About Survival Life

Whether you’re a seasoned pro or just beginning to learn about survival and preparedness, it’s very likely that you’ve come across Survival Life. As the self-proclaimed “nation’s #1 group of preparedness-minded individuals,” the company claims to provide access to logical, no-nonsense original content, product reviews, survival tips, and curated articles from around the web.

But is this really the case? Let’s “prepare” to find out.

Quick Facts About Survival Life

As one of the top destinations for knowledge, skills, and tactics related to survival and preparedness, the Survival Life website is divided into five main sections:

  1. Do it Yourself – Subsections include food production and preservation, alternative energy, homesteading, medical care, and more.
  2. Survival Skills – Includes sections about emergency communications, fishing, hunting, & trapping, water purification, and more.
  3. Survival Gear Reviews – Professional, in-depth reviews about products ranging from weaponry to food dehydration, and everything in between.
  4. Members’ Area – After paying for a membership to the Lamplighter society (more about this below), you’ll gain access to all current reports, the full archive, the entire survival guide library, in addition to exclusive interviews.
  5. Experts – Here, you’ll find detailed information about some of the Survival Life contributors.

According to the Survival Life website, membership to the Lamplighter society provides an easy, practical way of obtaining information related to survival preparedness, without having to spend years of trial and error. With this in mind, membership is claimed to provide the following benefits:

  • 3-5 new how-to articles each month
  • At least one special report each month
  • Monthly cutting-edge newsletters
  • New books, videos, and websites that you’ll find pertinent
  • “Private Intel” reports on situations occurring around the world
  • Real-life case studies
  • In-depth analysis of common prepping mistakes
  • Seasonal tips and tricks

The Survival Life Credit Card Knife

The Credit Card Knife is perhaps Survival Life’s biggest namesake. This small knife starts out about the same size and weight as a traditional credit card, but unfolds in seconds into a fully functional knife. It features a surgical steel blade, protective hand guard, and even a built-in safety sheath to keep it from becoming dull, and from accidentally opening in your pocket or pack.

Survival Life Pricing & Refund Policy

Lamplighter membership is currently priced at $19.95 per month. Enrollment is on a recurring basis, which means you’ll continue to be charged each month until you cancel your membership.

All Survival Life products and services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. As a result, Lamplighter memberships come with a 30-day refund policy, while all other products come with a 45-day refund policy. However, keep in mind that physical products will be assessed a 10% restocking fee upon return. To request a refund, contact customer service at 512-366-3332.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Survival Life?

Survival Life is based out of Austin, TX, and is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. Outside of the BBB, we were only able to find one online review regarding Survival Life or the Lamplighter society, which referenced difficulty ordering online.

Regarding the Credit Card Knife, online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing that it was difficult to hold on to, and that it was constructed of flimsy plastic.

What’s the Bottom Line About Survival Life?

When it comes to Survival Life, it may be the case that “no news is good news,” but we can’t be sure. While we weren’t able to locate many online customer reviews during our research, here are some of the positives we encountered:

  • The company appears to have been in business for quite some time (at least as far back as 2010)
  • Their website is professional and easy to navigate
  • They appear to offer a wide variety of products
  • Some of their contributors are prominently in the public eye
  • Only one negative online customer review

With this in mind, if you’re even remotely interested in survival-related topics, it’s highly likely you’ll find something useful over at Survival Life.

Do you have experience with Survival Life? If so, cut to the chase and share your opinion with the world by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 47 Survival Life Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • TOTAL SCAM

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Charged me the day I placed my order. I questioned after a month when nothing showed up and their website said they had not been shipped yet.

    I was told their shipping window is 6 to 8 weeks.

    I waited until 8 weeks and one day, still hadn't shipped so I questioned again.

    Was told that one order shipped and was received at my post office over a month ago. Clearly fraudulent information as their own website says nothing had shipped.

    It took 10 weeks to get reimbursed for one order, still trying for the other two. BBB is getting involved as in my lawyer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Order incorrect

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT order more than 1 of an item. They will tell you that they shipped the correct amount and basically tell you that it's your loss. Customers do not come first here. Word to the wise, buy from another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    You'd be better off dealing with the Mob

    • Mississippi,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They lost my order and account. Still charged me. I went straight to my bank's manager.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Louisiana,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They did refund the money quickly, once everything was FINALLY resolved, so at least there's that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2019

    Stay away

    These guys also operate under the name "Family Protection Association."

    I clicked on an offer for two Everstryke lighters for $4.95, and their glitching website charged me for an $80 order of canned food, as well as doubling my original order.

    I emailed customer support, requesting cancellation of all except original order. They took days to respond. Once they did, I repeated my request, including exact order ID numbers.

    No response.

    They attempted to call several times while I was away on a job. When I finally got in touch, I was informed that the two orders of lighters ($4.95 each) were already shipped, despite my request that they ship only one. So I got four lighters for $9.90, when they have an offer for five lighters for $9.95.

    Finally I managed to get the $80 order canceled, supposed to be refunded in 2-6 business days. We shall see.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Steer clear

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Survival Life is a scam, I ordered a Varmint Crossbow and after it had an arrived in over three and a half months, I called and decided to cancel the order. They apologized and said it was on back order, but I had talked to them 30 days prior, and they promised it to me by the 18th. So, after canceling, they talked me into joining the FPA membership program, they would send me new gear every month for $17 a month. I was told there would be no shipping on top of that monthly subscription. After I read the small print when they sent me the email, I noticed that they will charge you shipping and the cost depended upon the item being shipped.

    If you don’t get on the website and cancel the items you don’t want, they will send you everything and you will pay shipping fees on all items, which is different depending on the item. Big ticket items will be up to $30 shipping, or more than $30 shipping fee for a backpack you can buy online for $15.98 with free shipping. Then you are paying $17/month for a membership. This company is a scam, they claim to be out of Austin, Texas but they are really based in the Philippines. All nine times that I called, never, not once did I get an operator that sounded American. Save your money and don’t waste your time. If only there were an option for 0 or even negative stars, anybody posting positive reviews either works for or is getting paid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Survival Life's lighter

    • California,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Survival Life is 100% legit! I have no complaints, I am 100% happy with my lighters. I do have a question - can you replace the wick or pull them out as they start to burn lower? Thank you, looking forward to receiving my new knife.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Be careful - the key is their survival ($$)

    I purchased a knife from this company back in 2015, and now I’ve learned my credit card information was used to charge me for an online subscription for Family Survival without my knowledge or permission. Needless to say, they are being very slow in answering questions about this and providing any document that authorizes them to sign me up for this. Be warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy from this company!

    • California,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    You order stuff, and they never ship you the product. I am still waiting for the crossbow that I ordered 6 months ago. Also, their customer service is useless and unhelpful. After 3 months of waiting for my first order, they decided to cancel my order without my permission. Then the company sent me an email to order the same crossbow on November 21st, and now again I still do not have my order, and they can't tell me when I will receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Shipping is terrible

    I've been waiting almost 30 days now on 4 different orders, about 10 days on another order, and have only recieved 2 orders out of the orders I have placed. They say the items are on back order, but they still send emails every day trying to sell the same items they say are on backorder. I'm completely disappointed in Survival Life; their shipping is downright awful and just a slap to the face. Do they not want your repeated business?

    I recieved the very first order I placed there, which was a less than $3 transaction for the Hybeam Micro and I had it within 2 weeks. I've also ordered the Hybeam Mini, Hybeam Poplamp, Hoffman Richter Reaper, and ordered them all within 3 days of September the 25th, 26th, and 27th. Well now it's October 22nd, and I haven't received any of those items. I ordered the Hoffman Richter EDC tool and received it within 2 weeks also, but this was also about a $5-$6 purchase.

    It's bad for the customer to order things and still not get them a month later. It's just bad business and not how you want to treat a repeated customer. I mean, what do they do, wait until the end of the month and send an employee across the country to deliver packages to try and save money? Heck, I thought I was the one paying shipping, or at least that's what my receipt says, so why take so damn long?

    They don't even send an email to apologize or anything to tell you what's going on unless you contact them 1st. Maybe they hope you forget about ordering anything after so long? I have noticed in the other reviews they all had the same complaints about slow shipping, like they only ship out on Christmas day or something. My wife has already chewed me out for buying the items, so I would much rather have had the items than the money back since I've already paid for them (twice).

    They need to figure out a better plan to get things out and to their customers. This is going to cost them their business if they don't do something different than their current shipping. Or maybe it's in their warehouse and the workers just don't work but are packaging one shipment a day. Goodluck if you make a purchase from them, I hope you get your item in a reasonable amount of time.

    They obviously sell things they don't even have in stock, or maybe that how they buy their stock; you buy from them and then they order from someone else? That would explain a lot of this crap, but someone needs to be held accountable for this. It shouldn't be a hit or miss on getting an item you have already paid for in a reasonable amount of time. Three weeks should be the latest you get anything through the mail, and that's if it is shipped from China, not 3 states over. It's a 12-hour drive from my home in Alabama to Austin, Texas. I know for a fact because I used to make that drive when I was stationed at Fort Hood, Texas and had to drive through Austin, which was about 45 minutes away to get there.

    I just want the items I ordered before I die. If you can have something here within 2 weeks on other orders it shouldn't ever be a month on any others. If something is on backorder then don't sell it, or at least tell the customer it's on backorder and it might be a while before you get it before the customer spends their hard earned money on something they could get somewhere else within days. That's how you earn respect and trust, that's how you build a business; on the trust and respect of your customers. Make sure you save and keep up with your emailed receipts and order numbers; if you don't get one then email them ASAP and ask for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • Texas,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Hoffman Richter Talon knife for $24.95 with a promised delivery date of 7-12 business days. I called for status at the 18 business day mark and was told the order was "misplaced." They said my money will be refunded, but we'll see. Although they list an Austin, Texas physical address and a phone number with the correct Austin, Texas exchange (512), the number connects to a "customer service" contractor company in the Philippines.

    I would steer clear. I don't know if they're actually running a scam but seems quite suspicious. They are not very upfront with who they are or where they are. Do honest/ethical companies hide?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Your money would be best spent elsewhere

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Survival Life and was a member for over two years.

    In that time, I ordered some of the items they had to offer. I was disappointed that their stated 15 to 21 business days to deliver a purchased item was standard for them. It got a little better over time, but never got below 15 days.

    I've called their customer service, and it's hit-or-miss on being helpful. I canceled my membership when they persisted that I was not a member, despite regular monthly billing. They were finally able to find it, but I thought I could do better with my money elsewhere. The things they sell are not cheaper than the same items elsewhere online when you add in the $19.95 a month charge.

    The quality of their items is certainly not better than what you can find on your own. Most of the videos that are hosted are easily available on YouTube, and for free.

    The bottom line is, for preparation for when "things hit the fan," you can do just as well to research it on your own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review