• 74 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 79%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I guess I got lucky!

    • By Nat,
    • Colonial Heights, VA,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered four of these on December 10th as Christmas gifts, sent to two different locations. I received a confirmation of the order, tracking info and email updates on the locations as it traveled. I received confirmation that all were delivered on December 29th, including mine. I came home, installed batteries and worked great. Very bright and compact. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect little lantern.

    • By Geoff,
    • Sudbury, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of these lanterns for Christmas gifts. Unfortunately, they did not arrive until after the holiday, but I can understand that.

    I must say that the light from these lanterns is brilliant, much brighter than I had expected, and I wish I had ordered a couple more because it certainly appears to be money well-spent.

    I would recommend the purchase of these lanterns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great during power outage

    • By John E.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We are currently experiencing our second power outage in a month. I have four TacLight Lanterns and they are a godsend. Well worth the purchase price. These would be a smart purchase for anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    • By Lynn Mango,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered six of these TacLight Lanterns. Communicating with the company could be improved. I was able to track the order, and at first, the lanterns were out of stock, but my credit card was not charged until the order was shipped.

    I received the order in good, shaped-well packaging. The lanterns were everything the ad claimed, and I am very pleased with them. The delay caused these Christmas gifts to arrive one day after Christmas, a disappointment.

    I would recommend the lights to friends, and I am considering on getting an additional order. I was skeptical with all the negative reviews and was glad that I proceeded anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    Overall Experience:

    Everyone has their opinion about the TacLight Lantern and no matter what negativity is out there, what satisfies you is what counts. I purchased the lantern a few months ago, and I really like it because it is a handy device to have around the house. It helps me cut down on my electric bill because I use the lantern at night in my bedroom and other areas around the house versus using my house light. My bill was averaging $140.00 per month, and now since I have the TacLight, my bill has decreased to $87.00 per month. A couple of weeks ago we had storms roll through Dallas and lost power, and the TacLight provided us with the light we needed until the power was restored.

    The only suggestion I would have for the TacLight is to install a permanent rechargeable battery like cell phones where you can plug it in for recharging. This would be a great improvement and could bring in more willing customers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Order received

    • By Keith Watters,
    • Levittown, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed the order and didn't know whether the order went through, so I checked my checking account and nothing appeared. I thought it didn't go through, but four weeks later it showed up on my statement, and one week later my six lanterns showed up, just in time for Christmas. I seems like I was one of the lucky ones to receive the product.

    I wanted to place another order, but now I'm afraid to do it after seeing these other reviews. I myself am satisfied, they did make good gifts for Christmas, everyone loved them, and I particularly like the one I kept. It really is very bright. I keep it on my coffee table so I don't have to get up to turn the lights off and on, LOL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They're ok

    • By Sue,
    • Canada,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a couple at the beginning of December. Yes, they came after Christmas, but I kind of expected it due to the season, so it's not really their fault. When I went on site using the address in the confirmation email, it showed they were out of stock.

    I can't really blame them for the Christmas rush, I'll just start online earlier next year. They arrived this week (first week of 2017), and I'm keeping both myself.

    I got two lanterns for $39.00 total (Canadian). Was it worth it? I think so. I like the way you just pop it open. The light itself I find pretty bright, and we tried it inside and out. I like the way it lights up without having to point a beam like with a flashlight, and it adjusts with the up and down.

    Whether it can be seen two km away, I don't think so, but I'm going to try it when we get to our summer property. It looks to be tough, because I dropped it two times and it worked fine afterward. I haven't heated it or thrown it in water, but it looks pretty sealed where batteries and bulbs are (three AA's). It's the size of a mug, and it'll be perfect for my car and one for the house.

    It is definitely better than the regular flashlights with the straight beams. This one you can set in the middle of the table and it'll light up the room ok. I spent $25.99 plus taxes on a regular heavy duty flashlight, so yes because of the way it's made and works, I think it's worth it for two. Mine didn't come with the metallic bottom though, and I didn't see that on the Canadian version of the order site.

    Plus it's a bit of a novelty the way it turns on and up.

    It's -12C degrees tonight, and I may leave it on the deck just to see if it'll work in the morning. Curiosity sake only. I don't plan to use them for heavy duty stuff, but as spares, in case the electricity goes out or at night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I happened to see one of these at a Walgreens for $14.95, and I kind of bought it on impulse.

    Do I believe it could withstand the punishment depicted in the infomercial? Absolutely not. It is constructed of the typical cheap plastic found in a product of this price range. On the upside, it seems very bright, and the light pattern is distributed pretty well, with just some small vertical gaps between the LED panels. Also, it does collapse to a fairly small size when not in use.

    All that said and done, I believe it is worth the 15 bucks I paid for it. Anyway, I have 30 days to play around with it and can return it to Walgreens for a full refund if I choose.

    By the way, you can find a lot of the "as seen on TV" products at Walgreens and I myself would only purchase one this way. Just in case anyone is wondering, I am not affiliated with Walgreens in any way, I just happen to purchase some of my prescriptions there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They share your email with other companies

    Overall Experience:

    I decided not to buy this offer for two reasons, neither related to the product itself.

    1) Their privacy policy says they'll share your email address and billing information with other companies.

    2) They don't show that credit card information is secured online, nor do they accept PayPal to assure security.

    I don't want to supply all my personal information and credit card info on the Internet. I'll buy a similar product from a supplier who charges more but accepts PayPal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed with shipping time and unable to contact company.

    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order for six Deluxe TacLight Lanterns on 11/25/2016, and they arrived on 12/29/2016 at the cost of $83.04, including taxes. One of the lanterns is broken, it will not shut off. I have called mornings, noon, and evenings with no luck. The phone goes into a busy signal each time. No way to run a company when your customers can't even call you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never got the item

    • By Robert,
    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jan 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order in November of 2016, and as of today, January 1, 2017, I still have not received my order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Real bright

    • By Darrell,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This lantern is nice and bright, but the batteries don't last that long. I'm glad I have rechargeable batteries.

    I waited two months for this lantern, and it's not really worth the wait.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    • By Todd Kirk,
    • Hinsdale, Illinois,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of the upgraded lanterns on November 25th, 2016, for a total cost of $48. I received them on January 27th, 2017. The lanterns are very bright, and the magnetic base is a nice feature. I am pleased with the purchase but would not order from their website again. These lanterns can be purchased from Amazon and on eBay with much more reliable delivery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not as rugged as advertised

    • By Mike Maloney,
    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a Bell and Howell tactical lantern as a gift. I used it at my cabin quite often, and it does give off a decent amount of light. It's lightweight and compact. My problem with it is it's not as rugged as advertised. I dropped it by accident, a distance of six feet on a concrete floor, but with a rug. The slide action got tweaked and would not close all the way. Hence, the batteries would run dead because it wouldn't completely shut off. I felt a little ripped off since the commercial says it's so rugged. NOT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as STRONG as they said

    • By Gerald C.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Mar 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had my lantern hanging, when I was removing it I dropped it onto the concrete floor, the light stayed on shining bright. The problem was when I went to close the lantern it would not seal enough to shut lite off, eventually the batters ran out. I ended out throwing it away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Must be a scam

    • By Bill Scott,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered one of these things 3 weeks ago and haven't heard a word since. The website is gone and there is no way on the order confirmation to contact them. I have not seen their commercial on TV lately either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Pat,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This review is in regard to the ordering process itself and not the lantern, which may or may not be a stellar product. I wouldn't know because they never sent me anything.

    So I ordered this lantern from the "Canadian" website back in September. Radio silence until mid-November until they sent a postcard (From a US PO Box address no less) saying they're going to be shipping the lantern on the 23rd of November. You can return the card to cancel but you have to provide a signature. Like I trust this company with my signature.

    And funny how a deluge of spam e-mail, junk snail mail and an unauthorized transaction on my credit card showed up not soon after the order was placed. My credit card has since been canceled and replaced so good luck to this company trying to get a payment from me.

    If they STILL send me the lantern, I'll be returning at their cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordering Process

    • By Jean Peters,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an online order on November 1 and haven't received anything yet. Their website is www.taclightlantern.com and under customer service, you can find an area to follow up on your order.

    You need an order number or the last four of the credit card used. My order number came up with "temporarily out of stock". No other information so not sure how long for that status. There is also a number I found you can call at 1-855-721-3332. It, however, keeps coming back with circuits busy.

    Not sure if this is a scam or they have oversold and can't get more product. At this time, I will have to rate this product very poorly, only because I can't get it in my hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting

    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order 4 weeks ago and was told expect a 2 to 4 week delivery time. I just got off the phone with the so called customer service and was informed it was on back-order and would be another 2 to 4 weeks for delivery.

    Save yourself some time and grief. I ordered this for hunting season but now I'm in the dark and will have to buy another lantern.

    Their customer service SUCKS. Buy another light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They got my money, no item

    • By Peter V.,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the lanterns online and it stated that it can take 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. I got charged immediately and after 4 weeks, there are still no lanterns. I had to research my order. Turns out the lanterns were on backorder with no indication when the items will be shipped.

    They took my money right away knowing the order is backordered, not even a courtesy email to let me know when to expect the item. Who knows when I will ever receive the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No lantern

    • By Barbara,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Might be nice to have this product to review but still haven't received. Ordered in October and status just says it's on backorder, even though they still advertise on TV. After talking with customer service and being told we will be put on top of list, we got a letter today giving us info to return the lantern. Think we need to get it first. Seems like false advertising to continue to sell products you don't have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I agree - must be a scam.

    • By Jo,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered 3 weeks ago, on the order summary it now reads 'Temporarily out of stock'.

    My credit card was charged immediately and they never mentioned they were out of stock when I ordered it. No luck so far getting to talk/write to someone either. Will keep on trying.

    Save your time and money. DO NOT BUY this product. You'll only get frustration and aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "As seen on TV" TacLight Lantern

    • By dixie50154,
    • UT,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The order was easy. The thing that is bad is tracking my order on CustomerStatus.com. I was able to find my confirmation number and my order number. But the status had not changed from "Temporarily out of stock."

    This is starting to smell like a scam. (You know - the duck analogy.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the 1st of Nov. and I still have not received. Tried calling and the line is always busy. Tried to track order number and says it does not have a record of that number. Do not order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is it?

    • By Forrest,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered on 10/31/16. Their status shows the TacLight Lantern as out of stock. I called the company and they have no idea when the order will be delivered! The price and quality does not matter if they can not ship the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received

    • By Laura,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't know if this TacLight Lantern is any good or not. I have also not received my order & can't get any help, even with their customer service. I ordered the stupid thing over a month ago as a Christmas present. Needless to say, I am thoroughly disgusted. BTW: I only gave a star because you have to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not deliver

    • By A.E. Reams,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this lantern and bonus package on 11/15/16 and never received the order. I called to verify that I placed the order on 12/10/16 and was told the items were on backorder. No one ever notified me or contacted me pertaining to this order to let me know this.

    At this time I still have not been contacted as to when I can expect delivery. As of yet, they have not charged my account either. I was hoping to have these lanterns for Christmas presents, and the customer service has a great deal to overcome. This business continues to advertise without delivery.

    I do not know if this is a good product or not, but I do know that they cannot deliver what is promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell