About TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

The TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell promises to deliver twice as much brightness as an ordinary lantern; so bright, fact, that it can be seen up to two nautical miles away.

On top of this, we’re told that the TacLight Lantern is “military tough” and built to withstand the elements, including heat resistance, water submersion, and freezing temperatures. In the commercial, it even survived gunfire!

From a size perspective, the Lantern’s housing slides, which allows it to collapse down smaller than a smartphone (this sliding action also allows you to adjust the brightness), while bringing total weight in at less than a pound. We’re told its genuine Bell + Howell COB LEDs are smaller, brighter, and more energy efficient than regular LEDs, making it ideal for power outages, camping and hunting, working on the car, and more.

TacLight Lantern totally sounds like something that could come in handy in all kinds of situations, right? But before you buy, you want to learn as much as you can. The good news is that if you need information, you’ve come to the right place!

Are There Any Must-Have Features for Tactical Lanterns?

All of similar flashlights share many of the same features, such as sturdy aluminum housings, multiple modes, and adjustable beams.

But what designates these flashlights as “tactical”? Since they’re typically used alongside a firearm to quickly sweep an area and/or stun an attacker, all the features we just discussed might be logical guesses.

But what we’ve learned during our research is that it’s all about the lumens (how light power is measured). At a minimum, to be classified as tactical, a flashlight needs to put out 60 lumens, with no holes or dark spots. Some, however, put out 800 lumens or more.

What’s the point? There are two:

  1. Currently, it seems that there isn’t a formal “tactical lantern” product category, so we’re unsure if what we’re seeing here is just marketing hype, or the manufacturing breaking new ground. Either way, there are no standard features for a lantern to be classified as tactical.
  2. Even if we were to use the same specifications found on a tactical flashlight, we’re not told how many lumens Bell & Howell’s COB LEDs put out. In fact, we’re also not told about TacLight Lantern’s exterior construction, or if it has multiple modes. We know the brightness can be adjusted, but there’s no mention about the beam.

Given all this, we remain unsure what exactly TacLight Lantern’s tactical designation is referencing.

Are There Any Other Lights Like TacLight Lantern?

We already mentioned that TacLight Lantern seems to be in a category of its own, but if you’re looking for a tough, rugged, take-anywhere flashlight, you certainly have options.

To see what we mean, type the phrase “magnetic lantern,” “collapsible lantern,” or “survival lantern” into you favorite search engine and you’ll find plenty of other lanterns that might deliver the same ruggedness as TacLight Lantern. Obviously, none of these will be designed identically or deliver all the same features in one package, but the point is you have options.

What about from a price perspective?

How Much Does TacLight Lantern Cost?

One TacLight Lantern is priced at $19.99 plus free shipping. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

All TacLight Lantern orders are automatically upgraded to the deluxe option at no charge, which features a magnetic base for hands-free use.

TacLight Lantern comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, as well as a lifetime guarantee. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-721-3332.

Comparatively, you’ll find other lanterns in (more or less) the same category that fall anywhere between $8 and $60 or more.

Is TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Right for You?

There are dozens of different personal factors that go into choosing a new lantern, such as:

  • Are you looking for something small and compact, or bulky and rugged?
  • Is weight a factor?
  • Do you need a specific run time? What kind of battery are you interested in?
  • Is there a certain light output you’re looking to achieve? Do you prefer illumination or soft, warm light?

… and many more—none of which can be answered by anyone other than you.

However, although we didn’t test TacLight Lantern firsthand, based on the commercial, it appears to be unlike anything else out there. So, if you’re a flashlight/lantern aficionado, then this factor alone might make it purchase-worthy.

With this said, we’re still not sure exactly how TacLight Lantern is “tactical,” other than the fact that it’s springboarding off the immense success of the original TacLight. If you feel like giving it a shot (no pun intended) though, you’ll get free shipping and a 30-day refund policy if you’re not satisfied.

Now Watch: TacLight by Bell & Howell Review

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.


Read 74 TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • I guess I got lucky!

    • By Nat,
    • Colonial Heights, VA,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered four of these on December 10th as Christmas gifts, sent to two different locations. I received a confirmation of the order, tracking info and email updates on the locations as it traveled. I received confirmation that all were delivered on December 29th, including mine. I came home, installed batteries and worked great. Very bright and compact. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect little lantern.

    • By Geoff,
    • Sudbury, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two of these lanterns for Christmas gifts. Unfortunately, they did not arrive until after the holiday, but I can understand that.

    I must say that the light from these lanterns is brilliant, much brighter than I had expected, and I wish I had ordered a couple more because it certainly appears to be money well-spent.

    I would recommend the purchase of these lanterns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great during power outage

    • By John E.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are currently experiencing our second power outage in a month. I have four TacLight Lanterns and they are a godsend. Well worth the purchase price. These would be a smart purchase for anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    • By Lynn Mango,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered six of these TacLight Lanterns. Communicating with the company could be improved. I was able to track the order, and at first, the lanterns were out of stock, but my credit card was not charged until the order was shipped.

    I received the order in good, shaped-well packaging. The lanterns were everything the ad claimed, and I am very pleased with them. The delay caused these Christmas gifts to arrive one day after Christmas, a disappointment.

    I would recommend the lights to friends, and I am considering on getting an additional order. I was skeptical with all the negative reviews and was glad that I proceeded anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    Everyone has their opinion about the TacLight Lantern and no matter what negativity is out there, what satisfies you is what counts. I purchased the lantern a few months ago, and I really like it because it is a handy device to have around the house. It helps me cut down on my electric bill because I use the lantern at night in my bedroom and other areas around the house versus using my house light. My bill was averaging $140.00 per month, and now since I have the TacLight, my bill has decreased to $87.00 per month. A couple of weeks ago we had storms roll through Dallas and lost power, and the TacLight provided us with the light we needed until the power was restored.

    The only suggestion I would have for the TacLight is to install a permanent rechargeable battery like cell phones where you can plug it in for recharging. This would be a great improvement and could bring in more willing customers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Order received

    • By Keith Watters,
    • Levittown, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed the order and didn't know whether the order went through, so I checked my checking account and nothing appeared. I thought it didn't go through, but four weeks later it showed up on my statement, and one week later my six lanterns showed up, just in time for Christmas. I seems like I was one of the lucky ones to receive the product.

    I wanted to place another order, but now I'm afraid to do it after seeing these other reviews. I myself am satisfied, they did make good gifts for Christmas, everyone loved them, and I particularly like the one I kept. It really is very bright. I keep it on my coffee table so I don't have to get up to turn the lights off and on, LOL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They're ok

    • By Sue,
    • Canada,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a couple at the beginning of December. Yes, they came after Christmas, but I kind of expected it due to the season, so it's not really their fault. When I went on site using the address in the confirmation email, it showed they were out of stock.

    I can't really blame them for the Christmas rush, I'll just start online earlier next year. They arrived this week (first week of 2017), and I'm keeping both myself.

    I got two lanterns for $39.00 total (Canadian). Was it worth it? I think so. I like the way you just pop it open. The light itself I find pretty bright, and we tried it inside and out. I like the way it lights up without having to point a beam like with a flashlight, and it adjusts with the up and down.

    Whether it can be seen two km away, I don't think so, but I'm going to try it when we get to our summer property. It looks to be tough, because I dropped it two times and it worked fine afterward. I haven't heated it or thrown it in water, but it looks pretty sealed where batteries and bulbs are (three AA's). It's the size of a mug, and it'll be perfect for my car and one for the house.

    It is definitely better than the regular flashlights with the straight beams. This one you can set in the middle of the table and it'll light up the room ok. I spent $25.99 plus taxes on a regular heavy duty flashlight, so yes because of the way it's made and works, I think it's worth it for two. Mine didn't come with the metallic bottom though, and I didn't see that on the Canadian version of the order site.

    Plus it's a bit of a novelty the way it turns on and up.

    It's -12C degrees tonight, and I may leave it on the deck just to see if it'll work in the morning. Curiosity sake only. I don't plan to use them for heavy duty stuff, but as spares, in case the electricity goes out or at night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    I happened to see one of these at a Walgreens for $14.95, and I kind of bought it on impulse.

    Do I believe it could withstand the punishment depicted in the infomercial? Absolutely not. It is constructed of the typical cheap plastic found in a product of this price range. On the upside, it seems very bright, and the light pattern is distributed pretty well, with just some small vertical gaps between the LED panels. Also, it does collapse to a fairly small size when not in use.

    All that said and done, I believe it is worth the 15 bucks I paid for it. Anyway, I have 30 days to play around with it and can return it to Walgreens for a full refund if I choose.

    By the way, you can find a lot of the "as seen on TV" products at Walgreens and I myself would only purchase one this way. Just in case anyone is wondering, I am not affiliated with Walgreens in any way, I just happen to purchase some of my prescriptions there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They share your email with other companies

    I decided not to buy this offer for two reasons, neither related to the product itself.

    1) Their privacy policy says they'll share your email address and billing information with other companies.

    2) They don't show that credit card information is secured online, nor do they accept PayPal to assure security.

    I don't want to supply all my personal information and credit card info on the Internet. I'll buy a similar product from a supplier who charges more but accepts PayPal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed with shipping time and unable to contact company.

    I placed an order for six Deluxe TacLight Lanterns on 11/25/2016, and they arrived on 12/29/2016 at the cost of $83.04, including taxes. One of the lanterns is broken, it will not shut off. I have called mornings, noon, and evenings with no luck. The phone goes into a busy signal each time. No way to run a company when your customers can't even call you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never got the item

    • By Robert,
    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jan 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order in November of 2016, and as of today, January 1, 2017, I still have not received my order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell