About TacLight by Bell & Howell

It’s true that you can’t have too many flashlights around, since they come in handy in so many situations. The problem is that most flashlights aren’t built to withstand regular use, often leaving you with a broken product that’s a waste of money.

Not with TacLight by Bell & Howell, though. The company claims that this tactical flashlight is similar to those used by “elite military units,” featuring a compact and lightweight design, along with key features like a knurling surface and strike ring for good grip, tail tap switch, aircraft grade aluminum casing, precision optics, and five preset modes.

The TacLight is so strong that it promises to work when frozen in ice, and even when sitting in boiling water. Not only this, but TacLight vows to be 22X brighter than regular flashlights, capable of being seen from up to two nautical miles away, and its bulb will last up to 100,000 hours!

Reading all of this, is seems like Bell & Howell’s TacLight might come in handy in a lot of instances, including camping, hunting, emergency situations, and more. But is it necessarily a unique product? Will it provide a solid level of value? Let’s start answering your questions by addressing tactical flashlights in general.

What Is a Tactical Flashlight? What Makes a Good One?

As the name implies, a tactical flashlight is generally intended to be used in tactical situations; e.g. during an emergency where your life might be in danger. Due to their compact design and bright output, tactical flashlights are designed to be used alongside firearms, allowing you to quickly sweep an area and check for combatants, and to blind/stun one if encountered.

According to Popular Mechanics though, a tactical flashlight is just as much about light and hardware quality as it is about brightness:

“Compared to conventional flashlights, tactical lights deliver more light from a more compact, lighter package. A conventional flashlight with two D batteries and a standard bulb puts out about 15 to 20 lumens. A tactical light cranks out a minimum of 60 lumens of solid beam with no holes or dark spots.” Note: In some instances, tactical flashlights can put out 1,000+ lumens.

Tactical lights get their blinding ability from a high-pressure xenon-filled bulb with a tungsten filament. Power comes from a pair of 3-volt AA lithium batteries instead of conventional 1.5-volt cells. … The 6 volts of juice burns the filament hotter and whiter than that in a conventional flashlight.”

To this extent, we’re not told how many lumens TacLight puts out, what kind of bulb it features, or what kind of batteries it uses. Other important features we’re not told about are TacLight’s beam distance, impact resistance, water resistance level, and more.

We are told that TacLight’s bulb can last up to 100,000 hours, although this is generally the standard run time for most LED bulbs, and doesn’t appear to be unique to TacLight.

Taking all of this together, we can see that a tactical flashlight involves not just a special design, but also a very specific set of features, many of which we’re not informed about for TacLight. Do we know much more about the competition?

Bell & Howell’s TacLight vs. Other Tactical Flashlights

Comparatively, if you shop for tactical flashlights online, you’ll generally find that all of these specifications are clearly listed. After all, they’re the primary criteria when shopping for tactical flashlights.

You’ll also find overall dimensions, weight, whether or not they can be attached to a weapon, product certifications (if any), primary material, and country of origin.

Now, the one area where TacLight stacks up well against the competition is price. But does this mean it’s a good value?

How Much Does TacLight Cost?

One Bell & Howell TacLight is priced at $19.99 plus free S&H. During checkout, you can order a second flashlight for an additional $10 S&H.

Regardless of how many your order, Bell & Howell offers a 30-day refund policy and lifetime guarantee on all TacLights, less S&H charges. If you ordered the BOGO offer, this means you’ll end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll get back as a refund.

Still want to request a refund? You’ll need to call customer service at 877-415-4824.

​TacLight by Bell & Howell Test

We thoroughly tested the Bell & Howell’s TacLight to see if it delivers on its claims. To find out everything we experienced, be sure to watch the video below:

For more product tests and shopping tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Is Bell & Howell’s TacLight Your Best Option?

Based on the pictures on their website, TacLight seems to look the part when it comes to tactical flashlight design. But as we outlined above, a true tactical flashlight is also defined by high quality and feature set, much of which we’re not told about TacLight.

Also, while it might look similar to flashlights used by “elite military units,” the company doesn’t provide any evidence that TacLight—specifically—is used by the military, law enforcement, or fire rescue. And other than “regular flashlights,” we’re not told exactly what TacLight is 22X brighter than.

Nick Bolton? He seems to be a fairly well-known fitness model, and doesn’t appear to have served in the military or have personally used TacLight.

Admittedly, it might seem like we’re coming down a little hard on TacLight, but our goal is to make sure you have a complete picture of any product before handing over your hard-earned money, including any potential concerns. Given this, we’re definitely not saying that TacLight isn’t a quality product or that you shouldn’t purchase one—only that, just because TacLight is priced lower than much of the competition, this doesn’t necessarily mean it’ll provide a better value.

On top of this, when you add TacLight’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges to the mix, it might make sense to weigh all your options before placing an order.

What did you think of TacLight’s performance? Would you consider it on par with tactical flashlights from other companies? Give us the details by writing your review below!

More on Buying ASOTV & Infomercial Products:


Read 135 TacLight by Bell & Howell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 8 3 star: 7 2 star: 10 1 star:  91
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 135
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a light, actually 2, then ordered a charger and the battery doesn't even have a positive or negative on the charger, so you don't know which way the battery goes in. Would not recommend to anyone, cannot get them the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Costs more to return than what I paid.

    • Florida,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mine doesn't work anymore so I checked to see what it would cost to ship it back.

    Costs $18. Not worth shipping. Terribly warranty.

    Would not purchase again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bell & Howell TacLight total garbage

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased three of these lights as gifts from the U.S. Coast Guard Exchange and tried them all prior to mailing and boy am I glad I did. These lights are total garbage, the lights flash but never stay on, one came on but only got two hours of use out of it before it totally crapped out. Replaced batteries several times and the light still does not work.

    I have called the supposed customer service number without any results! A recorded message says to leave your number. I have left a message TWICE. No all back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Missouri,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my first TacLight at Walgreens, after seeing the video on TV. I was ready to be disappointed. I have been carrying MAG Lights of different sizes. I was VERY happy with the light. I like the low and bright beams (low to lengthen battery life), and I like the Zoom feature on high beam, with which I can see my brown dog within a brown background, at 100 yards. If you look at supposedly "real" tac lights, you can see prices of up to $300! Most of them use expensive "specialty" batteries. This light uses three AAA batteries. On the two for the price of one, my wife and I ordered 20 of them to give away as Christmas presents. We still have two. I suggest that the reviewer in this article check the prices of law enforcement and military websites. Out of the 20 TacLights that we ordered, none have given me or my friends any problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    TacLight

    • Elkhart, IN,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    TacLight I thought was going to be great...but as soon as I got it through the mail and turn it on, the light started to jump and go off and on by itself.

    It never works like advertised. Cheaply made. They say a tank could run over it, so going through the US mail shouldn't have broken it. Thanks but no thanks TacLight. Money I just threw away. NOT HAPPY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My last Bell & Howell light I buy!

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is my second Bell & Howell TacLight. The first light the bulb went out. I contacted Bell & Howell and the amount of time I had to spend and BS they wanted to replace a bulb was ridiculous. Was just simpler to return to Walmart. Now the second light the bulb has come lose and can’t take it apart without risking damage to the flashlight. This will be the last Bell & Howell light that I buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Sanger, TX,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 76 years old and not able to drive, so I ordered this light via TV ad with an 800 number on December 15, 2018 as a Christmas gift for my husband. I received the order today, January 3, 2019. I was told the item to be shipped by FedEx from the Reno, Nevada distribution center. The shipping label was created on 12/17 and picked up by "FedEx" on 12/21 for shipment. It was delivered today via regular USPS. I have family contracted with FedEx to do their long haul and knew immediately this was not going to be shipped via FedEx. When I opened the box, I immediately found an "Arbitration Agreement" neatly rolled up with instructions. Evidently, they must receive a lot of complaints from buyers. Plus, shows free, "lifetime" warranty for the item but you must pay $9.95 when returning the item. What a scam! Now I am receiving at least 30 spam emails per day even though I have requested, repeatedly, to unsubscribe. People, do not buy anything via TV ads!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I would not buy this product!

    • Shropshire, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy this product! Very bright light but does not come with rechargeable battery or charger as stated. When I contacted the sellers in the USA, they said the charger type was only for the US! But still charged full price. This torch eats batteries! AAA Duracell batteries only last 10 minutes. My torch has failed after three months. So much for military grade! Do not touch this product or any other advertised like it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poorly made product

    • Calgary, Canada,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased four TacLights for Xmas gifts. Two out of four stopped working within a day; one didn’t work properly at all!

    When I turned it on, the orange button would not stay pushed in. I don’t want to have to constantly hold the button in for it to work.

    Secondly, a ridiculous return policy if purchased online. Why should one have to pay $10 in S&H to send it back and wait weeks for it to be fixed when the product was poorly made in the first place? Perhaps Bell & Howell should rethink how their products are made, along with their return policy! I will not be buying From Bell & Howell again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product, I recommend for all!

    • St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased three of these retractable Tac Lights from my local Showcase Canada store! Everyone loves them! I have even now ordered online (not Amazon!) two Lithium Rechargeable batteries (PKCELL ICR18650 2200mAh 3.75V) and charger. Even brighter with Lithium batteries. $20.00 Canadian plus tax in the store. I will keep buying this flashlight for everyone I know!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Canada,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased two (buy one, get one free). First light lense popped out. Didn’t need to do anything, but clearly shows it’s not held in right. Second light dimer, which was the same as the first. After about 5 uses, the clicker started to fail. Pieces would separate inside the clicker. Changed clicker between the two to fix the issue. Shortly later the lense pops out of the second flashlight. Garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 135

Write a Review for TacLight by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review