Start your review of TacLight by Bell & Howell:
  • 138 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Company
1.9 out of 5
5 star: 13% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 68%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Garbage

    • By Phil B.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a TacLight Elite hoping to be able to use it on the job. Very poor construction. It barely pulls apart to reveal the lantern. There are two rubber friction rings in the sliding shaft. One ring broke, and the other popped out of its place. I tried putting the one intact ring back in its place, but after trying to reveal the lantern once it popped out again. So now the lantern is useless. It has to remain closed.

    As for the light itself; it’s okay - when it works. It flickers and shuts off constantly. If I drove over it with a toy truck, it would probably shatter. Don’t waste your money. It’s not worth $20.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Defective TacLight

    • By Arturo D.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one with one free, for as long as I pay for the cost of shipping of the second unit.

    The free one that I received was defective. I wonder if it's possible to be replaced.

    I would appreciate to hear from you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of my money

    • By Tara C.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this flashlight at the BJ's in Pelham Manor, New York. I loaded batteries and tested settings. It worked on first use. However, when I went to use it again only an hour later, it would only light on strobe setting, and I had to hold down button to keep it on. It is poorly made. If the price is too good, it's because the product is junk. Do not waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Broken light

    • By Fran L.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered two TacLights, only one works, and I received no paid receipt within the package with contact information. No way of getting a refund, or a replacement product. What a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't hold up like advertised

    • By Lori B.,
    • Texas,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the TacLight for Christmas, and I love the brightness. But I accidentally dropped it in water, and now it won't work. The advertisement says it can be frozen, driven over, submerged in water and it'll still work. No, it won't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rude customer service

    • By Michael H.,
    • Cape Coral, FL,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my TacLights at the end of February, it is now the end of May and both lights are broken. The switch on both lights does not work unless you hold it in. I called customer service to get a replacement and was very surprised how rude that Keisha was. She made it seem like she was doing me a favor by sending me a replacement. I explained to her that I would be more than happy to send back the broken lights to prove that they didn't work. Again she got very rude and acted like I was trying to get something for nothing. I asked her if the lights had a lifetime warranty and she said yes. That's when I asked to speak to her supervisor. At this point, I was told that I would get new lights. We'll see if they show up.

    I have come to find that the people I spoke with are not Bell & Howell employees; they are a shipping company. Maybe a company with a reputation like Bell & Howell should do a little research on the companies they allow to represent them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good equipment, bad description in ad

    • By Connie S.,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the ad, it shows two small lighters with a bonus of the flashlight. What we got was two large lighters and the flashlight. The lighter we wanted was the small one to put in pocket while on our motorcycle. Husband phoned the company and told them that we had gotten two large lighters, which are 7 inches long, and we wanted short. She informed us that we were only to get one large and one small. When we went to ship it back, it was going to cost $20 (CAN) to the states, but it was shipped from Canada. She said that she would ship us the smaller lighter and to keep what we had received. Soon thereafter we got the package, but it contained the LARGE lighter yet again. We now have three large lighters that will not fit in a pocket.

    The lighter on its own is wonderful and the flashlight will be wonderful in our travels as it has small to large beam with a strobe and SOS setting.

    So my issue is only with the description and the look.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight elite

    • By Jody Graham,
    • Penticton, British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the TacLight elite after I saw the commercial and decided to try it. What a disappointment this light has been. First off, the light uses three batteries every week, uses a ton of power to use. The second when I put it in lantern mode and attach it to something metal, it either goes back to the flashlight mode or just flickers the whole time. I would not recommend this light to anyone and seeing as it cost me $33 Canadian by the time it was shipped to me. This is also the second one I got as the first one did the same things and they replaced it. What a bummer this light is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ok light

    • By Ed Morgan,
    • Kingsport, TN,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Works as they say, no problems so far. Bright and clear beam. I haven't tried it much outside so not sure about waterproof any weather effects. We will update after the next camping trip. That will be a good test for battery life and weatherproofing. Looks well-made and sturdy, so I like it, so far so good. I can't say much else until I have had it longer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not made by Bell & Howell

    These are simple, cheap Chinese flashlights that they put their name on. You can get a five-pack of these lights for under $20 under another brand name at Amazon. There also is a five-pack version that runs just as bright on a single AA battery too. Ordering from Bell & Howell, you might not ever get the light (they'll tell you it's out of stock, but keep your money), and they don't ever honor their warranty. You are better off getting it under another brand name that is a lot cheaper on Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk TacLight!

    • By Leonard Cort,
    • Greencastle, IN,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These lights are JUNK. Someone needs to start a class action suit to get everyone's money back! Bell & Howell can afford it! The button is very lousy; I have had to fix it several times. Very frustrating to pay that much MONEY for junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 138

Write a Review for TacLight by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight by Bell & Howell