Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

TacLight by Bell & Howell Reviews

TacLight by Bell & Howell

Overall Rating

1.9

140 Customer Reviews

Summary

TacLight from Bell & Howell is a tactical flashlight, which was allegedly developed using military-grade and shines brighter than a typical flashlight. Watch our personal review and read what customers are saying about this product.

Write a Review

Our Personal Testing and Experience

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 140 Reviews
5 Star:13% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:7% 1 Star:68%
21% Recommend This Product
Start your review of TacLight by Bell & Howell:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Warranty

By Daniel E., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

The warranty sucks! They want a receipt for an item with a lifetime warranty. Buy a Maglite, they stand behind their product.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

All functions work only a short time then just the strobe

Posted on Sep 14, 2020

Believe nothing you see on TV

By Joe S., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I bought a second and paid the extra fee! Interestingly, they BOTH died on the same day! What was I thinking? I grew up watching these rip-offs (salad spinner, mounds and mounds of fries!). My fault for getting sucked in. I hope the CEO gave his pool boy a raise with my money.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

When it worked

When it stopped working less than a year later

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 8, 2020

My Bell & Howell flashlight "on and off switch" broke.

By Ed M., Menifee, CA, Verified Reviewer

The Bell & Howell Flashlight I bought from the TV ad broke.

The on and off button does not turn on the flashlight.

I have nothing else to say, therefore, I cannot keep on writing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2020

Better own a lot of batteries!

By Bob C., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I bought a TacLight and a $1 miniature flashlight a week later at a $1 store. The TacLight worked when I first tried it out with new batteries. Probably "ON" a total of 15 minutes. Two days later my Grandson was here and I showed him the new light. One problem - no light!

Put in another 3 batteries and the same scenario again.

Thank God I bought the $1 light as the TacLight is useless unless you have enough batteries to replace them every time you use it.

I bought mine on sale after Christmas and it would also cost more to ship it back than to keep it. So I use it for a magnet that is on the end of it.

Old in years but not absent-minded -maybe Bell & Howell should go back to making 8mm movie projectors - they worked!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Lumen LOL

By Reuben F., Texas, Verified Reviewer

This TacLight refuses to display any lumen information on the packaging. TacLight = 60 lumens. "High performance"?! Hahahahaha.

As an electrician, I look for these details in a flashlight. And my CELLPHONE is almost 60 lumens, LOL.

Bottomline: This flashlight is WORTHLESS! You can find one of the CHEAPEST flashlights that Walmart has to offer for $9.62 at 200 lumens. This "TACLIGHT" flashlight is comparable to a $9.97 RAYOVAC flashlight. And even then, RAYOVAC plainly posts 60 lumens on their packaging.

Heck, for the same price point TacLight offers for their 60 lumen light, you could get a RECHARGEABLE 750 lumen Ozark Trail brand light AND IT'S THE SAME SIZE TOO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2019

Piece of crap

By Mark R., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a light, actually 2, then ordered a charger and the battery doesn't even have a positive or negative on the charger, so you don't know which way the battery goes in. Would not recommend to anyone, cannot get them the phone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 25, 2019

Costs more to return than what I paid.

By Wallace F., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Mine doesn't work anymore so I checked to see what it would cost to ship it back.

Costs $18. Not worth shipping. Terribly warranty.

Would not purchase again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 15, 2019

Bell & Howell TacLight total garbage

By Matt A., Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased three of these lights as gifts from the U.S. Coast Guard Exchange and tried them all prior to mailing and boy am I glad I did. These lights are total garbage, the lights flash but never stay on, one came on but only got two hours of use out of it before it totally crapped out. Replaced batteries several times and the light still does not work.

I have called the supposed customer service number without any results! A recorded message says to leave your number. I have left a message TWICE. No all back!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2019

Love it!

By Jerry O., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I bought my first TacLight at Walgreens, after seeing the video on TV. I was ready to be disappointed. I have been carrying MAG Lights of different sizes. I was VERY happy with the light. I like the low and bright beams (low to lengthen battery life), and I like the Zoom feature on high beam, with which I can see my brown dog within a brown background, at 100 yards. If you look at supposedly "real" tac lights, you can see prices of up to $300! Most of them use expensive "specialty" batteries. This light uses three AAA batteries. On the two for the price of one, my wife and I ordered 20 of them to give away as Christmas presents. We still have two. I suggest that the reviewer in this article check the prices of law enforcement and military websites. Out of the 20 TacLights that we ordered, none have given me or my friends any problems.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2019

TacLight

By George W., Elkhart, IN, Verified Reviewer

TacLight I thought was going to be great...but as soon as I got it through the mail and turn it on, the light started to jump and go off and on by itself.

It never works like advertised. Cheaply made. They say a tank could run over it, so going through the US mail shouldn't have broken it. Thanks but no thanks TacLight. Money I just threw away. NOT HAPPY!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2019

My last Bell & Howell light I buy!

By Patrick M., Louisville, KY, Verified Reviewer

This is my second Bell & Howell TacLight. The first light the bulb went out. I contacted Bell & Howell and the amount of time I had to spend and BS they wanted to replace a bulb was ridiculous. Was just simpler to return to Walmart. Now the second light the bulb has come lose and can’t take it apart without risking damage to the flashlight. This will be the last Bell & Howell light that I buy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 140

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.