Survival Life Reviews

Survival Life

Overall Rating

2.3

50 Customer Reviews

Summary

Survival Life is a website that features survival-related content including survival tips, tactical info, and information on emergency foods. Learn what customers how customers are reviewing this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 50 Reviews
5 Star:18% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:10% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:54%
34% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Survival Life:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 11, 2015

"Free", just pay shipping

By Steve C., Boise, Idaho, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for the website and should have received the folding survival knife. Before I became alarmed I ordered 2 more items: hi-beam flash light - free just pay shipping of 4.95, and a spring loaded survival knife - 9.95 shipping. I have tried to contact their help number that was supposed to be 24/7 with no avail. I have sent emails to the support group and received a canned answer of we will contact you at first chance. Now the web site is down. They have charged my credit card and it's been almost 3 weeks for a 5 -7 working day delivery. I am reversing my charges after reading the BBB report, The RipOff Report, And Scambook.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2015

This company is a scam

By David Weathers , Ethelsville, AL

Save your money. I ordered a couple of items from them and never received them but they charged me then charged me for a months service. I messaged them they promised to reship the item and even said they would send a couple of extras but nothing ever arrived so I messaged them again. This time they promised to reship the items again plus refund all my money, but again, it was nothing more than a lie just to buy themselves additional time to delete my messages I posted on their Facebook page. Then they blocked me and won't respond to my emails. Please save your money because it is a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2015

If you don't want the trial offer, don't click on it.

By Wilbur , Louisville KY

You are not going to be enrolled in the free trial membership if you don't click on it. I have never had a problem. I buy it if I like it. You get what you pay for.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 24, 2015

Know what you are buying

By Robbin , Mikado, Michigan

My stepson had gotten the Hoffman Richter knife and the match. He showed them to me and I went online to see about ordering for myself. The company absolutely tells you that you are enrolling in a monthly billed club. I requested both the credit card knife and the survival knife. I received both within 10 days. They were exactly as described, very nice, sharp blades. The survival knife is sturdy as expected. The credit card knife is very thin, and folds up quickly. You can't expect them to be the same. They were designed for different purposes. Match the tool to the job. I canceled my membership and got a confirmation email the same day.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2015

No problems, they tell you plenty that ordering includes recurring charge

By Charlie , Kansas

For all these 'bad' reviews: they tell you plenty of times through the ordering process about the recurring membership. Not their problem if you don't read the offer through. Easy to cancel, though, and the products are as advertised. I have the ever strike match, the cc knife, the Hoffman Richter knife and the Tac flashlight. I've read the info on the site during membership, then canceled until I order again. Like I said, no issues and a good service for anyone starting out planning survival.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Knife and Card Knives, but?

By Michael Allman , Coshocton, OH

Yeah I finally did receive the Hoffman knife and those cheap dangerous card knifes. However, I still haven't received the match strike yet. I e-mail Jose's site and told them I haven't received anything yet and then a week later, which was yesterday, I got it. The same order was all together but the match strike lighter wasn't included. So we'll see if I do get it. My wife almost cut herself trying to get the card locked in. You need to watch out because it is flimsy after you do get it to lock in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Junk products

By Terry , Colorado

Everstryke match is one of the cheapest items I have ever seen. Ordered four of them for a couple tackle boxes and to have extra's in the hills. One broke, one won't hold fluid, another the striker/flint fell out and the forth fell apart on first use. The Hoffman Richter knife showed up without ordering it, which triggered me to find that they tried to bill me for something I didn't order. Knife is junk, not even worth keeping for an emergency. Shady outfit, junk products. Beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Absolute rip off artists

By Oswaldo Maldonado , Chicago, IL

I am having the same experience as some people above. I ordered the "survival knife" for $5 and that is all I have ever ordered from them. Tonight I end up looking over bank statements and find out that they have been billing me since August and have charged me over $140. I go in my email and everything they sent to me went to my spam folder but in total they said I supposedly ordered three different items that I never ordered nor received. I will be contacting my credit card company, the better business bureau and their local police department for a fraud report. It's shameful that a company would do this to people but I guess some people have no morals.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2015

Not the worst that I've dealt with

By David , Salt Lake City, UT

I got the everstryke matches. I got a total of four, and one was broken (the part that attached to the key chain) I also got the Hoffman Richer knife with the FPA membership. I called to cancel the membership and never got anyone to answer, so I emailed the address on the answering machine, and got a quick reply that my membership was canceled.

I thought the knife was nice at first, but after only 2 or 3 weeks of carrying the knife, the screw holding the blade fell out and got lost.

So as a recap, the customer service was pretty good in canceling, but the products are low quality. 

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 2, 2015

Make sure to cancel if you dont want it.

By James , Alabama

Got a Knife and Everstrike match for just shipping which was worth it in my opinion.

Took some time to come in the mail almost a month. Just make sure to cancel membership if what they offer does not suit you because they will charge each month for the services.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jun 19, 2015

Horrible shipping

By Joey , Connecticut

All of these prior reviews hit the nail on the head.

I ordered on December 29, 2014. I emailed them on the 20th to tell them I never received my order of the ever strike match, with one free. They said if I don't receive it by January 29th to give them a call back. I received the order on the 29th. It shouldn't take a month to receive a product. I have to say that they did respond to my email within 2 days, and I did receive the products, but I can definitely see that this isn't the most reputable company. I think they responded and made sure I got the products because of all the bad reviews they have. Maybe they're trying to get a little better customer service.

After reading these reviews I need to check my bank account to make sure I have no fraudulent charges. If I do, I'll be writing another review here. Good luck with this company. I would NEVER order from them again after seeing these reviews. Maybe I just got lucky this time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 8, 2015

Don't waste your time or money!

By Chuck Andrews, Norman, OK, Verified Reviewer

The only thing you will get from Survival Life is a lot of emails. Did the EverStryke thing for "FREE" which cost $4.95 Shipping and The Hoffman Richter knife with membership for $19.95. Also, a downloadable eBook was suppose to be included. The link for eBook from email confirming my purchases didn't work. Emailed support about link not working and the reply was "Not sure what download you are talking about. Please advise." After almost a month later NO EverStryke, Knife, or eBook. Emailed for cancelation and complete refund. PRESTO, all of the sudden I receive the $4.95 refund and cancelation notice but not the $19.95. Emailed again requesting refund of $19.95. Suddenly a package comes in the mail included EverStryke and Knife. Email requesting refund again. No refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2015

Some decent products, but...

By Ob , Indiana

It was never declared to be a $19.95 per month fee. I joined SHTF School and it was about the same price, once. I rated it 2 stars because most of the products I bought were pretty nice, but a monthly fee? Forget that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 21, 2015

Sales

By Allen , Baltimore MD

This site does nothing but try to sell you cheap products mostly made in China. The information is vague except when it comes to selling you products.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2015

I have no problem with Survival Life

By Gary Lyon , Silver Spring, MD

I have ordered four or five products from Survival Life. I have not been offered any subscriptions since I declined the first time. Yes, I get email offers from them maybe three times a week. I look, if good I order, if not, I delete it. They seem to have a niche that if you are not into survival stuff you probably are not interested in the products. Yes most are budget items but I have carried and used the Card Knife. It is exactly as advertised. I have some videos. They are advertising, but I have learned a thing or two from them and they are worth the cost which is little or nothing.

I don't do many reviews but seeing I have experience with this company, I decided to leave a review on them. I have recommended them to friends (that I know would be into these types of products).

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2015

Pretty clever on how they scam you

By Rick , Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

I ordered an outdoor bracelet and then I had received an email saying that I've been signed up for a $19 per month recurring payment for family protection. It's pretty sad that companies out there can just scam people and get away with it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2015

Don't bother.

By Greg Tuchel, Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I'm having a dispute with my bank because these jokers "enrolled" me in their spam e-mail program. There is nothing interesting, valuable, or important on their website or in their newsletters. If you have money to spare and don't care where it goes, by all means, sign up. They agreed not to take anymore of mine. We will see.

A friend also had this same issue with them. She was also "enrolled" and billed. Do not provide your credit card number. Find what they offer for free elsewhere. It isn't difficult.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2015

Unannounced billing

By Mike , Nicholson, PA

I like the basic idea of preparedness and some articles were helpful but I was billed $19.95 for a membership not requested. Worst of all, the name of the party billing me is called Absolute Right, not Survival Life or anything that would help identify those who are removing funds from my checking account which I had to cancel. Let the buyer beware. I do like the Hoffman Richter tactical knife though. It's heavy and shaves right out of the box. Thanks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2015

Rip off artists

By Brian , Mantua, NJ

I ordered the free flashlight for $4.95 shipping. That was all I ordered. Two months later, I received the flashlight. I also received another bigger rechargeable flashlight and a Hoffman Richter assisted opening knife. I did NOT order these. I called the company and told them to cancel my "membership" which I did NOT agree to in the first place. They told me that I can send back the stuff for a refund, or just keep it. And they canceled the membership. If the company was reputable they wouldn't have to sneakily sign you up for a recurring charge of $19 95 per month.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2015

Horrible customer service; mediocre products

By Allen , Aiken, SC

Ordered 5 Tactical pens on Dec 9 for Christmas gifts for my shooting buddies. They billed my CC immediately, but didn't send the products. Every time I called, they said they had been shipped but could never provide a tracking number. Last time before Christmas that I called, they said they had been shipped for delivery on Dec 24. Never came. I finally gave up and canceled the order after New Years. Had to fight over the CC charge, and the order arrived today, Jan 24! Not sure they are outright crooks, but certain run a shabby operation. Never again...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2015

Scammed by pros

By Jim Renick , Kansas

I too got caught in their little web of deceit. I ordered a flashlight that was free and pay (4.95) shipping. I had forgot all about it until I checked my card and seen I had 2 charges for 4.95 and 19.95 and it was from this survival life. I called their number to see what I had ordered as I had forgot as it went back to 12/10/14 and now it was 1/20/15.

They said it had shipped and emailed me a tracking number which I got the next day. I got the flash light which was a small light, but then it had a pocket knife which weighed about a pound and bigger flashlight which had a rechargeable battery in it. They did cancel the 19.95 which I'm still not sure what it consisted of, but it was a charge ever month. I went back through the website like I was going to get one of their free items and no where on there is anything that says you will be charged 19.95 or that it will recur ever month.

Anybody that is smart enough to check these reviews first which I wasn't... STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 16, 2014

Getting what I have been charged for two months ago

By Joyce Swanson , Fernley, NV

I ordered the cross bow for $49.99 on Oct. 29, 2014. I have not received it yet. I did get a phone call, I was told it is on it's way. That was over 3 weeks now. Also I ordered three other items on Nov, 3, 2014, I have not received these items either. When I call now I get a recording saying to call back later because of a high volume calling day. Do you really think I want to order anything from you again? If you want to keep your business growing and healthy, you need to take care of business and send out your orders as soon as you receive them. Do not charge for these things until they are on there way to us.

Earlier this year I ordered the 4 square foot garden barrel. It took so long to get this item that when it finally did get to me, the growing season was completely over. It is still sitting on our patio waiting to be filled for the next year's growing season. Very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2014

Will not refund

By Josh , Ohio

The last six months has been a nightmare regarding this company. They supposedly tried to mail my item three times which I've never received. Then, over three times they would send my refund. Still no refund. Watch out, they're criminals!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 28-50 of 50

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.