About TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

The TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell promises to deliver twice as much brightness as an ordinary lantern; so bright, fact, that it can be seen up to two nautical miles away.

On top of this, we’re told that the TacLight Lantern is “military tough” and built to withstand the elements, including heat resistance, water submersion, and freezing temperatures. In the commercial, it even survived gunfire!

From a size perspective, the Lantern’s housing slides, which allows it to collapse down smaller than a smartphone (this sliding action also allows you to adjust the brightness), while bringing total weight in at less than a pound. We’re told its genuine Bell + Howell COB LEDs are smaller, brighter, and more energy efficient than regular LEDs, making it ideal for power outages, camping and hunting, working on the car, and more.

TacLight Lantern totally sounds like something that could come in handy in all kinds of situations, right? But before you buy, you want to learn as much as you can. The good news is that if you need information, you’ve come to the right place!

Are There Any Must-Have Features for Tactical Lanterns?

We’ve investigated several popular ASOTV tactical flashlights recently, including TacLight (the originator), Atomic Beam USA, and Shadowhawk X800 Tactical Flashlight. All of these flashlights share many of the same features, such as sturdy aluminum housings, multiple modes, and adjustable beams.

But what designates these flashlights as “tactical”? Since they’re typically used alongside a firearm to quickly sweep an area and/or stun an attacker, all the features we just discussed might be logical guesses.

But what we’ve learned during our research is that it’s all about the lumens (how light power is measured). At a minimum, to be classified as tactical, a flashlight needs to put out 60 lumens, with no holes or dark spots. Some, however, put out 800 lumens or more.

What’s the point? There are two:

  1. Currently, it seems that there isn’t a formal “tactical lantern” product category, so we’re unsure if what we’re seeing here is just marketing hype, or the manufacturing breaking new ground. Either way, there are no standard features for a lantern to be classified as tactical.
  2. Even if we were to use the same specifications found on a tactical flashlight, we’re not told how many lumens Bell & Howell’s COB LEDs put out. In fact, we’re also not told about TacLight Lantern’s exterior construction, or if it has multiple modes. We know the brightness can be adjusted, but there’s no mention about the beam.

Given all this, we remain unsure what exactly TacLight Lantern’s tactical designation is referencing.

Are There Any Other Lights Like TacLight Lantern?

We already mentioned that TacLight Lantern seems to be in a category of its own, but if you’re looking for a tough, rugged, take-anywhere flashlight, you certainly have options.

To see what we mean, type the phrase “magnetic lantern,” “collapsible lantern,” or “survival lantern” into you favorite search engine and you’ll find plenty of other lanterns that might deliver the same ruggedness as TacLight Lantern. Obviously, none of these will be designed identically or deliver all the same features in one package, but the point is you have options.

What about from a price perspective?

How Much Does TacLight Lantern Cost?

One TacLight Lantern is priced at $19.99 plus free shipping. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

All TacLight Lantern orders are automatically upgraded to the deluxe option at no charge, which features a magnetic base for hands-free use.

TacLight Lantern comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, as well as a lifetime guarantee. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-721-3332.

Comparatively, you’ll find other lanterns in (more or less) the same category that fall anywhere between $8 and $60 or more.

Where Are All the TacLight Lantern Customer Reviews?

The HighYa team aims to bring you these reports as soon as products are released, which generally leaves very little time for any customer feedback to accumulate. As such, there weren’t any consumer reviews for TacLight Lantern at the time of our research.

The good news is that we’ve written about several other Bell & Howell products over the years, including microBrite, Solar Charger, and Ultra Bulb. Overall, these seem to have an average rating of about 2 stars, with common complaints claiming that they didn’t work well (or at least as advertised), while more than one also referenced business practices (overcharging orders, difficulty getting in touch with the company, etc.).

Obviously, TacLight Lantern is a completely new product and the company could have revamped their approach to customer service since many of these reviews were written, so this certainly doesn’t mean you’re sure to experience the same. Given the commonality of the complaints, though, it might be worth keeping in mind.

Is TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Right for You?

There are dozens of different personal factors that go into choosing a new lantern, such as:

  • Are you looking for something small and compact, or bulky and rugged?
  • Is weight a factor?
  • Do you need a specific run time? What kind of battery are you interested in?
  • Is there a certain light output you’re looking to achieve? Do you prefer illumination or soft, warm light?

… and many more—none of which can be answered by anyone other than you.

However, although we didn’t test TacLight Lantern firsthand, based on the commercial, it appears to be unlike anything else out there. So, if you’re a flashlight/lantern aficionado, then this factor alone might make it purchase-worthy.

With this said, we’re still not sure exactly how TacLight Lantern is “tactical,” other than the fact that it’s springboarding off the immense success of the original TacLight. If you feel like giving it a shot (no pun intended) though, you’ll get free shipping and a 30-day refund policy if you’re not satisfied.

Now Watch: TacLight by Bell & Howell Review

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

72 Consumer Reviews for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 72
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Plastic lantern

    I got five of these. They are made of cheap plastic, so be afraid to drop it since it would surely break. I have a different one that looks just like this Bell & Howell and paid $10.00 for it at an RV store. It works just as good. They call this lantern tactical, but I am an 11.5-year veteran and I would not trust this thing in the bush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Lantern DOESN'T shut off at all

    • St. Paul, Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the TacLight and Lantern set as a gift. I don't mind having the TacLight as another light to have around the house. When I installed the batteries into the Lantern, I was looking for a switch to turn off the Lantern. There wasn't one, so I pushed the Lantern head down. That supposedly "turned off" the light but I decided to check in a dark room and low and behold, THE LIGHT WAS STILL ON! What a piece of whatever if you have to unscrew the bottom to take the batteries out to actually turn off the light. I wouldn't waste your time to buy this product, or you will be wasting your money buying lots of batteries to keep it running.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Cheaters, cheaters, cheaters!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this TV advertisement, but after beginning to purchase, I thought to look at reviews! I DID NOT "submit" the order, spaced back until I got to the customer information, deleted all my personal information and closed out of the site! NOT even 5-10 minutes later, I received an invoice of purchase! One of the reviews said this exact thing happens and they were right! Where they get you is "IF YOU CLICK "PROCESS ORDER" but change your mind, clicking "SUBMIT" doesn't matter at all, you are stuck!

    I haven't received it and will try and cancel on Monday. I don't think this is right to not give a customer options to cancel an order or change your mind. If they do this, I can see how the item may not be as advertised! I want my card credited back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 3, 2018

      Todd McMickell

      Clicking on “process order” will always seal the deal. It's the same as "submit" an order.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not as rugged as advertised

    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a Bell and Howell tactical lantern as a gift. I used it at my cabin quite often, and it does give off a decent amount of light. It's lightweight and compact. My problem with it is it's not as rugged as advertised. I dropped it by accident, a distance of six feet on a concrete floor, but with a rug. The slide action got tweaked and would not close all the way. Hence, the batteries would run dead because it wouldn't completely shut off. I felt a little ripped off since the commercial says it's so rugged. NOT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    TV commercial sucks you in to a vortex of hyping more products

    • Auburn, WA,
    • Dec 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I responded to the TV commercial for the B&H TacLight. One is provided with an 800 number that, when used, leads to the robo-operator getting the caller's credit card info before getting what you called for. That should have been my first clue.

    After that, I was treated (or more accurately MIStreated) to several minutes of hype on different amounts of the product all the way to vacation offers. Never did I get a chance to interrupt or even confirm the order along the way. After several minutes of this garbage, I wanted to cancel what I'd already said "yes" to, but I didn't have a way to do that.

    I've searched online for a customer service number to call, and guess what? I haven't found one. I sure wished I'd done more research on this one, but it's turned me off of falling for TV commercials for life! I was never given an order number, and I'm hoping they weren't lying about sending something to my email address. So far, that hasn't happened either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 10, 2018

      sandy lynn

      For those of you who are looking for a customer service number. I got it tonight.

      Call: 1-855-721-3332. I am in Canada and I don't know if it works in America. I wanted to order this product, as I do have all other products and I am very happy with them. I'm hesitating with the lantern now though. In Canada, it will cost me 19.99 USD, and the second one for $6.95 is not offered up here, only in the US. I want two but I'm paying $19.99 for each.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Never received my product.

    I never received my products. It said they were shipped and delivered, and nothing. I am home all day and no delivery was made. I wish I would have read the reviews before ordering. No way to contact the company. I just want my money refunded but, there is no place to contact the company directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Bad quality product

    The lighting on this product is really terrible; it is no brighter than a candle. Save your money, the product is not worth wasting your money on. I bought 5 and am sorry I threw my money away like that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Damaged lantern - no return instructions

    The two lanterns arrived today; one was intact, the second one was broken. No return instructions or packing slip was included with the lanterns.

    What am I supposed to do with the broken lantern? Where is the contact information, where do I send the broken one? Will they send a replacement?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 30 people found this review helpful

    TacLight Lantern

    Everyone has their opinion about the TacLight Lantern and no matter what negativity is out there, what satisfies you is what counts. I purchased the lantern a few months ago, and I really like it because it is a handy device to have around the house. It helps me cut down on my electric bill because I use the lantern at night in my bedroom and other areas around the house versus using my house light. My bill was averaging $140.00 per month, and now since I have the TacLight, my bill has decreased to $87.00 per month. A couple of weeks ago we had storms roll through Dallas and lost power, and the TacLight provided us with the light we needed until the power was restored.

    The only suggestion I would have for the TacLight is to install a permanent rechargeable battery like cell phones where you can plug it in for recharging. This would be a great improvement and could bring in more willing customers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 11, 2017

      In Win

      If the "permanent rechargeable battery" dies before the product itself, you are still left in the dark. I still prefer store bought batteries. They are easier to replace than a fixed rechargeable. Most people don't realize that a portable car battery can be an alternative main power source. Use an inverter to power or recharge those items like a battery charger that normally would plug into an AC outlet.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Beware of TacLight ordering tactics

    I was considering ordering a TacLight Lantern as seen on TV and when I googled, I found their website and was putting the information in when I decided to go check out some reviews. I saw negative ones and that the same light at other stores is less expensive so I decided not to order online, back paged and wiped out my name, address, credit card info and exited out of the site.

    Two days later I was checking my bank account and there were two charges deducted for $31.33 from them. I called the number on my bank's site, and the lady tried telling me they were shipped yesterday and that I would have had to call her to cancel. I told her I NEVER COMPLETED the order process, NEVER clicked the "submit" button so WHY did they place the order anyway? She kept telling me when they arrive, return them and I would be credited.

    I see it says 2-4 weeks for delivery, are they coming by a slow boat from China? I told her I would report them for committing fraud that the process was NOT completed and they should NOT have kept my banking info when I deleted it and NEVER hit the submit or place order button. So beware; this company is unscrupulous if not engages in criminal behavior!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2018

      Nancy Tokarz

      The exact same thing happened to me today. I had all my information entered in and then I decided that I should check customer reviews first. I read the reviews here and changed my mind about ordering. I erased all my information and exited the website. I never clicked "process order." An hour later I got a fraud alert from American Express that someone entered my credit card info manually from another computer out of state. Thankfully the charge was declined. This company needs to be charged with fraud!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Misleading advertising

    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my order of two lanterns. I paid $5.95 for two extra sets of batteries. The advertisement does not state that batteries are not included. You are lead to believe that the lanterns come with batteries, and you are buying extra sets of batteries. Wrong! No batteries come with the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 72

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review