About SuperBoost Wifi

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 2, 2019

SuperBoost Wifi is a device that connects to your existing Wi-Fi signal and boosts that signal so that rooms with bad connections can get a reliable signal from your router.

The device is a simple one in that you plug it into the wall of an area or room where you’d like a stronger signal. It has a clean, straightforward design that includes a variety of plugs that fit power outlets in Europe and the United States.

Wi-Fi boosters have been around for a long time now, so there is plenty of competition out there for the SuperBoost. In this review, we’ll talk about how the device’s features and price compare to other more well-known brands, as well as cover how it works and what the item’s return policy is.

How the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster Works

There is very little information about the SuperBoost Wifi on the product’s website. We called the company’s customer service line multiple times to get some details on the device’s specs but could not reach a representative.

When you take the booster out of the box, you’ll need to connect it to your existing router network, which only takes a few minutes. Once the device is connected, it will send the signal out in such a way that rooms with poor signals should see a boost in that signal.

Now, to actually connect to the boosted signal you’ll have to connect to the booster itself instead of your router. So, open your Wi-Fi settings and you should see the new booster there. Connect to it and you should see a significant jump in speed.

One easy way to check how much the booster helped is to do a speed test before you set up the booster and a speed test after. The quickest speed test is available through Google; just search “Google speed test” and you’ll get your results in seconds.

As we mentioned earlier, the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster includes four different power adapters to handle 120V plugs in the U.S., 240V plugs in Europe, and 230V plugs in Australia/New Zealand/China/Argentina.

It’s important to point out that the website makes no claims about how effective your SuperBoost will be. How effective a booster is depends on where you place it, what the signal is like coming into the booster and how many obstacles stand between the room you’re in and the booster.

Pro tip: The SuperBoost doesn’t make your router’s internet connection faster, it just extends the range of the signal.

How a Wi-Fi Booster Actually Boosts a Signal

Linksys, a popular name in routers, modems and signal extenders, provides an excellent example of how a signal booster works.

Basically, you’ve got your router – it shoots your internet connection as far as it can shoot it – and you’ve got the rooms in your house. Some of those rooms are going to be too far away to get a good signal and are known as “dead spots.”

This happens to me when I go outside and work on our back patio – the signal is spotty, at best, and qualifies as a dead spot.

“Think of it in terms of baseball, where your router is an outfielder whose job it is to get the ball to the catcher” Linksys explains. “A Wi-Fi extender is the shortstop that stands between the two, waiting to catch the ball and throw it into home plate.”

While an extender can work wonders for your internet signal strength, it’s not always necessary to buy an extender, Linksys says.

“Sometimes your Wi-Fi router placement is the culprit for your dead spot woes,” they say. “Before purchasing a Wi-Fi extender, try placing your wireless router in the most centralized location of your living space.”

The article from Linksys goes on to say that you’ll want to get a range extender that matches the technology of your router.

Because the SuperBoost website doesn’t offer any information about the device’s technical specifications, it’s very tough to say whether or not its technology is equal to your router or less advanced.

The SuperBoost Wifi’s Price and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, the SuperBoost Wi-Fi Booster cost $52.95 with shipping rates that vary depending on where you live. The company behind SuperBoost is based in London, so there’s a good chance your shipping will be a bit higher than it would be if the company was based in the U.S.

We dug through the fine print to find the company’s return policy. Basically, you can’t make any returns and you only have 30 days from the day you receive your booster to exchange it.

“Our Exchange Only Policy lasts 30 days and it takes effect from the time you receive your purchase. If more than 30 days have gone by since delivery of your purchase, unfortunately we can’t offer you an exchange or price equivalent in store credit,” the fine print says.

Email support@superboostwifi.com to start the exchange process.

Keep in mind that, when you send in your booster for an exchange, it needs to be in perfect condition and returned in the original packaging.

The company will then confirm with you through email that you’ll get your exchange, either by them sending you a new unit or giving you store credit you can redeem for a free booster.

How SuperBoost Wifi Compares to Other Boosters

At the time of publishing, there weren’t any user reviews we could reference to get a read on what the SuperBoost user experience is like.

So, we decided to do a quick rundown of name-brand extenders on Amazon that get high ratings from customers.

The TP-Link AC1750 was the highest-rated range extender among brand-name products. At $69.99, it garnered more than 2,700 reviews for an average rating of 3.6 stars. We looked at other TP-Link extenders and found that the ratings went up as the price point went lower.

  • TP-Link AC750: $28.44, 3.8 stars
  • TP-Link AC1200: $30.99, 3.6 stars

As we did our research, we found an extender that looks exactly like the SuperBoost. It was called the Aigital Wi-Fi Range Extender. It cost $21.99 and had an average rating of 3.7 stars, with common phrases from those reviews including: “works great,” “signal was weak,” and “easy to install.”

Some customers said the range extender worked well and was easy to install, while others said the setup process was a little confusing. In general, the reviews of the extender were positive.

While we can’t confirm that this is the same extender, it is not uncommon for a manufacturer to build a product like this and have multiple companies purchase, print their company name on it and sell it.

Our Research-Based Conclusions About SuperBoost Wifi

What’s tricky about getting a good sense of how SuperBoost works is that the product’s website reveals very little information about its specs. One of the more important metrics you should know about your range extender is the internet speed it can handle.

For example, if your extender is rated at 75mbps and you’ve got 300mbps internet speeds, your extender is going to limit the speed. Because we weren’t able to reach SuperBoost customer service, we couldn’t confirm which speed the extender can support.

However, based on our research of a signal booster we found on Amazon that looks the exact same device, there’s a good chance your SuperBoost will handle internet speeds of up to 300mbps.

As we mentioned earlier, the best way to test his is to do a Google speed test when you’re connected to your router, then another speed test when you’re connected to the SuperBoost.

As far as downsides go, we’d say the main drawback to the SuperBoost is its price. You can find cheaper signal extenders that support the same internet speeds. In fact, reputable brand name TP-Link offers a booster for $28.999 that gets decent reviews from Amazon reviewers.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 45 SuperBoost Wifi Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SCAM, do not buy! Read this!

    • Newport, Australia,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is a scam. It doesn’t work, and if anything, slowed my speeds down. Do not buy! Go to your local retail shop instead. It doesn’t work, nothing like the video may suggest on "YouTube" where I saw this advertised.

    YouTube has also been notified of using a misleading product on their page. And I have no doubt this company is also doing similar commercials/ advertising for other products.

    SCAM, scam, scam. Like throwing money down the toilet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    • Dorset, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy enough to set up and connect - however, WiFi speed dropped from (about) 60Mbps (download) and 17 Mbps (upload) using the existing WiFi connection to my router to 19Mbps (download) and 12Mbps (upload) when connected to your WiFi repeater. Waste of time! And money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Ken! Your feedback is being taken into account. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please note that this product is a wifi repeater and internet speed will still depend on your internet service provider. You may send us an email at support@superboostwifi.com so we can discuss other options that might work for you!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Refused to cancel order

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the booster online, then within minutes I saw these reviews and knew I didn't want the booster. I emailed within 30 minutes to cancel and was informed 26 hours later that unfortunately, they could not cancel the order because it was packaged for dispatch!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Mary! We hear your feedback. Once orders are made online, it is being forwarded to our fulfillment facility immediately so we can deliver earlier or within the expected shipping time frame. Should you find the product unsatisfactory, we have a 30-day money-back guarantee which entitles to a full refund as long as it is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery. Hope to have informed you well.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Speed reduced in half - don’t buy!

    • Lacon, IL,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was easy enough to setup using the instructions. However, speed went from 10 mbs to 5 mbs! Are there any troubleshooting tips that I can use? Otherwise, what a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Jim! We are taking your feedback into account. We would also like to clarify that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. We want to make things easy for you. Take a look at this simple step-by-step video tutorial on how to set up the SuperBoost Wifi Booster ---> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnavCkrwrcA. I can also send you a step-by-step copy for your reference in the future!


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase this garbage

    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, it is marketed as a booster and it is a repeater. The company will not help. This is deceptive advertising. DO NOT BUY! My only recourse will be PayPal. Their marketing is a lie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Hank! We are taking your feedback into account. There is a fine line between being persuasive and misleading. We are definitely not the latter! Let me help you out. Could you please tell me about the advertisement you have seen?


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Mbps

    • Utah,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    You can order a 300 Mbps from Walmart for $12.95. Do the math, with limited technical data provided by SuperBoost, it is a much better deal. And if you don't like it, satisfaction is guaranteed. Return it for your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Stuart. We certainly hear your feedback. We also offer a 30-Day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long it is returned to us within 30 days from the time of receipt and still on its original condition. We won't let you get stuck with a product that does not meet your expectations. We hope to have informed you well.


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bummed out

    • Coeur d'Alene, ID,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yea, I really wish I would have reviewed this so-called booster more before ordering. I did many speed tests after installing and comparing the speed to what I had before and my speed was cut in half with so called booster. Now I read all these reviews and my hope to get a refund on my purchase seems very unlikely. I would not recommend this item to anyone. I will admit though they do have a great sales pitch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Jason. We certainly hear your feedback. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee. Please note that items should be returned within 30 days upon receipt and in the same condition, they were delivered in. An email from the Customer Service team has also been sent to you trying to rectify the issue. We look forward to your response.


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Sadly not as marketed

    • Norfolk, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good points: Received within 4 days of ordering, well packed, easy to set up wirelessly and get running.

    Bad points: No improvement in WiFi speed. Actually worse to start with. Tried several times but no joy.

    So decided to return. Service center contact was good and helpful. Offered a 20% discount for another but that doesn’t help. Given Netherlands return center details but it cost £11 to send it back; about 30% of the purchase price to start with. Let’s see if the refund for the unit arrives. Very disappointed but learned a lesson.

    Sadly not as written on the tin: No improvement in speed or range.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Phil. We certainly hear your feedback. Please be informed that your refund has already been processed and should be credited to the original form of payment. We thank you for your patience all throughout the process.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY

    • Bowmanville, Canada,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Followed instructions and got as far as "step 1" and then the power went out and the unit never worked after that. Company is not very fond of giving refunds, many emails back and forth before giving me permission to return with no assistance from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Roger! We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. We have sent you the return address in the last week of July. You may also reply to our email with the return tracking number so we can expedite the process of refunding the order if it has not been issued yet. We thank you for your patience.


  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Instead of boosting my signal it cut it in half

    • Carlislie, PA,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received the SuperBoost today, followed all directions and surprise, instead of boosting my signal it cut the signal in half. I called the help line and was connected to a clueless tech rep in the Philippines who keep repeating the same steps that I had already tried. I asked her what their return policy was and she stated that I had to pay all shipping costs and include $10.00 for a restocking fee. The unit cost under $30.00 so I would have to pay more to return it than I paid to get it. I suggest one try the signal boosters at Walmart before even thinking about this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 1, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Robert. We certainly hear your feedback and please know that we take them to heart as they will help us improve our overall services. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. This return policy is outlined in the terms of service which was agreed upon prior to checking out. Let us know if you have any further concerns and we will do our best to assist.


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Crawley, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Claims of speeding up your WiFi is complete rubbish. System couldn't connect as unsecured network. Claims of 5-minute setup is a nonsense. I'm reasonably tech savvy and spent 2 hours trying to have no joy support is totally rubbish as sent me in an email just the useless instructions in the box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Matthew! We certainly hear your feedback. We take them to hear at they will help us improve our overall services. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. This is outlined in the terms and conditions agreed upon prior to purchase.


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for SuperBoost Wifi!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review