About StopIRSDebt

If your wages are being garnished or your property is being levied due to unresolved, delinquent tax debt, StopIRSDebt promises to help individuals and businesses find a resolution.

To accomplish this, StopIRSDebt tells us they employ a team of in-house attorneys, tax preparers (CPAs), and Enrolled Agents, who can assist with tax return planning, mediation, appeals representation, negotiation, and more.

In business for over 15 years, StopIRSDebt tells us they’ve helped thousands of taxpayers and businesses manage IRS collections, while resolving millions in tax debt. Additionally, because they have a high volume of clients, we’re told they can deliver affordable rates.

When it comes down to it though, is StopIRSDebt really here to help you “map out the best option to get you tax relief”? Are they affordable? Are there other businesses that offer the same services?

Let’s start answering all your questions by taking a look at how tax problems manifest in the first place.

How Do Tax Problems Occur?

In contrast to property tax and sales tax, income tax is applied to all financial income, whether generated by individuals (e.g. wages, salaries, commissions, and investments) or businesses.

Each individual and business is required to file a tax return each year, which helps determine if sufficient taxes have been paid. And the duty of monitoring and collecting these taxes falls under the jurisdiction of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Now, if you or your business fail to file taxes, the IRS can forcibly make you repay what’s owed—plus any fees, penalties, and interest—by garnishing your wages, placing a lien on any property you own, and even prosecuting you to the fullest extent of the law.

The good news is that, even if you or your business haven’t filed taxes in years, the IRS is often more lenient if you come forward and attempt to negotiate a settlement.

This can be handled on your own, or you can hire a firm like StopIRSDebt to do all the heavy lifting for you. Let’s learn more about how the process works.

How Does StopIRSDebt Work?

According to the StopIRSDebt website, the process works over four steps:

  1. Consultation – Here, the company will discuss your options, assemble an initial plan, remit paperwork (including forms 8821 and 2848), and assign your tax relief representatives.
  2. Investigation – After submitting your power of attorney, StopIRSDebt will contact the IRS to stop any collection proceedings, order a master tax file, and begin assembling your case.
  3. Mediation – During this step, the company will negotiate with the IRS to determine your overall liability, prepare a final resolution once an agreement is reached, and submit the resolution for approval.
  4. Resolution – Finally, you tax matter will be resolved!

What, exactly, does a resolution look like? We’ll talk more about this soon, but every taxpayer’s resolution will look different, although common outcomes include a reprieve against collections, having penalties waived, reducing your tax liability, and more.

Throughout the process, we’re told that StopIRSDebt’s team of attorneys, tax preparers (CPAs), and Enrolled Agents will use a “world-class customer tracking and work-flow system” to make sure you always know what’s going on.

Important note: Although StopIRSDebt employs tax relief attorneys, they specially note that this is a “general term used to describe an attorney with experience in tax relief matters, such as negotiating an IRS installment agreement or preparing settlements, and does not imply that the attorney has a specialized tax law degree.”

Similarly, they point out that StopIRSDebt is only a tax resolution firm and not a law firm.

Based on these services, as well as the relief they could provide, how much can you expect to pay with StopIRSDebt?

How Much Does StopIRSDebt Cost?

Like most tax relief services, StopIRSDebt doesn’t talk about any specific fees on their website, since prices can vary considerably based on your specific circumstances. For example:

“… simple tax returns can cost a few hundred dollars each, simple tax resolution cases can be between fifteen hundred and twenty five hundred each, and more complex cases can cost in the thousands.”

With this in mind, based on what we read in online customer reviews (more next), it seems most paid somewhere between about $1,500 and $7,000.

StopIRSDebt tells us they offer a free evaluation of your options, as well as interest free financing in certain instances.

For more information, you can give StopIRSDebt a call at 888-978-6747, or fill out their online application.

Given these prices, are StopIRSDebt’s customers finding a lot of value in their services?

Are There Any Customer Reviews for StopIRSDebt?

Considering the fact that Los Angeles-based StopIRSDebt has been in business for 15+ years and claims to have helped thousands of clients, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

On the Better Business Bureau, StopIRSDebt had an A+ rating and 9 closed complaints (as of 9/29/16). Most of these referenced a lack of results, despite the fact that some claimed to have been contracted with the company for as long as three years.

In each of these instances, the company seemed to respond promptly and own up to their mistakes when applicable, while actively searching for a solution.

On TrustLink, StopIRSDebt had an average 5-star rating based on 81 customer reviews. There, common compliments referenced positive outcomes, a smooth process, and great customer service. There wasn’t a single complaint listed on the site.

Finally, StopIRSDebt had 3 reviews on Yelp and a 1-star average rating. However, there was some concern that all three reviews were generated by the same individual (they also closely mimic a complaint filed with the BBB).

Are other tax relief firms receiving similar feedback?

Are There Other Tax Relief Firms Like StopIRSDebt?

If you type the phrase “tax relief” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that there are perhaps thousands of different companies like StopIRSDebt.

We’ve even reviewed many of the most popular tax relief firms, including options like Optima Tax Relief, 911 Tax Relief, and Tax Defense Network.

Here on HighYa, these services seem to come with lower-than-average ratings from customers, based on complaints that you can do all of the same work for free, and a lack of results for the money.

Does this necessarily mean you’ll experience the same with StopIRSDebt? Let’s answer this question as we come to a conclusion in the next section.

Will StopIRSDebt’s Services Deliver a Solid Value?

Want to know the truth? You might be able accomplish many of the same results as a tax relief firm, simply by contacting the IRS directly and speaking with an agent.

You can even download the same forms provided by StopIRSDebt directly from the IRS’ website (we provided links above), and all things being equal, they’re likely to provide you with the same offer as you’d get with a tax relief firm.

Obviously, this path might be ideal in simpler tax-related cases, where you owe less than $10,000 in back taxes, haven’t skipped (or been warned by the IRS) multiple years in a row, aren’t being prosecuted for your tax negligence, and so forth. Why?

Ultimately, there are only a handful of options available if you owe back taxes, including installment payments, an Offer In Compromise (where your debt is settled for less than what’s owed), waiving accrued penalties, waiving collections due to economic hardship, and letting you off the hook because of the actions of your spouse.

In a lot of instances, more than one of these options could be implemented.

What’s the point? If you have a complicated case or owe a lot of money, the fact that tax relief firms like StopIRSDebt promise to handle your case from start to finish can take a lot of stress of your shoulders. But if your case is fairly straightforward, you might be able to accomplish much of the same yourself.

In either instance, be sure to keep your expectations realistic. After all, it’s fairly rare for the IRS to completely absolve an individual of their back taxes, so if this is what you’re expecting from the get-go, you might end up disappointed.

» For Further Reading: Tax Relief Companies: A Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Consumer Reviews for StopIRSDebt

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT hire this company!

    • Hastings, NE,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We paid $4200 for services, and nothing was done. They lied and said they stepped in and negotiated a settlement with the IRS attorney for our 2013 audit. I called the IRS attorney and she verified that she NEVER talked to them and that she would not have. We were told we would get a breakdown of services and that it would take 5-7 business days. We waited 3 months and nothing. I sent emails and have called and got no response from them unless I post a bad review and then when I asked for a response in regards to the refund options they wanted to discuss. NOTHING!

    Ultimately we ended up paying the IRS $13,139.88. We were told they were going to handle our 2013 and 2014 audits and amend our 2015 and 2016 taxes. None of this was done. We will continue to post negative reviews until they do the right thing and give us a refund because they DID NOT do what they said they were going to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not hire these people!

    • Cumming, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people have a tendency to forget who the CUSTOMER is in their business dealings. If you call their offices, you will be put on hold indefinitely. Any correspondence sent to you via email is sent at an obscure time, so it may be a day or two before you will discover you have received an email from them.

    They settled my case with IRS with no prior notification to me. I received a letter from IRS informing me of this settlement; at a monthly rate I cannot afford, after being told by their "salesman" that I would dictate the amount I would pay on a monthly basis back to IRS. The reason I cannot afford this monthly payment is because a few weeks prior to me receiving this letter from IRS, they contacted me via telecom and informed be the amount I owed IRS was more than they had initially figured, and that I owed them an additional $1500. Not knowing they had already settled my case, I agreed to the $1500 paid over a 6-month installment. They were very quick to get the contract for me to sign and return. My original contract payments totaling $2500.00 ended on 10/18. After contacting their "accounting dept," which after numerous attempts I never got through to them to work out an additional payment agreement I could afford, a very rude young lady named "Susan" got on the phone and informed me "you CAN afford to pay this, we have you financials and we know what your expenses are."

    After this second installment, I will have paid these shysters over $4,000.00, not including the extra $300 I paid them to do my 2017 tax return. DO NOT contact these people to settle your IRS issues, hire a tax attorney or accountant at half the price and get REAL results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Paid $2500 to StopIRSDebt - $100 difference in payment to the IRS is the only change!

    • Fort Valley, GA,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t recommend this company! They took my money and never called me in 3-4 years. I had to do all the communication and paperwork. I was already on a payment plan when I paid them to help lower my balance. All they did was lower my payment by $100 and did nothing in negotiating a lower balance. They promised to get penalties eradicated, but I have not heard anything from them. Communication is zero with this company. I called, and they would tell me I needed to send in my paperwork again, it was always something I needed to do, they would say. Each time I called them, they would have changed my case manager.

    I never got a report of what was going on with my case. I started getting my check garnished when everything was supposed to be on hold while they negotiated my case with the IRS. I am due a refund for the length of time it took to do nothing (3-4 years). And I had to do all the work myself. They never contacted the companies that I reported to make my case to verify amounts owed. I had to email everything twice, and then they said I needed to fax it. What a stressor!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I was very disappointed in StopIRSDebt. Do not use them.

    • New York,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away! I contracted with this company last September, and I was paying $250 a month for ten months. Nothing was accomplished, and after they deducted $2500 from my account, they told me that I needed another $4000 to continue. Total scam! I contacted the IRS and was able to do my own, very favorable installment plan, and I’m in the process of doing an abatement reduction. You do not need to hire this company, a complete rip-off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company

    • Winter Garden, FL,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ALERT.

    Please don't hire this company if you own the IRS tax.

    I paid this company three times over $10,000 to have them help me with my tax issues. I ended up with a FINAL NOTICE. A Notice of Intent to Levy and Notice of Your Rights To A Hearing.

    I got held up at the airport yesterday because of this. I will put in details of what happened to me with this company. I will also bring it up to BBB.

    Please do your research and do read the reviews about this company before doing business with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I feel so much better.

    • Los Angels, CA,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hadn’t filed in three years and owed for two more. My mailbox was getting flooded with notices from the IRS demanding payment. I called StopIRSDebt and spoke with a really lovely woman from the legal team. She walked me through the process and assured me I would be protected. Once I hired them, they were hands on the whole time. Sending me updates via email and text. My case manager calmed me down every time I would have a panic attack. They filed my returns, and now I’m debt free. It was a great experience. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best results!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just want to start off by saying that this company is by far the BEST. I went with any other tax resolutions firm prior to StopIRSDebt and they totally screwed me over. They took my money and my time and never gave me any results. These guys helped clean the mess THEY MADE in less than half the time! My husband was anxious at first, but I’m happy we stuck through! I am so thankful for the team; they resolved my case. I called in and spoke to them weekly at a point even daily! I want to personally thank Christina Ariana and Jade! They really went above and beyond for me and my husband. I am extremely thankful for guys!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Highly satisfied!

    StopIRSDebt.com helped me resolve my back taxes by setting me up an affordable payment plan and even got some of my penalties removed. They guided me every step of the way and sent me text messages with updates. Extremely satisfied with their services!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Thankful for the help!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried another company before and they never returned any calls and they never explained what they needed from me. StopIRSDebt was exactly what I was hoping for and more, very helpful and understanding. I had no clue what I was doing and the debt kept me up at night. Thanks for helping me through this process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Complete waste of time and money

    • Washington,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a complete scam. I was on a payment plan prior to contacting StopIRSDebt.com. After five months, they were "successfully" able to negotiate a payment plan in the exact amount I had prior set up. So now, I am five months behind on payments to the IRS where I would have been on my own. And I'm out the amount of money I sent to these scam artists. They have terrible communication after the first initial contacts to get you signed up. It took three emails and four phone messages to finally hear back from someone. I DO NOT recommend this company. It is a waste of time and money only to set you back extra time and payments towards your actual debt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Rich L.

      I totally agree with you. I hope more people read this and stop using this scam company. They are taking money from hard working people.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for StopIRSDebt!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review