• 49 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Service
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Stockpile user

    Overall Experience:

    I've been with Stockpile from the start. I had my reservations at first, but in almost two years I haven't had a single issue. I did call them once about a login problem that turned out to be my fault. I was very impressed with the quick attention, and the people I dealt with were class acts.

    The only thing I hope to see improved is the selection that's limited but still a large variety. One must keep in mind that the trades only go off once a day, so it's not for traders that need in or out fast. They have improved the info section. For a long term or dividend hunter, it's very reasonable at $0.99 per trade with a bank transfer. I don't represent them in any fashion, but I am very happy with the service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 24, 2017

    Stockpile user

    I've been with Stockpile from the start. I had my reservations at first, but in almost two years I haven't had a single issue. I did call them once about a login problem that turned out to be my fault. I was very impressed with the quick attention, and the people I dealt with were class acts. The only thing I hope to see improved is the selection that's limited but still a large variety. Use the search. One must keep in mind that the trades only go off once a day, so it's not for traders that need in or out fast. They have improved the info section. For a long term or dividend hunter, it's very reasonable at $0.99 per trade with a bank transfer. I don't represent them in any fashion, but I am very happy with the service.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Things I wish I knew before becoming a Stockpile customer

    Overall Experience:

    It took about three weeks total for Stockpile to transfer my money to Fidelity after I initiated the transfer. Getting the transfer through was a drawn-out nightmare.

    Things to know:

    1. When you call them, you will get a recording saying they have high call volumes and it will tell you to email them and then it will hang up on you.

    2. Most of my emails were not responded to UNLESS it was about purchasing stock.

    3. When trying to transfer my stock funds to Fidelity, the money did not move. It kept sitting in Stockpile but not earning anything, saying: "money unavailable."

    4. When I tried to get help with this non-moving transfer, they did not respond to my chat or emails until I resorted to putting things like "DISTRESSED." and "PLEASE HELP ME." in the headers.

    5. When I eventually got a manager, he told me because I had bought stock with a credit card it would delay the transfer because I would have to pass a review by the "fraud dept." He asked me to send copies of my credit cards, social security card, and driver's license. I did. The money still did not transfer. NOTE: They did not contact me to say: 'We see you want to transfer, so we need to collect data from you for a fraud investigation...' Instead, they just let my funds SIT, not earning and not transferring.

    6. I finally succeeded in getting the manager on the phone again and he said: "You never sent us the info (CCs, SS# DL)." I forwarded him the email I sent it in the week prior. He said, "That's strange, for some reason we missed this and we can't open it." So I uploaded it by a different method while he was on the phone with me. Fifteen minutes later, the manager emailed me saying, "Transfer approved" and he put in his note, "See, once we got the documents we moved on [my transfer] in 15 minutes. Your transfer will go through in 2-3 business days." I thought my nightmare was soon to be over, but NOPE. Four days later, the funds had not budged. I checked with Fidelity, and they saw no transfers pending.

    7. So I go through it AGAIN, begging with email and delayed chat for the manager to call me or email me about the matter. He does NOT. However, he DID change the initiation date of the fund's transfer to THAT day's date, erasing my ability to see the real day the transfer was initiated, not cool in my book, but oh well.

    8. The funds were then transferred to Fidelity the NEXT day, so that 2-3 business day thing seems like it's that long if they want it to be that long. Maybe he rushed it through because of the delays I had been through...only he knows.

    If it is Stockpile's policy to put people who pay with a credit card through the fraud department when they transfer/sell, then I wish they would say that on their website so customers can decide if they want to go through that "fraud department." I think that manager was my "fraud department" with a 15-minute turnaround.

    I personally was distressed about the inability to speak with someone about my money and at the slow and irregular pace at which this company executes transactions. This is why I wanted to move my money to Fidelity.

    To anyone stuck in a Stockpile nightmare, I have felt your pain. Just stay on it via email and delayed chat each and every day until you can get your money to wherever feels safe and reputable to you.

    In closing, do I think Stockpile is trying to steal people's money? No...but there were days I worried about that. Do I think Stockpile cares about giving you decent service when you are trying to leave Stockpile? No. I have never experienced anything like this from a business. The manager DID call me on two separate occasions. He was condescending at times. To be fair, I was terrified about getting my money, and he did not empathize too well with that.

    On the positive, I'm sure he is the one person who EVENTUALLY got my money to Fidelity. For that, I thank him.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Marie,
    • El Dorado Hills, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Since I received NO help whatsoever and didn't get a refund, I contacted FINRA Whistleblower and put a complaint in. If enough people complain, maybe this business will straighten up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Dec 28, 2017

    Poor service

    I purchased gift cards plus attempted to give them each $50.00 online, which transferred from my credit card account to who knows whose account for my two grandsons so that they could start investing. I tried to open an account for one of them, but kept getting error messages. I tried calling, was on hold for over 20 minutes, then I hung up. I emailed and was told that if I couldn't figure it out to come back to them. I emailed again, and I'm waiting for a response.

    Telephone service is horrible. Online service is just as bad. This is more trouble than it is worth.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Worst experience

    • By Kayla Taylor,
    • California,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    About a month ago I accidentally purchased a gift card with Stockpile thinking it was an e-gift purchase through my Verizon. It was for $75, but with the fee, it came up to about $82.00.

    I tried reaching out several times to see if there was a way they could refund the fee. I talked to Micheal after speaking with different reps, who assured me he would be sending me a refund, after I had to pretty much argue and was told I made the mistake and needed to take responsibility for the mistake made. I'm not arguing that. Just the way it came out by him caught me by surprise, being that this is suppose to be a professional business. I work in customer service for Verizon and I would never in a million years make a customer feel that way. Even if it is an error on their end. Everyone makes mistakes. We're human.

    It's now almost a month into this nightmare, and I have not once received any type of follow up, I was able to see that the account is still active, which means nothing has been resolved. I'm at the point where I don't even want the money back but also would never recommend this company to anyone! Customer service is horrible, which is a big part of having a business. If I went to a restaurant and food was horrible but customer service was great, I can overlook that and still come back just because I felt valued. This company is unprofessional, and it's a company that I just don't feel is legit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good and legit, but screwballs for support staff

    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is NOT for short-term, meaning 30 days or less. I tried Stockpile as a way to "hide" money from myself, a place where it would not be so easily accessed like a bank account. The execution of trades and fees are good. All is good with Stockpile UNTIL IT COMES TO BANKS.

    You can't log in to your account and add a bank; you must email support from the same email address you have on file with them. Ok, wait for support. WHEN IT IS TIME TO HAVE MONEY TRANSFERRED into your bank account, look out. Stockpile does not cut checks. Stockpile does not have a Customer Service phone where they can be reached. After you sell some of your stock, if you want some cash-out, it is done by bank transfer only, which takes 7 DAYS from the time your stock is sold. My bank transfer was delayed an additional 5-6 days because an error left ONE CENT in my account. Stockpile canceled my initial wire request and RE-SENT it 5 DAYS LATER and never notified me of the cancellation or re-sending the wire transfer late...not by email, not by phone. I had to email "support" and ask them what happened to my wire transfer and then they emailed back about the bank transfer.

    I will never trade with Stockpile again for ANY reason. It was Stockpile's responsibility to their customer to keep me informed. I would stay clear of this outfit. Forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service, screwed up my money transfer charging me unnecessary charges

    Overall Experience:

    I had sold $31.38 worth of stock because I needed the money. It has taken a week to email me that the bank rejected ACH to my bank because they couldn’t find the account. Then when I try to resolve the issue, they keep giving me the runaround. I called only once to talk to a human and they stopped responding to my emails to resolve account the issue. I told them I’m turning them into the Trade Commission for not responding to my concerns and I got one response since then. No phone number to call, it’s a recording. The worse day of my life. As soon as I resolve this I am deleting my account, never to deal with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Need my money released!

    Overall Experience:

    I thought Stockpile was great, until I need to sell some and have the money transferred. I needed the money before leaving on a trip and sold the shares in plenty of time. Well, I'm heading home tomorrow, and my funds are still in some limbo being held by Stockpile. When I contacted customer support, I was given links to articles. I can't find a phone number anywhere. And I have no idea if or when my money will ever be released to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service is terrible

    Overall Experience:

    I originally got a $5 stock from my Samsung points is how I found out about Stockpile. I then purchased about $200 more in several stocks through the app. Since "0.99/trade was cheaper than the $3.99 a trade that I was spending on my Capital One investing account, I thought I'd transfer my portfolio over. That's when the nightmare began.

    Over the course of the next three weeks, I had to send countless emails back and forth to someone named Michael and get the transfer paperwork filled out. He kept telling me that this number was missing or this was incorrectly filled out, and after three weeks, I finally got someone at Stockpile that filled out the paperwork for me and said just sign here and send back.

    By this point, I was so frustrated by the whole thing and by the fact that you can't actually reach anyone by phone that I just said forget it, and I sold my $200 worth of stock and moved it to Robinhood.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service

    • By Frank Floka,
    • Watford City, ND,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile was unable to activate my account, claiming additional regulatory information was necessary when it had been provided. Customer service did not attempt to rectify the situation in any way, with the exception of essentially throwing the purchased gift cards back at me and suggesting I return them to the gifter or pass them on. As a previous review mentioned, extremely callous and poor behavior for a professional company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile will steal your money, beware!

    Overall Experience:

    I invested money with this company but ran into a serious nightmare when trying to cash out.

    They won't answer their phones, nor respond to emails, and their "live chat" option is fake. I ended up having to use social media, commenting on their Instagram posts, Facebook posts, and Tweeting them, and news outlets.

    I also reported them to the BBB and FTC. They called me, after 11 days of social media usage. They explained openly that they have issues returning the money, and tried blaming it on some regulatory issues.

    I finally got my money 12 days after asking for it, only to also find out the transfer was never initiated in the first place, they have no real intention of ever returning my money, and only did once they realized that I would not be giving up.

    For the final insult, they offered me $5 in credit to buy more stock, as an apology.

    Do NOT use this company; they will rob you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam and be warned investors, this is not live trading but a form of delayed trading.

    • By Daryl M.,
    • Arizona,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Be very cautious, it takes days for sales of stock of purchases of stock to go through it takes days. Sometimes a week or so before the sale of your stock will go through and can take up to multiple weeks before you can get your money back in your account.

    I've been invested into six stocks with this company, and it was a nightmare trying to trade them.

    The company does not operate in live trading but they use what's called close of day trading, so whatever the day closes at is what your stock will sell or what you buy at, regardless of when you did the trade during the day.

    My point, you've made a purchase or are trading. No matter what time you did that trade during the day you are at the mercy of how the market ends.

    Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Trouble with the account and service

    • By TKG,
    • Illinois,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a few partial stocks at the end of December 2017. For a while, the app dashboard showed only the initial purchase through Groupon. Nothing else appeared.

    Now, I cannot even log in to my account using the same credentials I used before. The account is shown as blocked without any alerts or explanation.

    I tried calling, but they keep you on hold for hours. Send an email - nothing, not even a standard acknowledgment that they received my email.

    It's starting to look like a ripoff. I am planning to submit consumer complaints first, and then sue the company, if I receive no resolution.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile is unresponsive

    • By Darrel H.,
    • California,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Took money for a graduation gift certificate, took the money from my checking account. Where are the gift card and email confirmation? Where is a return email? They don't answer the phone. I think I've been scammed. I will never invest anything with them again. FedEx sent me my first gift card from the reward program. They must not be aware of this problem with Stockpile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stockpile and your money

    • By Erick,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    While Stockpile appears to be a great idea for the beginning investor, there are some things that you should keep in mind.

    When you transfer your money to Stockpile and buy a stock, the purchase goes on the end of day stock pricing and not the current, so if the stock is $3.75 currently but at the end of day it's $5.00, so you are paying $5.00.

    Another thing to keep in mind is when getting your money back, when you request a transfer from your bank to Stockpile, it will take a day. And if you request money out of Stockpile, you may not see it in your account for two weeks.

    My advice is this, if you are looking into becoming a day trader, don't use Stockpile, use E-Trade, TD Ameritrade, or even Fidelity. Be careful of little brokerage firms like this. They burned me, don't let them burn you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love Stockpile

    Overall Experience:

    Only $.99 per trade! It can be a little slow compared to expensive stock sites, but for a free one, this takes the cake. By far the best app I know of. The app even lists smaller businesses owned by companies in a way that makes it easier to know what you own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Need my money!

    • By Megan Hartley,
    • Lawrenceburg, KY,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile, send me my money! It shouldn't take this long to send money to a bank account. I don't want to report this company, but I will if the issue isn't resolved soon. I will never invest in this company again. Such a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from Stockpile!

    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is a scam. Every time I call I get a "we are experiencing an unusually high volume of calls" message, and then it hangs up. I have emailed multiple times with no response.

    I just signed up, and a day later they have stolen my investments.

    Scam! Stay away from Stockpile! You have been warned. One star was one more star than it deserved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't use this app

    • By Larry,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like all the other reviews, this app, if you call the number, will give you an auto message that then hangs up on you. You email them, and you won't hear back from them. I try canceling an order but somehow got a gift card for the same stock I try to purchase. I don't know if you call this shady or whatnot, but it's pretty shady, so I am trying to find out with my bank whether or not I can get this transaction reverse because this isn't cool. Anyways, the bottom line is I would NOT RECOMMEND anyone who wants to try and get into stocks with this app.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth a dime

    • By Gilbert C.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up, and they don't transact fast enough so you can make money. If anything, they transfer stock after the price goes down.

    You can't get money back from them.

    If I could do it again, I would not waste time or money on this company as they are just a fraud company stealing money from you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service of ANY company

    Overall Experience:

    Like many, I heard about this brokerage through the $20 Groupon offer. Paying $10 for $20 worth of stock seem like a deal.

    NOT.

    The trade never went through. I wrote and received no reply and also tried their chat service. It's bogus - not even live.

    Then after waiting for 2 and 1/2 hours on hold, I spoke with an irritated woman who clearly had fielded complaints all day. She told me she would "escalate my problem." Well, finally a week later my trade showed up in my account.

    Not worth the hassle or your time, and DEFINITELY not worth your money. Stay far away from Stockpile if you want to keep your sanity.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting for my money. Ponzi scheme?

    Overall Experience:

    I've had an account with Stockpile.com for just over a year now. I sent money every couple of months from a bank account and purchased 4-5 stocks with it. This month I began selling the first batch of stocks, and the account became unceremoniously locked. After sending them an image of my driver's license, they unlocked the account, but the money from selling the stocks was "unavailable" to me. A few days later, the account was unceremoniously locked again.

    It's been 19 calendar days since my first stock sale, and I'm still waiting for the account to become unlocked. My online inquiries haven't received a response for over a week now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend

    • By Lori Oliphant,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The following is my conversation with Stockpile starting January 1st.

    ME: January 1st -

    Just redeemed a Groupon gift of twenty dollars . bought Ryanair stock, it is not showing in my portfolio.

    Mike,

    I see your trade and my trade desk will restore your position in the next couple of days. Rest assured the excution price and quantity will all be as of the trade date.

    Sorry for the delay.

    Michael

    ME: January 5th -

    Trade still not there.

    ME: January 9th -

    Trade still not there.

    Hello,

    Thank you for reaching out!

    I do see your trade on my end and my trade desk will restore your position on your Stockpile account in the next couple of days.

    Rest assured the execution price and quantity will be same of the trade date.

    We really apologize for the delay.

    Have a great day and thanks for being a Stockpile customer.

    Warm Regards,

    Stockpile Support

    ME:

    Ok so the trade was 9 days ago. i have reached out twice and got the same stock reply from two people. the couple of days is now going into the 10th day . if you can not resolve the issue refund my money and close this account. this is no way to do business

    ME: January 11th -

    Still nothing?

    Hello?

    ME: January 14th -

    Hello, can anyone there help me with this?

    It has been 2 weeks now.

    ME: January 16th -

    Anyone there?

    22h ago. Not seen yet.

    As of right now, January 17th, I have still not heard from them, so no I would not recommend Stockpile. I am glad I did not link my bank account to the account like they wanted me too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away.

    • By Ilya Piyanzov,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a scam. I've tried to transfer my money from Stockpile account to my bank. I initiated a transfer on 1/3/18, and it's 1/17/18 today, and no funds were received. They won't respond to your phone calls. They pretty much stole my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the heartache

    Overall Experience:

    Stockpile is the Comcast of investing. They ignore your calls by saying they have unusually high call volume that day...every day. They ignore your emails about where missing money on divide ends or after a stock sale.

    This company clearly is only after your money and not after your return patronage. Use another place to build your wealth because what you build on Stockpile is stolen by Stockpile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great concept, everything works fine!

    • By Max Payne,
    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Mar 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't understand how people have difficulty with Stockpile. As one reviewer put, it's not for trading. Just invest your money and let it grow. The benefits are 99 cents per trade and the fractional shares. I don't have a lot of money to invest, but when I get an extra $50, I buy a share on Stockpile. It's very easy. Transfers are free with bank accounts in 3 days and there's plenty of stock or ETF choices.

    Anybody who thinks someone needs to answer with a live person their every beck and call is not realistic. Stockpile's fees are low so people can invest, they don't collect a bunch of admin costs for some big customer service presence. People, realize what they offer and don't force them to be a full-service brokerage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service feels like a scam!

    Overall Experience:

    I received a Stockpile gift card as a gift and opened an account promptly and used it to buy stock shares. After downloading the app a couple days later, I log in to buy more and see my balance is $0.00. Thinking it could be a glitch in the app, I send an email to customer service asking why my stocks have disappeared and it’s showing a zero balance. Needless to say, two weeks later no response and my login/email associated with the account no longer works. I called customer service and was on hold for almost an hour with no resolve.

    Total RIP-OFF! Scam. As someone who has used other service to buy/trade, this is not normal!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad customer service

    • By Mary A. Rose,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I do not know if I lost all my money, but it is starting to feel like I did. They are having a problem with verifying my bank information, so I called customer service, and they said they needed my debit card so I wouldn't be charged for the bank problem. What? I have yet to get a call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 49

Write a Review for Stockpile!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Stockpile