Our Personal Testing and Experience


Customer Reviews

Start your review of TacLight by Bell & Howell:
  • 138 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Product
1.9 out of 5
5 star: 13% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 68%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • My Bell & Howell flashlight "on and off switch" broke.

    • By Ed M.,
    • Menifee, CA,
    • Apr 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Bell & Howell Flashlight I bought from the TV ad broke.

    The on and off button does not turn on the flashlight.

    I have nothing else to say, therefore, I cannot keep on writing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better own a lot of batteries!

    • By Bob C.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a TacLight and a $1 miniature flashlight a week later at a $1 store. The TacLight worked when I first tried it out with new batteries. Probably "ON" a total of 15 minutes. Two days later my Grandson was here and I showed him the new light. One problem - no light!

    Put in another 3 batteries and the same scenario again.

    Thank God I bought the $1 light as the TacLight is useless unless you have enough batteries to replace them every time you use it.

    I bought mine on sale after Christmas and it would also cost more to ship it back than to keep it. So I use it for a magnet that is on the end of it.

    Old in years but not absent-minded -maybe Bell & Howell should go back to making 8mm movie projectors - they worked!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lumen LOL

    • By Reuben F.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This TacLight refuses to display any lumen information on the packaging. TacLight = 60 lumens. "High performance"?! Hahahahaha.

    As an electrician, I look for these details in a flashlight. And my CELLPHONE is almost 60 lumens, LOL.

    Bottomline: This flashlight is WORTHLESS! You can find one of the CHEAPEST flashlights that Walmart has to offer for $9.62 at 200 lumens. This "TACLIGHT" flashlight is comparable to a $9.97 RAYOVAC flashlight. And even then, RAYOVAC plainly posts 60 lumens on their packaging.

    Heck, for the same price point TacLight offers for their 60 lumen light, you could get a RECHARGEABLE 750 lumen Ozark Trail brand light AND IT'S THE SAME SIZE TOO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Piece of crap

    • By Mark R.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a light, actually 2, then ordered a charger and the battery doesn't even have a positive or negative on the charger, so you don't know which way the battery goes in. Would not recommend to anyone, cannot get them the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Costs more to return than what I paid.

    • By Wallace F.,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Mine doesn't work anymore so I checked to see what it would cost to ship it back.

    Costs $18. Not worth shipping. Terribly warranty.

    Would not purchase again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bell & Howell TacLight total garbage

    • By Matt A.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased three of these lights as gifts from the U.S. Coast Guard Exchange and tried them all prior to mailing and boy am I glad I did. These lights are total garbage, the lights flash but never stay on, one came on but only got two hours of use out of it before it totally crapped out. Replaced batteries several times and the light still does not work.

    I have called the supposed customer service number without any results! A recorded message says to leave your number. I have left a message TWICE. No all back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Jerry O.,
    • Missouri,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought my first TacLight at Walgreens, after seeing the video on TV. I was ready to be disappointed. I have been carrying MAG Lights of different sizes. I was VERY happy with the light. I like the low and bright beams (low to lengthen battery life), and I like the Zoom feature on high beam, with which I can see my brown dog within a brown background, at 100 yards. If you look at supposedly "real" tac lights, you can see prices of up to $300! Most of them use expensive "specialty" batteries. This light uses three AAA batteries. On the two for the price of one, my wife and I ordered 20 of them to give away as Christmas presents. We still have two. I suggest that the reviewer in this article check the prices of law enforcement and military websites. Out of the 20 TacLights that we ordered, none have given me or my friends any problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight

    • By George W.,
    • Elkhart, IN,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    TacLight I thought was going to be great...but as soon as I got it through the mail and turn it on, the light started to jump and go off and on by itself.

    It never works like advertised. Cheaply made. They say a tank could run over it, so going through the US mail shouldn't have broken it. Thanks but no thanks TacLight. Money I just threw away. NOT HAPPY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My last Bell & Howell light I buy!

    • By Patrick M.,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is my second Bell & Howell TacLight. The first light the bulb went out. I contacted Bell & Howell and the amount of time I had to spend and BS they wanted to replace a bulb was ridiculous. Was just simpler to return to Walmart. Now the second light the bulb has come lose and can’t take it apart without risking damage to the flashlight. This will be the last Bell & Howell light that I buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disgusted

    • By Sandra M.,
    • Sanger, TX,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am 76 years old and not able to drive, so I ordered this light via TV ad with an 800 number on December 15, 2018 as a Christmas gift for my husband. I received the order today, January 3, 2019. I was told the item to be shipped by FedEx from the Reno, Nevada distribution center. The shipping label was created on 12/17 and picked up by "FedEx" on 12/21 for shipment. It was delivered today via regular USPS. I have family contracted with FedEx to do their long haul and knew immediately this was not going to be shipped via FedEx. When I opened the box, I immediately found an "Arbitration Agreement" neatly rolled up with instructions. Evidently, they must receive a lot of complaints from buyers. Plus, shows free, "lifetime" warranty for the item but you must pay $9.95 when returning the item. What a scam! Now I am receiving at least 30 spam emails per day even though I have requested, repeatedly, to unsubscribe. People, do not buy anything via TV ads!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not buy this product!

    • By Ian P.,
    • Shropshire, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not buy this product! Very bright light but does not come with rechargeable battery or charger as stated. When I contacted the sellers in the USA, they said the charger type was only for the US! But still charged full price. This torch eats batteries! AAA Duracell batteries only last 10 minutes. My torch has failed after three months. So much for military grade! Do not touch this product or any other advertised like it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 138

Write a Review for TacLight by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight by Bell & Howell