About StoneTether

By HighYa Staff

Created by Ehrien Marth after undergoing three years of research and development, StoneTether is claimed to be a micro-sized tracking device that uses Bluetooth Low Energy 4.0 to help you keep track of anything, including keys, purses, wallets, pets, and even your children, all at a range of up to 500 feet.

In addition to its small size and unparalleled tracking distance, StoneTether claims to differentiate itself from the competition by also providing trip and event tracking, which can help ensure you never forget a key item on your next trip.

How Is StoneTether Different From Other Tracking Devices?

Let’s be honest: There have been a whole slew of tracking devices hitting the market recently, including TrackR, Tile, PebbleBee, Lupo, and many more, so it might seem unlikely for any new entries into this already crowded field to garner much attention. However, with their current Kickstarter campaign about to end, StoneTether has managed to pull in almost $260K in pledges based on an original goal of only $15K. But why?

When compared to other tracking devices available through other manufacturers, StoneTether is claimed to help relieve added stress and wasted time by:

  • Being smaller (about the size of a quarter)
  • Using “next generation technology,” including a proprietary antenna and power delivery system
  • Providing an industry leading, real-world range of 500ft
  • Using a one-of-a-kind tethering system that can warn you before items are lost, and
  • Featuring trip and event tracking (more about these last 2 features in a moment).

Taken together, StoneTether is claimed to provide a level of functionality unseen in previous tracking devices, which by the looks of it, has helped draw a huge amount of interest. With this said, let’s take a closer look at each of StoneTether’s functions.

StoneTether’s Multi-Functionality

At its most basic, StoneTether is a small plastic square with hole in the upper left-hand corner that allows you to attach the device to a keyring, or use the included mounting adhesives to attach to almost anything. After you’ve opened your StoneTether iOS or Android app, entered a name for the tracking device, and selected the function you’d like to assign to it, you’re claimed to have three primary functions available:

  • Item Tracking – Similar to other tracking devices, StoneTether allows you to use its proximity tracking feature to find anything a dongle is attached to, up to a range of 500 feet (most competing trackers have a limit of about 150 feet). In order to locate your item, StoneTether’s app is claimed to show you the location of the item, and how far it is away from you. If you’re within range of the item but still unable to find it, you can make your StoneTether dongle emit an audible noise. StoneTether is also claimed to provide notifications across multiple smart devices that you own. Like some other tracking devices, StoneTether can also alert you if another user comes within range of your dongle if you’re outside this 500-foot range.
  • Child Tracking – Unlike other tracking devices though, StoneTether also claims to feature a tethering option, which will alert you any time an item goes outside a pre-set range from your location, up to 500 feet. This even works to help you keep track of your children while they’re out playing around the neighborhood.
  • Trip & Event Tracking – Finally, another feature unique to StoneTether is their trip and event tracking. Here, you’ll attach the StoneTether device to luggage, computers, or anything else that’s a must-have for your upcoming trip, and the app will let you know if you’ve forgotten anything when the time arrives.

When it comes down to it, StoneTether’s creator claims that the tracking device was developed not just to help you find things, but to also make “people’s busy lives just a little bit easier.” But can you realistically expect StoneTether to help you accomplish this? Consider the following:

What’s the General Consensus About StoneTether?

As mentioned above, StoneTether’s Kickstarter campaign is about to come to a close, and the company claims that the devices should ship sometime around April 3, 2015. Because of this, there are no online customer reviews available that can be used to gauge its real-world performance.

However, some common complaints associated with other tracking dongles are less Bluetooth range than advertised, frequent disconnections, and that the location shown in the app may not be the exact location of your item. Whether any of these complaints will apply to StoneTether, though, remains to be seen.

Pre-Released Items (Like StoneTether) Come with Higher Levels of Risk

Also, keep in mind that handing over your hard-earned money for a product that has yet to be released and is manufactured by a start-up company comes with a certain level of risk. This is because a lot can happen between funding and expected release dates, which can cause delay after delay. This is something that many Coin credit card customers are learning the hard way, after the item’s release date has been pushed back multiple times, and many people are claiming to be having difficulty obtaining refunds or getting ahold of someone at the company.

StoneTether’s Functionality

Because StoneTether is still in a pre-release phase, we also have some unanswered questions about the device, the most pressing of which is if it will display an item’s last known location if you’re out of the 500-foot range, similar to TrackR. Or, will you just have to wait until another StoneTether user comes within range of your item until you’re notified? At this point, we’ll just have to wait and see.

However, we do like to fact that StoneTether features the ability to replace its CR2016 battery, which means it can be used over and over again, and makes it more eco-friendly.

StoneTether Pricing

When backing StoneTether through their Kickstarter campaign, you’ll be able to choose pledge amounts ranging between $5 and $145, each of which comes with different amounts of the product, which are available in your choice of 5 colors: silver, blue, black, pink, and neon green.

On the other hand, StoneTether’s iOS and Android apps are claimed to be free.

Can StoneTether Reduce Stress & Make Your Life Easier?

Chopping to the Point: Admittedly, StoneTether claims to come with some very unique features that separate it from the slew of other tracking devices currently available. However, whether or not these features provide a better tracking experience will have to be determined after its release in April 2015.

With this said, StoneTether’s lowest pledge is just $5, so even in a worst-case scenario, you won’t be out much money if you decide to give it a shot. But hurry, because StoneTether’s Kickstarter campaign ends on December 13, 2014.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 15 StoneTether Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    StoneTether Scam

    • May 13, 2015

    They deleted all of our questions on their Facebook page and banned us from their Facebook and Twitter page.

    February Beta testing? Never happened. No one received units, no communication from company.

    April 3 first shipment? Never happened, no communication. No one received products.

    Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Kickstarter Backer. Wanted it to be real, but it's a scam.

    • New York,
    • Aug 19, 2015

    After asking for updates on their Facebook page, my comments were deleted and I was banned from the page. They have gone way far over their timeline they proposed on Kickstarter, and people are annoyed. They have stopped communications, and it looks like I just wasted a lot of money on vaporware. They took our money and ran.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    looks like it's a scam after all

    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Oct 13, 2015

    Some will see it might be a scam as it started, money raised was over the top of all expectations, and it's been many months now since the StoneTether started taking preorders (that's extra cabbage too and might be more that raised). Then the shipment this month was postponed a of couple times and not a single item yet delivered. However, they're still taking preorders through their website claiming shipment was to start back in August. Isn't that fun? My emails all remained unanswered and there is no phone number provided anywhere include their website or Facebook.

    So, I guess it's a scam after all, certainly looks like one right now, and I would not recommend anyone doing preorders. It doesn't seem like you would lose too much but why do it in the first place?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Looks Like a Scam

    • Aug 18, 2015

    They also banned me from their Facebook page and many other backers that asked very legitimate questions.

    It is August and they have only sent 2 units to Beta testers as far as we can tell, when originally they were supposed to go to 12. Those 2 cannot say anything about the product - good or bad - which is a complete red flag.

    My opinion is that they will simply buy the devices already available on Alibaba that look exactly like the StoneTether and ship those. They cost $5 each, and the manufacturer gives you the app - so they basically will walk away with about $240,000 in profit if they get away with it.

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/2014-Bluetooth-wireless-key-finder-bluetooth_60299855880.html?spm=a2700.7724838.35.1.D6FGYu

    A complaint has been filed with the DA and the FTC (the FTC is now going after Kickstarter campaigns - they found guilty one company that while not setting out to be a fraud was unable to produce the product and found guilty - exact same thing happening here.)

    Check out the Facebook page "StoneTether Kickstarter Fraud Victims": https://www.facebook.com/groups/stonetether.kickstarter.fraud.victims/

    (Seeing that the units are still not in production, I haven't used the device according to this website's terms. No one has.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Glad I didn't order more

    • Oct 24, 2015

    This is money I'll never see again. There have been promises and excuses and reschedules but let's be honest, we're never going to see the product. I backed StoneTether on Kickstarter on December 15th of last year with a shipment date of April. Every month or so there has been an update email along the lines of “due to unexpected [insert excuse], the shipment date has been moved back to [insert date at least a month later than previously expected], but it's coming”.

    Where they used to respond to questions about shipment, there's now no response and all comments about it on their Facebook page are almost immediately deleted.

    There has been no proof that the product actually exists and I'm giving up hope that I'll ever see the two tethers I ordered and paid for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Another Kickstarter scam.

    • Poland,
    • Mar 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After over a year of waiting thare are no more updates about StoneTether on Kickstarter. Creator, Del Marth (in person of Ehrien Marth) is still login on Kickstarter but not answering any comments. It was a pricey lesson for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • USA,
    • Mar 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's been over a year since the Kickstarter funding period ended, and they have yet to deliver anything except false promises and dubious claims. Del Marth LLC was founded by Ehrien Marth, Mike Walton, and Brandon Conant. They have continually pushed back delivery estimates, treated backers very rudely, posted videos that are questionable in terms of demonstrating functionality. They have yet to demonstrate the 500 ft. claim, which is the only feature that makes StoneTether unique. Anybody thinking of purchasing a StoneTether should be very wary.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    StoneTether, Del Marth, Ehrien Marth.

    • UK,
    • Mar 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a backer on Kickstarter. The videos looked great but other similar products keep coming up for a few dollars. We were fooled into thinking that only production was needed. They only wanted $15,000 USD, got over $344,000, but are over a year late. Worse still, no updates, no reply to our questions, they blocked their Facebook comments. Beware of this fraud.

    I can't believe Kickstarter is allowing this to happen. No communication for over two months and the product is over a year late. I'm trying to get back my $145 but it is so late that PayPal won't refund me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Apr 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    OK, I was a backer and this was my first ever Kickstarter. It will likely be my last. I ponied up for 10+ of the StoneTether because I thought it would be cool. Sadly, the idea is still cool, but the product doesn't exist.

    They finally came out with a "give us more time" after a year of working on this. Hmmm. Let me get this straight. They had massive over subscription but now they are looking for more funding so they can finish the design? Right. I feel humbled (aka ashamed) to have participated in this whole thing. The $150 odd dollars won't kill me.

    I'm guessing the creator meant well but I'm not about to put more money after bad. If the company got 10X what they expected and have run out of that before producing a product, well, this doesn't pass the B.S. test.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total Failure

    As of March 31, 2016 all they can do is apologize and state that they're “Looking for more funding.” I understand there are failures. Whether it's Kickstarter or Indiego, you take your chances. So far I've gotten 5 out of 6 items I backed on Kickstarter. Just use common sense and don't invest more than you can afford to LOSE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam!

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Handed over the money over a year ago. After constantly emailing them to have an idea of when I would receive the StoneTether units, they keep saying it will be released within the next couple off months. I've given up now. Don't invest because you'll never see your money again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for StoneTether!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review