About SuperBoost Wifi

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 2, 2019

SuperBoost Wifi is a device that connects to your existing Wi-Fi signal and boosts that signal so that rooms with bad connections can get a reliable signal from your router.

The device is a simple one in that you plug it into the wall of an area or room where you’d like a stronger signal. It has a clean, straightforward design that includes a variety of plugs that fit power outlets in Europe and the United States.

Wi-Fi boosters have been around for a long time now, so there is plenty of competition out there for the SuperBoost. In this review, we’ll talk about how the device’s features and price compare to other more well-known brands, as well as cover how it works and what the item’s return policy is.

How the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster Works

There is very little information about the SuperBoost Wifi on the product’s website. We called the company’s customer service line multiple times to get some details on the device’s specs but could not reach a representative.

When you take the booster out of the box, you’ll need to connect it to your existing router network, which only takes a few minutes. Once the device is connected, it will send the signal out in such a way that rooms with poor signals should see a boost in that signal.

Now, to actually connect to the boosted signal you’ll have to connect to the booster itself instead of your router. So, open your Wi-Fi settings and you should see the new booster there. Connect to it and you should see a significant jump in speed.

One easy way to check how much the booster helped is to do a speed test before you set up the booster and a speed test after. The quickest speed test is available through Google; just search “Google speed test” and you’ll get your results in seconds.

As we mentioned earlier, the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster includes four different power adapters to handle 120V plugs in the U.S., 240V plugs in Europe, and 230V plugs in Australia/New Zealand/China/Argentina.

It’s important to point out that the website makes no claims about how effective your SuperBoost will be. How effective a booster is depends on where you place it, what the signal is like coming into the booster and how many obstacles stand between the room you’re in and the booster.

Pro tip: The SuperBoost doesn’t make your router’s internet connection faster, it just extends the range of the signal.

How a Wi-Fi Booster Actually Boosts a Signal

Linksys, a popular name in routers, modems and signal extenders, provides an excellent example of how a signal booster works.

Basically, you’ve got your router – it shoots your internet connection as far as it can shoot it – and you’ve got the rooms in your house. Some of those rooms are going to be too far away to get a good signal and are known as “dead spots.”

This happens to me when I go outside and work on our back patio – the signal is spotty, at best, and qualifies as a dead spot.

“Think of it in terms of baseball, where your router is an outfielder whose job it is to get the ball to the catcher” Linksys explains. “A Wi-Fi extender is the shortstop that stands between the two, waiting to catch the ball and throw it in to home plate.”

While an extender can work wonders for your internet signal strength, it’s not always necessary to buy an extender, Linksys says.

“Sometimes your Wi-Fi router placement is the culprit for your dead spot woes,” they say. “Before purchasing a Wi-Fi extender, try placing your wireless router in the most centralized location of your living space.”

The article from Linksys goes on to say that you’ll want to get a range extender that matches the technology of your router.

Because the SuperBoost website doesn’t offer any information about the device’s technical specifications, it’s very tough to say whether or not its technology is equal to your router or less advanced.

The SuperBoost Wifi’s Price and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster cost $52.95 with shipping rates that vary depending on where you live. The company behind SuperBoost is based in London, so there’s a good chance your shipping will be a bit higher than it would be if the company was based in the U.S.

We dug through the fine print to find the company’s return policy. Basically, you can’t make any returns and you only have 30 days from the day you receive your booster to exchange it.

“Our Exchange Only Policy lasts 30 days and it takes effect from the time you receive your purchase. If more than 30 days have gone by since delivery of your purchase, unfortunately we can’t offer you an exchange or price equivalent in store credit,” the fine print says.

Email support@superboostwifi.com to start the exchange process.

Keep in mind that, when you send in your booster for an exchange, it needs to be in perfect condition and returned in the original packaging.

The company will then confirm with you through email that you’ll get your exchange, either by them sending you a new unit or giving you store credit you can redeem for a free booster.

How SuperBoost Wifi Compares to Other Boosters

At the time of publishing, there weren’t any user reviews we could reference to get a read on what the SuperBoost user experience is like.

So, we decided to do a quick rundown of name-brand extenders on Amazon that get high ratings from customers.

The TP-Link AC1750 was the highest-rated range extender among brand-name products. At $69.99, it garnered more than 2,700 reviews for an average rating of 3.6 stars. We looked at other TP-Link extenders and found that the ratings went up as the price point went lower.

  • TP-Link AC750: $28.44, 3.8 stars
  • TP-Link AC1200: $30.99, 3.6 stars

As we did our research, we found an extender that looks exactly like the SuperBoost. It was called the Aigital Wi-Fi Range Extender. It cost $21.99 and had an average rating of 3.7 stars, with common phrases from those reviews including: “works great,” “signal was weak,” and “easy to install.”

Some customers said the range extender worked well and was easy to install, while others said the setup process was a little confusing. In general, the reviews of the extender were positive.

While we can’t confirm that this is the same extender, it is not uncommon for a manufacturer to build a product like this and have multiple companies purchase, print their company name on it and sell it.

Our Research-Based Conclusions About SuperBoost Wifi

What’s tricky about getting a good sense of how SuperBoost works is that the product’s website reveals very little information about its specs. One of the more important metrics you should know about your range extender is the internet speed it can handle.

For example, if your extender is rated at 75mbps and you’ve got 300mbps internet speeds, your extender is going to limit the speed. Because we weren’t able to reach SuperBoost customer service, we couldn’t confirm which speed the extender can support.

However, based on our research of a signal booster we found on Amazon that looks the exact same device, there’s a good chance your SuperBoost will handle internet speeds of up to 300mbps.

As we mentioned earlier, the best way to test his is to do a Google speed test when you’re connected to your router, then another speed test when you’re connected to the SuperBoost.

As far as downsides go, we’d say the main drawback to the SuperBoost is its price. You can find cheaper signal extenders that support the same internet speeds. In fact, reputable brand name TP-Link offers a booster for $28.999 that gets decent reviews from Amazon reviewers.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 25 SuperBoost Wifi Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It is a cheap repeater, not a booster

    • State of México, Mexico,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After scamming in the US, they are now trying with the Mexican users. This product does not increase your ISP contracted speed, it will repeat in places where the signal is weak, as any repeater (it is not even a router). You can buy cheaper products that do the same. Do not fall into this false marketing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 24, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Pedro. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We're here to offer our assistance. To make sure that we are able to address all your concerns, we encourage you to send us the order number or email address used when you purchased so we can pull up your record. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience this has caused you and we hope to settle things the soonest possible time.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely pitiful!

    I almost don't know where to start. So I'll try to give an abbreviated version of what happened. I ordered the product which shipped from Hong Kong coming to Mexico. It was six weeks before I tracked down where they sent my shipment.

    They sent it DHL so I wasn't worried initially. DHL is one of the 2 ways I can receive packages to the beach areas in the Yucatan, Mexico. Except they didn't send it all the way through DHL. Somewhere along the line, they switched to Mexico Post and Mexico Post does not deliver mail in the Yucatan. They sent it to a town 30 minutes away from where I live and NO ONE BOTHERED TO TELL ME.

    Their "tracking" website wasn't updated until I emailed and asked where my package was the 2nd time! After that, it was excuse after excuse, after excuse as to why they could not tell me where their shipment was!

    Then they gave me a phone number to Mexico Post to check the status of their shipment except that phone number had no English speakers and I don't speak Spanish. They also gave me a link to Mexico Post that didn't work. I had to ask them 4 times where my package was and they claimed all 4 times they had no control over the shipment's delivery.

    I finally got a ride to the next town and got the package and when I tried to hook it up with the instructions provided in the package and the IP address given http://168.192.10.1 to configure the unit would not load. Just said, "website could not be reached."

    I'm into my third day of trying to hook this thing up and I have one more thing I can try after scouring the internet trying to find a solution.

    THIS IS PITIFUL BEFORE I CAN EVEN USE IT! I'm ready to throw this in the trash and call it a waste of $60.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Deborah. We are sorry to hear about this feedback and the inconvenience this has caused you before you even received the product. We're here to make sure that all your concerns are covered and straightened out. Feel free to use the link below so you will be guided with its proper setup:

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnavCkrwrcA

      We hope that you can still give this product a chance. Let us know if you need any further assistance.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not deal with these people!

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this product thinking it might help a dead spot, yet two days later contacted the company to cancel and requested a refund, was told already shipped and if I return product I will get a refund. What B.S. Then find it wasn't actually sent until a week later, goes from HK to Germany, sits there for 10 days before being sent to Australia, even after telling them for two weeks not to send and have courier return to HK. NO, it arrives at my door. I told them I wouldn't accept and "return to sender," still waiting for my REFUND and get the run around over and over.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Steve. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We're here to make sure that your concerns are addressed and straightened out. If it has been returned to us, our warehouse personnel will issue a refund was the parcel has been received and checked in. We are also sending you email messages to make sure you are updated with the process. We sincerely thank you for your patience and understanding.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Can't make it work

    I have been trying to connect this product for two days. I have tried with my desktop, laptop, iPad, and a Kindle. Nothing seems to work. I have been to various stages of connection on different devices. I am pretty tech savvy so I'm not sure what the problem is. It's too difficult for the average Joe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 6, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Stanford. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. Please check on the YouTube link below which is a video tutorial of the step-by-step procedure on how to set up the SuperBoost.

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnavCkrwrcA.

      Hope this helps!


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Refuses to connect to IP

    • County (optional),
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this product but I cannot connect it to my Wi-Fi as every method of connection in the instructions says to connect to "http://192.168.10.1", which flat-out doesn't load on a single device I've tried to load it on. I don't know if they disabled the website or what, but every attempt to connect is met with "Site can't be reached".

    Extremely disappointing that there's no alternate way to set up the router as it was a pretty costly product and it seems, with this one step being a total roadblock, the device is pretty much useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 22, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Adam. We're sorry to hear about this feedback. Please check the YouTube video below with a step-by-step video tutorial to help you get it working.

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnavCkrwrcA

      Thank you!


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Alicante, Spain,
    • May 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Seems to be a scam, over 30 days no goods dispatched, no answer to emails and no refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Grahame. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. Please check your inbox because we have sent you an email regarding the shipping status. Per tracking information, the order has already been delivered to you last May 16th. You may also check the link below:

      https://emanagecrm.aftership.com/LW443530925DE


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY - just another WiFi repeater

    • Cyprus,
    • May 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company advertises that this "gadget" will boost your WiFi internet signal and INCREASE internet speed. This is also written on the boxing case of the product. The ONLY reason I have purchased this product and waited for 30 days to be delivered was to utilize its internet speed increase "advantage". DO NOT FALL for it. Speed remains the same or diminishes. Just another WiFi repeater you can buy from a local store. NOT value for money, NOT what it advertises to do!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Nicolas. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. Please know that we are taking all your feedback seriously and escalate concerns to the proper department to make sure that everything is covered and straightened out. We apologize for all the inconvenience this has caused you.


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy, it's a scam

    • France,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Took forever to come. Terrible after service. Told that I would have to return the items from France to Canada, then they decided the Netherlands. I have looked up the address on Google and there are a lot of people who have sent back their antennas and not received a refund. So they seem to be operating other scam sites. Not sure whether to bother sending them back or just write as many bad reviews as possible. I don't understand how they are allowed to take people's money if they are doing so fraudulently? Surely Visa and Mastercard have some responsibility? They are making commissions out of these sales and surely must have to also take away this facility if it's fraudulent? Also, the tracking number, when I clicked on it, directed me to a porn site! One star is too high a rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 19, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Victoria. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to see how we can further assist as well as to make some clarifications. First, we would like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. The return address for Europe has already been sent to you via email. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. Second, we'd like to take this chance to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the whole process. As soon as the returned item has been received and checked in at our warehouse, your refund will be processed. Thank you for your patience and understanding.


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    • Spain,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered multiple units based on their statements about signal boosting. These units just do nothing, they are frankly completely useless. Whatever you do don't order this rubbish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 16, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi William. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to offer our help so you can maximize the use of the wifi booster.

      Read the following instructions carefully before use.

      IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION

      CAUTION: UNIT MAY FEEL WARM WHEN IN USE DUE TO ELECTRICAL CURRENT FLOW.

      WARNING: DO NOT USE IF UNIT IS WET, DAMP, OR HAS BEEN SUBMERGED IN WATER. MOISTURE MAY ALTER UNIT AND RESULT IN DEFECTIVENESS.

      1. Only use the device for intended purposes.

      2. To reset your Wi-Fi Booster, hold Reset Button for 10 seconds.

      3. For wireless setup, please ensure you have the following:

      Wi-Fi AP/Router Internet Access (Wireless Repeater Mode)

      Broadband Router Internet access (Wireless AP Mode): Connect Wi-Fi Booster to your Router/Switch with Ethernet Cable

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster Wirelessly Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Click on the network icon. This can be found on the bottom right of your desktop.

      Click on ‘Connect’ Open browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ as for your Username and ‘admin’ as your Password.

      When the new web page appears, click on ‘Repeater’ in the top right corner.

      To continue, select Wireless SSID.

      Insert the network key. Click ‘Apply’.

      *Note: Your default wireless SSID and Security key are the same as your AP/Router.

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster with Wireless AP Mode Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Open a browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ for your Username and ‘admin’ for your Password.

      When a new web page appears, click on ‘AP’ in the top right corner.

      When ‘Wireless AP Mode’ screen appears, use the following information to fill in the empty fields:

      SSID: Your ‘SSID’ or wireless network.

      Channel: Auto (recommended).

      Security Type: Set up wireless security and encryption. Supports 64/128-bit WEP, WPA, WPA2, WPA/WPA2.

      Security Key: The ‘Password’ used for your wireless network.

      Click ‘Apply’.

      Wait for your Wi-Fi Booster to restart.

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster with the Ethernet Cable

      Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Use an ethernet cable to connect the Wi-Fi Booster to your computer or laptop.

      Open a browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ for your Username and ‘admin’ for your Password.

      When the new web page appears, click on ‘Repeater’ in the top right corner.

      To continue, select Wireless SSID.

      Insert the network key.

      Click ‘Apply’.

      Please let us know if you have any further questions.


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Wifi speed boost

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I got this thinking my internet would be better, currently at 45 MB.

    Plugged it in, connected easily, everything was looking promising, ran a speed test - 12 MBPS. Ummmm, okay...restarted, did it again - 11 MBPS.

    Immediately put that bad boy back in the box and kicked it to the trash. A complete waste of money. I will just have to deal with the fact I can't get internet on the other side of the house.

    In other notes, this took 38 days to be shipped to me. Also came as a Europe Plug so I had to spend another 20 bucks to get an adapter to use it. All in all, 1 star, not worth the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Justin. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We understand that it has been inconvenient to wait for the product more than the ideal delivery time frame. If the product has been unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. You may send us an email with the order detail to support@superboostwifi.com so we can further assist you with your concern. Thank you!


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    SuperBoost

    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product doesn’t work. I tried for a week to connect to URL and it keeps timing out. This is a total scam and I would avoid it at all cost!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Chris. We're sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to offer our help so you can maximize the use of the wifi booster.

      Read the following instructions carefully before use.

      IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION

      CAUTION: UNIT MAY FEEL WARM WHEN IN USE DUE TO ELECTRICAL CURRENT FLOW.

      WARNING: DO NOT USE IF UNIT IS WET, DAMP, OR HAS BEEN SUBMERGED IN WATER. MOISTURE MAY ALTER UNIT AND RESULT IN DEFECTIVENESS.

      1. Only use the device for intended purposes.

      2. To reset your Wi-Fi Booster, hold Reset Button for 10 seconds.

      3. For wireless setup, please ensure you have the following:

      Wi-Fi AP/Router Internet Access (Wireless Repeater Mode)

      Broadband Router Internet access (Wireless AP Mode): Connect Wi-Fi Booster to your Router/Switch with Ethernet Cable

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster Wirelessly Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Click on the network icon. This can be found on the bottom right of your desktop.

      Click on ‘Connect’ Open browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ as for your Username and ‘admin’ as your Password.

      When the new web page appears, click on ‘Repeater’ in the top right corner.

      To continue, select Wireless SSID.

      Insert the network key. Click ‘Apply’.

      *Note: Your default wireless SSID and Security key are the same as your AP/Router.

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster with Wireless AP Mode Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Open a browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ for your Username and ‘admin’ for your Password.

      When a new web page appears, click on ‘AP’ in the top right corner.

      When ‘Wireless AP Mode’ screen appears, use the following information to fill in the empty fields:

      SSID: Your ‘SSID’ or wireless network.

      Channel: Auto (recommended).

      Security Type: Set up wireless security and encryption. Supports 64/128-bit WEP, WPA, WPA2, WPA/WPA2.

      Security Key: The ‘Password’ used for your wireless network.

      Click ‘Apply’.

      Wait for your Wi-Fi Booster to restart.

      Configuring Your Wi-Fi Booster with the Ethernet Cable

      Plug your Wi-Fi Booster into an outlet.

      Use an ethernet cable to connect the Wi-Fi Booster to your computer or laptop.

      Open a browser and enter: http://192.168.10.1

      When the login screen appears, enter ‘admin’ for your Username and ‘admin’ for your Password.

      When the new web page appears, click on ‘Repeater’ in the top right corner.

      To continue, select Wireless SSID.

      Insert the network key.

      Click ‘Apply’.

      Please let us know if you have any further questions.


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for SuperBoost Wifi!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review