About Sunrun

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 20, 2014

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.


Read 78 Sunrun Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  66
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun Denver did a great job, loved working with them

    • By Byron F.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sunrun Denver was great, no problems, did a great job, highly recommend.

    We had contacted a couple of other companies and canceled the contract with one. Then found Sunrun at Costco.

    Their price was comparable to the other companies we contacted. I was very impressed with all their upfront information and no pressure.

    Our system was installed last year in the late fall, the installation was completed quickly and the biggest delay was waiting for the power co to install the meters to allow the system to be enabled. Just as the system was designed to do. After the winter our electric bills have been basically zero. The design was for 4.5 KW, panels used were Solar-Edge Technologies. Cost was $17,750.00 plus taxes and received a $1000 rebate from Costco and realized a 30% tax credit. Our salesperson was Kayla Andis, she was very good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't live up to contract

    • By Kenneth T.,
    • South Easton, MA,
    • Jan 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have been having a problem getting the panels reinstalled after roof repair been since June 4th, 2019 and they still do not work right. Panels took until October 2019 before even being reinstalled, and even after many calls still do not work right. The employees did a hack job removing them and the installation has been nothing but a stall job. I would not recommend anybody dealing with Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun is horrible

    • By Clayton M.,
    • Colorado,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am beyond appalled at how terrible my experience with Sunrun has been, I would never recommend this company to anyone. My bad experience started with the deception from my salesman, Fred Martin. Fred advised that my electrical panel was old and would possibly need to be replaced to work with the system. If replacement was needed Fred stated that with a system as large as mine Sunrun would cover the cost of the new panel. Fred also said that because I was an Xfinity customer I would receive a $1000 gift card about 3-4 weeks after installation.

    The first site surveyor advised my electrical panel would need to be replaced for "safety reasons" and that Sunrun would cover the cost to replace it. A second site survey had to be completed to address an issue with the first survey. Two surveyors came out this time, both advised that it was very likely Sunrun would replace my electrical panel due to safety concerns.

    Final design came through and the electrical panel was not going to be replaced. I contacted Fred Martin and Project Coordinator Frederico Nunez regarding my concerns that I had now been told several times that my electrical panel was a safety issue, and it wasn't being replaced. Fred told me he would look into this and didn't get back to me in a timely manner. Frederico told me that Sunrun could install one and charge me $3000, but they would not cover the costs as Fred told me. Fred spoke to his boss, Eric Lovely, who agreed to provide an additional promotion due to the "incorrect" information that I was given and to avoid losing my sale. In addition to the $1000, Eric and Fred agreed to provide an additional promotion of $250 promotion to keep the sale.

    Fred advised that I would receive $1250 of the promotion three weeks after the install. My solar install was November 1st, 5 weeks later I still had yet to receive the promised promotions. I emailed Fred about this with no response, I called him many times without an answer or a call back. Fred finally answered the phone one day, told me he was in the grocery store and that he would have Eric look into why I haven't received the promotions yet and have to call me back. Fred never called back. A week later, still not hearing from Fred, I called him many more times without an answer. Finally he answered, he called Eric on a conference call and asked what was going on with the promotions. Eric stated he didn't see any promotions on my account and none had been set up.

    Eric sent me an email showing he just added the promised promotions, 5 weeks after install on December 3rd. He advised they could take 4-6 weeks to arrive. I responded with a complaint about my entire experience with Sunrun, I asked Eric to please look into another way to get my promotion to me before Christmas. My response went to Eric, Fred, and Frederico and was sent on Wednesday. I never received a response from any of them. I followed up the next Monday asking if any of them planned on responding to my email. Late Monday night Frederico responded that he would look into it but the promotion typically takes 6 weeks to arrive. Fred and Eric never responded to my emails.

    I have since emailed who I was told is Eric's boss, Patrick Kent, who never emailed me back. Fred used lies, deception and lacks integrity, all to make a sale. Eric and Fred have horrible customer service skills and are extremely hard to get a response from, they don't return emails or calls appropriately.

    We're now almost 7 weeks after install, I have still not received any of the promised promotions. Today I just learned Sunrun should have reached out to me on November 18th to have me sign a meter agreement to get my solar turned on, which they never did, so now we're behind on having the meter installed as well. Fred has called me saying he would see if the promotions could be expedited and never got back to me.

    This is by far the worst purchase experience I have ever had, and I strongly encourage everyone to PLEASE NEVER consider Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Solar is great, Sunrun not so much

    • By Claudeth F.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We leased our panels from Sungevity in 2016. The panels have performed as expected. Here in NYC, we don't have an electric bill during the summer, generally starting in June. And, during the winter, the panels offset the electric used. Whoop Whoop. HOWEVER, April of 2019, we noticed that we were getting roof leaks, particularly in one room. We went on the roof and didn't see anything that would cause the issues. So we took down the ceiling in that room and discovered that the insulation was soaked and molded. The in-ceiling wires were rusted. When the panels were installed, we were told that the posts would go into the joists and not the deck. Every area where the post screws were in the deck leaked. We went back on the roof and saw that the pads around the post installs had lifted, the silicone sealant was only about an inch wide. The post screws had no sealant at all, so as the water went under the pads, it drained right into the post screws and into the insulation. We contacted Sunrun, after much back and forth, they sent out an insurance adjuster, this was in August. We were assured that the matter would be resolved quickly. kept reaching out to them to see what was the cause of the delay. Sunrun actually gave me the contact information of their insurance partner, because they didn't understand the delay. It is now November. NYC has experienced its first bomb cyclone and about 3 heavy rain events, and the temperature is dropping. Sunrun and its insurance partner have gone silent. Good, product is great. HOWEVER, even good product needs repair and Sunrun's lack of customer service shows that it does not stand by its Customer Service claims, its warranty or its promises.

    Is solar good, ABSOLUTELY. Sunrun, not so much. I would absolutely recommend solar installation to a friend. But not Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They tell you anything to get their panels on your roof!

    • By David H.,
    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon signing their contract, Sunrun's rep told us any piece of roof with a panel on it would be taken care of by Sunrun at no cost! Now it's time to put a new roof on, they tell me I must pay a $95 an hour removal, and a replacement fee. Had them for approx 4 years, haven't done any services, and are filthy. Not sure how often it needs servicing, but I was also told they would come out and cleaned. Never happened. Read contracts, and never trust their reps!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    STAY AWAY FROM SUNRUN!

    • By Rick S.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where to start...Let me say Sunrun intentionally took advantage of my desire to have solar offset my power bill and my lack of knowledge on kWh.

    Sunrun intentionally set me up with a discontinued system that is too small to make a significant impact on my power bill after telling me it would offset my power bill by 97%. The power company verified it right after the system went live and I got a bill that was HIGHER than the previous year without solar. The power company told me that the system was too small to do what Sunrun claimed.

    Sunrun installed a discontinued solar system on my house that by their own "Savings Analysis" is 114% Too SMALL to make a significant impact on my power bill. They said they would offset my power bill by 97% but when I only saved $86.00 my first year, I knew they lied to me and took advantage of me and they made me wait a whole year for that "savings analysis' just to tell me that they will not do anything for me.

    They forged my signature and initials on their 20-year ever-increasing monthly lease agreement...and now they do not want to upgrade the system, add another solar system, add a battery system or reduce my monthly lease rate. I talked to a Customer Care Manager and many more over the phone. Not one of these people were willing to do anything for me and denied every request for consideration I made.

    Sunrun and every person that works for them are deceitful underhanded lying predators that intentionally take advantage of their customers with a 20-year lease agreement.

    WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT TRUST ANYONE AT SUNRUN, YOU WILL GET BURNED!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from Sunrun

    • By Allon A.,
    • Nevada,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't do business with Sunrun. The installation was lengthy and was done wrong, the power company had to come THREE times until they gave us the permit. Sunrun owes me $500 for fees I had to pay an electrician for their discrepancies, it has been months and they have not reimbursed me. They are an arrogant company with ZERO consideration. Monthly payment by credit card is assessed a $7.50 penalty. You can either send a check by US post (who does that anymore?) and not get penalized OR you can do an automatic bank draft. The problem is that you have no say when they withdraw the money, they are unwilling to change the date to meet their customer's financial timing. I say, screw them, go with Tesla or anybody else. DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH SUNRUN, I WARNED YOU. I found NO redeeming qualities in my dealing with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience!

    • By Brian C.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far this has been one of the worst decisions I've made with a new home. The savings quoted were very inaccurate. Not to mention I am paying almost double what I would have normally paid without the panels. First you pay Sunrun, which is around $80/mo for our home. Then you also pay Think Energy for whatever you use on the grid if your panels don't produce. So you pay double the bill. I haven't saved anything, it cost me more now. I called in to ask why in the summertime, with no trees around my home and panels facing where the sun shines on them pretty much all day...I am still not producing over the amount needed. Conclusion, I may not have enough panels and will have to resign a contract to have more added! This wasn't stated on sale, I was told they would just add more after a year if needed. Not to mention Think Energy sucks as far as CS goes, and that's who Sunrun partners with. My balance with the previous electric company was supposed to be paid for switching over, and it never was. Now I'm hit with an unpaid balance that I didn't find out about until months later! STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun salesmen don't listen to their customers

    • By Mark J.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Look at the history since I signed up with Sunrun. I'm paying way too much to TEP and Justin who works for Sunrun said that if they have to install more panels that it would require another contract with Sunrun costing me more money every month. I told Nicolas Mendoza when I sighed the contract that I was installing A/C in the spring of 2019 and that the last year's TEP electric usage won't be accurate, talking to Tami Overhage with Sun Solar said he didn't mention it in his paperwork. I have a machine shop in my garage and now I am afraid to turn them on. I used them on a daily basis until Sunrun installed the system. My wife is totally handicap. Now that it is starting to cool down I hope to take my wife out with me while I play in my garage. But again how much will it cost me when I turn on my welders, air compressor, parts washer, etc. I am my wife's 24/7 caregiver and we are on a fixed income so I hope you can see why I'm so concerned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun - AWAY!

    • By John M.,
    • Roselle, IL,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No one and no thing is perfect, my philosophy has always been that things break, people overlook something, no big deal. The real measure of a company, person, or service is how they deal with the problem. Sunrun has failed in this area beyond miserably. Everything was signed and ready to go on 2/14/19, the salesman touting how great it will be to be building credit during the long late spring and summer days in advance of our midwestern winters. System was finally installed on 7/10/19 and final inspection and turn-on of 8/6/19. Since that date, according to the information provided by their downloadable report the system has not produced watt number 1. I have called my "project coordinator" multiple times (8/16, 8/19,8/20,8/27.8/28,8/29, 9/2,9/9) and have gotten voice mail every time except on two occasions both times I was instructed to "reset" the system - to no avail. And only once was my voicemail returned but not to the number I requested. Also left one rather upset message to my salesman asking if he could intervene but no returned phone call or no courage. As of this date (9/14/19) still not working or a returned phone call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Run fast

    • By Robert K.,
    • Lincoln, CA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Run, don’t walk away from these liars. Took 18 days after reporting systems failure for a service person to respond. Took an additional 15 days to get parts. In the meantime they expect you to still pay for non-existent service. The point of contact at Sunrun never returns calls or emails. Stay away from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review