SpyFly Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SpyFly

Overall Rating

2.0

45 Customer Reviews

Summary

SpyFly is a service that allows you to search public records about individuals, including their criminal records, and contact and address information. Learn what customers are saying about this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 45 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:66%
29% Recommend This Service
Start your review of SpyFly:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 4, 2015

My account

By Timothy Smith , Hickory Flat, MS

I bought a SpyFly account yesterday but now I can't sign in today.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2015

NOT HAPPY

By Tina Smith , Boston, KY

I ran 5 reports & most of the info was just plain wrong! Examples: People that were associates of mine, I've never even heard of & one of them is my husband's dead ex mother-n-law whom I've NEVER met. She has been dead 4 years. My daughter has been married 5 years & was still under her maiden name. None of us had a DL, but we all do. Those are just a few examples. I'm glad I spent only a $1.00 for this rip off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2015

Bad

By David Herald , Indianapolis, Indiana

I tried to cancel monthly subscription twice. Spyfly continued to charge my account. I had to contact the credit card company to cancel future charges.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2016

Terrible Scam

By James Harrison, Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

I think this is like a scam service. I signed up and didn't get anything. I tried to cancel and couldn't figure out how. I found a better site with better information and customer service who answered their phone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2016

Don't buy SpyFly

By Toby, Southern California, Verified Reviewer

I have two people I know that have long term criminal history and SpyFly couldn't even find they existed! Waste of time and money. Also, SentryLink is no good.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 1, 2017

Scam

By Jackie, Cartersville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I can't even get through you customer service to cancel my free membership. I have to listen to all the BS ads, and then it tells me please hang up now. I want my trial canceled now. You aren't giving anyone the option to get through to cancel! That's illegal.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

This company is untrustworthy

By Penny Mann, Arlington, TX, Verified Reviewer

This company and many like it are not reporting truthfully. They are great at gathering information, but they lack accuracy. The other companies doing this are just as bad. Beware of these scam companies that do nothing but ruin a person's reputation. They may hit the nail on the head often enough to look legitimate, but don't count on it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2017

Terrible, avoid at all costs, total ripoff

By Brett Nowlin, Westlake Village, CA, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely awful. Don't get ripped off like me. The real criminal is SpyFly. They lock you into their scheme and no info at all. Super lousy. You can get all the info free that they provide.

Avoid this big time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 9, 2018

I got it and now I can't log in

By Melissa J Martinez, California, Verified Reviewer

These guys suck. I can't log in or reset my password because I never get an email. It is bad, and no one answers that can help me. I'm very upset. I get charged yet I can't log in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2018

Don’t use this site!

By Saeah L., Grand Rapids, MI, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for their $2 trial period and was disappointed with the accuracy of their information (outdated, completely incorrect, or desperately lacking in many "advertised" information areas). I forgot about it until they billed me $29.97. I called them immediately, at 9:08 am the day they charged me. They told me on the call (and I subsequently read on their site) that all charges are non-refundable even if you have not used their service.

I signed in after I saw the charges and it said my account expired in 10/10/18 even though they charged me on 9/28/18. I told her, and she said no it would be expired on 10/28/18. So this was all very frustrating, but then she told me she had been authorized to offer me the same service for $2.99 a month compared to the $29.97 they just told me was non-refundable, even when you haven’t used their site because of the cost incurred by them from my not canceling (and didn’t remember or I would have canceled prior to money being taken from my account).

It’s a scam, to trap people into paying $30 a month regardless of site usage or lack thereof, and then offering the same gosh darn thing at a discount of $26.98 when you call to cancel! They also intentionally make it very inconvenient to cancel your membership - they don’t offer a cancelation option online, you must call and sit on hold or accept their offer to call you back when they are free, whenever that might be. I 100% do not recommend this site for anyone! Also on a side note, per the cancelation email, if you sign up for their ID PROTECTION you have to cancel that separately!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2018

Rip offs

By Karen S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I canceled and they continue to take money out of my account. And that was a rip-off, I never got any information regarding your name, this was several months ago. And then this morning I get up in the morning and they are taking more money out. I would not recommend this site to anyone other than the police. If my money is not good back on my card, I am going to make a police report, they are against this company, so before you think about using it, run.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2019

Complete ripoff and scam

By James H., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Information inaccurate and now they are billing me every month. Will NOT return phone calls and have been calling for 3 months at least 5+ times per month. This site is a total SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2019

Auto-renew fraud

By Betty F., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I suppose I must have clicked on the $1 free trial since they seem to have all my information including my smartphone number. I have no memory of doing this, however. Sure enough, 7 days later they billed my card for the $29.97 monthly charge. I called to cancel and they agreed to refund $14.99 as long as I didn't dispute the charge. So they got $16 for nothing. Do not click on anything from this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SpyFly

Jul 23, 2019

Dear Betty,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with SpyFly. We attempted to call you today in efforts to assist you and resolve this issue.

Please give us a call at 800-831-9235 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

SpyFly Member Support Team

Posted on Sep 23, 2019

Too expensive

By Alice V., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Your service is too expensive for the little work that you do. Then you don't send a reminder that you're gonna charge another month you just take it from my account not knowing if I want another month of horrible service. I really would like a refund because you didn't provide me with anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2020

Will not allow me to use the app...and I pay money!

By A B., Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

When I first came upon this app and decided to try it out it was great...Well, as great as I expected, which honestly wasn't a whole lot. But it did supercede my expectations...during my trial and during the first month in which I was charged $29.99 (for a single month). Now, please keep in mind that I initially signed up for the trial period where I believe I was given 7 days to use the service before deciding rather or not to commit to the monthly subscription billed at $29.99/mo. I made sure to not only triple check the date which I had to have opted out of the monthly agreement in order to not be charged the $29.99 (which is recurring!), but also set a reminder on my phone for two days prior to said date in order to have the option to cancel if I wished to do so...with time to spare leaving what I believed to be no question as to rather or not it was done in time.

Well, I did decide to opt-out of the monthly program, did, in fact, cancel 2 days before the date given as the automatic enrollment date if no action was taken, but guess what...I was still billed $29.99 shortly thereafter! So, at this point I contacted their customer service department again and attempted to obtain a full refund and was insistent that they investigate so that I could prove that I had in fact canceled on time! They did investigate and I was proven to have done just what I had claimed! However...when I then asked when I would be getting my refund I was informed that I was actually only eligible for a $14.95 refund. Are you kidding me? That is not even a full 50% of what I was wrongly charged!

Anyway, I do have to admit that the customer service rep was actually amazing and I couldn't be angry simply because he was so incredibly kind, knowledgeable, and definitely a salesman, lol! By the time we had hung up not only had he talked me out of requesting the portion I was eligible for of the money in which I was in fact wrongly charged, but had also sold me on continuing my monthly subscription (that I decided against) at a discounted rate he offered me to make up for charging me to begin with! LOL!

Well, after all of that, the initial month where I paid full price I was able to use the app without any issues. It was fun for a couple of weeks and then I became bored with it and stopped using it. When I attempted to use the app and its services approx 3-4 weeks later (keep in mind at that point I was into the next month where I was paying less than the first month), it would no longer allow me to log in to use the app! That was over 3 months ago and every month I am charged the discounted rate and every month I am continually denied access! At this point it allows me to input the email that I signed up with but the password does not work, so I have made multiple multiple attempts to reset the password, using the correct email I assure you, but it never sends the link in order to reset it no matter how many times I "Send" it! I have tried calling customer service a few times but I am very busy and despite the one time where they were amazing, now I cannot get past "Hold" ughhhhhhhh. Honestly, ridiculous! Sad because I actually enjoyed the app while I was allowed access! But seems like maybe a scam, unfortunately! Beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

SpyFly - deceptive, lies, thieves

By Belvia J., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

This company advertises how they’re different from other companies who offer the same service. However, this is a lie. I have dealt with several other companies and two of those met my satisfaction. This year I required more specific and detailed information. Not only did they not provide it, they delivered sub-par, surface info. When I asked them to cancel the service for the next month, they charged me anyway. They sent an email, two days later after I sent a reminder email. "Do not," I repeat, "DO NOT cancel by phone." The female who guaranteed that the service would cancel did not cancel. They charged me $29 twice but offered no service. They then asked me to give them a call twice. I kindly emailed them and told them no. I asked that all communication is via email. I filed a dispute with my bank. Suddenly SpyFly sends an email, asking me "How did we do?" I didn’t bother responding. I decided to do this review instead.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SpyFly

Aug 13, 2020

Dear Belvia,

We appreciate the feedback and sincerely regret any negative circumstances that had arisen. We believe there may be a misunderstanding here. We attempted to contact you via phone today in efforts to resolve this issue but were unsuccessful and have left you a voicemail message. Please contact our customer support department at 800-831-9235 and anyone of our friendly member support reps would be happy to assist you.

Thank you

SpyFly Customer Service

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2020

Update

By Pam T., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I don’t agree with their response on how often they update. My record has been expunged for 18 months. TBI updated at the same time so they are not pulling from current and up-to-date files.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 30, 2020

Will not use SpyFly, ad said "totally free", not free at all, it is a bogus claim. Discourage people from using SpyFly, period.

By Mitchell C., Athens, TN, Verified Reviewer

Tried to look up a known criminal my daughter is about to marry and she knew nothing about him. Will not ever use or recommend SpyFly to anyone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SpyFly

Jan 5, 2021

Dear Mitchell,

We apologize for any confusion but we do not advertise our site as totally free. We will allow all visitors to do a search for an individual to determine if there is information present on our site before registering. We sincerely apologize for any confusion. Furthermore, at SpyFly, we get our data from thousands of state and county registries and we report on all of the information that we have access to. We can’t always control the quality or accuracy of that information but sometimes hear of mistakes that could have been made by someone in a department that manages that sensitive information. Obviously, we apologize if you came across one of those mistakes, as we pride ourselves on getting the most updated data we possibly can provide to our members on this very important mission of family protection.

Thank You

SpyFly Member Support

Showing 28-45 of 45

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.