About Sunrun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

40 Consumer Reviews for Sunrun

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare experience

    • California,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We starting a project of getting solar installed with Sunrun in our new home shortly after we moved in in October 2016. Through our time working on this project, we have run against a lot of confusion, errors and overall frustrations. There are many solar companies that we have talked to, but we decided to move forward with this company due to their connection with Costco. We have always been impressed with Costco and figured a company working with Costco should have a similar customer focus and professionalism. I would like to go through a few of our many frustrations that we have experienced in working with Sunrun.

    We started the project in November and didn't get everything installed until September 22nd. They had initially told us that the panels would be installed by April-May of 2017.

    The communication between our projects leads and the owners of the home was very poor.

    When we set up our project, we set it up originally off of a partial electric bill. Once we realized this, we asked to increase the size and quantity of the panels on our project to get closer to our actual energy usage. The employee who was at the house then set it up as two different projects on the same property. One project being the original plan (as the original project was already moving through the process). The second project being the additional panels required for the second plan. At some point, they realized they could not do it as two separate projects, so they canceled the separate projects causing us to get an automatic email notification that our project was canceled. In order for us to find out what happened, we had to call them.

    The canceling of the projects caused an issue with the financing process, which we as the customer had to resolve through a series of phone calls and a series of additional paperwork.

    We were told originally that the roof repair work would be covered in the installation. A while into the project we were informed via email that we would have to pay an additional amount to cover the overage. I called to find out more and was assured a number of times that it was covered. Additional emails came stating we needed to pay, leading to an additional phone call where they stated that we indeed needed to pay extra and that the extra could not be financed.

    When they came to change out the electric panel we were not informed that our power would be turned off for the whole day until the contractors arrived that day. The communication was buried in a few PDF files attached to an email.

    No one asked if we wanted to keep the old panel leading to the contractors to throw it away without our permission.

    After installation, the contractors left us with very limited information about the system and how it worked, etc., causing us to have to follow up with the company to get the manual and other instructions for our new $50,000 appliance.

    Meanwhile, there were several different people that would contact us for various things, and there was no continuity of contacts. Further, there are four owners of this property, and we asked them numerous times to copy all of us on all email communications which did not happen.

    After the installation of the system was complete, our pump on the pond was not working. We thought it was an issue with the pump, so we called someone out to repair it. Come to find out it was not a problem with the pump, the problem was that the panel was not appropriately hooked up to the pump. The screw in the panel box was not connected to the wire. This was causing a spike in electricity usage and causing the pump to not work. In order to determine this, we had to call out a pump guy and an electrician to tell us that Sunrun screwed up the connection. The electrician was able to fix this issue, but this cost us extra time and money.

    Now this month we got our electric bill showing our connection to the solar. At first, it looked promising, until we got a second bill in the mail. I called up SDGE and found out that Sunrun had only hooked the solar up to our water pump electric meter and not to the house. So now not only am I still paying for my HIGH electricity bill on the main property but now I am paying for my solar panels that were supposed to help lower the cost of my electricity. Apparently, the wrong application was filed. A dual application needs to be submitted to connect the solar to both the house and the water pump meters. We did inform a few of the people that we worked with over the last year that there were two different electricity meters on the property.

    They have sent us to collections for a bill we never received and a bill that their customer service has no record of.

    All in all, these are some of the biggest issues we have had through this process. There are other issues that were minor but still should not have happened. I have to say that in the end we have not been impressed with Sunrun and would not recommend them to anyone else. We are very disappointed with how this entire project was handled. In my opinion, this experience was not worthy of its connection with Costco.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff

    • California,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start by telling you never lease from Sunrun. You're not just paying almost 15 cents per kilowatt more in your 5th year, but also the customer service is the worst. In my case the mash that is wrapped around the solar panels is defective, that let birds live between my roof and the solar panels. The bird poop is always falling from the roof in my pool. Since the solar panels are leased, Sunrun should be responsible for repairs. Sunrun refused to repair it.

    I don't recommend Sunrun to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 25, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thank you for reaching out Amir. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunrun. Feel free to private message me your contact information and I will be more than happy to have a Specialist reach out to you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    They won't take their equipment

    • High Desert California,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My father leased the equipment in 2012. Sadly two years ago he passed away. I received the house and contacted Sunrun about his passing and they stated that I am now responsible for the lease. I told them that I am not responsible and that I do not wish to continue with their service. They will not take their equipment. They said the only thing they can do is deactivate the equipment and keep it there in hopes that the next owner will want to take it over.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for reaching out to us Michael. We certainly hate to hear this. We want to help with your situation and initiate our goal of providing a positive customer experience. Please contact our customer care department 855-478-6786. A representative can assist you with your concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun is a ripoff

    • Spartanburg, SC,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Sunrun for almost two years now, and I am paying more on electric than when I just had Duke energy for a provider. I was told I would save 40% on my bill and would on paying Sunrun their charge.

    When I call to complain they say I am overproducing and they don't understand it. I have 48 panels on my roof and the only one making money is Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 7, 2018

      Rafael Guillen

      I currently own a solar company in Los Angeles. I am looking to use SunRun for lease agreements and full prepay leases. You want to look at what your contracted cost per kilowatt hour is with SunRun, then look at how much power your solar system is supposed to produce on an annual basis (there is a guarantee on production), then look at how much power you were using, and what the cost of power from Duke energy is.

      If you use a lot of power in the summer and your summer bill was more expensive than the winter, what will happen is your winter bill will seem higher than your summer bill, but the payment is fixed, meaning it's the same in the summer than it is in the winter. You have to look at what you're paying for power on an annual basis, as opposed to a month to month basis. I hope there is no rip-off. I now that SunRun will not countersign an agreement unless there are savings, so this complaint seems to more of a misunderstanding than anything else.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Run from the devil

    • Oakdale, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t do it; you're signing your next 20 years away. Everything everyone has said here is true; lies, deception, no savings, and if your roof leaks, good luck. I’m sure there are customers with good experiences, but that doesn’t make up for the bad ones, since there shouldn’t be any. I mean, you don’t go in thinking, I want to get screwed for 20 years, you're doing it for a positive experience, period. It has changed our financial future and plans to retire, it shouldn’t change lives negatively. Shame on them, shame on me for signing, but they lied to get that done. I’m surprised there isn’t a class action lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for your communication Steve. It is disheartening to hear you believe you were misled. We understand this can impact your overall experience with Sunrun. It is important for us to be honest in our approach, and provide an agreement that is transparent and easy to read. Please contact our customer care at 855-478-6786 regarding your concerns.

    • May 20, 2018

      Steve Juanes

      I have already done that, and I was told that I'm out of my warranty period, which was only 7 years. That makes no sense if your panel causes damage to my roof. So, I had to hire a roofer, who then took pictures for me of a previous repair. I have never had any repair work done to my roof. What they told me is it looks like the solar installers knocked a few shingles off during installation, and covered it up with tar instead of replacing the shingles.

      I suppose that's in the contract too, where if you damage my roof during install, you can repair it as you see fit. Who knows what else will happen down the road and now I'm bound by this BS lease. Things will be taken care of in the end, one way or another.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful customer service

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My system has not been turned on yet so I cannot attest to the savings just yet, but the fact that I was able to get a solar system on my roof and not pay a penny for it is amazing. I normally don’t deal with door to door guys, but Wade was very nice and did a great job answering all my questions. I know I won’t be saving a ton at first, but since it was practically free I don’t really care; savings are savings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thanks for sharing Marge. We are so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with our customer care team. Our goal as a company is to be customer obsessed. We are so excited to welcome you to the Sunrun family. Power Forward!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • Buckeye, AZ,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total BS. The sales people come at night and promise you will be able to sell your house. It couldn't be further from the truth since nobody wants your solar contract, and they want 60 grand to buy it! Please, if you want to ever sell your house, do not do it. Tell these people to go away! If you don't believe me, give it a try, then call me when nobody will buy your house so I can say "I told you!" Just trying to be helpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for reaching out James. We hate to hear this has been your experience. The service transfer process should be a simple one, we would like to get a better understanding of why this was not the case for you. Please contact customer care at 877-478-6786, a representative can assist you with your concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't leas these in snowy areas

    • New York,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Little did I know, and nowhere does it say, that a dangerous amount of snow can avalanche off the panels and damage whatever is below. The snow recently violently fell off the panels and ripped my side door awning off the house, which had been securely attached. At least it wasn't a person under it when it happened.

    SunRun says they are not responsible, will not fix the problem, but will send a quote so I can pay for "snowguards" that could cost in the $2K range or more. I wonder if they might be affiliated with this company that they want to refer me to. My homeowner's insurance would cover the awning repair, but not the snowguard fix, and since the lease is in force, I cannot get rid of these dangerous panels for something like 20 years.

    Do not get this product if you live in a region that has snow unless you want to invest an additional several thousand on these snowguards, which, who knows, may not even work. This information should be disclosed in the lease and/or transfer of lease agreements.

    Additionally, it took three phones calls and at least several hours of my time to get the automatic billing to go through correctly, which based on the other reviews here, has not been resolved. They kept telling me the routing number was wrong or I had input something wrong, which was not the case. Thereis/was something wrong on their end as far as setting up automatic payments from bank accounts, but of course, you the consumer has to deal with the problem, calling over and over again.

    It was finally fixed after several months of billing, but anyone thinking of getting these, especially in the Northeast, should think again and again and try to find a product that doesn't leave your person and property vulnerable or a company that will at least take responsibility for fixing what I would describe as a design flaw.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    We are screwed

    We are screwed! We have a 20-year lease with SunRun. We had our roof leaking after installing the solar panel back in March of 2017. They sent someone to repair the roof, but then it started leaking last week. This time we are told that the leaking is not their problem. We have been told to pay SunRun to remove the panel, then we need to hire someone else to repair the roof so that we won't void the warranty. So we need to pay twice to fix our roof.

    Be aware that in the contract it stated that the roof is under warranty for 10 years, and now they just decided that it is not their problem. So, we saved the planet, we saved SunRun, and we screwed ourselves. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 4, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for your contact, Meow! We understand issues like a roof leak can be incredibly aggravating! Please contact customer care at 855-478-6786, and a representative can discuss your concerns further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Rip off!

    I had my panels installed in June 2017, and they were not functioning. I had to go outside every day and physically turn the panel on, otherwise, it would not work. I called them so many times and kept getting the run around from them. Finally, they came out and replaced faulty part almost 5 months later. I kept getting billed from them meanwhile receiving regular bills from DW&P. I had to pay DW&P and SunRun expected me to pay them as well! I ended up paying twice as much as if I had just stayed with DW&P as my only provider.

    Ridiculous. This cost me so much. This company sucks. Either look for another solar company or don't even go solar, especially if you're thinking of going with this company. SunRun sucks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 4, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for your communication, Anna. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your SunRun system. We understand service issues can be incredibly frustrating. Please contact our customer care department at 855-478-6786 and representative can assist you with your concerns regarding your system.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Do not use!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had solar panels (lease) installed in June of 2017, and every month my electric bill has been still significant ($100+ per month on average). Well, it's winter here and we don't have A/C running, nor our pool filter, and I just received a bill for $212.00 from the utility, so my payment for electric in the winter, including SunRun, is 340.00! My last house I used a different provider and we NEVER had an electric bill.

    Bottom line (and I promise you this is all the truth), DO NOT use them! Customer service brushes you off, and the management does the same! Horrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 26, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for your communication Scott. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your SunRun System. Our goal is to create a planet run by the sun but that should also include some savings. On your anniversary we’d be happy to complete a savings analysis for you to see if indeed, you are not saving. Please contact us 1-855-478-6786 (ext 2), so we can discuss this further.

    • Feb 7, 2018

      Anna Galdamez

      Scott, I completely agree with you. I am going through the exact same thing as you with SunRun. They SUCK! They are a rip-off!

    • Feb 12, 2018

      Scoty

      SunRun informed me that they shorted my system by 14 panels for the last 2 years. It talked to them from July 2017 to January 2018 before they put them on. Then, they tell me that the last two years I overproduced what the guaranteed. How is that possible if I had 14 panels missing? Just trying to get out of paying me for their mistake. Never did get savings on my electric bill. Actually, I paid more. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Customer service is terrible.

    • Feb 13, 2018

      Meow Keen Tan

      We are screwed! I have a 20 years lease with SunRun, we had a roof leaking after the install of the solar panel back in March 2017. They sent someone to repair the roof but then it started leaking the last few weeks. This time we are told that the leaking is not their problem. We have been told to pay SunRun to remove the panel, then we need to hire someone else to repair the roof so that we won't void the warranty. So we need to pay twice to fix our roof. Be aware that in the contract it stated that the roof is in warranty for 10 years, and now they just decided that it is not their problem. So we save the planet, we save SunRun and we screw ourselves. Thanks.

    • Mar 2, 2018

      jose j marquez

      SunRun is a scam. They offer so many discounts and savings which are not true, they are only a convenience for the company. I got screwed up too. I have leaked too. It is hard to speak to customer service, I am on my way to get legal help, and try to fix a problem instead. I have to save because I have extra bills on top.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review