• 74 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 79%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • They share your email with other companies

    Overall Experience:

    I decided not to buy this offer for two reasons, neither related to the product itself.

    1) Their privacy policy says they'll share your email address and billing information with other companies.

    2) They don't show that credit card information is secured online, nor do they accept PayPal to assure security.

    I don't want to supply all my personal information and credit card info on the Internet. I'll buy a similar product from a supplier who charges more but accepts PayPal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Must be a scam

    • By Bill Scott,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered one of these things 3 weeks ago and haven't heard a word since. The website is gone and there is no way on the order confirmation to contact them. I have not seen their commercial on TV lately either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware of TacLight ordering tactics

    Overall Experience:

    I was considering ordering a TacLight Lantern as seen on TV and when I googled, I found their website and was putting the information in when I decided to go check out some reviews. I saw negative ones and that the same light at other stores is less expensive so I decided not to order online, back paged and wiped out my name, address, credit card info and exited out of the site.

    Two days later I was checking my bank account and there were two charges deducted for $31.33 from them. I called the number on my bank's site, and the lady tried telling me they were shipped yesterday and that I would have had to call her to cancel. I told her I NEVER COMPLETED the order process, NEVER clicked the "submit" button so WHY did they place the order anyway? She kept telling me when they arrive, return them and I would be credited.

    I see it says 2-4 weeks for delivery, are they coming by a slow boat from China? I told her I would report them for committing fraud that the process was NOT completed and they should NOT have kept my banking info when I deleted it and NEVER hit the submit or place order button. So beware; this company is unscrupulous if not engages in criminal behavior!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Pat,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This review is in regard to the ordering process itself and not the lantern, which may or may not be a stellar product. I wouldn't know because they never sent me anything.

    So I ordered this lantern from the "Canadian" website back in September. Radio silence until mid-November until they sent a postcard (From a US PO Box address no less) saying they're going to be shipping the lantern on the 23rd of November. You can return the card to cancel but you have to provide a signature. Like I trust this company with my signature.

    And funny how a deluge of spam e-mail, junk snail mail and an unauthorized transaction on my credit card showed up not soon after the order was placed. My credit card has since been canceled and replaced so good luck to this company trying to get a payment from me.

    If they STILL send me the lantern, I'll be returning at their cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercial is misleading.

    • By Michael,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They show a rugged, supposedly metal construction lantern. What it is, is plastic. And cheap plastic. After only a couple of uses, the top sliding part is so loose it slides open if laying on its side or carried by the handled, and when placed it will slide shut without enough tension to keep the upper part open for light, much less adjustable.

    I can't help but roll my eyes seeing them pulling one out of a fire or being smashed by a falling crate on the infomercial now. You can find four for $20 on Amazon by Gold Armour that look identical, but that put out 300 lumens and actually feel sturdier. (I am not affiliated with either company, just tossing out a better deal I found if people want this style lantern).

    Beware of the TV version; it's junk. The one I got wasn't even the "free upgraded magnetic deluxe version" either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst buying experience

    • By Tom Sclafani,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst buying experience I've ever had. I did the upgrade for $6.95 for the 2nd lantern, however, it never came. I've had to call every week for three months.

    I would never recommend this product or how they perform their business practices. Also, if you want this product, you can get it at Bed Bath & Beyond. Nothing but a nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By PM,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is by far the worst encounter and experience I've had. Should any other person tell you otherwise, they are liars.

    The product claims to withstand being in water, extreme heat and even being frozen (BS!), but the product could do none of the things the advertisement claimed it could.

    Below were the tests I performed.

    1. Water: I submerged it in water, and it leaked into the "glass" and would likely rust out any metal components (had to trash it after the last test).

    2. Freeze: Oh it froze, and it took time for it to thaw before rendering any use. It's plastic and made from China.

    3. Heat resistant: Nope, it melted (trashed).

    Save your money and dignity. You're the only hope we have left to save mankind because these people will rip you off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not attempt to order. They will steal your money.

    • By Marc E Webb,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I didn't even press the submit order button and over two days they pre-authorize my account twice and still sent the order. I decided not to order it because of all the questions they were asking and deals they were offering.

    I called customer service, and the first lady hung up on me so I called the second time and that lady was rude, and I finally got to talk to a supervisor, and she was totally rude. They said it was a live order, so they shipped it anyway. They won't refund any money until you ship back the product, which I can understand, but why charge someone for something they didn't even order?

    I wish I read the reviews first. This is a total scam and customer service is horrible. They are trained to steal your money. I said I was going to shut down my accounts so they can't get the money and the supervisor said "Thank you" and then hung up. I needed the $56 they free authorized my account for, and they didn't give a crap. I even explained I had a family death yesterday and that I couldn't handle any more stress, and they still didn't give a crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Far from durable

    • By Shawn Smith,
    • Madison, WI,
    • May 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought it from Menard's Madison West. The first day they were bright, but seemed cheap. It fell six feet with a magnet on the door. The bottom cover broke, and the lights don't work. This product is not military grade or tactical at all. This is junk. I am out $19.95 plus tax. I would give it zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the 1st of Nov. and I still have not received. Tried calling and the line is always busy. Tried to track order number and says it does not have a record of that number. Do not order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used for only ten minutes

    Overall Experience:

    I was so tickled to get this last Christmas, but it lasted ten minutes. I got several more as gifts and hope they don't have the trouble. A piece of junk. Now we are under a storm watch (tornado), and I always felt like I could grab this when the power goes out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "As seen on TV" TacLight Lantern

    • By dixie50154,
    • UT,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The order was easy. The thing that is bad is tracking my order on CustomerStatus.com. I was able to find my confirmation number and my order number. But the status had not changed from "Temporarily out of stock."

    This is starting to smell like a scam. (You know - the duck analogy.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They got my money, no item

    • By Peter V.,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered the lanterns online and it stated that it can take 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. I got charged immediately and after 4 weeks, there are still no lanterns. I had to research my order. Turns out the lanterns were on backorder with no indication when the items will be shipped.

    They took my money right away knowing the order is backordered, not even a courtesy email to let me know when to expect the item. Who knows when I will ever receive the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor quality

    • By Joe,
    • North Andover, MA,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has less light than a small candle, and the springs don't hold batteries tight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading advertising

    • By Jay Futterman,
    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just received my order of two lanterns. I paid $5.95 for two extra sets of batteries. The advertisement does not state that batteries are not included. You are lead to believe that the lanterns come with batteries, and you are buying extra sets of batteries. Wrong! No batteries come with the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Bill,
    • Missouri,
    • Feb 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this back in October as a Christmas gift for my dad.

    I moved the 1st of November and called with the new address, but they finally shipped it one January 31st, but it's going to the wrong address. I called TacLight Lantern, and a gentleman said he changed address. Well, he didnt, so I called this morning (February 7th) and told the lady that shipping is going to the wrong address. It's now here, in St Louis, and I was told that it is getting shipped back to TacLight Lantern and I have to do the process all over again.

    They have terrible service and always give the runaround, and they tell you what you want to hear to get you off the phone. I wouldn't recommend ordering from this company, again, they have TERRIBLE service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    • By Allan,
    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of these lights on November 21, 2016, and have yet to receive them. After four phone calls to them over the past three months, all I get is how they are out of stock and don't know when they can complete my order. You also have to deal with the reps and their "don't care" attitudes. The struggle is real, so BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I agree - must be a scam.

    • By Jo,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered 3 weeks ago, on the order summary it now reads 'Temporarily out of stock'.

    My credit card was charged immediately and they never mentioned they were out of stock when I ordered it. No luck so far getting to talk/write to someone either. Will keep on trying.

    Save your time and money. DO NOT BUY this product. You'll only get frustration and aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting

    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order 4 weeks ago and was told expect a 2 to 4 week delivery time. I just got off the phone with the so called customer service and was informed it was on back-order and would be another 2 to 4 weeks for delivery.

    Save yourself some time and grief. I ordered this for hunting season but now I'm in the dark and will have to buy another lantern.

    Their customer service SUCKS. Buy another light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I happened to see one of these at a Walgreens for $14.95, and I kind of bought it on impulse.

    Do I believe it could withstand the punishment depicted in the infomercial? Absolutely not. It is constructed of the typical cheap plastic found in a product of this price range. On the upside, it seems very bright, and the light pattern is distributed pretty well, with just some small vertical gaps between the LED panels. Also, it does collapse to a fairly small size when not in use.

    All that said and done, I believe it is worth the 15 bucks I paid for it. Anyway, I have 30 days to play around with it and can return it to Walgreens for a full refund if I choose.

    By the way, you can find a lot of the "as seen on TV" products at Walgreens and I myself would only purchase one this way. Just in case anyone is wondering, I am not affiliated with Walgreens in any way, I just happen to purchase some of my prescriptions there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Ordering Process

    • By Jean Peters,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an online order on November 1 and haven't received anything yet. Their website is www.taclightlantern.com and under customer service, you can find an area to follow up on your order.

    You need an order number or the last four of the credit card used. My order number came up with "temporarily out of stock". No other information so not sure how long for that status. There is also a number I found you can call at 1-855-721-3332. It, however, keeps coming back with circuits busy.

    Not sure if this is a scam or they have oversold and can't get more product. At this time, I will have to rate this product very poorly, only because I can't get it in my hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't bother, definitely a scam.

    • By Joy Campbell,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    There are a lot of red flags. They first and foremost get your credit card info. THEN they keep asking you to add this and that for more money. For example, upgrade the strength of the flashlight, but you're buying it because it is already strong (or so you thought).

    On TV it says you get two for $19.99 and with free shipping. When you are ordering, you find out you're paying $31.99 for two flashlights.

    I will go to my credit union Monday morning and stop payment on this thing and be more careful next time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No lantern

    • By Barbara,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Might be nice to have this product to review but still haven't received. Ordered in October and status just says it's on backorder, even though they still advertise on TV. After talking with customer service and being told we will be put on top of list, we got a letter today giving us info to return the lantern. Think we need to get it first. Seems like false advertising to continue to sell products you don't have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Damaged lantern - no return instructions

    Overall Experience:

    The two lanterns arrived today; one was intact, the second one was broken. No return instructions or packing slip was included with the lanterns.

    What am I supposed to do with the broken lantern? Where is the contact information, where do I send the broken one? Will they send a replacement?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait-and-switch

    • By Robyn Mitchell,
    • Estill Springs, TN,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered ten TacLight Lanterns with the magnetic base. They took weeks to get here, and when they arrived, none of the ten I ordered had a magnetic base.

    I called their customer service they said, "We have a No Exchange Policy," even though it was their fault. They were willing to take them back BUT at my expense. I will never do business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what I purchased.

    Overall Experience:

    Two days after putting nice Duracell batteries in, the lantern I used first quite nicely fried one of the LED bars at the top, causing noxious fumes. We're talking regular Duracell AA batteries.

    So, I have a couple of Chinese lanterns that you can put in the sun or charge with a hand crank generator and lithium batteries for half the price, and I have had them for years. I've been waiting for these lanterns since November. I was supposed to get one up-armored deluxe model and one basic one. Also, I would like to ask who sends a paper contract after the time of sale stipulating that all legal action be done through arbitration? We're talking about $20 products?

    I have a good cause for a lawsuit, but it's not worth the piece of crap I ordered. I'm a military veteran, and this is the kind of crap that gets people killed with the advertising they put on TV. The first one in two days loses a light bar and melts one of its top light bars while it's sitting on my bed! That's not exactly a deuce-and-a-half now is it? I will be calling about the refund when I can wake up during the day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't get it, and can't cancel the order!

    Overall Experience:

    I feel like an idiot. I fell for the advertisement hook, line, and stinker! The order hasn't been shipped, (5 weeks now and not a word) and now I'm doubting it ever will. I want to cancel the order, but the website offers absolutely no place to do it. And the phone number is always busy, making me believe the whole thing is a total scam. I wonder if HIGHYA isn't also part of that scam. My next stop is to contact Amazon and have the ads taken down and banned from that site and my credit card company to challenge the charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell