About StarNight Laser

By HighYa Staff

Using advanced holographic laser light technology that creates a dramatic three-dimensional effect, StarNight Laser is an As Seen on TV product that claims to be an easy, fast, and spectacular way to instantly decorate your home. According to the manufacturer, all you have to do is plug in the StarNight Laser, point it in the desired direction, and breathtaking lights will immediately illuminate your home.

Each StarNight Laser is claimed to contain up to 1,000 lights, and you can mix and match units to create customized effects (see more about this in the final section). You can also adjust the density of the lights by moving the unit closer to or farther away from your home, and StarNight Laser is claimed to be water resistant, so it can be used indoors and out all throughout the year.

StarNight Laser Pricing & Refund Policy

Each StarNight Laser is available with red, blue, or green lights, and includes a stake mounting system and timer. Each unit is priced at one payment of $59.96 or three payments of $19.99 plus $14.99 S&H, bringing your total to $74.95.

StarNight Laser comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as a 60-day warranty against manufacturing defects (see more about this in the following section). In order to initiate the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 973-287-5136.

Can StarNight Laser Help You Decorate Your Home without Worrying About Tangled Cords?

The Holiday season is right around the corner, and while you may be looking forward to celebrating, you’re probably not looking forward to putting lights on your home. However, can you really expect StarNight Laser to help take the frustration out of lighting your home? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind:

“As Seen on TV” Product Reputation

Most importantly, StarNight Laser is an “As Seen on TV” (ASOTV) product, which tend to have lower customer satisfaction ratings than similar mainstream products, often due to not performing as advertised, and/or for being of poor quality. We’ll discuss why next.

New Product = No Consumer Feedback

StarNight Laser is a very new product (URL registered August 2014), and as such, there are currently no online customer reviews that can be used to gauge overall satisfaction.

However, StarNight Laser is manufactured by Tristar Products based out of Fairfield, NJ, who is one of the major players in the ASOTV industry. The company also makes the Perfecter Fusion Styler, Flex-Able Hose, ClearTV, and many other products, most of which have ratings of 2 stars or less, usually due to complaints of failure to work as advertised, poor quality, difficulty processing returns/filing warranty claims, and poor customer service (unhelpful, rude, frequently disconnect calls, etc.). The company also has a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with close to 1,000 closed complaints over the past 3 years, most of which reference the problems above.

Ultimately, while we’re not saying this is what you’ll necessarily experience with the StarNight Laser, it’s an important factor to keep in mind.

It’s All About Coverage (& Price Too!)

When it comes to laser decorating, the primary concern is how big of an area each unit can illuminate. After all, the less area covered, the more units you’ll have to purchase.

While the StarNight Laser website doesn’t provide this information, there is a wide range of coverage provided by similar mainstream products. For example, Blisslights range in price from $199 to $229, project at a 160 degree angle, and cover an area of about 300 square feet. On the other hand, Firefly Landscape Lasers cover an area approximately 625 square feet, while still priced at $199.

With this in mind, the StarNight Laser is priced well below either of these models, which raises the question of whether or not it will perform equally at such a low price point.

Other Concerns Regarding the StarNight Laser

Next, remember that the pictures shown on the StarNight Laser website and in the promotional video are clearly using 2-3 different colored units. However, each unit only comes in one color, which means that in order to achieve the same effect, you’ll need t purchase multiple units, which can greatly increase your overall price.

Finally, like most ASOTV manufacturers, you may receive unwanted emails or phone calls soon after placing your StarNight Laser order. According to the product’s Privacy Policy, “We may use the personally identifiable information we collect from you to offer you products and services that may be of interest to you.”

Bottom line

If it works as advertised, the StarNight Laser seems like it could drastically reduce the time and frustration of decorating your home for the Holidays. However, considering its “As Seen on TV” status, it may not work as well as the video makes it appear, and it may not stand up to more than one season of use.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 20 StarNight Laser Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Beautiful Lights

    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Feb 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love these lights. I want to order the red, white and blue lights. I wish there were Mardi Gras lights. I would buy them, too. My neighbors love them and will be buying them as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works Beautifully

    • GA,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on TV and it's just like the 49.99 ones I have seen in the store. It works great and it has 6 modes and 2 colors, red and green. For 23.98 including shipping, it's a steal. I'm so happy I saw it on TV and didn't pay double for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not too sure!

    • Midland, Texas,
    • Dec 10, 2015

    I purchased two and it was beautiful for a while and then the red beam went out and left on just the green. I wanted to buy 3 more because I wanted to the shine light on my trees as well. But with one of them giving me problems, I don't know if I should buy more. Other than that it, it would be an awesome product. Would I recommend it to a friend? Not without telling them my problem. So yes!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    I bought this StarNight Laser off the ASOTV program and I purchased another laser projector from Amazon at the same time, at twice the price. The StarNight is so dim that if you drive by my house you would have to look twice to see it. First off, it is not a laser, it is an LED. My second projector is a real laser (2 red and green), it has a required laser warning label affixed and is 10 times brighter than StarNight which is without a laser warning label.

    I took the covers off both units after about 6 weeks of use and both units had water inside. I guess you should use them indoors. A shame, as the "real" laser was beautiful. Snowflakes shimmered in the light beams as they fell. StarNight is going back. I am going to dry the real laser and use silicon caulk to try and waterproof it.

    Just remember, you get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from this company

    • High Desert, CA,
    • Feb 12, 2015

    I ordered products two months before Christmas and keep calling them. They said they were on back order. So I keep calling and they even called me saying it was going to ship on the third of February yet I still didn't get their product. I called today and they said they canceled my order with no reason. It was already paid for so now let's see if I get my money back. Don't buy anything from this so called company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work in the rain

    • Smyrna, TN,
    • Dec 7, 2015

    Purchased a box of Star Shower on Friday and it worked great the first night, the second day it rained and low and behold when it got dark the thing didn't work. Brought it in the house, dried it off, tried it again and it's dead. Will be taking it back today. Obviously doesn't like being left out in the rain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Very misleading.

    • Harrisburg, PA,
    • Dec 9, 2015

    The Star Night Laser only covered our front door. We would need at least 15 units to get better results from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Belton, TX,
    • Dec 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called to order these laser lights. They charged my credit card. I tried to call and look up online the tracking shipment. It states I have no order pending. I cannot get a hold of customer service. They keep you on hold for hours. I was on my cell phone for three and half hours and still no answer. So, now I have paid $140.00 dollars plus priority shipping. I still cannot get hold of anyone. This is a scam with the company called StarNight Laser.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Customer Service

    • Florida,
    • Dec 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered 3 lights. They only sent me 2. I asked to send it back because I never gave permission to send and charge me for 2 lights. I asked for shipping to be paid back considering they never received any conformed permission from me for the 2 lights. The supervisor hung up on me. They did not help me at all. They expect me to pay shipping back for their mistakes. The customer service is atrocious. They messed up my order and never got permission for what they did. Their website disappeared all of a sudden too. As if they never existed. Do not buy from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Does not work after a few days

    • Frederick MD,
    • Dec 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this item as many others, with the expectation of casting 1000's of lights on my house. I brought it home and the first night it did pretty well. However, I was very disappointed at the amount of lights it actually puts out. I was even considering going back to get an additional one in Green to go with the Red one I purchased. I decided to wait and I am so glad I did. After the third day the beam was so weak it would not even cast any lights. I had to hold it right up to the door to even see the pattern.

    I am taking it back tomorrow and I do not recommend this for anyone. It would not even cast a light inside on the ceiling. Worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    I purchased the red laser two weeks ago. It worked well until it rained. I am now a proud owner of an expensive paperweight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for StarNight Laser!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review