About SunRun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Consumer Reviews for SunRun

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not the savings we were told

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We met with our rep February 2017, and we were led to believe we would only be paying our SunRun fee and a $15-20 APS hook up fee. We were also told of the excessive APS rate hikes that would be happening over the next 20 years.

    Obviously, we can't see into the future, but what I can say is that the last three months alone I have paid more for the two companies than I did just with APS. Our APS bill has gone up every month since we started with SunRun and it is way more than the $15- $20 hook up fee.

    Also, once you commit to the panels and have them installed, you better hope you don't have a problem. Our panels were installed in April because we wanted to have less electrical bills for summer. Due to a permitting problem on their end and a solar box they installed that did not work, we didn't get to use our solar until the end of August. Once their panels are up and rebates are paid, you are at the end of the totem pole. They did offer a gift card, which after a couple of months of calling and emailing, we finally got.

    The fear of electricity bills no one can afford is definitely their top sales tactic. Now we are stuck for 20 years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thank you for your review Jennifer. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your SunRun system. We certainly understand your frustration. It is very important to ensure that you are not using more electricity than your pre-solar usage because we cannot account for the future increase. We would like to research why you believe you are paying more. Please contact us at 1-855-478-6786 so we can look into this together!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent company

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    SunRun was great through the entire process. Everything is working perfectly and I’m getting clean energy every day. Now that I have solar I wish I would have done it sooner. I like the monitoring system SunRun has. I would strongly recommend doing business with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thanks for the shoutout Rob! Power forward!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Did not get what we paid for

    • El Dorado Hills, CA,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have owned our system for five years. Our true-up this year was $3,000. Last year it was $2,000. Our yearly usage has been about the same.

    Because we own our system, we are now told that we are on our own to figure out issues. They told us we should have our panels cleaned but this may or may not help out in our situation. They told us PG&E was to blame as there were power strikes on our system.

    I told PG&E this and they immediately came to our home with a tool to look at the electrical input to our home and others in our neighborhood. I walked with the technician as he did his research. All was good. I asked SunRun for their report and they did not have one.

    We are now playing monkey in the middle and this is very very frustrating. All of our appliances, heating and A/C, and water heater are 3-8 years old. We cannot figure out why our bills are so high and no one can help.

    I would highly recommend NOT using SunRun because they leave you once they have the sell!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Throttling down my power?

    • Dec 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did a lease/purchase agreement with SunRun in October of 2013. They had a third party install a $3k system on my roof. I got 12-255 watt panels, a Sunny Boy converter, and all the hardware.

    This system put out more electricity than I used in the first three years. I was guaranteed 3700 kilowatts per year, and if the system did not produce 3700 kilowatts, then SunRun would pay me 14 cents for every kilowatt that I had to purchase from the power company up to 3700 kilowatts in one year starting January 1st to December 31st every year for 20 years.

    The first 3 years, the system put out 4500 kilowatts. per year. This year, as soon as my system produced 3800 kilowatts, I started getting intermittent production from the solar system. I noticed that a few days when the sun was out shining bright that my system would be producing absolutely zero watts. I called SunRun and they said they had been monitoring the system on their end and from what they see the system has already produced the guaranteed kilowatts for this year and there was nothing they could do!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Suckered

    The employees only tell you half-truths and lies. Be aware of who you are really dealing with. Trust no one here! Try another company; there are others, just keep looking and stay away from SunRun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you guys ever plan to install solar, please stay away from SunRun. They make promises, but don’t deliver at all. They are rude and unprofessional. When something goes wrong, they will not take ownership or responsibility for their mistakes. They will give you the run around when seeking for help and will pass you around like a hot potato.

    Let me explain my story.

    About 6 months ago, they installed solar panels on my house. On the installation day, SunRun arrived at my house very early in the morning and was very rude to my pregnant wife. They immediately tried to rush her out of the house quickly because they said they were on a time constraint. They didn’t even allow her enough time to feed our son, change his diaper, apply his eczema medication, or even prepare a bag (medication, food, cloth, and diaper). She felt uncomfortable by how they were pressuring her, so she left the house immediately. As a result, my 2-year old son who has eczema, scratched himself the whole day at the babysitter’s house.

    That same night including the next 5-7 nights, it was hell for us. He scratched himself to the point that he started bleeding, which resulted in stains on the bed sheet. We had to wake up almost every hour to apply medication on him because of his itching or else he wouldn’t be able to sleep. Typically, he wakes up about 1-2 times a night because of the itching, but in this case, he was up almost every hour for almost a week straight. This is not acceptable at all!

    In addition to that, they did not do a good job installing our solar panel. SunRun installed the solar panels and damaged my roof, but they won’t take any ownership or responsibility at all. I have neighbors and contractors who witnessed the damage and SunRun didn’t accept their statements. I had to hire my contractor to perform an emergency repair to the damage because it was raining that week. SunRun also claimed that nothing was wrong with the roof when they came back for inspection. However, prior to their inspection, I informed them that I hired my contractor to fix the damage because it was raining that week. They even stated that I did not provide any documents for my claim. What a lie!

    They gave me the runaround and continued to pass me around like a hot potato. One of their managers wanted to meet me and my family in person to personally apologize and compensate us. We scheduled a date, and he never showed up. My wife and I waited the whole day for him. No calls or anything. The next day I called the manager to inquire about him not showing up and he tried to deflect my questions. Then, he became irate over the phone.

    I’ve been back and forth with SunRun for about 6 months with no success at all to this day. I would never want anyone to go through what I’ve been through with this company. No one deserves to be treated like this, and I would hate to have to hear another story like this one. I know it’s not going anywhere with them, so I’m here asking the public for help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor billing, customer service, collections, contract transfer departments

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's been 6 months now, and to date, we have no resolutions to our billing invoices. Transfer contract agreement discounted rate not acknowledge by SunRun at all. They actually thought that we don't check our bills and that we will just pay whatever they print. Customer care department pretends to open a case, asks for proof, then loses it on purpose. Billing and collections departments suck even worse.

    No one at SunRun cares, so people, don't give them your time or energy! What you will be guaranteed to get are stress, headaches, sleepless nights, worn-out energy, wasted breaths, tire tongues, numb mouths, grinding teeth, and death by SunRun! Stay away from this company. Sales people are "sales." Sales people are trained on how to verbally say something that almost sounds true. Customer service department does not know anything about what the field does nor cares. They will pay attention once all of their customers stop paying their incorrect bills. So STOP paying your bills until SunRun holds up their end of the bargain! It's justice!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    SunRun, bad idea, very bad

    • California,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would like to share a recent email I sent to SunRun; it describes most of the problems I am having.

    Hi Mike,

    No New issues, just the same ones that Horizon Solar left me with, after their shotty install job.

    Still have a ghost in my Electrical system, about every 2-3 weeks I have to replace something electric, This week it was the light switch for the back porch lights.

    3-weeks ago it was an outlet in my daughter's room, her computer and other items plugged into that outlet stopped working, after some testing we ended up replacing that outlet, again I believe this is the 3rd time we have replaced that outlet since the installation.

    The Back porch light bulbs, never last more than a few days before they blow out, these are brand new 5000 hour fluorescent bulbs, they last an average of 8-10 days before needing to be replaced. The front porch lights don't work half the time when we turn them on. And the last electrician you guy's sent out here said I had $20-30k Twenty to Thirty Thousand Dollars in damage to my Electrical system, Funny how you guy's just stop talking to me when he reported that, And you sent the account straight to collections instead of trying to fix the problems .... Did you think that all these problems were just going to fix themselves ? Maybe you though I was just making all of this up ? Until your Electrician came back with his report, you probably did think I was making all this up, but even after all of that, Instead of Trying to fix the problems you just sent the account to collections... Did you think we were just going to pay the bill and live with the Damages ???

    Your Electrician also said I have something called Ground Leakage, he had measureable current in the grounding rods for the solar system, So if your system Really is working Like you guys say it is , It looks like all of that power is going right into the ground, and I am paying for it !, Before Solar I had a $200-$400 dollar Electrical bill, Now I have a $250-$600 Electrical bill EVERY MONTH, and I have a $212.59 Solar payment TOO...

    Edison has told me on multiple occasions that this solar system is not working correctly, Your own Electrician told me this system is NOT working correctly, and I have thousands of dollars in damage to my Electrical system, I still have high, Electrical bills Even Higher than before we had solar ? and a $212.59 Solar bill on top of that ?

    My Roof still leaks, I have sent in several pictures of this Multiple times. My Heater still doesn't work and it's almost winter AGAIN !!! Hot tub was never Reinstalled, now after 3 years of sitting it needs to be replaced, Pumps, lines, valves, all damaged by freezing conditions here in the winter. Backup generator was never installed, Inverter still makes terrible noises that we can hear thru the whole house, Since the day the Second Inverter was installed over 2 years now, the inverter has only recognized 35 of 36 panels, When I told Horizon about this, they referred me to Sunrun, you guy's are supposed to be monitoring this system and you can't see that ? Sunrun should have scheduled a service call to fix this issue years ago, but they didn't, and neither did Horizon Solar.

    A few days ago, the same day we replaced the back porch light switch, the pool pump stopped working , I can only imagine that it has something to do with all of the Electrical problems we are having... The pool pump is going to be over $1000.00 one thousand dollars to replace, So if I find out it was related to the issues I am having with the electrical system I will have to Charge the replacement and installation of that, to you guy's also.

    All I am asking is that my house be put back together the right way, Damages fixed, Appliances Replaced, Safety Restored...

    I am not asking for, the thousands of dollars in lost wages, from the 28+ days I had to take off of work for Horizon Solar to get the system installed.

    I am not asking for the $2,000 that it cost us to get all the information recovered from the hard drives, that were fried during the installation, so that we could get our Small Business up and running again.

    I am not asking for the Hundreds of dollars I have already taken out of my pocket for, Switches, Outlets, Bulbs, Tools, lighting fixtures and Appliances.

    All I am asking for is Everything to be fixed once and for all, to be completely Honest with you, You Guy's ( Sunrun ) have not even made an attempt, to fix anything, you sent one Electrician out here, he gave you some bad news, and now NOBODY wants to own up to Taking Responsibility for the Damages Done to our house.

    (By the way I am a Residential and Commercial inspector for a living, incase you are wondering why I see every little bit of Damage, Because it's my job...)

    Hey here's an idea, Maybe you guy's should hire me, to do your post install quality assurance checks...

    Best

    John W

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 25, 2017

      David Nguyen

      Consumer Affairs, BBB, Yelp, Facebook (also your page and Sunrun's page).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Set guidelines before home visit

    • Benicia, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a short presentation at a Costco. The representative knew very little about the system but was there to set up appointments or take numbers for their sales reps to call.

    He had no idea of the price but was able to locate my house on Google Maps and assure me that I had the ideal location, southward facing.

    Rather than set up a date, I agreed to let them contact me in the future under the following condition: the company had to identify themselves because I had caller ID and will not answer "Toll Call, Unknown Caller, Wireless Caller," or any call other than one that identified the business.

    Over the next week, I must have received at least 10 "Unknown Caller" calls, each from SunRun, which left a recorded message and a number to call to set up an appointment. Finally, I got an email saying the same thing.

    This gave me time to check several review sites like this. No one had a good thing to say!

    My suggestion - don't give the opportunity to enter your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Customer be very wary of this company - bad customer service!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had to take over a contract from the previous homeowner and we closed escrow on August 23rd, 2017. We received a bill on Septemeber 6th, 2017 for services prior to August. They tried double billing us including charges for the previous owners. I called to get it corrected, but NOBODY would call back over several weeks. They reported almost $715.00 due on October 1st with no explanation and no response.

    I then tried calling, several times, I sent several emails and no response no matter the avenue to contact them. I used the customer service email, and their return response reports a turnaround time of 2 to 3 days? Well, that was weeks ago. I called and got through to one. I explained not paying until I get the issue addressed and certainly not someone else's bill.

    Then today I got an email finally with a corrected amount now four weeks later, and it states from their collection department for past due amount? Seriously? I had to laugh at that point.

    If you are contemplating service with SunRun, BE VERY AWARE of the lack in service; you won't receive any response once you sign. If I were you, I would stay clear of this company. Little contact except for a bill. I have to say the worst customer service! I happily provide my information with this review. I couldn't even give a rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No after purchase service

    I'm on my third year with SunRun solar. My initial purchase and setup of solar service with SunRun were great, and I was a strong advocate of solar in Nevada, especially thru SunRun. However, into my third year of service now, and I suddenly lost all solar production. I was not aware of the loss for over two weeks, even though SunRun had assured that if there was a loss of production they would detect the loss immediately and get a service tech out to fix it. I discovered the loss, not SunRun, and notified them and they assured a tech would be out within two business days to get my production back online. I just talked with SunRun customer service, and after a week they informed me it would be another five days before the tech would be able to fit me in.

    Customer service indicated that there was just one tech for the state of Nevada, which does not lend itself to timely service. Like I said, SunRun was great to start but don't expect anything in the way of system monitoring or service after purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for SunRun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review