Maryland

I sat here with a family member who was having trouble finding work because of a felony record. I got on SpyFly and ran a background check on him. SpyFly found him and all social information like addresses and previous addresses but did not have any employer records, drivers license, or felony information. This is a terrible site for employers. I own a business and will never use them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2015

YOU LIE

By Art Thomson , Lakewood , NJ

Rip off liars. They claim it is free. They want your credit card -- is that FREE?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2015

My account

By Timothy Smith , Hickory Flat, MS

I bought a SpyFly account yesterday but now I can't sign in today.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2015

NOT HAPPY

By Tina Smith , Boston, KY

I ran 5 reports & most of the info was just plain wrong! Examples: People that were associates of mine, I've never even heard of & one of them is my husband's dead ex mother-n-law whom I've NEVER met. She has been dead 4 years. My daughter has been married 5 years & was still under her maiden name. None of us had a DL, but we all do. Those are just a few examples. I'm glad I spent only a $1.00 for this rip off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2015

Bad

By David Herald , Indianapolis, Indiana

I tried to cancel monthly subscription twice. Spyfly continued to charge my account. I had to contact the credit card company to cancel future charges.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2016

Terrible Scam

By James Harrison, Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

I think this is like a scam service. I signed up and didn't get anything. I tried to cancel and couldn't figure out how. I found a better site with better information and customer service who answered their phone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2016

Don't buy SpyFly

By Toby, Southern California, Verified Reviewer

I have two people I know that have long term criminal history and SpyFly couldn't even find they existed! Waste of time and money. Also, SentryLink is no good.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 1, 2017

Scam

By Jackie, Cartersville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I can't even get through you customer service to cancel my free membership. I have to listen to all the BS ads, and then it tells me please hang up now. I want my trial canceled now. You aren't giving anyone the option to get through to cancel! That's illegal.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

This company is untrustworthy

By Penny Mann, Arlington, TX, Verified Reviewer

This company and many like it are not reporting truthfully. They are great at gathering information, but they lack accuracy. The other companies doing this are just as bad. Beware of these scam companies that do nothing but ruin a person's reputation. They may hit the nail on the head often enough to look legitimate, but don't count on it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Terrible, avoid at all costs, total ripoff

By Brett Nowlin, Westlake Village, CA, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely awful. Don't get ripped off like me. The real criminal is SpyFly. They lock you into their scheme and no info at all. Super lousy. You can get all the info free that they provide.

Avoid this big time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 9, 2018

I got it and now I can't log in

By Melissa J Martinez, California, Verified Reviewer

These guys suck. I can't log in or reset my password because I never get an email. It is bad, and no one answers that can help me. I'm very upset. I get charged yet I can't log in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2018

Don’t use this site!

By Saeah L., Grand Rapids, MI, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for their $2 trial period and was disappointed with the accuracy of their information (outdated, completely incorrect, or desperately lacking in many "advertised" information areas). I forgot about it until they billed me $29.97. I called them immediately, at 9:08 am the day they charged me. They told me on the call (and I subsequently read on their site) that all charges are non-refundable even if you have not used their service.

I signed in after I saw the charges and it said my account expired in 10/10/18 even though they charged me on 9/28/18. I told her, and she said no it would be expired on 10/28/18. So this was all very frustrating, but then she told me she had been authorized to offer me the same service for $2.99 a month compared to the $29.97 they just told me was non-refundable, even when you haven’t used their site because of the cost incurred by them from my not canceling (and didn’t remember or I would have canceled prior to money being taken from my account).

It’s a scam, to trap people into paying $30 a month regardless of site usage or lack thereof, and then offering the same gosh darn thing at a discount of $26.98 when you call to cancel! They also intentionally make it very inconvenient to cancel your membership - they don’t offer a cancelation option online, you must call and sit on hold or accept their offer to call you back when they are free, whenever that might be. I 100% do not recommend this site for anyone! Also on a side note, per the cancelation email, if you sign up for their ID PROTECTION you have to cancel that separately!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2018

Rip offs

By Karen S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I canceled and they continue to take money out of my account. And that was a rip-off, I never got any information regarding your name, this was several months ago. And then this morning I get up in the morning and they are taking more money out. I would not recommend this site to anyone other than the police. If my money is not good back on my card, I am going to make a police report, they are against this company, so before you think about using it, run.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2019

Complete ripoff and scam

By James H., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Information inaccurate and now they are billing me every month. Will NOT return phone calls and have been calling for 3 months at least 5+ times per month. This site is a total SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2019

Auto-renew fraud

By Betty F., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I suppose I must have clicked on the $1 free trial since they seem to have all my information including my smartphone number. I have no memory of doing this, however. Sure enough, 7 days later they billed my card for the $29.97 monthly charge. I called to cancel and they agreed to refund $14.99 as long as I didn't dispute the charge. So they got $16 for nothing. Do not click on anything from this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SpyFly

Jul 23, 2019

Dear Betty,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with SpyFly. We attempted to call you today in efforts to assist you and resolve this issue.

Please give us a call at 800-831-9235 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

SpyFly Member Support Team

Posted on Sep 23, 2019

Too expensive

By Alice V., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Your service is too expensive for the little work that you do. Then you don't send a reminder that you're gonna charge another month you just take it from my account not knowing if I want another month of horrible service. I really would like a refund because you didn't provide me with anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2020

Will not allow me to use the app...and I pay money!

By A B., Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

When I first came upon this app and decided to try it out it was great...Well, as great as I expected, which honestly wasn't a whole lot. But it did supercede my expectations...during my trial and during the first month in which I was charged $29.99 (for a single month). Now, please keep in mind that I initially signed up for the trial period where I believe I was given 7 days to use the service before deciding rather or not to commit to the monthly subscription billed at $29.99/mo. I made sure to not only triple check the date which I had to have opted out of the monthly agreement in order to not be charged the $29.99 (which is recurring!), but also set a reminder on my phone for two days prior to said date in order to have the option to cancel if I wished to do so...with time to spare leaving what I believed to be no question as to rather or not it was done in time.

Well, I did decide to opt-out of the monthly program, did, in fact, cancel 2 days before the date given as the automatic enrollment date if no action was taken, but guess what...I was still billed $29.99 shortly thereafter! So, at this point I contacted their customer service department again and attempted to obtain a full refund and was insistent that they investigate so that I could prove that I had in fact canceled on time! They did investigate and I was proven to have done just what I had claimed! However...when I then asked when I would be getting my refund I was informed that I was actually only eligible for a $14.95 refund. Are you kidding me? That is not even a full 50% of what I was wrongly charged!

Anyway, I do have to admit that the customer service rep was actually amazing and I couldn't be angry simply because he was so incredibly kind, knowledgeable, and definitely a salesman, lol! By the time we had hung up not only had he talked me out of requesting the portion I was eligible for of the money in which I was in fact wrongly charged, but had also sold me on continuing my monthly subscription (that I decided against) at a discounted rate he offered me to make up for charging me to begin with! LOL!

Well, after all of that, the initial month where I paid full price I was able to use the app without any issues. It was fun for a couple of weeks and then I became bored with it and stopped using it. When I attempted to use the app and its services approx 3-4 weeks later (keep in mind at that point I was into the next month where I was paying less than the first month), it would no longer allow me to log in to use the app! That was over 3 months ago and every month I am charged the discounted rate and every month I am continually denied access! At this point it allows me to input the email that I signed up with but the password does not work, so I have made multiple multiple attempts to reset the password, using the correct email I assure you, but it never sends the link in order to reset it no matter how many times I "Send" it! I have tried calling customer service a few times but I am very busy and despite the one time where they were amazing, now I cannot get past "Hold" ughhhhhhhh. Honestly, ridiculous! Sad because I actually enjoyed the app while I was allowed access! But seems like maybe a scam, unfortunately! Beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-27 of 45

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.