• 74 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 79%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not as STRONG as they said

    • By Gerald C.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Mar 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had my lantern hanging, when I was removing it I dropped it onto the concrete floor, the light stayed on shining bright. The problem was when I went to close the lantern it would not seal enough to shut lite off, eventually the batters ran out. I ended out throwing it away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great during power outage

    • By John E.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We are currently experiencing our second power outage in a month. I have four TacLight Lanterns and they are a godsend. Well worth the purchase price. These would be a smart purchase for anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Plastic lantern

    Overall Experience:

    I got five of these. They are made of cheap plastic, so be afraid to drop it since it would surely break. I have a different one that looks just like this Bell & Howell and paid $10.00 for it at an RV store. It works just as good. They call this lantern tactical, but I am an 11.5-year veteran and I would not trust this thing in the bush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lantern DOESN'T shut off at all

    • By Leo Patrick,
    • St. Paul, Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got the TacLight and Lantern set as a gift. I don't mind having the TacLight as another light to have around the house. When I installed the batteries into the Lantern, I was looking for a switch to turn off the Lantern. There wasn't one, so I pushed the Lantern head down. That supposedly "turned off" the light but I decided to check in a dark room and low and behold, THE LIGHT WAS STILL ON! What a piece of whatever if you have to unscrew the bottom to take the batteries out to actually turn off the light. I wouldn't waste your time to buy this product, or you will be wasting your money buying lots of batteries to keep it running.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheaters, cheaters, cheaters!

    • By M Foster,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw this TV advertisement, but after beginning to purchase, I thought to look at reviews! I DID NOT "submit" the order, spaced back until I got to the customer information, deleted all my personal information and closed out of the site! NOT even 5-10 minutes later, I received an invoice of purchase! One of the reviews said this exact thing happens and they were right! Where they get you is "IF YOU CLICK "PROCESS ORDER" but change your mind, clicking "SUBMIT" doesn't matter at all, you are stuck!

    I haven't received it and will try and cancel on Monday. I don't think this is right to not give a customer options to cancel an order or change your mind. If they do this, I can see how the item may not be as advertised! I want my card credited back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as rugged as advertised

    • By Mike Maloney,
    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a Bell and Howell tactical lantern as a gift. I used it at my cabin quite often, and it does give off a decent amount of light. It's lightweight and compact. My problem with it is it's not as rugged as advertised. I dropped it by accident, a distance of six feet on a concrete floor, but with a rug. The slide action got tweaked and would not close all the way. Hence, the batteries would run dead because it wouldn't completely shut off. I felt a little ripped off since the commercial says it's so rugged. NOT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TV commercial sucks you in to a vortex of hyping more products

    • By Denney Narog,
    • Auburn, WA,
    • Dec 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I responded to the TV commercial for the B&H TacLight. One is provided with an 800 number that, when used, leads to the robo-operator getting the caller's credit card info before getting what you called for. That should have been my first clue.

    After that, I was treated (or more accurately MIStreated) to several minutes of hype on different amounts of the product all the way to vacation offers. Never did I get a chance to interrupt or even confirm the order along the way. After several minutes of this garbage, I wanted to cancel what I'd already said "yes" to, but I didn't have a way to do that.

    I've searched online for a customer service number to call, and guess what? I haven't found one. I sure wished I'd done more research on this one, but it's turned me off of falling for TV commercials for life! I was never given an order number, and I'm hoping they weren't lying about sending something to my email address. So far, that hasn't happened either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received my product.

    Overall Experience:

    I never received my products. It said they were shipped and delivered, and nothing. I am home all day and no delivery was made. I wish I would have read the reviews before ordering. No way to contact the company. I just want my money refunded but, there is no place to contact the company directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad quality product

    Overall Experience:

    The lighting on this product is really terrible; it is no brighter than a candle. Save your money, the product is not worth wasting your money on. I bought 5 and am sorry I threw my money away like that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Damaged lantern - no return instructions

    Overall Experience:

    The two lanterns arrived today; one was intact, the second one was broken. No return instructions or packing slip was included with the lanterns.

    What am I supposed to do with the broken lantern? Where is the contact information, where do I send the broken one? Will they send a replacement?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    Overall Experience:

    Everyone has their opinion about the TacLight Lantern and no matter what negativity is out there, what satisfies you is what counts. I purchased the lantern a few months ago, and I really like it because it is a handy device to have around the house. It helps me cut down on my electric bill because I use the lantern at night in my bedroom and other areas around the house versus using my house light. My bill was averaging $140.00 per month, and now since I have the TacLight, my bill has decreased to $87.00 per month. A couple of weeks ago we had storms roll through Dallas and lost power, and the TacLight provided us with the light we needed until the power was restored.

    The only suggestion I would have for the TacLight is to install a permanent rechargeable battery like cell phones where you can plug it in for recharging. This would be a great improvement and could bring in more willing customers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Beware of TacLight ordering tactics

    Overall Experience:

    I was considering ordering a TacLight Lantern as seen on TV and when I googled, I found their website and was putting the information in when I decided to go check out some reviews. I saw negative ones and that the same light at other stores is less expensive so I decided not to order online, back paged and wiped out my name, address, credit card info and exited out of the site.

    Two days later I was checking my bank account and there were two charges deducted for $31.33 from them. I called the number on my bank's site, and the lady tried telling me they were shipped yesterday and that I would have had to call her to cancel. I told her I NEVER COMPLETED the order process, NEVER clicked the "submit" button so WHY did they place the order anyway? She kept telling me when they arrive, return them and I would be credited.

    I see it says 2-4 weeks for delivery, are they coming by a slow boat from China? I told her I would report them for committing fraud that the process was NOT completed and they should NOT have kept my banking info when I deleted it and NEVER hit the submit or place order button. So beware; this company is unscrupulous if not engages in criminal behavior!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading advertising

    • By Jay Futterman,
    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just received my order of two lanterns. I paid $5.95 for two extra sets of batteries. The advertisement does not state that batteries are not included. You are lead to believe that the lanterns come with batteries, and you are buying extra sets of batteries. Wrong! No batteries come with the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not attempt to order. They will steal your money.

    • By Marc E Webb,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I didn't even press the submit order button and over two days they pre-authorize my account twice and still sent the order. I decided not to order it because of all the questions they were asking and deals they were offering.

    I called customer service, and the first lady hung up on me so I called the second time and that lady was rude, and I finally got to talk to a supervisor, and she was totally rude. They said it was a live order, so they shipped it anyway. They won't refund any money until you ship back the product, which I can understand, but why charge someone for something they didn't even order?

    I wish I read the reviews first. This is a total scam and customer service is horrible. They are trained to steal your money. I said I was going to shut down my accounts so they can't get the money and the supervisor said "Thank you" and then hung up. I needed the $56 they free authorized my account for, and they didn't give a crap. I even explained I had a family death yesterday and that I couldn't handle any more stress, and they still didn't give a crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Far from durable

    • By Shawn Smith,
    • Madison, WI,
    • May 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought it from Menard's Madison West. The first day they were bright, but seemed cheap. It fell six feet with a magnet on the door. The bottom cover broke, and the lights don't work. This product is not military grade or tactical at all. This is junk. I am out $19.95 plus tax. I would give it zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used for only ten minutes

    Overall Experience:

    I was so tickled to get this last Christmas, but it lasted ten minutes. I got several more as gifts and hope they don't have the trouble. A piece of junk. Now we are under a storm watch (tornado), and I always felt like I could grab this when the power goes out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercial is misleading.

    • By Michael,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They show a rugged, supposedly metal construction lantern. What it is, is plastic. And cheap plastic. After only a couple of uses, the top sliding part is so loose it slides open if laying on its side or carried by the handled, and when placed it will slide shut without enough tension to keep the upper part open for light, much less adjustable.

    I can't help but roll my eyes seeing them pulling one out of a fire or being smashed by a falling crate on the infomercial now. You can find four for $20 on Amazon by Gold Armour that look identical, but that put out 300 lumens and actually feel sturdier. (I am not affiliated with either company, just tossing out a better deal I found if people want this style lantern).

    Beware of the TV version; it's junk. The one I got wasn't even the "free upgraded magnetic deluxe version" either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst buying experience

    • By Tom Sclafani,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst buying experience I've ever had. I did the upgrade for $6.95 for the 2nd lantern, however, it never came. I've had to call every week for three months.

    I would never recommend this product or how they perform their business practices. Also, if you want this product, you can get it at Bed Bath & Beyond. Nothing but a nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor quality

    • By Joe,
    • North Andover, MA,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has less light than a small candle, and the springs don't hold batteries tight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I happened to see one of these at a Walgreens for $14.95, and I kind of bought it on impulse.

    Do I believe it could withstand the punishment depicted in the infomercial? Absolutely not. It is constructed of the typical cheap plastic found in a product of this price range. On the upside, it seems very bright, and the light pattern is distributed pretty well, with just some small vertical gaps between the LED panels. Also, it does collapse to a fairly small size when not in use.

    All that said and done, I believe it is worth the 15 bucks I paid for it. Anyway, I have 30 days to play around with it and can return it to Walgreens for a full refund if I choose.

    By the way, you can find a lot of the "as seen on TV" products at Walgreens and I myself would only purchase one this way. Just in case anyone is wondering, I am not affiliated with Walgreens in any way, I just happen to purchase some of my prescriptions there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By PM,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is by far the worst encounter and experience I've had. Should any other person tell you otherwise, they are liars.

    The product claims to withstand being in water, extreme heat and even being frozen (BS!), but the product could do none of the things the advertisement claimed it could.

    Below were the tests I performed.

    1. Water: I submerged it in water, and it leaked into the "glass" and would likely rust out any metal components (had to trash it after the last test).

    2. Freeze: Oh it froze, and it took time for it to thaw before rendering any use. It's plastic and made from China.

    3. Heat resistant: Nope, it melted (trashed).

    Save your money and dignity. You're the only hope we have left to save mankind because these people will rip you off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't bother, definitely a scam.

    • By Joy Campbell,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    There are a lot of red flags. They first and foremost get your credit card info. THEN they keep asking you to add this and that for more money. For example, upgrade the strength of the flashlight, but you're buying it because it is already strong (or so you thought).

    On TV it says you get two for $19.99 and with free shipping. When you are ordering, you find out you're paying $31.99 for two flashlights.

    I will go to my credit union Monday morning and stop payment on this thing and be more careful next time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    • By Allan,
    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of these lights on November 21, 2016, and have yet to receive them. After four phone calls to them over the past three months, all I get is how they are out of stock and don't know when they can complete my order. You also have to deal with the reps and their "don't care" attitudes. The struggle is real, so BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Bill,
    • Missouri,
    • Feb 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this back in October as a Christmas gift for my dad.

    I moved the 1st of November and called with the new address, but they finally shipped it one January 31st, but it's going to the wrong address. I called TacLight Lantern, and a gentleman said he changed address. Well, he didnt, so I called this morning (February 7th) and told the lady that shipping is going to the wrong address. It's now here, in St Louis, and I was told that it is getting shipped back to TacLight Lantern and I have to do the process all over again.

    They have terrible service and always give the runaround, and they tell you what you want to hear to get you off the phone. I wouldn't recommend ordering from this company, again, they have TERRIBLE service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what I purchased.

    Overall Experience:

    Two days after putting nice Duracell batteries in, the lantern I used first quite nicely fried one of the LED bars at the top, causing noxious fumes. We're talking regular Duracell AA batteries.

    So, I have a couple of Chinese lanterns that you can put in the sun or charge with a hand crank generator and lithium batteries for half the price, and I have had them for years. I've been waiting for these lanterns since November. I was supposed to get one up-armored deluxe model and one basic one. Also, I would like to ask who sends a paper contract after the time of sale stipulating that all legal action be done through arbitration? We're talking about $20 products?

    I have a good cause for a lawsuit, but it's not worth the piece of crap I ordered. I'm a military veteran, and this is the kind of crap that gets people killed with the advertising they put on TV. The first one in two days loses a light bar and melts one of its top light bars while it's sitting on my bed! That's not exactly a deuce-and-a-half now is it? I will be calling about the refund when I can wake up during the day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading ad

    • By Cathy,
    • Olympia, WA,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The ad said you get two for $19.99. When I went to order and filled out my information, it said I was only getting one, so I never hit "place order." Well, somehow the order went through and I got an email that said a package was being mailed.

    I called their customer service to complain, saying that I never hit "place order," and she said if I didn't want it, I can just not accept the package as "return to sender." When I asked about the "buy one, get another one" offer, she explained that you have to look at the little print on the bottom, and it explains you have to order another one and they only charge you shipping of $6.95 for the second one.

    It was misrepresented because it is not "buy one, get another one" and the advertisement makes it sound like it. I am sick of these advertisers that pull this crap. I will probably have to wait six months to get my money back! And you better bet I am going to pay extra to track that package going back because if I don't, they will say that they never got it back.

    Do NOT order this light, or if you do make sure to read the little writing below your order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait-and-switch

    • By Robyn Mitchell,
    • Estill Springs, TN,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered ten TacLight Lanterns with the magnetic base. They took weeks to get here, and when they arrived, none of the ten I ordered had a magnetic base.

    I called their customer service they said, "We have a No Exchange Policy," even though it was their fault. They were willing to take them back BUT at my expense. I will never do business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell