Tac Amplifier Reviews

Tac Amplifier

Overall Rating

1.3

36 Customer Reviews

Summary

Tac Amplifier from Bell + Howell is a behind-the-ear personal sound amplification product that allegedly helps you hear better through an adjustable volume controller. What are customers saying about this PSAP?

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.3 Stars out of 36 Reviews
5 Star:2% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:88%
8% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Tac Amplifier:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 13, 2020

Wish I could give NO stars!

By Kim P., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Garbage! We were sent three. Two came not working at all, even after charging...they were actually dead! And the third we didn't even order.

After sending us two DEFECTIVE products and one we didn't order, we were forced to pay shipping to return the two DEFECTIVE and one non-ordered product. We returned at OUR COST because the company refused to take responsibility.

According to tracking from USPS, the company received the returned products in TWO days. This was back in June. We have yet to see a refund. Calls get us nowhere. This product seems to be lacking in both quality and good customer service!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Crap for customer service

Didn't even turn on even after charging

Still waiting for refund since June

Had to pay return shipping on product they sent used and broken

Posted on Aug 24, 2020

Not a good product, nor customer service

By John P., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Difficult to get going and difficult to alter the volume. Charging the unit was a problem as there was no indication it was actually being charged. Returned item for a refund and was refunded $7 LESS than I paid, plus the $4 postage made it an $11 waste of money.

Transaction ID was: 05164950T1771603C.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Difficult to operate and charge up

Mean refund policy

Excessive shipping cost

Posted on Aug 3, 2020

Junk

By Angela M., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

Bought one for my elderly father whose hearing is pretty bad. Saw this amplifier while shopping, didn't think to read customer reviews. Big mistake! It literally worked for the first evening and stopped. I hate that dad was so happy when I gave it to him only for it to fail in less than 24 hours. Needless to say, I will not be buying another and I'm shopping around for a better product from a company other than B&H. After reading these reviews I'm not even going to bother with trying to get my money back or replace the battery. Just gonna throw this crap in the trash bin where it belongs.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Price should be 99 cents, not $19.99

Garbage

Don't buy

Posted on Jun 19, 2020

Screamer

By Nelson C., Hawthorne, FL, Verified Reviewer

I used mine for three days and my cell phone rang and the amp went to screaming. To be able to get the amp out of my ear was not anything I want anyone to experience. I believe my hearing in that ear is gone now. Now I wish I would have read more about the amps. Totally garbage, someone needs to sue you.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Screaming

I cannot hear in my left now!

Not able to remove easily

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2020

BUYER BEWARE!

By Beth F., Wetmore, MI, Verified Reviewer

Bought a pair for husband so he could turn down the TV and not make the rest of us in the house lose our hearing. They worked pretty well, for about two weeks. Then nothing. Tried to get replacement batteries, not available ANYWHERE. Tried repeatedly to call "customer service", line was always busy. Tried emailing Bell & Howell, no response. It's a shame, Bell & Howell used to be a respectable company.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Helped husband hear TV

Died after two weeks

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2020

Doesn't work

By Joan F., Warren, MI, Verified Reviewer

I bought 2 for the price of 1 and neither one worked. All we got was static no matter where we set the volume at. We were looking forward to using them because my husband's hearing is going bad and he listens to everything so loud. Very disappointed.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast delivery

Product doesn't work as advertised

Returning product is not easy

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2020

Not turning on at all

By Joyce D., New York, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a few months ago but did not open as my hearing aid started working again. Now my aid is not working at all...opened the box and charged overnight, had a green light and it does not work at all. Threw away $20 as this is junk and most likely the company does not stand behind there product! Wish I had read the reviews before purchasing!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2020

Horrible, lasted one week, won't recharge

By Eugene M., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Bought three of them. Used one a week, now doesn't work. I want a refund on the other two that I bought. Besides that, they sound like you're in a tin box. The charger sucks...you have to plug into a computer or something...what a pain.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 22, 2020

Tac Amp is terrible

By Chas W., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Did not work out of the box. Only got a high pitch squeal regardless of settings. Returns are tricky. The paper in the box gives you an 800 number to call. That then gives you another 800 number to call in order to return the product. It costs $5.40 for 1st class postage with tracking to mail it back. Bottom line...don't bother buying this junk.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2020

Improved hearing of TV sound

By James L., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Purchased this unit to attempt to overcome poor quality sound from TV, particularly from sound sources like Netflix. While the unit did amplify the sound, even the closer proximity of the sound did not improve the intelligibility. Did not perform as I had hoped.

Unit works and may be suitable for some people, but not for my purpose.

Customer service was pleasant and helpful.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 26, 2019

These things make hearing really bad.

By Greg S., Pierre, SD, Verified Reviewer

These things amplify everything - wind, your own breathing, and really make it hard to hear. I don't recommend them to anyone and wish I had read the reviews before I ordered them. These, as far as I am concerned, are a real scam. I wish I could return but I can't even do that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2019

Junk

By David S., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

Got 2 of them, neither works, just get feedback no matter what I do. Called customer service and they said to send them back or get a $5 credit for a product they claim works. DON'T waste your money, this is a bad joke. The shipping back is all on you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 9, 2019

These suck

By Erin B., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I tried wearing one, then tried wearing both of them. I could hear the fan above me and sounds behind me but nothing from the TV. I bought these to help me hear the TV! What a ripoff!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2019

BATTERY?!

By Jon R., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

Don't usually do reviews, but, I ordered this for the Mrs., she has hearing loss in 1 ear, Tac Amp looked good, nice price, we ordered, received in good time, and all worked as advertised, BUT, try and replace the batteries! NO information in the booklet, no information on web page, no information on BATTERY! Or Packaging! And the 800 number is only open Mon-Fri 8-8 Est time. What is the number/size of the battery?! So I can buy/replace them as needed!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

Junk

By Christine H., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I just received the Tac Amp today. However, I quickly found out that all I heard was white noise, it wouldn't adjust no matter how I tried. I was looking forward to finally turn my TV down somewhat but I guess that was wishful thinking. Please don't buy this because it is a waste of your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2019

Good amplifier

By Mike W., Verified Reviewer

There are many bad reviews about Tac Amp, I think it’s about the regular one that operates with a battery. I bought one with premium quality with a rechargeable battery and my experience has been very good. It amplifies with crystal clear sounds and no background NOISE (I cap to emphasize). In the beginning, I had difficulty turning it on and adjusting the volume. Now I know how to operate it and every day I charge it and wear it until the charge spent, about eight hours. I use it on my left ear that has 35% normal hearing. The customer service is very good, very responsive, solved problem, like returning and exchange.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2019

Total junk!

By Tom B., Memphis, TN, Verified Reviewer

My girlfriend got me two Tac Amplifiers from an ad on the TV. I read all the instructions and did what it said. Both of them wouldn't do anything except buzz in my ear. Couldn't turn it down. Could only turn it off. There is no number to call anywhere in the package for troubleshooting or returning items. She won't be getting me anything else again after getting burned on these items. I could understand one of these Tac Amps not working correctly, but both of them bad...(junk).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2019

Save your money, it doesn't work

By J G., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

We purchased 2 and neither one worked. All was installed correctly, played with volume, etc., and all you hear is background noise and static. Garbage, don't waste your money. You will be out some money because of course, you have to pay to return ship their non-working products. This is the 2nd thing we have purchased from Bell & Howell that does not work.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2019

Garbage!

By T P., Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

Do not buy, this thing is a scam, doesn’t work for crap! I ordered a second for $6, the worst six bucks I ever spent. Would not give this to my worst enemy! All you will hear is static, the sound is muffled, I can hear better with my owned ears without the unit.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2019

Company is a SCAM

By J.A. T., Huntington , Verified Reviewer

I have had the exact same experience as every single customer they have ever scammed a product to. I received mine after 3 months and 12 days, I luckily only ordered one and after I ordered it I saw online how much of a mistake I made.

Neither one would turn on.

I want you people to know that this company has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, and that is ridiculous.

If you were scammed by any product with TAC in front of it, REPORT THEM!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2019

Still waiting

By John B., Boise, ID, Verified Reviewer

Ordered two with charger and carrying bag on 03/18/19. As of today, 06/27/19, no product and no word from the company. Looked up tracking number, order number, etc. on the company website - shows shipped 03/19/19, but DSL shows no shipment under the tracking number supplied by Bell & Howell. Will call company in am, demand either immediate shipment or refund. Then to the Idaho Attorney General...?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on May 9, 2019

RIPOFF

By Gerald (Jerry) T., Winnetka, CA, Verified Reviewer

The rubber tip will not stay on the device. Therefore, the device will not stay in my ear, the device is not the same as shown in the advertisement. Unfortunately, I've waited too long to return it. I would advise all interested consumers to not waste your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2019

Amplifies background white noise

By Pamela B., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

The Tac Amplifier magnifies the background white noise louder than what you want to listen to. I turned the television volume down to see if I could hear it better with the amplifier, but instead, it amplified the background white noise and muffled the television sound. I am returning the device.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2019

Tac Amplifier

By Ramezan A., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I bought two of Tac Amplifier but unfortunately, I don't feel my hearing is better and the most important part is in the first day I tried to put the battery inside of Tac Amplifier and it fell to the ground and I couldn't find it. I looked online to find what kind of battery I have to buy it but there is no information anywhere even on Google. The battery itself doesn't have any number or name I can go and buy. Another problem, it doesn't have on and off button, so each time I want to use I have to put it in, and when I don't want to use it take it out. Finally I look on Tac Amplifier's website and could not find any email and so on, only you see "order here" or "order now"...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

Scam

By Court L., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

It never worked, doesn't look like the advertisement, took me two months to get and they gave me no number to call with a complainant. I wish I could tell everyone I know not to buy into this SCAM!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2019

Don’t waste your money, you’ll be scammed

By Glenda L., Goodyear, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this product in December of 2018. I did not hear anything from the company other than a notice saying I had purchased. In February I called them and they said that they would be shipped whenever it was shipped, I had no ship date given to me. I finally got the product in March 2019 and was very disappointed with the quality of this product. Then upon looking into my bank account, they had been charging me the amount of the shipment every month since December. There was not even an order number on the original notice that they sent me. Definitely do not recommend dealing with this company at all. ZERO STARS if that was an option.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 9, 2019

Great product

By William S., Culloden, WV, Verified Reviewer

I love the reachable Tac Amplifier. I had 60% hearing loss in my left ear. Also 20% in my right. 40 years ago when I left the army. Never been tested since. These little aids are great. Have a more expensive aide that I don't use now. Because the Tac Amp is more comfortable to use and works better. Their customer service is also great. I received one that would not turn on.

I called CS and a replacement came yesterday. Great service. Keep the spare parts. Didn't have to return it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 36

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.