Survival Life Reviews

Survival Life

Overall Rating

2.3

50 Customer Reviews

Summary

Survival Life is a website that features survival-related content including survival tips, tactical info, and information on emergency foods. Learn what customers how customers are reviewing this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 50 Reviews
5 Star:18% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:10% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:54%
34% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Survival Life:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 27, 2017

Do not buy from this company!

By Mark Stram, California, Verified Reviewer

You order stuff, and they never ship you the product. I am still waiting for the crossbow that I ordered 6 months ago. Also, their customer service is useless and unhelpful. After 3 months of waiting for my first order, they decided to cancel my order without my permission. Then the company sent me an email to order the same crossbow on November 21st, and now again I still do not have my order, and they can't tell me when I will receive it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2017

Beware!

By Sam Smith, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Hoffman Richter Talon knife for $24.95 with a promised delivery date of 7-12 business days. I called for status at the 18 business day mark and was told the order was "misplaced." They said my money will be refunded, but we'll see. Although they list an Austin, Texas physical address and a phone number with the correct Austin, Texas exchange (512), the number connects to a "customer service" contractor company in the Philippines.

I would steer clear. I don't know if they're actually running a scam but seems quite suspicious. They are not very upfront with who they are or where they are. Do honest/ethical companies hide?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2017

Shipping is terrible

By Nicholas Handley, Verified Reviewer

I've been waiting almost 30 days now on 4 different orders, about 10 days on another order, and have only recieved 2 orders out of the orders I have placed. They say the items are on back order, but they still send emails every day trying to sell the same items they say are on backorder. I'm completely disappointed in Survival Life; their shipping is downright awful and just a slap to the face. Do they not want your repeated business?

I recieved the very first order I placed there, which was a less than $3 transaction for the Hybeam Micro and I had it within 2 weeks. I've also ordered the Hybeam Mini, Hybeam Poplamp, Hoffman Richter Reaper, and ordered them all within 3 days of September the 25th, 26th, and 27th. Well now it's October 22nd, and I haven't received any of those items. I ordered the Hoffman Richter EDC tool and received it within 2 weeks also, but this was also about a $5-$6 purchase.

It's bad for the customer to order things and still not get them a month later. It's just bad business and not how you want to treat a repeated customer. I mean, what do they do, wait until the end of the month and send an employee across the country to deliver packages to try and save money? Heck, I thought I was the one paying shipping, or at least that's what my receipt says, so why take so damn long?

They don't even send an email to apologize or anything to tell you what's going on unless you contact them 1st. Maybe they hope you forget about ordering anything after so long? I have noticed in the other reviews they all had the same complaints about slow shipping, like they only ship out on Christmas day or something. My wife has already chewed me out for buying the items, so I would much rather have had the items than the money back since I've already paid for them (twice).

They need to figure out a better plan to get things out and to their customers. This is going to cost them their business if they don't do something different than their current shipping. Or maybe it's in their warehouse and the workers just don't work but are packaging one shipment a day. Goodluck if you make a purchase from them, I hope you get your item in a reasonable amount of time.

They obviously sell things they don't even have in stock, or maybe that how they buy their stock; you buy from them and then they order from someone else? That would explain a lot of this crap, but someone needs to be held accountable for this. It shouldn't be a hit or miss on getting an item you have already paid for in a reasonable amount of time. Three weeks should be the latest you get anything through the mail, and that's if it is shipped from China, not 3 states over. It's a 12-hour drive from my home in Alabama to Austin, Texas. I know for a fact because I used to make that drive when I was stationed at Fort Hood, Texas and had to drive through Austin, which was about 45 minutes away to get there.

I just want the items I ordered before I die. If you can have something here within 2 weeks on other orders it shouldn't ever be a month on any others. If something is on backorder then don't sell it, or at least tell the customer it's on backorder and it might be a while before you get it before the customer spends their hard earned money on something they could get somewhere else within days. That's how you earn respect and trust, that's how you build a business; on the trust and respect of your customers. Make sure you save and keep up with your emailed receipts and order numbers; if you don't get one then email them ASAP and ask for it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2017

Your money would be best spent elsewhere

By Howard, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I joined Survival Life and was a member for over two years.

In that time, I ordered some of the items they had to offer. I was disappointed that their stated 15 to 21 business days to deliver a purchased item was standard for them. It got a little better over time, but never got below 15 days.

I've called their customer service, and it's hit-or-miss on being helpful. I canceled my membership when they persisted that I was not a member, despite regular monthly billing. They were finally able to find it, but I thought I could do better with my money elsewhere. The things they sell are not cheaper than the same items elsewhere online when you add in the $19.95 a month charge.

The quality of their items is certainly not better than what you can find on your own. Most of the videos that are hosted are easily available on YouTube, and for free.

The bottom line is, for preparation for when "things hit the fan," you can do just as well to research it on your own.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2018

Be careful - the key is their survival ($$)

By Phil Sandoz, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a knife from this company back in 2015, and now I’ve learned my credit card information was used to charge me for an online subscription for Family Survival without my knowledge or permission. Needless to say, they are being very slow in answering questions about this and providing any document that authorizes them to sign me up for this. Be warned!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 16, 2018

Steer clear

By Mike W., Virginia Beach, VA, Verified Reviewer

Survival Life is a scam, I ordered a Varmint Crossbow and after it had an arrived in over three and a half months, I called and decided to cancel the order. They apologized and said it was on back order, but I had talked to them 30 days prior, and they promised it to me by the 18th. So, after canceling, they talked me into joining the FPA membership program, they would send me new gear every month for $17 a month. I was told there would be no shipping on top of that monthly subscription. After I read the small print when they sent me the email, I noticed that they will charge you shipping and the cost depended upon the item being shipped.

If you don’t get on the website and cancel the items you don’t want, they will send you everything and you will pay shipping fees on all items, which is different depending on the item. Big ticket items will be up to $30 shipping, or more than $30 shipping fee for a backpack you can buy online for $15.98 with free shipping. Then you are paying $17/month for a membership. This company is a scam, they claim to be out of Austin, Texas but they are really based in the Philippines. All nine times that I called, never, not once did I get an operator that sounded American. Save your money and don’t waste your time. If only there were an option for 0 or even negative stars, anybody posting positive reviews either works for or is getting paid.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2015

Very honest company

By Steven Philhart , Clovis California

I tried for 14 days and then I find out I had to move. I called the phone number which was very easy to find and they cancelled my membership and still sent me the knife and the match striker. I mean let's get real people, you're paying $15 for a knife and a survival match. Are there better ones out there, of course. Are there better ones out there for $15, I highly doubt it. They were very courteous and took care of my cancellation and I was never billed, except for the shipping fees of the items that I bought.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2015

Spammers & Scammers

By Doug , Ohio

How to survive the apocalypse? Start by avoiding rip-off artists like Survival Life. Why are there so many negative reviews about them? Because they just keep practicing their sneaky, deceitful marketing practices. How many bad reviews do we have to read about the same thing?

- I clicked on a link with a "Free" offer.

- Without wanting to, or knowing I did it, somehow I found myself subscribed to their $20/month magazine.

- I cancelled my "membership" but am still receiving crap in the mail (a "Survival Knife" I never ordered or even saw advertised. Now I have to watch my bank statement like a hawk because I'm quite certain they'll try to bill me for this junk.

By the way, I also got a "paracord bracelet." This would actually be kind of neat if it wasn't sized for a four-year-old girl. That's what happens when you source your American survival stuff from China, where 5'5" 135 lbs is considered XL. Really? from China?

If you're relying on these people or their products for survival, good luck to you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 23, 2015

OK products, but use good judgment

By Smoke Hill Farm, Chancellorsville VA, Verified Reviewer

I've ordered a number of products from them -- the Hoffman Richter knife, credit card knives, flashlights -- and never had a problem. Shipping seemed pretty quick, actually.

I suspect that some customers are either very young, or just don't know much about the products offered. The Everstryke lighter I never bothered with. The same thing has been offered cheaply since I was a kid in the 1950s; it was never as good as a real lighter & always gets thrown in a drawer & ignored. Now that Bic disposable lighters are only a buck & give you a couple of thousand lights -- who would bother with wick-type lighters? Bics have a shelf life of many YEARS. I was a heavy smoker for years & know from experience.

The Hoffman Richter knife is WAY heavy, nothing I'd carry everyday, but seems sturdy & I keep it in one of my vehicles for emergencies. There are certainly better knives available (I have a number of them), but usually at much higher price. A $10 Chinese fixed-blade hunting knife from eBay is a better survivalist tool, if you can sharpen properly.

The credit card knife is a neat little niche tool, and I carry one in my wallet. Obviously it is NOT a sturdy hunting knife, but definitely has its place. When I blew a radiator hose, it did a fine job of cutting through the old one. It's for EMERGENCY use when you have no "real" knife. I like mine & ordered more for friends, all of whom loved it. Get a grip, guys -- it isn't designed to skin out a deer.

I've only used the flashlight a couple of times. It worked fine, is very bright, and seems sturdy, especially for the price.

The spy pen is probably OK, but cheaper models can be found on Amazon & elsewhere. It's basically just a big pointed piece of metal, like a fat nail. Don't overpay. You could make one in your basement with a bench grinder.

You can't just buy blind on Survival Life. Go look at reviews of the specific product (and prices on Amazon) if you are uncertain.

I'd recommend them to friends, but some of the comments about monthly fees & bad service do make me a bit hesitant, even though my experiences have been all good so far.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2019

TOTAL SCAM

By Thomas J., New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

Charged me the day I placed my order. I questioned after a month when nothing showed up and their website said they had not been shipped yet.

I was told their shipping window is 6 to 8 weeks.

I waited until 8 weeks and one day, still hadn't shipped so I questioned again.

Was told that one order shipped and was received at my post office over a month ago. Clearly fraudulent information as their own website says nothing had shipped.

It took 10 weeks to get reimbursed for one order, still trying for the other two. BBB is getting involved as in my lawyer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2015

Multi-tool

By Robert Florio, Northbridge, MA, Verified Reviewer

I received my H.R. Richter multi tool today and was pretty disappointed with the size of the tool, it was no bigger than my index finger. Yhe saw on the end of one of the blades looked as if it was only good for cutting tooth picks, and the blade was only big enough to gut a chipmunk. Sorry but for twenty dollars and five dollars for shipping and handling, I'm pretty disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2019

You'd be better off dealing with the Mob

By B J., Mississippi, Verified Reviewer

They lost my order and account. Still charged me. I went straight to my bank's manager.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 8, 2015

Don't waste your time or money!

By Chuck Andrews, Norman, OK, Verified Reviewer

The only thing you will get from Survival Life is a lot of emails. Did the EverStryke thing for "FREE" which cost $4.95 Shipping and The Hoffman Richter knife with membership for $19.95. Also, a downloadable eBook was suppose to be included. The link for eBook from email confirming my purchases didn't work. Emailed support about link not working and the reply was "Not sure what download you are talking about. Please advise." After almost a month later NO EverStryke, Knife, or eBook. Emailed for cancelation and complete refund. PRESTO, all of the sudden I receive the $4.95 refund and cancelation notice but not the $19.95. Emailed again requesting refund of $19.95. Suddenly a package comes in the mail included EverStryke and Knife. Email requesting refund again. No refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2015

Pretty clever on how they scam you

By Rick , Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

I ordered an outdoor bracelet and then I had received an email saying that I've been signed up for a $19 per month recurring payment for family protection. It's pretty sad that companies out there can just scam people and get away with it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2015

This company is a scam

By David Weathers , Ethelsville, AL

Save your money. I ordered a couple of items from them and never received them but they charged me then charged me for a months service. I messaged them they promised to reship the item and even said they would send a couple of extras but nothing ever arrived so I messaged them again. This time they promised to reship the items again plus refund all my money, but again, it was nothing more than a lie just to buy themselves additional time to delete my messages I posted on their Facebook page. Then they blocked me and won't respond to my emails. Please save your money because it is a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2015

Very pleased!

By Denise Carter, Poulsbo, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Richter 15 knife (paid shipping cost only) and surprisingly, it arrived in just a few days! I like that! When I opened it up, it was slower than I anticipated and it didn't fully open. To me, no big deal because of the price & it's a sharp, sturdy knife. Then I saw the Richter30 advertised with an additional 25% off! I clicked the button, then another & the back button & quickly made a huge mess of my bank account! I called the company and the gal was awesome.

She immediately got the $260 put back into my account & when I mentioned the slow-opening knife I received, she said she'd send me out a new one right away and that I could keep the first one. Terrific service, great information & tips, neat items & fast shipping. Great company. I'm a happy & satisfied new member.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2019

Order incorrect

By Devin M., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

DO NOT order more than 1 of an item. They will tell you that they shipped the correct amount and basically tell you that it's your loss. Customers do not come first here. Word to the wise, buy from another company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2014

Will not refund

By Josh , Ohio

The last six months has been a nightmare regarding this company. They supposedly tried to mail my item three times which I've never received. Then, over three times they would send my refund. Still no refund. Watch out, they're criminals!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 16, 2014

Getting what I have been charged for two months ago

By Joyce Swanson , Fernley, NV

I ordered the cross bow for $49.99 on Oct. 29, 2014. I have not received it yet. I did get a phone call, I was told it is on it's way. That was over 3 weeks now. Also I ordered three other items on Nov, 3, 2014, I have not received these items either. When I call now I get a recording saying to call back later because of a high volume calling day. Do you really think I want to order anything from you again? If you want to keep your business growing and healthy, you need to take care of business and send out your orders as soon as you receive them. Do not charge for these things until they are on there way to us.

Earlier this year I ordered the 4 square foot garden barrel. It took so long to get this item that when it finally did get to me, the growing season was completely over. It is still sitting on our patio waiting to be filled for the next year's growing season. Very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2015

Rip off artists

By Brian , Mantua, NJ

I ordered the free flashlight for $4.95 shipping. That was all I ordered. Two months later, I received the flashlight. I also received another bigger rechargeable flashlight and a Hoffman Richter assisted opening knife. I did NOT order these. I called the company and told them to cancel my "membership" which I did NOT agree to in the first place. They told me that I can send back the stuff for a refund, or just keep it. And they canceled the membership. If the company was reputable they wouldn't have to sneakily sign you up for a recurring charge of $19 95 per month.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2015

Unannounced billing

By Mike , Nicholson, PA

I like the basic idea of preparedness and some articles were helpful but I was billed $19.95 for a membership not requested. Worst of all, the name of the party billing me is called Absolute Right, not Survival Life or anything that would help identify those who are removing funds from my checking account which I had to cancel. Let the buyer beware. I do like the Hoffman Richter tactical knife though. It's heavy and shaves right out of the box. Thanks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2015

Tools and knives

By jon baudendistel , greeley CO

I have purchased several knives from survival life. The first knife I got, someone liked it better than I did and I was not a happy camper. I have given the knives to coworkers and each person likes them as much as I do! They are very sturdy, and well made. The smaller multi-tool is a great little "get me out of trouble" helper. The fire starters are going to be some stocking stuffers. The fire and fishing grenades are also neat. I will continue to purchase them when offered, even when the wife says that I have too many knives and toys.

The only drawback is the multi charges for the enrollment fees. Each one you buy in automatically opts you in for more. so having a program that checks on the multi enrollment fees would be nice. Thank you again and keep up the great offers!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2016

Survival Life products

By Rihard W., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Ordered six products online and had no problems throughout the process. Shipping was fast and products were great. Credit card knife has plastic but I've carried one for over a year with no problems.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 8, 2019

Update

By Luke W., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

They did refund the money quickly, once everything was FINALLY resolved, so at least there's that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2015

Scammed by pros

By Jim Renick , Kansas

I too got caught in their little web of deceit. I ordered a flashlight that was free and pay (4.95) shipping. I had forgot all about it until I checked my card and seen I had 2 charges for 4.95 and 19.95 and it was from this survival life. I called their number to see what I had ordered as I had forgot as it went back to 12/10/14 and now it was 1/20/15.

They said it had shipped and emailed me a tracking number which I got the next day. I got the flash light which was a small light, but then it had a pocket knife which weighed about a pound and bigger flashlight which had a rechargeable battery in it. They did cancel the 19.95 which I'm still not sure what it consisted of, but it was a charge ever month. I went back through the website like I was going to get one of their free items and no where on there is anything that says you will be charged 19.95 or that it will recur ever month.

Anybody that is smart enough to check these reviews first which I wasn't... STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2015

Horrible customer service; mediocre products

By Allen , Aiken, SC

Ordered 5 Tactical pens on Dec 9 for Christmas gifts for my shooting buddies. They billed my CC immediately, but didn't send the products. Every time I called, they said they had been shipped but could never provide a tracking number. Last time before Christmas that I called, they said they had been shipped for delivery on Dec 24. Never came. I finally gave up and canceled the order after New Years. Had to fight over the CC charge, and the order arrived today, Jan 24! Not sure they are outright crooks, but certain run a shabby operation. Never again...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Junk products

By Terry , Colorado

Everstryke match is one of the cheapest items I have ever seen. Ordered four of them for a couple tackle boxes and to have extra's in the hills. One broke, one won't hold fluid, another the striker/flint fell out and the forth fell apart on first use. The Hoffman Richter knife showed up without ordering it, which triggered me to find that they tried to bill me for something I didn't order. Knife is junk, not even worth keeping for an emergency. Shady outfit, junk products. Beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 50

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.