• 49 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Service
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Stockpile user

    Overall Experience:

    I've been with Stockpile from the start. I had my reservations at first, but in almost two years I haven't had a single issue. I did call them once about a login problem that turned out to be my fault. I was very impressed with the quick attention, and the people I dealt with were class acts.

    The only thing I hope to see improved is the selection that's limited but still a large variety. One must keep in mind that the trades only go off once a day, so it's not for traders that need in or out fast. They have improved the info section. For a long term or dividend hunter, it's very reasonable at $0.99 per trade with a bank transfer. I don't represent them in any fashion, but I am very happy with the service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 24, 2017

    Stockpile user

    I've been with Stockpile from the start. I had my reservations at first, but in almost two years I haven't had a single issue. I did call them once about a login problem that turned out to be my fault. I was very impressed with the quick attention, and the people I dealt with were class acts. The only thing I hope to see improved is the selection that's limited but still a large variety. Use the search. One must keep in mind that the trades only go off once a day, so it's not for traders that need in or out fast. They have improved the info section. For a long term or dividend hunter, it's very reasonable at $0.99 per trade with a bank transfer. I don't represent them in any fashion, but I am very happy with the service.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Great solution for helping kids learn investing

    • By Tori C.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My 14-year-old son bought the Groupon offering $20 worth of stock for only $10 in December 2017. It was pretty easy to set up a joint account for us to share. It’s a custodial account. After making his initial purchase, he added an additional hundred dollars from his savings. We haven’t experienced any issues with the service so far. He has fun watching the daily values change, and reviewing the trending over time.

    So far we haven’t tried to sell any of our stock. After reading the reviews, I am feeling nervous that we will have problems when we try to sell. I’m wondering if they simply have more business than they were prepared to handle due to the Groupon?

    For now, I’m going to give them five stars because of the ease-of-use, the ability to set up a custodial account, and no issues with the app. I will update my review when we try to sell something.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Why are people so dumb

    Overall Experience:

    I've been using Stockpile since they started up. Are you people trying to say trade with Stockpile? If you are, you are dumb. You can't, simple as that. I have over 10 thousand in Stockpile and they have never stolen money from me, EVER! I can also get them on the phone every time. Are some of you guys trying to give a false testimonial? I would suggest Stockpile for long-term investment, no day trading!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Rough start but everything worked out.

    Overall Experience:

    Was a little rough getting started, but everything seems to be working out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 10, 2018

    Stockpile kept all of my money and locked me out of my account.

    I opened up an account in December 2017 after I downloaded the app on my iPhone. I thought this was a great way to invest money in fractional shares only $0.99 per trade. I bought Amazon, Google, and many other stocks that were over $1000.00 per share. After accumulating about $ 4300, I decided to sell my positions and requested a wire transfer to my bank account. I was advised this could take up to 6 days. After waiting 10 days I never received my money.

    I tried to call them and keep getting a message that all lines are extremely busy and I should email them at support. The recording then hangs up on you and you can't leave a message. They don't respond to my emails and shut down my account. I am unable to gain access to my money. I can't even print out my end of year tax documents or any of my trade confirmations. This has turned into a real legal mess! Please stay away from this company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Great concept, everything works fine!

    • By Max Payne,
    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Mar 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't understand how people have difficulty with Stockpile. As one reviewer put, it's not for trading. Just invest your money and let it grow. The benefits are 99 cents per trade and the fractional shares. I don't have a lot of money to invest, but when I get an extra $50, I buy a share on Stockpile. It's very easy. Transfers are free with bank accounts in 3 days and there's plenty of stock or ETF choices.

    Anybody who thinks someone needs to answer with a live person their every beck and call is not realistic. Stockpile's fees are low so people can invest, they don't collect a bunch of admin costs for some big customer service presence. People, realize what they offer and don't force them to be a full-service brokerage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Johana,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The app is really easy to use and navigate. I opened two custodian accounts for my kids and put in some dollars to see how it works. At first, I was very scared after reading all the prior reviews and the problems transferring money, but I did not have any issues adding my bank account or receiving the funds after my first sale. I'm very happy with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Its so easy, LOVE this company and app!

    • By Sophie,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was scared to start investing and risking a lot of money. I was put at ease when I contacted Stockpile via email and got a response within minutes. I've never had to call them, I never had an issue linking my bank. I set up an account for my son, and he is so excited to own a piece of Disney and Google, he tells everyone. It's so cute.

    Maybe I am different than most people, and I read FAQ before jumping into anything. I don't just throw my money around and get mad because I don't understand the process. READ FAQ and other information before you do anything. Reviews aren't always true, and some people just blame other people for their mistakes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By John,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great concept. I love all the tips and free education they try to provide! I own stock, and that’s cool!

    Thanks Stockpile!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Learning the market

    • By Geraldo M.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had nothing short of a great experience with Stockpile. It's easy, and you are learning how to play the market, still have a long way to go but so far its great. Inexpensive to start off cause you can buy partial stock, and fund it as you go. Watch it grow and stumble is something that gets a little to get used to, but overall, great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fun and easy to use

    • By Phillip J.,
    • Saugerties, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is a fun and easy-to-use long-term INVESTING vehicle. It makes it enjoyable to purchase fractional stocks (for example, when buying $50,000 of a high priced company stock is not feasible). For what it is designed to do, it does it very well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love Stockpile

    Overall Experience:

    Only $.99 per trade! It can be a little slow compared to expensive stock sites, but for a free one, this takes the cake. By far the best app I know of. The app even lists smaller businesses owned by companies in a way that makes it easier to know what you own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile

    Overall Experience:

    I thought this was a neat idea for me. I have never had much money to invest, but I have a new job where I have a few bucks every week to spare, after my 401k deduction.

    I never managed to get my bank linked, but I transfer money from my debit card every week to dollar cost average. I know it's relatively expensive, but it's worth it to me until I accumulate a little bit of savings.

    I identified 8 stocks I want to own, and I've been buying part of one each week.

    Like another reviewer, I'll update when I sell, but I don't plan on that for awhile. Maybe customer service will improve by then.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good platform, bad service

    • By Ohio Mama,
    • Ohio,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had my account since April 2016. I love the platform. It is great for teaching kids about investing. However, for some reason last month, my daughter's dividends started reinvesting without my permission. I emailed customer support but was unable to get a good answer. Then I tried calling. This is where Stockpile sucks. No one answers the phone, and it hangs up after the generic message that they are busy with heavy calling. Since I couldn't get an answer, I started checking around online and read many reviews. Unsatisfied with my search results, I decided it was best to sell the stock and remove her money.

    I'm not sure what's going on with other people's accounts, but the selling of the stock and transferring the money back to my bank account was a smooth transaction. Both transactions completed within the specified timeframes (end of day to sell, three business days to transfer).

    I would send the money back to repurchase her stocks, but I'm a bit uneasy about the lack of phone support. If I'm going to trust someone with my money, I need to be able to speak with a person.

    I would not recommend to a friend at this time, but I have in the past. However, I would return and recommend if they fix the phone support issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Newbie

    Overall Experience:

    First time investing in stocks. I have mutual funds, but no individual stock. I first saw Stockpile gift cards and considered giving them as Christmas gifts but read reviews and changed my mind. My first purchase instead was through Groupon. I purchased a $10 Groupon for $20.00 of stock. So far I'm happy with Stockpile because just by virtue of the deal I'm up. I bought $150.00 more (Amazon). I am admittedly nervous about reviews I'm reading about the inability to get in contact with them and getting your money out. Right now I'm going to give it a tentative thumbs up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Ava,
    • California,
    • Feb 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My additional shares did come in, but it took almost a week. I would still recommend a more reputable trading company. If you're investing a very small amount under $100, you can use Stockpile, but you're probably going to get the worst trade price possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jan 30, 2018

    Do not buy from Stockpile!

    Warning: Stockpile is a scam. Do not buy from Stockpile. They steal your money during stock splits and instead of giving you the equivalent shares leave your share size the same and reduce the price.

    Also, they say orders execute by 3:00 pm EST when buying a share. However, if the share price goes up after 3:00 pm they'll hold the order until 4:00 pm so they can reduce the amount of shares you own. If the stock price is going down at 3:00 pm they'll place your order right then so you don't benefit from the additional share size.

    These guys are straight scammers. They should get sued for what they do during splits.

    Pay the extra few bucks and go with a reputable trading company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Need my money released!

    Overall Experience:

    I thought Stockpile was great, until I need to sell some and have the money transferred. I needed the money before leaving on a trip and sold the shares in plenty of time. Well, I'm heading home tomorrow, and my funds are still in some limbo being held by Stockpile. When I contacted customer support, I was given links to articles. I can't find a phone number anywhere. And I have no idea if or when my money will ever be released to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience

    • By Kayla Taylor,
    • California,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    About a month ago I accidentally purchased a gift card with Stockpile thinking it was an e-gift purchase through my Verizon. It was for $75, but with the fee, it came up to about $82.00.

    I tried reaching out several times to see if there was a way they could refund the fee. I talked to Micheal after speaking with different reps, who assured me he would be sending me a refund, after I had to pretty much argue and was told I made the mistake and needed to take responsibility for the mistake made. I'm not arguing that. Just the way it came out by him caught me by surprise, being that this is suppose to be a professional business. I work in customer service for Verizon and I would never in a million years make a customer feel that way. Even if it is an error on their end. Everyone makes mistakes. We're human.

    It's now almost a month into this nightmare, and I have not once received any type of follow up, I was able to see that the account is still active, which means nothing has been resolved. I'm at the point where I don't even want the money back but also would never recommend this company to anyone! Customer service is horrible, which is a big part of having a business. If I went to a restaurant and food was horrible but customer service was great, I can overlook that and still come back just because I felt valued. This company is unprofessional, and it's a company that I just don't feel is legit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service

    • By Frank Floka,
    • Watford City, ND,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile was unable to activate my account, claiming additional regulatory information was necessary when it had been provided. Customer service did not attempt to rectify the situation in any way, with the exception of essentially throwing the purchased gift cards back at me and suggesting I return them to the gifter or pass them on. As a previous review mentioned, extremely callous and poor behavior for a professional company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Trouble with the account and service

    • By TKG,
    • Illinois,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a few partial stocks at the end of December 2017. For a while, the app dashboard showed only the initial purchase through Groupon. Nothing else appeared.

    Now, I cannot even log in to my account using the same credentials I used before. The account is shown as blocked without any alerts or explanation.

    I tried calling, but they keep you on hold for hours. Send an email - nothing, not even a standard acknowledgment that they received my email.

    It's starting to look like a ripoff. I am planning to submit consumer complaints first, and then sue the company, if I receive no resolution.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service feels like a scam!

    Overall Experience:

    I received a Stockpile gift card as a gift and opened an account promptly and used it to buy stock shares. After downloading the app a couple days later, I log in to buy more and see my balance is $0.00. Thinking it could be a glitch in the app, I send an email to customer service asking why my stocks have disappeared and it’s showing a zero balance. Needless to say, two weeks later no response and my login/email associated with the account no longer works. I called customer service and was on hold for almost an hour with no resolve.

    Total RIP-OFF! Scam. As someone who has used other service to buy/trade, this is not normal!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Marie,
    • El Dorado Hills, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Since I received NO help whatsoever and didn't get a refund, I contacted FINRA Whistleblower and put a complaint in. If enough people complain, maybe this business will straighten up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Dec 28, 2017

    Poor service

    I purchased gift cards plus attempted to give them each $50.00 online, which transferred from my credit card account to who knows whose account for my two grandsons so that they could start investing. I tried to open an account for one of them, but kept getting error messages. I tried calling, was on hold for over 20 minutes, then I hung up. I emailed and was told that if I couldn't figure it out to come back to them. I emailed again, and I'm waiting for a response.

    Telephone service is horrible. Online service is just as bad. This is more trouble than it is worth.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Would not recommend

    • By Lori Oliphant,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The following is my conversation with Stockpile starting January 1st.

    ME: January 1st -

    Just redeemed a Groupon gift of twenty dollars . bought Ryanair stock, it is not showing in my portfolio.

    Mike,

    I see your trade and my trade desk will restore your position in the next couple of days. Rest assured the excution price and quantity will all be as of the trade date.

    Sorry for the delay.

    Michael

    ME: January 5th -

    Trade still not there.

    ME: January 9th -

    Trade still not there.

    Hello,

    Thank you for reaching out!

    I do see your trade on my end and my trade desk will restore your position on your Stockpile account in the next couple of days.

    Rest assured the execution price and quantity will be same of the trade date.

    We really apologize for the delay.

    Have a great day and thanks for being a Stockpile customer.

    Warm Regards,

    Stockpile Support

    ME:

    Ok so the trade was 9 days ago. i have reached out twice and got the same stock reply from two people. the couple of days is now going into the 10th day . if you can not resolve the issue refund my money and close this account. this is no way to do business

    ME: January 11th -

    Still nothing?

    Hello?

    ME: January 14th -

    Hello, can anyone there help me with this?

    It has been 2 weeks now.

    ME: January 16th -

    Anyone there?

    22h ago. Not seen yet.

    As of right now, January 17th, I have still not heard from them, so no I would not recommend Stockpile. I am glad I did not link my bank account to the account like they wanted me too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away.

    • By Ilya Piyanzov,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a scam. I've tried to transfer my money from Stockpile account to my bank. I initiated a transfer on 1/3/18, and it's 1/17/18 today, and no funds were received. They won't respond to your phone calls. They pretty much stole my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile will steal your money, beware!

    Overall Experience:

    I invested money with this company but ran into a serious nightmare when trying to cash out.

    They won't answer their phones, nor respond to emails, and their "live chat" option is fake. I ended up having to use social media, commenting on their Instagram posts, Facebook posts, and Tweeting them, and news outlets.

    I also reported them to the BBB and FTC. They called me, after 11 days of social media usage. They explained openly that they have issues returning the money, and tried blaming it on some regulatory issues.

    I finally got my money 12 days after asking for it, only to also find out the transfer was never initiated in the first place, they have no real intention of ever returning my money, and only did once they realized that I would not be giving up.

    For the final insult, they offered me $5 in credit to buy more stock, as an apology.

    Do NOT use this company; they will rob you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service of ANY company

    Overall Experience:

    Like many, I heard about this brokerage through the $20 Groupon offer. Paying $10 for $20 worth of stock seem like a deal.

    NOT.

    The trade never went through. I wrote and received no reply and also tried their chat service. It's bogus - not even live.

    Then after waiting for 2 and 1/2 hours on hold, I spoke with an irritated woman who clearly had fielded complaints all day. She told me she would "escalate my problem." Well, finally a week later my trade showed up in my account.

    Not worth the hassle or your time, and DEFINITELY not worth your money. Stay far away from Stockpile if you want to keep your sanity.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad customer service

    • By Mary A. Rose,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I do not know if I lost all my money, but it is starting to feel like I did. They are having a problem with verifying my bank information, so I called customer service, and they said they needed my debit card so I wouldn't be charged for the bank problem. What? I have yet to get a call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting for my money. Ponzi scheme?

    Overall Experience:

    I've had an account with Stockpile.com for just over a year now. I sent money every couple of months from a bank account and purchased 4-5 stocks with it. This month I began selling the first batch of stocks, and the account became unceremoniously locked. After sending them an image of my driver's license, they unlocked the account, but the money from selling the stocks was "unavailable" to me. A few days later, the account was unceremoniously locked again.

    It's been 19 calendar days since my first stock sale, and I'm still waiting for the account to become unlocked. My online inquiries haven't received a response for over a week now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 49

Write a Review for Stockpile!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Stockpile