• 82 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 84%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Lousy maintenance - customer service

    • By D C.,
    • Flushing, NY,
    • Jul 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    My system performs great when it is running, because Sunrun did not design or install my system. Unfortunately the company that installed my system went bankrupt and Sunrun obtained my lease. My lease was totally paid upfront. Now I'm the redheaded step child.

    Sunrun maintains leased solar power systems. Now, my problem goes back to the end of March, my inverter has been shutting off with an Arc-fault error. Though it shows an error it if reset the system continues a brief time before it shuts down again. Sunrun sent a technician to repair system. The technician did nothing but report that the system was up and running. The technician had come at a time outside my scheduled appointment and did not announce his presence. He had come at a time that the system was running. Later that same day the system tripped again. I called Sunrun and asked why the technician had not come for the appointment and the Sunrun operator stated that there was a technician at my house but he showed up a couple of days earlier. I told the operator that the system had tripped again, the operator stated that the inverter would probably have to be changed and an appointment would have to set to come and replace it.

    After a couple of weeks, I again called Sunrun in reference to my appointment, the operator stated that they were still waiting for a new inverter and they would call once one was received.

    After another month I called inquiring as to the progress of the inverter, at that time I was told that due to COVID they would not send anyone out until the lockdown was lifted.

    My city was entering phase 1 of reopening, and again I called Sunrun. This time they said that they were not sending anyone to repair my system because it was up and running. I told them the reason the system was up and running was because I was constantly watching the inverter and resetting it after it shut off.

    I waited a couple of days until the inverter tripped again and called Sunrun. This time they stated that someone would get back to me to set up an appointment.

    After about a week I again called Sunrun and had an appointment set for 8 days in the future. At the time of the setting of the appointment, I told the operator that I wanted the technician to call me when he/she was coming and that I did not want them to just reset the system which I had been doing all along. The appointment was set for 8 days between 12pm and 5pm. The system had been down for over a week at this time with no production.

    The day of the appointment 12pm - 5pm had come and gone at 5:01pm, my system was still showing the error message. I attempted to contact Sunrun but had to wait for them to call me back. When Sunrun called me back they stated that the technician was at my residence and had repaired my system. I told the operator that I had requested a call when the technician was on his way and that I had never received a call. At this time another appointment was set, this time two weeks in the future.

    After the call to Sunrun I received a voice message on my cellphone from the technician that he had been at my residence. I tried calling him back but his voicemail was not set up.

    The next day looking at Sunrun's website the production records showed production from 9am - 11am, then nothing. The technician had come early and just reset the system, and after 3 hours the system went down again

    Now I have wait two weeks now. Hopefully this time they'll do more than reset the system.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Lousy maintenance service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Installers and supervisor are no show, no call

    • By Raul H.,
    • La Puente, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have been waiting for 2 months for you guys to make an installation date for me and now I've been waiting for six and a half hours without a no-show or no call from your supervisor or the installers. I have called three different times and waiting up to an hour to get through to somebody and all you guys can tell me is to leave my house and leave my door open so they can come and do other things while I have dogs in the backyard. I can't believe that my other alternative according to the installation supervisor via your associates is to get another install date.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Installers no show, no call
    • Supervisor no show, no call

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse customer service ever

    • By Steve B.,
    • California,
    • Feb 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Six years after installation I determined one of my inverters failed. I called Sunrun support to report the issue and in 2 weeks a tech came out and determined that indeed the inverter is dead. The customer service and associated emails stated the inverted would take 1 to 2 weeks to source.

    After several weeks, several emails and calls to Sunrun support, they keep telling me 1-2 weeks. Not sure where to go from here, I am getting ready to purchase from an alternated solar company which has the inverter in stock locally from a distributor. I am losing $100 a week.

    Bottom line, don't buy from Sunrun, they're a bunch of crooks.

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't consider Sunrun at all!

    • By Mike M.,
    • Valencia, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, I bought a house where I mistakenly took on the previous owner's Sunrun lease. He duped me into thinking it would save me money. Now that I own the house, I realize it only covers 30% of my electric usage. So I am not saving anything, plus I have a roof leak and pigeon nesting problem. Sunrun doesn't want to help at all. Their interest is in making money. Stay away! Total ripoff. They want $40k to buy out their 6 kwp system. I can get a Tesla system with Powerwall for less than half that price. My house is cursed with these panels!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sunrun Denver did a great job, loved working with them

    • By Byron F.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sunrun Denver was great, no problems, did a great job, highly recommend.

    We had contacted a couple of other companies and canceled the contract with one. Then found Sunrun at Costco.

    Their price was comparable to the other companies we contacted. I was very impressed with all their upfront information and no pressure.

    Our system was installed last year in the late fall, the installation was completed quickly and the biggest delay was waiting for the power co to install the meters to allow the system to be enabled. Just as the system was designed to do. After the winter our electric bills have been basically zero. The design was for 4.5 KW, panels used were Solar-Edge Technologies. Cost was $17,750.00 plus taxes and received a $1000 rebate from Costco and realized a 30% tax credit. Our salesperson was Kayla Andis, she was very good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't live up to contract

    • By Kenneth T.,
    • South Easton, MA,
    • Jan 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Have been having a problem getting the panels reinstalled after roof repair been since June 4th, 2019 and they still do not work right. Panels took until October 2019 before even being reinstalled, and even after many calls still do not work right. The employees did a hack job removing them and the installation has been nothing but a stall job. I would not recommend anybody dealing with Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sunrun is horrible

    • By Clayton M.,
    • Colorado,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am beyond appalled at how terrible my experience with Sunrun has been, I would never recommend this company to anyone. My bad experience started with the deception from my salesman, Fred Martin. Fred advised that my electrical panel was old and would possibly need to be replaced to work with the system. If replacement was needed Fred stated that with a system as large as mine Sunrun would cover the cost of the new panel. Fred also said that because I was an Xfinity customer I would receive a $1000 gift card about 3-4 weeks after installation.

    The first site surveyor advised my electrical panel would need to be replaced for "safety reasons" and that Sunrun would cover the cost to replace it. A second site survey had to be completed to address an issue with the first survey. Two surveyors came out this time, both advised that it was very likely Sunrun would replace my electrical panel due to safety concerns.

    Final design came through and the electrical panel was not going to be replaced. I contacted Fred Martin and Project Coordinator Frederico Nunez regarding my concerns that I had now been told several times that my electrical panel was a safety issue, and it wasn't being replaced. Fred told me he would look into this and didn't get back to me in a timely manner. Frederico told me that Sunrun could install one and charge me $3000, but they would not cover the costs as Fred told me. Fred spoke to his boss, Eric Lovely, who agreed to provide an additional promotion due to the "incorrect" information that I was given and to avoid losing my sale. In addition to the $1000, Eric and Fred agreed to provide an additional promotion of $250 promotion to keep the sale.

    Fred advised that I would receive $1250 of the promotion three weeks after the install. My solar install was November 1st, 5 weeks later I still had yet to receive the promised promotions. I emailed Fred about this with no response, I called him many times without an answer or a call back. Fred finally answered the phone one day, told me he was in the grocery store and that he would have Eric look into why I haven't received the promotions yet and have to call me back. Fred never called back. A week later, still not hearing from Fred, I called him many more times without an answer. Finally he answered, he called Eric on a conference call and asked what was going on with the promotions. Eric stated he didn't see any promotions on my account and none had been set up.

    Eric sent me an email showing he just added the promised promotions, 5 weeks after install on December 3rd. He advised they could take 4-6 weeks to arrive. I responded with a complaint about my entire experience with Sunrun, I asked Eric to please look into another way to get my promotion to me before Christmas. My response went to Eric, Fred, and Frederico and was sent on Wednesday. I never received a response from any of them. I followed up the next Monday asking if any of them planned on responding to my email. Late Monday night Frederico responded that he would look into it but the promotion typically takes 6 weeks to arrive. Fred and Eric never responded to my emails.

    I have since emailed who I was told is Eric's boss, Patrick Kent, who never emailed me back. Fred used lies, deception and lacks integrity, all to make a sale. Eric and Fred have horrible customer service skills and are extremely hard to get a response from, they don't return emails or calls appropriately.

    We're now almost 7 weeks after install, I have still not received any of the promised promotions. Today I just learned Sunrun should have reached out to me on November 18th to have me sign a meter agreement to get my solar turned on, which they never did, so now we're behind on having the meter installed as well. Fred has called me saying he would see if the promotions could be expedited and never got back to me.

    This is by far the worst purchase experience I have ever had, and I strongly encourage everyone to PLEASE NEVER consider Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Solar is great, Sunrun not so much

    • By Claudeth F.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We leased our panels from Sungevity in 2016. The panels have performed as expected. Here in NYC, we don't have an electric bill during the summer, generally starting in June. And, during the winter, the panels offset the electric used. Whoop Whoop. HOWEVER, April of 2019, we noticed that we were getting roof leaks, particularly in one room. We went on the roof and didn't see anything that would cause the issues. So we took down the ceiling in that room and discovered that the insulation was soaked and molded. The in-ceiling wires were rusted. When the panels were installed, we were told that the posts would go into the joists and not the deck. Every area where the post screws were in the deck leaked. We went back on the roof and saw that the pads around the post installs had lifted, the silicone sealant was only about an inch wide. The post screws had no sealant at all, so as the water went under the pads, it drained right into the post screws and into the insulation. We contacted Sunrun, after much back and forth, they sent out an insurance adjuster, this was in August. We were assured that the matter would be resolved quickly. kept reaching out to them to see what was the cause of the delay. Sunrun actually gave me the contact information of their insurance partner, because they didn't understand the delay. It is now November. NYC has experienced its first bomb cyclone and about 3 heavy rain events, and the temperature is dropping. Sunrun and its insurance partner have gone silent. Good, product is great. HOWEVER, even good product needs repair and Sunrun's lack of customer service shows that it does not stand by its Customer Service claims, its warranty or its promises.

    Is solar good, ABSOLUTELY. Sunrun, not so much. I would absolutely recommend solar installation to a friend. But not Sunrun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They tell you anything to get their panels on your roof!

    • By David H.,
    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Upon signing their contract, Sunrun's rep told us any piece of roof with a panel on it would be taken care of by Sunrun at no cost! Now it's time to put a new roof on, they tell me I must pay a $95 an hour removal, and a replacement fee. Had them for approx 4 years, haven't done any services, and are filthy. Not sure how often it needs servicing, but I was also told they would come out and cleaned. Never happened. Read contracts, and never trust their reps!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • STAY AWAY FROM SUNRUN!

    • By Rick S.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Where to start...Let me say Sunrun intentionally took advantage of my desire to have solar offset my power bill and my lack of knowledge on kWh.

    Sunrun intentionally set me up with a discontinued system that is too small to make a significant impact on my power bill after telling me it would offset my power bill by 97%. The power company verified it right after the system went live and I got a bill that was HIGHER than the previous year without solar. The power company told me that the system was too small to do what Sunrun claimed.

    Sunrun installed a discontinued solar system on my house that by their own "Savings Analysis" is 114% Too SMALL to make a significant impact on my power bill. They said they would offset my power bill by 97% but when I only saved $86.00 my first year, I knew they lied to me and took advantage of me and they made me wait a whole year for that "savings analysis' just to tell me that they will not do anything for me.

    They forged my signature and initials on their 20-year ever-increasing monthly lease agreement...and now they do not want to upgrade the system, add another solar system, add a battery system or reduce my monthly lease rate. I talked to a Customer Care Manager and many more over the phone. Not one of these people were willing to do anything for me and denied every request for consideration I made.

    Sunrun and every person that works for them are deceitful underhanded lying predators that intentionally take advantage of their customers with a 20-year lease agreement.

    WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT TRUST ANYONE AT SUNRUN, YOU WILL GET BURNED!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from Sunrun

    • By Allon A.,
    • Nevada,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't do business with Sunrun. The installation was lengthy and was done wrong, the power company had to come THREE times until they gave us the permit. Sunrun owes me $500 for fees I had to pay an electrician for their discrepancies, it has been months and they have not reimbursed me. They are an arrogant company with ZERO consideration. Monthly payment by credit card is assessed a $7.50 penalty. You can either send a check by US post (who does that anymore?) and not get penalized OR you can do an automatic bank draft. The problem is that you have no say when they withdraw the money, they are unwilling to change the date to meet their customer's financial timing. I say, screw them, go with Tesla or anybody else. DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH SUNRUN, I WARNED YOU. I found NO redeeming qualities in my dealing with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience!

    • By Brian C.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So far this has been one of the worst decisions I've made with a new home. The savings quoted were very inaccurate. Not to mention I am paying almost double what I would have normally paid without the panels. First you pay Sunrun, which is around $80/mo for our home. Then you also pay Think Energy for whatever you use on the grid if your panels don't produce. So you pay double the bill. I haven't saved anything, it cost me more now. I called in to ask why in the summertime, with no trees around my home and panels facing where the sun shines on them pretty much all day...I am still not producing over the amount needed. Conclusion, I may not have enough panels and will have to resign a contract to have more added! This wasn't stated on sale, I was told they would just add more after a year if needed. Not to mention Think Energy sucks as far as CS goes, and that's who Sunrun partners with. My balance with the previous electric company was supposed to be paid for switching over, and it never was. Now I'm hit with an unpaid balance that I didn't find out about until months later! STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sunrun salesmen don't listen to their customers

    • By Mark J.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Look at the history since I signed up with Sunrun. I'm paying way too much to TEP and Justin who works for Sunrun said that if they have to install more panels that it would require another contract with Sunrun costing me more money every month. I told Nicolas Mendoza when I sighed the contract that I was installing A/C in the spring of 2019 and that the last year's TEP electric usage won't be accurate, talking to Tami Overhage with Sun Solar said he didn't mention it in his paperwork. I have a machine shop in my garage and now I am afraid to turn them on. I used them on a daily basis until Sunrun installed the system. My wife is totally handicap. Now that it is starting to cool down I hope to take my wife out with me while I play in my garage. But again how much will it cost me when I turn on my welders, air compressor, parts washer, etc. I am my wife's 24/7 caregiver and we are on a fixed income so I hope you can see why I'm so concerned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sunrun - AWAY!

    • By John M.,
    • Roselle, IL,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    No one and no thing is perfect, my philosophy has always been that things break, people overlook something, no big deal. The real measure of a company, person, or service is how they deal with the problem. Sunrun has failed in this area beyond miserably. Everything was signed and ready to go on 2/14/19, the salesman touting how great it will be to be building credit during the long late spring and summer days in advance of our midwestern winters. System was finally installed on 7/10/19 and final inspection and turn-on of 8/6/19. Since that date, according to the information provided by their downloadable report the system has not produced watt number 1. I have called my "project coordinator" multiple times (8/16, 8/19,8/20,8/27.8/28,8/29, 9/2,9/9) and have gotten voice mail every time except on two occasions both times I was instructed to "reset" the system - to no avail. And only once was my voicemail returned but not to the number I requested. Also left one rather upset message to my salesman asking if he could intervene but no returned phone call or no courage. As of this date (9/14/19) still not working or a returned phone call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run fast

    • By Robert K.,
    • Lincoln, CA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Run, don’t walk away from these liars. Took 18 days after reporting systems failure for a service person to respond. Took an additional 15 days to get parts. In the meantime they expect you to still pay for non-existent service. The point of contact at Sunrun never returns calls or emails. Stay away from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • We couldn’t be happier

    • By Adam T.,
    • Atco, NJ,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Sunrun rep came to my home a few months ago. My wife and I sat down with him for a little over an hour. After discussing our options we decided to go with Sunrun.

    My family and I couldn’t be more happy to enjoy the benefits of having solar!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Broken promises

    • By Dennis J.,
    • N. Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We leased panels from Sunrun last year and were promised by the Sales Rep that we would pay Sunrun the $50 a month and the only cost we would have from NV Energy would be a small service fee to be on the grid, also any power not used that NV Energy would give us a rebate. Well, none of this transpired. Also, we were told our panels are not producing the energy we were promised and part of the problem was due to shading from our cypress trees.

    The cypress trees were in place when Sunrun’s so-called experts did the survey prior to the installation. Now we are being told we have to consider "human error". Sunrun is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I have no choice but to use this company

    • By Jonny V.,
    • Spring Valley, CA,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are partnered with San Diego Gas & Electric and I have more negative feelings about them than I do Sunrun.

    I am being offered this program because I am low income and I live in a mobile home park. They are installing six panels for me, and my monthly electric payments are going to be such that I won’t have to worry about running my air conditioner during summer months - an activity which cost me anywhere from $200-$400 per month depending on how miserable the heat is. Not to mention about two years ago San Diego Gas & Electric increased rates from top to bottom so that even with a care discount I pay sometimes $200 a month on my level pay. I have to depend on air-conditioning in the summer, otherwise I can I live in my trailer.

    The program that they signed me up for is one where I do not purchase the system, they will own it, and they will maintain it.

    Some of their other programs, however, involve purchasing the solar panels and solar battery, and require the homeowner to maintain the system themselves.

    I just had my roof inspected today, and all they are worried about is that it is nice and solid with no leaks, which qualifies me. So the next step is for their sales representative to speak to me. I don’t know exactly what this program involves and how elaborate this system is going to be, but I qualify for this system because of my income and neighborhood, also by a new California law that is requiring all homes to have solar panels by 2025 or so.

    About a year ago I contacted several companies about getting solar panels, there are several other programs, none of them offered solar panels for mobile homes, only mobile homes that were on land that you owned qualified for the subsidies. This new law and this new system allows me to get solar panels.

    I have to remark here that some of the bad reviews for this company sound like they were written by the exact same person even though it appears that they were written by different people in different states. There are certain things, their bulleted list of complaints which are almost identical, and similarities in language. These are usually a giveaway when somebody is trying to pad public opinion with negativity. I will create my own opinion, thank you. If somebody has honest complaints then I want to hear those, but I have not seen any valid or honest complaints about this company. Also, I have read things like "seven years, nine years". Well no, this company was only started three years ago so how can they be reviewing on the basis of a system that they installed nine years ago when this company did not even exist? The program under which I am getting my solar panels is a brand new program, so there cannot be anybody complaining about this particular program since it is only a few months old.

    I do not have an order number yet, I just went through all of the paperwork and they have not assigned me one yet, I will have to wait until they begin the work. If I am not satisfied with the system, I will come back in here and edit my review appropriately. But at this time I am not expecting to complain about it. And most of the people here who have these systems got them on the basis of some nice subsidies which practically paid for the entire system to be installed. Because every program like this involving green energy has state and federal incentives that work in favor of the buyer. If they truly have a problem with the system, there are federal and state avenues where you can lodge a valid complaint. Putting the complaint in this review section is not a valid form of complaint, it is just a negative opinion intended to bend the impression of this company in a negative direction. And every person that I have dealt with as far as this company is concerned has answered all of my questions in great detail so I know exactly what I am getting into.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Michele L.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I couldn't be more unhappy with this company! The reason we decided to sign up with this solar company is because their salesman assured us that if there were any issues with our system, it would be fixed immediately. This couldn't be more further from the truth. Two days after my panels were turned on, an error message appeared. We called the company to let them know. We were told that someone would call us back in two days. Two days later we were given an appointment for two WEEKS later! I put in a complaint to speak to a supervisor to address the fact that my system will not be looked at for two weeks. Not only did no one call me back, no one came to look at my system on my appointment date! When I called to speak to a supervisor I was finally given an appointment a week later. The person who came did not call us with any information.

    The next day the error light was on again. That was June 6th. Today is June 12th, still no word from Sunrun. When I complained about this to the supervisor I was told that he was unable to fix the problem and needed to come back with more people to help him. I asked when that appointment would be. I was then told that my expectations were too high for having the system fixed in a timely manner. I was told that they are a California-based company and have little manpower in New York. That is the complete opposite of what I was told when I signed up. I still have no appointment date for when someone is going to fix my machine. My husband has had to reset the system every day for the month that we had it. Stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DO NOT trust Sunrun! All they want is your money!

    • By Denise H.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company locked us into a 20-year contract (three different residences - one of my relatives and one of our neighbors). We are ALL 100% unhappy with Sunrun! Their Customer Service is a nightmare IF you can even GET any customer service. We signed up a year ago and everyone was great UNTIL we realized they FORGOT, or did not set the service up properly, at one of our homes, so that family was paying for solar service from February - July 29th, when they realized the switch was never flipped to actually START the solar service and process. So, we wondered why the electric bills were still a couple of hundred dollars when they PROMISED this is not a scam and it will save you so much money, etc. NO, NOW this family was paying higher electric bills PLUS a new solar bill, so, it actually has been costing them double what they use to pay, and to this day in 2019, solar is still not working properly, yet no one can fix the problem blah blah blah.

    The electric company says it is Sunrun's problem and Sunrun says to call the electric company. This company is a JOKE and a FRAUD! Sunrun says everything has been running perfectly since August 29th, 2018. Their winter bills used to be under $100 monthly, now they are up in the $160's - $200. Plus another $125-$150 monthly for solar. So, instead of having JUST an $80-$100 winter bill without solar, between the two bills it's now costing about $280 on an average monthly. But they tell us everything is working great, yet NO technicians have been to her house for about 10 or 11 months to check it out. She still has problems currently to this day!

    My own personal issue at my residence is my solar worked great for about three months, then it lost communication and they got my grids mixed up with someone else (whatever that means)? It literally took from May of 2018 to February of 2019 to get a tech out here that actually fixed it and got it working.

    This company is all nice at first UNTIL they lock you into a contract and you start having problems with their service. My solar is finally working again now for the first time since LAST May. No one wants to acknowledge that I had NO solar for 9 or 10 months but, they still want my money and call me EVERY DAY two or three times for all those months they want me to pay for, which is funny because I told them, "GOOD LUCK, NOT going to happen!" Who pays for a service monthly when you are NOT getting the service? NOT ME.

    I HATE this company more than ANY company I have ever worked with. It's so funny when they say, "We are going to disconnect your service if you don't pay it to current." I told them it's been disconnected for almost a year anyway, so I am used to that, LOL. That's WHY I am NOT paying anything until this is ALL fixed! I WILL NOT PAY for a service that was NOT working and they told me they had NO techs to get to our homes because they had so many employees quitting at once, so no one could get out to fix the system and get it running properly. THAT is NOT MY problem. I told them I will pay you when my service works and ONLY for the time it is working...they got it fixed 10 months later after I constantly kept calling, texting, emailing and complaining every couple weeks, month after month!

    Third residence (we referred our neighbor), in the beginning, when things were good, and we thought this was a great professional company. Our neighbor's electric bills are higher than ever and now she is stuck paying high electric bills AND $150 bill for a service that has never worked or saved her any money. She is also locked into a 20-year contract. This company doesn't care, they just want our money! We ALL wish we would have NEVER fell for the promises this company makes. Once they lock you into the contract for TWENTY YEARS, the only people that call you back are the collection people asking for money even though you are sitting there paying double the electric bills you use to pay (before having solar). Our next step is attorneys and going to the News Stations. Also reporting them to the BBB tomorrow!

    I am no longer interested in speaking to the people in the call centers. It's WAY PAST that now. None of us are happy and this company is costing us so much MORE money than we use to pay! If I could get someone way up there that will listen to how messed up our accounts have been since day one, I would be willing to try and start this process over, but, I can't get anyone higher than a collections rep and so-called "supervisors" on the phone that just brush this off and give us so-called "courtesy credits" or "performance guarantee credits." They gave someone else's credits to my account, it's such a mess, that still has not been fixed. No one there knows what they are doing and my emails and calls are ignored. It's VERY annoying! I have even reached out on Facebook to the owner or CEO, etc. NEVER heard from anyone...that was months ago! I give up, it's been so time-consuming dealing with all this for a year straight. I am over all of it!

    The ONE positive thing I CAN say is that the technician that FINALLY made it to my home 9-10 months later was outstanding...great guy, did everything promised and got everything working and my electric bill is way down again. I gave him an awesome review but this company in general sucks! I was willing to call and make a payment today for the one month my service has worked properly (as I promised I would pay for if everything was working properly) and their customer service REFUSED my payment unless I paid for all the previous months I was "DELINQUENT" on. So, I told them to forget it and cancel the payment. I am NOT paying for service I didn't have for almost a whole year. They are CRAZY if they think that's going to happen.

    Now they are ruining our credit because we don't want to pay for them not keeping their end on what was promised to all three of us. This company as a whole is TERRIBLE! I NEVER write reviews, but I felt like for this I have to, if we can save others through going through this. It may not be a scam, but they sure do NOT do the right thing and handle business. In regards to that, it definitely feels like a scam and has cost us a LOT of extra money when the whole purpose was to SAVE all this money they promised us . My story sounds really similar to all these other stories...interesting!

    I give them ZERO stars for quality and customer service. This MADE me give at least ONE star...I don't even give them that much!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with Sunrun

    • By Mark E.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had panels installed about 15 months ago. We were very happy with the installation and performance of the panels. Last week I discovered damage on my roof below a section of panels. Roof was less than 10 years old when panels were installed and when roof was inspected by Sunrun prior to installation. Was told by Sunrun roof was ok, which I mistakenly took to mean it should last the life of the lease. Had a roofer look at the damage and he said it would take a while for that much damage to occur.

    I called Sunrun to see about removing panels on the damaged area was told it would cost over $2k and over $5k to remove all the panels to replace the whole roof which is what I should do. I wish the inspector could have caught the damage or at least recommended a new roof prior to installation to guarantee no problems. What's the sense of having your roof inspected if 15 months later you have roof damage. $5k plus will eliminate any savings I will have accumulated for going solar. Didn't expect to be putting on a new roof 15 months into my contract. Now I have no choice but to get the roof replaced. Solar seems like a waste of money now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Costing me more money monthly with solar

    • By Patricia T.,
    • Copiague, NY,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They were quick to sign us up, telling us we'd save over 20% on our electric, but now that we have the panels it's costing me over $60 more monthly than I paid with their solar panels. I contacted them, stressed my disappointment and am awaiting a call back. I told them they could either lower my monthly lease payment or come and take their equipment off my roof because if one more month goes by without resolution, I'm stopping the automatic payment from my checking account. I'm sorry I ever went along with this company's service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't do it, just run

    • By Rich B.,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One of the most dishonest solar companies. They over evaluate and provide a system larger than your needs, overcharge on cost per kWh and will not assist in making changes to your system or contract so it is a fair deal for both parties. Trying to contact anyone is almost impossible and when customer service does contact you, as they have in an inquiry I recently made, they ignore you for any follow-up requested. Zero stars for this company, if possible.

    Update: I contacted Sunrun customer service rep after several attempts to get a hold of anyone went unanswered. Victoria E. reached out January 31st. Advised they would do an analysis and get back to me February 7th, and after nearly two weeks afterward and no update, I again reached out to Victoria on February 20th. An analysis on my savings over 1-year was sent showing a $10/month savings. Given the fact that I am charged a minimum monthly delivery charge by PG&E of $11.07 for February 2019, I am actually losing money. I asked Sunrun to consider reducing my kWh cost of .27 or remove panels to make it more cost effective. I also asked for an explanation of why I received a $150.00 reconciliation charge which clearly shows my system was not designed properly. Here is the kind response I received from Victoria.

    "At this time, with the system currently saving you from paying a higher PG&E bill, there is no reason for us to adjust the kWh rate. We can do another analysis in a years time and if it is determined that you are losing a significant amount of money, then and only then will we re-evaluate that kWh rate. Sunrun will not be removing any panels from your system, the system remains intact from the time of installation and there are no changes that happen with the design/layout after that point in time. I know these are not the answers you are hoping for, but as it stands right now we will continue to uphold the original agreement, and we can look into this matter again after a full year has passed."

    You decide if this is the company you want to do business with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is a scam

    • By Silvia O.,
    • Centereach, NY,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In December 2015 I signed a 20-year lease with Sunrun Inc. My home is not suitable for solar since it is surrounded with tall trees twice as high then the home. I hade no knowledge and experience with solar energy and trusted Sunrun. The system was turned on in April 2016 through the summer.

    In September 2016 the problem started. I contacted Sunrun customer service, a so-called Tier 3 A customer service representative Mr. Benjamin Thompson assisted me until April 2017. Several courtesy credits were given, two trees were cut and the cost was a split. Unfortunately, this did not solve the problem since this Solar Lease was for another 19 years. Mr. Benjamin Thomsen informed me in April 2017 that he is moving on in his carrier and if I need further help to contact Sunrun. Which I did when the same problem started again in September 2017. Since that date until now I have spoken to about 8 different customer service reps at Sunrun without any results.

    In April 2018 I hade another large tree cut, which cost me $1500 and to my understanding the production of the panels can't supply the power as Sunrun promised.

    I just wanted to add on that the trees on the southwest side of my house belong to my neighbor so I can't cut those trees down.

    Sunrun is advertising on their website and on their marketing stands/boots at Home Depot or other major retail locations as 20% savings.

    Prior to getting solar my electric bill was 30-50% less than what it is costing me now for electricity.

    ​I have SOLID DOCUMENTATIONS PICTURES AND PROOF for my allegations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good experience

    • By Amitra S.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with Sunrun for 9 years now. There were no issues on the install at all, and the panels have saved us money overall. There have been months where we didn't get as much electricity as promised - and we did get a rebate. My only complaint is that when they send workers over to figure out why they aren't producing, we get no warning. So when we heard workers on the roof, and didn't know why they were up there - well, that was a bit freaky! But overall, I got what was promised, and I have saved some money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible misleading service and advertising

    • By Anna Z.,
    • Waianae, HI,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had our solar system installed in May 2018 and the rep after all the calculations reassured us that our electric bill will be lower than before. And now we have a $195 monthly bill from Sunrun and exactly the same electric bill as before, absolutely no changes. This company is a scam. Never use their services and don’t believe them. I will contact BBB and other consumer protection agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Keeping promises made

    • By Karen H.,
    • Fallbrook, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was assured several times that if my roof leaked after the installation of the solar panels, that Sunrun would come out and repair the roof. The technicians, installers, supervisors, etc. that were on my roof before and during installation never mentioned that I needed to replace the paper below the tiles on our roof, so now our roof has leaked in our a dozen places onto the brand new carpet we just installed. All these men walking on my roof have caused damage to tiles and the paper below it, so I contacted Sunrun to share the cost of repapering our roof. They have refused to take any responsibility. I have asked them to remove the solar panels so we can have a roofer repair the roof. They have not gotten back to me about 5 (yes 5) emails to the lady who initially was dealing with my complaint. They haven't kept their promise on multiple levels...that's not good PR.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 82

Write a Review for Sunrun!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Sunrun