Survival Life Reviews

Survival Life

Overall Rating

2.3

50 Customer Reviews

Summary

Survival Life is a website that features survival-related content including survival tips, tactical info, and information on emergency foods. Learn what customers how customers are reviewing this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 50 Reviews
5 Star:18% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:10% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:54%
34% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Survival Life:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 18, 2015

Welcome to the result of unskilled labor.

By Darren ,

I Love miniaturization and small carry survival items so I definitely was fascinated by both the CC knife and the Everstryke. I have not ordered the Hoffman-Richter but the reviews I found were all positive toward it. Remember that you'll find horrifying reviews about all kinds of survival/utility tools including SOG, Ka-Bar, Schrade, etc. I ordered both the match and the CC knife with the greatest of ease and I was told that it would take 10 to 15 days to receive. Not only did I get them within a week, I received two of the each products with no extra shipping charge. I think they're both great. I have been in customer service for years and these stories here have twice as many in the contrary elsewhere.

The problem is when you have humans in a conscientious service and supply company, you are at the mercy of the minimum wage grunts they are forced to hire so they can stay in operation. Without a sense of commitment or maybe by not having English as their first language, sloth and incompetence are often the result. It's too bad any of you had a bad experience (or think the products are crap, ultimately a clever person can thrive using only a sharp rock. So where does the fault of use or perception lie?)

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2015

No problems, they tell you plenty that ordering includes recurring charge

By Charlie , Kansas

For all these 'bad' reviews: they tell you plenty of times through the ordering process about the recurring membership. Not their problem if you don't read the offer through. Easy to cancel, though, and the products are as advertised. I have the ever strike match, the cc knife, the Hoffman Richter knife and the Tac flashlight. I've read the info on the site during membership, then canceled until I order again. Like I said, no issues and a good service for anyone starting out planning survival.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 24, 2015

Know what you are buying

By Robbin , Mikado, Michigan

My stepson had gotten the Hoffman Richter knife and the match. He showed them to me and I went online to see about ordering for myself. The company absolutely tells you that you are enrolling in a monthly billed club. I requested both the credit card knife and the survival knife. I received both within 10 days. They were exactly as described, very nice, sharp blades. The survival knife is sturdy as expected. The credit card knife is very thin, and folds up quickly. You can't expect them to be the same. They were designed for different purposes. Match the tool to the job. I canceled my membership and got a confirmation email the same day.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2015

Very honest company

By Steven Philhart , Clovis California

I tried for 14 days and then I find out I had to move. I called the phone number which was very easy to find and they cancelled my membership and still sent me the knife and the match striker. I mean let's get real people, you're paying $15 for a knife and a survival match. Are there better ones out there, of course. Are there better ones out there for $15, I highly doubt it. They were very courteous and took care of my cancellation and I was never billed, except for the shipping fees of the items that I bought.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2015

Great site.

By Joshua Freese, St Cloud Mn, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Everstryke Pro lighter and received it within a week. Sadly it was broken so I emailed Survival Life and no questions asked they sent out a replacement and let me keep the first lighter. I love the Everstryke Pro lighter, it is part of my EDC. Just a few days ago I ordered the HR 30 tactical folding knife and am currently awaiting arrival. I hope it's as good as they make it out to be. So far I love Survival Life.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2015

Very pleased!

By Denise Carter, Poulsbo, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Richter 15 knife (paid shipping cost only) and surprisingly, it arrived in just a few days! I like that! When I opened it up, it was slower than I anticipated and it didn't fully open. To me, no big deal because of the price & it's a sharp, sturdy knife. Then I saw the Richter30 advertised with an additional 25% off! I clicked the button, then another & the back button & quickly made a huge mess of my bank account! I called the company and the gal was awesome.

She immediately got the $260 put back into my account & when I mentioned the slow-opening knife I received, she said she'd send me out a new one right away and that I could keep the first one. Terrific service, great information & tips, neat items & fast shipping. Great company. I'm a happy & satisfied new member.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 22, 2015

Survival Life

By J.M. Maness, Robbins, NC, Verified Reviewer

I have ordered several items from Survival Life and have gotten them in a reasonable amount of time. I have never been charged for anything, but the items I have ordered and have not been charged a membership fee. I am very happy with all of the items I have ordered from them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2016

Survival Life products

By Rihard W., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Ordered six products online and had no problems throughout the process. Shipping was fast and products were great. Credit card knife has plastic but I've carried one for over a year with no problems.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2018

Survival Life's lighter

By Byron R., California, Verified Reviewer

Survival Life is 100% legit! I have no complaints, I am 100% happy with my lighters. I do have a question - can you replace the wick or pull them out as they start to burn lower? Thank you, looking forward to receiving my new knife.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2015

I have no problem with Survival Life

By Gary Lyon , Silver Spring, MD

I have ordered four or five products from Survival Life. I have not been offered any subscriptions since I declined the first time. Yes, I get email offers from them maybe three times a week. I look, if good I order, if not, I delete it. They seem to have a niche that if you are not into survival stuff you probably are not interested in the products. Yes most are budget items but I have carried and used the Card Knife. It is exactly as advertised. I have some videos. They are advertising, but I have learned a thing or two from them and they are worth the cost which is little or nothing.

I don't do many reviews but seeing I have experience with this company, I decided to leave a review on them. I have recommended them to friends (that I know would be into these types of products).

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 2, 2015

Make sure to cancel if you dont want it.

By James , Alabama

Got a Knife and Everstrike match for just shipping which was worth it in my opinion.

Took some time to come in the mail almost a month. Just make sure to cancel membership if what they offer does not suit you because they will charge each month for the services.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Sep 23, 2015

OK products, but use good judgment

By Smoke Hill Farm, Chancellorsville VA, Verified Reviewer

I've ordered a number of products from them -- the Hoffman Richter knife, credit card knives, flashlights -- and never had a problem. Shipping seemed pretty quick, actually.

I suspect that some customers are either very young, or just don't know much about the products offered. The Everstryke lighter I never bothered with. The same thing has been offered cheaply since I was a kid in the 1950s; it was never as good as a real lighter & always gets thrown in a drawer & ignored. Now that Bic disposable lighters are only a buck & give you a couple of thousand lights -- who would bother with wick-type lighters? Bics have a shelf life of many YEARS. I was a heavy smoker for years & know from experience.

The Hoffman Richter knife is WAY heavy, nothing I'd carry everyday, but seems sturdy & I keep it in one of my vehicles for emergencies. There are certainly better knives available (I have a number of them), but usually at much higher price. A $10 Chinese fixed-blade hunting knife from eBay is a better survivalist tool, if you can sharpen properly.

The credit card knife is a neat little niche tool, and I carry one in my wallet. Obviously it is NOT a sturdy hunting knife, but definitely has its place. When I blew a radiator hose, it did a fine job of cutting through the old one. It's for EMERGENCY use when you have no "real" knife. I like mine & ordered more for friends, all of whom loved it. Get a grip, guys -- it isn't designed to skin out a deer.

I've only used the flashlight a couple of times. It worked fine, is very bright, and seems sturdy, especially for the price.

The spy pen is probably OK, but cheaper models can be found on Amazon & elsewhere. It's basically just a big pointed piece of metal, like a fat nail. Don't overpay. You could make one in your basement with a bench grinder.

You can't just buy blind on Survival Life. Go look at reviews of the specific product (and prices on Amazon) if you are uncertain.

I'd recommend them to friends, but some of the comments about monthly fees & bad service do make me a bit hesitant, even though my experiences have been all good so far.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2015

Tools and knives

By jon baudendistel , greeley CO

I have purchased several knives from survival life. The first knife I got, someone liked it better than I did and I was not a happy camper. I have given the knives to coworkers and each person likes them as much as I do! They are very sturdy, and well made. The smaller multi-tool is a great little "get me out of trouble" helper. The fire starters are going to be some stocking stuffers. The fire and fishing grenades are also neat. I will continue to purchase them when offered, even when the wife says that I have too many knives and toys.

The only drawback is the multi charges for the enrollment fees. Each one you buy in automatically opts you in for more. so having a program that checks on the multi enrollment fees would be nice. Thank you again and keep up the great offers!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 29, 2016

Happy so far

By Dennis Thompson, Michigan City, IN, Verified Reviewer

I've ordered several items from this company and have got exactly what I was promised. As some others have stated, the products were made in China but are what they promised. I feel I got a fair product for a fair price. I'll watch for unexpected charges but have not had any so far. I'm happy with this company. And yes I would recommend them to friends. Also, I've order the HR30, the spy pen, the fire starter and a flash light and all came in good time and were decent products for what I paid.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2015

Unannounced billing

By Mike , Nicholson, PA

I like the basic idea of preparedness and some articles were helpful but I was billed $19.95 for a membership not requested. Worst of all, the name of the party billing me is called Absolute Right, not Survival Life or anything that would help identify those who are removing funds from my checking account which I had to cancel. Let the buyer beware. I do like the Hoffman Richter tactical knife though. It's heavy and shaves right out of the box. Thanks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2015

If you don't want the trial offer, don't click on it.

By Wilbur , Louisville KY

You are not going to be enrolled in the free trial membership if you don't click on it. I have never had a problem. I buy it if I like it. You get what you pay for.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 18, 2015

Great company for those serious about survival

By Steven Holland, Verified Reviewer

Only problem I have is the recurring payment. They tell you straight upfront that there will be a membership fee but say it is easy to cancel. I have not been able to find how to cancel this payment! If anyone knows how or where to go to cancel please comment and explain it to me. The website seems very informative and those who write seem very professional and experienced. I just want to cancel though.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2015

Multi-tool

By Robert Florio, Northbridge, MA, Verified Reviewer

I received my H.R. Richter multi tool today and was pretty disappointed with the size of the tool, it was no bigger than my index finger. Yhe saw on the end of one of the blades looked as if it was only good for cutting tooth picks, and the blade was only big enough to gut a chipmunk. Sorry but for twenty dollars and five dollars for shipping and handling, I'm pretty disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 22, 2017

Survival Life credit card knife scam?

By Jeff, New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the free knife knowing going in that is was just a lure to get you to buy something else. When I saw the offer for a second free knife, I knew that is was a catch. If you bother to read anything else, it tells you that you are also going to be in their club and there was a monthly fee. I clicked on "no thanks" and got my free knife with no problems, and it is good for what it is.

I do get lots of emails, sometimes with an offer I'm interested in, or just useful info. I don't think that it is a scam.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2015

Not the worst that I've dealt with

By David , Salt Lake City, UT

I got the everstryke matches. I got a total of four, and one was broken (the part that attached to the key chain) I also got the Hoffman Richer knife with the FPA membership. I called to cancel the membership and never got anyone to answer, so I emailed the address on the answering machine, and got a quick reply that my membership was canceled.

I thought the knife was nice at first, but after only 2 or 3 weeks of carrying the knife, the screw holding the blade fell out and got lost.

So as a recap, the customer service was pretty good in canceling, but the products are low quality. 

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2015

Horrible shipping

By Joey , Connecticut

All of these prior reviews hit the nail on the head.

I ordered on December 29, 2014. I emailed them on the 20th to tell them I never received my order of the ever strike match, with one free. They said if I don't receive it by January 29th to give them a call back. I received the order on the 29th. It shouldn't take a month to receive a product. I have to say that they did respond to my email within 2 days, and I did receive the products, but I can definitely see that this isn't the most reputable company. I think they responded and made sure I got the products because of all the bad reviews they have. Maybe they're trying to get a little better customer service.

After reading these reviews I need to check my bank account to make sure I have no fraudulent charges. If I do, I'll be writing another review here. Good luck with this company. I would NEVER order from them again after seeing these reviews. Maybe I just got lucky this time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2015

Some decent products, but...

By Ob , Indiana

It was never declared to be a $19.95 per month fee. I joined SHTF School and it was about the same price, once. I rated it 2 stars because most of the products I bought were pretty nice, but a monthly fee? Forget that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 9, 2020

UPDATE

By John S., Sevierville, TN, Verified Reviewer

Well, here it is, a week later and lo and behold, I get the MANchete in the mail (or whatever - it was on the porch when I got home). Sooooo...they had no record of me ever ordering one but they sent me one. Good grief. I think I just got lucky. My not supporting them anymore still stands. This is a MANAGEMENT problem.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2014

Will not refund

By Josh , Ohio

The last six months has been a nightmare regarding this company. They supposedly tried to mail my item three times which I've never received. Then, over three times they would send my refund. Still no refund. Watch out, they're criminals!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 16, 2014

Getting what I have been charged for two months ago

By Joyce Swanson , Fernley, NV

I ordered the cross bow for $49.99 on Oct. 29, 2014. I have not received it yet. I did get a phone call, I was told it is on it's way. That was over 3 weeks now. Also I ordered three other items on Nov, 3, 2014, I have not received these items either. When I call now I get a recording saying to call back later because of a high volume calling day. Do you really think I want to order anything from you again? If you want to keep your business growing and healthy, you need to take care of business and send out your orders as soon as you receive them. Do not charge for these things until they are on there way to us.

Earlier this year I ordered the 4 square foot garden barrel. It took so long to get this item that when it finally did get to me, the growing season was completely over. It is still sitting on our patio waiting to be filled for the next year's growing season. Very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Absolute rip off artists

By Oswaldo Maldonado , Chicago, IL

I am having the same experience as some people above. I ordered the "survival knife" for $5 and that is all I have ever ordered from them. Tonight I end up looking over bank statements and find out that they have been billing me since August and have charged me over $140. I go in my email and everything they sent to me went to my spam folder but in total they said I supposedly ordered three different items that I never ordered nor received. I will be contacting my credit card company, the better business bureau and their local police department for a fraud report. It's shameful that a company would do this to people but I guess some people have no morals.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2015

Scammed by pros

By Jim Renick , Kansas

I too got caught in their little web of deceit. I ordered a flashlight that was free and pay (4.95) shipping. I had forgot all about it until I checked my card and seen I had 2 charges for 4.95 and 19.95 and it was from this survival life. I called their number to see what I had ordered as I had forgot as it went back to 12/10/14 and now it was 1/20/15.

They said it had shipped and emailed me a tracking number which I got the next day. I got the flash light which was a small light, but then it had a pocket knife which weighed about a pound and bigger flashlight which had a rechargeable battery in it. They did cancel the 19.95 which I'm still not sure what it consisted of, but it was a charge ever month. I went back through the website like I was going to get one of their free items and no where on there is anything that says you will be charged 19.95 or that it will recur ever month.

Anybody that is smart enough to check these reviews first which I wasn't... STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 50

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.