About Survival Life

Whether you’re a seasoned pro or just beginning to learn about survival and preparedness, it’s very likely that you’ve come across Survival Life. As the self-proclaimed “nation’s #1 group of preparedness-minded individuals,” the company claims to provide access to logical, no-nonsense original content, product reviews, survival tips, and curated articles from around the web.

But is this really the case? Let’s “prepare” to find out.

Quick Facts About Survival Life

As one of the top destinations for knowledge, skills, and tactics related to survival and preparedness, the Survival Life website is divided into five main sections:

  1. Do it Yourself – Subsections include food production and preservation, alternative energy, homesteading, medical care, and more.
  2. Survival Skills – Includes sections about emergency communications, fishing, hunting, & trapping, water purification, and more.
  3. Survival Gear Reviews – Professional, in-depth reviews about products ranging from weaponry to food dehydration, and everything in between.
  4. Members’ Area – After paying for a membership to the Lamplighter society (more about this below), you’ll gain access to all current reports, the full archive, the entire survival guide library, in addition to exclusive interviews.
  5. Experts – Here, you’ll find detailed information about some of the Survival Life contributors.

According to the Survival Life website, membership to the Lamplighter society provides an easy, practical way of obtaining information related to survival preparedness, without having to spend years of trial and error. With this in mind, membership is claimed to provide the following benefits:

  • 3-5 new how-to articles each month
  • At least one special report each month
  • Monthly cutting-edge newsletters
  • New books, videos, and websites that you’ll find pertinent
  • “Private Intel” reports on situations occurring around the world
  • Real-life case studies
  • In-depth analysis of common prepping mistakes
  • Seasonal tips and tricks

The Survival Life Credit Card Knife

The Credit Card Knife is perhaps Survival Life’s biggest namesake. This small knife starts out about the same size and weight as a traditional credit card, but unfolds in seconds into a fully functional knife. It features a surgical steel blade, protective hand guard, and even a built-in safety sheath to keep it from becoming dull, and from accidentally opening in your pocket or pack.

Survival Life Pricing & Refund Policy

Lamplighter membership is currently priced at $19.95 per month. Enrollment is on a recurring basis, which means you’ll continue to be charged each month until you cancel your membership.

All Survival Life products and services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. As a result, Lamplighter memberships come with a 30-day refund policy, while all other products come with a 45-day refund policy. However, keep in mind that physical products will be assessed a 10% restocking fee upon return. To request a refund, contact customer service at 512-366-3332.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Survival Life?

Survival Life is based out of Austin, TX, and is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. Outside of the BBB, we were only able to find one online review regarding Survival Life or the Lamplighter society, which referenced difficulty ordering online.

Regarding the Credit Card Knife, online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing that it was difficult to hold on to, and that it was constructed of flimsy plastic.

What’s the Bottom Line About Survival Life?

When it comes to Survival Life, it may be the case that “no news is good news,” but we can’t be sure. While we weren’t able to locate many online customer reviews during our research, here are some of the positives we encountered:

  • The company appears to have been in business for quite some time (at least as far back as 2010)
  • Their website is professional and easy to navigate
  • They appear to offer a wide variety of products
  • Some of their contributors are prominently in the public eye
  • Only one negative online customer review

With this in mind, if you’re even remotely interested in survival-related topics, it’s highly likely you’ll find something useful over at Survival Life.

Do you have experience with Survival Life? If so, cut to the chase and share your opinion with the world by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

47 Consumer Reviews for Survival Life

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 6 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Survival Life Review

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I saw the YouTube ad for the EverStryke match and it said it would be free so I thought I would check it out. I bought the Hoffman Richter (if that's how you spell it) knife too and it was cool at first but (not joking) after whittling just a tiny spoon the blade play was insane and the lock barely works anymore. Don't even get me started on the EverStryke matches, it came with two and the first one's metal striker thing on the match broke off the first time I tried to strike it, the second one's wick burnt out in the first three days of having it.

    Not to mention they sneakily take your money every month by signing you up for a FPA membership without telling you until you've actually bought it already. They say you can cancel at any time but I've been trying for a week now and every time I call them it goes nowhere and if I email the help branch they don't respond. Please don't scammed like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2014

      Freelunch1101,

      Reviews are stupid. Really bro. I get plenty of stuff from survival life and I love all my gear. Just read what the hell you agree to and chill out man. Check out my YouTube video "Lee's knife"

    • Dec 16, 2014

      Joyce Swanson,

      On Oct. 29, 2014, I ordered the Cross bow for $49.99. I still have not received this even after I was told it was on it's way, three weeks ago. Now when I call I get a recorded message say you are having a high volume calling day and to call back later. There is no way to get in touch with a live person. I also ordered several items on Nov. 3, 2914 one for $4.95, one for $29.25, and one for $9.90. I have received none of these yet these were deducted from debit card as soon as they were ordered. I want what I ordered, and I want it now with no more excuses. I really did think this web site was a legitimate one. Please prove to me that you are, and send me my products that I ordered months ago.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Will not refund

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 14, 2014

    The last six months has been a nightmare regarding this company. They supposedly tried to mail my item three times which I've never received. Then, over three times they would send my refund. Still no refund. Watch out, they're criminals!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Getting what I have been charged for two months ago

    • Fernley, NV,
    • Dec 16, 2014

    I ordered the cross bow for $49.99 on Oct. 29, 2014. I have not received it yet. I did get a phone call, I was told it is on it's way. That was over 3 weeks now. Also I ordered three other items on Nov, 3, 2014, I have not received these items either. When I call now I get a recording saying to call back later because of a high volume calling day. Do you really think I want to order anything from you again? If you want to keep your business growing and healthy, you need to take care of business and send out your orders as soon as you receive them. Do not charge for these things until they are on there way to us.

    Earlier this year I ordered the 4 square foot garden barrel. It took so long to get this item that when it finally did get to me, the growing season was completely over. It is still sitting on our patio waiting to be filled for the next year's growing season. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't get a hold of anyone from customer service

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Five of my orders have not been shipped, it's been more than 34 days. I contacted them, they said they were going to reship it but I think it's crap. Honestly I'm going to try to contact a lawyer to sue them for tricking people. Ok cool, I've been trying to get through to customer service, calls and emails, to solve all the problems with all the orders I place 32 days ago. My stuff didn't even get shipped. I asked customer service before the shipping time frame was reached to help them ship my items on time. I had issues with survival life prior to this last order placed on Nov 27, I haven't heard from them since Thursday last week. They took my money and customer service is highly bad, despite the fact that some companies are doing extra work to ship our stuff on time because most of the stuff purchased on these dates are gifts. This people don't even care about our survival stuff. Obviously there is an issue with this company. Sells tactical gear but they take forever to be deliver. Wow, very ironic don't you think? This company has several complaints online due to several times they failed to ship our stuff or even process the order but sure thing they can charge your bank account. Be careful fellows. I'm not ordering from survival life again. I regret doing it through survival life. Amazon offers full coverage if you buy from them, refunds or replacements, if something doesn't get to your hands they will give you your money back. By the way, Amazon has what this company sells. This is such nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2015

      H.K. Roemer, Hudson Valley, NY,

      I too fell into this scam. I just received their order yesterday from an October date. They also charged me $19.95 for no apparent reason, of which I quickly "squashed". The "Ever strike" match does appear to work, although in a "real life and death" situation its reliability would be questionable. The "acclaimed" Hoffman Richter knife is nothing but a 'cheap Chinese" knock-off. This knife sold by the "true" manufacturer is a custom handmade knife which on the "low-end" sells for $1600.00. As we should all be smart enough not to fall for the "If it's too good to be true", it surely isn't. Including myself we all fall 'prey" on occasion to "slick marketing". Does the content of some of their articles have merit? Maybe? A lot of it is good "ole" common sense. The same source information can be purchased through the NRA or any reliable source for much less than having your credit card 'tagged" for $19.95 a month. Maybe we should say, being aware of people like this is truly a "survival skill".

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Absolute rip off artists

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I am having the same experience as some people above. I ordered the "survival knife" for $5 and that is all I have ever ordered from them. Tonight I end up looking over bank statements and find out that they have been billing me since August and have charged me over $140. I go in my email and everything they sent to me went to my spam folder but in total they said I supposedly ordered three different items that I never ordered nor received. I will be contacting my credit card company, the better business bureau and their local police department for a fraud report. It's shameful that a company would do this to people but I guess some people have no morals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scammed by pros

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 26, 2015

    I too got caught in their little web of deceit. I ordered a flashlight that was free and pay (4.95) shipping. I had forgot all about it until I checked my card and seen I had 2 charges for 4.95 and 19.95 and it was from this survival life. I called their number to see what I had ordered as I had forgot as it went back to 12/10/14 and now it was 1/20/15.

    They said it had shipped and emailed me a tracking number which I got the next day. I got the flash light which was a small light, but then it had a pocket knife which weighed about a pound and bigger flashlight which had a rechargeable battery in it. They did cancel the 19.95 which I'm still not sure what it consisted of, but it was a charge ever month. I went back through the website like I was going to get one of their free items and no where on there is anything that says you will be charged 19.95 or that it will recur ever month.

    Anybody that is smart enough to check these reviews first which I wasn't... STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service; mediocre products

    • Aiken, SC,
    • Jan 27, 2015

    Ordered 5 Tactical pens on Dec 9 for Christmas gifts for my shooting buddies. They billed my CC immediately, but didn't send the products. Every time I called, they said they had been shipped but could never provide a tracking number. Last time before Christmas that I called, they said they had been shipped for delivery on Dec 24. Never came. I finally gave up and canceled the order after New Years. Had to fight over the CC charge, and the order arrived today, Jan 24! Not sure they are outright crooks, but certain run a shabby operation. Never again...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2015

      Shirley,

      I placed an order on 12/02/14 ,for numerous items for CHRISTMAS. As of today, I have yet to receive all items ordered and paid for, still waiting on 1 water bottle. I was told the other bottle would be shipped out to me as soon as it is back in stock. I called 3 weeks later to confirm it was back in stock, it was. I was told it was being shipped out, waited 2 more weeks and still have not received the water bottle. Called today 1/28/15 and it is out of stock again and was not shipped out 2 weeks ago, so they are suppose to reimburse my account in 3-5 days. We will see. Here is some phone #s some of you may be interested in to call directly since the number on their site does not go through and they will not return messages. Call to contact Harry (512)900-2493 & James Boswell (521)961-1078, maybe you will have better luck.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk products

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Everstryke match is one of the cheapest items I have ever seen. Ordered four of them for a couple tackle boxes and to have extra's in the hills. One broke, one won't hold fluid, another the striker/flint fell out and the forth fell apart on first use. The Hoffman Richter knife showed up without ordering it, which triggered me to find that they tried to bill me for something I didn't order. Knife is junk, not even worth keeping for an emergency. Shady outfit, junk products. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Never again.

    • Castle Rock, CO,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I ordered the Hoffam Richter knife and the ever Strike Match. It took two months to get this stuff and the matches are junk. The knife I guess from the reviews will fall a part if I ever use it. Well I have a paper weight. They better know that I will check and see if I am being charged monthly like most people. I thought I was just unlucky but then I read the reviews on Facebook and on this site and realized I'm not the only one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 5, 2015

      Robert

      I've gotten two knives, different from the Hoffman Richter and a couple of flashlights from them without ever being charged extra money. I also got the Strike Match from them. Sure their shipping does take longer than usual, but I've never encountered a reason to call them a rip off. Also in general, when comes to things like knives, I typically review them after I received the knife and have had a chance to use it. I don't normally review an item based on reviews I've read. That just doesn't make sense.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off artists

    • Mantua, NJ ,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    I ordered the free flashlight for $4.95 shipping. That was all I ordered. Two months later, I received the flashlight. I also received another bigger rechargeable flashlight and a Hoffman Richter assisted opening knife. I did NOT order these. I called the company and told them to cancel my "membership" which I did NOT agree to in the first place. They told me that I can send back the stuff for a refund, or just keep it. And they canceled the membership. If the company was reputable they wouldn't have to sneakily sign you up for a recurring charge of $19 95 per month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Knife and Card Knives, but?

    • Coshocton, OH,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Yeah I finally did receive the Hoffman knife and those cheap dangerous card knifes. However, I still haven't received the match strike yet. I e-mail Jose's site and told them I haven't received anything yet and then a week later, which was yesterday, I got it. The same order was all together but the match strike lighter wasn't included. So we'll see if I do get it. My wife almost cut herself trying to get the card locked in. You need to watch out because it is flimsy after you do get it to lock in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review