About TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

The TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell promises to deliver twice as much brightness as an ordinary lantern; so bright, fact, that it can be seen up to two nautical miles away.

On top of this, we’re told that the TacLight Lantern is “military tough” and built to withstand the elements, including heat resistance, water submersion, and freezing temperatures. In the commercial, it even survived gunfire!

From a size perspective, the Lantern’s housing slides, which allows it to collapse down smaller than a smartphone (this sliding action also allows you to adjust the brightness), while bringing total weight in at less than a pound. We’re told its genuine Bell + Howell COB LEDs are smaller, brighter, and more energy efficient than regular LEDs, making it ideal for power outages, camping and hunting, working on the car, and more.

TacLight Lantern totally sounds like something that could come in handy in all kinds of situations, right? But before you buy, you want to learn as much as you can. The good news is that if you need information, you’ve come to the right place!

Are There Any Must-Have Features for Tactical Lanterns?

All of similar flashlights share many of the same features, such as sturdy aluminum housings, multiple modes, and adjustable beams.

But what designates these flashlights as “tactical”? Since they’re typically used alongside a firearm to quickly sweep an area and/or stun an attacker, all the features we just discussed might be logical guesses.

But what we’ve learned during our research is that it’s all about the lumens (how light power is measured). At a minimum, to be classified as tactical, a flashlight needs to put out 60 lumens, with no holes or dark spots. Some, however, put out 800 lumens or more.

What’s the point? There are two:

  1. Currently, it seems that there isn’t a formal “tactical lantern” product category, so we’re unsure if what we’re seeing here is just marketing hype, or the manufacturing breaking new ground. Either way, there are no standard features for a lantern to be classified as tactical.
  2. Even if we were to use the same specifications found on a tactical flashlight, we’re not told how many lumens Bell & Howell’s COB LEDs put out. In fact, we’re also not told about TacLight Lantern’s exterior construction, or if it has multiple modes. We know the brightness can be adjusted, but there’s no mention about the beam.

Given all this, we remain unsure what exactly TacLight Lantern’s tactical designation is referencing.

Are There Any Other Lights Like TacLight Lantern?

We already mentioned that TacLight Lantern seems to be in a category of its own, but if you’re looking for a tough, rugged, take-anywhere flashlight, you certainly have options.

To see what we mean, type the phrase “magnetic lantern,” “collapsible lantern,” or “survival lantern” into you favorite search engine and you’ll find plenty of other lanterns that might deliver the same ruggedness as TacLight Lantern. Obviously, none of these will be designed identically or deliver all the same features in one package, but the point is you have options.

What about from a price perspective?

How Much Does TacLight Lantern Cost?

One TacLight Lantern is priced at $19.99 plus free shipping. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

All TacLight Lantern orders are automatically upgraded to the deluxe option at no charge, which features a magnetic base for hands-free use.

TacLight Lantern comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, as well as a lifetime guarantee. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-721-3332.

Comparatively, you’ll find other lanterns in (more or less) the same category that fall anywhere between $8 and $60 or more.

Is TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Right for You?

There are dozens of different personal factors that go into choosing a new lantern, such as:

  • Are you looking for something small and compact, or bulky and rugged?
  • Is weight a factor?
  • Do you need a specific run time? What kind of battery are you interested in?
  • Is there a certain light output you’re looking to achieve? Do you prefer illumination or soft, warm light?

… and many more—none of which can be answered by anyone other than you.

However, although we didn’t test TacLight Lantern firsthand, based on the commercial, it appears to be unlike anything else out there. So, if you’re a flashlight/lantern aficionado, then this factor alone might make it purchase-worthy.

With this said, we’re still not sure exactly how TacLight Lantern is “tactical,” other than the fact that it’s springboarding off the immense success of the original TacLight. If you feel like giving it a shot (no pun intended) though, you’ll get free shipping and a 30-day refund policy if you’re not satisfied.

Now Watch: TacLight by Bell & Howell Review

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.


Read 74 TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • Must be a scam

    • By Bill Scott,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one of these things 3 weeks ago and haven't heard a word since. The website is gone and there is no way on the order confirmation to contact them. I have not seen their commercial on TV lately either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Pat,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This review is in regard to the ordering process itself and not the lantern, which may or may not be a stellar product. I wouldn't know because they never sent me anything.

    So I ordered this lantern from the "Canadian" website back in September. Radio silence until mid-November until they sent a postcard (From a US PO Box address no less) saying they're going to be shipping the lantern on the 23rd of November. You can return the card to cancel but you have to provide a signature. Like I trust this company with my signature.

    And funny how a deluge of spam e-mail, junk snail mail and an unauthorized transaction on my credit card showed up not soon after the order was placed. My credit card has since been canceled and replaced so good luck to this company trying to get a payment from me.

    If they STILL send me the lantern, I'll be returning at their cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordering Process

    • By Jean Peters,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an online order on November 1 and haven't received anything yet. Their website is www.taclightlantern.com and under customer service, you can find an area to follow up on your order.

    You need an order number or the last four of the credit card used. My order number came up with "temporarily out of stock". No other information so not sure how long for that status. There is also a number I found you can call at 1-855-721-3332. It, however, keeps coming back with circuits busy.

    Not sure if this is a scam or they have oversold and can't get more product. At this time, I will have to rate this product very poorly, only because I can't get it in my hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting

    I placed my order 4 weeks ago and was told expect a 2 to 4 week delivery time. I just got off the phone with the so called customer service and was informed it was on back-order and would be another 2 to 4 weeks for delivery.

    Save yourself some time and grief. I ordered this for hunting season but now I'm in the dark and will have to buy another lantern.

    Their customer service SUCKS. Buy another light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They got my money, no item

    • By Peter V.,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered the lanterns online and it stated that it can take 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. I got charged immediately and after 4 weeks, there are still no lanterns. I had to research my order. Turns out the lanterns were on backorder with no indication when the items will be shipped.

    They took my money right away knowing the order is backordered, not even a courtesy email to let me know when to expect the item. Who knows when I will ever receive the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No lantern

    • By Barbara,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Might be nice to have this product to review but still haven't received. Ordered in October and status just says it's on backorder, even though they still advertise on TV. After talking with customer service and being told we will be put on top of list, we got a letter today giving us info to return the lantern. Think we need to get it first. Seems like false advertising to continue to sell products you don't have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I agree - must be a scam.

    • By Jo,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered 3 weeks ago, on the order summary it now reads 'Temporarily out of stock'.

    My credit card was charged immediately and they never mentioned they were out of stock when I ordered it. No luck so far getting to talk/write to someone either. Will keep on trying.

    Save your time and money. DO NOT BUY this product. You'll only get frustration and aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "As seen on TV" TacLight Lantern

    • By dixie50154,
    • UT,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The order was easy. The thing that is bad is tracking my order on CustomerStatus.com. I was able to find my confirmation number and my order number. But the status had not changed from "Temporarily out of stock."

    This is starting to smell like a scam. (You know - the duck analogy.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Ordered the 1st of Nov. and I still have not received. Tried calling and the line is always busy. Tried to track order number and says it does not have a record of that number. Do not order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is it?

    • By Forrest,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered on 10/31/16. Their status shows the TacLight Lantern as out of stock. I called the company and they have no idea when the order will be delivered! The price and quality does not matter if they can not ship the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received

    • By Laura,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't know if this TacLight Lantern is any good or not. I have also not received my order & can't get any help, even with their customer service. I ordered the stupid thing over a month ago as a Christmas present. Needless to say, I am thoroughly disgusted. BTW: I only gave a star because you have to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell