47 Consumer Reviews for Survival Life - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 6 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tools and knives

    • greeley CO,
    • Nov 13, 2015

    I have purchased several knives from survival life. The first knife I got, someone liked it better than I did and I was not a happy camper. I have given the knives to coworkers and each person likes them as much as I do! They are very sturdy, and well made. The smaller multi-tool is a great little "get me out of trouble" helper. The fire starters are going to be some stocking stuffers. The fire and fishing grenades are also neat. I will continue to purchase them when offered, even when the wife says that I have too many knives and toys.

    The only drawback is the multi charges for the enrollment fees. Each one you buy in automatically opts you in for more. so having a program that checks on the multi enrollment fees would be nice. Thank you again and keep up the great offers!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Very pleased!

    I ordered the Richter 15 knife (paid shipping cost only) and surprisingly, it arrived in just a few days! I like that! When I opened it up, it was slower than I anticipated and it didn't fully open. To me, no big deal because of the price & it's a sharp, sturdy knife. Then I saw the Richter30 advertised with an additional 25% off! I clicked the button, then another & the back button & quickly made a huge mess of my bank account! I called the company and the gal was awesome.

    She immediately got the $260 put back into my account & when I mentioned the slow-opening knife I received, she said she'd send me out a new one right away and that I could keep the first one. Terrific service, great information & tips, neat items & fast shipping. Great company. I'm a happy & satisfied new member.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Multi-tool

    • Northbridge, MA,
    • Oct 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my H.R. Richter multi tool today and was pretty disappointed with the size of the tool, it was no bigger than my index finger. Yhe saw on the end of one of the blades looked as if it was only good for cutting tooth picks, and the blade was only big enough to gut a chipmunk. Sorry but for twenty dollars and five dollars for shipping and handling, I'm pretty disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    OK products, but use good judgment

    I've ordered a number of products from them -- the Hoffman Richter knife, credit card knives, flashlights -- and never had a problem. Shipping seemed pretty quick, actually.

    I suspect that some customers are either very young, or just don't know much about the products offered. The Everstryke lighter I never bothered with. The same thing has been offered cheaply since I was a kid in the 1950s; it was never as good as a real lighter & always gets thrown in a drawer & ignored. Now that Bic disposable lighters are only a buck & give you a couple of thousand lights -- who would bother with wick-type lighters? Bics have a shelf life of many YEARS. I was a heavy smoker for years & know from experience.

    The Hoffman Richter knife is WAY heavy, nothing I'd carry everyday, but seems sturdy & I keep it in one of my vehicles for emergencies. There are certainly better knives available (I have a number of them), but usually at much higher price. A $10 Chinese fixed-blade hunting knife from eBay is a better survivalist tool, if you can sharpen properly.

    The credit card knife is a neat little niche tool, and I carry one in my wallet. Obviously it is NOT a sturdy hunting knife, but definitely has its place. When I blew a radiator hose, it did a fine job of cutting through the old one. It's for EMERGENCY use when you have no "real" knife. I like mine & ordered more for friends, all of whom loved it. Get a grip, guys -- it isn't designed to skin out a deer.

    I've only used the flashlight a couple of times. It worked fine, is very bright, and seems sturdy, especially for the price.

    The spy pen is probably OK, but cheaper models can be found on Amazon & elsewhere. It's basically just a big pointed piece of metal, like a fat nail. Don't overpay. You could make one in your basement with a bench grinder.

    You can't just buy blind on Survival Life. Go look at reviews of the specific product (and prices on Amazon) if you are uncertain.

    I'd recommend them to friends, but some of the comments about monthly fees & bad service do make me a bit hesitant, even though my experiences have been all good so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great site.

    I ordered the Everstryke Pro lighter and received it within a week. Sadly it was broken so I emailed Survival Life and no questions asked they sent out a replacement and let me keep the first lighter. I love the Everstryke Pro lighter, it is part of my EDC. Just a few days ago I ordered the HR 30 tactical folding knife and am currently awaiting arrival. I hope it's as good as they make it out to be. So far I love Survival Life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Spammers & Scammers

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    How to survive the apocalypse? Start by avoiding rip-off artists like Survival Life. Why are there so many negative reviews about them? Because they just keep practicing their sneaky, deceitful marketing practices. How many bad reviews do we have to read about the same thing?

    - I clicked on a link with a "Free" offer.

    - Without wanting to, or knowing I did it, somehow I found myself subscribed to their $20/month magazine.

    - I cancelled my "membership" but am still receiving crap in the mail (a "Survival Knife" I never ordered or even saw advertised. Now I have to watch my bank statement like a hawk because I'm quite certain they'll try to bill me for this junk.

    By the way, I also got a "paracord bracelet." This would actually be kind of neat if it wasn't sized for a four-year-old girl. That's what happens when you source your American survival stuff from China, where 5'5" 135 lbs is considered XL. Really? from China?

    If you're relying on these people or their products for survival, good luck to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Very honest company

    • Clovis California,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I tried for 14 days and then I find out I had to move. I called the phone number which was very easy to find and they cancelled my membership and still sent me the knife and the match striker. I mean let's get real people, you're paying $15 for a knife and a survival match. Are there better ones out there, of course. Are there better ones out there for $15, I highly doubt it. They were very courteous and took care of my cancellation and I was never billed, except for the shipping fees of the items that I bought.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great company for those serious about survival

    Only problem I have is the recurring payment. They tell you straight upfront that there will be a membership fee but say it is easy to cancel. I have not been able to find how to cancel this payment! If anyone knows how or where to go to cancel please comment and explain it to me. The website seems very informative and those who write seem very professional and experienced. I just want to cancel though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2015

      Scott,

      Steve, you'll find contact info in your e-mail or on the survival life website. I ordered something and had to cancel a membership with them. I sent them one e-mail and got a reply within the hour. No questions asked, they canceled the membership. It was really that easy.

      Hope this helped.

      Scott

    • Sep 10, 2015

      Harold,

      They are based out of Texas and if you Google survival life customer service, you will find the number and they answer every time.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Welcome to the result of unskilled labor.

    • Aug 18, 2015

    I Love miniaturization and small carry survival items so I definitely was fascinated by both the CC knife and the Everstryke. I have not ordered the Hoffman-Richter but the reviews I found were all positive toward it. Remember that you'll find horrifying reviews about all kinds of survival/utility tools including SOG, Ka-Bar, Schrade, etc. I ordered both the match and the CC knife with the greatest of ease and I was told that it would take 10 to 15 days to receive. Not only did I get them within a week, I received two of the each products with no extra shipping charge. I think they're both great. I have been in customer service for years and these stories here have twice as many in the contrary elsewhere.

    The problem is when you have humans in a conscientious service and supply company, you are at the mercy of the minimum wage grunts they are forced to hire so they can stay in operation. Without a sense of commitment or maybe by not having English as their first language, sloth and incompetence are often the result. It's too bad any of you had a bad experience (or think the products are crap, ultimately a clever person can thrive using only a sharp rock. So where does the fault of use or perception lie?)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    "Free", just pay shipping

    • Boise, Idaho,
    • Aug 11, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the website and should have received the folding survival knife. Before I became alarmed I ordered 2 more items: hi-beam flash light - free just pay shipping of 4.95, and a spring loaded survival knife - 9.95 shipping. I have tried to contact their help number that was supposed to be 24/7 with no avail. I have sent emails to the support group and received a canned answer of we will contact you at first chance. Now the web site is down. They have charged my credit card and it's been almost 3 weeks for a 5 -7 working day delivery. I am reversing my charges after reading the BBB report, The RipOff Report, And Scambook.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 22, 2015

      Randy

      Maybe they should give all their stuff away, and pay you to take it. Great business model my friend. Free is a relative term, and someone somewhere along the ride should have told you nothing is free. But it's free if the folding wallet knife sells for $8 with $5 shipping and handling, and all they charge you for is shipping. Were you actually hoping someone would pay the shipping to give you something for free? If so I want some of that cool aid.

      I wonder how many whiners like you there are out there? Since America put a Leninist Muslim in the highest office in the land, I guess anything is possible.

      The biggest poke (from where I stand), is that not only did you want it for free, you wanted it yesterday. You complain about the shipping costs, then about the shipping time, then threaten to reverse a $5 shipping charge that they have already paid. Wow, you are a special kind of hump.

      I've ordered for items from them now (folding wallet knives, magnesium fire starter, LED flashlight, and this week a Hoffman Rickter multi-tool), Each arrived in a reasonable period of time, and my last order the wrong multi-tool was shipped. I sent them an email and had a same day response, with five follow-on emails. They were quick to admit their mistake, said they would correct it, and told me to keep the incorrectly shipped item for my inconvenience. It took a week for the correct tool to arrive, but what was my hurry. And if I was in a hurry, I should plan in advance, and give enough time for it to arrive (with consideration for weather, etc).

      Hello McFly!

    • Oct 23, 2015

      Steve C.

      Randy,

      You seem pretty confident in your knowledge. Anyone over 8 years of age knows that the shipping "I paid for includes the price of the product". It does not cost $10 to ship a knife USPS. We are not talking sterling steel here. I had joined their group and was anxious to get started. I do not like some one saying it will be there in 5 days. And charging me the minute I hit enter. I also don't like a 24/7 support line saying this line is no longer in service. And the web page was not available for the information I needed. So they maybe valid or not. I am glad you were lucky. I gave them 2 weeks. You should get more facts before you criticize someone who has been scammed before. (And not over free items). The Better Business Bureau had to get my charges reversed.

      By any chance do you work for them?

    • Oct 23, 2015

      Steve C.

      Randy #2.

      As for me being a whiner. Writing the facts down as they occurred is reporting a site that thousands may fall for, if it is a scam. You and your know it all attitude probably put the Muslim Marxist into office the first time. Why don't you get a pair and quit showing your egotism to the whole world. There was no reason for a reply like you made. Were you born in Texas or something?

    • Oct 26, 2015

      Randy,

      Your post is it's own self-criticism. I'm certain the world waits baited breath for how you feel or what you like. Your reference to an 8 year old knowing the ins and outs of shipping costs are laughable, almost as much as your initial complaints. What kind of coward defames a company that is trying to help folks get their hands on these things for cheap? And if you get a $4.95 product for $4.95 shipped, my question stands - what is your complaint. You must stay busy complaining about companies who don't push you to the top of their free product for $4.95 shipping list. From your own testimony it sounds like you get scammed a lot - probably over pay for your phone bill, bought a few time shares, and are heavily into MLM?

      Ps. I might not know a lot, but I know bs when I step in it, and for your post I'm glad I was heading out fishing.

      By the way, the BBB cannot get your charges reversed, as they have NO power over Credit Card companies. As a matter of fact to remain independent, they can't even make contact with CC's unless it is for their own charge. It's a privacy thing.

      So if we are focused on getting facts straight, start with your own story, because no one is buying it. Now take a deep breath, stop crying, and respond to the Nigerian Prince who needs your credit card number so he can transfer your $147 Million windfall.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam

    • Ethelsville, AL,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Save your money. I ordered a couple of items from them and never received them but they charged me then charged me for a months service. I messaged them they promised to reship the item and even said they would send a couple of extras but nothing ever arrived so I messaged them again. This time they promised to reship the items again plus refund all my money, but again, it was nothing more than a lie just to buy themselves additional time to delete my messages I posted on their Facebook page. Then they blocked me and won't respond to my emails. Please save your money because it is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 47

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review