• 74 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 79%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Must be a scam

    • By Bill Scott,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered one of these things 3 weeks ago and haven't heard a word since. The website is gone and there is no way on the order confirmation to contact them. I have not seen their commercial on TV lately either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Pat,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This review is in regard to the ordering process itself and not the lantern, which may or may not be a stellar product. I wouldn't know because they never sent me anything.

    So I ordered this lantern from the "Canadian" website back in September. Radio silence until mid-November until they sent a postcard (From a US PO Box address no less) saying they're going to be shipping the lantern on the 23rd of November. You can return the card to cancel but you have to provide a signature. Like I trust this company with my signature.

    And funny how a deluge of spam e-mail, junk snail mail and an unauthorized transaction on my credit card showed up not soon after the order was placed. My credit card has since been canceled and replaced so good luck to this company trying to get a payment from me.

    If they STILL send me the lantern, I'll be returning at their cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordering Process

    • By Jean Peters,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an online order on November 1 and haven't received anything yet. Their website is www.taclightlantern.com and under customer service, you can find an area to follow up on your order.

    You need an order number or the last four of the credit card used. My order number came up with "temporarily out of stock". No other information so not sure how long for that status. There is also a number I found you can call at 1-855-721-3332. It, however, keeps coming back with circuits busy.

    Not sure if this is a scam or they have oversold and can't get more product. At this time, I will have to rate this product very poorly, only because I can't get it in my hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting

    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order 4 weeks ago and was told expect a 2 to 4 week delivery time. I just got off the phone with the so called customer service and was informed it was on back-order and would be another 2 to 4 weeks for delivery.

    Save yourself some time and grief. I ordered this for hunting season but now I'm in the dark and will have to buy another lantern.

    Their customer service SUCKS. Buy another light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They got my money, no item

    • By Peter V.,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the lanterns online and it stated that it can take 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. I got charged immediately and after 4 weeks, there are still no lanterns. I had to research my order. Turns out the lanterns were on backorder with no indication when the items will be shipped.

    They took my money right away knowing the order is backordered, not even a courtesy email to let me know when to expect the item. Who knows when I will ever receive the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No lantern

    • By Barbara,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Might be nice to have this product to review but still haven't received. Ordered in October and status just says it's on backorder, even though they still advertise on TV. After talking with customer service and being told we will be put on top of list, we got a letter today giving us info to return the lantern. Think we need to get it first. Seems like false advertising to continue to sell products you don't have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I agree - must be a scam.

    • By Jo,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered 3 weeks ago, on the order summary it now reads 'Temporarily out of stock'.

    My credit card was charged immediately and they never mentioned they were out of stock when I ordered it. No luck so far getting to talk/write to someone either. Will keep on trying.

    Save your time and money. DO NOT BUY this product. You'll only get frustration and aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "As seen on TV" TacLight Lantern

    • By dixie50154,
    • UT,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The order was easy. The thing that is bad is tracking my order on CustomerStatus.com. I was able to find my confirmation number and my order number. But the status had not changed from "Temporarily out of stock."

    This is starting to smell like a scam. (You know - the duck analogy.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the 1st of Nov. and I still have not received. Tried calling and the line is always busy. Tried to track order number and says it does not have a record of that number. Do not order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is it?

    • By Forrest,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered on 10/31/16. Their status shows the TacLight Lantern as out of stock. I called the company and they have no idea when the order will be delivered! The price and quality does not matter if they can not ship the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received

    • By Laura,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't know if this TacLight Lantern is any good or not. I have also not received my order & can't get any help, even with their customer service. I ordered the stupid thing over a month ago as a Christmas present. Needless to say, I am thoroughly disgusted. BTW: I only gave a star because you have to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not deliver

    • By A.E. Reams,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this lantern and bonus package on 11/15/16 and never received the order. I called to verify that I placed the order on 12/10/16 and was told the items were on backorder. No one ever notified me or contacted me pertaining to this order to let me know this.

    At this time I still have not been contacted as to when I can expect delivery. As of yet, they have not charged my account either. I was hoping to have these lanterns for Christmas presents, and the customer service has a great deal to overcome. This business continues to advertise without delivery.

    I do not know if this is a good product or not, but I do know that they cannot deliver what is promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered but items never received.

    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the item weeks ago and have not received them. Customer service can't find the order even though I have confirmation. The phone number provided is always busy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shipping of Product

    • By Joe Brandon,
    • Goshen, IN,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Placed order 6 weeks ago. Have not received items or any follow up to advise. There is no way to contact Bell & Howell that I can find. Very disappointed with Bell & Howell. Out $76.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor Customer Service

    • By James,
    • California,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two lights online. As I check after a week for tracking info, I find out they are out of stock. Wanting to cancel the order, I have made no less than 100 calls to their customer service number, just to hear an automated message saying all lines were busy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Request for item info

    • By John Goto,
    • Falls Church, VA,
    • Dec 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On 28th of November, 2016, I contacted Bell & Howell (via B&H's surrogate Emson Customer Service) for information or reference to the power, estimated life and accessibility of batteries, replacement LED lamps, etc. for the Bell & Howell TacLight Lantern.

    Emson Customer Service told me "Please contact Customer Service directly for assistance with these questions." I thought I had.

    Apparently, this information has been classified and from what your other reviewers have stated, this item must be under strict control. This can happen when items are advertised as tactical.

    It will be interesting if any of the reviewers actually received a lantern.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where's My Product?

    • By Hillary,
    • New York,
    • Dec 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered over a month ago, confirmation email says to expect 2-3 weeks for delivery. Still no product and this was supposed to be a Christmas gift. My account was debited almost immediately, never received any other correspondence regarding my order, no contact information is provided in the email, nothing. All websites related to "Hands-free Tac Light" have been removed. Where's my product?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't get it, and can't cancel the order!

    Overall Experience:

    I feel like an idiot. I fell for the advertisement hook, line, and stinker! The order hasn't been shipped, (5 weeks now and not a word) and now I'm doubting it ever will. I want to cancel the order, but the website offers absolutely no place to do it. And the phone number is always busy, making me believe the whole thing is a total scam. I wonder if HIGHYA isn't also part of that scam. My next stop is to contact Amazon and have the ads taken down and banned from that site and my credit card company to challenge the charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst Company Ever

    • By Shannon,
    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Jan 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed two orders as Christmas gifts for people. When I checked the status of the orders upon the time they should have been delivered, one order was cancelled by the company - because "they thought it was a duplicate order" (although no one contacted us to find out if their assumption was correct, which it wasn't), and the other order is on back order. We never received an email or anything letting us know this. I called customer service, they had no explanation for either order mess up. They also couldn't tell me when they expect the item back in stock. Customer service was rude and ambivalent about the entire situation. WOULD NEVER ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheap plastic trash

    • By John Mabry,
    • Venice, Florida,
    • Jan 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased six of these cheap plastic pieces of JUNK. When they arrived at my home, I was excited to give them to friends, until I opened one of the boxes and discovered that it was made of cheap plastic that probably couldn't hold up to the heat of a small lit candle, and would not tolerate the morning dew for moisture resistance. God help you if you drop it on the hard ground for an impact test.

    The TV Ad is a total fraud and a complete lie!

    When I contacted their customer service, they said I would have to pay return shipping, and they did not apologize for the terrible product they were selling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered on Nov. 7th, but apparently I need a Plan B for Christmas gifts

    Overall Experience:

    I usually check online reviews before ordering anything I see on TV, but I neglected to check on this item or company. I blame my insomnia, and my sleep deprived thought processes (or lack thereof). Unfortunately, at 3 a.m. this lantern appeared to be a great stocking stuffer. So I picked up the phone to order one.

    By the time I hung up the phone, the woman who answered had sold me four lanterns (sleep deprived customers are easy) for a total of $136.89. I got free shipping, product upgrades, and other special offers involving the word "bonus," all because I called on November 7th (one of those "today only!" things).

    If I ever receive the lanterns, I will post an actual product review. Until then, I am fortunate that I use Chase Bank, and they are very understanding and responsive about crediting debit cards when fraudulent charges are reported.

    Also (probably irrelevant at this point) four lanterns became three, according to the company's records. When I searched using my order number, the order was not located. But entering my email and the last four numbers of my debit card revealed what others have noted; the item is out of stock. I will attempt to call their customer service number but, based on the reviews, I am not hopeful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would be better off investing in hula hoops

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered it on November 21st, and it is still out if stock. I was hoping to get it by Christmas of THIS YEAR. What a major freakin ripoff this is. I advise all to save your money for any day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't purchase!

    • By Gary,
    • Montana,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order on December 1, 2016 and STILL no product!

    I was expecting it in time for Christmas presents and just checked the status of the order and it is STILL on backorder! They have no product but are still sucking up your money as they are still advertising on TV. You cannot contact them as no "human" answers the phone, and there is no email available. You can check your order status, and that is IT.

    I highly recommend to stay away from this TV offer until they actually sell it in stores because you will NEVER see your order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best guess, it's s scam

    • By R Henderson,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like all of the reviews I have read so far, I ordered this item months ago and have not received it yet. I was able to talk to a customer service representative who told me the lanterns would be mailed out "tomorrow," needless to say, it was a lie.

    Every time I check on the order status, it reads "temporarily out of stock." I continue to see the advertisements on television even though I have not received my lanterns in close to two months. I guess I had joined the club of those who believed what they saw on TV. Really disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Back ordered product finally received, and love it!

    • By Linda,
    • New York,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have read through the reviews, and I also ordered this product in October. I do have to say that they did not charge my card until it was shipped.

    I also had to reach out to customer service multiple times and that was when I was informed it was out of stock. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the manager because this was one of my husband's Christmas gifts, the reason why I ordered it so early was so I wouldn't run into this problem. They moved me to the top of the list and it was shipped out a week after that. Needless to say, it did not arrive in time for Christmas (I ordered it October 26th, and it arrived December 27th).

    This is a great product, and I would give the product itself five stars, but due to the wait time and delays with processing and shipping, I gave it one star.

    The product itself, however, is exactly as advertised and is excellent. If it helps anyone I found that calling early in the morning is easier to get through to a representative, and also have your order number, as this also helped.

    If they could improve the processing and shipping time for the product that would be great! I did say I would recommend this to a friend, but I am referring to the lantern themselves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By Carol,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We were scammed, as I ordered this for my husband for Christmas and found out after the order was placed that the item is out of stock, but of course, the credit card was charged right away. I am working with the credit card company to have charges reversed due to no merchandise received and no timeline for delivery. I think everyone should be trying to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Have not received my order, no communication from company

    • By Sabrina,
    • Hanover, PA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been nearly six weeks since my order was placed and I have not received my products, nor have I received any communication from TacLight Lantern (with exception to my order confirmation immediately following placing my order). I went online and entered my order number to find that the product is temporarily out of stock.

    When I called, they were very "matter of fact" about the situation and stated that it is their "policy" to notify customers by mail six weeks after an order is placed if their product is out of stock. I'll be waiting at least another four weeks, I was told, before I should expect my products. Extremely POOR customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell