• 49 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Service
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Watch out

    • By Jan R.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company operates like a scam. You cannot call them. I transferred $2000 to them from PayPal and they can’t find it. You cannot talk to anyone by phone, and everything is done by email. I’ll probably have to hire an attorney to go after them - terrible! Be careful -do not use this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Money transfer to bank

    • By Steven D.,
    • Richmond, CA,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you're ok with waiting a week for your money to show up in your banking account, this is the company for you. This company is not worth your frustration, believe me, and get Robinhood or someone else. These people are not ready for prime time at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible, would give ZERO stars

    • By Valerie F.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used $50 worth of Verizon reward cards to "buy" stock. I went in to check one day and there was ZERO in my "portfolio." I emailed Stockpile, and this was the response:

    Thanks Valerie, the reason is that Volkswagen AG has terminated its sponsored ADR program. As a result, there is no longer a liquid market for VLKAY and the shares are no longer trading as confirmed by a lack of quotes from financial sources such as Nasdaq and NYSE. Stockpile is no longer accepting or able to fill trades on VLKAY due to the lack of a market for VLKAY. This is beyond the control of Stockpile and is an inherent risk of dealing in non-domestic securities.

    Current Stockpile clients holding VLKAY ADR will only be offered the default cash option as Stockpile does not offer, or trade foreign stocks and we do not offer or trade unsponsored ADS or American Depository Shares.

    Terms of the default cash option are as follow: On or after February 11, 2019 JP Morgan acting as the depositary will sell the securities represented by VLKAY and distribute the proceeds for the pro rata benefit of the registered holders of the VLKAY ADR that have not be surrendered. For more information, please visit the link below. No further action is required on your part as Stockpile will only support the default cash option.

    I WOULD not "invest" with Stockpile. Thankfully it was reward cards, but still...I should have used those reward cards at Starbucks or GAP and actually enjoyed something. A pile of crap company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy into this scam!

    • By Colleen B.,
    • San Ramon, CA,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They stole my money. I bought some stocks, then they locked my account. I have tried to close the account a few months again and not only have I not received my money, but they have locked my account again! They will STEAL your money! Do not fall for this scam as I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fun and easy to use

    • By Phillip J.,
    • Saugerties, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is a fun and easy-to-use long-term INVESTING vehicle. It makes it enjoyable to purchase fractional stocks (for example, when buying $50,000 of a high priced company stock is not feasible). For what it is designed to do, it does it very well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile is unresponsive

    • By Darrel H.,
    • California,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Took money for a graduation gift certificate, took the money from my checking account. Where are the gift card and email confirmation? Where is a return email? They don't answer the phone. I think I've been scammed. I will never invest anything with them again. FedEx sent me my first gift card from the reward program. They must not be aware of this problem with Stockpile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth a dime

    • By Gilbert C.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up, and they don't transact fast enough so you can make money. If anything, they transfer stock after the price goes down.

    You can't get money back from them.

    If I could do it again, I would not waste time or money on this company as they are just a fraud company stealing money from you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Learning the market

    • By Geraldo M.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had nothing short of a great experience with Stockpile. It's easy, and you are learning how to play the market, still have a long way to go but so far its great. Inexpensive to start off cause you can buy partial stock, and fund it as you go. Watch it grow and stumble is something that gets a little to get used to, but overall, great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Couldn't save the gift card

    • By Kai L.,
    • Cambridge, MA,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My daughter got a gift card from Stockpile for Christmas. We were really excited because it gave her a chance to choose a stock and watch it over time. She went on the site and entered the stockpile gift card but then couldn't decide what stock to buy. She didn't buy a stock but thought the gift card was saved to her account. Later I went into the account to check to see what stock they offered and noticed there was no amount under gift card. I got the gift card entered it again and then left the site. Well, my daughter, final decided what stock she wanted went into the account and again no gift card credit. Now in my daughter's group gift cards are popular she has gift cards from Starbucks, Target, Amazon, and iTunes and she has always put her card into her account to use later so this was not new, but never has she had a gift card that wasn't automatically saved to the account after it was accepted and entered.

    I emailed Stockpile, and someone named Joel said he would help and after several emails back and forth told me they could do nothing about it. If you have kids, I would not buy this unless you knew what stock you wanted before you bought it. I would not recommend buying Stockpile. If you want them to learn about stocks just set up an account virtual or real and do it that way. Much simpler.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam and be warned investors, this is not live trading but a form of delayed trading.

    • By Daryl M.,
    • Arizona,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Be very cautious, it takes days for sales of stock of purchases of stock to go through it takes days. Sometimes a week or so before the sale of your stock will go through and can take up to multiple weeks before you can get your money back in your account.

    I've been invested into six stocks with this company, and it was a nightmare trying to trade them.

    The company does not operate in live trading but they use what's called close of day trading, so whatever the day closes at is what your stock will sell or what you buy at, regardless of when you did the trade during the day.

    My point, you've made a purchase or are trading. No matter what time you did that trade during the day you are at the mercy of how the market ends.

    Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good and legit, but screwballs for support staff

    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is NOT for short-term, meaning 30 days or less. I tried Stockpile as a way to "hide" money from myself, a place where it would not be so easily accessed like a bank account. The execution of trades and fees are good. All is good with Stockpile UNTIL IT COMES TO BANKS.

    You can't log in to your account and add a bank; you must email support from the same email address you have on file with them. Ok, wait for support. WHEN IT IS TIME TO HAVE MONEY TRANSFERRED into your bank account, look out. Stockpile does not cut checks. Stockpile does not have a Customer Service phone where they can be reached. After you sell some of your stock, if you want some cash-out, it is done by bank transfer only, which takes 7 DAYS from the time your stock is sold. My bank transfer was delayed an additional 5-6 days because an error left ONE CENT in my account. Stockpile canceled my initial wire request and RE-SENT it 5 DAYS LATER and never notified me of the cancellation or re-sending the wire transfer late...not by email, not by phone. I had to email "support" and ask them what happened to my wire transfer and then they emailed back about the bank transfer.

    I will never trade with Stockpile again for ANY reason. It was Stockpile's responsibility to their customer to keep me informed. I would stay clear of this outfit. Forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service is terrible

    Overall Experience:

    I originally got a $5 stock from my Samsung points is how I found out about Stockpile. I then purchased about $200 more in several stocks through the app. Since "0.99/trade was cheaper than the $3.99 a trade that I was spending on my Capital One investing account, I thought I'd transfer my portfolio over. That's when the nightmare began.

    Over the course of the next three weeks, I had to send countless emails back and forth to someone named Michael and get the transfer paperwork filled out. He kept telling me that this number was missing or this was incorrectly filled out, and after three weeks, I finally got someone at Stockpile that filled out the paperwork for me and said just sign here and send back.

    By this point, I was so frustrated by the whole thing and by the fact that you can't actually reach anyone by phone that I just said forget it, and I sold my $200 worth of stock and moved it to Robinhood.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service, screwed up my money transfer charging me unnecessary charges

    Overall Experience:

    I had sold $31.38 worth of stock because I needed the money. It has taken a week to email me that the bank rejected ACH to my bank because they couldn’t find the account. Then when I try to resolve the issue, they keep giving me the runaround. I called only once to talk to a human and they stopped responding to my emails to resolve account the issue. I told them I’m turning them into the Trade Commission for not responding to my concerns and I got one response since then. No phone number to call, it’s a recording. The worse day of my life. As soon as I resolve this I am deleting my account, never to deal with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Need my money released!

    Overall Experience:

    I thought Stockpile was great, until I need to sell some and have the money transferred. I needed the money before leaving on a trip and sold the shares in plenty of time. Well, I'm heading home tomorrow, and my funds are still in some limbo being held by Stockpile. When I contacted customer support, I was given links to articles. I can't find a phone number anywhere. And I have no idea if or when my money will ever be released to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By John,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great concept. I love all the tips and free education they try to provide! I own stock, and that’s cool!

    Thanks Stockpile!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Its so easy, LOVE this company and app!

    • By Sophie,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was scared to start investing and risking a lot of money. I was put at ease when I contacted Stockpile via email and got a response within minutes. I've never had to call them, I never had an issue linking my bank. I set up an account for my son, and he is so excited to own a piece of Disney and Google, he tells everyone. It's so cute.

    Maybe I am different than most people, and I read FAQ before jumping into anything. I don't just throw my money around and get mad because I don't understand the process. READ FAQ and other information before you do anything. Reviews aren't always true, and some people just blame other people for their mistakes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't use this app

    • By Larry,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like all the other reviews, this app, if you call the number, will give you an auto message that then hangs up on you. You email them, and you won't hear back from them. I try canceling an order but somehow got a gift card for the same stock I try to purchase. I don't know if you call this shady or whatnot, but it's pretty shady, so I am trying to find out with my bank whether or not I can get this transaction reverse because this isn't cool. Anyways, the bottom line is I would NOT RECOMMEND anyone who wants to try and get into stocks with this app.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Newbie

    Overall Experience:

    First time investing in stocks. I have mutual funds, but no individual stock. I first saw Stockpile gift cards and considered giving them as Christmas gifts but read reviews and changed my mind. My first purchase instead was through Groupon. I purchased a $10 Groupon for $20.00 of stock. So far I'm happy with Stockpile because just by virtue of the deal I'm up. I bought $150.00 more (Amazon). I am admittedly nervous about reviews I'm reading about the inability to get in contact with them and getting your money out. Right now I'm going to give it a tentative thumbs up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Johana,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The app is really easy to use and navigate. I opened two custodian accounts for my kids and put in some dollars to see how it works. At first, I was very scared after reading all the prior reviews and the problems transferring money, but I did not have any issues adding my bank account or receiving the funds after my first sale. I'm very happy with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great concept, everything works fine!

    • By Max Payne,
    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Mar 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't understand how people have difficulty with Stockpile. As one reviewer put, it's not for trading. Just invest your money and let it grow. The benefits are 99 cents per trade and the fractional shares. I don't have a lot of money to invest, but when I get an extra $50, I buy a share on Stockpile. It's very easy. Transfers are free with bank accounts in 3 days and there's plenty of stock or ETF choices.

    Anybody who thinks someone needs to answer with a live person their every beck and call is not realistic. Stockpile's fees are low so people can invest, they don't collect a bunch of admin costs for some big customer service presence. People, realize what they offer and don't force them to be a full-service brokerage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Rough start but everything worked out.

    Overall Experience:

    Was a little rough getting started, but everything seems to be working out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 10, 2018

    Stockpile kept all of my money and locked me out of my account.

    I opened up an account in December 2017 after I downloaded the app on my iPhone. I thought this was a great way to invest money in fractional shares only $0.99 per trade. I bought Amazon, Google, and many other stocks that were over $1000.00 per share. After accumulating about $ 4300, I decided to sell my positions and requested a wire transfer to my bank account. I was advised this could take up to 6 days. After waiting 10 days I never received my money.

    I tried to call them and keep getting a message that all lines are extremely busy and I should email them at support. The recording then hangs up on you and you can't leave a message. They don't respond to my emails and shut down my account. I am unable to gain access to my money. I can't even print out my end of year tax documents or any of my trade confirmations. This has turned into a real legal mess! Please stay away from this company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Things I wish I knew before becoming a Stockpile customer

    Overall Experience:

    It took about three weeks total for Stockpile to transfer my money to Fidelity after I initiated the transfer. Getting the transfer through was a drawn-out nightmare.

    Things to know:

    1. When you call them, you will get a recording saying they have high call volumes and it will tell you to email them and then it will hang up on you.

    2. Most of my emails were not responded to UNLESS it was about purchasing stock.

    3. When trying to transfer my stock funds to Fidelity, the money did not move. It kept sitting in Stockpile but not earning anything, saying: "money unavailable."

    4. When I tried to get help with this non-moving transfer, they did not respond to my chat or emails until I resorted to putting things like "DISTRESSED." and "PLEASE HELP ME." in the headers.

    5. When I eventually got a manager, he told me because I had bought stock with a credit card it would delay the transfer because I would have to pass a review by the "fraud dept." He asked me to send copies of my credit cards, social security card, and driver's license. I did. The money still did not transfer. NOTE: They did not contact me to say: 'We see you want to transfer, so we need to collect data from you for a fraud investigation...' Instead, they just let my funds SIT, not earning and not transferring.

    6. I finally succeeded in getting the manager on the phone again and he said: "You never sent us the info (CCs, SS# DL)." I forwarded him the email I sent it in the week prior. He said, "That's strange, for some reason we missed this and we can't open it." So I uploaded it by a different method while he was on the phone with me. Fifteen minutes later, the manager emailed me saying, "Transfer approved" and he put in his note, "See, once we got the documents we moved on [my transfer] in 15 minutes. Your transfer will go through in 2-3 business days." I thought my nightmare was soon to be over, but NOPE. Four days later, the funds had not budged. I checked with Fidelity, and they saw no transfers pending.

    7. So I go through it AGAIN, begging with email and delayed chat for the manager to call me or email me about the matter. He does NOT. However, he DID change the initiation date of the fund's transfer to THAT day's date, erasing my ability to see the real day the transfer was initiated, not cool in my book, but oh well.

    8. The funds were then transferred to Fidelity the NEXT day, so that 2-3 business day thing seems like it's that long if they want it to be that long. Maybe he rushed it through because of the delays I had been through...only he knows.

    If it is Stockpile's policy to put people who pay with a credit card through the fraud department when they transfer/sell, then I wish they would say that on their website so customers can decide if they want to go through that "fraud department." I think that manager was my "fraud department" with a 15-minute turnaround.

    I personally was distressed about the inability to speak with someone about my money and at the slow and irregular pace at which this company executes transactions. This is why I wanted to move my money to Fidelity.

    To anyone stuck in a Stockpile nightmare, I have felt your pain. Just stay on it via email and delayed chat each and every day until you can get your money to wherever feels safe and reputable to you.

    In closing, do I think Stockpile is trying to steal people's money? No...but there were days I worried about that. Do I think Stockpile cares about giving you decent service when you are trying to leave Stockpile? No. I have never experienced anything like this from a business. The manager DID call me on two separate occasions. He was condescending at times. To be fair, I was terrified about getting my money, and he did not empathize too well with that.

    On the positive, I'm sure he is the one person who EVENTUALLY got my money to Fidelity. For that, I thank him.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Why are people so dumb

    Overall Experience:

    I've been using Stockpile since they started up. Are you people trying to say trade with Stockpile? If you are, you are dumb. You can't, simple as that. I have over 10 thousand in Stockpile and they have never stolen money from me, EVER! I can also get them on the phone every time. Are some of you guys trying to give a false testimonial? I would suggest Stockpile for long-term investment, no day trading!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good platform, bad service

    • By Ohio Mama,
    • Ohio,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had my account since April 2016. I love the platform. It is great for teaching kids about investing. However, for some reason last month, my daughter's dividends started reinvesting without my permission. I emailed customer support but was unable to get a good answer. Then I tried calling. This is where Stockpile sucks. No one answers the phone, and it hangs up after the generic message that they are busy with heavy calling. Since I couldn't get an answer, I started checking around online and read many reviews. Unsatisfied with my search results, I decided it was best to sell the stock and remove her money.

    I'm not sure what's going on with other people's accounts, but the selling of the stock and transferring the money back to my bank account was a smooth transaction. Both transactions completed within the specified timeframes (end of day to sell, three business days to transfer).

    I would send the money back to repurchase her stocks, but I'm a bit uneasy about the lack of phone support. If I'm going to trust someone with my money, I need to be able to speak with a person.

    I would not recommend to a friend at this time, but I have in the past. However, I would return and recommend if they fix the phone support issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent bank charges

    • By James Miller,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company posted two fraudulent charges to my bank account. I have never heard of this company, and they posted over $1800 in charges to my bank account. My bank is investigating. They do not answer their phone and do not respond to email inquiries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Account lockout

    Overall Experience:

    I opened two Stockpile accounts with about a total of $6,000 about a month and a half ago, one for myself and one for my minor daughter (custodial), with about $5,000 or 6,000 in both accounts, with the thought of opening additional accounts for my eight minor grand-kids. I made the mistake when adding an additional $5,000 to my daughter's account, but referenced the wrong bank account from which to access an "ACH." This action resulted in an "NSF" response.

    Stockpile immediately shut down my two active accounts, charged and collected a $30 fee (no problem, it was my mistake), at least for three weeks ago now, and I cannot get access to my accounts. They said via a very late email (snail mail would have been faster), said they collected the NSF fee, and the lock was lifted off my account. Not so, I still have no access.

    Forget reaching them by phone as their number is difficult to find on their web page, and when I was able to get through to them, they referred me to their email address. And did I mention they are slow in answering their email? I have a few thousand dollars placed with them now, and as soon as I get access to my account, I am liquidating first thing or transferring away, all assets. I am still trying to get in contact with the firm to know, first of all, the condition of my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile

    Overall Experience:

    I thought this was a neat idea for me. I have never had much money to invest, but I have a new job where I have a few bucks every week to spare, after my 401k deduction.

    I never managed to get my bank linked, but I transfer money from my debit card every week to dollar cost average. I know it's relatively expensive, but it's worth it to me until I accumulate a little bit of savings.

    I identified 8 stocks I want to own, and I've been buying part of one each week.

    Like another reviewer, I'll update when I sell, but I don't plan on that for awhile. Maybe customer service will improve by then.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 49

Write a Review for Stockpile!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Stockpile