About Sunrun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

54 Consumer Reviews for Sunrun

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  48
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding, A+

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve read some other reviews and needed to leave one of my own as I’ve had an amazing experience with LGCY Power and Sunrun! My consultant was knowledgeable and professional; he was able to answer all of my questions as well as follow up with me with any concerns or questions I had during the installation process. He came back out to visit with us after the site survey and walk us through the final designs, which matched the preliminary designs but had a change in the inverter location to be closer to my electrical panel, so we had to sign off on that. Dan made everything a walk in the park for us while helping to save us money! I highly recommend this business and have told all of my friends and family as they have an amazing referral program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Run from Sunrun

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company uses deceptive business practices to solicit your business. They lure you in with promises of a locked-in lower electric bill, threatening that your current energy suppliers rates will be constantly increasing in the future years. They make the deal sound even better by offering to install and maintain the system at no cost to you.

    I’m here to tell you it will be a huge cost to you! Contrary to Sunrun's claim that current rates will be increasing, I have since found there is no evidence to support that. Sunrun takes all of the tax credits and rebates for themselves, so your system is very cheap for them. You receive very little of the savings as most is paid to Sunrun. I’ve read horror stories of how they promise to maintain the equipment for 20 years, but when their system damages your roof, you are required to pay the repair!

    My electric bill was on a yearly cost average plan of $217 monthly. When Sunrun took over it was supposed to be $168. I get a $168 bill from Sunrun each month, but I also get a $7.50 each charge and a $12.50 bill from NV Energy. Upon switching to Net Metering, NV Energy demanded the balance on my account of $1381 due immediately! Since the summer had just passed, my balance was high. The bill usually balances itself out over the fall and winter when usage is less, but instead, now Sunrun keeps the excess. I was not prepared to pay $1381 upfront and now my utilities are being threatened shut off.

    Sunrun had offered me $700 in Visa gift cards as a sign-up incentive, which I never got and conveniently they have no record in their system.

    When I call or write the Sunrun customer service, they offer almost no recourse or resolution. Apparently, even if I shut down the system and don’t use them, I am still responsible for paying them $168 plus $7.50 a month for the next 20 years!

    This company is horrible! Do not use them! I more than regret using them and entering this 20-year nightmare! I have saved nothing! This has already cost me a bundle of money, time and frustration! Save yourself and run from the sun, run!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    It's a trap. Unprofessional, uncaring, only hungry to get their panels installed.

    • Far Rockaway, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My roof was inspected before solar installation and was approved for being structurally good even though it was a 19+ years old roof. There was no word or advise to repair or replace the roof before solar installations. My roof never leaked until Sunrun installed their solar panels. I complained upon the first rain and leak after installation and continued to complain for 10 months. Sunrun had it checked by their staff but was unprofessional enough to make a legal response that documents any reason why they would fix or not fix the damage triggered by the panel installations. I had to keep on calling to get any feedback from Sunrun. After 10 months all they sent me is a bill of $2,000 to remove and replace the panels to enable me to repair/replace my roof. The worst part of Sunrun's unprofessional business is keeping me in limbo for so long preventing from fixing my roof while the damages intensify because the roof cannot be replaced with their panels on it. All Sunrun is hungry for is getting their solar in place. They do not care for any client. This company needs to be dealt with one way or the other and very soon from allowing this kind company to go on unchecked while incurring unnecessary financial wastes to property owners, all to Sunrun's gain.

    Sunrun has a lot hidden from its customers that is why it is requesting for the fraudulent terms and condition under review comments to be checked. This is a legal contract. The terms of use for this review is not valid under the court of law for the purpose of this complaint. Sunrun is not transparent and is very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2019

      John D.

      Hello Victoria,

      I am running into the same situation right now and would like to know if you have been able to get anywhere with this issue.

      Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Save $16.00 a month

    • Litchfield Park, AZ,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been wanting to go solar for a long time. The Sunrun salesman seemed to be very knowledgeable. We entered into a 20-year lease. That was supposed to save us hundreds a year. We save about $16 a month. Due to him not putting us on the correct program, which is no longer offered by the utility company. They initially gave us $700 credit for the first year, but that seems to no longer be happening to make up for their mistake. I wish I had never used Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Long down time

    • California,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware that if anything goes wrong with your system, although they will fix it for "free," your downtime could be months. My inverter stopped working after four years, the technician came out to confirm and told me it would be 2-3 weeks to get a new one ordered and installed. Meanwhile, I'm without solar power and my PG&E bill goes way up.

    Calling back Sunrun after 3-4 weeks I'm now told it could take up to 2 months to get a new inverter because each one is customized. Meanwhile, I continue to pay Sunrun $180 a month to lease a nonfunctional system. I will not be compensated for the time offline by a reduction of my lease bill unless the yearly average of solar energy generated goes below their guaranteed minimum, then they will compensate me at a rate of about 6-7 cents per KWH. Meanwhile, I'm paying PG&E up to 20 cents per KWH for the upper tiers while my system is down.

    Because of the above reasons, I would not recommend Sunrun as a company to purchase or lease a solar system. Check around, read the fine print. Also, many companies have a flat lease rate. Sunrun's lease agreement goes up 2% a year for 20 years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointing

    • Buckeye, AZ,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very disappointing. I bought my house three months ago and have been paying on the solar panels. I was so excited to have solar panels to reduce the cost of my electricity. However, I am going into my fourth month of owning this home and the panels are producing well but still have yet to be connected.

    The first person I talked with stated I would be credited once the panels were connected and they sent a person out five weeks later. After a new meter was installed, I called last night and although the solar panels are still producing, I have no credit on my electrical bill because they are not reading right.

    In the meantime, I have blocked off two hours every month to talk to a SunRun agent who will give me lip service with no follow through and a lot of empty promises and I continue to pay the $114 every month for the lease agreement.

    I wish I had never ever gotten myself into this mess. I will have to seek legal counsel which will be another two to $3000 when it is all said and done. I’m going to also contact the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Hello, thank you for your communication. Your utility bill will vary based on how much electricity you are using from the utility. The system produced what we expected but you may have used more electricity from the utility than you have before. This would cause you to pull more electricity from the higher tiers, and result in the increased bill.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Valley Center, CA,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    IT started off well, with our questions being answered and installation went okay. The first bill after installation was hundreds of dollars. Sunrun came out and repaired the "brain" of the battery. The next bills following were still in the hundreds of dollars. Keep in mind that Valley Center is a hot and sunny place, with rarely cloud cover. Now they say that our electric car is sucking all the energy that is produced. We told them that we were getting an electric car up front and they said we had enough panels for it. The options we are now faced with are getting more panels, changing the tier time that SDG&E provides (we did) or plugging the car in at midnight for 6 hours. Seriously?! Who gets up at midnight to plug in their car? My husband goes to work at 3 in the morning, so that won't work. We fee so RIPPED OFF!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun

    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bad experience with this company about a warranty and services offered to me, 20 years of warranty, bumper to bumper. I call for service and they say I need pay $95 an hour for the service. What warranty is that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Hello Ivan. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. When we review the system and the production looks great, there is no need to send out a tech. Sometimes customers want to have a healthy system inspection done, so we can have a tech go out at their request. It is $95, if you would like for us to schedule a healthy system inspection please call care 1(855)-478-6786.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Savings promised but not delivered

    • Hawaii,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Aloha,

    My 86-year-old father, after hours of discussions and presentations, chose to pay $6,000.00 up front to "buy" this solar system, although we would not receive any storage batteries. The option of paying $0 upfront but approximately $200.00 a month for 20-25 years was very unattractive, even though we would have batteries.

    After taking out a loan to pay the $6,000.00, which we have yet to pay off due to not seeing any savings on our electric bill, he went through some folder all of signing the contract online electronically, and the system was installed within 3 months.

    We sat back, having to pay $200.00 a month on the loan, and waited for the savings to start showing. It NEVER did go down, just UP!

    When I contacted Sunrun, thinking the system was just not working even though the website dashboard stated we were producing, I was informed we had NOT purchased the system but paid $6,000.00 in rental fees in advance for 20 or 25 years, and Sunrun owned the system! Also, they sent out a nice man who said the system was producing just fine. When I requested a printout of the hourly production, I was informed they "can't" do that. All they could provide was a pretty website that "showed" my daily/weekly/monthly/yearly production. With all those options you'd think hourly would be a snap!

    So in the end, after multiple emails, I have to trust them that the system is producing, that it's our AC that is causing the electric bill to NEVER go down, though we are using it much the same as always, and that they have verified the system is producing as expected when compared to our neighbors.

    My father says he feels like he was sold Shanks Mare and his $6,000.00 is gone for good. I am incensed, I feel like Dad is being taken advantage of, and I am pondering contacting a lawyer.

    So, I have only one major thing to say. DO NOT use Sunrun!

    Incensed and disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thank you for reaching out to us, Charles. We certainly hate to hear this. We want to help with your situation and initiate our goal of providing a positive customer experience. Please call customer service and we can help address your concerns, 1(855)-478-6786.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Run from Sunrun

    • Kailua Kona, HI,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought our NEW home with Leased Solar from Sunrun, yet, the system isn't working! We were told that leasing the system that Sunrun will "maintain," yet, if you call Denver, Colorado where the "855" toll free phone number is, they want to charge $100 to even come out with ONE technician named **** [Sensitive information redacted by staff] on the Big Island on the Leeward Side in Kailua Kona, Hawaii in FIVE weeks who was taking a "vacation" during that time? It appears in Denver they check out the Solar System, then claim it's working, so if you beg to differ, they send one stoner to your house! He doesn't even want to climb on the roof nor can he even fix it. Instead, he is USELESS, and to see dozens of Sunrun vehicles driving to sell their Solar Systems when there's only ONE technician who doesn't appear to be mechanically inclined, shame on Sunrun. With high bills of $350.00 a month when in fact it's written on the contract it's $22.00 a month. "Alo Ha!" Joke's on us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No cost savings yet

    Bad experience from the start. I signed a contract last July, which wasn't installed until around February this year. First red flag. It got turned on in March. Second red flag. The sales rep promised $750 in credit due to the fact I was paying anywhere from $350 to $450 a month on a standard rate plan while waiting to be hooked up. I fought with the company for months to get my credit. Finally, they gave it to me.

    Now for the parade. I received my bill for August and it was $350 in addition to the $135 that I pay Sunrun. I know all of my neighbors that went with them are experiencing the same thing, not the exact same dollar amount of course, but the same increase in electric bill's. I wonder if a lawyer could help me out of this contract. Scary to think I have to be with this company for another 20 years and pay the same if not more because of using solar. Ridiculous. I have tried to resolve this situation, and fingers just get pointed from the electric company to the solar company back and forth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thank you for your communication. This is not the Sunrun norm, we are happy that our customer care team was able to get you taken care of in regards to the credit. The Sunrun invoice will have the total amount produced. Your utility bill will show how much excess energy was pushed to the utility grid and stored as a credit. Your utility bill will also detail how much additional energy you needed to purchase from the utility.

      The sum of the total production from the system and the additional amount purchased from the utility is your total usage. Unfortunately, Sunrun does not have access to the utility company's internal billing and metering, so we cannot tell you how much energy was stored as a credit with them. If you have questions please feel free to contact customer care at 1(855)-478-6786.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review