About Storenvy

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Established in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Storenvy is an online social marketplace where independent merchants can sell their unique, creative goods to consumers through their very own storefront.

As a storeowner, Storenvy provides you with an opportunity to become an independent merchant in as little as five minutes, and to reach thousands of shoppers. This can be accomplished in two ways:

  1. Personal Storefront – This acts as your very owner corner of Storenvy, where you can customize to distinguish yourself from your competition. Your unique URL would be www.MyStoreName.storenvy.com (or a customer URL, as we’ll discuss later), and is where customers can purchase directly from you.

  2. Marketplace – The Storenvy Marketplace acts as a curator for all products on the site. For example: Imagine that you sell handmade scarves. A shopper types in “handmade scarves” into Storenvy’s search field, which returns your products, as well as those of your competition. The shopper would then have the ability to purchase through Storenvy, or click on your site’s link, and purchase directly through you.

According to TechCrunch, Storenvy’s goal is to become the Amazon for independent storeowners. Currently, the site claims that more than 40,000 items are added each week from over 50,000 stores, and that 50% of sales come directly from the marketplace storefronts (versus directly through custom the storefront). Despite the large amount of traffic on the site though, Storenvy currently has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau.

How Storenvy Works

When shopping on Storenvy’s site, you can browse through thousands of products in Marketplace categories such as Clothing, Health & Beauty, Tech Gadgets, Accessories, Books, Jewelry, and much more. If you find a product you like, Storenvy gives you the ability to “Envy” the item, which is essentially adding it to your Favorites list.

After this occurs, you will then be able to see all the other shoppers who have added it to their Favorites as well. As a product accumulates more and more “Envys,” it will eventually appear on the Popular page, which further increases its ability to gain more “Envys.” This helps promote the product, and to increase its sales.

If you decide to set up a storefront, it will be completely free, and you can be up and running in as little as five minutes. However, you will be required to have a Business or Premier PayPal account, as this is the only payment processor Storenvy uses, for both store owners and shoppers alike.

As such, all sales are subject to standard PayPal fees, which are currently set at $0.30 + 2.9% per transaction. Also, storeowners will be fully responsible for processing their own refunds via PayPal, including associated shipping charges.

After signing up, you will receive your own custom store located at www.YourStoreName.storenvy.com, or you can use your own domain name for an additional $4.99 per month. Some of Storenvy’s custom features include:

  • Control all of your product’s attributes, including pricing, images, descriptions, etc., with an unlimited product capacity.
  • Customize and “brand” your store to differentiate yourself from the competition.
  • Order tracking – view and manage all incoming orders.
  • Create/offer discounts.
  • View your store’s stats using Storenvy’s built-in analytics.
  • Mobile device and tablet-friendly site.
  • Fans can shop directly from your Facebook page.
  • And much more…

Does Storenvy Make Money from Your Sales?

According to Storenvy’s website, they do not currently charge any fees for use of their service, with the exception of the $4.99 monthly fee for a custom domain name (e.g. without the .storenvy extension on your URL).

However, the company claims that as of early 2014, they will begin taking a set percentage from all sales that occur through their Marketplace. In addition, Storenvy states that they will also be implementing a Marketplace Revenue Share early next year, which will act as an incentive to drive even more sales to your storefront.

Pros:

  • Shoppers can browse through thousands of products curated by independent merchants.
  • Feature-filled Custom and Marketplace stores, all of which are free of charge.
  • Easy setup.
  • Unlimited products.
  • Storenvy has the potential to be utilized as a marketing tool for your Marketplace store.

Cons:

  • 15 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and an overall D rating.
  • Different refund policies that shoppers are required to constantly check on, depending on the vendor they purchase from.
  • While Storenvy claims they have a zero-tolerance policy toward scams/dishonest merchants, there is a window of opportunity between when the scams appear on the site, and the time they are shut down. During this time, Storenvy has no control over these types of transactions.

Read 60 Storenvy Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great products

    • Jun 20, 2015

    The selection of products are nice. Just have to be careful when buying just like with eBay. If you do not get any contact back from the shop after 3 weeks, I would get a refund through PayPal.

    I have bought squishies with SuperCuteShop.com and they arrived perfect condition and were quickly shipped. I also received a confirmation on the tracking number with an email from the store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Storenvy for independent merchants

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    Storenvy is a great platform for independent merchants. It works like eBay, where each seller handles their own products and ships their own items. If you're having trouble with an order, you can reach out to the seller directly. If you have not been able to reach the seller, you can contact Storenvy support at support@storenvy.com and they will help you get in touch with the seller.

    All payments are processed through PayPal and covered by PayPal's 45 day guarantee, meaning if you don't receive your item as long as you file a dispute within 45 days you will receive a refund.

    I've made 13 orders from Storenvy sellers in the last year, and only had an issue with 1, where the store owner issued me a refund.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great. Using as a seller.

    • Jun 23, 2015

    Storenvy has proven to be a fantastic website to build my business on and the interface is so easy to navigate through and your store front is very easy to customize.

    As a seller I think this is the perfect platform to start off your business - everything is free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful experiences on Storenvy, Very Legit

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    After a few years of selling on Etsy, Storenvy is a Breath of Fresh Air.

    It is a wonderful venue, with a caring and responsive Admin, who actually help when you need them.

    Sales and purchases are easy, with a smooth interface to PayPal. They generate invoices and packing slips for the seller/buyer...and provide easy shipping notification where you can personalize your message to the buyer, as well as add in tracking info. And they offer all of this, without taking away the sellers control over their shops or shop policies.

    Honestly, our shop set up, sales, and purchases have been FAR easier on Storenvy.

    While we have been there, we have seen fairly consistent changes. Their tech team and Admin have been working steadily on adding new features which actually make things Easier for the sellers and buyers. They listen to us, and work with us.

    Customers can create a profile, or check out as a guest, which is very nice. They can also buy from multiple shops within Storenvy, and only need to check out once. And it all goes smoothly.

    I understand that with every venue there will be some shops that are not the best, and things will happen, as the negative comments here show. But keeping in mind that these comments are about individual shops, and not the venue itself, I would say I am sorry that these people had a bad experience, however, there are 30,000 plus individual shops. Most of which are wonderful, with professional and caring owners.

    Some things I would suggest to all buyers, regardless of where you shop, Etsy, Storenvy etc..

    *Know what you are buying If the photos and description are not clear, chances are, you may not receive what you imagined the item would be.

    *Understand the agreement you make when purchasing from individual shops Check that the shop is legit. Do they have their FAQ filled out? Do you agree with their Shop Policies? Because each individual shop Will have their own policies, for returns, refunds, shipping, etc. Storenvy does not set these, the shop owners do.

    These things are important, no matter which venue you choose to frequent, or buy through.

    I would say though, that giving Storenvy as a venue, a negative review because a few customers did not understand what they need to be aware of, or don't understand the difference between the individual shops, and the venue, that seems like poor judgment.

    I actually did go look for the BBB rating for Storenvy, and found nothing so I am curious where this D rating information came from? I don't see any links to the BBB rating here in this write-up? If an entire venue, with many shops is going to be spoken of in a way that negates them, I would like to see the information source.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Happy

    • Bay City, Michigan,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I am an Etsy veteran that has recently opened a store on Storenvy. I shopped around quite a bit before deciding on this venue. As a shop owner, it seems very clean and well run, easy to use and friendly.

    Please understand that when you make a purchase on "Storenvy" you are buying from an independent shop owner. They should have clearly defined policies/descriptions/photos in their shop. If you have questions, ask before you make a purchase.

    If you have an issue with a seller that can't be resolved, please use the proper channels to contact Storenvy.

    Ethical store owners don't want unethical shops there either, it makes us all look bad. Plus, we shop there too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful Service

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I have purchased a couple of items from Storenvy.com through an independent seller (Bagjunki) and I never had a problem. The invoice of my payment was sent on time, my purchase usually arrives less than a week from its posted that it has been shipped and I'm also sent an email to rate the customer service of my purchase. I enjoy shopping there and plan on selling my crafts on there as well. The seller/merchant is not the marketplace host, there is a difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great seller and store linen

    • Jul 4, 2015

    Bought a linen cloth from the seller Fabric1Yard. Very good and high quality. I recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The best!

    • Akron, Ohio,
    • Sep 19, 2014

    I sell on here and I bank! it is way better than eBay in my opinion!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I am using it as a seller, along side an etsy shop

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    First off, I want to say that I found this site while searching for reliability of Storenvy to retailers. While the reviews are of concern, I am not sure how there could really be scam stores as described above (because PayPal handles billing and they are reputable).

    I have a shop for USA made Christmas cards on both Storenvy and Etsy. I chose to have stores on both sites for several reasons:

    1. Etsy is fairly well known and came highly recommended but Storenvy is their clear competition.
    2. Etsy charges me a listing fee plus a selling fee for every sold item. Storenvy does not charge fees.
    3. Etsy has many stores so I am crowded where Storenvy has fewer stores so it is easier to stand out (without paying for Etsy's internal advertising which doesn't get me ads on Google.
    4. I planned to test and compare, then eventually go with only one store.

    I've had the two shops open for a few weeks now but there are many reasons to like Storenvy better...but the above reviews and the two outages. On black Friday the site was down due to high traffic, and the following Friday it was down for maintenance at 5 pm. For this reason I am considering moving all my efforts to Etsy but I will likely still keep my Storenvy shop open. They have a lot of potential but they have a long way to go. I'd keep them, but they aren't ready to be the go-to ecommerce mall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Buyer

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    Personally, I would recommend Storenvy as a buyer. However, being that there are independent shops, a buyer should be aware of the shop and verify the shop. Use the shop if they have an eCommerce Store, Amazon Store, eBay, etc.

    If the shop sells on Amazon, eBay, or Sears, normally the shop is legit. Amazon and eBay are very strict. If the seller sells on any of these platforms listed, it's more than likely that they are dependable.

    If you are not sure, then email the seller and ask questions to see if they sell on either of the above platforms and how long they have been on there, as well as their own eCommerce site.

    There are great products and great sellers. However, with all things, there will be crocks in every industry. They are out there. Just educate yourself prior to purchasing on any eCommerce site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Both good and bad experiences

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • May 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had my Storenvy account for 5, maybe 6 years now. I mostly go on there to browse but have made a few purchases. Most were good experiences, being given what I ordered in good timing and in good condition. There was one purchase where I received an email from the seller saying they don't use the site anymore and that they were canceling the order. The problem being lack of refund.

    Overall, it's just like any other marketplace site, you have to be careful who you buy from.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 60

Write a Review for Storenvy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review