• 49 Customer Reviews
  • 35% Recommend This Service
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 10% 3 star: 10% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 53%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    UPDATE

    • By John S.,
    • Sevierville, TN,
    • Apr 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, here it is, a week later and lo and behold, I get the MANchete in the mail (or whatever - it was on the porch when I got home). Sooooo...they had no record of me ever ordering one but they sent me one. Good grief. I think I just got lucky. My not supporting them anymore still stands. This is a MANAGEMENT problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 23, 2020

    They charge your card but don't send the merchandise.

    This has happened to me FOUR times now. Once, they credited my card (after almost a year). The last three times was for the "Spike", the "Sleeper" and the "MANchete". No refunds yet. I DID get the bonus items for the Sleeper but not the Sleeper itself. They owe me about $65.00 now. When I email them they always ask for more of the same information - name, address, last 4 of c/c. I send it and I get the same message (or similar - they can't find any record - but it's on my c/c statement). The info these guys put out is great which is why I like to support them by buying their merch so they get 2 stars instead of one, but I will not support them anymore. Enough is enough and shame on them.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Ordered a t-shirt on September 18th, 2019

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a t-shirt on September 18th, 2019. The order said pay only shipping $9.95, ok, did that. Three weeks later they took another $17.00 out of my account. It’s been 15 weeks and no t-shirt. I keep asking about it and all they say is it takes 6 to 8 weeks, as of this week it’s been 15 weeks. I sent them an email today, told them I want my money back. As of today, I would not recommend Survival Life to anyone; they rip you off. To me, it’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TOTAL SCAM

    • By Thomas J.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Charged me the day I placed my order. I questioned after a month when nothing showed up and their website said they had not been shipped yet.

    I was told their shipping window is 6 to 8 weeks.

    I waited until 8 weeks and one day, still hadn't shipped so I questioned again.

    Was told that one order shipped and was received at my post office over a month ago. Clearly fraudulent information as their own website says nothing had shipped.

    It took 10 weeks to get reimbursed for one order, still trying for the other two. BBB is getting involved as in my lawyer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Order incorrect

    • By Devin M.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DO NOT order more than 1 of an item. They will tell you that they shipped the correct amount and basically tell you that it's your loss. Customers do not come first here. Word to the wise, buy from another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You'd be better off dealing with the Mob

    • By B J.,
    • Mississippi,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They lost my order and account. Still charged me. I went straight to my bank's manager.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Luke W.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They did refund the money quickly, once everything was FINALLY resolved, so at least there's that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2019

    Stay away

    These guys also operate under the name "Family Protection Association."

    I clicked on an offer for two Everstryke lighters for $4.95, and their glitching website charged me for an $80 order of canned food, as well as doubling my original order.

    I emailed customer support, requesting cancellation of all except original order. They took days to respond. Once they did, I repeated my request, including exact order ID numbers.

    No response.

    They attempted to call several times while I was away on a job. When I finally got in touch, I was informed that the two orders of lighters ($4.95 each) were already shipped, despite my request that they ship only one. So I got four lighters for $9.90, when they have an offer for five lighters for $9.95.

    Finally I managed to get the $80 order canceled, supposed to be refunded in 2-6 business days. We shall see.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Steer clear

    • By Mike W.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Survival Life is a scam, I ordered a Varmint Crossbow and after it had an arrived in over three and a half months, I called and decided to cancel the order. They apologized and said it was on back order, but I had talked to them 30 days prior, and they promised it to me by the 18th. So, after canceling, they talked me into joining the FPA membership program, they would send me new gear every month for $17 a month. I was told there would be no shipping on top of that monthly subscription. After I read the small print when they sent me the email, I noticed that they will charge you shipping and the cost depended upon the item being shipped.

    If you don’t get on the website and cancel the items you don’t want, they will send you everything and you will pay shipping fees on all items, which is different depending on the item. Big ticket items will be up to $30 shipping, or more than $30 shipping fee for a backpack you can buy online for $15.98 with free shipping. Then you are paying $17/month for a membership. This company is a scam, they claim to be out of Austin, Texas but they are really based in the Philippines. All nine times that I called, never, not once did I get an operator that sounded American. Save your money and don’t waste your time. If only there were an option for 0 or even negative stars, anybody posting positive reviews either works for or is getting paid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Survival Life's lighter

    • By Byron R.,
    • California,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Survival Life is 100% legit! I have no complaints, I am 100% happy with my lighters. I do have a question - can you replace the wick or pull them out as they start to burn lower? Thank you, looking forward to receiving my new knife.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Be careful - the key is their survival ($$)

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a knife from this company back in 2015, and now I’ve learned my credit card information was used to charge me for an online subscription for Family Survival without my knowledge or permission. Needless to say, they are being very slow in answering questions about this and providing any document that authorizes them to sign me up for this. Be warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy from this company!

    • By Mark Stram,
    • California,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You order stuff, and they never ship you the product. I am still waiting for the crossbow that I ordered 6 months ago. Also, their customer service is useless and unhelpful. After 3 months of waiting for my first order, they decided to cancel my order without my permission. Then the company sent me an email to order the same crossbow on November 21st, and now again I still do not have my order, and they can't tell me when I will receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shipping is terrible

    Overall Experience:

    I've been waiting almost 30 days now on 4 different orders, about 10 days on another order, and have only recieved 2 orders out of the orders I have placed. They say the items are on back order, but they still send emails every day trying to sell the same items they say are on backorder. I'm completely disappointed in Survival Life; their shipping is downright awful and just a slap to the face. Do they not want your repeated business?

    I recieved the very first order I placed there, which was a less than $3 transaction for the Hybeam Micro and I had it within 2 weeks. I've also ordered the Hybeam Mini, Hybeam Poplamp, Hoffman Richter Reaper, and ordered them all within 3 days of September the 25th, 26th, and 27th. Well now it's October 22nd, and I haven't received any of those items. I ordered the Hoffman Richter EDC tool and received it within 2 weeks also, but this was also about a $5-$6 purchase.

    It's bad for the customer to order things and still not get them a month later. It's just bad business and not how you want to treat a repeated customer. I mean, what do they do, wait until the end of the month and send an employee across the country to deliver packages to try and save money? Heck, I thought I was the one paying shipping, or at least that's what my receipt says, so why take so damn long?

    They don't even send an email to apologize or anything to tell you what's going on unless you contact them 1st. Maybe they hope you forget about ordering anything after so long? I have noticed in the other reviews they all had the same complaints about slow shipping, like they only ship out on Christmas day or something. My wife has already chewed me out for buying the items, so I would much rather have had the items than the money back since I've already paid for them (twice).

    They need to figure out a better plan to get things out and to their customers. This is going to cost them their business if they don't do something different than their current shipping. Or maybe it's in their warehouse and the workers just don't work but are packaging one shipment a day. Goodluck if you make a purchase from them, I hope you get your item in a reasonable amount of time.

    They obviously sell things they don't even have in stock, or maybe that how they buy their stock; you buy from them and then they order from someone else? That would explain a lot of this crap, but someone needs to be held accountable for this. It shouldn't be a hit or miss on getting an item you have already paid for in a reasonable amount of time. Three weeks should be the latest you get anything through the mail, and that's if it is shipped from China, not 3 states over. It's a 12-hour drive from my home in Alabama to Austin, Texas. I know for a fact because I used to make that drive when I was stationed at Fort Hood, Texas and had to drive through Austin, which was about 45 minutes away to get there.

    I just want the items I ordered before I die. If you can have something here within 2 weeks on other orders it shouldn't ever be a month on any others. If something is on backorder then don't sell it, or at least tell the customer it's on backorder and it might be a while before you get it before the customer spends their hard earned money on something they could get somewhere else within days. That's how you earn respect and trust, that's how you build a business; on the trust and respect of your customers. Make sure you save and keep up with your emailed receipts and order numbers; if you don't get one then email them ASAP and ask for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware!

    • By Sam Smith,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the Hoffman Richter Talon knife for $24.95 with a promised delivery date of 7-12 business days. I called for status at the 18 business day mark and was told the order was "misplaced." They said my money will be refunded, but we'll see. Although they list an Austin, Texas physical address and a phone number with the correct Austin, Texas exchange (512), the number connects to a "customer service" contractor company in the Philippines.

    I would steer clear. I don't know if they're actually running a scam but seems quite suspicious. They are not very upfront with who they are or where they are. Do honest/ethical companies hide?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Your money would be best spent elsewhere

    • By Howard,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I joined Survival Life and was a member for over two years.

    In that time, I ordered some of the items they had to offer. I was disappointed that their stated 15 to 21 business days to deliver a purchased item was standard for them. It got a little better over time, but never got below 15 days.

    I've called their customer service, and it's hit-or-miss on being helpful. I canceled my membership when they persisted that I was not a member, despite regular monthly billing. They were finally able to find it, but I thought I could do better with my money elsewhere. The things they sell are not cheaper than the same items elsewhere online when you add in the $19.95 a month charge.

    The quality of their items is certainly not better than what you can find on your own. Most of the videos that are hosted are easily available on YouTube, and for free.

    The bottom line is, for preparation for when "things hit the fan," you can do just as well to research it on your own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Survival Life credit card knife scam?

    • By Jeff,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jan 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the free knife knowing going in that is was just a lure to get you to buy something else. When I saw the offer for a second free knife, I knew that is was a catch. If you bother to read anything else, it tells you that you are also going to be in their club and there was a monthly fee. I clicked on "no thanks" and got my free knife with no problems, and it is good for what it is.

    I do get lots of emails, sometimes with an offer I'm interested in, or just useful info. I don't think that it is a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Survival Life products

    • By Rihard W.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered six products online and had no problems throughout the process. Shipping was fast and products were great. Credit card knife has plastic but I've carried one for over a year with no problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Happy so far

    Overall Experience:

    I've ordered several items from this company and have got exactly what I was promised. As some others have stated, the products were made in China but are what they promised. I feel I got a fair product for a fair price. I'll watch for unexpected charges but have not had any so far. I'm happy with this company. And yes I would recommend them to friends. Also, I've order the HR30, the spy pen, the fire starter and a flash light and all came in good time and were decent products for what I paid.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Survival Life

    • By J.M. Maness,
    • Robbins, NC,
    • Dec 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have ordered several items from Survival Life and have gotten them in a reasonable amount of time. I have never been charged for anything, but the items I have ordered and have not been charged a membership fee. I am very happy with all of the items I have ordered from them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Tools and knives

    • By jon baudendistel,
    • greeley CO,
    • Nov 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have purchased several knives from survival life. The first knife I got, someone liked it better than I did and I was not a happy camper. I have given the knives to coworkers and each person likes them as much as I do! They are very sturdy, and well made. The smaller multi-tool is a great little "get me out of trouble" helper. The fire starters are going to be some stocking stuffers. The fire and fishing grenades are also neat. I will continue to purchase them when offered, even when the wife says that I have too many knives and toys.

    The only drawback is the multi charges for the enrollment fees. Each one you buy in automatically opts you in for more. so having a program that checks on the multi enrollment fees would be nice. Thank you again and keep up the great offers!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very pleased!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the Richter 15 knife (paid shipping cost only) and surprisingly, it arrived in just a few days! I like that! When I opened it up, it was slower than I anticipated and it didn't fully open. To me, no big deal because of the price & it's a sharp, sturdy knife. Then I saw the Richter30 advertised with an additional 25% off! I clicked the button, then another & the back button & quickly made a huge mess of my bank account! I called the company and the gal was awesome.

    She immediately got the $260 put back into my account & when I mentioned the slow-opening knife I received, she said she'd send me out a new one right away and that I could keep the first one. Terrific service, great information & tips, neat items & fast shipping. Great company. I'm a happy & satisfied new member.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Multi-tool

    • By Robert Florio,
    • Northbridge, MA,
    • Oct 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my H.R. Richter multi tool today and was pretty disappointed with the size of the tool, it was no bigger than my index finger. Yhe saw on the end of one of the blades looked as if it was only good for cutting tooth picks, and the blade was only big enough to gut a chipmunk. Sorry but for twenty dollars and five dollars for shipping and handling, I'm pretty disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • OK products, but use good judgment

    Overall Experience:

    I've ordered a number of products from them -- the Hoffman Richter knife, credit card knives, flashlights -- and never had a problem. Shipping seemed pretty quick, actually.

    I suspect that some customers are either very young, or just don't know much about the products offered. The Everstryke lighter I never bothered with. The same thing has been offered cheaply since I was a kid in the 1950s; it was never as good as a real lighter & always gets thrown in a drawer & ignored. Now that Bic disposable lighters are only a buck & give you a couple of thousand lights -- who would bother with wick-type lighters? Bics have a shelf life of many YEARS. I was a heavy smoker for years & know from experience.

    The Hoffman Richter knife is WAY heavy, nothing I'd carry everyday, but seems sturdy & I keep it in one of my vehicles for emergencies. There are certainly better knives available (I have a number of them), but usually at much higher price. A $10 Chinese fixed-blade hunting knife from eBay is a better survivalist tool, if you can sharpen properly.

    The credit card knife is a neat little niche tool, and I carry one in my wallet. Obviously it is NOT a sturdy hunting knife, but definitely has its place. When I blew a radiator hose, it did a fine job of cutting through the old one. It's for EMERGENCY use when you have no "real" knife. I like mine & ordered more for friends, all of whom loved it. Get a grip, guys -- it isn't designed to skin out a deer.

    I've only used the flashlight a couple of times. It worked fine, is very bright, and seems sturdy, especially for the price.

    The spy pen is probably OK, but cheaper models can be found on Amazon & elsewhere. It's basically just a big pointed piece of metal, like a fat nail. Don't overpay. You could make one in your basement with a bench grinder.

    You can't just buy blind on Survival Life. Go look at reviews of the specific product (and prices on Amazon) if you are uncertain.

    I'd recommend them to friends, but some of the comments about monthly fees & bad service do make me a bit hesitant, even though my experiences have been all good so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great site.

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the Everstryke Pro lighter and received it within a week. Sadly it was broken so I emailed Survival Life and no questions asked they sent out a replacement and let me keep the first lighter. I love the Everstryke Pro lighter, it is part of my EDC. Just a few days ago I ordered the HR 30 tactical folding knife and am currently awaiting arrival. I hope it's as good as they make it out to be. So far I love Survival Life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Spammers & Scammers

    • By Doug,
    • Ohio,
    • Sep 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    How to survive the apocalypse? Start by avoiding rip-off artists like Survival Life. Why are there so many negative reviews about them? Because they just keep practicing their sneaky, deceitful marketing practices. How many bad reviews do we have to read about the same thing?

    - I clicked on a link with a "Free" offer.

    - Without wanting to, or knowing I did it, somehow I found myself subscribed to their $20/month magazine.

    - I cancelled my "membership" but am still receiving crap in the mail (a "Survival Knife" I never ordered or even saw advertised. Now I have to watch my bank statement like a hawk because I'm quite certain they'll try to bill me for this junk.

    By the way, I also got a "paracord bracelet." This would actually be kind of neat if it wasn't sized for a four-year-old girl. That's what happens when you source your American survival stuff from China, where 5'5" 135 lbs is considered XL. Really? from China?

    If you're relying on these people or their products for survival, good luck to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very honest company

    • By Steven Philhart ,
    • Clovis California,
    • Sep 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I tried for 14 days and then I find out I had to move. I called the phone number which was very easy to find and they cancelled my membership and still sent me the knife and the match striker. I mean let's get real people, you're paying $15 for a knife and a survival match. Are there better ones out there, of course. Are there better ones out there for $15, I highly doubt it. They were very courteous and took care of my cancellation and I was never billed, except for the shipping fees of the items that I bought.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great company for those serious about survival

    Overall Experience:

    Only problem I have is the recurring payment. They tell you straight upfront that there will be a membership fee but say it is easy to cancel. I have not been able to find how to cancel this payment! If anyone knows how or where to go to cancel please comment and explain it to me. The website seems very informative and those who write seem very professional and experienced. I just want to cancel though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Welcome to the result of unskilled labor.

    • By Darren,
    • Aug 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I Love miniaturization and small carry survival items so I definitely was fascinated by both the CC knife and the Everstryke. I have not ordered the Hoffman-Richter but the reviews I found were all positive toward it. Remember that you'll find horrifying reviews about all kinds of survival/utility tools including SOG, Ka-Bar, Schrade, etc. I ordered both the match and the CC knife with the greatest of ease and I was told that it would take 10 to 15 days to receive. Not only did I get them within a week, I received two of the each products with no extra shipping charge. I think they're both great. I have been in customer service for years and these stories here have twice as many in the contrary elsewhere.

    The problem is when you have humans in a conscientious service and supply company, you are at the mercy of the minimum wage grunts they are forced to hire so they can stay in operation. Without a sense of commitment or maybe by not having English as their first language, sloth and incompetence are often the result. It's too bad any of you had a bad experience (or think the products are crap, ultimately a clever person can thrive using only a sharp rock. So where does the fault of use or perception lie?)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • "Free", just pay shipping

    • By Steve C.,
    • Boise, Idaho,
    • Aug 11, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for the website and should have received the folding survival knife. Before I became alarmed I ordered 2 more items: hi-beam flash light - free just pay shipping of 4.95, and a spring loaded survival knife - 9.95 shipping. I have tried to contact their help number that was supposed to be 24/7 with no avail. I have sent emails to the support group and received a canned answer of we will contact you at first chance. Now the web site is down. They have charged my credit card and it's been almost 3 weeks for a 5 -7 working day delivery. I am reversing my charges after reading the BBB report, The RipOff Report, And Scambook.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 49

Write a Review for Survival Life!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Survival Life