About Sunrun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Consumer Reviews for Sunrun

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • No cost savings yet

    Bad experience from the start. I signed a contract last July, which wasn't installed until around February this year. First red flag. It got turned on in March. Second red flag. The sales rep promised $750 in credit due to the fact I was paying anywhere from $350 to $450 a month on a standard rate plan while waiting to be hooked up. I fought with the company for months to get my credit. Finally, they gave it to me.

    Now for the parade. I received my bill for August and it was $350 in addition to the $135 that I pay Sunrun. I know all of my neighbors that went with them are experiencing the same thing, not the exact same dollar amount of course, but the same increase in electric bill's. I wonder if a lawyer could help me out of this contract. Scary to think I have to be with this company for another 20 years and pay the same if not more because of using solar. Ridiculous. I have tried to resolve this situation, and fingers just get pointed from the electric company to the solar company back and forth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They take no responsibility.

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We just had a Sunrun solar system installed in June. Before we signed the paperwork, we specifically asked what happens if the system breaks. We were told that Sunrun would take care of everything. We were also told that the only other out of pocket expense would be $6.00 a month to PNM, unless we drew more than what our solar system was producing then the excess would come from PNM. That is fine no problem. Our system broke down August 17th, we were never notified, and it was not fixed till August 31st. We were then told we would have to pay the full Sunrun bill and the full PNM bill and maybe if we had some performance credit, in two years we would get a refund. And that if it happened again we would be expected to pay both PNM and Sunrun again. This was not ever covered in the sales pitch, we asked multiple times what would happen if it broke down and were told everything was covered.

    I spoke with a supervisor's supervisor who offered to credit us for this occasion, but we would be responsible for paying double bills if it happened again in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Frustrating customer support

    • Washington, DC,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have called Sunrun about ten to fifteen times within the last month to have someone come to take a look at a leak in my ceiling that may have been caused by the initial installation of the solar panels. (I originally bought the panels from another solar panel company, but Sunrun bought the company along with the warranties that I still have on the panels and service.) About a month ago I called Suneun to have someone come out to look at my ceiling to verify if the leak was caused by the panel installation. They sent someone that did not have any equipment to do an actual check. The technician told me that I had to open the ceiling myself and once I find the leak to call them so they can verify it. So I opened up the ceiling myself and the next day it rained and I found the leak. I called them again, and they said they would have a technician call me to schedule an appointment, and that was about a month ago.

    It’s now a month later, and I still have a big hole in my ceiling. I have been calling Sunrun two to three times a week to have someone come just to look at the hole in my open ceiling to verify if it’s damage from the installation. Their customer service agents keep saying that there was an issue, but that they have resolved it, and that I will now get a call in 24-48 hours for an appointment. I called 48 hours later, and again there is some other reason I have not received a call for an appointment, and it’s always different, and now my case has been put on urgent, but still no call. I don’t know what to do. I have the warranty, but they will not fix it if they don’t verify the hole, and they can’t verify it if they don’t send a technician. At this point, I might just call someone else to fix the leak and my ceiling. It’s not worth the frustration. I’m very disappointed with Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Fake, sham, deceitful

    • Glendora, CA,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible experience.

    Everything that was promised even on paper was a lie. Including if you choose a variable or fixed rate! We chose the fixed rate because their claim was that Edison would lock in all further hikes. Not true.

    I have had them come out and check if panels are working due to the fact that we have a bill in the thousands instead of a rebate that was promised! Help! Is there a lawyer in the house with the same situation? Sunrun said if we add panels it will cost us more and we would need to do a new contract!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare experience

    • California,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We starting a project of getting solar installed with Sunrun in our new home shortly after we moved in in October 2016. Through our time working on this project, we have run against a lot of confusion, errors and overall frustrations. There are many solar companies that we have talked to, but we decided to move forward with this company due to their connection with Costco. We have always been impressed with Costco and figured a company working with Costco should have a similar customer focus and professionalism. I would like to go through a few of our many frustrations that we have experienced in working with Sunrun.

    We started the project in November and didn't get everything installed until September 22nd. They had initially told us that the panels would be installed by April-May of 2017.

    The communication between our projects leads and the owners of the home was very poor.

    When we set up our project, we set it up originally off of a partial electric bill. Once we realized this, we asked to increase the size and quantity of the panels on our project to get closer to our actual energy usage. The employee who was at the house then set it up as two different projects on the same property. One project being the original plan (as the original project was already moving through the process). The second project being the additional panels required for the second plan. At some point, they realized they could not do it as two separate projects, so they canceled the separate projects causing us to get an automatic email notification that our project was canceled. In order for us to find out what happened, we had to call them.

    The canceling of the projects caused an issue with the financing process, which we as the customer had to resolve through a series of phone calls and a series of additional paperwork.

    We were told originally that the roof repair work would be covered in the installation. A while into the project we were informed via email that we would have to pay an additional amount to cover the overage. I called to find out more and was assured a number of times that it was covered. Additional emails came stating we needed to pay, leading to an additional phone call where they stated that we indeed needed to pay extra and that the extra could not be financed.

    When they came to change out the electric panel we were not informed that our power would be turned off for the whole day until the contractors arrived that day. The communication was buried in a few PDF files attached to an email.

    No one asked if we wanted to keep the old panel leading to the contractors to throw it away without our permission.

    After installation, the contractors left us with very limited information about the system and how it worked, etc., causing us to have to follow up with the company to get the manual and other instructions for our new $50,000 appliance.

    Meanwhile, there were several different people that would contact us for various things, and there was no continuity of contacts. Further, there are four owners of this property, and we asked them numerous times to copy all of us on all email communications which did not happen.

    After the installation of the system was complete, our pump on the pond was not working. We thought it was an issue with the pump, so we called someone out to repair it. Come to find out it was not a problem with the pump, the problem was that the panel was not appropriately hooked up to the pump. The screw in the panel box was not connected to the wire. This was causing a spike in electricity usage and causing the pump to not work. In order to determine this, we had to call out a pump guy and an electrician to tell us that Sunrun screwed up the connection. The electrician was able to fix this issue, but this cost us extra time and money.

    Now this month we got our electric bill showing our connection to the solar. At first, it looked promising, until we got a second bill in the mail. I called up SDGE and found out that Sunrun had only hooked the solar up to our water pump electric meter and not to the house. So now not only am I still paying for my HIGH electricity bill on the main property but now I am paying for my solar panels that were supposed to help lower the cost of my electricity. Apparently, the wrong application was filed. A dual application needs to be submitted to connect the solar to both the house and the water pump meters. We did inform a few of the people that we worked with over the last year that there were two different electricity meters on the property.

    They have sent us to collections for a bill we never received and a bill that their customer service has no record of.

    All in all, these are some of the biggest issues we have had through this process. There are other issues that were minor but still should not have happened. I have to say that in the end we have not been impressed with Sunrun and would not recommend them to anyone else. We are very disappointed with how this entire project was handled. In my opinion, this experience was not worthy of its connection with Costco.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff

    • California,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start by telling you never lease from Sunrun. You're not just paying almost 15 cents per kilowatt more in your 5th year, but also the customer service is the worst. In my case the mash that is wrapped around the solar panels is defective, that let birds live between my roof and the solar panels. The bird poop is always falling from the roof in my pool. Since the solar panels are leased, Sunrun should be responsible for repairs. Sunrun refused to repair it.

    I don't recommend Sunrun to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 25, 2018

      Jake Hartman, Senior Marketing Director

      Thank you for reaching out Amir. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunrun. Feel free to private message me your contact information and I will be more than happy to have a Specialist reach out to you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    They won't take their equipment

    • High Desert California,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My father leased the equipment in 2012. Sadly two years ago he passed away. I received the house and contacted Sunrun about his passing and they stated that I am now responsible for the lease. I told them that I am not responsible and that I do not wish to continue with their service. They will not take their equipment. They said the only thing they can do is deactivate the equipment and keep it there in hopes that the next owner will want to take it over.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for reaching out to us Michael. We certainly hate to hear this. We want to help with your situation and initiate our goal of providing a positive customer experience. Please contact our customer care department 855-478-6786. A representative can assist you with your concerns.

    • Aug 10, 2018

      pablo r.

      I am calling on behalf of my uncle, Guadalupe Rodriguez Sr., from Chandler Arizona. He no longer wants to be involved with Sunrun. He has not gained the electric savings promised since 2017. His roof was damaged and water trickles in, especially this week when torrential rains poured in. This damage to the roof was caused and not fixed by Sunrun. It costs over $ 8,000.00 because of damage to the interior of the house. This is something that the Sunrun will have to pay because they installed the solar panels and were suppose to install them right. Please contact me so I can get your address to put this in writing to your corporate office.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Sunrun is a ripoff

    • Spartanburg, SC,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Sunrun for almost two years now, and I am paying more on electric than when I just had Duke energy for a provider. I was told I would save 40% on my bill and would on paying Sunrun their charge.

    When I call to complain they say I am overproducing and they don't understand it. I have 48 panels on my roof and the only one making money is Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 7, 2018

      Rafael Guillen

      I currently own a solar company in Los Angeles. I am looking to use SunRun for lease agreements and full prepay leases. You want to look at what your contracted cost per kilowatt hour is with SunRun, then look at how much power your solar system is supposed to produce on an annual basis (there is a guarantee on production), then look at how much power you were using, and what the cost of power from Duke energy is.

      If you use a lot of power in the summer and your summer bill was more expensive than the winter, what will happen is your winter bill will seem higher than your summer bill, but the payment is fixed, meaning it's the same in the summer than it is in the winter. You have to look at what you're paying for power on an annual basis, as opposed to a month to month basis. I hope there is no rip-off. I now that SunRun will not countersign an agreement unless there are savings, so this complaint seems to more of a misunderstanding than anything else.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Run from the devil

    • Oakdale, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t do it; you're signing your next 20 years away. Everything everyone has said here is true; lies, deception, no savings, and if your roof leaks, good luck. I’m sure there are customers with good experiences, but that doesn’t make up for the bad ones, since there shouldn’t be any. I mean, you don’t go in thinking, I want to get screwed for 20 years, you're doing it for a positive experience, period. It has changed our financial future and plans to retire, it shouldn’t change lives negatively. Shame on them, shame on me for signing, but they lied to get that done. I’m surprised there isn’t a class action lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for your communication Steve. It is disheartening to hear you believe you were misled. We understand this can impact your overall experience with Sunrun. It is important for us to be honest in our approach, and provide an agreement that is transparent and easy to read. Please contact our customer care at 855-478-6786 regarding your concerns.

    • May 20, 2018

      Steve Juanes

      I have already done that, and I was told that I'm out of my warranty period, which was only 7 years. That makes no sense if your panel causes damage to my roof. So, I had to hire a roofer, who then took pictures for me of a previous repair. I have never had any repair work done to my roof. What they told me is it looks like the solar installers knocked a few shingles off during installation, and covered it up with tar instead of replacing the shingles.

      I suppose that's in the contract too, where if you damage my roof during install, you can repair it as you see fit. Who knows what else will happen down the road and now I'm bound by this BS lease. Things will be taken care of in the end, one way or another.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful customer service

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My system has not been turned on yet so I cannot attest to the savings just yet, but the fact that I was able to get a solar system on my roof and not pay a penny for it is amazing. I normally don’t deal with door to door guys, but Wade was very nice and did a great job answering all my questions. I know I won’t be saving a ton at first, but since it was practically free I don’t really care; savings are savings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thanks for sharing Marge. We are so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with our customer care team. Our goal as a company is to be customer obsessed. We are so excited to welcome you to the Sunrun family. Power Forward!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • Buckeye, AZ,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total BS. The sales people come at night and promise you will be able to sell your house. It couldn't be further from the truth since nobody wants your solar contract, and they want 60 grand to buy it! Please, if you want to ever sell your house, do not do it. Tell these people to go away! If you don't believe me, give it a try, then call me when nobody will buy your house so I can say "I told you!" Just trying to be helpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Tishani Hampton,

      Thank you for reaching out James. We hate to hear this has been your experience. The service transfer process should be a simple one, we would like to get a better understanding of why this was not the case for you. Please contact customer care at 877-478-6786, a representative can assist you with your concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review