Read 48 Survival Life Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 6 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam

    • Ethelsville, AL,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Save your money. I ordered a couple of items from them and never received them but they charged me then charged me for a months service. I messaged them they promised to reship the item and even said they would send a couple of extras but nothing ever arrived so I messaged them again. This time they promised to reship the items again plus refund all my money, but again, it was nothing more than a lie just to buy themselves additional time to delete my messages I posted on their Facebook page. Then they blocked me and won't respond to my emails. Please save your money because it is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Eh, make your own call.

    • Aug 8, 2015

    Use your own judgment. I had a slight problem, told them that if the issues were not resolved I would notify the authorities that they were trying to scam me. I got an immediate response and they canceled my membership as requested. I see all you people complaining. How sturdy do you expect a credit card knife to be? Of course it isn't going be the sturdiest knife on the planet.

    As for the Hoffman Richter knife, it's very sturdy, sharp, and is of good quality in my opinion as I am really big on knives.

    As far as the credit card knives, if you have common sense and do not expect it to be gold, then it's great. I got an extra one of those free too.

    As for the Everystryke, how can you complain? It's exactly as I expected, then again I live in the country and I am not an idiot that expects everything in the world to be made out of titanium.

    If you use a little common sense when making your purchase, you will not be disappointed. I feel like most of the reviews I've read on here are from the "smart" ones of the world that believe everything they read on the Internet. Like I said, make your own judgment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2015

      mike

      Thank you John I was hoping someone would point out the obvious.

      That being just saying, credit card knife says flimsy yet these whiners act like they were paying for a case quality type of knife. I myself have one and it will do the job in an emergency but I wouldn't expect it to save my life. And the Hoffman Richter, again people act like they should have gotten the highest quality knife for $20. I like mine, again for the price I say you can't go wrong. People just want everything gold but pay aluminum price. The ones whining about the automatic renewal should learn to read. I know I'm not the smartest but I knew that was the deal before I even considered joining. It's like they invested thousands and now feel taken advantage of. Grow up.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    If you don't want the trial offer, don't click on it.

    • Louisville KY,
    • Aug 3, 2015

    You are not going to be enrolled in the free trial membership if you don't click on it. I have never had a problem. I buy it if I like it. You get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't get a hold of anyone from customer service

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Five of my orders have not been shipped, it's been more than 34 days. I contacted them, they said they were going to reship it but I think it's crap. Honestly I'm going to try to contact a lawyer to sue them for tricking people. Ok cool, I've been trying to get through to customer service, calls and emails, to solve all the problems with all the orders I place 32 days ago. My stuff didn't even get shipped. I asked customer service before the shipping time frame was reached to help them ship my items on time. I had issues with survival life prior to this last order placed on Nov 27, I haven't heard from them since Thursday last week. They took my money and customer service is highly bad, despite the fact that some companies are doing extra work to ship our stuff on time because most of the stuff purchased on these dates are gifts. This people don't even care about our survival stuff. Obviously there is an issue with this company. Sells tactical gear but they take forever to be deliver. Wow, very ironic don't you think? This company has several complaints online due to several times they failed to ship our stuff or even process the order but sure thing they can charge your bank account. Be careful fellows. I'm not ordering from survival life again. I regret doing it through survival life. Amazon offers full coverage if you buy from them, refunds or replacements, if something doesn't get to your hands they will give you your money back. By the way, Amazon has what this company sells. This is such nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2015

      H.K. Roemer, Hudson Valley, NY,

      I too fell into this scam. I just received their order yesterday from an October date. They also charged me $19.95 for no apparent reason, of which I quickly "squashed". The "Ever strike" match does appear to work, although in a "real life and death" situation its reliability would be questionable. The "acclaimed" Hoffman Richter knife is nothing but a 'cheap Chinese" knock-off. This knife sold by the "true" manufacturer is a custom handmade knife which on the "low-end" sells for $1600.00. As we should all be smart enough not to fall for the "If it's too good to be true", it surely isn't. Including myself we all fall 'prey" on occasion to "slick marketing". Does the content of some of their articles have merit? Maybe? A lot of it is good "ole" common sense. The same source information can be purchased through the NRA or any reliable source for much less than having your credit card 'tagged" for $19.95 a month. Maybe we should say, being aware of people like this is truly a "survival skill".

    • Feb 28, 2019

      Franklin M.

      Never received the match lighter. I paid for it AND did not fall into the membership trap for an additional "free" item. It has been 10 weeks. I didn't even get an email receipt. Sketchy outfit...

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Know what you are buying

    • Mikado, Michigan,
    • Jul 24, 2015

    My stepson had gotten the Hoffman Richter knife and the match. He showed them to me and I went online to see about ordering for myself. The company absolutely tells you that you are enrolling in a monthly billed club. I requested both the credit card knife and the survival knife. I received both within 10 days. They were exactly as described, very nice, sharp blades. The survival knife is sturdy as expected. The credit card knife is very thin, and folds up quickly. You can't expect them to be the same. They were designed for different purposes. Match the tool to the job. I canceled my membership and got a confirmation email the same day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2015

      Austen Barnes

      How did you get the information on the membership? I can't find it.

    • Oct 16, 2015

      Jose Hernandez ,

      I've have to tell you. I have tried other websites and was always disappointed. I ordered the ever strike and got it in 5 days. Works great. I then ordered the HR 100 multi pliers and paid shipping and handling for the folding knife. I got them in 5 days. They shipped the wrong pliers. I called on a Saturday and advised them of their mistake. They apologized and told me to keep the wrong pliers and shipped me the correct ones free of charge. Guess what? I got them in 5 days. The pliers are too cool. I have no complaints.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No problems, they tell you plenty that ordering includes recurring charge

    • Kansas,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    For all these 'bad' reviews: they tell you plenty of times through the ordering process about the recurring membership. Not their problem if you don't read the offer through. Easy to cancel, though, and the products are as advertised. I have the ever strike match, the cc knife, the Hoffman Richter knife and the Tac flashlight. I've read the info on the site during membership, then canceled until I order again. Like I said, no issues and a good service for anyone starting out planning survival.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2015

      Steven Holland

      I cannot figure out how to cancel my membership, any chance you can explain the process to me?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Knife and Card Knives, but?

    • Coshocton, OH,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Yeah I finally did receive the Hoffman knife and those cheap dangerous card knifes. However, I still haven't received the match strike yet. I e-mail Jose's site and told them I haven't received anything yet and then a week later, which was yesterday, I got it. The same order was all together but the match strike lighter wasn't included. So we'll see if I do get it. My wife almost cut herself trying to get the card locked in. You need to watch out because it is flimsy after you do get it to lock in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Never again.

    • Castle Rock, CO,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I ordered the Hoffam Richter knife and the ever Strike Match. It took two months to get this stuff and the matches are junk. The knife I guess from the reviews will fall a part if I ever use it. Well I have a paper weight. They better know that I will check and see if I am being charged monthly like most people. I thought I was just unlucky but then I read the reviews on Facebook and on this site and realized I'm not the only one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 5, 2015

      Robert

      I've gotten two knives, different from the Hoffman Richter and a couple of flashlights from them without ever being charged extra money. I also got the Strike Match from them. Sure their shipping does take longer than usual, but I've never encountered a reason to call them a rip off. Also in general, when comes to things like knives, I typically review them after I received the knife and have had a chance to use it. I don't normally review an item based on reviews I've read. That just doesn't make sense.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk products

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Everstryke match is one of the cheapest items I have ever seen. Ordered four of them for a couple tackle boxes and to have extra's in the hills. One broke, one won't hold fluid, another the striker/flint fell out and the forth fell apart on first use. The Hoffman Richter knife showed up without ordering it, which triggered me to find that they tried to bill me for something I didn't order. Knife is junk, not even worth keeping for an emergency. Shady outfit, junk products. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Absolute rip off artists

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I am having the same experience as some people above. I ordered the "survival knife" for $5 and that is all I have ever ordered from them. Tonight I end up looking over bank statements and find out that they have been billing me since August and have charged me over $140. I go in my email and everything they sent to me went to my spam folder but in total they said I supposedly ordered three different items that I never ordered nor received. I will be contacting my credit card company, the better business bureau and their local police department for a fraud report. It's shameful that a company would do this to people but I guess some people have no morals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not the worst that I've dealt with

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 12, 2015

    I got the everstryke matches. I got a total of four, and one was broken (the part that attached to the key chain) I also got the Hoffman Richer knife with the FPA membership. I called to cancel the membership and never got anyone to answer, so I emailed the address on the answering machine, and got a quick reply that my membership was canceled.

    I thought the knife was nice at first, but after only 2 or 3 weeks of carrying the knife, the screw holding the blade fell out and got lost.

    So as a recap, the customer service was pretty good in canceling, but the products are low quality. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 48

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review