SpyFly Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SpyFly

Overall Rating

2.0

45 Customer Reviews

Summary

SpyFly is a service that allows you to search public records about individuals, including their criminal records, and contact and address information. Learn what customers are saying about this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 45 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:66%
29% Recommend This Service
Start your review of SpyFly:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 16, 2015

Bad

By David Herald , Indianapolis, Indiana

I tried to cancel monthly subscription twice. Spyfly continued to charge my account. I had to contact the credit card company to cancel future charges.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 1, 2017

Scam

By Jackie, Cartersville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I can't even get through you customer service to cancel my free membership. I have to listen to all the BS ads, and then it tells me please hang up now. I want my trial canceled now. You aren't giving anyone the option to get through to cancel! That's illegal.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2015

NOT HAPPY

By Tina Smith , Boston, KY

I ran 5 reports & most of the info was just plain wrong! Examples: People that were associates of mine, I've never even heard of & one of them is my husband's dead ex mother-n-law whom I've NEVER met. She has been dead 4 years. My daughter has been married 5 years & was still under her maiden name. None of us had a DL, but we all do. Those are just a few examples. I'm glad I spent only a $1.00 for this rip off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2016

Don't buy SpyFly

By Toby, Southern California, Verified Reviewer

I have two people I know that have long term criminal history and SpyFly couldn't even find they existed! Waste of time and money. Also, SentryLink is no good.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Terrible, avoid at all costs, total ripoff

By Brett Nowlin, Westlake Village, CA, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely awful. Don't get ripped off like me. The real criminal is SpyFly. They lock you into their scheme and no info at all. Super lousy. You can get all the info free that they provide.

Avoid this big time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2016

Terrible Scam

By James Harrison, Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

I think this is like a scam service. I signed up and didn't get anything. I tried to cancel and couldn't figure out how. I found a better site with better information and customer service who answered their phone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

This company is untrustworthy

By Penny Mann, Arlington, TX, Verified Reviewer

This company and many like it are not reporting truthfully. They are great at gathering information, but they lack accuracy. The other companies doing this are just as bad. Beware of these scam companies that do nothing but ruin a person's reputation. They may hit the nail on the head often enough to look legitimate, but don't count on it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 9, 2018

I got it and now I can't log in

By Melissa J Martinez, California, Verified Reviewer

These guys suck. I can't log in or reset my password because I never get an email. It is bad, and no one answers that can help me. I'm very upset. I get charged yet I can't log in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2015

Watch out. Scam.

By Giuliana, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a one-time service to check my information and they secretly charged my credit card a monthly subscription fee without my knowledge. They provide no refunds over the phone.

Spyfly.com claims to be a BBB accredited company. BBB also lists their address on their website: 1804 Garnet Ave #409, San Diego, CA 92109 This address actually belongs to H&R block. There are no suites in that location. It is just a tiny one floor store.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2015

YOU LIE

By Art Thomson , Lakewood , NJ

Rip off liars. They claim it is free. They want your credit card -- is that FREE?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2017

Not a scam but not detailed either

By Joe K., Earth, Verified Reviewer

I have gathered pertinent information with the use of SpyFly.

As with all searches, it is limited in both accurate current information, as well as complete data. For instance, with the criminal background checks, it comes up with only a few, and it doesn't differentiate between a felony and a traffic ticket. But does include, if available, county, date, offense (and the code at times), as well as the case number.

If you are serious at doing a background check, first of all, you don't take everything at face value. Verify the information and while verifying, you will learn other tidbits and leads for more information.

You people are a bunch of whiners. Use the info they give you as a stepping stone to more information. It is out there. Why do you think these companies exist? A specific Google search of only certain databases, records, institutions, and many other specific details will give you so much. This is work people. There is so much information gathered on each of us that it would fill a novel. The bad guys? An encyclopedia of info.

So that is my bottom line. Use any "people search" as a foundation and go from there. They are a bit pricey, though, and there are more accurate agencies and services out there, AND it is impossible to unsubscribe without getting your credit company involved. THAT in itself is what is the deciding factor.

Now I would like to say a bit about highya.com's review of this company. Very very poor job. I do many types of checks and rechecks on things, IPs, domains, people, addresses, any kind of record, and I do NOT make an opinion until it is verified. I do commend you for being upfront in the fact that you have never even tried the service you are reviewing, though. And allowed consumer reviews as well. So you're not all that bad in my book. But please, to be taken seriously, even to myself, I verify anything I gather. By at least one other source if possible. If I cannot verify, I either don't include that fact, or I disclose that the fact is unverified. Bottom Line: I would not recommend them to a friend for the simple reason of subscription cancellation problem. They have a search engine of their own and a database that is probably self-perpetuating and requires very little intervention as it is all freely available with the right query. They utilize that technology, as they are allowed to, in order to make money. Better then Phishing as they may know about that too. Disclaimer: I have verified nothing in this review except my own experiences and success as well as failure using SpyFly

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2018

Don’t use this site!

By Saeah L., Grand Rapids, MI, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for their $2 trial period and was disappointed with the accuracy of their information (outdated, completely incorrect, or desperately lacking in many "advertised" information areas). I forgot about it until they billed me $29.97. I called them immediately, at 9:08 am the day they charged me. They told me on the call (and I subsequently read on their site) that all charges are non-refundable even if you have not used their service.

I signed in after I saw the charges and it said my account expired in 10/10/18 even though they charged me on 9/28/18. I told her, and she said no it would be expired on 10/28/18. So this was all very frustrating, but then she told me she had been authorized to offer me the same service for $2.99 a month compared to the $29.97 they just told me was non-refundable, even when you haven’t used their site because of the cost incurred by them from my not canceling (and didn’t remember or I would have canceled prior to money being taken from my account).

It’s a scam, to trap people into paying $30 a month regardless of site usage or lack thereof, and then offering the same gosh darn thing at a discount of $26.98 when you call to cancel! They also intentionally make it very inconvenient to cancel your membership - they don’t offer a cancelation option online, you must call and sit on hold or accept their offer to call you back when they are free, whenever that might be. I 100% do not recommend this site for anyone! Also on a side note, per the cancelation email, if you sign up for their ID PROTECTION you have to cancel that separately!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2015

Didn't get the info. Same old story - they just want your credit card.

By J , NC

Bottom line - they want your credit card and those 3 digits on the back of your card. Scammers. Don't advertise free service - you are lying to the public. Fraudulent, don't deserve a star, consider that 1 star a -5, due to this site not letting me post without giving them at least 1 star lol.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 22, 2014

Information not complete

By Rosemarie Inness , Elmira, NY

The first time I was on, I did everything as they explained, received all information that I asked for but, it was not up to date however... 2012. That was the last date entered. 2nd time trying to get into my site and it wouldn't take my password and I called them and they gave me a temp ID. The third, and fourth time would not let me in again and today I tried again, couldn't get in with my password. Keep reading incorrect user ID or password but, I know I have or at least had the right ID and password as I wrote them down. I am canceling with SpyFly

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2015

Never got to login

By Shelley , Kansas City, KS

I gave them my credit card info and some glitch happened. I had to call today and they picked up the phone but the guy said my login was fine and he logged in with my password which he told me was my phone number. Why have a password if the whole company knows it? He also told me I would be getting an email from the company. It never came and I still to this moment cannot login. I can't even comment on the member page. I am going to call again tomorrow and cancel.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2015

Crooked, dirty site

By Doyle Hargraves , Santa Fe, NM

Yet another background check site whose intent is to cheat, steal, and deceive, rather than to provide honest and accurate information. Subscribers pay a lofty price for faulty, recycled, and outdated garbage. You see one of these sites, you've basically seen most all of them. Pay an additional fee for unreliable details. If you're getting these messages popping up in the spam folder, it's a great chance that it's really a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2018

Rip offs

By Karen S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I canceled and they continue to take money out of my account. And that was a rip-off, I never got any information regarding your name, this was several months ago. And then this morning I get up in the morning and they are taking more money out. I would not recommend this site to anyone other than the police. If my money is not good back on my card, I am going to make a police report, they are against this company, so before you think about using it, run.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 23, 2014

login sucks

By Michelle Gomez , California

Will not let me login. They took my money and then not let me back in. What a joke!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2015

Watch out.

By Jeff , Missouri

SpyFly has incomplete info. We tried three people who we knew the histories of and all three missed major events.

You must call to cancel, no way to cancel online. This is a big red flag for me. It means they are going to give you the run around before canceling.

No refunds is no refunds. If you forget to cancel they will not work with you. It's a sham, go somewhere else.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2015

It's a scam

By RE ,

Information is not complete. It's all a scam. You figure $2.00 a person and you never get into the site adds up to a lot of money. BBB should look into this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2015

My account

By Timothy Smith , Hickory Flat, MS

I bought a SpyFly account yesterday but now I can't sign in today.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2015

Fairly accurate

By David , Lombard IL

Used it yesterday for the 1st time. Only paid $2.99 for 7 day membership. I just looked up people whose life story I know about. The information was fairly accurate. Some information was rather old and outdated but it is expected. I would recommend this service.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2015

Did not work at all!

By Laura Guziak , Evanston, Illinois

I joined for the 7 day trial, forgot to cancel until 2 hours past the time. I tried to look up all my friends to test this site. Said, still searching. No information came up at all. Not one! So, I believe this is a scam and a half. So, now I'm being charged $29.99 for a month, but, really? What do I get? Nothing! Blank pages, still searching...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 9, 2014

what a rip off

By Sunny , Indiana

I paid my one-dollar trial fee & can't login! It keeps saying user not found! Although they were found to take my credit card info quickly. I've reset my password eight times and followed the email link & what you know says account not found. Don't waste your time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2015

Wrong, wrong, wrong.

By Lisa Dominguez , Maryland

I sat here with a family member who was having trouble finding work because of a felony record. I got on SpyFly and ran a background check on him. SpyFly found him and all social information like addresses and previous addresses but did not have any employer records, drivers license, or felony information. This is a terrible site for employers. I own a business and will never use them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 5, 2015

Not a happy camper

By Lisa Princinsky ,

I paid the initial fee, checked a few names, and went to return to the site a few hours later to learn that I couldn't log back in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2019

Complete ripoff and scam

By James H., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Information inaccurate and now they are billing me every month. Will NOT return phone calls and have been calling for 3 months at least 5+ times per month. This site is a total SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 45

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.