About T-fal OptiGrill

Manufactured by T-fal and based out of West Orange, NJ, the OptiGrill claims to be the only indoor grill that features “Precision Grilling Technology” that helps you “grill to perfection every time.” The OptiGrill also provides you with a foolproof series of LED lights and audible beeps that let you know once it’s achieved your desired cooking level.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

T-fal holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on just three closed complaints within the past three years. Regarding the OptiGrill specifically, the product has been featured on websites such as Digital Trends, Popular Mechanics, Good Housekeeping, and CNET. Most online reviews appear generally positive, with the most common complaints including its inability to accurately measure uneven cuts of meat, and that red meat will still require a thermometer in order to achieve your desired level.

How the T-fal OptiGrill Works

According to the T-fal website, each OptiGrill features built-in technology that measures the thickness of your food, as well as thermostatic sensors that monitor temperature. As a result, the company guarantees that your food will be “grilled to perfection every time,” and that your meat will turn out just the way you like it.

The T-fal OptiGrill features six cooking programs for burgers, poultry, sandwiches, sausage/pork, red meat, and fish, and can even defrost frozen foods. Simply select the setting you need, place your items on the grill plates once ready, and then begin. In order to make sure you always know the progress of your food, the OptiGrill includes a color-changing LED on the front, and will beep once rare, medium, and well-done levels have been reached.

T-fal claims the OptiGrill can cook different pieces of meat to different levels at the same time, and that fat easily drains away as it cooks. After your food is finished, simply wipe the grill plates clean, or remove and insert them into the dishwasher.

T-fal OptiGrill Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly from T-fal, your OptiGrill will be priced at five payments of $35.99 (total of $179.95), plus free shipping and handling. It will also come with a Quick Start guide and On the Grill Cookbook, which features more than 30 grilling recipes, as well as a $200 set of coupons to Omaha Steaks.

All T-fal OptiGrills come with a 60-day money back guarantee. If you’re not completely satisfied for any reason within this time, simply contact customer service to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, which should be included on your return package. Once the package is received and processed, your payment method on file will be promptly refunded.

The T-fal OptiGrill can also be purchased from Bed Bath & Beyond, Dillard’s, Amazon.com, and more. However, keep in mind that return/refund policies will vary by retailer.

Pros:

  • Guaranteed to cook your meat to perfection every time.
  • Can be used with red meat, pork, chicken, and fish.
  • Cooks meat from frozen to rare, medium, and well-done.
  • LED light a beep let you know when you’ve achieved the desired coking level.
  • Relatively inexpensive, and comes with free shipping and a 60-day satisfaction guarantee—if purchased from the manufacturer.

Cons:

  • Some customers have complained that the OptiGrill doesn’t accurately measure uneven pieces of meat, and that red meat still requires a thermometer for best results.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for T-fal OptiGrill

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Inferior product - not worth the money or aggravation

    • Warwick, RI,
    • Oct 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I purchased a T-fal OptiGrill in February 2016. After approximately 10 months, the electronic controller malfunctioned. While T-fal repaired the unit at no cost, we were required to pay for the shipping. We got the unit back about a week later.

    On October 20th, 2017, my wife tried to use the grill and again, the control malfunctioned. That's twice in less than two years. I contacted T-fal and requested a complete replacement (I have a reference number). I was told a supervisor would be contacting me within 24-48 hours. Never got a call.

    So not only does T-fal in my experience make junk, they know it and will not stand behind their products. With this company and this product, the saying "buyer beware" definitely applies!

    Also, T-fal is owned by a French consortium named S.E.B. Some of their other products include Krups and Rowenta. I'm just saying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of garbage. Stores and T-fal continue to market and sell to unsuspecting consumers

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this from a store, and of course, after the 30-day store warranty is over it breaks down. Same as others, it goes into manual mode. I phone customer service, who says it only needs the sensor to be re-calibrated. Talks me through some procedure. Thanks a lot. From the documentation that they forwarded, he gave me wrong instruction for the model I had. I have the OptiGrill Plus. Now it does not work at all.

    This company has manufactured a kitchen appliance that is very defective. And they continue to do so and have not fixed the problem. Many stores that carry this defective appliance know that it is defective and screen all their reviews so they can continue to sell it to unsuspecting consumers. If the stores would quit selling it, then maybe the manufacturer would quit building it. Luckily, I did not send in review until after two months (eight using), but the store will not publish my true review. They rely on and publish only those from early users before they break.

    Do not buy this product. I tried to be optimistic, but now I see how the vendors protect the manufacturer, fraudulently. Mine is now in a warranty service with a pile of others and being told the parts are back ordered. It will probably be six weeks, if not longer. And I suspect that they will supply another defective board and I will be back in the same position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Only works on manual

    I thought I was buying this to take my headache away and so that my boys could cook their own food, but I guess I was wrong. I just purchased it today, 5/9/17. I am returning this piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely love it!

    • Virginia,
    • Sep 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had my unit for six months now with no problems. I have made chicken, steak, salmon, pastrami sandwiches with oozing cheese to die for and sausage. If I can think of anything else to put on it, I will.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Sandston, VA,
    • Jul 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It works only on manual mode and there is no support to answer questions. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    A fixture for your kitchen

    • New York,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I bought one in February 2013 and my kitchen has been so easy to clean. The product does what it says based on the correct use. I used mine everyday and had no complaints. The only concern is the life of the product. This one lasted 3 1/2 years and I guess that's ok because comparing to the cost of running my Viking stove it's like cooking for free.

    Great for any size family and I also purchased 3 more for others as gifts. For those that have children they thank me because it saves them hours in the kitchen and makes their day easier when they get home after work.

    I don't know how people can not have one. Thank you T-fal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Total junk

    • Gaffney, SC,
    • May 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like others, it worked a few months using it maybe twice a week. Now cooks on manual mode only. Customer support is useless. Don't waste your money on this hunk of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Crap! Manual Mode

    • Williamsburg, VA,
    • Mar 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was super excited to get this grill but as soon as it came I opened it and cooked a piece of choices breast and it was amazing! Two days later it went straight to manual mode I couldn't get it off manual mode!

    I contacted the customer service and they kindly replied with an email stating that I must have the heating plates on incorrectly. They also were very kind to remind me I still had an outstanding balance. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I love it.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Mar 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had this grill for over a year. It has always worked reliably, the results have been great and the meat has always been flavorful and moist. I've used it with steaks, burgers, chicken, veggies and fish. Very satisfied with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    OptiGrill

    • Indiana,
    • Feb 5, 2016

    Saw this device on TV one night, thought what the heck and ordered it. Piece of junk. None of the programmed settings work, only the "manual," which is akin to throwing a steak in a skillet or a contact grill and babysitting it. I could get that at 1/4th the cost. I tried many different times and plugged and unplugged it, etc., piece of junk. DON'T but this grill.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    T-fal OptiGrill

    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Jan 30, 2016

    The T-fal OptiGril worked twice in the auto cook mode and now only goes to manual mode as soon as it's turned on. I've only had this for one week. Now I have to cook the food manually as it is the only way it will work. I would not recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for T-fal OptiGrill!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review