About Sunrun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

61 Consumer Reviews for Sunrun

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  53
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 61
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Costing me more money monthly with solar

    • Copiague, NY,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They were quick to sign us up, telling us we'd save over 20% on our electric, but now that we have the panels it's costing me over $60 more monthly than I paid with their solar panels. I contacted them, stressed my disappointment and am awaiting a call back. I told them they could either lower my monthly lease payment or come and take their equipment off my roof because if one more month goes by without resolution, I'm stopping the automatic payment from my checking account. I'm sorry I ever went along with this company's service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it, just run

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of the most dishonest solar companies. They over evaluate and provide a system larger than your needs, overcharge on cost per kWh and will not assist in making changes to your system or contract so it is a fair deal for both parties. Trying to contact anyone is almost impossible and when customer service does contact you, as they have in an inquiry I recently made, they ignore you for any follow-up requested. Zero stars for this company, if possible.

    Update: I contacted Sunrun customer service rep after several attempts to get a hold of anyone went unanswered. Victoria E. reached out January 31st. Advised they would do an analysis and get back to me February 7th, and after nearly two weeks afterward and no update, I again reached out to Victoria on February 20th. An analysis on my savings over 1-year was sent showing a $10/month savings. Given the fact that I am charged a minimum monthly delivery charge by PG&E of $11.07 for February 2019, I am actually losing money. I asked Sunrun to consider reducing my kWh cost of .27 or remove panels to make it more cost effective. I also asked for an explanation of why I received a $150.00 reconciliation charge which clearly shows my system was not designed properly. Here is the kind response I received from Victoria.

    "At this time, with the system currently saving you from paying a higher PG&E bill, there is no reason for us to adjust the kWh rate. We can do another analysis in a years time and if it is determined that you are losing a significant amount of money, then and only then will we re-evaluate that kWh rate. Sunrun will not be removing any panels from your system, the system remains intact from the time of installation and there are no changes that happen with the design/layout after that point in time. I know these are not the answers you are hoping for, but as it stands right now we will continue to uphold the original agreement, and we can look into this matter again after a full year has passed."

    You decide if this is the company you want to do business with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam

    • Centereach, NY,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In December 2015 I signed a 20-year lease with Sunrun Inc. My home is not suitable for solar since it is surrounded with tall trees twice as high then the home. I hade no knowledge and experience with solar energy and trusted Sunrun. The system was turned on in April 2016 through the summer.

    In September 2016 the problem started. I contacted Sunrun customer service, a so-called Tier 3 A customer service representative Mr. Benjamin Thompson assisted me until April 2017. Several courtesy credits were given, two trees were cut and the cost was a split. Unfortunately, this did not solve the problem since this Solar Lease was for another 19 years. Mr. Benjamin Thomsen informed me in April 2017 that he is moving on in his carrier and if I need further help to contact Sunrun. Which I did when the same problem started again in September 2017. Since that date until now I have spoken to about 8 different customer service reps at Sunrun without any results.

    In April 2018 I hade another large tree cut, which cost me $1500 and to my understanding the production of the panels can't supply the power as Sunrun promised.

    I just wanted to add on that the trees on the southwest side of my house belong to my neighbor so I can't cut those trees down.

    Sunrun is advertising on their website and on their marketing stands/boots at Home Depot or other major retail locations as 20% savings.

    Prior to getting solar my electric bill was 30-50% less than what it is costing me now for electricity.

    ​I have SOLID DOCUMENTATIONS PICTURES AND PROOF for my allegations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Good experience

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with Sunrun for 9 years now. There were no issues on the install at all, and the panels have saved us money overall. There have been months where we didn't get as much electricity as promised - and we did get a rebate. My only complaint is that when they send workers over to figure out why they aren't producing, we get no warning. So when we heard workers on the roof, and didn't know why they were up there - well, that was a bit freaky! But overall, I got what was promised, and I have saved some money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Horrible misleading service and advertising

    • Waianae, HI,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had our solar system installed in May 2018 and the rep after all the calculations reassured us that our electric bill will be lower than before. And now we have a $195 monthly bill from Sunrun and exactly the same electric bill as before, absolutely no changes. This company is a scam. Never use their services and don’t believe them. I will contact BBB and other consumer protection agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Keeping promises made

    • Fallbrook, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was assured several times that if my roof leaked after the installation of the solar panels, that Sunrun would come out and repair the roof. The technicians, installers, supervisors, etc. that were on my roof before and during installation never mentioned that I needed to replace the paper below the tiles on our roof, so now our roof has leaked in our a dozen places onto the brand new carpet we just installed. All these men walking on my roof have caused damage to tiles and the paper below it, so I contacted Sunrun to share the cost of repapering our roof. They have refused to take any responsibility. I have asked them to remove the solar panels so we can have a roofer repair the roof. They have not gotten back to me about 5 (yes 5) emails to the lady who initially was dealing with my complaint. They haven't kept their promise on multiple levels...that's not good PR.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Anyone there?

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, to start off, I am not saving as much as I was told. Second, I was told one thing for automatic payments, and something different occurred. I have been calling in and have been told five times that a manager would call me. Still no call back! Very unprofessional. If you're looking for solar, I recommend going with a different company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2019

      Kimberly Ramierz Mart,

      Thank you for your communication Angelica. We are saddened to hear about your dissatisfaction with your SunRun system. We certainly understand your frustration. It is very important to ensure that we have continuous communication with our customers. We would like to research why you believe you are paying more. Please contact us at 1-855-478-6786 so we can look into this together!

    • Feb 2, 2019

      Melissa F.

      Lies...lies and lies. The way that you know that they lie is that when you call them to complain or to make them aware that you are not getting what they promised or what you were told you would get, the reply is something to the effect of "I can't speak on what you were told if it is not in your contract." I asked about billing, more than once to make sure I would only get one energy bill. I was told I would only be billed by Sunrun for energy - LIE. I was told that the panels they were placing on my roof were enough to power my house - LIE. I am paying about $360 more per year for energy and I get two bills - one from Sunrun, one from NV Energy. I mentioned that this seemed just like level billing with NV Energy. I was met with a "Oh no, you will be locked in at your rate for 20 years while energy prices skyrocket" - LIE. My advice to anyone in this situation, take them to arbitration, it's in your contract, and contact your local politicians because Sunrun and many other solar companies profited handsomely from State-funded renewable energy rebates.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding, A+

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve read some other reviews and needed to leave one of my own as I’ve had an amazing experience with LGCY Power and Sunrun! My consultant was knowledgeable and professional; he was able to answer all of my questions as well as follow up with me with any concerns or questions I had during the installation process. He came back out to visit with us after the site survey and walk us through the final designs, which matched the preliminary designs but had a change in the inverter location to be closer to my electrical panel, so we had to sign off on that. Dan made everything a walk in the park for us while helping to save us money! I highly recommend this business and have told all of my friends and family as they have an amazing referral program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2019

      Kimberly Ramierz Mart,

      Hello Bob J. Thank you for sharing this wonderful review. We loved to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations. Sounds like Dan was a great representative and made your transition in going solar seamless. Now that you are a part of the Sunrun family, let's create a planet run by the sun!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Run from Sunrun

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company uses deceptive business practices to solicit your business. They lure you in with promises of a locked-in lower electric bill, threatening that your current energy suppliers rates will be constantly increasing in the future years. They make the deal sound even better by offering to install and maintain the system at no cost to you.

    I’m here to tell you it will be a huge cost to you! Contrary to Sunrun's claim that current rates will be increasing, I have since found there is no evidence to support that. Sunrun takes all of the tax credits and rebates for themselves, so your system is very cheap for them. You receive very little of the savings as most is paid to Sunrun. I’ve read horror stories of how they promise to maintain the equipment for 20 years, but when their system damages your roof, you are required to pay the repair!

    My electric bill was on a yearly cost average plan of $217 monthly. When Sunrun took over it was supposed to be $168. I get a $168 bill from Sunrun each month, but I also get a $7.50 each charge and a $12.50 bill from NV Energy. Upon switching to Net Metering, NV Energy demanded the balance on my account of $1381 due immediately! Since the summer had just passed, my balance was high. The bill usually balances itself out over the fall and winter when usage is less, but instead, now Sunrun keeps the excess. I was not prepared to pay $1381 upfront and now my utilities are being threatened shut off.

    Sunrun had offered me $700 in Visa gift cards as a sign-up incentive, which I never got and conveniently they have no record in their system.

    When I call or write the Sunrun customer service, they offer almost no recourse or resolution. Apparently, even if I shut down the system and don’t use them, I am still responsible for paying them $168 plus $7.50 a month for the next 20 years!

    This company is horrible! Do not use them! I more than regret using them and entering this 20-year nightmare! I have saved nothing! This has already cost me a bundle of money, time and frustration! Save yourself and run from the sun, run!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    It's a trap. Unprofessional, uncaring, only hungry to get their panels installed.

    • Far Rockaway, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My roof was inspected before solar installation and was approved for being structurally good even though it was a 19+ years old roof. There was no word or advise to repair or replace the roof before solar installations. My roof never leaked until Sunrun installed their solar panels. I complained upon the first rain and leak after installation and continued to complain for 10 months. Sunrun had it checked by their staff but was unprofessional enough to make a legal response that documents any reason why they would fix or not fix the damage triggered by the panel installations. I had to keep on calling to get any feedback from Sunrun. After 10 months all they sent me is a bill of $2,000 to remove and replace the panels to enable me to repair/replace my roof. The worst part of Sunrun's unprofessional business is keeping me in limbo for so long preventing from fixing my roof while the damages intensify because the roof cannot be replaced with their panels on it. All Sunrun is hungry for is getting their solar in place. They do not care for any client. This company needs to be dealt with one way or the other and very soon from allowing this kind company to go on unchecked while incurring unnecessary financial wastes to property owners, all to Sunrun's gain.

    Sunrun has a lot hidden from its customers that is why it is requesting for the fraudulent terms and condition under review comments to be checked. This is a legal contract. The terms of use for this review is not valid under the court of law for the purpose of this complaint. Sunrun is not transparent and is very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2019

      John D.

      Hello Victoria,

      I am running into the same situation right now and would like to know if you have been able to get anywhere with this issue.

      Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Save $16.00 a month

    • Litchfield Park, AZ,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been wanting to go solar for a long time. The Sunrun salesman seemed to be very knowledgeable. We entered into a 20-year lease. That was supposed to save us hundreds a year. We save about $16 a month. Due to him not putting us on the correct program, which is no longer offered by the utility company. They initially gave us $700 credit for the first year, but that seems to no longer be happening to make up for their mistake. I wish I had never used Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 61

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review