About Swifty Sharp

By HighYa Staff

Swifty Sharp is a cordless, motorized blade sharpener that’s claimed to restore the razor’s edge on any blade in just seconds, including scissors, bread, steak, and filet knives, hedge clippers, and even screwdrivers and small hand tools.

Swifty Sharp is claimed to accomplish this by using a professional grade, high-speed sapphire sharpening stone, in addition to a built-in blade guide that provides the perfect angle for a razor sharp edge. On top of this, Swifty Sharp also features a catch tray that collects shavings, and a compact design that stores easily.

Overall, the manufacturer claims that Swifty Sharp provides safe, easy-to-use precision power sharpening at a fraction of the price of other in-home electric knife sharpeners; all you have to do is press the button, insert the blade into the guide, and slide.

Whether you’re an amateur chef that prepares gourmet meals or are just looking to extend the life of your cutlery, does Swifty Sharp deliver? Consider the following:

It’s All About the Angle

While labor-intensive knife sharpening methods (such as using whetstones) are fairly straightforward, since you can view and maintain a precise angle, electric knife sharpeners can vary in quality, and might not provide this same angle.

And while Swifty Sharp is claimed to hold blades in the perfect angle, it also has to be wide enough to accommodate a variety of knife sizes. And according to EdgeCraft, if you can wobble a knife side to side while it’s pulled through the slot, the edge will not be symmetrical.

Granted, in the commercial, we’re only shown one computer generated display of a knife being pulled through the Swifty Sharp, so it’s impossible to say with any certainty whether or not this will be the case.

Other Considerations About Swifty Sharp

In addition to angle, there are other considerations you should keep in mind before ordering your Swifty Sharp.

Fine or Course Grit?

First, although we’re told that Swifty Sharp uses a high-speed sapphire sharpening stone, keep in mind that we’re not told if this remains in its natural state, or if its made of a coarser grit. And because coarser stone can cause your knife edge to wear faster and to “shrink” (e.g. your knife’s edge wears inward), this is something you should be aware of before making a purchase.

Knife Material

In addition, according to a thread on BladeForums.com, sapphire stones are ideal for sharpening modern stainless steel knives. However, for other blade materials, such as carbon or alloy steels, cobalt alloys, titanium alloys, and ceramic, the sapphire stone used in Swifty Sharp may not be as effective, and could even damage your knives.

Other Knife Sharpening Options

Finally, remember that electric knife sharpeners are nothing new. As a result, you have numerous options to choose from, which you can see for yourself by typing “electric knife sharpener” into your favorite search engine.

Granted, not all of these options will be cordless, and many are priced well above Swifty Sharp, although you will find some relatively comparable options. In fact, you might want to check local retailers for similar options, which could save you a good chunk of change if you’re dissatisfied (more about this in a moment).

It should also be noted that manually sharpening your knife is fairly straightforward, so if you were to teach yourself, you’d not only be learning a new skill, you could also save yourself a ton of money in the process.

Do Swifty Sharp’s Customers Think it Cuts the Mustard?

Because Swifty Sharp was such a new product at the time of our research (URL registered February 2015), there weren’t any online customer reviews available.

However, Swifty Sharp is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC based out of Williston, VT, who also does business as Hampton Direct, a large company within the “As Seen on TV” industry. As a result, the company manufactures several popular ASOTV products, including 3 Way Poncho, Lumi Doh, Chillow, and more.

Among 55 HighYa reader reviews for these products (as of 4/13/15), they had an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing poor quality and failure to work as advertised. While you might not experience the same with Swifty Sharp, it’s important to keep in mind nonetheless.

Hampton Direct held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 130 closed complaints, most of which appeared to reference being charged for items that weren’t ordered, poor quality products, and numerous sales calls after placing orders.

Swifty Sharp Pricing & Refund Policy

Swifty Sharp is priced at $14.99 plus $6.95 S&H.

As a bonus, you can also purchase multi-purpose stainless steel shears for an additional $4.95 S&H. Note: If you don’t want the optional shears, be sure to check the “I would prefer to only receive SWIFTY SHARP” box on the ordering page.

Swifty Sharp comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Important note: If you order the optional shears and are dissatisfied, this means you could spend more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this in said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-826-2683.

Will Swifty Sharp Provide Professional Results at Home?

Based on Swifty Sharp’s ultra-low price compared to the competition, as well as its “As Seen on TV” status, it’s our opinion that the product might not perform as well as higher priced models available online, as well as through local retailers.

Because of this, you might want to take your knives to a professional for sharpening, or investigate some of the more mainstream models out there before handing over your hard-earned money.

If you do decide to give Swifty Sharp a shot though, we’d recommend trying some of your inexpensive cutlery on it before sharpening your higher priced knives. Also, remember that you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund in the event you’re dissatisfied.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 79 Swifty Sharp Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  73
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 79
Sort reviews by:

  • 47 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Poor delivery schedule

    • Houston, Texas,
    • Jun 18, 2015

    I ordered 2 sharpeners on June 7th as birthday gifts. On June 16th, I called the company to get a status on delivery, and I was told it would be 2 to 6 weeks from date of order. In other words, I would receive the order sometime between 6/21 and 7/19. That is a difference of 1 whole month. If I had known this when I placed the order, I might not have made the purchase. I believe I was purposely deceived, and I am very disappointed in the company's integrity.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 1, 2015

      Dave Doane

      I thought it would be nice to sharpen my knives. The battery cover has no clip to hold it shut, making it useless. What a piece of crap.

    • Jul 3, 2015

      Mark Jackson

      You must know by now to allow 6 to 10 weeks for delivery, unless express shipping is offered and paid for.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Lousy

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I used this piece of junk to sharpen a couple of my knives and it took the edge completely off the knives. I tried it several times but the knife got duller so I stopped. Not worth sending back because they wont refund postage. Oh and the scissors that came with it "Free" won't cut paper successfully. The whole thing wouldn't make a good anchor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2015

      Paul Stuart,

      I wish I had done some research first because I just ordered it today. Damn it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Machine not useable

    I thought it would be good. The battery cover had no way to hold it shut, rendering it useless. No one to call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Swifty Sharp is a scam & a rip off

    I ordered Swifty Sharp knife sharpener thinking it was going to be 14.95 like they advertised on TV. But boy, was I wrong! They got me for S&H (shipping & handling) & I bought 3 extra stone sharpeners for a total of 31.94. I paid with a debit card -- never ever use a debit card. They called a few weeks later I believe and they told me there was some a problem with my debit card and I told them I didn't have enough money on my debit card and I wanted to cancel the transaction. They said ok, they would. Now after I canceled, they called me 2 or 3 more times. I looked at my debit card transactions Monday only to find out that they had taken 31.94 off my debit card without my consent. My advice is do not order this product because you will be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Cheaply Made. Not worth the money

    • Aug 14, 2015

    I bought two of these and it took 10 days for them to arrive. I tried one as soon as I got it and when I tried to sharpen a knife the housing lit up indicating and arching motor. I took it apart and the motor contacts are too close to the battery compartment.

    Not too mention the motor is tiny and the sharpener only sharpens one side. A Piece of JUNK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 22, 2015

      Linda Smith,

      I got mine a couple of weeks ago and the second time I used it my stone stopped spinning and the motor stopped. I threw it away. I would like my money back but I doubt if I will get it. This is a piece of junk and would not recommend it to any one.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy one

    They are cute and would work ok if they had any power. Not worth the money, not even a dollar. If you want one you can have mine for free, it will be in the yard sale for $1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Probably produced and sold by a marketing company.

    • Missouri,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    That is the only explanation I can find as how this came to be manufactured and sold at all. The product is complete trash: my knives won't even completely fit into the thing, from a paring knife to a medium slicer. When they do, the grinding action stops with pressure. This product didn't come into being because it actually works. It had to be someone's money-making scheme.

    Also, it took SIX WEEKS to arrive. When I finally called the company to inquire, they said it had been delivered. Not so (have a secure PO box). They did send a second one that came in about 10 days after the first one so we have two now, when we don't want either one. Kitchen counter garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Cape Cod, MA,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    This Swifty Sharp is worthless. The motor has no torque. I think it's a real rip-off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    What a piece of Junk

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Aug 28, 2015

    We ordered the Swifty Knife Sharpener. We put in the 4 double A batteries and started to sharpen one of our knives. To our dismay the little motor barely turned the grinding stone. It didn't sharpen anything. This is nothing but a piece of junk. Don't buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Inferior product

    • Southwest Harbor, Maine,
    • Sep 13, 2015

    This product is not worth the price. Batteries inserted in parallel do not work. they must be in series. The knife guides are too wide to keep the blade steady and true for a keen edge and the outer one completely misses the sharpening wheel. Sharpening scissors is equally poor and the guide equally sloppy to prevent a good edge. With these results, no effort was made to try a serrated blade. Return shipping costs from my area does not justify requesting a refund. I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Never ever use this kind of sharpener.

    This a grinder not a sharper, never let anything like this ever get close to your knives, they have certain angle that they are honed to. Never use anything but a stone or clay rod to sharpen your knives, and a steel to hone it between uses metal shaving are ruining your knife.

    Had rookie chefs under me buy this but will never allow it in. Never ever use this kind of sharpener.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 79

Write a Review for Swifty Sharp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review