About Survival Life

Whether you’re a seasoned pro or just beginning to learn about survival and preparedness, it’s very likely that you’ve come across Survival Life. As the self-proclaimed “nation’s #1 group of preparedness-minded individuals,” the company claims to provide access to logical, no-nonsense original content, product reviews, survival tips, and curated articles from around the web.

But is this really the case? Let’s “prepare” to find out.

Quick Facts About Survival Life

As one of the top destinations for knowledge, skills, and tactics related to survival and preparedness, the Survival Life website is divided into five main sections:

  1. Do it Yourself – Subsections include food production and preservation, alternative energy, homesteading, medical care, and more.
  2. Survival Skills – Includes sections about emergency communications, fishing, hunting, & trapping, water purification, and more.
  3. Survival Gear Reviews – Professional, in-depth reviews about products ranging from weaponry to food dehydration, and everything in between.
  4. Members’ Area – After paying for a membership to the Lamplighter society (more about this below), you’ll gain access to all current reports, the full archive, the entire survival guide library, in addition to exclusive interviews.
  5. Experts – Here, you’ll find detailed information about some of the Survival Life contributors.

According to the Survival Life website, membership to the Lamplighter society provides an easy, practical way of obtaining information related to survival preparedness, without having to spend years of trial and error. With this in mind, membership is claimed to provide the following benefits:

  • 3-5 new how-to articles each month
  • At least one special report each month
  • Monthly cutting-edge newsletters
  • New books, videos, and websites that you’ll find pertinent
  • “Private Intel” reports on situations occurring around the world
  • Real-life case studies
  • In-depth analysis of common prepping mistakes
  • Seasonal tips and tricks

The Survival Life Credit Card Knife

The Credit Card Knife is perhaps Survival Life’s biggest namesake. This small knife starts out about the same size and weight as a traditional credit card, but unfolds in seconds into a fully functional knife. It features a surgical steel blade, protective hand guard, and even a built-in safety sheath to keep it from becoming dull, and from accidentally opening in your pocket or pack.

Survival Life Pricing & Refund Policy

Lamplighter membership is currently priced at $19.95 per month. Enrollment is on a recurring basis, which means you’ll continue to be charged each month until you cancel your membership.

All Survival Life products and services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. As a result, Lamplighter memberships come with a 30-day refund policy, while all other products come with a 45-day refund policy. However, keep in mind that physical products will be assessed a 10% restocking fee upon return. To request a refund, contact customer service at 512-366-3332.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Survival Life?

Survival Life is based out of Austin, TX, and is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. Outside of the BBB, we were only able to find one online review regarding Survival Life or the Lamplighter society, which referenced difficulty ordering online.

Regarding the Credit Card Knife, online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing that it was difficult to hold on to, and that it was constructed of flimsy plastic.

What’s the Bottom Line About Survival Life?

When it comes to Survival Life, it may be the case that “no news is good news,” but we can’t be sure. While we weren’t able to locate many online customer reviews during our research, here are some of the positives we encountered:

  • The company appears to have been in business for quite some time (at least as far back as 2010)
  • Their website is professional and easy to navigate
  • They appear to offer a wide variety of products
  • Some of their contributors are prominently in the public eye
  • Only one negative online customer review

With this in mind, if you’re even remotely interested in survival-related topics, it’s highly likely you’ll find something useful over at Survival Life.

Do you have experience with Survival Life? If so, cut to the chase and share your opinion with the world by writing a review!


Read 47 Survival Life Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Will not refund

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 14, 2014

    The last six months has been a nightmare regarding this company. They supposedly tried to mail my item three times which I've never received. Then, over three times they would send my refund. Still no refund. Watch out, they're criminals!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Getting what I have been charged for two months ago

    • Fernley, NV,
    • Dec 16, 2014

    I ordered the cross bow for $49.99 on Oct. 29, 2014. I have not received it yet. I did get a phone call, I was told it is on it's way. That was over 3 weeks now. Also I ordered three other items on Nov, 3, 2014, I have not received these items either. When I call now I get a recording saying to call back later because of a high volume calling day. Do you really think I want to order anything from you again? If you want to keep your business growing and healthy, you need to take care of business and send out your orders as soon as you receive them. Do not charge for these things until they are on there way to us.

    Earlier this year I ordered the 4 square foot garden barrel. It took so long to get this item that when it finally did get to me, the growing season was completely over. It is still sitting on our patio waiting to be filled for the next year's growing season. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Absolute rip off artists

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I am having the same experience as some people above. I ordered the "survival knife" for $5 and that is all I have ever ordered from them. Tonight I end up looking over bank statements and find out that they have been billing me since August and have charged me over $140. I go in my email and everything they sent to me went to my spam folder but in total they said I supposedly ordered three different items that I never ordered nor received. I will be contacting my credit card company, the better business bureau and their local police department for a fraud report. It's shameful that a company would do this to people but I guess some people have no morals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scammed by pros

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 26, 2015

    I too got caught in their little web of deceit. I ordered a flashlight that was free and pay (4.95) shipping. I had forgot all about it until I checked my card and seen I had 2 charges for 4.95 and 19.95 and it was from this survival life. I called their number to see what I had ordered as I had forgot as it went back to 12/10/14 and now it was 1/20/15.

    They said it had shipped and emailed me a tracking number which I got the next day. I got the flash light which was a small light, but then it had a pocket knife which weighed about a pound and bigger flashlight which had a rechargeable battery in it. They did cancel the 19.95 which I'm still not sure what it consisted of, but it was a charge ever month. I went back through the website like I was going to get one of their free items and no where on there is anything that says you will be charged 19.95 or that it will recur ever month.

    Anybody that is smart enough to check these reviews first which I wasn't... STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service; mediocre products

    • Aiken, SC,
    • Jan 27, 2015

    Ordered 5 Tactical pens on Dec 9 for Christmas gifts for my shooting buddies. They billed my CC immediately, but didn't send the products. Every time I called, they said they had been shipped but could never provide a tracking number. Last time before Christmas that I called, they said they had been shipped for delivery on Dec 24. Never came. I finally gave up and canceled the order after New Years. Had to fight over the CC charge, and the order arrived today, Jan 24! Not sure they are outright crooks, but certain run a shabby operation. Never again...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Junk products

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Everstryke match is one of the cheapest items I have ever seen. Ordered four of them for a couple tackle boxes and to have extra's in the hills. One broke, one won't hold fluid, another the striker/flint fell out and the forth fell apart on first use. The Hoffman Richter knife showed up without ordering it, which triggered me to find that they tried to bill me for something I didn't order. Knife is junk, not even worth keeping for an emergency. Shady outfit, junk products. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Rip off artists

    • Mantua, NJ ,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    I ordered the free flashlight for $4.95 shipping. That was all I ordered. Two months later, I received the flashlight. I also received another bigger rechargeable flashlight and a Hoffman Richter assisted opening knife. I did NOT order these. I called the company and told them to cancel my "membership" which I did NOT agree to in the first place. They told me that I can send back the stuff for a refund, or just keep it. And they canceled the membership. If the company was reputable they wouldn't have to sneakily sign you up for a recurring charge of $19 95 per month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Knife and Card Knives, but?

    • Coshocton, OH,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Yeah I finally did receive the Hoffman knife and those cheap dangerous card knifes. However, I still haven't received the match strike yet. I e-mail Jose's site and told them I haven't received anything yet and then a week later, which was yesterday, I got it. The same order was all together but the match strike lighter wasn't included. So we'll see if I do get it. My wife almost cut herself trying to get the card locked in. You need to watch out because it is flimsy after you do get it to lock in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time or money!

    The only thing you will get from Survival Life is a lot of emails. Did the EverStryke thing for "FREE" which cost $4.95 Shipping and The Hoffman Richter knife with membership for $19.95. Also, a downloadable eBook was suppose to be included. The link for eBook from email confirming my purchases didn't work. Emailed support about link not working and the reply was "Not sure what download you are talking about. Please advise." After almost a month later NO EverStryke, Knife, or eBook. Emailed for cancelation and complete refund. PRESTO, all of the sudden I receive the $4.95 refund and cancelation notice but not the $19.95. Emailed again requesting refund of $19.95. Suddenly a package comes in the mail included EverStryke and Knife. Email requesting refund again. No refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother.

    • Minnesota,
    • Apr 3, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm having a dispute with my bank because these jokers "enrolled" me in their spam e-mail program. There is nothing interesting, valuable, or important on their website or in their newsletters. If you have money to spare and don't care where it goes, by all means, sign up. They agreed not to take anymore of mine. We will see.

    A friend also had this same issue with them. She was also "enrolled" and billed. Do not provide your credit card number. Find what they offer for free elsewhere. It isn't difficult.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Pretty clever on how they scam you

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Apr 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered an outdoor bracelet and then I had received an email saying that I've been signed up for a $19 per month recurring payment for family protection. It's pretty sad that companies out there can just scam people and get away with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review